PER CURIAM.
The original opinion in this cause is hereby withdrawn and the following opinion is substituted:
This is a fraud case. The issue presented is whether plaintiff, the beneficiary of a life insurance policy issued on the life of her daughter, could recover for an alleged misrepresentation made by the insurance company's agent at the time the application for the policy was made by the daughter. The insurance company refused to pay benefits due under the terms of the policy on the ground that the daughter had falsely stated the condition of her health at the time she made the application, and that the daughter had cancer at that time and was uninsurable.
The trial court entered a $1 million judgment based on a jury verdict. The defendants brought these appeals from the denial of their motions for JNOV or new trial. The two appeals have been consolidated.
FACTS
On April 1, 1982, as a part of a "special offer" campaign of defendant North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company to existing policyholders, defendant Sam Watts, a soliciting agent of North Carolina Mutual, took an application for a $2,000 policy of life insurance from Patricia Holley, who was to be the insured and the owner of the policy. She paid the initial premium for the policy and named her mother, the plaintiff, Mattie Holley, as beneficiary. On June 20, 1983, Patricia Holley died of cancer. Mattie Holley made a claim to North Carolina Mutual for the $2,000 proceeds of the policy. After investigation, North Carolina Mutual determined that Patricia Holley had had cancer since the summer of 1981, and was, therefore, uninsurable at the time the policy was issued. The company denied the claim because of a policy provision that stated that the policy did not take effect unless it was issued and delivered while the insured was in good health. A refund of the premiums was tendered to Mattie Holley, who refused to accept it.
The evidence was in dispute, but there was strong evidence from which the jury could have found that Watts, when he took the application, knew that Patricia Holley had cancer, and would live no longer than two to five more years. The policy had a two-year incontestability clause. Patricia Holley, as owner of the policy, reserved the right to change the beneficiary.
The question of what causes of action, if any, Patricia Holley would have had against the defendants if she had initiated an action during her lifetime is not before this Court. This is a suit brought by Mattie Holley, individually.
The alleged misrepresentation made the basis of the fraud claim consisted of the following statement alleged to have been made by defendant Watts to the plaintiff, Mattie Holley, the beneficiary of the $2,000 policy and the mother of Patricia Holley: "Mattie, you'll be the beneficiary of this policy if anything happens to Pat to help with funeral expenses." Watts denied making this statement. Mattie Holley was deposed twice before trial and filed an affidavit in opposition to defendants' motion for summary judgment, and in neither of the depositions, nor in the affidavit, did she refer to the above quoted statement, or to any similar statement that Watts made directly to her. Mattie Holley contends that she was not asked during either deposition a question which would have elicited such testimony. Defendants contend that the statement was fabricated by Mattie Holley during the time between the depositions and the trial, so that she could remain in court. Admittedly, there are several areas in which Mattie Holley's testimony at trial could be said to contradict her testimony given in the depositions, but in each instance, she testified at trial that she had made a mistake in her prior sworn testimony. These inconsistencies in her testimony were pointed out to the jury, and the jury as the trier of fact apparently determined that her trial testimony was credible.
There was evidence from which the jury could have found, as it evidently did, that Watts told Mattie Holley: "Mattie, you'll be the beneficiary of this policy if anything happens to Pat to help with funeral expenses." For our purposes, we must assume that the statement was, in fact, made. The policy was issued, and, thereafter, either Patricia or Mattie Holley paid the monthly premium of $4.22 on the policy for the next 13 months.
I
The threshold question this Court must resolve is whether the statement made by Watts to Mattie Holley constitutes a misrepresentation on which an action of fraud can be based.
As Justice Beatty wrote in Harrell v. Dodson, 398 So.2d 272 (Ala. 1981):
"The elementary rule is that evidence of misrepresentation of a material fact must be shown to support a claim for damages on account of a misrepresentation. Code 1975, § 6-5-101."
Whether a given representation is an expression of an opinion or a statement of fact depends upon all the circumstances of the particular case. Harrell v. Dodson, supra.
Under the circumstances of this case, we hold that the statement allegedly made by Watts is a statement of a material fact.
The circumstances of this case bear some striking similarities to those of National States Ins. Co. v. Jones, 393 So.2d 1361 (Ala. 1980), in which a niece brought an action, individually and as administratrix of her aunt's estate, to recover for fraud and misrepresentation and conspiracy to defraud and to misrepresent in regard to the sale of health policies covering the aunt, after claims under the policies were denied for alleged misrepresentations in the application. In that case, the following issues were presented:
"(1) Does plaintiff have standing?
"(2) Is the action barred by the statute of limitations?
"(3) Is evidence of National States' loss ratios admissible?
"(4) Is a tape recording of a sales meeting admissible to show intent to defraud?
"(5) What is the status of the agents involved and was it such that it created liability for the company?
"(6) Did plaintiff waive her right to sue by accepting the return of premiums?
"(7) Did plaintiff sustain actual damages? Were punitive damages proper? Was the jury verdict excessive and the remittitur proper?"
In that case, this Court, with seven Justices concurring in the opinion, found that the plaintiff niece had standing even though she was not the applicant, the insured, the beneficiary, or the owner of the policies at issue.
As earlier indicated, this case has some striking similarities to that case. In each case, an application for an insurance policy was made by the insured, who was related to the plaintiff. In each case, the plaintiff occupied a special relationship with the insured, and was involved to some degree in the application process; the plaintiff in each case had assumed some responsibility for the care of the insured; and the benefits payable under the policy, in each case, would have been beneficial to the plaintiff in paying any obligations arising out of the plaintiff's assumption of responsibility for the care or burial of the insured.
In this case, the plaintiff was the named beneficiary. In the National States case, the plaintiff was not the named beneficiary. In each case, there was evidence that the plaintiff paid either all of the premiums or some of the premiums. In each case, a claim was filed for benefits payable under each policy, and the defendant insurer, in each case, denied the claim because of alleged misrepresentations in the application by the insured. In both cases, there was evidence that the insured and the plaintiff both knew that the insured had health problems at the time the application was made. Neither the insured nor the plaintiff in either case informed the defendant's agent of the health conditions. In National States, the plaintiff was present when the defendant's agent was questioning the insured, but did not answer the questions. In this case, the plaintiff was not in the room at the time of the questioning by the agent and did not hear the questions. In National States, there was no evidence that the defendant's agent was aware of the condition of the insured. In this case, there was evidence that the insurer's agent did know that the insured had cancer.
There are other similarities between this case and National States. The training methods for sales persons employed by the two insurance companies were similar. In each case, the policies and information concerning the policies were sent from the home office to the agents. The two companies prescribed the presentation to be made by the agents. There were training sessions conducted by the sales manager concerning the presentation to be made to applicants. In National States, one of the sales meetings was partially taped, so there was evidence in that case of what transpired during that sales meeting. Here, there was evidence that during the training session the agents were told that the medical portion of the application was not required.
In making the application, there was evidence that the insured in this case answered two questions falsely. Also, there was evidence that the insured knew she had cancer, and she should have been aware that she was giving false information on the application form, but the jury may have found this fact to be insignificant here.
During the trial, the chief underwriter for North Carolina Mutual, testified:
"Q Now, Ms. Cogwell, what type of an application is required for a special offer?
"A The same application that we use for our regular business except the nonmedical or medical is not a part of it.
"Q Ordinarily the application part of it is called part one, is it not?
"A Correct.
"Q And the part that has the medical questions on it is called part two?
"A Correct.
"Q And on a special offer you require the part one to be filled out and turned in?
"A Yes.
"Q You do not require part two; is that correct?
"A No."
Here, there was evidence that when Watts arrived at the plaintiff's house, he said, in her presence and in the presence of the insured, that he had an insurance policy for the insured with " No medical questions asked." (Emphasis added.)
Watts took the application and then sent it to the home office. Watts did not tell Patricia or the plaintiff that she had to be in good health in order to be insured under this policy because "she was assumed" to be in good health by the company. There is some evidence that Watts made these statements after being specifically told not to take applications from people in bad health.
We are of the opinion that the factual setting in this case is so similar to the factual setting in National States that the principle of law in that case is controlling here. While the evidence here of an intent to defraud may not be as clear as in National States, we find it was sufficient to support a claim of fraud.
We have also made a comparison of the factual setting here with the factual setting in Aspinwall v. Gowens, 405 So.2d 134 (Ala. 1981), and we are of the opinion that even though in Aspinwall the plaintiff was the insured and here the plaintiff is the beneficiary, we are of the opinion that the representations made here were statements of fact rather than statements of opinion. We can see no significant difference in the statement by the agent here, "Mattie, you'll be the beneficiary of this policy if anything happens to Pat to help with funeral expenses," and the statement made in Aspinwall by the agent that he would "fix it where it would definitely pay." See, Group Hospital Services, Inc. v. Daniel, 704 S.W.2d 870 (Tex.Ct.App. 1986) (beneficiary allowed to maintain a fraud action against insurer for agent's representations that treatment at an allergy treatment facility would be covered, but appellate court found that evidence did not support an award of punitive damages, because there was no evidence presented of an intent to deceive).
We are also of the opinion that the decision of this Court in this case is consistent with the principle of law this Court set forth in Berkel Co. Contractors, Inc. v. Providence Hosp., 454 So.2d 496 (Ala. 1984). There, a subcontractor installing piles for an addition to a hospital brought an action against the hospital and the architect, in which it sought additional compensation to recover what it had expended because of unaccepted piles. The hospital claimed that there was no privity of contract between it and the subcontractor, and that it owed the subcontractor no duty, and that the subcontractor was not a third-party beneficiary of any contract it had made with another. This Court, in reversing a summary judgment granted in favor of the hospital, stated:
"Providence argues that Berkel cannot enforce Providence's duties under a contract with others absent privity or third-party beneficiary status.
Twine v. Liberty Nat'l. Life Ins. Co., 294 Ala. 43, 50,
311 So.2d 299, 305 (1975). Providence misconstrues the basis of duties in negligence actions. A plaintiff may argue that another party owes a duty under a contract upon which the plaintiff reasonably relied.
McGaha v. Steadman, 410 So.2d 420, 421 (Ala.Civ.App. 1981);
Federal Mogul Corp. v. Universal Constr. Co.,
376 So.2d 716, 724 (Ala.Civ.App. 1979). Alternatively, a plaintiff may argue that another party has duties independent of any contract because that party has acted affirmatively.
Dailey v. City of Birmingham, 378 So.2d 728, 729 (Ala. 1979);
Herston v. Whitesell, 374 So.2d 267, 270 (Ala. 1979);
McGaha v. Steadman, 410 So.2d 420, 421-22 (Ala.Civ.App. 1981). This latter proposition is the basis of count one. Providence can be held liable for negligence injuring third parties, whether or not Providence has a similar duty under contract to some others. The existence of a collateral contract does not negate the obligation imposed in tort to act reasonably. In this case, we need not consider whether an unreasonable omission to perform a contract duty can ever create liability to third parties in a construction setting.
"In this case, Berkel does not seek to impose contract duties on Providence or its agents. Instead, Berkel contends that by affirmatively embarking on a course of conduct (whether or not this exercise sprang from a contract setting), Providence assumed a duty to third parties to act reasonably. We recognize that contracts may impose greater or lesser degrees of responsibility and that third parties are generally not entitled to benefit from contract standards which differ from the standard of care generally applicable in negligence actions.
See Note, 'Architectural Malpractice: A Contract-Based Approach,' 92
Harv.L.Rev. 1075, 1087-88 (1979). "Providence argues further that even if privity is not a defense, the facts disclosed that no duty was owed to Berkel. In deciding whether to impose a duty in a construction context, the trial court should analyze six factors:
" ' "(1) [T]he extent to which the transaction was intended to affect the other person; (2) the foreseeability of harm to him; (3) the degree of certainty that he suffered injury; (4) the closeness of the connection between the defendant's conduct and the injury; (5) the moral blame attached to such conduct; and (6) the policy of preventing future harm." '
"Howe v. Bishop, 446 So.2d 11 (Ala. 1984) (Torbert, C.J., concurring in the result),
quoting from United Leasing Corp. v. Miller, 45 N.C. App. 400, 406-07,
263 S.E.2d 313, 318 (1980). Under this standard, Providence clearly owes Berkel a duty to act reasonably in directing and approving pile construction work. The transaction was intended to affect Berkel, and it was foreseeable that it would. The alleged harm is certain and directly connected to Providence's conduct. Given the business relationship and lack of personal injury, the question of moral blame is not relevant in this case. The final factor, the policy of preventing future harm, also supports the finding of a duty. Providence could have averted the alleged loss either by not acting or by acting reasonably. This Court will impose liability on Providence to require it to act responsibly."
454 So.2d at 502-03.
Although Berkel involves a construction contract, and was not an action based on any alleged fraud, we think that the elements set out in that case as being necessary to show the existence of a duty are present in this case.
II
The last issue we address is North Carolina Mutual's claim that the verdict was excessive.
We do not, at this time, decide this issue, but we remand the cause to the trial court to review its judgment in accordance with the guidelines set out in our recent decisions in Hammond v. City of Gadsden, 493 So.2d 1374 (Ala. 1986); Harmon v. Motors Insurance Corp., 493 So.2d 1370 (Ala. 1986); and Alabama Farm Bureau Mutual Cas. Ins. Co. v. Griffin, 493 So.2d 1379 (Ala. 1986).
The trial court, in its discretion, may or may not order a further hearing to reconsider the claim that the verdict is excessive. In any event, the trial court is directed to report its findings and conclusions within 28 days of this opinion.
APPLICATION FOR REHEARING GRANTED; ORIGINAL OPINION WITHDRAWN; OPINION SUBSTITUTED; AFFIRMED, IN PART; REMANDED WITH DIRECTIONS.
JONES, ALMON and SHORES, JJ., concur.
MADDOX and ADAMS, JJ., concur specially.
TORBERT, C.J., and BEATTY, HOUSTON and STEAGALL, JJ., dissent.
PER CURIAM.
The Court affirmed the judgment on the merits, but remanded this cause to the trial court "to review its judgment in accordance with the guidelines set out in our recent decisions in Hammond v. City of Gadsden, 493 So.2d 1374 (Ala. 1986); Harmon v. Motors Insurance Corp., 493 So.2d 1370 (Ala. 1986); and Alabama Farm Bureau Cas. Ins. Co. v. Griffin, 493 So.2d 1379 (Ala. 1986)."
Pursuant to this Court's order, the trial judge held a hearing and, on December 18, 1987, entered an order refusing a remittitur of the $1,000,000 judgment entered upon the jury verdict. We do not set out the trial judge's complete order, but we do include the following pertinent findings:
"We
have reviewed the evidence in this case, the verdict of the jury, and all proceedings relevant to this case, from impanelling the jury to post-trial motions, and we have applied the standards and tests set out in
Hammond, and we have found no reason or ground to order a remittitur. . . . We have looked for, but have not found, bias, passion, prejudice, corruption or other improper motive affecting the jury or its verdict, or any other aspect of the trial. The verdict is justified by the evidence in this case, as will be discussed below.
". . .
"Can it be said that the $1 million verdict in this case is excessive as a matter of law? Let us look at the facts. Sam Watts was a friend of the Holley family; he was their insurance man, and they trusted him. His conduct can be interpreted one of two ways: either he 'bent the rules' in an attempt to help Mattie Holley, or he took advantage of Mattie Holley, a poor, illiterate and elderly friend who trusted and relied on him. The jury found the latter; the jury found that Sam Watts intentionally took advantage of Mattie Holley, and such a finding is fully justified by the evidence. The jury also found that North Carolina
Mutual either authorized or ratified Sam Watts' conduct, and such a finding is fully justified by the evidence.
"In this case, the enormity of the wrong is great, as is the culpability of the wrongdoer. A large and substantial fine is justified, and called for, to punish this wrongdoing and to prevent similar wrongdoing in the future. In light of the facts in this case, is the verdict of $1 million excessive as a matter of law? We think not, and we find that the verdict is not excessive as a matter of law."
The parties filed briefs in this Court, and the matter was again submitted to this Court to determine whether the award of $1,000,000 was excessive.
As pointed out in the dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Houston, 533 So.2d at 504-506, this Court did not address other claims raised by the appellant, but we have considered those claims, and neither of those claims persuades us that there was prejudicial error to reverse the judgment. For a history of the Bankers Life case, and the issues presented on appeal to the United States Supreme Court, see 55 U.S.L.W. 3065:
"85-1765 BANKERS LIFE AND CASUALTY CO. V. CRENSHAW
"Mandatory appellate penalty — Unsuccessful defense appeal — Punitive damages.
"First ruling below (Miss.Sup.Ct. 483 So.2d 254):
"Judgment awarding injured man $20,000 actual and $1.6 million punitive damages against insurance company that refused to honor claim is affirmed; amount of punitive damages, constituting less than 1 percent of insurance company's financial net worth, cannot be said to shock judicial conscience.
"Second ruling below (Miss.Sup.Ct. 9/11/85):
"Court adds damages of $243,000, which are at rate of 15 percent, as provided for by statute.
"Questions presented: (1) Is Mississippi statute that automatically imposes on unsuccessful defendant-appellant mandatory penalty of 15 percent of any money judgment, irrespective of merits of appeal, but that imposes no corresponding burden on appeal by unsuccessful plaintiff-appellant, whether frivolous or not, unconstitutional under Equal Protection Clause? (2) Does $1.6 million punitive damage award against insurance company on insurance claim of $20,000 violate Excessive Fines Clause, or is award otherwise invalid under Contract and Due Process Clauses because award is grossly disproportionate to actual damages and vastly greater than any penalties prescribed by Mississippi legislature for similar or analogous improper business activities, or because award was imposed under standard of conduct newly formulated by court and applied retrospectively to conduct that occurred almost seven years before standard was announced?
"Appeal filed 4/25/86, by Theodore B. Olson, Larry L. Simms, Terence P. Ross, and Gibson, Dunn Crutcher, all of Washington, D.C., and Charles G. Copeland, J. Tucker Mitchell, and Copeland, Cook, Taylor Bush, all of Jackson, Miss."
In connection with the submission in this Court after remand, counsel for both parties filed separate affidavits. North Carolina Mutual's counsel filed an affidavit styled "Affidavit in Connection with Hammond Remand Hearing," in which he averred, among other things, the following:
"During the course of the hearing there was considerable discussion about the statements in the concurring opinions of Justices Maddox and Adams of their concerns about the unconstitutionality of punitive damages and the excessiveness of the $1,000,000 award in this case. Thereafter the plaintiff's attorneys, without any solicitation from the trial court, voluntarily stated to the trial court that they would suggest a remittitur in the amount of $500,000 and further stated they had been authorized by their client to agree to a remittitur in that amount."
Counsel for Mattie Holley filed what could be styled a counter-affidavit, in which he averred, among other things, the following:
"Plaintiff's counsel, because of the similarity of the instant case with
National States Insurance Co. v. Jones, 393 So.2d 1361 (Ala. 1980), in which case the Supreme Court affirmed the trial court's remittitur of a $3,500,000.00 jury verdict down to $500,000.00, announced to the court if it ordered a remittitur up to but not to exceed $500,000.00 it would be accepted by Mattie Holley. This announcement was further encouraged by the Supreme Court's action in
Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 505 So.2d 1050 (Ala. 1987), where the Supreme Court remitted the damages down to $500,000.00. Justice Maddox had mentioned these two opinions in his special concurrence. Further, Justice Adams mentioned
Aspinwall v. Gowans, [Gowens]
405 So.2d 134 (Ala. 1981) in which a $1,000,000.00 jury verdict was remitted down to $250,000.00. Therefore, to be helpful to the trial court, counsel for Mattie Holley made these disclosures and argued specific facts of wrongdoing in the record respecting not only the agent, Sam Watts, but serious wrongdoing in the claims handling process by home office personnel of NCM."
In view of the foregoing, we are of the opinion that the record in this case is sufficient to sustain a jury verdict in favor of the plaintiff Mattie Holley on the fraud claim, but not in the amount of $1,000,000. See National States Insurance Co. v. Jones, 393 So.2d 1361 (Ala. 1980); Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 505 So.2d 1050 (Ala. 1987); and Aspinwall v. Gowens, 405 So.2d 134 (Ala. 1981). Consequently, based on the record in this case, and the fact that plaintiff's counsel stated that "if [the trial court] ordered a remittitur up to but not to exceed $500,000.00 it would be accepted by Mattie Holley," and based further upon the authority of Ala. Code 1975, § 12-22-71, we affirm the judgment of the trial court on the fraud count conditioned upon Mattie Holley's filing with this Court within 14 days of this opinion a remittitur in the amount of $500,000, affording plaintiff a $500,000 judgment on the fraud count; otherwise, the judgment appealed from on the fraud count is reversed and the cause is remanded for a new trial.
AFFIRMED CONDITIONALLY.
JONES, ALMON and SHORES, JJ., concur.
MADDOX and ADAMS, JJ., concur specially.
TORBERT, C.J., and BEATTY, HOUSTON and STEAGALL, JJ., dissent.