Extraordinary Workers’ Compensation Benefits Require the Statutory Physician Certification Form

Case: Jerry R. Burkes v. Sysco, Knoxville, LLC, et al.
Court: Supreme Court of Tennessee, Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel
Case number: E2025-02007-SC-R3-WC

1. Introduction

This decision establishes a firm boundary between judicial discretion and statutory eligibility for extraordinary workers’ compensation benefits. An employee’s financial hardship, inability to resume former work, or efforts to obtain medical documentation cannot replace the physician certification form expressly required by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-242(a)(2)(B). When no completed form has been filed, the court lacks discretion under that provision to award extraordinary benefits.

Jerry R. Burkes, representing himself, sought additional compensation following a work-related knee injury sustained while employed by Sysco Knoxville, LLC. Sysco and its insurer, American Zurich Insurance Co., opposed his request for extraordinary benefits. Although the trial court awarded increased benefits, it denied extraordinary benefits because Burkes had not submitted the required physician certification. The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board affirmed, and the Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel affirmed the Board and adopted its opinion.

The principal issue was whether “substantial compliance” could excuse the complete absence of a statutorily required certification form. A separate challenge to the exclusion of post-hearing materials failed because Burkes did not develop that argument in his appellate briefs.

2. Background and Procedural History

The injury, treatment, and initial settlement

Burkes slipped and fell at work on January 26, 2023, injuring his left knee. The employer accepted the injury as compensable. His authorized treating physician, Dr. Michael McCollum, diagnosed partial medial and lateral meniscus tears and osteoarthritis and recommended surgery.

Following surgery, Dr. McCollum placed Burkes at maximum medical improvement on August 3, 2023, and assigned a 10% permanent medical impairment under the sixth edition of the American Medical Association’s impairment guides. After three additional weeks of light-duty restrictions, Burkes was released to full-duty work.

Burkes repeatedly expressed concern about meeting his job’s lifting requirements. He returned to full duty on August 24, 2023, but resigned shortly afterward and moved to North Carolina. The parties settled his initial benefits based on the 10% impairment rating, and the trial court approved that settlement in February 2024.

The request for further benefits

After the initial 45-week compensation period expired on July 4, 2024, Burkes timely petitioned for additional permanent disability benefits. By then, he had selected a new authorized physician in North Carolina for ongoing treatment. The record also referred to a subsequent knee injury and questions about which treatment related primarily to the compensable injury; those matters did not supply the basis for the appellate decision.

At the July 18, 2025 hearing, Burkes testified that he had worked elsewhere for lower pay but was then unemployed. He explained that he had resigned from Sysco because he did not believe he could perform the job following his injury. He also testified that he had asked Dr. McCollum to complete the required Physician Certification Form but had received no response.

After the hearing, Burkes sought to supplement the record with information concerning a hiatal hernia he believed was related to his knee injury, a potential impairment for gait derangement, and financial losses associated with selling his home. The employer objected, citing the regulatory requirement for advance judicial approval of a post-hearing brief.

The trial court’s ruling

On August 1, 2025, the trial court awarded Burkes $18,796.36 in increased benefits under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(3)(B). It found that his resignation resulted from the injury, that he had not returned to employment paying the same or a greater rate at the end of the initial benefit period, and that he was over forty.

The court nevertheless denied extraordinary benefits because Burkes had not filed a completed Physician Certification Form. It also granted the employer’s motion to strike his post-hearing submission.

3. Summary of the Opinion

The Appeals Board affirmed the trial court, and the Panel adopted the Board’s reasoning. The decision rests on four central conclusions:

  1. The certification form is mandatory. Section 50-6-242(a)(2)(B) expressly requires certification by the authorized treating physician on a form supplied by the Bureau.
  2. No form means no discretionary extraordinary award. Judicial discretion becomes relevant only after the statutory prerequisites have been satisfied.
  3. The asserted substantial compliance was insufficient. Burkes neither supplied the form nor explained how his actions otherwise constituted substantial compliance with the certification requirement.
  4. The evidentiary challenge was waived. Although Burkes mentioned the excluded post-hearing materials in his notice of appeal, he did not develop an argument about that ruling in either appellate brief.

The increased-benefits award therefore remained intact, while extraordinary benefits remained unavailable. The Appeals Board certified the trial court’s order as final and waived costs of the appeal before it. The Panel separately taxed the costs of the further appeal to Burkes.

4. Analysis

A. Precedents Cited and Their Influence

Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone N Am. Tire, LLC

The Board cited Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone N Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013), for the standard governing review of statutory and regulatory interpretation: review is de novo, without a presumption that the trial court’s legal conclusions are correct.

This authority framed the certification question as one of law. The Board independently determined whether section 50-6-242 permitted an extraordinary award without the required form. It did not merely defer to the trial judge’s understanding of the statute.

The citation’s role was methodological. The adopted opinion did not describe Mansell as a prior decision resolving the particular certification requirement at issue here.

Arden v. Kozawa

The Board cited Arden v. Kozawa, 466 S.W.3d 758, 764 (Tenn. 2015), when explaining that the availability of “substantial compliance” must be determined through statutory construction.

Its significance lies in directing attention to the governing text rather than treating substantial compliance as a general equitable exception. Whether an omitted step can be excused depends on what the legislature required and how the statutory scheme operates.

The opinion did not recount the facts or broader holdings of Arden. Accordingly, its use here should not be expanded into a claim that Arden itself decided the workers’ compensation certification issue.

Thompson v. Comcast Corporation

The Board relied extensively on Thompson v. Comcast Corporation, No. 2017-05-0639, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 1, at *24–25 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 30, 2018). The quoted passage supplied the principal interpretive framework:

  • Give effect to legislative intent through the statutory language’s natural and ordinary meaning.
  • Read the language in the context of the entire statute.
  • Avoid constructions that improperly expand or restrict statutory coverage.
  • Give meaningful effect to every word, phrase, clause, and sentence.
  • Construe workers’ compensation provisions fairly and impartially, rather than favoring either employee or employer.

These principles were decisive. Treating the specified certification as optional would deprive the form requirement of operative effect. Likewise, permitting a generalized showing of hardship to substitute for the certification would expand eligibility beyond the legislature’s stated conditions.

The impartial-construction principle also prevented the Board from resolving the omission through a broadly employee-favoring interpretation. The statutory requirements governed despite the employee’s alleged hardship.

Moore & Seiferth v. Ingles Markets, Inc.

The Board cited Moore & Seiferth v. Ingles Markets, Inc., No. 2015-02-0193, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 54, at *4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Nov. 4, 2015), for its conclusion that the challenge to the excluded post-hearing materials was waived.

Burkes identified the exclusion in his notice of appeal but supplied no supporting argument in either brief. The precedent therefore affected the scope of review: the Board did not decide whether those materials should have been admitted.

This distinction matters. The affirmance does not establish that evidence concerning financial hardship, additional medical conditions, or gait impairment is categorically inadmissible. The evidentiary issue went unreviewed because it was not adequately presented on appeal.

B. The Statutory Structure: Eligibility Before Discretion

The opinion distinguishes increased benefits from extraordinary benefits. Burkes qualified for the former, but that did not establish entitlement to the latter. Extraordinary benefits have additional statutory prerequisites.

Under section 50-6-242(a)(2), the workers’ compensation judge must first find, by clear and convincing evidence, that limiting recovery to increased benefits would be “inequitable in light of the totality of the circumstances.” The judge must also make specific, documented findings that:

  1. The authorized treating physician assigned an impairment rating of at least 10% to the body as a whole.
  2. The authorized treating physician certified, on the Bureau-provided form, that permanent activity restrictions resulting from the injury prevent the employee from performing the pre-injury occupation.
  3. The employee is not earning an average weekly wage or salary equal to or greater than 70% of the pre-injury amount.

These are cumulative requirements, not alternative routes to relief. Evidence relevant to one does not dispense with another. In particular, unemployment, reduced earnings, or financial distress cannot replace the required medical certification.

The Board’s central distinction was between discretion to grant an extraordinary award after eligibility is established and an asserted discretion to excuse an eligibility requirement. The statute permits the former but, as applied here, not the latter.

C. Why the Substantial-Compliance Argument Failed

Burkes argued that he had substantially complied with the statute. His testimony that he requested the form from Dr. McCollum, however, did not establish that the physician had made the required certification. A request for professional confirmation is not the confirmation itself.

The form requirement also serves a substantive evidentiary purpose. It calls for the authorized treating physician to connect permanent restrictions caused by the injury with the employee’s inability to perform the former occupation. The employee’s own concern about performing the job does not provide that prescribed medical assessment.

Moreover, the legislature required “specific, documented findings.” The Board considered that command inconsistent with awarding benefits despite the complete absence of the specified certification. Excusing the omission would effectively remove an express condition from the statute.

The holding should nevertheless be stated precisely: the complete absence of a Physician Certification Form was fatal to this claim. The opinion did not decide whether a submitted form containing a minor defect could ever satisfy the statute. Nor did it resolve what remedies might be available when an authorized physician fails to respond to a certification request.

D. The Limits of the Appellate Record

The Board noted that no properly filed hearing transcript was available. Its account of Burkes’s testimony therefore came from the trial court’s compensation order.

That limitation did not prevent resolution of the statutory question. The decision turned on the absence of the certification form, not on an appellate reassessment of witness credibility or a new medical finding about Burkes’s capabilities.

Similarly, the opinion did not independently determine that Burkes could perform his former job. Although Dr. McCollum had released him to full duty, the dispositive holding concerned the missing statutory certification rather than a separate adjudication of occupational capacity.

E. Potential Impact

The decision gives employees and practitioners a clear evidentiary priority: obtain and file the prescribed physician certification when seeking extraordinary benefits. Evidence of economic hardship or personal inability to work cannot safely be treated as a substitute.

For employers and insurers, the opinion confirms that a missing statutory prerequisite can defeat an extraordinary-benefits claim even when the employee qualifies for increased benefits. It also helps courts maintain the distinction between ordinary benefit adjustments and exceptional relief.

More broadly, the decision reinforces text-based, impartial construction of Tennessee’s workers’ compensation laws. Equitable considerations remain relevant because the statute expressly requires an assessment of inequity. But equity operates within the statutory framework; it does not authorize courts to disregard its conditions.

The waiver ruling supplies a separate practical lesson: identifying an alleged error in a notice of appeal is not enough. The issue must be supported by argument in the appellate briefing. The opinion provides no basis for assuming that self-representation excuses that omission.

5. Complex Concepts Simplified

Maximum medical improvement
The stage when a condition has stabilized sufficiently for permanent impairment to be assessed. It does not necessarily mean complete recovery or the absence of future medical needs.
Medical impairment versus occupational ability
An impairment rating measures permanent medical loss. Whether a person can perform a particular occupation is a different question. The extraordinary-benefits statute requires specified medical certification addressing that occupational question.
Increased benefits versus extraordinary benefits
These are distinct statutory forms of additional compensation. Qualifying for increased benefits does not automatically establish eligibility for extraordinary benefits.
Substantial compliance
An argument that the essential purpose of a legal requirement has been met despite imperfect compliance. Here, that argument could not overcome the complete absence of the required certification.
Clear and convincing evidence
A demanding civil proof standard requiring a firm conviction about the proposition established. The statute applies it to the finding that limiting the employee to increased benefits would be inequitable.
De novo review
Independent appellate consideration of a legal question, without presuming the trial court’s legal answer was correct.
Waiver through inadequate briefing
Loss of appellate consideration because a party did not develop an argument supporting the alleged error.

6. Conclusion

Jerry R. Burkes v. Sysco, Knoxville, LLC, et al. confirms that the Bureau-provided physician certification is a mandatory prerequisite to extraordinary workers’ compensation benefits. A request that a physician complete the form does not substitute for filing it, and financial hardship does not authorize a court to overlook its absence.

The decision preserves Burkes’s increased-benefits award while enforcing the additional conditions governing extraordinary relief. Its broader significance is straightforward: statutory discretion begins after mandatory eligibility requirements are satisfied, not instead of them.