M.S. COLEMAN, J.
Plaintiff, General Motors Corporation, appeals a judgment of the circuit court ordering payment of back-to-work benefits to five individual defendants. The Court of Appeals reversed as to the claims of Bloomer, Kartsonas and Erves and affirmed as to the claims of Lawson and Griffith.
In each case, the controlling statute is MCLA 421.27(c)(2); MSA 17.529(c)(2), which provides:
"(2) When an individual has had a period of unemployment: (i) for which he has been paid benefits for 1 or more weeks or has received a credit for a waiting week, (ii) which commenced with a layoff by an employing unit that continued with such employing unit for more than 3 weeks, and (iii) which has been terminated by his accepting and engaging in full-time work with any employing unit within the 13 weeks immediately following his last week of employment with such employing unit, such individual shall be paid for the most recent week in such period for which benefits are payable or were paid to him or for which he was entitled to credit for a waiting week, an amount equal to his currently applicable weekly benefit rate in addition to any benefits otherwise payable or paid to him for such week. * * * "
The questions before the Court are how this enactment falls upon the following situations:
(1) Employes receive their layoff notice at the end of the shift on Friday, while receiving full pay for that week. They return to work exactly three weeks from the next work day, Monday, or three weeks and two days after receiving notice of layoff.
(2) Employes receive their notice of layoff at the end of the Wednesday shift and are paid for those days plus 80% of wages for two remaining days pursuant to contract ("short-week" benefits). They return to work on a Wednesday and again receive short-week benefits for Thursday and Friday, thereby being "unemployed" for three weeks by definition, although not working for four weeks.
Bloomer-Kartsonas-Erves
Because two factual situations exist, we consider first the Bloomer-Kartsonas-Erves matters.
The specific question arising from these claims is:
When an employe is notified of a "layoff" at the end of the regular work day on Friday, does his "period of unemployment" commencing with a layoff begin on Friday, Saturday or on the next regular work day, Monday, for the purposes of MCLA 421.27(c)(2); MSA 17.529(c)(2)?
Bloomer and Kartsonas received notice on Friday, August 2, 1968 and returned to work Monday, August 26, 1968. Erves received notice on Friday, July 5, 1968 and returned to work Monday, July 29, 1968.
We agree with the Court of Appeals that the "period of unemployment * * * which commenced with a layoff" began on Monday.
Defendants were hourly employes of General Motors Corporation, Cadillac Motor Car Division. All were laid off during the annual model change-over period in the summer of 1968.
Approximately 5000 persons were laid off. Registration and seeking-work requirements were waived by the employer and approved by MESC.
Bloomer and Kartsonas received their layoff notices at the end of their shift on Friday, August 2. They were paid for that entire week. On Monday, August 26, the twenty-fourth calendar day later, they returned to work. Erves received his notice at the end of his shift on Friday, July 5, and, similarly, returned to work on a Monday, 24 calendar days later.
Each defendant filed a claim for back-to-work benefits pursuant to § 27(c)(2) of the Michigan Employment Security Act, the interpretation of which is the subject matter of this appeal.
The appeal board and the Wayne Circuit Court found that defendants were entitled to back-to-work benefits, reasoning that their layoff became effective on the last day worked and so they would have been laid off more than three weeks. The Court of Appeals reversed, 47 Mich. App. 591; 209 N.W.2d 713 (1973), reasoning that the next regularly scheduled work day for which defendants would have received pay was Monday and so they would not have been laid off for purposes of this subsection for more than three weeks. Exactly three weeks of pay would have been received if claimants had been working. Underlying the Court of Appeals decision is the theory of economic impact.
Legislative Policy:
In deciding this issue, we look to the expressed declaration of policy of the Michigan Employment Security Act.
MESA § 2; MCLA 421.2; MSA 17.502 is explicit:
"The legislature acting in the exercise of the police power of the state declares that the public policy of the state is as follows: Economic insecurity due to unemployment is a serious menace to the health, morals, and welfare of the people of this state. Involuntary unemployment is a subject of general interest and concern which requires action by the legislature to prevent its spread and to lighten its burden which so often falls with crushing force upon the unemployed worker and his family, to the detriment of the welfare of the people of this state. Social security requires protection against this hazard of our economic life. Employers should be encouraged to provide stable employment. The systematic accumulation of funds during periods of employment to provide benefits for periods of unemployment by the setting aside of unemployment reserves to be used for the benefit of persons unemployed through no fault of their own, thus maintaining purchasing power and limiting the serious social consequences of relief assistance, is for the public good, and the general welfare of the people of this state."
In Renown Stove Co v Unemployment Compensation Commission, 328 Mich. 436, 440; 44 N.W.2d 1 (1950), a unanimous Supreme Court set forth the purpose of the MESA in this manner:
"In brief, the objective sought to be gained is protection against the evils incident to involuntary unemployment and the fostering of social and economic security by the payment of benefits to individuals who have suffered a loss of pay resulting from involuntary unemployment."
With the Legislature and the Stove Co Court, we believe this objective to be economically and socially sound. The costs involved are considered part of the cost of doing business and are reflected primarily in the price of the product to the consumer.
The welfare of the employes and the employer are interlocked. Each is dependent upon the other and each is vital to free enterprise and to a free society. Therefore, a balancing of benefits and duties should be the ultimate goal of legislative enactments and labor contracts. It follows that labor and management cannot successfully be true adversaries. It also follows that a balanced, reasonable interpretation of such statutes and contracts should be the goal of this Court.
Therefore, we approach the problem of back-to-work pay in this (and another) factual contest in the spirit of the legislatively pronounced policy towards the "public good, and general welfare of the people of this state".
The Michigan Employment Security Act softens the economic burdens of those who through no fault of their own find themselves unemployed. This softening is obtained through the payments of benefits to those unemployed in order that they might maintain purchasing power and limit the social and economic consequences of unemployment.
"Layoff" — "Unemployment" — Definitions
Counsel on both sides couch their respective arguments as if these terms are incompatible. Namely, plaintiffs' "unemployment" theory and claimants' "layoff" theory are presented as alternatives. However, we do not find the theories incompatible and, therefore, not alternate.
Despite the lack of statutory or contractual definition, there is no contest as to the general concept of "layoff". It is undisputed that the claimants were by definition unemployed for exactly three weeks. General Motors maintains that a period of "unemployment" in excess of three weeks is the necessary ingredient to trigger § 27(c)(2)(ii); whereas the claimants contend that a "layoff" in excess of three weeks will satisfy that section.
Although "layoff" has not been defined in the act or elsewhere by statute or contract, we do find a definition by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, Handbook of Labor Statistics:
See Michigan Employment Security Commission v General Motors Corp, 32 Mich. App. 642; 189 N.W.2d 74 (1971), for general discussion.
"A `lay-off' is a termination of employment at the will of the employer, without prejudice to the worker. Layoffs may be due to lack of orders, technical changes, or the failure of flow of parts or materials to the job, as needed."
The Missouri Supreme Court in Irwin v Globe-Democrat Publishing Co, 368 S.W.2d 452, 455 (Mo, 1963), defined the term "layoff" in a similar fashion:
"A `layoff', as distinguished from a discharge, contemplates a period during which a working man is temporarily dismissed, Fishgold v Sullivan Drydock Repair Corp, 154 F.2d 785, 788 [CA 2, 1946], and it also refers to that suspension of work or employment during a part or season of the year when business activity is partly or completely suspended [citing cases]. An employee `laid off' does not have his employment status completely and finally terminated. He ordinarily is entitled to re-employment when the temporary situation calling for the layoff has been corrected or eliminated."
We agree that a "layoff" is a temporary dismissal by the employer which anticipates reemployment and therefore is distinguished from unemployment by reason of discharge, resignation or other permanent termination.
"Unemployment" is defined in MCLA 421.48; MSA 17.552 (§ 48):
"An individual shall be deemed `unemployed' with respect to any week during which he performs no services and with respect to which no remuneration is payable to him, or with respect to any week of less than full-time work if the remuneration payable to him is less than his weekly benefit rate."
Statutory Construction
Unfortunately, defendants' claims have been buffeted by such a long and severe storm of semantics that the act may have lost its course.
Viewing the subsection (1) from the plain meaning of the words (with punctuation), read in harmony with the act as a whole, (2) from the expressed legislative objective and (3) from a commonsense application of the law, the act comes into focus.
(1) First, it is necessary to apply basic English construction. The position of the clause at the beginning of the entire subsection, followed by a colon, renders it the dominant and controlling clause. We have, therefore, the following pertinent provision:
"When an individual has had a period of unemployment: * * * (ii) which commenced with a layoff by an employing unit that continued * * * for more than 3 weeks * * *."
Because the dominant clause mandates that we consider an individual who has had "a period of unemployment", we must first ascertain when that "period of unemployment" took effect. (All concede that the notice of layoff was received at the end of the shift on Friday, and that a full week's wages was received and that Monday was the next work day.)
Therefore, we look to the definition of "unemployment" as set forth in § 48, which is calculated in terms of "any week" and is based upon "weekly benefit rate". It cannot seriously be argued that claimants were unemployed in the week for which they received full pay. As unemployment benefits are apportioned on the basis of a work week, claimants were unemployed because of a layoff as of Monday, the first work day of the first week of unemployment and extending for three weeks thereafter.
Statutory construction should attempt to give effect to every clause and word of a statute. It is also true that the most basic requirement of legislative intent requires words to be read in light of the general purpose sought to be accomplished by the statute. Advisory Opinion re Constitutionality of 1972 PA 294, 389 Mich. 441; 208 N.W.2d 469 (1973); Melia v Employment Security Commission, 346 Mich. 544; 78 N.W.2d 273 (1956).
Also, words in a statute should not be construed in the void, but should be read together to harmonize the meaning, giving effect to the act as a whole. Dussia v Monroe County Employees Retirement System, 386 Mich. 244; 191 N.W.2d 307 (1971); Fowler v Board of Registration in Chiropody, 374 Mich. 254; 132 N.W.2d 82 (1965); Presque Isle Twp School Dist v Presque Isle County Board of Education, 364 Mich. 605; 111 N.W.2d 853 (1961); In re Chamberlain's Estate, 298 Mich. 278; 299 N.W. 82 (1941). An amendment, as § 27(c)(2), is generally construed in the context of the act it was designed to amend. Fowler, supra.
Using these well recognized rules of statutory construction, the more reasonable reading of § 27(c)(2) requires:
(1) A period of unemployment (in this case, plaintiffs were unemployed at the beginning of the work day on Monday under the definition of § 48),
(a) which commenced with a layoff (plaintiffs were unemployed by reason of a layoff which commenced the "period" of unemployment on Monday),
(b) that continued for more than three weeks. (Because we are speaking of a "period of unemployment", the condition of unemployment by layoff must continue three weeks from the Monday when the "period" began.)
Such a construction is mandated by the words themselves (and as they are punctuated) as read in harmony with the rest of the act to the end that the purpose of the Legislature is effectuated.
Although § 27(c)(2) is not artfully drafted, reading "layoff" as the form of unemployment addressed in this subsection does not render any part of the section nugatory.
(2) The sentence construction above is not only grammatically correct but harmonizes with the remainder of the act. Understandably, "layoff" is not defined in the act because the act speaks to "unemployment". The express purpose of MESA is to provide "benefits for periods of unemployment * * * thus maintaining purchasing power and limiting social consequences". The subsection in question therefore must be construed to further that purpose.
Even attorney for the claimants declares in a 1972 law review article that the subsection was designed to compensate "unemployed individuals" who are ineligible for employment compensation.
Rossen, Unemployment Compensation, 1971 Annual Survey of Michigan Law, 18 Wayne L Rev 549 (1972).
Perhaps the most concrete argument is made by the 1974 amendments to the Employment Security (Unemployment Compensation) Act.
Because the one-week waiting period was abolished, the back-to-work compensation provided in the subject subsection also was abolished. MCLA 421.27a; MSA 17.529(1) provides for the transition. The provisions of former subsection (ii) remain the same but the last sentence disposes of such claims in these words:
"No benefits payable in accordance with this section shall be paid for any week of unemployment beginning on or after February 2, 1975."
The terminology is consistent with the remainder of the act and refers to a "week of unemployment".
(3) It has been urged upon us to accept the date when notice of a layoff was received as the date when the "period" of unemployment began — in other words as the triggering date from which we count the three weeks necessary for back-to-work pay.
It is true that notice could have been delivered before work on Monday instead of on Friday after work, but this seems a foolish extreme of hair-splitting.
Section 68 of the controlling GM-UAW contract provides:
"The Management of each plant will, whenever possible, give at least twenty-four (24) hours' notice prior to layoff to the employees affected."
It might be argued that plaintiff could have specifically stated in the notice that the layoff was to commence on Monday. Although this is true, there was no practical purpose to be served. Saturday and Sunday were not working days, so such a notice would have been of no benefit to anyone and a lack of such resulted in no prejudice. We would not judicially impose a useless exercise upon the employer. Claimants only benefited from prior notice.
In addition, GMC argues:
"The comprehensive labor agreement between General Motors and the International Union, UAW, shows that the parties have agreed that employes may not be considered to be on layoff status on any Saturday or Sunday. For example, under the holiday provisions of the Agreement, employes laid off during the work week prior to a holiday are entitled to be paid for such holiday. (Paragraph 208 of December 15, 1967, Agreement.) As a matter of fact, General Motors and the UAW have agreed in their interpretation of this provision that notification to employes at the end of a shift on Friday that they are being laid off is in reality a layoff effective the following Monday."
Consistent with that argument and lending weight to it are the forms signed by claimants and entitled "Registration for Sub-benefits (Pursuant to Agreement between General Motors Corporation and UAW)". These forms claim the "last day scheduled to work" as Friday and "the layoff period beginning with my first day of layoff" as Monday. At least at that point defendants claimed the first day of layoff pursuant to the agreement as Monday. By any name, the commencement of the economic impact took place on a Monday in each case — the first day when no wages or benefits were earned or received.
In Wayne Circuit Court Case No 41089, Michigan Employment Security Commission v General Motors Corp and Elma J. Miller, the court said,
"Because the reduction in force was after the shift on June 19, 1964, a Friday, it was the procedure and practice of the company in such case to show that their unemployment for lack of work commenced the following week, on Monday, which was the first day they were unemployed. Therefore, all employes who were separated June 19 and had worked that day were considered to be laid off in a reduction in force during the week prior to the holiday of July 4, and if this was so, they were entitled to receive holiday pay under paragraph 208 of the company-union agreement.
"All of the claimants remained laid off from employment from (Monday) June 22, 1964, which was actually the first day of layoff, until some time after July 4, 1964." (Emphasis added.)
MESC
The Attorney General, for Michigan Employment Security Commission (MESC), argues:
"It is submitted that the courts may not substitute their preferred interpretation for those arrived at by the commission in the absence of a finding that the commission's interpretation is unwarranted and without reasonable basis in law."
We do not agree that the courts are so strictly confined by the agency interpretation. It is the responsibility of the judiciary to interpret legislative intent and this responsibility cannot be delegated. We agree with the Court of Appeals that consideration should be afforded to the MESC interpretation of this section. We cannot abdicate our ultimate responsibility.
Kelly v Secretary of State, 293 Mich. 530; 292 N.W. 479 (1940). See also, Lorraine Cab v Detroit, 357 Mich. 379; 98 N.W.2d 607 (1959); Ready-Power Co v City of Dearborn, 336 Mich. 519; 58 N.W.2d 904 (1953); Howard Pore, Inc, v State Commissioner of Revenue, 322 Mich. 49; 33 N.W.2d 657 (1948).
To this end, we have considered the MESC view of § 27(c)(2), but for the reasons already enunciated we cannot agree as to its validity.
Conclusion
We find that the computation of time is controlled by the words "period of unemployment * * * which commenced with a layoff:". (§ 27[c][2]). Unemployment is defined in § 48. Both sections are in furtherance of the goal of relieving the economic impact of involuntary unemployment of a temporary nature brought about by an act of the employer. The economic impact in these claims of employes paid by the hour commenced on the first day when no compensation was earned or paid — Monday.
No use of semantics can change the fact that defendants would have received no further compensation for the week-end. These employes who were paid by the hour would have earned nothing until the next regular day of work which was Monday.
Nevertheless, it is claimants' position that they should receive not only a full week's pay but also back-to-work benefits. Such an interpretation not only defeats the stated legislative objective but also the proffered objective of a "compromise" to compensate employes for loss of wages. A literal and commonsense reading of the Employment Security Act dictates the finding that defendants are not entitled to back-to-work pay.
The Court of Appeals is affirmed.
Lawson-Griffith
The specific question arising in these claims is:
When an employe receives notice of layoff after work on a Wednesday and returns to work on a Wednesday four weeks later, and when pursuant to contract he receives short-week benefits of 80% of base pay for the two days not worked in each of the two weeks for which he also received regular pay for three days, is he entitled to back-to-work pay under § 27(c)(2)?
Lawson and Griffith received layoff notices at the end of the shift on July 31, 1968 and returned to work Wednesday, August 28, 1968.
MESC awarded defendants Lawson and Griffith back-to-work benefits. General Motors contends that the awards were erroneous.
Although the Court of Appeals applied the "loss of pay impact" rationale in the Bloomer-Kartsonas-Erves decision, with which we agree, it failed to do so as to these claimants. Instead, it found that any period of unemployment satisfies the first requirement of § 27(c)(2).
The Court rationalized that the "layoff" was four weeks and because there was some period of "unemployment", the claimants were entitled to back-to-work benefits regardless of the short-week payments already received.
We attribute to the legislative intent a more consistent, less confusing rationale.
General Motors argued that by § 48 definition the claimants were not unemployed in excess of three weeks, but instead were unemployed for exactly three weeks beginning Monday, August 5, and ending Saturday, August 24. This period of unemployment was commenced by an act of the employer laying off the employes without prejudice.
By contract, each was paid 80% of his base pay for the portion of the 40-hour "work week" he did not work. Thus, Lawson and Griffith worked three days of the beginning work week and three days of the last work week and they were paid the 80% for the two days they did not work in each such week. They lost three full weeks of wages.
Claimants argued, as did Bloomer-Kartsonas-Erves, that "layoff" and "unemployment" as used in this section are mutually exclusive terms.
These contentions have been discussed in the prior matter and repetition will serve no purpose.
The period of unemployment did not begin until Monday.
By definition an employe is not entitled to compensation for every and any day he does not work. For example, if a worker ceased working for an employing unit on Tuesday, began working for the same or another employing unit on the following Thursday, and his total wages for the week at least equalled his weekly benefit rate, then for purposes of the MESA that worker was not unemployed.
In this case the claimants were unemployed exactly three weeks.
This point is uncontested. What is contested is whether the claimants were "laid off" in excess of three weeks and the relevance of that determination.
Considering the act as a whole, we note that all benefits and computations therefor are calculated in terms of weeks rather than days. It is consistent that provision be made in the contract to compensate for that part of a 40-hour work week remaining with no work. The contractual provision for short-week pay in these cases emphasizes the beneficial effect of the agreement. Regular wages for the three days worked placed claimants beyond the maximum for unemployment compensation during that particular week. Nevertheless, they received short-week pay of $90.89 and $84.01 in addition to the three days at full wages for each of those weeks. Therefore, the respective additional sums received were each higher than the one back-to-work payment being sought and the claimants gain, rather than lose.
In any event, the "loss of pay impact" was not effective in the two disputed weeks.
Because unemployment is defined in the Employment Security Act, that definition necessarily limits the application of "layoff" as used in the act to the commencing of "period of unemployment". It also is consistent with the stated objective of the act "to provide benefits for periods of unemployment". In this context, the defendants were not in a period of unemployment because of layoff in excess of three weeks. Therefore, they are not entitled to back-to-work benefits. One must credit the Legislature and the contract negotiators with some sense of economics. It is unlikely that the Legislature anticipated such a play on words. As it was, we suspect that they relied upon the plain meaning of the words read in harmony with the objective and remainder of the act and a commonsense approach by all of us to a well-intended and balanced legislative enactment.
Claimants "lost pay" for exactly three weeks and so are not entitled to back-to-work pay in addition to unemployment compensation and short-week benefits.
The Court of Appeals is reversed.
FITZGERALD, J., concurred with COLEMAN, J.