Workers’ Compensation After Death: An Adequate Record Can Preserve the Claim

Matter of Greek v Dansville Cent. Sch. Dist.
2026 NY Slip Op 06044
Appellate Division, Third Department — October 15, 2026

This commentary addresses the supplied opinion, which is designated uncorrected and subject to revision before publication in the Official Reports.

1. Introduction

This decision addresses how a workers’ compensation claim may proceed when the injured employee dies before adjudication and cannot testify or undergo an independent medical examination. It also examines whether an accident involving a worker with preexisting heart disease arose out of employment, and whether accident-related injuries contributed sufficiently to death to support death benefits.

Walter E. Greek worked as a school bus driver for the self-insured Dansville Central School District. Although he had premature ventricular contractions and cardiomyopathy, his conditions had been treated, and he had been assessed as presenting no imminent risk of symptoms that would interfere with safely operating a commercial vehicle.

On April 5, 2022, while driving an empty bus into the employer’s garage parking lot, he lost control and struck another bus. He was found unresponsive and in ventricular fibrillation. Efforts to restore his normal heart rhythm took approximately an hour. He sustained neurological injury from prolonged inadequate circulation, together with kidney, lung and rib injuries, and remained comatose until his death five days later.

Two proceedings followed: a claim for benefits attributable to injuries sustained during his lifetime and a separate death benefits claim. After his surviving spouse also died, Michelle L. Greek prosecuted both proceedings as executor of his estate. The employer challenged the continuation of the lifetime claim, the handling of a missed prehearing conference and the causal connection between employment, injury and death.

The court affirmed the Workers’ Compensation Board’s operative amended decisions. Its significance lies principally in applying established doctrines together: death does not automatically terminate an unresolved claim; procedural objections may be waived through delay; an unexplained workplace accident may receive the statutory presumption of work connection; and a compensable injury need only contribute to death, rather than be its sole or predominant cause.

2. Summary of the Opinion

  • Superseded decisions: Appeals from the Board’s November 2023, June 2024 and August 2024 decisions were dismissed as moot because later amended decisions expressly superseded them.
  • Missed conference: The employer waived its objection to the deceased employee’s nonappearance by waiting more than a year and a half, during which extensive proceedings continued.
  • Survival of the lifetime claim: Surveillance footage, hospitalization records and medical opinion evidence provided a sufficient basis to adjudicate the claim despite the employee’s death.
  • Compensable injuries: Substantial evidence supported the Board’s determination that the kidney, lung and rib injuries arose out of and in the course of employment.
  • Death benefits: Medical evidence supported the finding that accident-related trauma contributed to death, notwithstanding significant underlying cardiac disease.

The May 21, May 30 and June 25, 2025 amended decisions were affirmed without costs. The court therefore upheld both the establishment of the lifetime claim and the death benefits determination under Workers’ Compensation Law § 16.

3. Analysis: Legal Reasoning

A. Mandatory procedural language does not eliminate waiver

The employer relied on 12 NYCRR 300.38(g)(16), which directs that a represented claimant’s case be marked “no further action” when the claimant fails to appear or is otherwise unprepared at a prehearing conference. The opinion also referenced the corresponding provision for unrepresented claimants, 12 NYCRR 300.33(f)(9).

The court did not resolve the issue by announcing an automatic exception for deceased claimants. Instead, it focused on the employer’s conduct. Although the regulations did not expressly authorize waiver, the employer could waive a procedural objection by failing to raise it at the proper time. Its objection came long after the May 2022 conference and after substantial additional proceedings.

The distinction matters: the decision does not make the attendance requirement optional. It establishes that an employer cannot necessarily preserve a procedural objection indefinitely merely because the underlying regulation uses mandatory language.

B. Death does not automatically extinguish an unresolved compensation claim

The Board has discretion to continue proceedings after an injured employee dies, resolve outstanding disputes and make an appropriate award. That discretion is constrained by the practical ability to adjudicate the claim fairly.

Abatement may be warranted when the record is undeveloped and death prevents the employer from meaningfully investigating contested matters through cross-examination or an independent medical examination. The relevant question is therefore not simply whether those opportunities have been lost, but whether their loss leaves the employer unable to develop and contest the material issues.

Here, surveillance footage documented the accident, and hospital records documented its aftermath. The employer also retained a physician to review the medical records and address causation. Those sources allowed the parties to litigate the central dispute without the employee’s testimony or a physical examination.

The court accordingly found substantial evidence supporting the Board’s assessment of the available record and no abuse of discretion in allowing the claim to continue. This is a record-specific ruling, not a declaration that every deceased employee’s claim must survive.

C. Occurrence at work and causal connection to work are distinct requirements

A compensable injury must occur both in the course of employment and arise out of employment. The first requirement concerns the circumstances in which the employee was working. The second concerns the connection between employment and the accident or injury.

The accident indisputably occurred while Greek was performing his work. Workers’ Compensation Law § 21(1) therefore supplied a rebuttable presumption that the accident also arose out of employment, absent substantial evidence to the contrary.

The employer argued that an unrelated episode of ventricular fibrillation caused Greek to lose consciousness before the collision. On that account, the initial medical emergency was personal rather than occupational, and the rib and lung injuries resulted from resuscitation following that unrelated event.

The Board was not required to accept that sequence. Greek’s treating cardiologist testified that he had been doing well and that a premature ventricular contraction unexpectedly progressing to the fatal rhythm would have been surprising given his history. Both treating cardiologists acknowledged that chest trauma could produce the arrhythmia. The employer’s reviewing physician, meanwhile, admitted that he was assuming a cardiac event had caused unconsciousness before the collision.

The medical uncertainty therefore did not compel a finding against compensability. The Board credited evidence undermining the employer’s proposed sequence and found that the medical proof did not establish an unrelated cardiac event preceding the accident. The court deferred to that permissible assessment.

Importantly, the decision does not establish that work definitively caused the initial arrhythmia. It upholds the Board’s finding that the employer’s competing explanation did not defeat compensability on this record.

D. Injuries from necessary treatment remained within the compensable chain

The employer’s argument concerning resuscitation injuries depended on treating the cardiac emergency as unrelated to work. Once the Board rejected that premise, it could find the ensuing injuries compensable whether they resulted directly from the collision or from necessary treatment for the injuries sustained.

The reasoning recognizes that the consequences of a compensable accident can extend beyond the immediate impact. It does not hold that injuries sustained during every workplace medical intervention are automatically compensable; the connection to the compensable event remains essential.

E. A work-related injury need only contribute to death

The death benefits claim required its own causal analysis. Claimant did not have to prove that the compensable condition was the sole or most direct cause of death. A contributing causal role was sufficient.

The death certificate identified complications of probable cardiac arrhythmia due to nonischemic cardiomyopathy as the immediate cause, but also identified multiple blunt force injuries as significant contributing factors. The medical examiner explained that, more likely than not, the traumatic injuries imposed additional stress on Greek’s already vulnerable heart and contributed to his death.

The post-accident treating cardiologist could not exclude a contribution from the trauma and had no reason to dispute the medical examiner’s assessment. The affirmative foundation was thus not merely a physician’s inability to rule out causation: it included the medical examiner’s positive opinion and the death certificate.

The court upheld the Board’s decision to credit that evidence. Underlying heart disease and compensable trauma were not mutually exclusive causes; both could contribute to the fatal outcome.

F. Appellate review respected the Board’s fact-finding role

The court repeatedly acknowledged that evidence could support a different result. That did not authorize it to choose a different medical explanation or reassess witness credibility. Its task was to determine whether substantial evidence supported the Board’s findings and whether the Board properly exercised its discretion.

This distinction explains the result: affirmance did not require the employer’s account to be medically impossible, only that the Board’s contrary findings had adequate evidentiary support.

4. Precedents Cited and Their Influence

A. Appeals from superseded decisions

  • Matter of Capers v Jacobi Med. Ctr., 235 AD3d 1052, 1053 n [3d Dept 2025], and Matter of Pomerantz v City of Newburgh Fire Dept., 214 AD3d 1269, 1270 n 2 [3d Dept 2023], lv denied 41 NY3d 902 [2024]: These decisions supplied the procedural basis for dismissing appeals from determinations that had been expressly amended and superseded. Their role was to identify the operative decisions for review, not to resolve compensability.

B. Waiver through litigation conduct

  • Matter of Collier v Brightwater Beer & Soda Distrib., 147 AD2d 868, 870 [3d Dept 1989], affd 75 NY2d 949 [1990]: This was the principal authority for the proposition that an employer may waive issues or defenses expressly or through conduct. It also supported treating an objection as waived when not asserted at the proper time.
  • Matter of Hernandez v Excel Recycling Corp., 31 AD3d 1091, 1092 [3d Dept 2006]: Cited in accord with Collier, it reinforced the applicability of waiver principles in workers’ compensation proceedings.
  • Matter of Lazalee v Wegman's Food Mkts., Inc., 40 NY3d 458, 461-462 [2023]: The court distinguished this decision because the request for a mandatory adjournment there was made at the hearing itself. The contrast shows why timely invocation of a procedural entitlement differs from raising it after extensive further litigation.

C. Continuation of proceedings after death

  • Matter of Brady v Town of Warwick, 244 AD3d 1699, 1700 [3d Dept 2025]: Quoting Scano, this decision supplied the affirmative rule that the Board may continue a deceased employee’s unresolved proceeding, determine controversies and award benefits where appropriate.
  • Matter of Scano v DOCCS Taconic Corr. Facility, 195 AD3d 1325, 1326-1328 [3d Dept 2021]: This authority supplied both the discretionary continuation rule and its evidentiary limitation. It identifies circumstances in which an undeveloped record, combined with the inability to examine or cross-examine the deceased claimant, may justify abatement. The court distinguished the present record because independent evidence and expert review remained available.
  • Employer: Maxons Restorations Inc., 2022 WL 3574983, *5, 2022 NY Wrk Comp LEXIS 4348, *11-12 [WCB Nos G258 1314, G236 2277, Aug. 15, 2022]: This Board decision was cited comparatively on abatement. Its placement alongside Scano emphasizes the importance of the particular evidentiary record. The opinion does not provide enough detail to attribute a broader holding to that administrative decision.

D. Compensability, presumptions and medical conflicts

  • Matter of Larosa v ABC Supply Co., Inc., 159 AD3d 1321, 1321-1322 [3d Dept 2018]: This decision supported two central propositions: whether a compensable accident occurred is ordinarily a factual question for the Board, and § 21(1) presumptively connects an accident occurring in the course of employment to that employment unless substantial contrary evidence exists.
  • Matter of Bosque v Prime Support Inc., 226 AD3d 1280, 1281 [3d Dept 2024]: Cited in accord with Larosa, it reinforced substantial-evidence review of the Board’s determination that a compensable accident occurred.
  • Matter of Malacarne v City of Yonkers Parking Auth., 41 NY2d 189, 193 [1976]: This Court of Appeals authority supplied the distinction between an injury arising out of employment and one occurring in its course. That distinction framed the disputed causal issue after the parties agreed that Greek was working when the collision occurred.
  • Matter of Leon v Monadnock Constr. Inc., 208 AD3d 1415, 1415-1416 [3d Dept 2022]: The court cited this decision as additional support for the statutory presumption of work connection.
  • Matter of Worthington v Samaritan Med. Ctr., 124 AD3d 1155, 1156 [3d Dept 2015]: This precedent supported both the presumption and deference to the Board’s resolution of conflicting medical evidence. It thus connected the governing legal framework with the appellate court’s limited fact-reviewing role.
  • Matter of Oathout v Averill Park Cent. Sch., 142 AD3d 749, 750 [3d Dept 2016], and Matter of Booker v Intermagnetics Gen. Corp., 53 AD3d 743, 744-745 [3d Dept 2008]: These authorities supported affirmance of the Board’s work-connection determination under deferential substantial-evidence review. The opinion did not elaborate on their facts, so their significance here is the supporting principle rather than a stated factual identity.

E. Contribution to death

  • Matter of Hickey v Skanska-Walsh JV/Pace Car Plumbing LLC, 224 AD3d 1018, 1020 [3d Dept 2024]: This decision supplied the controlling formulation that a compensable condition need not be the sole or most direct cause of death; contribution is sufficient. It directly answered the employer’s reliance on Greek’s serious cardiac disease.
  • Matter of Pickerd v Paragon Envtl. Constr., Inc., 161 AD3d 1470, 1471 [3d Dept 2018]: Cited both for the contributing-factor standard and for affirmance of the death benefits determination, it supported the legal sufficiency of a causal contribution despite competing causes.
  • Matter of Polonski v Town of Islip, 220 AD3d 1031, 1033 [3d Dept 2023], lv denied 41 NY3d 905 [2024], and Matter of Brown v Clifton Recycling, 1 AD3d 735, 736 [3d Dept 2003]: These decisions supported deference to the Board’s assessment of evidence linking the compensable condition to death. Their use confirms that conflicting proof does not itself require reversal.

5. Potential Impact and Limits

Evidence preservation becomes especially important when the worker cannot participate. Surveillance footage, contemporaneous treatment records and expert records review may preserve the ability to adjudicate a claim despite death. Their value lies in addressing the actual disputed issues, not merely in increasing the volume of documentation.

Employers must raise procedural objections promptly. A mandatory-sounding regulation does not necessarily protect a party that permits proceedings to continue without timely objection.

Preexisting disease does not settle accident causation. The existence of a cardiac condition did not establish that a personal medical event preceded and caused the collision. Future cases will still depend on the evidence concerning sequence, mechanism and the statutory presumption.

Death benefits can coexist with a dominant nonoccupational disease. A work-related injury may contribute to death by imposing additional stress on an already compromised organ. The decision nevertheless requires supporting causal evidence; it does not equate temporal proximity with causation.

The opinion is best understood as a coordinated application of existing doctrine rather than a wholesale new rule. It does not make all posthumous claims viable, all accidents at work compensable, or all deaths following a workplace injury work-related. Nor does it decide general questions about entitlement to or distribution of benefits after the deaths of an employee and surviving spouse.

6. Complex Concepts Simplified

Abatement
Termination of a pending claim without completing its adjudication. Here, death alone did not require that result.
Waiver
Loss of an objection through words or conduct, including failure to assert it when required.
“No further action”
A procedural designation stopping further action on a case at that stage. It is not itself a decision that the claimed injury lacked merit.
Prima facie medical evidence
Initial medical evidence sufficient to permit a claim to proceed, rather than a final determination that every element has been established.
Rebuttable presumption
A legal starting assumption that can be overcome by sufficient contrary evidence. Section 21(1) linked the accident’s occurrence during work to its work-related character, subject to rebuttal.
Substantial evidence
Relevant evidence adequate to support a reasonable conclusion. It does not require that the record permit only one possible conclusion.
Abuse of discretion
An improper exercise of decision-making authority. Appellate review asks whether the Board acted within permissible bounds, not simply whether another choice was possible.
Contributing cause
A condition or injury that helps bring about death, even if another disease is the primary cause.
Ventricular fibrillation
A chaotic heart rhythm that prevents effective circulation of blood to the brain and other organs.
Moot appeal
An appeal that no longer presents a live issue requiring resolution. Here, amended decisions replaced the original determinations.

7. Conclusion

Matter of Greek v Dansville Cent. Sch. Dist. confirms that an employee’s death need not prevent a fair adjudication of an unresolved workers’ compensation claim when independent evidence permits meaningful litigation. It also reinforces timely preservation of procedural objections, careful treatment of competing medical explanations and the sufficiency of a work-related contribution to death.

The central lesson is evidentiary rather than categorical: a developed record can sustain both lifetime and death benefits despite the worker’s unavailability, preexisting disease and genuine medical uncertainty.