WILLIAMS, J.
This case involves a unique fact situation. For 16 years plaintiff David Hairston worked two concurrent full-time jobs. From 1955 until August 6, 1971 he worked at Firestone Tire Rubber Company; from 1948 until March 2, 1972 he worked at Ford Motor Company. On August 6, 1971, Firestone told plaintiff he could no longer work for Firestone because of a medical examination and report indicating that plaintiff had a heart condition. Plaintiff continued working his full-time job at Ford until March 2, 1972, when he "blacked out" while at work.
The issue in this case is whether the Worker's Compensation Appeal Board (the "WCAB") erred in ordering both Firestone and Ford to compensate plaintiff at the maximum rate for total disability under the Worker's Disability Compensation Act.
We hold that the WCAB did not err in its "dual" award of worker's compensation benefits to plaintiff. Accordingly, we affirm the decisions of the Court of Appeals and the WCAB.
I
The facts in this case are complicated and important, thereby necessitating a relatively lengthy exposition. The reason for this is the unique "dual nature" of plaintiff's employment and worker's compensation claims.
For 16 years plaintiff worked two full-time jobs.
From June 27, 1948 to March 2, 1972, plaintiff worked an average of over 40 hours per workweek for Ford Motor Company ("Ford"). From 1955 to August 1971, plaintiff worked a steady 48-hour week at Firestone Tire Rubber Company ("Firestone").
During his first five years of employment at Ford, plaintiff worked seven days per week; thereafter, for six or seven years, he worked six days per week. By 1971 his workweek had been reduced to 40 hours per week.
The WCAB, looking to the record, accurately described the nature of plaintiff's employment at Ford as follows:
"For the first 10 to 12 years, he worked as a group two cleaner. The job involved moving heavy material, moving skids weighing 50 to 60 pounds, climbing ladders, and dusting in high places. Plaintiff was then switched to a classification as a group one cleaner. He indicated that this was supposed to be light work and that he was given strict orders to do all light work. However, the duties assigned to plaintiff were not all light, and plaintiff testified that he did what he was told to do. As a group one cleaner in the crash lab, plaintiff worked in both the office area and the shop area. He dusted anything within reach, emptied ashtrays, moved books, cleaned restrooms, and emptied wastebaskets. The wastebaskets were filled usually with IBM cards, and plaintiff estimated the filled weight to be approximately 50 pounds. Fifty to 60 wastebaskets were emptied each shift into bags which then had to be taken to a disposal area and thrown into the opening in the top of a dumpster which was 9 to 10 feet high. No ladder was available so that all items had to be thrown up and in. In addition, plaintiff was responsible for disposing of parts cut off automobiles being used in crash research. These included, each day, 5 to 6 car bumpers weighing 30-40 pounds, car doors, and smaller parts which had been thrown into three foot by four foot containers. The parts also had to be taken to the disposal area and had to be thrown into the dumpster. Plaintiff testified that the task he, personally, found most difficult was operating a 2000 pound Lincoln floor scrubbing machine. Plaintiff ran this machine in the shop area two to three days per week for about three hours each time. * * * Plaintiff testified that, in the crash lab, he had to maneuver the machine in the narrow aisleway between cars."
On March 2, 1972, while turning the Lincoln floor scrubbing machine in a small area, plaintiff had trouble breathing, felt weakened, and then "blacked out". He was taken to first aid and then to Oakwood Hospital, where he remained for five days. After this, plaintiff did not continue his employment at Ford; nor was he able to secure employment elsewhere. On October 17, 1973, plaintiff returned to "favored work" at Ford.
This is reflected in the record by stipulation entered by plaintiff and defendant Ford in June, 1975, subsequent to the WCAB opinion:
"It is hereby stipulated that David Hairston, appellee herein, returned to favored work on October 17, 1973, at which time he earned wages equal to or greater than he was earning on March 2, 1972, except for the period from November 5, 1973 through November 25, 1973, inclusive."
The WCAB, looking to the record, accurately described the nature of plaintiff's employment at Firestone as follows:
"* * * for most of the period of his employment at Firestone he was classified as a tire changer, working mostly with truck tires averaging approximately 200 pounds. He also changed bus and automobile tires, with the largest and heaviest tire being taller than he was at 5 foot 9 inches and weighing about 300 pounds and with the smallest tire weighing 25 to 30 pounds. Plaintiff changed tires both in the store and out on the road. In 1969, he apparently was assigned to spend more time in the store, and he changed fewer truck tires and more automobile tires. He also stacked tires, including truck tires, and unloaded and stacked stoves weighing 200 to 300 pounds and refrigerators weighing up to 600 pounds, as well as power lawn mowers."
Plaintiff last worked at Firestone on August 6, 1971. Before this date, plaintiff had gone to University Hospital in Ann Arbor for an examination of a heart condition. Firestone requested a written report of this examination. After the report was received, plaintiff's supervisor at Firestone informed him that the physician who conducted his heart examination believed that plaintiff's heart was not strong enough to permit him to continue working at his Firestone job. Consequently, plaintiff was told that Firestone could not continue to employ him because his job involved work which was too heavy for his heart condition.
Prior to 1971 (it is not clear from the record when), it was discovered that plaintiff had a heart condition. There is no evidence in the record that plaintiff lost any time at his work as a result of this.
Following his employment termination at Firestone, plaintiff continued to work at his full-time job at Ford until his heart attack on March 2, 1972.
In October 1971, plaintiff filed a claim for workmen's compensation benefits against Firestone and Ford. In March 1972, plaintiff amended his petition against Ford, alleging a personal injury which occurred "on or about March 2, 1972". In January 1973, the hearing referee found that plaintiff had become disabled on August 6, 1971, as the result of the aggravation of a pre-existing heart condition by the work plaintiff performed for defendant Firestone. The referee also found that on March 2, 1972, plaintiff was disabled by an "underlying heart condition" which caused a "specific stress or injury". The referee awarded plaintiff the maximum compensation ($102) for total disability against defendant Firestone from August 6, 1971 until March 2, 1972. The referee also ordered that after March 2, 1972, when plaintiff became disabled at Ford, Firestone's liability to plaintiff would be reduced by one-half (to $51) and Ford's liability would be one-half of the maximum due plaintiff for his disability in its employ ($53.50, one-half of the $107 maximum to which plaintiff was entitled). The referee stated as a rationale for this unorthodox compensation award:
"Under the circumstances, it appears proper and equitable to apportion liability subsequent to March 2, 1972, bringing about a reduction of the liability of Firestone and its insurer to one-half of the maximum rate of $102.00, or $51.00, and to impose upon Ford Motor Company liability for one-half of what would be its maximum rate for total disability."
Firestone appealed and plaintiff cross-appealed this award to the WCAB. In June, 1975, the WCAB issued its opinion. The board observed that "no legal basis exists for the `equitable' apportionment of benefits [by the hearing referee] after March 2, 1972", and, further, that "the `equitable' nature of this approach is open to question since plaintiff actually received less in compensation than he would have had he sought relief solely against defendant Ford ($104.50 per week as opposed to $107.00 per week)". After finding that
"[h]ere the record allows no other conclusion than that, since March 2, 1972, plaintiff has suffered two concurrent total losses of wage earning capacity as the result of two separate and distinct injuries which occurred while concurrently employed by two separate and distinct employers"
The board modified the hearing referee's award, ordering that Firestone should compensate plaintiff at the maximum rate for total disability from August 7, 1971 "until further order of the Bureau" and that Ford should compensate plaintiff at the maximum rate for total disability from March 3, 1972 until October 17, 1973, when, according to the stipulation noted supra, plaintiff returned to "favored work" at Ford.
The WCAB awarded plaintiff partial compensation for the period November 5, 1973 to November 25, 1973 because during this period he did not earn wages equal to or greater than he was earning in March 2, 1972. See also, fn 2, supra.
Firestone appealed the WCAB decision solely on the question of whether the board awarded compensation against Firestone at the correct rate. In October, 1975, the Wayne County Circuit Court entered judgment against Ford pursuant to the WCAB order. Ford appealed this judgment. Ford had also filed a delayed application for leave to appeal the WCAB order and a motion to consolidate this delayed application for leave to appeal with its appeal from the circuit court's judgment. In November 1975, the Court of Appeals granted both Ford's delayed application for leave to appeal and its motion to consolidate, i.e., the Court of Appeals consolidated Ford's appeal from the circuit court's judgment and its appeal from the WCAB order vis-a-vis Ford.
Our relatively detailed discussion of the appeals Ford made from the WCAB order and the circuit court judgment is necessitated by plaintiff's argument that:
"Ford does not question the validity of that judgment here. The time limit provided for perfecting appeal to this Court from the affirmation by the Court of Appeals of this judgment has passed. Therefore, plaintiff's entitlement to the monies awarded by the Appeal Board as against Ford is not really an issue here.
"Ford apparently asks this Court for an advisory opinion as to the correctness of the decision of the Court of Appeals and the Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board * * *."
We reject this argument. We agree with defendant Ford's response that:
"Defendant properly appealed both the Circuit Court judgment and the Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board Order to the Court of Appeals which consolidated the cases. Defendant then applied for leave to appeal in this Court on both cases. This Court granted leave on both case numbers 25910 and 26291.
"It is errant [sic] nonsense for plaintiff to represent to this Court that defendant Ford Motor Company is not properly before it, has no stake in the outcome of this litigation, and cannot appeal the verdict of the circuit court."
On December 13, 1975, plaintiff Hairston died. His widow was substituted as party plaintiff.
In August, 1976, the Court of Appeals affirmed the decision and order of the WCAB. Defendants Ford and Firestone appealed. This Court granted leave on April 22, 1977.
II
Because there are two defendants in this case, the issue is two-fold. We must determine:
(1) whether the WCAB erred in ordering defendant Firestone to compensate plaintiff at the maximum rate for total disability from August 7, 1971 until December 13, 1975;
As indicated supra, plaintiff died on December 13, 1975. The question of benefits under a "death claim" is not at issue in this case.
(2) whether the WCAB erred in ordering defendant Ford to compensate plaintiff at the maximum rate for total disability from March 2, 1972 until October 17, 1973 (when, according to stipulation between plaintiff and defendant Ford, plaintiff returned to "favored work" at Ford).
We begin our discussion of this issue by reiterating the findings of fact made by the WCAB. We emphasize, as did the Court of Appeals, that in the absence of fraud these findings are conclusive. Const 1963, art 6, § 28; MCL 418.861; MSA 17.237(861).
The WCAB, after careful review of the record, found that plaintiff suffered two separate injuries. With respect to defendant Firestone the board found:
"[P]laintiff became disabled on August 6, 1971, because the heavy work which plaintiff had performed for defendant Firestone accelerated the progression of his pre-existing heart condition to the point of total disability from performing his full time job at Firestone on that date."
With respect to defendant Ford, the board found that "plaintiff suffered a single event injury [a heart attack] on March 2, 1972, which disabled him from his * * * full-time employment with defendant Ford".
The board summarized its findings of fact as follows:
"Here the record allows no other conclusion than that, since March 2, 1972, plaintiff has suffered two concurrent total losses of wage earning capacity as the result of two separate and distinct injuries which occurred while concurrently employed by two separate and distinct employers."
Our first question is whether, in light of these findings, the WCAB erred in ordering Firestone to compensate plaintiff at the maximum rate for total disability from August 7, 1971 until December 13, 1973.
Our answer is no.
Plaintiff's totally disabling injury at Firestone, described supra, is clearly a "personal injury" under MCL 418.401(c); MSA 17.237(401)(c). The compensation to which plaintiff is entitled for his injury is determined by MCL 418.351(1); MSA 17.237(351)(1) and MCL 418.355; MSA 17.237(355).
MCL 418.401(c); MSA 17.237(401)(c) provides:
"`Personal injury' shall include a disease or disability which is due to causes and conditions which are characteristic of and peculiar to the business of the employer and which arises out of and in the course of the employment."
MCL 418.351(1); MSA 17.237(351)(1) provides in pertinent part:
"While the incapacity for work resulting from the injury is total, the employer shall pay, or cause to be paid as hereinafter provided, to the injured employee, a weekly compensation of 2/3 of his average weekly wages, but not more than $64.00 * * *."
Under MCL 418.355; MSA 17.237(355), plaintiff is entitled to compensation higher than the maximum stated in § 351.
We next ask whether the WCAB erred in ordering Ford to compensate plaintiff at the maximum rate for total disability from March 2, 1972 until October 17, 1973.
Our answer is, as with defendant Firestone, no.
As stated supra, the WCAB found, as a matter of fact, that plaintiff suffered a "single event injury" at Ford on March 2, 1972. Accordingly, plaintiff is entitled to compensation from Ford (see MCL 418.301; MSA 17.237[301][1]), the amount of which is determined by MCL 418.351(1); MSA 17.237(351)(1) and MCL 418.355; MSA 17.237(355).
MCL 418.301(1); MSA 17.237(301)(1) provides:
"An employee, who receives a personal injury arising out of and in the course of his employment by an employer who is subject to the provisions of this act, at the time of such injury, shall be paid compensation in the manner and to the extent provided in this act, or in case of his death resulting from such injuries the compensation shall be paid to his dependents as defined in this act. Time of injury or date of injury as used in this act in the case of a disease or in the case of an injury not attributable to a single event shall be the last day of work in the employment in which the employee was last subjected to the conditions resulting in disability or death."
See fn 8, supra, with respect to the amount of compensation due plaintiff under §§ 351 and 355 of the act.
III
Both defendants argue against this conclusion. At bottom they assert that plaintiff had only one "wage-earning" capacity because the Firestone and Ford jobs were "similar" or "in the same line of work".
Defendant Ford argues, under the so-called "similarity test", that earnings in concurrent employments may be considered as a unity in establishing "wage earning capacity" if the employments are "related" or "similar". 2 Larson on Workmen's Compensation Law, § 60.31. Both defendants also rely on Wolanin v Chrysler Corp, 304 Mich. 164, 172; 7 N.W.2d 257 (1943), which states:
"Our statute does not provide for concurrent compensation for total disability in the same line of work." (Emphasis added.)
We find these arguments irrelevant. This Court does not recognize the "similarity rule". Lahay v Hastings Lodge, 398 Mich. 467; 247 N.W.2d 817 (1976), especially fn 8 at 479.
Furthermore, as noted supra, the WCAB found as a matter of fact that plaintiff had two separate earning capacities.
IV
One final observation: in addition to the above stated "legal" bases for our decision, we add that the "equities" in this case favor plaintiff. As the controlling opinion of the WCAB declared, the "equitable nature" of the hearing referee's approach "is open to question since plaintiff actually received less in compensation than he would have had he sought relief solely against defendant Ford ($104.50 per week as opposed to $107.00 per week)". Also, as the concurring opinion of the WCAB forcefully and correctly argued in light of general worker's compensation principles:
"If, for purposes of analysis, we assume that plaintiff worked at Firestone and someone else (`Joe') held plaintiff's job at Ford, what results would occur if we assume the same injuries? Both plaintiff and `Joe' would each receive compensation due them. Each would suffer a separate personal injury according to the dictates of Section 301.
"Then, the question should be asked, should a different result occur merely because plaintiff holds down two full-time jobs with two different and unrelated employers neither of whom have any connection with the other? Logically and legally the answer seems to be no. Both plaintiff and defendants are subject to the same act and no compelling reason appears which would call for a different result. Defendants are in no worse position than if they had hired two employees and not plaintiff alone. The only one who seems to be reaping a windfall by way of the occurrence of the personal injuries is plaintiff. But plaintiff is not reaping a windfall. He has received two hurts, each of which have resulted in the loss of his two wage-earning capacities. Plaintiff is entitled to two whole awards of compensation — one from Firestone and one from Ford. Under the facts, this cannot be called a windfall. He merely obtains what Section 301 says he should have."
V
For the reasons articulated supra, we affirm the Court of Appeals and WCAB decisions.
Costs to plaintiff.
KAVANAGH, C.J., and LEVIN, RYAN, and BLAIR MOODY, JR., JJ., concurred with WILLIAMS, J.