General Risk-Control Approval Does Not Bar Rescission for a False Fire-Alarm Representation

Case: Northfield Ins. Co. v. Michigan 32, LLC
Court: United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
Case number: 25-1866
Decision date: October 15, 2026
Opinion by: Circuit Judge Cole, joined by Chief Judge Kethledge and Circuit Judge Mathis

Publication status: Not recommended for publication. The opinion applies established Michigan insurance-law principles; it should not be characterized as creating a new, binding rule of Michigan law.

1. Introduction

This insurance dispute concerns whether an insurer’s favorable, general assessment of a property’s risk-control practices prevents it from later rescinding coverage for a materially false application statement. Michigan 32, LLC (M32) represented that its premises had a centrally monitored fire alarm, although no fire alarm had ever been installed. After a fire, Northfield Insurance Company denied coverage, returned the premium, and sought a declaration that the policy was void from its inception.

M32 argued that a post-issuance underwriting survey and accompanying letter led it to believe that its property complied with the policy. It therefore invoked waiver and equitable estoppel to prevent rescission. The Sixth Circuit rejected both arguments because the survey never addressed the fire alarm, and the insurer had no duty to investigate the truth of the application’s representations.

The decision’s central lesson is narrow but important: general risk-control approval, without discussion of the misrepresented safeguard or conduct relinquishing a known rescission right, does not prevent rescission on the facts presented.

2. Background and Procedural History

The application and policy

M32 submitted insurance applications in 2021 and 2022 stating that its premises were protected by an “ADT Central Station Theft and Fire” alarm monitored by a central station. Authorized representatives signed both applications and declared their statements true. In fact, the premises never had a fire alarm.

Northfield issued the relevant policy based on the 2022 application. Three provisions were significant:

  • A protective safeguards endorsement (PSE) required an automatic fire alarm monitored by a central station, or reporting to a public or private fire alarm station, as a condition of insurance.
  • A related exclusion denied coverage for fire losses when the insured had failed to comply with the PSE before the fire.
  • A separate provision voided coverage for intentional misrepresentation of a material fact concerning the covered property.

M32’s owner, Raymond Karam, acknowledged that his office received the policy, although he did not review it.

The risk-control survey and subsequent fire

In August 2022, shortly after issuance, Travelers Risk Control consultant Melissa Ellison conducted a telephone underwriting survey with Karam. Her same-day letter stated that M32’s management policies and procedures effectively provided property loss control and that she had no further recommendations. Critically, Ellison and Karam did not discuss the fire alarm.

A fire occurred in June 2023, during the policy period. M32 submitted a claim nine months later for damage to the building and business personal property. Northfield subsequently denied the claim, rescinded the policy because of the false fire-alarm representation, and refunded the premium.

The litigation

Northfield sought a declaratory judgment that the policy was void ab initio or, alternatively, that the PSE excluded M32’s losses. The district court granted summary judgment on both grounds.

On appeal, M32 principally asserted waiver and estoppel. The opinion also mentions an appeal involving related breach-of-contract and negligence claims, but it does not separately analyze those claims in detail.

3. Summary of the Opinion

The Sixth Circuit affirmed summary judgment for Northfield on the rescission ground. Applying Michigan substantive law, the court concluded that:

  1. A material misrepresentation in an insurance application permits the insurer to rescind the policy and treat it as void from inception.
  2. Northfield had no duty to investigate or verify M32’s representation that a compliant fire alarm existed.
  3. The survey and letter did not establish waiver because they did not demonstrate an intentional relinquishment of a known right to rescind.
  4. Equitable estoppel failed because the survey never addressed the fire alarm and therefore did not induce M32 to believe that its alarm arrangements satisfied the policy.

Because rescission independently supported affirmance, the court did not decide the parties’ arguments concerning the PSE. It also declined to consider other arguments that M32 had not raised below, finding no exceptional circumstances warranting first-instance appellate consideration.

4. Precedents Cited and Their Influence

Review standard and governing law

Branham v. Gannett Satellite Info. Network, Inc., 619 F.3d 563, 568 (6th Cir. 2010)

This authority supplies the de novo standard for reviewing summary judgment. The appellate court independently assessed whether any genuine dispute of material fact required a trial and whether Northfield was entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

SHH Holdings, LLC v. Allied World Specialty Ins. Co., 65 F.4th 830, 836 (6th Cir. 2023)

This case establishes that a federal court sitting in diversity applies the forum state’s substantive law. It directed the Sixth Circuit to Michigan law for the insurance-contract, rescission, waiver, and estoppel questions, while federal law governed summary-judgment procedure.

Rescission and the absence of an investigative duty

Lake States Ins. Co. v. Wilson, 586 N.W.2d 113, 115 (Mich. Ct. App. 1998) (per curiam)

This decision supplies the principal substantive rule: an insured’s material misrepresentation in an insurance application entitles the insurer to rescind the policy and declare it void ab initio. It provided the foundation for affirmance once M32’s equitable objections failed.

Titan Ins. Co. v. Hyten, 817 N.W.2d 562, 576 (Mich. 2012)

The Michigan Supreme Court’s rule that an insurer has no duty to investigate or verify an applicant’s representations was central to the result. M32 could not transform the underwriting survey’s failure to uncover the missing alarm into a legal obligation on Northfield’s part to discover the misrepresentation.

Waiver

Moore v. First Sec. Cas. Co., 568 N.W.2d 841, 844 (Mich. Ct. App. 1997)

This case defines waiver as the intentional and voluntary relinquishment of a known right. It also establishes that conduct expressing no intent to relinquish a right—and mere silence—does not establish waiver. Because the survey did not address the alarm, its silence did not show abandonment of Northfield’s rescission right.

Home-Owners Ins. Co. v. Perkins, 939 N.W.2d 705, 714 (Mich. Ct. App. 2019) (per curiam)

This authority recognizes implied waiver through decisive, unequivocal conduct reasonably indicating an intent to waive. The court considered that route but found the general risk-control assessment insufficiently specific to demonstrate relinquishment of the right at issue.

Patel v. Patel, 922 N.W.2d 647, 651 (Mich. Ct. App. 2018) (per curiam)

The opinion cites this case through the quotation in Home-Owners Ins. Co. v. Perkins. Its contribution is the formulation requiring decisive, unequivocal conduct for implied waiver; the court does not independently analyze its facts.

Burton v. Wolverine Mutual Insurance Co., 540 N.W.2d 480, 482 (Mich. Ct. App. 1995)

This was the principal contrasting precedent. There, an automobile insurer discovered an application misrepresentation but chose prospective cancellation rather than rescission, thereby waiving rescission. Northfield instead rescinded and refunded the premium upon learning of M32’s misrepresentation. The distinction concerns the insurer’s response to known facts, not simply whether it previously performed underwriting activity.

Equitable estoppel

Morales v. Auto-Owners Ins. Co., 582 N.W.2d 776, 779 (Mich. 1998)

This decision describes estoppel as an equitable defense that prevents a contracting party from enforcing a specific contractual provision. It supplied the general framework for M32’s attempt to prevent Northfield from relying on the misrepresentation.

W. Am. Ins. Co. v. Meridian Mut. Ins. Co., 583 N.W.2d 548, 550 (Mich. Ct. App. 1998) (per curiam)

This case provides the three-part estoppel test: inducement through representations, admissions, or silence; justified reliance and action; and resulting prejudice if the inducing party may deny the relevant facts. The Sixth Circuit resolved M32’s defense at the inducement stage rather than separately adjudicating every element.

23771 Blackstone, LLC v. Conifer Insurance Co., No. 364333, 2023 WL 7982350, at *5 (Mich. Ct. App. Nov. 16, 2023) (per curiam)

This decision supplied the closest factual analogy. It found no inducement even though regular inspections noted the absence of a required sprinkler system. The Sixth Circuit considered Northfield’s position stronger because Ellison’s survey made no observations about the fire alarm at all. The comparison reinforced that inspection activity does not automatically assure an insured of policy compliance.

Preservation of appellate arguments

Bannister v. Knox Cnty. Bd. of Educ., 49 F.4th 1000, 1011 (6th Cir. 2022)

This authority supported the court’s refusal to consider arguments not raised in the district court. The opinion found no exceptional circumstances justifying departure from the usual preservation requirement, leaving those arguments unaddressed on their merits.

5. Legal Reasoning

A. Rescission and the coverage exclusion were distinct routes

The district court accepted both application-based rescission and the PSE exclusion. These routes have different consequences: rescission treats the contract as void from inception, while an exclusion addresses whether an otherwise operative policy covers a particular loss.

The Sixth Circuit relied solely on rescission. Accordingly, its affirmance should not be treated as an appellate construction of the PSE’s precise terms or as an independent appellate holding that the exclusion applied.

The court treated the fire-alarm misrepresentation as material and did not undertake a separate, extended materiality analysis. Nor did it analyze the policy’s intentional-misrepresentation clause as an independent basis for affirmance. Its reasoning rested on Michigan application-based rescission law.

B. General approval was not relinquishment of a known right

M32’s waiver argument depended on converting a favorable assessment of management practices into acceptance of the premises despite their lack of a fire alarm. The court rejected that inference. An endorsement of general loss-control procedures did not show that Northfield knew the application was false and chose to abandon rescission.

The contrast with Burton v. Wolverine Mutual Insurance Co. explains the boundary. An insurer’s deliberate choice after discovering a misrepresentation can support waiver. A survey that never discusses the relevant safeguard does not show the same informed choice.

C. Estoppel required a connection between the insurer’s conduct and the asserted belief

Waiver focuses on the insurer’s relinquishment of a right; estoppel focuses on conduct inducing detrimental reliance. Although silence can support estoppel under the stated test, the court found no inducement here. Nothing in the survey addressed whether M32 had a compliant fire alarm.

The decision therefore does not establish that silence can never create estoppel. It establishes that this survey’s silence, considered alongside the absence of any duty to verify the application, did not supply the necessary inducement.

D. Attribution of the consultant’s conduct remained unresolved

The court assumed, without deciding, that Ellison’s conduct and knowledge could be imputed to Northfield. Even on that assumption, M32’s defenses failed. The opinion therefore does not resolve the agency relationship between Travelers Risk Control and Northfield or establish a general rule about attributing third-party consultants’ actions to insurers.

E. The holding did not depend on fire causation

The appellate reasoning did not require a determination that the missing alarm caused the fire or increased the resulting damage. The dispositive issue was the material misrepresentation in obtaining the policy, not a factual assessment of how an alarm would have affected this particular loss.

6. Potential Impact

  • For insurers: General underwriting or risk-control activity does not necessarily surrender application-based rescission rights. Conduct after actual discovery remains important, particularly a choice between prospective cancellation and rescission.
  • For insured businesses: A favorable survey letter is not necessarily confirmation that every application statement is accurate or every policy safeguard is satisfied. Applicants should verify specific representations rather than assume that underwriting will correct them.
  • For future litigation: Evidence of what was actually discussed, what the insurer knew, and what it communicated will be crucial. Express assurance about a missing safeguard or a knowing election to continue coverage would present materially different facts.
  • For appellate practice: Parties must preserve their arguments in the trial court. An appeal ordinarily will not provide a first opportunity to develop omitted theories.

As an unpublished disposition applying existing law, the opinion’s principal contribution is its factual guidance. It distinguishes a general risk-management assessment from a specific assurance of compliance, without announcing that inspections or survey letters can never support waiver or estoppel.

7. Complex Concepts Simplified

Rescission
Undoing a contract rather than merely ending it going forward.
Void ab initio
“Void from the beginning”: the policy is treated as having had no legal effect from inception.
Material misrepresentation
A false statement significant to the insurance transaction. Here, the false statement concerned a fire-protection measure also required by the policy.
Waiver
Giving up a known right intentionally, either expressly or through sufficiently clear conduct.
Equitable estoppel
Preventing a party from taking a position inconsistent with facts it induced another party reasonably to rely upon to that party’s detriment.
Summary judgment and de novo review
Summary judgment resolves a case without trial when no genuine material factual dispute requires one. De novo review means the appellate court independently evaluates the legal ruling.
Forfeiture
Losing the opportunity to have an argument considered because it was not timely raised—distinct from deliberately surrendering a known right.

8. Conclusion

The Sixth Circuit affirmed Northfield’s right to rescind because M32 materially misrepresented that its property had a compliant fire alarm. A general underwriting survey and favorable loss-control letter did not establish waiver or estoppel when the alarm was never discussed.

The opinion reinforces a practical distinction: general risk-control approval is not a specific assurance of policy compliance. Its reach remains bounded by its facts, its unpublished status, and its express decision not to resolve the alternative PSE ground.