Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Summary of Anderson v. Greenville Borough et al., Supreme Court of Pennsylvania (Jan. 28, 1971)

Factual and Procedural Background

Frederick Anderson, a police officer employed by the Borough of Greenville, was struck and killed by a negligently operated automobile while in the course of his employment. He was survived by his widow, Frances Anderson (appellee), and six minor children. The widow (as administratrix) settled a wrongful death trespass action against the tortfeasor for $9,500, which settlement was approved by the Mercer County Court. The decedent's employer's compensation insurer, American Casualty Company, had been making weekly compensation payments to the widow pursuant to the Workmen's Compensation Act and had paid the statutory burial allowance.

The employer/carrier filed a petition with the Workmen's Compensation Board seeking suspension and a determination of how the settlement proceeds should be allocated among beneficiaries and the amount of credit (subrogation) the employer was entitled to under Section 319 of the Workmen's Compensation Act. The Board ruled that the employer would receive credit only to the extent of the widow's share of the settlement. That decision was affirmed by the Court of Common Pleas of Mercer County and then by the Superior Court (per curiam, 216 Pa. Super. 747, 269 A.2d 691). The employer/carrier appealed to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. The Supreme Court affirmed the lower courts' rulings.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether, under Section 319 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, the compensation carrier (employer) is subrogated to the portion of a wrongful-death recovery received by the deceased's children where the presence of children generated an increased compensation award to a surviving widow.
  2. Whether the term "dependents" under Section 319 includes children who, by reason of the widow's survival, do not have an independent right to compensation under the Act but whose existence generates larger payments to the widow.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellee's (Widow's) Arguments

  • The $47.50 per week compensation payment (the rate paid under § 307(4 1/2)) during the initial 350-week period is hers alone because it was the rate payable to a widow surviving with more than three children; consequently, only her one-third share of the tort settlement should be treated as the "recovery" subject to employer credit under § 319.
  • The children do not have a right to recover compensation in their own right during that initial period; their presence merely generates an increased payment to the widow.

Appellant's (Employer / Carrier) Arguments

  • The $47.50 per week payable during the 350-week period is payable in part to the widow ($30.50) and in part to the children ($17.00), and therefore the entirety of the settlement proceeds should be treated as an advance payment under § 319 and be subject to subrogation/credit against future compensation payments.
  • The employer seeks credit/subrogation to the extent that the settlement funds correspond to compensation obligations it would otherwise have to pay.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Smrekar v. Jones Laughlin Steel Corp., 137 Pa. Super. 183, 8 A.2d 461 (1939) Children have been held not to be dependents in certain contexts but to enjoy a special status (i.e., they generate enlarged payments to a widow or are entitled to payments on their own only upon meeting statutory conditions). Used to support the proposition that children who generate increased payments to a widow do not, in that circumstance, possess independent compensable rights under the Act for purposes of statutory subrogation.
Morris v. Glen Alden Coal Company, 136 Pa. Super. 132, 7 A.2d 126 (1939) Recognized in the line of authority treating children as having a special status under the Act rather than automatically qualifying as dependents. Relied on as part of the body of cases establishing the special-status principle for children under the compensation scheme.
Nordmark v. Indian Queen Hotel Co., 104 Pa. Super. 139, 159 A. 200 (1932) Distinguishes recoveries by children in wrongful death actions (which are in their own right, upon a showing of damages) from enlarged compensation payments (which are made without proof of dependency). Applied to highlight the difference between wrongful-death recoveries (children's independent rights) and statutory compensation allocations generated by the existence of children.
Logan v. Pot Ridge Coal Co., 79 Pa. Super. 421 (1922) Part of the authority recognizing the special status of children under the Act. Cited among earlier decisions showing that children's status under the Act differs from that of dependents entitled to compensation in their own right.
Mooney v. Lederman, 20 Pa. D. C. 413 (1934) Holds that "dependents," within the meaning of § 319, means persons entitled to compensation under the Act. Used to establish the statutory criterion for who may be the subject of subrogation under § 319 (i.e., only those who are entitled to compensation under the Act qualify as "dependents").
Cole v. Keystone Public Service Co., 128 Pa. Super. 489, 194 A. 237 (1937) Children are entitled to compensation in their own right only when the deceased is not survived by an eligible widow. Applied to show that where a widow exists, children do not have an independent right to compensation and thus are not "dependents" for purposes of § 319 subrogation.
Huffman v. Huffman, 311 Pa. 123, 166 A. 570 (1933) Compensation payments to a widow can be made so she may acquit her legal obligation to support her children. Used to characterize the purpose of the enlarged payments to the widow when children survive, emphasizing that such payments are intended to meet the widow's support obligation rather than constitute the children's independent compensation.
Home Owners' Loan Corporation v. Crouse, 151 Pa. Super. 259, 30 A.2d 330 (1943) Subrogation equated with substitution; conceptually substitutes the insurer/carrier for the insured in actions against third parties. Cited to explain the general character of subrogation as substitution and to frame the equitable nature of the doctrine.
Rohm Haas Company v. Lessnet, 168 Pa. Super. 242, 77 A.2d 675 (1951) Subrogation is an equitable doctrine applicable whenever a debt or obligation is paid from funds of one person although primarily payable from the funds of another. Relied on to support the equitable prerequisites of subrogation and the need for identity or equatability between the obligation satisfied by the insurer and the obligation of the tortfeasor.
McCahan's Estate, 312 Pa. 515, 168 A. 685 (1933) Referenced as an authority on subrogation and its equitable character. Cited in support of the general equitable principles governing subrogation.
Ellis v. Atlantic Refining Co., 309 Pa. 287, 163 A. 531 (1932) Listed (with Kelly) in discussing unresolved questions about allocation when a widow is survived by more than three children. Placed in a note by the Court to show that allocation between widow and children in certain fact patterns remains an undecided question in some respects.
Kelly v. Ochiltree Electric Company, 140 Pa. Super. 265, 14 A.2d 351 (1940) Listed (with Ellis) regarding undecided allocation questions between widow and children. Cited in a footnote to indicate that cases to date have focused on situations with three or fewer children and that allocation in larger-family scenarios is not fully settled.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court's analysis proceeds from the text of Section 319 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, which provides that the employer shall be subrogated to the right of the employee, his personal representative, his estate or his dependents to the extent of the compensation payable by the employer, and that any recovery in excess of compensation theretofore paid shall be treated as an advance payment by the employer on account of future instalments of compensation.

The Court first identifies the threshold statutory question: for the employer/carrier to be subrogated to the children's wrongful-death recovery, the children must be "dependents" within the meaning of § 319. The Court cites Mooney v. Lederman for the proposition that "dependents" means persons entitled to compensation under the Act.

The Court then explains the statutory scheme for children under § 307: children are entitled to compensation in their own right only when there is no eligible widow; when a widow exists, children's presence functions to generate an enlarged payment to the widow rather than to give the children independent compensable rights. The Court cites Cole v. Keystone and other authorities to support this description of the children's "special status."

Turning to the equitable doctrine of subrogation, the Court explains that subrogation is fundamentally premised on identity or equatability between the obligation satisfied by the insurer and the obligation of the tortfeasor—i.e., the two funds must satisfy the same duty or liability to the same person. The Court cites authorities equating subrogation with substitution and emphasizing its equitable nature (Home Owners' Loan Corporation v. Crouse; Rohm Haas Co. v. Lessnet; McCahan's Estate).

Applying those principles to the facts, the Court reasons that the wrongful-death recoveries received by the children are recoveries "in their own right, upon a showing of damages," whereas the enlarged compensation payments made to the widow because children exist are paid without any proof of dependency and are intended to allow the widow to meet her legal obligation to support the children. Because the obligations satisfied by the wrongful-death fund (children's own claims) are not the same as the obligations satisfied by the compensation payments to the widow (widow's duty to support), there is not the requisite equatability for statutory subrogation under § 319. Therefore, the carrier cannot be subrogated to the children's wrongful-death recovery under these circumstances.

The Court explicitly limits its holding to the factual posture before it: it does not decide whether subrogation to children's recovery would be appropriate in other scenarios (for example, when there is no widow, when the widow refuses to pursue a compensation action, when the widow's right is terminated, or when the children are entitled to separate compensation e.g., because they do not live with the widow).

Holding and Implications

Holding: Order affirmed: Where a widow institutes a workmen's compensation action and an increased award to her is generated by the presence or existence of children, the compensation carrier is not subrogated to the recovery received by the children in a wrongful death action.

Implications:

  • Direct effect on the parties: The employer/carrier may only receive credit/subrogation against the portion of the tort settlement that corresponds to the widow's share under the distribution; the settlement proceeds allocable to the children's independent wrongful-death recoveries are not subject to subrogation by the compensation carrier under § 319 in this factual posture.
  • Scope and limits: The Court expressly refrains from deciding other fact patterns where subrogation might be asserted (e.g., absence of a widow, refusal of the widow to proceed, termination of the widow's compensation right, or circumstances where children are separately entitled to compensation). Those questions remain open.
  • Precedential effect: The decision applies the statutory definition of "dependents" and established equitable subrogation principles to the specific factual combination of a surviving widow and children whose existence increases the widow's award; the Court’s holding is therefore confined to the circumstance summarized above and does not purport to resolve all allocation or subrogation questions in other permutations of survivors.

Order affirmed.

Anderson v. Green

Workmen's Compensation — Subrogation — Workmen's compensation action instituted by widow — Increased award to widow generated by presence or existence of children — "Dependents" — Compensation carrier not subrogated to recovery received by children in wrongful death action — Workmen's Compensation Act.

1. Under § 319 of the Workmen's Compensation Act of June 2, 1915, P. L. 736, as amended, where a widow institutes a workmen's compensation action and an increased award to her is generated by the presence or existence of children, the compensation carrier is not subrogated to the recovery received by the children in a wrongful death action. [17]

2. Under § 319, "dependents" mean persons entitled to compensation under the Act. [15]

3. There is implicit in subrogation an equatability between the obligation of the compensation payor and the obligation of the tort-feasor payor, so that the two funds are going to satisfy the same duty, liability or obligation to the same person. [16]

OPINION BY MR. JUSTICE COHEN:

This is an appeal from a per curiam order of the Superior Court, 216 Pa. Super. 747, 269 A.2d 691 (1969), affirming a judgment of the Court of Common Pleas of Mercer County which affirmed an order of the Workmen's Compensation Board. The issue presented is unique and involves the subrogation provisions of the Workmen's Compensation Act, Act of June 2, 1915, P. L. 736, art. III, § 319, as amended, 77 P. S. § 671 (Supp. 1970).

Frederick Anderson was struck and killed by a negligently operated automobile while in the course of his employment as a police officer for the Borough of Greenville. He was survived by his widow, Frances Anderson, appellee herein, and six minor children. Appellee entered into an agreement with American Casualty Company, decedent's employer's compensation insurer, whereby the insurer began making payments of $47.50 per week pursuant to the Act of June 2, 1915, P. L. 736, as amended, September 30, 1961, P. L. 1762, 77 P. S. § 561 (4 1/2) (Supp. 1970). The insurer also paid to the widow the $750 statutory burial expense pursuant to § 307(7), 77 P. S. § 561(7) (Supp. 1970). (Hereafter, the Borough of Greenville and American Casualty Company shall be referred to as either the employer or the appellant).

The Act has since been amended to provide for increases in the amount of compensation payments. Act of January 17, 1968, P. L. ___, § 1, effective March 17, 1968, 77 P. S. § 561 (Supp. 1970).

Subsequently, Mrs. Anderson, as administratrix, filed a complaint in trespass against the driver of the vehicle which struck and killed her husband. An amicable settlement of $9500 was reached and approved by the Mercer County Court. The employer filed with the Workmen's Compensation Board a petition for suspension requesting a determination of the distribution to be made of the settlement among the various beneficiaries and the allocation of credit against compensation to which the employer was entitled under § 319 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, which provides for the subrogation rights of an employer.

Under § 307 (4 1/2) appellee was to receive $47.50 per week because decedent was survived by a widow and more than three children. If he had been survived by a widow and no children, the payment would have been $30.50; if a widow and one child, $36.50; and if a widow and two children, $43.00. Of the amount received in settlement from the third party ($9500), $175 is subtracted for the purpose of this subrogation action, that being the difference between the actual funeral expense ($925) and the statutory burial allowance ($750). This is done because the employer is entitled to credit only for the actual amount it paid toward the funeral expense. The remaining $9325 was distributed to the beneficiaries in accordance with the intestate laws, the widow receiving one-third ($3,108.33) and the children one-ninth each ($1,036.11).

The controversy here concerns the extent to which the employer is to be subrogated to the proceeds of the settlement of the trespass action, i.e., how much of the settlement proceeds should be treated as advance payments on account of future compensation payments required to be paid by the employer during the initial three hundred fifty week period provided for in the Act. During that period three of the six children will attain the age of eighteen, and after that period the other three are entitled to receive payments until they reach that age. The parties have agreed that the compensation payable to each of the three younger children, from the expiration of the three hundred fifty week period until their eighteenth birthdays, should be applied against the share that each of them received in the settlement. As to the $47.50 per week payable during the three hundred fifty week period, appellee argues that such amount is hers alone and that, therefore only her one-third share of the settlement counts as the "recovery" which is treated as an advance payment under § 319. Appellant argues that the $47.50 is payable in part to the widow ($30.50) and in part to the children ($17.00) and that the whole amount of the settlement should be treated as an advance payment under § 319. The Workmen's Compensation Board held that the employer would only receive credit, or be subrogated, to the extent of the widow's share of the settlement. Both the lower court and the Superior Court affirmed this decision. We granted allocatur.

Section 319 of the Workmen's Compensation Act provides, in relevant part: "Where the compensable injury is caused in whole or in part by the act or omission of a third party, the employer shall be subrogated to the right of the employe, his personal representative, his estate or his dependents, against such third party to the extent of the compensation payable under this article by the employer. . . . Any recovery against such third person in excess of the compensation theretofore paid by the employer shall be paid forthwith to the employe, his personal representative, his estate or his dependents, and shall be treated as an advance payment by the employer on account of any future instalments of compensation." In order for the carrier to be subrogated to the children's wrongful death recovery, the children must be dependents within the meaning of the section. In connection with other provisions of the Act, children have been held not to be dependents, but rather to enjoy a special status. They are said to generate enlarged payments to a widow, or to be entitled to payments on their own, when no eligible widow survives, only upon a showing that they are the deceased's children and are under the statutory age limit. Smrekar v. Jones Laughlin Steel Corp., 137 Pa. Super. 183, 8 A.2d 461 (1939); Morris v. Glen Alden Coal Company, 136 Pa. Super. 132, 7 A.2d 126 (1939); Nordmark v. Indian Queen Hotel Co., 104 Pa. Super. 139, 159 A. 200 (1932); Logan v. Pot Ridge Coal Co., 79 Pa. Super. 421 (1922). "Dependents," within the meaning of § 319, has been held to mean persons entitled to compensation under the Act. Mooney v. Lederman, 20 Pa. D. C. 413 (1934). Therefore, for statutory subrogation to apply, it must be determined whether the children have a right of recovery under the Act.

Children, as provided in § 307, 77 P. S. § 561, are entitled to compensation in their own right only when the deceased is not survived by an eligible widow. When such a widow exists, the existence of the children serves to generate a larger compensation payment to the widow. The children, however, in such a situation, have no right of their own to recover compensation. Cole v. Keystone Public Service Co., 128 Pa. Super. 489, 194 A. 237 (1937). Further, the fourth, fifth and sixth children do not generate additional compensation payable to the widow. Therefore, it is clear that under these facts the payments to the widow are made so that she may acquit her legal obligation to support her children, Act of June 24, 1937, P. L. 2045, § 3, as amended, 62 P. S. § 1973, Huffman v. Huffman, 311 Pa. 123, 166 A. 570 (1933), and are not recovered by the children in their own right.

This, of course, only refers to the older three children here who will generate increased payments during the first three hundred fifty weeks, and not to those children who will collect compensation after that period, for their own benefit, until they reach eighteen (18) years of age.

Subrogation has been equated to and interchanged with the word substitution and the basic idea is that of substituting the insurance carrier for the insured in the insured's action against a third party. Home Owners' Loan Corporation v. Crouse, 151 Pa. Super. 259, 30 A.2d 330 (1943); R. Anderson, Couch on Insurance 2d, § 61:399 (1966). Subrogation is an equitable doctrine and is applicable whenever a debt or obligation is paid from the funds of one person although primarily payable from the funds of another. Rohm Haas Company v. Lessnet, 168 Pa. Super. 242, 77 A.2d 675 (1951). See also, McCahan's Estate, 312 Pa. 515, 168 A. 685 (1933). The doctrine of subrogation thus implies the need for some identity between the fund created by the insurance agreement and the fund created by the cause of action against the tortfeasor. That is, there is implicit in subrogation an equatability between the obligation of the compensation payor and the obligation of the tortfeasor payor, so that the two funds are going to satisfy the same duty, liability or obligation to the same person. Here, appellee's children are not generating compensation payments on their own behalves and in their own right, even though the compensation payments may be allocable. Recoveries by the children in a wrongful death action, however, are in their own right, upon a showing of damages, while enlarged compensation payments are made without any proof of dependency by the children. Nordmark v. Indian Queen Hotel Co., supra. The essence of this action is that the compensation carrier is attempting to recover from the wrongful death fund created by the children in their own right Workmen's Compensation payments it made to the widow which the children could not recover in an action of their own. The obligations satisfied by the funds are not equatable; the parties permitted to recover are not the same. Therefore, subrogation is not appropriate as to the funds recovered by the children in the wrongful death action.

Allocation of compensation payments between widow and children is still an undecided question where more than three children and a widow are left as survivors of the deceased employee. The cases so far decided have dealt with situations involving three or less children. See, Ellis v. Atlantic Refining Co., 309 Pa. 287, 163 A. 531 (1932); Kelly v. Ochiltree Electric Company, 140 Pa. Super. 265, 14 A.2d 351 (1940).

We hold that where a widow institutes a workmen's compensation action and an increased award to her is generated by the presence or existence of children, the compensation carrier is not subrogated to the recovery received by the children in a wrongful death action. We are not deciding whether subrogation to such recovery is appropriate when there is no widow or when the widow refuses to proceed with a workmen's compensation action or when the widow's right to compensation is terminated, or when the children do not live with her or otherwise are entitled to be separately compensated.

Order affirmed.

OPINION PER CURIAM, January 28, 1971:

The foregoing opinion was prepared by the late Justice Herbert B. COHEN before his death on December 3, 1970. It is now adopted and filed as the opinion of the Court.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

ANDERSON v. GREENVILLE BOR. ET AL
(Jan 28, 1971)