AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Case Summary: The Cincinnati Insurance Company v. Cecil R. Palmer

Factual and Procedural Background

Buyer's Mart, Inc. obtained an $85,000 Small Business Administration (SBA) loan in 1965 secured by the real property at issue; appellee Cecil R. Palmer guaranteed the corporate obligation personally. Palmer later purchased a $30,000 fire policy (February 1971) naming himself, the corporation and the SBA as insureds/beneficiaries. The building was totally destroyed by fire on June 27, 1971. An insurer's adjuster investigated and, by mid‑August 1971, was satisfied the loss was covered and that the SBA's loan balance was $56,000. Payment was delayed partly because the corporation had been dissolved and endorsing problems existed; Palmer and the SBA requested payment be made to the SBA, but no payment was made for several months.

Palmer filed suit (early December 1971) for the benefit of the SBA (SBA was not made a party). About three months after suit was filed, appellant (insurer) paid the policy face amount to the SBA, but refused to pay Palmer or his attorney more than a $500 retainer reimbursement. The trial court tried only the issue of Palmer's entitlement to attorney's fees and, based on expert testimony, awarded attorney's fees and costs—specifically $7,125 as attorney's fees. The insurer appealed, challenging (a) Palmer's insurable interest and the champerty contention, (b) whether the insurer was liable for attorney's fees given its conduct, (c) whether fees could be awarded under F.S. §627.428 absent a judgment rendered against the insurer in favor of the insured, and (d) the amount of the attorney's fee awarded.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether appellee Palmer had an insurable interest in the property and, relatedly, whether the action was champertous because Palmer lacked such an interest.
  2. Whether the insurer's conduct (including a delay and a later voluntary payment to SBA) constituted a wrongful refusal to pay so as to support an award of attorney's fees.
  3. Whether an attorney's fee may be awarded under F.S. Section 627.428, F.S.A., when the insurer pays policy proceeds after suit is filed but before an actual judgment in favor of the insured is rendered.
  4. Whether the amount of attorney's fees awarded (here $7,125) was proper given the timing of services performed and the contractual arrangement between Palmer and his attorney.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The action was champertous because Palmer did not have an insurable interest in the property.
  • There was no basis for a judgment for attorney's fees because the insurer had not wrongfully refused to pay the policy proceeds.
  • The court could not award attorney's fees under F.S. §627.428 in the absence of a judgment rendered against the insurer and in favor of the insured.

Appellee's Arguments

  • Palmer had an insurable interest because he was personally liable on the corporate obligation to the SBA and thus had a direct pecuniary interest in preserving the property.
  • By mid‑August the insurer had admitted liability as to the mortgagee's interest, which waived the requirement of a formal proof of loss; a good‑faith or reasonable ground for refusal does not avoid liability for attorney's fees once the insurer is found liable.
  • Upon filing suit, the relief sought included both the policy proceeds and attorney's fees; an insurer's voluntary payment of the proceeds after suit is filed should not allow the insurer to avoid an award of attorney's fees required by statute, because such voluntary payment is the equivalent of a confession of judgment.
  • Concerning fee amount, appellee's counsel asserted substantial hours (230) were expended, but most were after the insurer paid the proceeds; appellee's counsel maintained entitlement to a court‑awarded fee beyond the retainer.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Schlehuber v. Norfolk Dedham Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 281 So.2d 373 (Fla.App. 1973) Support for the proposition that a party with pecuniary interest has an insurable interest. Used as authority to conclude Palmer had an insurable interest to the full extent of the policy proceeds.
Aetna Insurance Company v. King, 265 So.2d 716 (Fla.App. 1972) Authority on the scope of insurable interest. Relied upon to support that Palmer's guarantee created an insurable interest.
Rutherford v. Pearl Assurance Company, 164 So.2d 213 (Fla.App. 1964) Authority concerning insurable interest measure. Applied in concluding Palmer had an insurable interest.
Springfield Fire and Marine Insurance Company v. Boswell, 167 So.2d 780 (Fla.App. 1964) Insurable interest authority. Applied to support the court's conclusion on insurable interest.
American Central Ins. Co. of St. Louis, Mo., v. Whitlock, 122 Fla. 363, 165 So. 380 (1936) Historic authority on insurable interest principles. Included among cases supporting that Palmer had an insurable interest.
American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida v. Terry, 277 So.2d 563 (Fla.App. 1973) Waiver of formal proof of loss when insurer admits liability. Applied to find insurer's mid‑August admission of liability constituted waiver of proof of loss.
English and American Insurance Company v. Swain Groves, Inc., 218 So.2d 453 (Fla.App. 1969) Authority on waiver of proof of loss and related procedures. Used to support the waiver conclusion.
Bear v. New Jersey Ins. Co., 138 Fla. 298, 189 So. 252 (1939) Authority cited for waiver of proof of loss when insurer admits liability. Relied upon for waiver principle.
Salter v. National Indemnity Co., 160 So.2d 147 (Fla.App. 1964) Rule that a good‑faith or reasonable refusal does not relieve insurer from liability for attorney's fees once found liable. Applied to reject appellant's contention that a reasonable/good‑faith refusal avoids fee liability.
Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. of California v. McCaskill, 126 Fla. 82, 170 So. 579 (1936) Similar rule regarding refusal and fee liability. Used with Salter to support that insurer remains liable for fees despite reasonable grounds for earlier refusal.
Old Republic Insurance Company v. Monsees, 188 So.2d 893 (Fla.App. 1966) Terms of F.S. §627.428 are part of every insurance policy; supports that relief sought includes statutory fees. Relied upon to argue insurer cannot avoid statutory fees by paying proceeds after suit is filed; supports treating voluntary payment as equivalent to confession of judgment.
Gulf Life Insurance Company v. Urquiaga, 251 So.2d 904 (Fla.App. 1971) Where insurer fails to voluntarily pay, it continues to contest the policy. Applied to support appellee's position that the suit still constituted a claim under the policy while insurer had not paid.
All Ways Reliable Building Maintenance, Inc. v. Moore, 261 So.2d 131 (Fla. 1972) Referenced concerning claims under insurance and related fee issues. Referenced in support of appellee's statutory interpretation argument.
American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida v. Benson, 254 So.2d 851 (Fla.App. 1971) Cited as authority that F.S. §627.428 must be strictly construed. Noted in discussion of the statute's language and strict construction precedents.
American National Insurance Company v. de Cardenas, 181 So.2d 359 (Fla.App. 1965) Also cited for the principle that §627.428 is to be strictly construed. Included in the court's consideration of statutory construction precedents.
Brickell v. Di Petro, 152 Fla. 429, 12 So.2d 782 (1943) Quantum meruit recovery for attorney's fees. Applied to explain that appellee was entitled to an award based on quantum meruit for services rendered to appellee.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court proceeded in distinct analytical steps:

  1. Insurable interest/champerty: The court applied the statutory definitions in F.S. §627.405 (as cited in the opinion) and multiple authorities to conclude Palmer, as a personal guarantor liable on the corporate obligation, had a direct pecuniary interest in preserving the property. Thus the champerty contention failed and Palmer had an insurable interest to the full extent of the policy proceeds.
  2. Waiver of proof of loss and wrongful refusal: The court found the insurer's mid‑August concession of liability as to the mortgagee constituted a waiver of the formal proof of loss requirement. The court further held that an insurer's good‑faith or reasonable refusal to pay does not eliminate liability for attorney's fees where it is later found liable on the policy, citing supportive authorities.
  3. Statutory award of attorney's fees when insurer pays before judgment: The court acknowledged the literal wording of F.S. §627.428 requiring a judgment against an insurer in favor of the insured, and that the statute is strictly construed. However, the court reasoned that allowing an insurer to defeat statutory fees by voluntarily paying proceeds after suit is filed (but before judgment) would be unjust. Because the relief sought in the suit included both policy proceeds and attorney's fees, and because the insurer had not voluntarily paid while suit was pending, the insurer continued to contest the policy. The court therefore construed the statute to permit an award of attorney's fees to an insured or beneficiary who brings suit after the loss is payable even where no judgment for the loss is entered because the insurer voluntarily paid the loss before judgment—treating such voluntary payment as equivalent to a confession of judgment.
  4. Proper measure of the fee awarded: After determining entitlement to a fee, the court examined the amount awarded. It noted that appellee's counsel contracted for a $500 retainer "plus such additional fee as the court might award" and that counsel claimed ~230 hours of work, but only ~30 hours were expended before the insurer paid the proceeds; the remainder were expended after payment in attempts to collect fees. The court concluded that once the insurer voluntarily paid the proceeds to the SBA, the attorney's services for appellee effectively terminated (given the contractual allocation of any awarded fee entirely to counsel). Consequently, the court held the trial court erred by awarding fees based on all services (including those performed after payment) rather than on the portion rendered prior to the insurer's voluntary payment; the fee award must reflect quantum meruit for services rendered for the client's benefit up to that point. The court remanded for recalculation and permitted the trial court to take further evidence as necessary.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The appellate court reversed the judgment awarding $7,125 in attorney's fees and remanded the case for entry of a new judgment consistent with the opinion.

Implications and direct effects:

  • The court held that Palmer had an insurable interest and that the insurer's mid‑August admission of liability constituted waiver of proof of loss.
  • The court ruled that an insured may be awarded attorney's fees under F.S. §627.428 even when the insurer voluntarily pays policy proceeds after suit is filed but before a judgment for the loss is entered, because voluntary payment in that context is treated as equivalent to a confession of judgment and the insurer cannot avoid statutory fees by such payment.
  • The amount of the attorney's fee must be limited to compensation for services rendered for the client's benefit (quantum meruit) up to the point the insurer voluntarily paid the proceeds, given the contractual arrangement here that prevented any portion of a court award from being returned to the client; the trial court may take further evidence and enter a new judgment accordingly.
  • No broader or new precedent beyond the court's statutory construction and application to the facts was expressly announced beyond the holdings described above.

Disposition: Reversed and remanded.

THE CINCINNATI INSURANCE COMPANY, AN OHIO CORPORATION, APPELLANT, v. CECIL R. PALMER, APPELLEE.

OWEN, Chief Judge.

The named insured under a fire insurance policy brought suit against the insurer on the policy seeking recovery in favor of the mortgagee, Small Business Administration (a non-party). Shortly after suit was filed, the insurer paid the face amount of the policy to the mortgagee, rendering moot all issues in the suit other than the question of attorney's fees. Ultimately, the plaintiff recovered judgment for attorney's fees and costs, and on this appeal the issues relate to the correctness of such award.

In 1965, a corporation known as Buyer's Mart, Inc. negotiated a loan from the Small Business Administration in the amount of $85,000 to purchase certain improved real property. As security for the loan, the SBA took a mortgage on the property, together with the personal guarantee of appellee-Palmer who was president and principal stockholder in the corporation. In 1969, Palmer sold all of his stock in the corporation. In February, 1971, when Palmer learned that the building was empty and that there was no fire insurance on it, he purchased a $30,000 fire insurance policy from appellant, naming himself and the corporation as insureds, with the customary loss payable endorsement which provided that any loss under the policy would be payable to the corporation, Palmer and SBA "as their interest may appear".

On June 27, 1971, the building on the property was totally destroyed by fire. Appellant was immediately notified and an independent insurance adjuster retained by it made a prompt investigation. By the middle of August, the adjuster was apparently satisfied that the loss was one which was covered under the policy, that there was no other applicable insurance coverage available, and that the balance due the SBA on the loan and mortgage was $56,000. It was also discovered that the corporation, Buyer's Mart, Inc., had been dissolved several years before, leaving uncertain the question as to title to the property and also the question of who, on behalf of the corporation, would be authorized to endorse the appellant's draft which it wanted to issue payable jointly to Palmer, the corporation, and the SBA. As a result of these problems, another three and one-half months passed without payment being made to anyone despite requests by both Palmer and the SBA that appellant make payment solely to SBA since it was evident that the latter's interest was substantially in excess of the $30,000 amount of the policy.

In the early part of December, 1971, the instant suit was filed by Mr. Palmer for the benefit of SBA (which was not made a party). Some three months thereafter, appellant paid to SBA the full amount of the policy, but declined to pay to Mr. Palmer or his attorney any attorney's fee in excess of the $500.00 fee which Mr. Palmer had paid his attorney as a retainer. In due course, the cause was tried by the court on the issue of appellee's entitlement to attorney's fees, and on the basis of expert witness testimony the court entered judgment for appellee-Palmer in the sum of $7,125.00 as his attorney's fee for the prosecution of this action.

Appellant first contends that this action was champertous, because Palmer did not have an insurable interest. Subsection (2) of F.S. Section 627.405, F.S.A. defines "insurable interest" to mean any actual, lawful and substantial economic interest in the safety or preservation of the subject of the property free from loss, destruction, or pecuniary damage or impairment; subsection (3) provides that the measure of an insurable interest in property is the extent to which the insured might be damnified by loss, injury, or impairment thereof. It is clear that appellee-Palmer, being liable on his personal guarantee of the corporate obligation to SBA, had a direct pecuniary interest in seeing that the primary security for the obligation remained free from loss, destruction, or damage. Since the risk of his having to make good on his personal guarantee would be increased in direct proportion to the extent that the primary security might sustain loss, he had an insurable interest to the full extent of the policy proceeds. See, Schlehuber v. Norfolk Dedham Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Fla.App. 1973, 281 So.2d 373; Aetna Insurance Company v. King, Fla.App. 1972, 265 So.2d 716; Rutherford v. Pearl Assurance Company, Fla. App. 1964, 164 So.2d 213; Springfield Fire and Marine Insurance Company v. Boswell, Fla.App. 1964, 167 So.2d 780; American Central Ins. Co. of St. Louis, Mo., v. Whitlock, 1936, 122 Fla. 363, 165 So. 380.

Appellant next contends that there was no basis for rendering any kind of judgment against it because it had never wrongfully refused to pay the policy proceeds. The policy required payment sixty days after proof of loss; nonetheless, the evidence clearly established that by the middle of August, 1971, the insurer had admitted its liability for the loss, at least as to the interest of the mortgagee. As such, this constituted a waiver of the requirement of a formal proof of loss. American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida v. Terry, Fla.App. 1973, 277 So.2d 563; English and American Insurance Company v. Swain Groves, Inc., Fla.App. 1969, 218 So.2d 453; Bear v. New Jersey Ins. Co., 1939, 138 Fla. 298, 189 So. 252. The fact that the insurer's refusal to pay the amount owed by it under the terms of the policy was in good faith and on reasonable grounds does not relieve the insurer from liability for payment of attorney's fees where it is subsequently found liable on the policy. Salter v. National Indemnity Co., Fla.App. 1964, 160 So.2d 147; Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. of California v. McCaskill, 1936, 126 Fla. 82, 170 So. 579.

Appellant next contends that the court could not award an attorney's fee to the appellee-Palmer under F.S. Section 627.428, F.S.A. in the absence of a judgment being rendered against the insurer and in favor of the insured. At first blush this point has some appeal, because the language of F.S. Section 627.428, F.S.A. clearly states that the attorney's fee will be awarded "Upon the rendition of a judgment or decree by any of the courts of this state against an insurer and in favor of an insured. . .", and the courts have said that this statute must be strictly construed. On the other hand, it is neither reasonable nor just that an insurer can avoid liability for statutory attorney's fees by the simple expedient of paying the insurance proceeds to the insured or the beneficiary at some point after suit is filed but before final judgment is entered, thereby making unnecessary the entry of a judgment. The terms of the statute are a part of every insurance policy issued in Florida. Old Republic Insurance Company v. Monsees, Fla.App. 1966, 188 So.2d 893. Appellee contends, and we think correctly so, that upon the suit being filed, the relief sought was both the policy proceeds and attorney's fees, and so long as the insurer failed to voluntarily pay any part of the relief sought, it continued to contest the policy, Gulf Life Insurance Company v. Urquiaga, Fla.App. 1971, 251 So.2d 904, and thus even though the claim at that point is limited to the recovery of attorney's fees, it is nonetheless a claim under the policy. Old Republic Insurance Company v. Monsees, supra. See also, All Ways Reliable Building Maintenance, Inc. v. Moore, Fla. 1972, 261 So.2d 131. We think the statute must be construed to authorize the award of an attorney's fee to an insured or beneficiary under a policy or contract of insurance who brings suit against the insurer after the loss is payable even though technically no judgment for the loss claimed is thereafter entered favorable to the insured or beneficiary due to the insurer voluntarily paying the loss before such judgment can be rendered. After all, such voluntary payment by the insurer is the equivalent of a confession of judgment against it.

627.428 Attorney fee. —
"(1) Upon the rendition of a judgment or decree by any of the courts of this state against an insurer and in favor of an insured or the named beneficiary under a policy or contract executed by the insurer, the trial court, or, in the event of an appeal in which the insured or beneficiary prevails, the appellate court, shall adjudge or decree against the insurer and in favor of the insured or beneficiary a reasonable sum as fees or compensation for the insured's or beneficiary's attorney prosecuting the suit in which the recovery is had.
"(2) As to suits based on claims arising under life insurance policies or annuity contracts, no such attorney fee shall be allowed if such suit was commenced prior to expiration of sixty days after proof of the claim was duly filed with the insurer.
"(3) Where so awarded, compensation or fees of the attorney shall be included in the judgment or decree rendered in the case."


American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida v. Benson, Fla.App. 1971, 254 So.2d 851; American National Insurance Company v. de Cardenas, Fla.App. 1965, 181 So.2d 359.

Having determined that in this case the appellee-insured was entitled to an award of attorney's fees pursuant to F.S. Section 627.428, F.S.A., we consider the perplexing question of whether the amount awarded in this case was proper. We conclude that it was not for the reasons hereafter stated.

Appellee's counsel had a contract with his client for a $500.00 retainer fee plus such additional fee as the court might award, no portion of which would be returned to the client. According to appellee's counsel, he had expended some 230 hours of professional time in the prosecution of the case. However, only 30 hours had been expended up to the time that appellant voluntarily paid the policy proceeds to the SBA, the remainder having been expended thereafter in attempting to collect the attorney's fee. At about the time that appellant paid the policy proceeds to SBA it offered to appellee the sum of $500.00 to reimburse him for his outlay for attorney's fees but appellee's counsel flatly refused such offer and instead demanded a fee of $5000.00. It is clear that from the time appellant paid the policy proceeds to SBA all subsequent efforts on the part of appellee's counsel were solely for his own benefit and not that of his client.

Appellee was entitled to an award of an attorney's fee for the use and benefit of his attorney in an amount based upon quantum meruit for services rendered to appellee. Brickell v. Di Petro, 1943, 152 Fla. 429, 12 So.2d 782. Since appellee's contract with his attorney did not allow appellee to recover any part of his attorney's fees out of any sum awarded for that purpose, (i.e., the entire award was to go to the attorney) the service which the attorney rendered to appellee effectively terminated when the insurance company voluntarily paid the insurance proceeds to the SBA. From that point on, appellee's attorney was rendering service only for his own benefit. This might not have been so under a different contractual arrangement between appellee and his counsel. It is clear from the record that the amount which the court awarded as an attorney's fee was based upon the entire professional services of appellee's attorney and not merely that portion which was rendered prior to the time that appellant paid the policy proceeds. Thus, the judgment must be reversed and this cause remanded for the purpose of entering a new judgment in favor of appellee in accordance with the views herein expressed. The court is authorized to take such further evidence as it deems necessary for that purpose.

Reversed and remanded.

CROSS, J., and SHOLTS, THOMAS E., Associate Judge, concur.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

CINCINNATI INSURANCE COMPANY v. PALMER
(Jul 24, 1974)