Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

Joel Harrison was employed by the Central Construction Company, which was engaged in construction work for the United States Government at Edgewood Arsenal, Magnolia, Maryland. As part of his employment contract, Harrison was furnished free transportation by the employer via special work trains operated by the Pennsylvania Railroad Company from Baltimore to the worksite. On July 19, 1918, Harrison boarded what he believed to be a work train to Magnolia. After the train departed, he was informed by a railroad official that the train would not stop at Magnolia but only at Aberdeen and was instructed to disembark before Back River Station and take a following train. While attempting to board the subsequent train after walking to Back River Station, the train suddenly started and injured Harrison, resulting in the loss of his right foot. Harrison filed a claim for workers' compensation, which was awarded by the State Industrial Accident Commission. The employer and insurer appealed, and the Baltimore City Court reversed the award as a matter of law, holding the injury did not arise out of and in the course of employment. Harrison then appealed to the Court of Appeals of Maryland.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the injury sustained by Joel Harrison arose out of and in the course of his employment under the Maryland Workmen's Compensation Act.
  2. Whether the free transportation furnished by the employer as part of the employment contract extends the period of service to include the time of transportation to and from work.
  3. Whether the question of arising out of and in the course of employment, when facts are undisputed, is a question of law for the court or a question of fact for the jury.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The injury occurred during transportation furnished free by the employer as part of the employment contract, thus arising out of and in the course of employment.
  • The court erred in granting the employer’s prayer and reversing the compensation award because the determination of whether the injury arose out of and in the course of employment is a question of fact for the jury or court sitting as a jury.
  • Relied on precedent cases (Jewel Tea Co. v. Weber, Coastwise Shipbuilding Co. v. Tolson, Beasman v. Butler) to support that all facts and inferences must be submitted to the jury.

Appellees' Arguments

  • Applied the general rule that an injury occurring while an employee is on his way to work is not in the course of employment.
  • Argued that the injury did not arise out of and in the course of employment within the meaning of the Maryland Workmen's Compensation Act.
  • Relied on cases supporting the rule that transportation injuries before work begins are not compensable.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
In Re Donovan, 217 Mass. 76, 104 N.E. 431 Employer's liability extends to injuries during transportation provided as part of employment contract. Used to support the principle that transportation furnished by the employer as part of the employment contract extends the period of service to include transportation time.
Jewel Tea Co. v. Weber, 132 Md. 178 Questions of fact and inferences must be submitted to the jury. Appellant cited this to argue the issue should be decided by a jury, not as a matter of law.
Coastwise Shipbuilding Co. v. Tolson, 132 Md. 203 Similar to Jewel Tea Co., emphasizing jury determination of facts. Appellant relied on this for the same proposition regarding jury fact-finding.
Beasman v. Butler, 133 Md. 382 Reinforces the principle that factual disputes must be resolved by the jury. Appellant used this precedent to support that the question is generally one of fact.
Various English cases (e.g., Davies v. Rhymney Iron Co., Holmes v. Great Northern Rwy.) Employer liability for injuries during transportation provided by employer after employment begins. Referenced to establish the reasoned rule that employer liability depends on whether transportation is an express or implied term of employment contract.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court began by identifying the two-pronged test under the Maryland Workmen's Compensation Act: the claimant must be engaged in extra-hazardous employment and the injury must arise out of and in the course of employment. It was undisputed that Harrison’s employment was extra-hazardous, so the controlling issue was whether the injury arose out of and in the course of employment.

The Court examined the facts stipulated by the parties, emphasizing that Harrison’s employer furnished free transportation as part of the employment contract. The Court acknowledged the general rule that injuries sustained while an employee is traveling to work are not compensable. However, it recognized an important exception: if the employer provides transportation as a part of the employment contract, the employee’s period of service extends through the transportation time.

The Court cited the Massachusetts case In Re Donovan and multiple English cases to support this principle, noting that the employer’s liability depends on whether the transportation is an express or implied term of the employment contract and that the employee is required or permitted to use it.

The appellees relied on the general rule that injuries while traveling to work are not compensable, but the Court found that rule insufficient here due to the employer’s provision of free transportation.

The Court also addressed the appellant’s contention that the issue was one of fact for the jury. It clarified that while such questions are generally mixed questions of law and fact, when facts are undisputed and no inference disputes exist, the question becomes a matter of law for the Court.

Ultimately, the Court held that the Baltimore City Court erred in granting the employer’s prayer and reversing the award of the Industrial Accident Commission because the question should not have been decided as a matter of law on the undisputed facts.

Holding and Implications

Judgment reversed, with costs, and new trial awarded.

The Court reversed the Baltimore City Court’s ruling that the injury did not arise out of and in the course of employment and remanded for a new trial. The decision emphasizes that when facts are undisputed, the question of whether an injury arose out of and in the course of employment may be decided as a matter of law, but in this case, the trial court prematurely decided the issue without proper consideration. The ruling does not create new precedent beyond affirming established principles regarding employer-provided transportation and the mixed nature of legal and factual questions under the Workmen’s Compensation Act.

JOEL HARRISON, CLAIMANT, vs. THE CENTRAL CONSTRUCTION CO., EMPLOYER, AND THE MARYLAND CASUALTY CO., INSURER.

Workmen's Compensation Act — When Employment Commences — Transportation to Place of Work.

A claimant under the Workmen's Compensation Act must show, firstly, that he was engaged in an extra-hazardous employment, and, secondly, that the injury arose out of and in the course of the employment. p. 176

Though an injury to an employee while on his way to work is not received in the course of his employment, if a workman is employed to work at a certain place, and as a part of his contract of employment there is an agreement that his employer shall furnish him free transportation to or from his work, the period of service continues during the time of transportation, and an injury which occurs during the course of transportation is regarded as arising out of and in the course of the employment. pp. 176-179

The question as to whether an injury arose out of or in the course of the employment is ordinarily, like negligence or want of probable cause, a mixed question of law and fact; but when the facts have been ascertained and agreed upon by the parties, or are undisputed, and there is no dispute as to the inferences to be drawn from the facts, the question becomes one of law and may be decided by the court. p. 180

Decided November 21st, 1919.

BURKE, J., delivered the opinion of the Court.

Joel Harrison, the appellant, was an employee of the Central Construction Company, a corporation which was doing certain construction work for the United States Government at Edgewood Arsenal, Magnolia, Maryland. He was seriously injured on the 19th of June, 1918, and thereafter filed a claim for compensation with the State Industrial Accident Commission against the Central Construction Company, Employer, and The Maryland Casualty Company, Insurer, and was awarded compensation by that body. An appeal was taken by the employer and insurer. The appeal was heard in the Baltimore City Court, without a jury, upon a transcript of the record from the Commission, in addition to certain facts set forth in a stipulation between the parties filed in the case and which appears in the record. The Reporter will set out this stipulation in the report of the case. At the conclusion of the case the Court ruled, as a matter of law, that the injury described in the stipulated facts and in the papers in the case, under the circumstances there described, was not one which arose out of and in the course of his employment within the meaning of the Maryland Workmen's Compensation Act, and in accordance with this holding the decree of the State Industrial Accident Commission was reversed. From the judgment reversing the award of the Commission the appeal before us was taken.

The Act (Code, Art. 101, § 32) provides compensation for injuries sustained or death incurred by employees engaged in certain extra-hazardous employments specified, and, in addition to the classes enumerated, it applies to all other extra-hazardous employments. Compensable injuries under the Act are defined to "mean only accidental injuries arising out of and in the course of employment and such disease or infection as may naturally and unavoidably result therefrom." Code, Art. 101, Sec. 63. Therefore, it is clear that before a claimant is entitled to compensation he must show, first, that he was engaged in an extra-hazardous employment, and, secondly, that the injury arose out of and in the course of the employment. Both conditions must be shown. In this case it is not disputed that the appellant was engaged in an extra-hazardous employment. The sole question in the case is: Did his injuries arise out of and in the course of that employment? The stipulation to which we have referred discloses the facts and circumstances of the employment as well as the circumstances under which the injuries were received, and, in the view we take of the case, it will be sufficient to refer to what we regard as the controlling and determining facts appearing in the stipulation.

The appellant lived in Baltimore City. It was a part of his contract with the Central Construction Company that it would furnish him free transportation to his work at Magnolia. He and other workmen of the Construction Company used certain work trains over the Pennsylvania Railroad from Union Station, Baltimore, to and from their work. The Construction Company furnished him a button for identification, and this button was evidence to the conductor of his right to free transportation. The superintendent of the company said to the workmen, as expressed in the evidence before the Commission, you have "free transportation on your button."

It appears from the stipulated facts that, "On July 19, 1918, Joel Harrison, the employee and claimant in this cause, proceeded to Union Station and there was directed to board what he understood to be a work train of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company bound for Magnolia; and that after boarding said train and after same had left Union Station he was told by a railroad official of said train, the Pennsylvania ticket collector, that the train did not stop at Magnolia, but stopped only at Aberdeen, and that he (Harrison) should leave the train where it made a stop just before reaching Back River Station, and take the following work train.

"That accordingly Joel Harrison left said train at the point in the preceding paragraph indicated and walked a distance of several hundred feet into Back River Station, and was there told by the Pennsylvania Railroad Company's policeman that the following train would not stop at Back River Station, but would stop at the same point where the train which Harrison had just left had stopped, to wit, several hundred feet from the station; that thereupon Harrison went back to the point that he had just left the first train, and was proceeding to board the following train, which in the meantime had pulled in and stopped, when the train suddenly started and threw him under the wheels, causing an injury which directly resulted in the loss of his right foot at a point midway between the knee and ankle."

When the injury occurs before the beginning or after the termination of work there are two general rules applicable to the question as to whether it arose out of and in the course of the employment. The first is that an employee, while on his way to work, is not in the course of his employment. The second is that where the workman is employed to work at a certain place, and as a part of his contract of employment there is an agreement that his employer shall furnish him free transportation to or from his work the period of service continues during the time of transportation, and if an injury occurs during the course of transportation it is held to have arisen out of and in the course of employment. The cases relied on by the appellees announce and apply the first rule. The second rule has the support of English and American cases.

In the case of In Re Donovan, 217 Mass. 76, 104 N.E. Rep. 431, the question involved was whether Donovan's injury arose out of and in the course of his employment within the meaning of the Workmen's Compensation Act of Massachusetts. The facts were that "Donovan was employed by McGreevey in cleaning out catch-basins at a place about two miles from his home. It had been and was his custom, in common with other employees and with the knowledge and consent of his employer, to ride to and from the vicinity of the catch-basins in a wagon furnished by his employer, the wagon meeting the employees on the street and the employer being notified if any of the employees failed to report for work at the beginning of the day. The wagon was at the service of the employees at the end of the day, and they might ride in it back to the employer's barn if they wished. Donovan was injured while so riding in this wagon at the end of his day's work, and the board has found that his transportation on the wagon was `incidental to his employment,' and `therefore' arose `out of and in the course of said employment.' The language of this last finding is a little obscure; but we treat it, as both counsel and also the Superior Court have treated it, as being an inference that Donovan's injury arose out of and in the course of his employment, drawn from the other facts stated, including the fact that the transportation was `incidental to his employment.' The question to be decided is, therefore, whether this inference could be drawn from those facts; for the facts themselves now cannot be inquired into. St. Mass., 1912, C. 571, S. 14.

"There have been several decisions in England as to when and how far an employee can be said to have been in the employ of his master, while traveling to and from his work in a vehicle or means of conveyance provided by the latter, and how far injuries received in such a conveyance can be said to have arisen out of and in the course of the employment. Many of these decisions have been cited and discussed by Professor Bohlen, in 25 Harvard Law Review, 401, et seq. From his discussion and the cases referred to by him, and from the later decisions of the English courts, the rule has been established, as we consider, in accordance with sound reason, that the employer's liability in such cases depends upon whether the conveyance has been provided by him, after the real beginning of the employment, in compliance with one of the implied or express terms of the contract of employment, for the mere use of the employees, and is one which the employees are required, or as a matter of right are permitted, to use by virtue of that contract. See Davies v. Rhymney Iron Co., 16 Times Law Rep. 329; Holmes v. Great Northern Rwy. (1900), 2 Q.B. 409; Whitbread v. Arnold, 99 L.T. 105; Cremins v. Gest, Keen Nettlefolds (1908), 1 K.B. 469; Gane v. Norton Hill Colliery Co. (1909), 2 K.B. 539; Hoskins v. J. Lancaster, 3 Butterworth, Workmen's Compensation Cases, 476; Parker v. Pout, 105 L.T. 493; Walters v. Staveley Coal Iron Co., 105 L.T. 119, and 4 Butterworth, Workmen's Compensation Cases, 89 and 303; Greene v. Shaw (1912), 2 Ir. 430, and 5 Butterworth, Workmen's Compensation Cases, 530; Mole v. Wadworth, 6 Butterworth, Workmen's Compensation Cases, 128; Edwards v. Wingham Agricultural Implements Co. (1913), 3 K.B. 596, and 6 Butterworth, Workmen's Compensation Cases, 511; Walton v. Tredegar Iron Coal Co., 6 Butterworth, Workmen's Compensation Cases, 592." See also 12 Negligence and Compensation Cases, 370, 373.

It was earnestly contended that the English cases ought not to be followed in the construction of the Maryland Act because the Compensation Law of Great Britain covers all classes of employments, while the Maryland Act is limited to such as are extra-hazardous. But under both Acts the injury must be shown to have arisen out of and in the course of the employment, and the mere fact that the class of injuries for which compensation is allowed under the Maryland Act is limited can make no difference so far as the question here presented is concerned.

The appellant's counsel contended that the Court had no power to grant the prayer referred to in the early part of this opinion, which declared as a matter of law that the injury did not arise out of and in the course of Harrison's employment, because that was in all cases a question of fact to be found either by the jury or by the Court sitting as a jury. In support of this contention he relied upon the cases of Jewel Tea Co. v. Weber, 132 Md. 178; Coastwise Shipbuilding Co. v. Tolson, 132 Md. 203, and Beasman v. Butler, 133 Md. 382. Under the facts and circumstances of those cases, the Court was merely announcing the general rule that all facts and inferences from facts adduced in support of the claimant's case must be submitted to the jury. The question as to whether an injury arose out of or in the course of the employment is ordinarily, like negligence or want of probable cause, a mixed question of law and fact; but when the facts have been ascertained and agreed upon by the parties, or are undisputed and there is no dispute as to the inferences to be drawn from the facts, the question becomes one of law and may be decided by the Court.

It follows from the views expressed that the Court committed an error in granting the prayer referred to and in reversing the award of the State Industrial Accident Commission.

Judgment reversed, with costs, and new trial awarded.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

HARRISON v. CENTRAL CON. CO
(Nov 21, 1919)