Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Advocates
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Advocates
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The case involves a judgment obtained by plaintiff Theodore Michael Judd, Administrator of the Estate of William Judd, deceased, against defendant Queen City Metro for $805,325.59, arising from the wrongful death of William Judd on November 13, 1981. At the time of the accident, defendant was insured by Transit Casualty Company under a policy obligating indemnification above a $100,000 retained limit up to $900,000. Defendant was responsible for defense and settlement costs, but the insurer could associate in defense and control the trial, with no settlement above the retained limit allowed without insurer consent.

After defendant's motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and for a new trial were denied, defendant elected not to appeal and notified its insurer. Subsequently, the insurer took over the case and indicated it would appeal if no settlement was reached. Defendant’s risk manager delegated authority to the insurer to decide on appeal or settlement, including authority to bind defendant to pay up to the retained limit.

The insurer’s counsel was substituted as defendant’s counsel of record and filed a notice of appeal. Settlement negotiations intensified after the insurer’s counsel could not obtain a supersedeas bond. On December 3, 1985, a settlement agreement was reached for $805,000, which was confirmed by plaintiff’s attorney and insurer’s counsel. Later that day, defendant repudiated the settlement, citing the insurer’s receivership.

Plaintiff moved to dismiss the appeal based on the settlement agreement. The appellate court remanded the case to the trial court to determine the validity of the settlement. After an evidentiary hearing, the trial court found the settlement valid and binding, ordered defendant to pay $805,000 plus interest, and to dismiss the appeal. Defendant appealed this order, which is the subject of the instant opinion.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether a postjudgment settlement agreement made by the attorney for defendant's insurer and plaintiff's attorney is binding on defendant.
  2. Whether plaintiff waived the settlement agreement by seeking to enforce the original judgment through proceedings in aid of execution after defendant repudiated the settlement.
  3. Whether an attorney has authority to settle a case absent specific authority from the client.
  4. Whether the trial court was the proper forum to determine the validity of the settlement agreement following the appellate court's remand.

Arguments of the Parties

Defendant's Arguments

  • Plaintiff erred by not filing a separate, original action to determine the validity of the settlement agreement.
  • Plaintiff abandoned the settlement agreement by seeking to enforce the judgment through garnishment proceedings.
  • The settlement agreement was invalid and not binding because the insurer's attorney lacked authority to settle without specific authorization from defendant.

Plaintiff's Arguments

  • The trial court was the proper forum to determine the validity of the settlement agreement, especially after the appellate court's remand.
  • There was no waiver or abandonment of the settlement agreement by seeking enforcement of the judgment; plaintiff was entitled to protect its interests.
  • Evidence showed the insurer’s attorney had specific authority from defendant to settle the judgment and dismiss the appeal.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Mack v. Polson Rubber Co., 14 Ohio St.3d 34, 470 N.E.2d 902 (1984) Trial court as usual arbiter of settlement agreements on its docket. Supported the ruling that the trial court was the proper forum to determine validity of the settlement agreement.
Morform Tool Corp. v. Keco Industries, Inc., 30 Ohio App.2d 207, 284 N.E.2d 191 (1971) Trial court’s jurisdiction over settlement agreements. Reinforced that the trial court properly heard the settlement validity issue.
Morr v. Crouch, 19 Ohio St.2d 24, 249 N.E.2d 780 (1969) Attorney has no implied or apparent authority to settle absent specific authority. Applied to affirm that insurer’s attorney must have specific authority to settle; court found such authority existed.
Peyko v. Frederick, 25 Ohio St.3d 164, 495 N.E.2d 918 (1986) Authority of attorney to settle cases. Cited as part of the legal framework on attorney authority to settle.
Weir v. Needham, 26 Ohio App.3d 36, 498 N.E.2d 175 (1985) Attorney’s authority to compromise claims. Referenced in support of the general rule requiring specific authority to settle.
Miller v. Wick Building Co., 154 Ohio St. 93, 93 N.E.2d 467 (1950) Principles of apparent authority. Cited to clarify that apparent authority applies only when express authority is absent; court did not rely on apparent authority here.
Ammerman v. Avis Rent A Car System, Inc., 7 Ohio App.3d 338, 455 N.E.2d 1041 (1982) Apparent authority principles. Used to distinguish express authority from apparent authority in attorney settlements.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court focused on whether the insurer’s attorney had specific authority from defendant to settle the judgment. It acknowledged the general rule that mere employment of an attorney does not confer settlement authority, citing Morr v. Crouch and related cases. The court found sufficient evidence that on June 11, 1985, defendant conferred specific authority on its insurer and insurer’s counsel to settle and dismiss the appeal, including delegation of rights to appeal, pay expenses, and settle up to the retained limit.

The court rejected defendant’s claim that plaintiff abandoned the settlement by seeking enforcement of the judgment, reasoning that a party does not waive rights by protecting interests through legal means absent intentional relinquishment of known rights. The court also affirmed that the trial court was the proper forum to determine the validity of the settlement agreement, consistent with the appellate court’s remand order and established precedent.

The court declined to base its decision on apparent authority, emphasizing that the case involved express authority. The insurer’s receivership after settlement was not determinative of the authority or validity of the agreement. The court found no merit in defendant’s assignments of error and affirmed the trial court’s findings and order.

Holding and Implications

Judgment affirmed.

The court held that the settlement agreement entered into postjudgment by the insurer’s attorney with plaintiff’s attorney was valid and binding on defendant because the insurer’s attorney had specific authority to settle. Plaintiff did not waive the settlement agreement by seeking to enforce the judgment after defendant repudiated the settlement. The trial court was the proper forum to determine the validity of the settlement under the appellate court’s remand. The decision directly resolves the dispute between the parties by affirming enforcement of the settlement and dismissal of the appeal. No new precedent was established beyond the application of existing authority on attorney settlement powers and procedural propriety.

JUDD, ADMR., APPELLEE, v. QUEEN CITY METRO, APPELLANT.

Courts — Contracts — Settlements — Enforcement of judgment not waiver of settlement agreement, when — Attorney's authority to settle case specifically given, when.

O.Jur 3d Compromise etc. §§ 6, 66, 75.

1. Although mere employment to represent a client in litigation does not confer authority on an attorney to settle the dispute, an attorney who has specific authority to settle may do so and bind his client.

2. After one party repudiates a settlement agreement reached after judgment and pending appeal, the other party does not waive its rights under the settlement agreement by then seeking to enforce the original judgment by proceedings in aid of execution.

3. The trial court is the proper arbiter of the validity of a settlement agreement under an appellate order remanding the case for the specific purpose of determining the agreement's validity.

Per Curiam.

The principal question in this appeal is whether a postjudgment settlement agreement made between the attorney for defendant's insurer and plaintiff's attorney is binding on defendant. Acknowledging that mere employment to represent a client in litigation does not convey authority to the attorney to settle the dispute, we hold that the evidence was sufficient to support the trial court's conclusions that the insurer's attorney had specific authority from defendant to settle the liability and that the settlement agreement was valid and binding.

The settlement agreement provided for the satisfaction of a judgment obtained by plaintiff-appellee Theodore Michael Judd, Administrator of the Estate of William Judd, deceased (referred to as "plaintiff"), against defendant-appellant Queen City Metro ("defendant"); that judgment was in the amount of $805,325.59, for wrongfully causing the death of William Judd (plaintiff's son) on November 13, 1981. At the time of the accident, defendant was insured by Transit Casualty Company ("defendant's insurer" or "the insurer") under a policy that obligated it to indemnify defendant for the ultimate net loss arising from personal injury caused by defendant over and above defendant's "underlying retained limit" (or deductible) of $100,000 up to a policy limit of $900,000. The policy made defendant responsible for the defense, settlement, and expenses arising out of any personal injury that it caused, but defendant's insurer could "associate with" defendant in the defense and control of the trial. No settlement could be made prior to judgment in excess of the underlying retained limit without the insurer's consent.

The trial court relied in part on plaintiff's agreement that the policy under scrutiny was one of indemnity rather than one of insurance; the distinction between the two is that under an insurance policy, the insurer's liability arises when judgment is rendered, whereas under an indemnity policy, the indemnitor's liability arises only after the insured has paid the liability. We are not persuaded that this distinction has any legal significance in this case. The controlling issue is whether the insurer's attorney was authorized by the insured to settle a liability and we find no error in the trial court's conclusion that he was so authorized. The character or classification of the policy is immaterial. Further, the practical effect of R.C. 3929.05 and 3929.06, which state the insurer's liability is absolute whenever the covered loss occurs without the necessity for a satisfaction of the judgment, is to make all policies against liability to third parties for personal injury or property damage "liability" insurance.

Defendant carried out its responsibility to defend against plaintiff's claim, engaging the services of its own counsel, John M. McCaslin, Jr. After defendant's motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and for a new trial were overruled, J.R. Hartlieb, defendant's Risk Manager, notified its insurer that defendant elected not to appeal. This was accomplished by a letter dated June 5, 1985, from Hartlieb to Leon S. Jacobs, the insurer's Division Claims Manager. Defendant conceded that at that time it was prepared to pay the judgment in full. At a meeting on June 11, 1985, between McCaslin and Hartlieb for defendant and Jacobs for its insurer, Jacobs stated that the insurer would take over the case and appeal the judgment if it was unable to reach a settlement with plaintiff. This was a crucial moment in the relationship between defendant and its insurer, when viewed in the light of subsequent developments.

Hartlieb acknowledged that when he turned the case over to Jacobs, he gave the insurer the right to decide whether to appeal or to settle, and if its decision was to settle, the right to bind defendant to pay the underlying retained limit of $100,000.

Hartlieb testified as follows:
"Q. [By plaintiff's attorney] All right. So, after the meeting of June 11th, 1985, when Transit Casualty told you that they would take the appeal, you delegated all of those contractual rights, that is the right to appeal, pay expenses, pay litigation, costs of settlement to Transit Casualty?
"A. That's right.
"* * *
"Q. [By the insurer's attorney] Now, please look at the paragraph which follows the one you just read. Would you read that paragraph, please?
"A. `The company shall have the right to discharge its liability on accounts of any or all claims or suits arising out of an occurrence by paying to the insured the lesser of (1) the difference between the underlying retained limit and the amount required to settle any or all such claims or suits, or (2) the company's excess indemnity limit set forth in Item 4, Section II of the Declaration.'
"Q. Under that language, did Transit Casualty Company have the right to settle any claim and obligate you to pay the underlying $100,000?
"A. Yes."






On the same day as the turn-over conference, McCaslin wrote Hartlieb advising him that Leo Breslin was chosen as counsel by the insurer and would be substituted as defendant's counsel of record in the litigation. McCaslin also advised plaintiff's attorney that "Leo Jacob [ sic] of Transit Casualty Company was in town today and wanted to talk to you. He is interested in seeing if a settlement can be reached before we appeal."

It is undisputed that defendant placed no restrictions or limitations on the authority of its insurer or insurer's counsel to settle the case, either by communication to the insurer or by advising plaintiff or his attorney. Neither defendant nor its attorney insisted on being kept advised of all developments after June 11, 1985.

Breslin was substituted as defendant's counsel of record in the trial court and filed the notice of appeal from the judgment for $805,325.59 on July 18, 1985. McCaslin was duly notified. That appeal is still pending under docket No. C-850510.

After Breslin found it impossible to obtain a supersedeas bond, settlement negotiations with plaintiff's attorney were intensified. On October 29, 1985, plaintiff's attorney advised Breslin he was authorized to settle for the flat sum of $805,000 (without interest). Breslin was advised by Jacobs that he had authority to settle for that amount and to dismiss the appeal. On December 3, 1985, at about 8:45 a.m., Breslin advised plaintiff's attorney he accepted the settlement. Plaintiff's attorney confirmed the agreement by letter to Breslin, and Breslin wrote Jacobs advising him of the amount and asking that a check be "made out" to plaintiff and his attorney for $805,000. There was no question in Breslin's mind that "there had been a settlement."

We are told in oral argument on appeal that it was realized later that defendant is a "political subdivision" of the state and did not have to furnish a bond to perfect the appeal. R.C. 2505.12(B).

At 2:00 p.m. on December 3, 1985, however, Breslin learned that defendant's insurer was in receivership or conservatorship in a Missouri court. Defendant took the position that it repudiated the settlement agreement.

Plaintiff thereafter moved this court to dismiss defendant's appeal in case No. C-850510 on the grounds that defendant was bound by the settlement agreement to abandon the appeal. After consideration of that motion and a motion for a remand, this court remanded the case to the trial court "both for the determination of the issue of whether, after the filing of the Notice of Appeal herein, the parties entered into a valid and binding settlement agreement as alleged in Appellee's Motion to Dismiss Appeal and for determination of any other issues that properly now are or may be brought before the trial court." No other issues were brought before that court. After an evidentiary hearing on the validity of the settlement agreement (the evidence is summarized in the preceding paragraphs), the trial court found that the settlement agreement was valid and binding on both parties and ordered defendant to pay plaintiff $805,000 plus interest from December 3, 1985, in exchange for a full release from the earlier judgment, and to dismiss the appeal in case No. C-850510. The court also filed findings of fact and conclusions of law. Defendant promptly appealed the finding and the order under the instant docket No. C-860320. We refused to consolidate the two appeals.

In its first assignment, defendant claims error in plaintiff's failure to file a separate, original action for determination of the agreement's validity. The claim has no merit. Not only is the original trial court the usual arbiter of agreements settling lawsuits on their dockets, Mack v. Polson Rubber Co. (1984), 14 Ohio St.3d 34, 14 OBR 335, 470 N.E.2d 902; Morform Tool Corp. v. Keco Industries, Inc. (1971), 30 Ohio App.2d 207, 59 O.O. 2d 320, 284 N.E.2d 191; but also that was the specific order of this court, binding defendant to this procedure in the absence of any overruling of our order by a higher tribunal. Defendant is bound by the law of the case.

In the second assignment of error, defendant contends that plaintiff had "abandoned" the settlement agreement by seeking to enforce the judgment itself by proceedings in aid of execution (garnishment), and that the trial court erred when it "allowed plaintiff to seek to enforce" the agreement. This contention has no merit. We find no inconsistency in the attempt by a victorious litigant to recover amounts due him under his judgment when the victor also has a settlement agreement that the defendant has brought into jeopardy by repudiating it and refusing to pay. A victorious party is entitled to take all legal steps to protect his interests and does not waive or abandon any course of action open to him in the absence of an intentional relinquishment of a known right. There was none demonstrated in this case.

Defendant's third assignment asserts error in finding the settlement valid and binding. It is Ohio law that without specific authority, an attorney has no implied or apparent authority arising from his employment to compromise and settle his client's claim or cause of action. The leading case is Morr v. Crouch (1969), 19 Ohio St.2d 24, 48 O.O. 2d 43, 249 N.E.2d 780, and it follows the "almost universal" rule. Annotation, Authority of Attorney to Compromise Action (1953), 30 A.L.R. 2d 944. But, see, Peyko v. Frederick (1986), 25 Ohio St.3d 164, 25 OBR 207, 495 N.E.2d 918, and Weir v. Needham (1985), 26 Ohio App.3d 36, 26 OBR 205, 498 N.E.2d 175. In the instant case, however, we find sufficient evidence to support the trial court's conclusion that on June 11, 1985, defendant conferred on its insurer and on the insurer's counsel specific authority to compromise and settle the judgment against it, including the authority to dismiss the appeal in case No. C-850510. We point to the summary of the evidence in the preceding paragraphs of this decision. The third assignment of error has no merit.

We do not rest our decision on the alternative grounds of apparent authority, used by the trial court, because it is our understanding that the principles of apparent authority come into play when there is no express authority. Miller v. Wick Building Co. (1950), 154 Ohio St. 93, 42 O.O. 169, 93 N.E.2d 467; Ammerman v. Avis Rent A Car System, Inc. (1982), 7 Ohio App.3d 338, 7 OBR 436, 455 N.E.2d 1041. We do not reach the question whether specific authority to settle may arise by appearances (implications of the circumstances).

We affirm.

Judgment affirmed.

DOAN, P.J., KEEFE and BLACK, JJ., concur.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

JUDD v. QUEEN CITY METRO
(Dec 17, 1986)