Insurance Notification: Later-Acquired Knowledge Can Trigger Reporting Duties Within a Fixed Reporting Window
Case: Makin v Protec Security Group Ltd & Anor [2026] EWCA Civ 1367
Court: England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division)
Date: 27 October 2026
Judges: Lady Justice King, Lord Justice Stuart-Smith and Lady Justice Cockerill
1. Introduction
This decision clarifies when an insured must notify its insurer of an incident whose potential seriousness becomes apparent only afterwards. It also confirms that clearly expressed notification conditions can operate as conditions precedent to insurance liability without using that technical label. An unqualified contractual entitlement to refuse a claim following breach is not, merely because the insurer must choose whether to exercise it, a discretion subject to an implied requirement of rationality.
The claimant suffered a serious neurological injury following an assault by a door supervisor engaged by Protec Security Group Limited. After Protec entered liquidation, the claimant pursued its public liability insurer, QBE Insurance (Europe) Limited, under the Third Parties (Rights Against Insurers) Act 2010. QBE resisted the claim because Protec had failed to comply with the policy’s notification requirements.
The appeal therefore concerned three principal questions:
- Could information acquired after an incident trigger notification within a fixed 30-day reporting period, although the incident initially appeared unlikely to produce a claim?
- Did the obligation to forward relevant correspondence cover letters of claim received before the insured had itself sought indemnity?
- Did breach give QBE an unqualified right to refuse the claim, or only a contractual discretion requiring rational justification?
The Court of Appeal dismissed the appeal unanimously. It also addressed when liability is “established” under the 2010 Act, but expressly declined to decide whether an underlying judgment against an insured conclusively binds an insurer that was not a party.
2. Background and Procedural History
On 6 August 2017, two door supervisors ejected the claimant from premises operated by The Restaurant Muse Limited. During an altercation outside, one supervisor forced him to the ground and held him in a headlock. The claimant then stood up, walked away and took a taxi home. Two days later, he was found to have suffered a stroke, leaving him with serious neurological difficulties.
The supervisors were engaged by Protec. Its sole director was away when the incident occurred. The trial judge found that, while still away or shortly after returning, he acquired sufficient information to appreciate that the police wished to interview Protec’s staff about an incident involving alleged injury. Crucially, that knowledge was acquired within 30 days of the incident. The relevant factual finding was not challenged on appeal.
The subsequent correspondence exposed further notification failures:
| Date |
Event |
Significance |
| 29 October 2019 |
The claimant’s solicitors sent the Restaurant a letter alleging catastrophic injury caused by door staff. |
The letter expressly identified serious injuries and potential liability arising from the incident. |
| 29 December 2019 |
The Restaurant forwarded that letter to Protec and asked it to notify its insurer. |
Protec did not forward the correspondence to QBE. |
| 5 June 2020 |
The claimant’s solicitors sent Protec a direct letter of claim alleging vicarious liability. |
Protec again failed to forward the letter immediately. |
| 8 July 2020 |
The claimant’s solicitors notified QBE directly. |
This was QBE’s first notification of the potential claim. |
The claimant commenced proceedings against the Restaurant and Protec in August 2020; the claim against the Restaurant was later discontinued. QBE declined policy liability in December 2020.
Protec entered liquidation on 10 July 2023. The following day, HHJ Sephton KC determined a preliminary issue, finding that the assault had caused the claimant’s stroke and entering judgment against Protec for damages to be assessed. QBE was not then a party and had not participated in that hearing.
The claimant subsequently joined QBE and relied on the 2010 Act. HHJ Pearce held that Protec’s notification breaches entitled QBE to refuse indemnity: [2025] EWHC 895 (KB). The present appeal challenged that conclusion.
3. Summary of the Judgment
Lord Justice Stuart-Smith delivered the substantive judgment, with which both other members of the court agreed.
- Later-acquired knowledge triggered notification: Claims Condition 3.5 applied once Protec acquired sufficient knowledge, within the specified 30-day period, that the incident presented a real rather than fanciful risk of a claim.
- No proactive rolling review was required: The condition did not oblige Protec continually to investigate or reassess an apparently innocuous incident. Nevertheless, information actually acquired during the reporting window could activate the duty.
- The correspondence had to be forwarded: Claims Condition 2 covered documents whose contents indicated that an insurance claim might arise, whether or not an indemnity claim had already been made.
- The conditions were conditions precedent: The words “Breach of these conditions will entitle us to refuse to deal with the relevant claim” conferred a clear entitlement to refuse the affected claim.
- No implied rationality restriction arose: Choosing whether to invoke an accrued contractual right did not itself create a legally constrained discretion.
- Prejudice did not have to be proved: It was common ground that, if the conditions were conditions precedent, QBE need not demonstrate prejudice caused by their breach.
- The statutory conclusiveness issue remained open: Liability had not yet been established for section 1(4) of the 2010 Act because damages remained unassessed. The wider binding effect of the earlier judgment was not decided.
4. Analysis: Legal Reasoning
A. The Policy’s Structure and the Nature of the Dispute
The policy provided public and products liability cover. Its provisions included cover for certain bodily injuries caused by deliberate acts of employees or subcontractors, together with a specific criminal acts extension covering assault. QBE accepted that the policy was capable of responding under that extension.
The decisive issue was therefore not whether an assault could ever fall within the policy. It was whether Protec’s failure to comply with post-incident obligations defeated an otherwise potentially available indemnity.
The Claims Conditions began:
“The following Conditions 1-10 must be complied with after an incident that may give rise to a claim under your policy. Breach of these conditions will entitle us to refuse to deal with the relevant claim.”
This introductory provision supplied the contractual consequence of breaching the individual notification obligations.
B. Claims Condition 3.5: Knowledge Acquired During the Reporting Window
Claims Condition 3.5 required notification as soon as practical and, in any event, within 30 days for relevant damage, bodily injury, incidents, accidents or occurrences that “may give rise to a claim”.
The parties agreed that the duty depended on the insured having sufficient knowledge to cause a reasonable insured to appreciate a real, rather than fanciful, risk of a claim. The judgment described this as “threshold knowledge”.
The claimant’s argument was that the assessment had to be confined to the incident or its immediate aftermath. Because the claimant had initially stood up and walked away, the trial judge had accepted that a reasonable insured would not then have recognised circumstances requiring notification. The claimant argued that later information could not change that position.
The Court of Appeal rejected that interpretation. It would produce an artificial distinction between knowledge acquired immediately and the same knowledge acquired a few days later, even though both fell within the express reporting window.
The court instead identified a middle course between two commercially questionable extremes:
- The duty was not restricted to what the insured knew at the exact moment of the incident.
- The insured was not required to conduct an ongoing investigation or rolling reassessment without an initial reason to anticipate a claim.
If sufficient information actually reached the insured during the 30-day period, from whatever source and whether sought out or not, the notification obligation arose. On the unchallenged findings, that had happened here.
The distinction is between acquiring knowledge and being required proactively to discover it. Rejecting a duty of rolling investigation did not require the court to disregard information subsequently received.
The ruling is confined to the wording and reporting period before the court. It does not establish that knowledge acquired after that period necessarily triggers the same condition, nor does it restart the contractual 30-day period when knowledge is acquired. The requirement to act as soon as practical also means that the outer deadline is not a general permission to delay.
C. Claims Condition 2: Relevant Correspondence Must Be Forwarded
Claims Condition 2 prohibited the insured from responding to specified documents connected with an accident, incident or occurrence and required their immediate onward transmission, unanswered, to the designated recipient.
The drafting was awkward. The claimant relied on alternative grammatical readings and argued, among other things, that:
- a document could not relate to a policy claim unless the insured had already made such a claim; and
- a letter could not itself “give rise to” a claim, because the underlying incident was the true source of liability.
The Court of Appeal considered that approach excessively technical. Read as an ordinary policyholder would understand it, the condition required documents connected with an accident, incident or occurrence to be forwarded if either:
- they related to an existing claim under the policy; or
- their contents indicated that a claim might arise under the policy.
The court reached the same result as the trial judge, but by a different interpretive route. It did not consider that the policy needed judicial correction or rearrangement. Despite its poor drafting, its practical meaning was sufficiently clear.
The Restaurant’s December 2019 email plainly alerted Protec to a possible claim involving its own staff and expressly requested insurance notification. The fact that the enclosed letter had originally been addressed to the Restaurant did not remove the obligation to forward it. The June 2020 letter was an even clearer direct claim against Protec. Both failures breached Condition 2.
This is an important independent aspect of the decision: the correspondence obligation was not conditional on the insured already having reported the original incident or requested indemnity.
D. Conditions Precedent Without the Technical Label
The policy did not expressly describe the disputed Claims Conditions as “conditions precedent”, although that terminology appeared elsewhere. The court nevertheless held that the conditions had that effect.
The central question was the contractual consequence expressed by the wording, not the presence of a particular label. “Will entitle us to refuse to deal with the relevant claim” clearly identified refusal of the affected claim as an available consequence of breach.
The court attached little or no weight to the different terminology elsewhere because this was a composite, “pick and mix” policy whose sections evidently had different origins. That contextual explanation matters: the judgment does not establish that contrasting terminology elsewhere in a carefully integrated contract can never assist interpretation.
The court also accepted the need for clarity where a provision exempts an insurer from an otherwise available liability. However, clear wording did not become ambiguous merely because the document was inelegantly drafted or lacked technical terminology.
E. An Entitlement to Refuse Is Not Necessarily a Regulated Discretion
The claimant’s principal argument on the consequences of breach relied on the distinction between an automatic contractual result and a result requiring a decision. Because QBE still had to choose whether to refuse the claim, the claimant argued that its choice was a contractual discretion requiring rational or reasonable grounds.
The court rejected the attempted equation of choice with legally constrained discretion. A party may decide not to exercise a contractual right without that right becoming subject to an implied rationality test.
The words “will entitle us” were unqualified. Nothing in their meaning required an additional justification for refusal once breach was established.
Nor was an implied restriction necessary to make the contract work. Applying the business-efficacy approach discussed in the authorities, the court considered that the policy operated satisfactorily, and as the parties would reasonably expect, without the proposed limitation.
HHJ Pearce had found, hypothetically, that QBE could not justify refusal as a proper exercise of the alleged contractual discretion. That alternative finding could not assist the claimant: the Court of Appeal held that no such discretion, subject to the proposed restriction, arose in the first place.
The holding is specific. It does not declare that every decision made by an insurer is immune from implied constraints. It establishes that the particular unqualified entitlement here did not attract the restriction advanced by the claimant.
F. No Requirement to Demonstrate Prejudice
Once the conditions were classified as conditions precedent, the parties accepted that QBE did not have to show that late notification had impaired its investigation, defence or claims handling.
The court therefore did not conduct a separate inquiry into whether timely notification would have changed the result. The contractual consequence followed from the established breaches.
This point should not be overstated as a universal rule about all insurance notification clauses. The result depended on the wording, its classification and the common ground recorded in this litigation.
5. Precedents Cited and Their Influence
A. Ordinary Principles of Contractual Interpretation
Rainy Sky SA v Kookmin Bank [2011] UKSC 50 and Arnold v Britton [2015] UKSC 36 [2015] AC 1619 supplied the established interpretive framework. The court’s task was to identify the objective meaning of the contractual language in context, rather than substitute what might appear a fairer insurance arrangement.
Bellini (N/E) Ltd v Brit UW Ltd [2024] EWCA Civ 435, [2024] Bus LR 1611 reinforced those principles in an insurance setting. It also provided the route to East v Pantiles [1982] 2 EGLR 111, 112: correction by construction requires both an obvious mistake and clarity about the correction needed.
These authorities were particularly relevant to Condition 2. The Court of Appeal distinguished understanding imperfect drafting from correcting the contract. It considered that the condition’s ordinary meaning could be identified without meeting, or invoking, the separate requirements for judicial correction.
Financial Conduct Authority v Arch Insurance (UK) Ltd and Others [2021] UKSC 1 supplied the practical perspective at paragraph 77: an insurance policy of the relevant kind is addressed to an ordinary policyholder who reads it conscientiously, not a pedantic lawyer conducting minute textual analysis. That approach directly supported rejection of the claimant’s grammatical objections to the correspondence condition.
B. Conditions Precedent and Clear Exemption Wording
Cox v Bankside Members Agency Ltd [1995] CLC 180, 203 and Aspen Insurance v Pectel [2009] 2 All ER (Comm) 873 established that a policy term can operate as a condition precedent without being expressly labelled one. Construction of the policy as a whole remains decisive.
Those decisions supported the conclusion that the consequence expressly attached to breach outweighed the absence of technical terminology. They did not eliminate the need to examine the actual language and contractual setting.
Dornoch v Royal and Sun Alliance [2005] 1 CLC 466 explained that a condition precedent may operate as an exemption from an otherwise existing insurance liability. A party relying on such an exemption must demonstrate clear words on a fair construction.
The present judgment applied that safeguard but found it satisfied. The court did not treat the clarity requirement as an instruction to manufacture ambiguity or invariably favour the insured.
C. Later Knowledge and the Limits of the Rolling-Assessment Argument
Zurich Insurance Plc v Maccaferri Ltd [2016] EWCA Civ 1302, [2018] 1 All ER (Comm) 112 was the principal authority relied on against the notification finding.
The clause there required notice “as soon as possible after the occurrence of any event likely to give rise to a claim”, together with full particulars. The insurer sought an interpretation involving continuing investigation and review. The Court of Appeal rejected that argument because the wording was insufficiently clear to impose the proposed obligation.
The present court distinguished that decision on three material features:
- Condition 3.5 had a defined 30-day period, unlike the open-ended wording considered there.
- “May give rise” imposed a lower threshold than “likely to give rise”.
- Condition 3.5 did not require full particulars, a feature previously relied on to support proactive inquiry.
Moreover, nobody was asking the court to impose a rolling investigative duty here. The issue was the legal effect of knowledge actually acquired within the specified period.
The court also gave an alternative answer: even the earlier authority recognised that an event could be an “occasion not limited to the exact moment”. The director’s acquisition of knowledge while away or immediately upon returning could fall within that understanding. The decision therefore distinguishes, rather than overrules, the earlier authority.
D. Contractual Discretion and Implied Restrictions
Braganza v BP Shipping Ltd [2015] UKSC 17, [2015] 1 WLR 1661 provided the foundation for the claimant’s argument that QBE had to exercise its entitlement rationally. The Court of Appeal rejected its application because the existence of a choice whether to invoke a contractual right did not itself establish a discretion of the relevant legal kind.
Equitas Insurance Ltd v MMI Ltd [2019] EWCA Civ 718, [2020] QB 48, particularly paragraphs 148–156, was relied on concerning implied constraints. The court emphasised that the cited reasoning depended on implication of a term necessary for business efficacy.
Here that necessity was absent. The contract worked as reasonably expected without the proposed restriction. The authorities therefore required an identified doctrinal basis for implication, not merely an appeal to the apparent harshness of refusing cover.
E. Judgments Against Insureds and the Unresolved Statutory Question
Omega Proteins Limited v Aspen Insurance UK Limited [2010] EWHC 2280 (Comm) described the position under the Third Parties (Rights Against Insurers) Act 1930: a judgment against the insured alone was not legally determinative of the insurer’s liability. QBE relied on that approach to argue that it could dispute the insured’s liability or the basis on which liability had been found.
Scotland Gas Networks v QBE UK Ltd [2024] CSIH 36 supported the contrary position adopted below concerning the effect of satisfying section 1(4) of the 2010 Act. The supplied judgment describes that authority as preventing insurers from challenging the amount of liability established through the statutory mechanisms.
The Court of Appeal did not resolve the disagreement. Its conclusions on notification already disposed of the appeal, so any ruling would have been unnecessary to the outcome.
R (Jwanczuk) v Secretary of State for Work and Pensions [2025] UKSC 42, paragraphs 100–101, was drawn to the court’s attention on the approach to another appellate court’s decision thought to be wrong. The court nevertheless chose judicial restraint: it expressed no view on whether the Scottish decision was correct.
6. The Third Parties (Rights Against Insurers) Act 2010
A. Transferred Rights Remain Subject to Coverage Defences
Protec’s liquidation engaged the statutory transfer mechanism. The claimant could pursue the insurer in respect of the insured liability, but the transferred rights did not provide a better indemnity than Protec possessed in the circumstances of this case.
Accordingly, establishing that Protec was responsible for the injury did not answer the separate question whether QBE was obliged to indemnify that responsibility. The notification defence operated at the insurance-contract level.
B. “Established” Liability Requires Both Existence and Amount
Section 1(4) states that liability is established only when both its existence and amount have been established. HHJ Sephton KC’s judgment determined responsibility but left damages for later assessment. It therefore did not yet satisfy that statutory requirement.
QBE accepted that a subsequent determination of quantum could complete the required establishment of existence and amount, subject to the separate dispute about the judgment’s binding effect.
This does not mean proceedings against an insurer cannot begin before damages are assessed. Section 1(3) distinguishes bringing proceedings from enforcing transferred rights, while section 2 permits proceedings for declarations concerning the insured’s liability and the insurer’s potential liability.
C. What the Court Did Not Decide
QBE argued that sections 1 and 2 provided distinct routes and that the principles applicable under the 1930 Act continued to govern the relevant section 1 route. The Court of Appeal did not finally endorse that argument.
Nor did it affirm the trial judge’s conclusion that the earlier findings bound QBE. The important remaining question—whether and to what extent an underlying judgment binds a non-party insurer under the 2010 Act—was expressly reserved for a case in which it must be decided.
7. Impact and Practical Significance
For Policyholders
The decision distinguishes absence of an investigative duty from freedom to ignore new information. An incident may initially appear harmless but become notifiable when later information reveals a genuine prospect of a claim. Businesses should therefore have systems for escalating police inquiries, injury allegations and correspondence received from customers or other potential defendants.
A belief that staff acted lawfully, or that the police will take no further action, is not a substitute for applying the policy’s notification threshold. Criminal enforcement, civil liability and contractual reporting obligations address different questions.
For Insurers and Policy Drafters
The judgment supports clearly expressed consequences for notification breaches. Nevertheless, it is not an endorsement of poor drafting: certainty remains preferable to litigation over grammatical structure, technical labels and differing terminology across policy sections.
Where insurers intend to impose proactive investigation, continuing review or a different knowledge-based reporting mechanism, the reasoning indicates the importance of saying so expressly.
For Claimants Pursuing Insolvent Defendants
A successful liability judgment against an insolvent business does not itself secure insurance recovery. Claimants must distinguish the underlying wrongdoing from the separate contractual basis for indemnity. Here, the claimant’s eventual direct notification to QBE did not eliminate the earlier breaches.
For Future Litigation
The strongest precedential contribution is the middle position on later knowledge: no automatic rolling review, but an obligation to act on sufficient information acquired within the contractual window. The judgment also reinforces the need to identify a proper basis before importing rationality controls into an express contractual right.
Its statutory significance is more limited. It confirms the requirement to establish both liability and quantum, but leaves the competing approaches to the conclusiveness of underlying judgments unresolved.
8. Complex Concepts Simplified
- Threshold knowledge
- Enough information to make a reasonable insured recognise a real possibility of a claim. Certainty of liability, or even receipt of a formal demand, is unnecessary.
- Condition precedent to liability
- A contractual requirement whose breach can prevent the insurer from being obliged to indemnify the affected claim. Its legal effect depends on its wording, not simply its heading.
- Rolling assessment
- A continuing duty to investigate or reassess whether an incident might produce a claim. The court rejected such a duty under this clause while requiring action on information actually acquired.
- Contra proferentem
- A residual interpretive principle resolving genuine ambiguity against the party responsible for the wording. It does not apply merely because drafting is awkward.
- Business efficacy
- A basis for implying a contractual term where necessary to make the agreement operate as reasonably intended. A term is not implied simply because it would improve one party’s position.
- Quantum
- The amount of damages, distinct from whether the defendant is legally responsible.
- Obiter
- Observations unnecessary to decide the case. The court avoided making such a ruling on the disputed binding effect of the earlier judgment.
9. Conclusion
The appeal failed because Protec acquired sufficient knowledge within the reporting window, failed to notify, and later failed to forward relevant claim correspondence. Clear policy wording made those obligations conditions precedent and entitled QBE to refuse the claim without the additional rationality restriction advanced by the claimant.
The central lesson is precise: an insured need not undertake a rolling investigation under this wording, but must act on qualifying information received within the contractual reporting period. The separate question whether a judgment against an insured conclusively binds a non-party insurer under the 2010 Act remains open.