D&O Coverage: Plain-Language Exclusions, Formal Departure Dates, and Related Claims

Case: Tri County Telephone Association v. Twin City Fire Insurance Company
Court: United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
Decided: November 3, 2026
Disposition: Summary judgment for the insurer affirmed.

Precedential status: This decision is an unpublished order and judgment, expressly designated as nonbinding except under law of the case, res judicata, and collateral estoppel. It may be cited for its persuasive value under Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 32.1 and Tenth Circuit Rule 32.1. It therefore illustrates the application of existing principles rather than establishing a new binding circuit rule.

1. Introduction

This insurance-coverage dispute concerned whether a directors and officers liability policy required an insurer to defend litigation arising from the acquisition of a telecommunications cooperative. Applying Wyoming contract law, the Tenth Circuit enforced the policy’s insured-versus-insured exclusion, rejected an exception for sufficiently long-departed managers, and held that adding another defendant did not create a newly timed claim.

Tri County Telephone Association, Inc. (TCT), formerly a nonprofit cooperative with 825 members, sought coverage from Twin City Fire Insurance Company for a class action challenging TCT’s acquisition by BHT Holdings, Inc. Joseph Campbell, a former TCT director who had opposed the acquisition, and his wife Barbara brought the underlying action. The defendants included TCT, former directors and officers, BHT, a BHT officer, and outside counsel.

The coverage action also named The Hartford Insurance Group, doing business as Hartford Financial Products. The appellate analysis focused on Twin City and its policy.

The central questions were whether the exclusion required evidence of collusion, when Campbell stopped serving as a director, whether some class members’ claims could receive allocated coverage, and whether a later amendment adding TCT’s former chief financial officer qualified as a separate claim.

2. Background and Procedural History

The acquisition and underlying litigation

TCT’s acquisition converted it into a privately held Wyoming corporation. Campbell opposed the transaction but could not prevent its approval. The following dates became critical to the insurance dispute:

Date Event Coverage significance
December 16, 2014 The board held its final meeting and unanimously adopted a resolution providing for its later resignation. TCT argued that Campbell stopped actively serving on this date.
December 23, 2014 The merger-approval vote was certified. Certification did not end Campbell’s directorship.
December 31, 2014 The former board’s resignations became effective and the board was dissolved. The court treated this as the end of Campbell’s service.
January 2, 2015 The acquisition formally closed. This was the merger agreement’s “Effective Time,” distinct from the board’s departure date.
December 28, 2015 The Campbells filed the underlying class action. The claim arose before the first anniversary of Campbell’s departure.
February 8, 2016 An amended complaint added former chief financial officer Steve Harper. The amendment added no new substantive claims; the court also found no additional facts differentiating the allegations against him.

The underlying action alleged breach of fiduciary duty and other wrongdoing connected with the acquisition. Its class consisted entirely of former TCT members, all treated as security holders for purposes of the transaction and policy analysis. Campbell actively participated as class representative until his death in 2020, after which another representative replaced him. TCT and the individual defendants obtained summary judgment in 2022.

The insurance dispute

TCT submitted the underlying action for coverage two days after it was filed. Twin City denied coverage, relying in part on the insured-versus-insured exclusion. TCT funded its own defense and later sued for declaratory relief, breach of contract, and bad faith.

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district court entered judgment for Twin City on all claims. The appeal challenged only the declaratory-judgment ruling. The Tenth Circuit therefore did not address the merits of the separate breach-of-contract or bad-faith rulings.

3. Summary of the Opinion

The court affirmed on four grounds:

  1. The exclusion applied according to its text. It covered claims brought or maintained by insureds in any capacity or by security holders of an insured entity. The underlying action satisfied those conditions without any additional showing of collusion or an internal board feud.
  2. The former-manager exception did not apply. Campbell remained a director until December 31, 2014, although the final board meeting occurred earlier. His December 28, 2015 lawsuit was therefore filed less than one year after his service ended.
  3. There was no covered component to allocate. Every class member was at least a security holder, a category expressly included in the exclusion. The court consequently did not decide how the policy’s allocation provision would operate in a genuinely mixed covered-and-uncovered action.
  4. Adding Harper did not establish a new claim date. The policy grouped claims involving the same or interrelated wrongful acts into a single claim first made on the earliest applicable date. The February 2016 amendment remained part of the claim first made on December 28, 2015.

These conclusions left Twin City without a duty to defend the underlying action under the coverage theory presented on appeal.

4. Analysis

A. Precedents Cited and Their Influence

Appellate review and governing law

  • Allen v. Sybase, Inc., 468 F.3d 642, 649 (10th Cir. 2006). This decision supplied the standard for reviewing cross-motions for summary judgment: review is de novo, using the district court’s standard and drawing appropriate inferences in favor of the party that did not prevail. Accordingly, the appellate court considered the record favorably to TCT while independently deciding the legal meaning of the policy.

  • D.K. v. United Behavioral Health, 67 F.4th 1224, 1235 (10th Cir. 2023). The court cited this case as additional support for the summary-judgment review framework. Neither party’s filing of a summary-judgment motion insulated the district court’s interpretation from independent appellate review.

  • Racher v. Westlake Nursing Home L.P., 871 F.3d 1152, 1162 (10th Cir. 2017). This precedent established the division between governing substantive and procedural law in the diversity action: Wyoming substantive law controlled policy interpretation, while federal procedural law governed the litigation.

  • Wade v. Emcasco Ins. Co., 483 F.3d 657, 665–66 (10th Cir. 2007). This decision explained how a federal court determines state law. Decisions of the state’s highest court control; where controlling authority is absent, other relevant judicial decisions may help predict that court’s approach. The Tenth Circuit accordingly anchored its analysis in Wyoming Supreme Court contract principles rather than treating another circuit’s insurance decision as controlling.

Wyoming insurance-contract principles

  • Memorial Hosp. of Sweetwater Cnty. v. Menapace, 404 P.3d 1179, 1182 (Wyo. 2017). This case established that interpreting an insurance policy is a question of law and begins with the policy’s plain language, as with other contracts. It supplied the foundation for enforcing the exclusion without adding a collusion requirement.

  • Doctors' Co. v. Ins. Corp. of Am., 864 P.2d 1018, 1024 (Wyo. 1993). This authority provided two complementary rules. Courts may not consider extrinsic evidence absent contractual ambiguity, and ambiguous insurance language is construed strictly against the insurer because insurance policies generally involve unequal bargaining power. The second rule did not assist TCT because the court found no relevant ambiguity. An insured-favorable interpretation is not automatic merely because the contract is an insurance policy.

  • Shoshone First Bank v. Pacific Employers Ins. Co., 2 P.3d 510, 513 (Wyo. 2000). This decision recognizes that the duty to defend is broader than the duty to indemnify and extends to allegations that, on the complaint’s face, rationally fall within coverage. Nevertheless, that breadth did not overcome an exclusion encompassing the action without an applicable exception.

  • Gumpel v. Copperleaf Homeowners Association, Inc., 393 P.3d 1279, 1290 (Wyo. 2017). This case reinforced enforcement of unambiguous contracts according to their terms and interpretation according to the meaning a reasonable person would assign. It supported the rejection of TCT’s proposed distinction between holding a directorship and actively performing particular board tasks. The court also relied on its plain-language principle when rejecting policy arguments directed against the related-claims provision.

  • Claman v. Popp, 279 P.3d 1003, 1013 (Wyo. 2012). The opinion encountered this precedent through quotations in Gumpel v. Copperleaf Homeowners Association, Inc.. It supplied the underlying formulations concerning ordinary meaning and enforcement without judicial reconstruction when contractual language is unambiguous.

The principal comparative insurance decision

Level 3 Communications, Inc. v. Federal Insurance Company, 168 F.3d 956 (7th Cir. 1999), played two distinct roles.

First, TCT invoked it to argue that insured-versus-insured exclusions should apply only to collusive suits or particularly bitter disputes within a corporate family. The Tenth Circuit concluded that the case supported the opposite approach. The Seventh Circuit had declined to make the exclusion depend on its supposed purpose, explaining that the parties had selected a readily administered textual rule rather than an inquiry into the character of the underlying dispute.

Second, the Seventh Circuit’s treatment of allocation helped define the limits of the analogy. There, shareholder litigation initially involved plaintiffs outside the insured-versus-insured exclusion, and a former director joined later. Although the exclusion applied, the allocation provision permitted separation of covered and uncovered components, avoiding the complete destruction of existing coverage merely because an insured plaintiff joined.

TCT’s policy differed decisively: its exclusion expressly included security holders. Consequently, the class members who were not directors or officers were still excluded claimants. The lesson was not that allocation is categorically unavailable, but that allocation cannot identify a covered component where every claimant falls within the operative exclusion and no applicable exception restores coverage.

B. Legal Reasoning

1. Contractual language controlled over the exclusion’s asserted purpose

The parties agreed on the material policy classifications: Campbell and the individual defendants were insureds; TCT was an insured entity; Campbell was a former manager and security holder; all class members were security holders; and the lawsuit constituted both an Insured Person Claim and an Entity Claim arising from an alleged Wrongful Act.

Those concessions made the exclusion’s application straightforward. It addressed claims brought or maintained by insureds “in any capacity” or by security holders of an insured entity. The court would not supplement that language with a requirement that the insurer prove collusion or a boardroom “family feud.”

This reasoning distinguishes an exclusion’s historical explanation from its contractual conditions. A provision may have developed partly to prevent collusion while being written to exclude a broader, objectively identifiable category of litigation. Under Wyoming’s plain-language approach, the latter governs unless ambiguity provides a basis for further interpretation.

2. Service continued until the directorship formally ended

The former-manager carveout required a civil proceeding brought by or on behalf of a former manager who had not served in that capacity for at least one year before the claim was made. It additionally required the absence of assistance, participation, or solicitation by a current manager or a former manager who had served during that preceding year.

TCT argued that Campbell stopped “serving” when he last acted at the December 16 board meeting. The court rejected the insertion of an unwritten “actively” limitation.

Directors ordinarily serve throughout their terms, not merely during meetings. A period without board business does not interrupt the office. Campbell remained available to act if an unexpected meeting became necessary before December 31. The court’s comparison to a lame-duck officeholder illustrated the same point: diminished activity or an impending departure does not terminate an existing position.

TCT’s dictionary definitions did not establish a contrary meaning. Definitions referring to completing a period of service or meeting organizational needs were consistent with continuing service between meetings.

The controlling date was therefore December 31, not December 16. Because the action was filed on December 28 of the following year, the one-year condition failed. The court did not need to excuse or soften the shortfall merely because the filing was close to the anniversary.

3. Allocation required an actually covered component

TCT attempted to distinguish Campbell’s position from that of ordinary class members. But the policy independently excluded claims by security holders, so a class member’s lack of director or officer status did not establish coverage.

The analysis stopped at that threshold. The court expressly found it unnecessary to interpret the allocation clause. Thus, the opinion should not be cited as resolving allocation methodology, the proper division of defense costs in mixed actions, or the treatment of nonexcluded plaintiffs under differently worded policies.

4. Related-claims language fixed the original claim date

The policy’s Interrelationship of Claims provision treated claims based on, arising from, or related to the same Wrongful Act or Interrelated Wrongful Acts as one claim, first made on the earliest date any such claim was made. Interrelated Wrongful Acts included acts sharing a common nexus of facts, circumstances, events, transactions, goals, motives, methodology, or causes.

The allegations against Harper concerned the same acquisition and relied on the same facts and legal theories as the original complaint. Adding him therefore did not start a new coverage clock.

TCT argued that a Wrongful Act was individual-specific because its definition referred to conduct by “an” insured. The court assumed that distinction could be correct without accepting that it changed the outcome. Even separate acts by different insured people would remain interrelated when connected by the same acquisition, factual allegations, and theories of liability.

This alternative reasoning is important: the result did not depend on deciding whether each defendant’s conduct constituted precisely the same Wrongful Act. The interrelated-acts language independently aggregated the allegations.

The former-manager exception itself concerned proceedings brought by or on behalf of qualifying former managers, rather than a general exemption for defendants sued long after leaving office. However, the court resolved the Harper issue through the related-claims provision, not through a separate holding about that claimant-defendant distinction.

C. Potential Impact

  • Formal departure records matter. Resolutions, effective resignation dates, and organizational records may determine whether a former-manager waiting period has expired. The date of the last meeting or last affirmative act may not suffice.
  • Policy wording limits purpose-based arguments. Parties should not assume that an insured-versus-insured exclusion requires collusion unless its language supplies that condition.
  • Security-holder language can materially broaden an exclusion. This result depended on an express reference to security holders. It does not establish that every insured-versus-insured exclusion reaches ordinary shareholders or former cooperative members.
  • Allocation is not an independent grant of coverage. Before debating allocation, an insured must identify a component that falls within coverage and outside applicable exclusions, accounting for any exceptions.
  • Amendments do not necessarily reset coverage timing. Where a policy aggregates related claims, adding defendants to existing transactional allegations may preserve the original claim date even when the amendment occurs after a relevant waiting period.
  • The decision’s persuasive reach is fact- and wording-dependent. Different exclusions, exceptions, relatedness definitions, or genuinely new allegations could support a different result.

The opinion’s principal practical significance lies in its coordinated treatment of exclusion language, officeholding dates, and claim aggregation. None can safely be analyzed in isolation.

5. Complex Concepts Simplified

D&O insurance
Insurance addressing specified liabilities associated with directors, officers, and, depending on the policy, the organization itself. Coverage remains subject to exclusions and conditions.
Insured-versus-insured exclusion
A provision excluding specified disputes initiated by insured persons or entities. This policy extended the exclusion to security-holder claims as well.
Carveout
An exception that removes qualifying matters from an exclusion. A carveout does not eliminate the need to satisfy the policy’s other coverage requirements.
Duty to defend and duty to indemnify
The duty to defend concerns providing or funding a defense against potentially covered allegations. Indemnification concerns paying covered liabilities. Wyoming recognizes the defense obligation as broader, but an applicable exclusion can still defeat it.
Allocation
Separating covered losses or defense costs from uncovered ones. Here, there was no covered claimant component to separate.
Interrelated wrongful acts
Alleged acts connected in a way specified by the policy. Such provisions can combine allegations against different defendants into one insurance claim with one original claim date.
Ambiguity and construction against the insurer
Genuinely unclear insurance wording may be interpreted against the insurer. A party’s preferred alternative reading does not, by itself, make otherwise clear wording ambiguous.
De novo review
Independent appellate examination of a legal issue, without deference to the district court’s legal conclusion.
Nonprecedential order and judgment
A decision that generally does not bind later courts as precedent, although it may persuade them. Its stated exceptions preserve specified effects within the same litigation or through doctrines preventing relitigation.

6. Conclusion

The Tenth Circuit affirmed the denial of defense coverage because the policy’s express terms encompassed every claimant, Campbell had not been out of office for a full year when the action began, and the later addition of Harper remained part of the original interrelated claim.

The decision’s central lesson is precise rather than sweeping: apply the actual policy language, use the effective end of service rather than the last active task, and examine related-claims provisions before treating an amendment as a new coverage event. Although nonbinding as precedent, the opinion offers a clear, persuasive application of Wyoming’s plain-language approach to D&O insurance.