Constitutional Equality Permits Different Welfare Packages Where State-Funded Accommodation and Meals Are Provided

Case: AA & anor v Minister for Social Protection & ors (Approved)
Citation: [2026] IESC 42
Court: Supreme Court of Ireland
Judgment: O’Malley J., 13 October 2026

1. Introduction

This judgment addresses whether constitutional equality requires the State to provide the same cash welfare allowances to people receiving materially different packages of public support. The appellants, a married couple displaced from Ukraine, challenged legislation excluding beneficiaries of temporary protection from ordinary social welfare payments while they lived in designated accommodation centres providing accommodation and meals at State expense.

The wife had previously received disability allowance, and her husband had received carer’s allowance for caring for her. Following the legislative changes, both allowances ceased and were replaced by substantially smaller weekly administrative payments. Their medical circumstances had not changed, and they would otherwise have continued to satisfy the statutory eligibility requirements.

The Supreme Court rejected their Article 40.1 challenge. Its central conclusion was that the distinction did not depend merely on an address: it reflected different legal statuses and, critically, different forms of assistance. A constitutional comparison of financial support could not disregard the substantial value of accommodation and meals supplied in kind.

The decision nevertheless preserves an important qualification. Compliance with the minimum standards of the Temporary Protection Directive does not, by itself, answer a constitutional equality challenge. Nor does legislative latitude remove the State’s continuing obligation to provide suitable accommodation or assistance in obtaining housing, necessary subsistence, and appropriate support for special needs.

2. Background and Legislative Framework

The appellants’ circumstances

The appellants received temporary protection in Ireland in April 2022 and were accommodated in State-funded, full-board accommodation. The wife has serious medical conditions and uses a wheelchair. Her husband, who also has medical needs, provides her care. They were assessed as having no other means.

Initially, the wife received disability allowance at €208 weekly and the husband received carer’s allowance at €224 weekly. The accommodation and board supplied by the State were properly disregarded under the applicable statutory means assessment. The dispute therefore did not concern whether the original awards were lawful or whether their underlying medical and caring circumstances continued.

Temporary protection and ordinary welfare access

The Temporary Protection Directive, Council Directive 2001/55/EC, provides an immediate, group-based response to mass displacement. Unlike the ordinary international protection process, it does not require a detailed individual determination of refugee or subsidiary protection status.

For the period relevant to the proceedings, section 60 of the International Protection Act 2015 implemented the temporary protection regime. Before amendment, section 60(10)(b) entitled beneficiaries to medical care and social welfare benefits on the same conditions as Irish citizens. This also enabled beneficiaries to satisfy the habitual residence requirement without demonstrating the connections ordinarily required for many assistance payments.

Article 13 of the Directive requires access to suitable accommodation or the means to obtain housing, necessary social welfare and subsistence assistance where resources are insufficient, and medical and other assistance for persons with special needs. It does not necessarily require assistance to be delivered through particular domestic welfare allowances.

The 2024 changes

The Social Welfare and Civil Law (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2024 changed the position in two connected ways:

  • Section 11 amended section 60(10)(b) to exclude entitlement to the same social welfare benefits as Irish citizens while a beneficiary resided in a designated accommodation centre. The entitlement to medical care was not removed by that amendment.
  • Section 10 disqualified residents of designated accommodation centres from payments listed in section 139 of the Social Welfare Consolidation Act 2005, including disability allowance and carer’s allowance.

The appellants’ accommodation was designated in September 2024. Their allowances consequently ceased, and each instead received an ex gratia payment of €38.80 weekly. They retained access to urgent or exceptional financial assistance where the relevant conditions were satisfied.

The legislation arose against severe pressure on accommodation resources. The State had accommodated large numbers of displaced people in serviced hotels, and the evidence described the risk that accommodation would become unavailable for new arrivals. The policy sought to reduce prolonged dependence on that emergency accommodation and promote independent living and integration.

3. Proceedings and Outcome

Owens J. dismissed the judicial review proceedings in the High Court: [2025] IEHC 732. He held that the appellants had not established either non-compliance with the Directive or unconstitutional inequality. He considered that the Oireachtas could distinguish between people receiving full-board accommodation and those required to meet ordinary living costs.

The Supreme Court granted a direct appeal in [2026] IESCDET 36. Before it, however, the appellants did not pursue their EU law challenge. Their case became a pure equality claim: they asserted no independent substantive entitlement to the allowances but maintained that their exclusion from benefits available to comparable people was arbitrary and irrational.

Their chosen comparators were:

  1. other beneficiaries of temporary protection living outside designated centres;
  2. recognised refugees and beneficiaries of subsidiary protection; and
  3. residents of care institutions who could receive disability allowance despite also receiving accommodation and maintenance.

O’Malley J. concluded that the distinctions were legitimate and rational and that the appellants had not established unconstitutional financial disadvantage relative to those groups. The appeal was dismissed.

The appellants’ subsequent application for international protection did not render the proceedings moot. Their entitlement during the earlier period of temporary protection remained a live issue.

4. Legal Reasoning

A. EU minimum standards do not displace constitutional equality

The abandonment of the Directive challenge was significant because the Directive and its implementing legislation supplied the foundation of the appellants’ residence and assistance entitlements. The Supreme Court proceeded on the accepted basis that those obligations had been met.

Nevertheless, the Court expressly rejected the proposition that this necessarily concluded the constitutional inquiry. A State could provide everyone with the EU minimum while still making unjustified distinctions within the protected group. Benefits allocated on an arbitrary, capricious or irrational basis could therefore infringe Article 40.1 despite compliance with the Directive.

This separates two questions that must not be conflated: whether assistance meets a mandatory minimum, and whether its distribution unjustifiably differentiates between comparable people.

B. Equality review is not a judicial choice of the fairest welfare policy

Applying the principles in Donnelly v. Minister for Social Protection, the Court stressed that Article 40.1 protects against arbitrary, capricious and irrational discrimination. The challenger bears the burden of establishing unconstitutionality, assessed against the presumption of constitutionality and the constitutional separation of powers.

Particular latitude is afforded to the Oireachtas in social and fiscal legislation. A court cannot require a benefit to be extended simply because a broader scheme would appear fairer. The classification must serve a legitimate legislative purpose and be relevant to achieving that purpose; a distinction incapable of supporting its stated purpose cannot satisfy that requirement.

The applicable intensity of scrutiny also matters. Differentiation affecting characteristics intrinsic to personal identity, or groups particularly vulnerable to prejudice and stereotyping, attracts especially close examination. Here, however, no claim was advanced that the legislative distinction rested on such a suspect ground. The argument was that residence was an irrational basis for withdrawing allowances.

C. The distinction concerned the support package, not merely location

The Court rejected the characterisation of the legislation as an address-based exclusion. Designated accommodation carried a substantial package of support: accommodation, meals and associated services supplied at State expense. People living independently had to meet costs that designated-centre residents did not.

Accordingly, identical medical or caring circumstances did not exhaust the relevant comparison. In assessing a financial equality claim, the Court also had to consider the financial support already supplied to each group.

This explains why continued satisfaction of the original allowance criteria did not determine the appeal. The challenge was to a new statutory exclusion, not to a finding that the appellants’ disabilities or caring responsibilities had ceased. Their prior eligibility did not, without more, establish that the revised classification was unconstitutional.

D. Statutory means assessment and constitutional comparison are different exercises

A particularly important distinction concerns the treatment of accommodation and meals. Their value had correctly been excluded from the statutory means test. But that statutory treatment did not require a constitutional court to pretend that those services had no economic value.

The appellants pointed to housing support, fuel allowance and other assistance available to independent households. The Court considered it unrealistic to infer that those supports eliminated the ordinary costs of rent, food, heating and utilities. Housing assistance could still leave a rent contribution payable, while other supports were not designed to cover all household expenditure.

The significant reduction in the appellants’ cash income was undisputed. The failure of their claim lay elsewhere: they had not established that the complete support package placed them at an unjustifiably adverse financial position compared with the selected groups.

E. Why the three comparator groups failed

Beneficiaries of temporary protection living independently

These individuals shared the appellants’ legal status but did not receive the same accommodation-and-meals package. That factual difference was directly relevant to the form of financial assistance provided.

Recognised refugees and beneficiaries of subsidiary protection

Their status arose under a different legal regime and was different in nature. The legislature could legitimately anticipate comparatively longer residence and formulate policy accordingly. Moreover, they had no legal entitlement to combine ordinary welfare payments with State-funded serviced, full-board accommodation. Actual continued residence by some people in direct provision did not establish such an entitlement.

Residents of care institutions

Institutional residence followed an assessment that the person’s healthcare needs required residential care. Accommodation and maintenance were inseparable from that care, and residents could be required to contribute from income or assets. The appellants’ accommodation, by contrast, arose from displacement rather than an assessed need for institutional care. The Court therefore regarded the groups as neither legally nor factually comparable for this purpose.

F. Reducing reliance on emergency accommodation was legitimate

The Supreme Court adopted a more candid approach than the respondents’ suggested distinction between pressure and incentives. O’Malley J. considered that accommodation pressures plainly contributed to the policy and saw little material difference, in this context, between pressure and a disincentive.

That did not make the policy unlawful. It was legitimate to seek to reserve serviced accommodation for new arrivals and encourage those resident longer to find independent accommodation. An initially generous emergency response could be adjusted as circumstances changed.

The qualification was essential: appropriate alternative assistance had to remain available, and compliance with the Directive had to continue. The Court expressly acknowledged the difficult rental market and the additional obstacles arising from the appellants’ health needs.

G. The broader significance of an ability to change categories was reserved

The Court’s reasoning referred to the appellants’ ability to leave designated accommodation. However, it did not establish a general rule that an equality challenge fails whenever a claimant could choose to enter the favoured category.

That proposition had not been fully pursued. O’Malley J. expressly reserved her position on its possible effect and did not accept the appellants’ contrary analysis as settled. The distinction is important: practical choice formed part of the comparison between support arrangements, but a universal “change your status” defence was not decided.

5. Precedents Cited and Their Influence

Donnelly v. Minister for Social Protection [2023] 2 I.R. 415, [2022] IESC 31

This was the controlling authority. The judgment reproduced its summary of Article 40.1 principles, including the challenger’s burden, the presumption of constitutionality, legislative latitude in social and fiscal policy, and closer scrutiny where suspect grounds are involved.

Its treatment of a pure equality claim was especially influential. Exclusion from a benefit must rest on a constitutionally illegitimate distinction; a court cannot order greater inclusion merely because that would produce a fairer policy. This directed attention away from the hardship of losing the allowances alone and towards the justification for distinguishing between the overall support packages.

The appellants also invoked this case when arguing that the theoretical possibility of changing their circumstances could not determine an equality claim. The Supreme Court did not resolve that broader proposition.

Byrne (A Minor) v. Director of Oberstown School [2020] 2 I.R. 338, [2013] IEHC 562

The appellants relied on this authority to argue that entitlement should not depend on the institution in which a person happened to reside. It concerned materially different remission treatment of children serving detention sentences under different institutional regimes.

O’Malley J. explained that the unconstitutional disparity was not simply geographical. Children of similar ages serving detention sentences were treated differently according to where they had begun their sentences. The disparity persisted even after transfer because eligibility for remission remained attached to the original legal regime.

The analogy failed here because designated accommodation supplied a materially different form of assistance. A closer analogy would have required different welfare treatment between residents of different designated centres, which had not been shown.

B. v. Director of Oberstown Children Detention Centre [2023] 2 I.R. 191, [2020] IESC 18

The Court considered this the more useful analogy. A child in detention sought enhanced remission by comparison with adult prisoners, arguing that both groups were serving custodial sentences. The claim failed because relevant differences between adults and children justified different regimes, including a child-specific system of shorter-term incentives.

Its significance is methodological: sharing one important characteristic does not make two groups constitutionally interchangeable. The court must examine whether other differences legitimately explain the disputed treatment. Here, shared welfare eligibility or disability did not neutralise differences in accommodation support and legal status.

Murphy v. Attorney General [1982] I.R. 241; de Búrca v. Attorney General [1976] I.R. 38; and Burke v. Minister for Education [2023] 2 I.R. 1, [2022] IESC 1

The appellants cited these decisions collectively against the suggestion that their ability to change category answered their claim. Their argument was that the people challenging married-person taxation, exclusion from jury service, and treatment of home-schooled students could respectively have remained unmarried, become ratepayers, or attended school. Those possibilities had not been treated as determinative.

These authorities therefore supported a submission about the proper structure of equality analysis, rather than supplying the operative test applied to the welfare arrangements. Because O’Malley J. reserved the broader category-choice question, the judgment should not be read as adopting or rejecting the appellants’ interpretation of each decision.

Quinns Supermarket v. Attorney General [1972] I.R. 1 and Brophy v. Director of Public Prosecutions [2026] IESC 7

The judgment identifies these as part of the range of leading Article 40.1 authorities referred to in submissions. It does not separately analyse their facts or derive an additional decisive rule from either. Their role is contextual; the substantive framework is drawn principally from Donnelly v. Minister for Social Protection.

The references to Brennan and Dillane

Within the passage quoted from Donnelly v. Minister for Social Protection, the Court referred to Brennan and Dillane. The supplied judgment does not give their full titles or citations. Their relevance lies in the formulation adopted: a statutory classification must pursue a legitimate purpose and be relevant to that purpose. They reinforce the rationality framework rather than add a separate factual analogy.

6. Significance and Likely Impact

Whole-package comparisons in welfare litigation

The judgment provides strong guidance for claims involving cash benefits alongside public services supplied in kind. A claimant cannot isolate the cash payment while disregarding accommodation, meals or other financially significant support. Equally, the decision does not prescribe exact monetary equivalence between different schemes.

Greater attention to comparator evidence

Future challenges will need to identify both the legal entitlements and actual financial circumstances of comparator groups. Evidence of reduced income establishes hardship, but does not necessarily establish unconstitutional inequality. Relevant material may include unavoidable living costs, contributions towards accommodation, available supports and special needs.

Room to revise emergency support schemes

The decision supports legislative adjustment of emergency reception arrangements as circumstances develop. It recognises resource management, avoiding the permanent use of temporary accommodation, and promoting independence as legitimate objectives. That latitude remains bounded by rational classification and continuing minimum assistance obligations.

Limits on the ruling

The judgment does not establish that immigration status can justify any welfare distinction, that in-kind assistance always permits withdrawal of cash support, or that meeting EU minimum standards guarantees constitutionality. Nor does it resolve a claim based on a suspect ground or establish that all beneficiaries can realistically obtain suitable independent accommodation.

The judgment notes that the amended welfare entitlement provision was subsequently re-enacted in section 237(11)(b) of the International Protection Act 2026. Its reasoning therefore has continuing practical relevance, although the proceedings concerned the earlier statutory framework.

7. Complex Concepts Simplified

Pure equality claim
A claim that a benefit has been unjustifiably withheld compared with similar people, without asserting an independent right to receive that benefit.
Comparator
The person or group used to demonstrate unequal treatment. The comparison must account for differences relevant to the benefit’s purpose.
Assistance in kind
Support delivered as goods or services, such as accommodation and meals, rather than money. It can have substantial financial value.
Presumption of constitutionality
The starting position that legislation is constitutionally valid, with the challenger bearing the burden of establishing otherwise.
Legislative latitude
The space allowed to the Oireachtas to make policy choices, especially about public expenditure. It does not permit arbitrary discrimination.
Temporary protection and international protection
Temporary protection responds rapidly to displacement affecting a defined group. Refugee status and subsidiary protection ordinarily follow individual assessment and carry a different legal framework of rights.
Mootness
A case may become moot when its resolution no longer affects a live dispute. This appeal remained live because past welfare entitlements were still contested.

8. Conclusion

The judgment confirms that Article 40.1 does not require identical cash welfare payments where relevant differences in legal status and State-funded support justify different arrangements. The constitutional comparison must consider the complete assistance package, not merely the allowance withdrawn.

Its significance is balanced: the Oireachtas retains substantial freedom to redesign social support, but EU minimum compliance is not a constitutional safe harbour. Rational distinctions, appropriate assistance and continuing protection of vulnerable beneficiaries remain essential.