WATSON, Justice.
The issue is whether plaintiffs have a right of direct action against defendant, St. Paul Insurance Company, under the Louisiana Direct Action Statute in connection with a "Directors' and Officers' Liability Policy" issued by St. Paul to Liberty Bank and Trust Company.
Plaintiffs filed suit alleging that the bank and its directors and officers' liability insurer were liable for negligent management of their funds by an officer of the bank, Rehm Winters. St. Paul filed an exception of no right of action on the ground that its policy was an indemnity policy which is not subject to the Louisiana Direct Action Statute.
The trial court sustained the exception of no right of action and dismissed plaintiffs' direct action against St. Paul. The court of appeal affirmed on the ground that the policy is one of indemnity, excluded from the scope of the direct action statute. A writ was granted to consider the judgment of the court of appeal.
The bank's directors' and officers' liability policy provides two types of coverage: "A. Corporate Indemnification;" and "B. Directors' and Officers' Liability." Under Section B, St. Paul agrees to pay on behalf of the insured bank any claims against its directors and officers for loss "caused by any negligent act, any error, any omission or any breach of duty while acting in their capacities as Directors or Officers or any matter claimed against them solely by reason of their being Directors or Officers."
As its caption indicates, this insurance policy is a policy of liability insurance. Liability insurance is any insurance protection which indemnifies liability to third persons. Black's Law Dictionary 824 (5th ed. 1979). In Louisiana, liability insurance, including that which purports to be indemnity, must protect the public as well as the insured. Olympic Towing Corporation v. Nebel Towing Company, 419 F.2d 230 (5th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 989, 90 S.Ct. 1120, 25 L.Ed.2d 396 (1970). All liability insurance comes within the provisions of the Louisiana Direct Action Statute, LSA-R.S. 22:655.
The court of appeal erred in sustaining the exception of no right of action on behalf of St. Paul. For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the court of appeal is reversed and the matter is remanded for further proceedings.
REVERSED AND REMANDED.
LEMMON, J., concurs and assigns reasons.
MARCUS, J., dissents for reasons assigned by COLE, J.
COLE, J., dissents and assigns reasons.
[63] DENNIS, Justice.
We granted a rehearing because the dialogue between the majority and dissenting opinions on original hearing convinces us that the Direct Action Statute is not clear and unambiguous but requires further interpretation in search of the legislative intent, that each of our colleagues' opinions bears considerable persuasive force as to a different meaning attributable to the statute, and that resolution of the conflict in viewpoints will enable us to arrive at an interpretation that best conforms to the legislative aim and the purpose of the law. See La.Civ. Code arts. 9, 10 (1988).
The issue presented by this case is whether the Direct Action Statute, which in its literal terms applies to a policy or contract of liability insurance, requires that a tort victim who sustains only incorporeal property damage be allowed to bring a direct action against the tortfeasor's insurer.
In deciding this issue we derive enlightenment from both the majority and dissenting opinions and conclude that a synthesis of their interpretations best conforms to the purpose of the statute. After considering their opinions, the arguments of counsel, the extensive legislative history, jurisprudence and doctrine related to direct actions, we conclude that the statute applies to any insurance against the liability of the insured for the personal injury or corporeal property damage to a tort victim, regardless of whether the policy is framed in liability or indemnity terms, and, further, that the statute affords a person sustaining any other type of tortious loss or damage a direct action against the tortfeasor's insurer unless the insurance policy unambiguously expresses the parties' intent that it is a contract of indemnity against loss rather than a policy of insurance against liability.
Because the plaintiffs do not seek to recover damages for personal injury or corporeal property damage, their ability to bring a direct action depends on whether the policy is a liability or an indemnity contract. After examining the contract, we conclude that it is ambiguous and does not clearly express the parties' intent that it be a contract of indemnity against loss rather than a policy of insurance against liability. Consequently, we interpret the policy as one against liability, rather than as a mere contract of indemnity against loss, and decide that the Direct Action Statute applies in this case. Accordingly, the plaintiffs are entitled to sue the alleged tortfeasor's insurer directly.
BACKGROUND SUMMARY
In this action, the plaintiffs sued a bank and its insurer, the St. Paul Insurance Company, who issued a "directors' and officers' liability policy" insuring the bank and its directors and officers against any claims made against the directors or officers caused by any bank directors' or officers' negligent act, error, omission, or breach of duty while acting in their capacities as directors and officers. Plaintiffs alleged that they suffered damages when a bank officer, who was also plaintiffs' business partner, negligently co-mingled their funds with funds belonging to other investors, including other officers and directors of the bank, and contrary to a previous agreement invested the funds in the futures market on a margin basis. The trial court granted the insurance company's peremptory exception of no right of action finding that Louisiana's Direct Action Statute did not apply to plaintiffs' claims. The court of appeal affirmed concluding that the policy at issue was an "indemnity" policy and therefore outside the scope of the Direct Action Statute, which the court held only applied to policies or contracts of liability insurance. 545 So.2d 1140 (La.App. 4th Cir. 1989). We granted plaintiffs' writ application. 550 So.2d 637 (La. 1989).
THE DIRECT ACTION STATUTE
The Direct Action Statute, La.R.S. 22:655, at the time plaintiffs allege they suffered damage and at the time they filed suit, provided:
No policy or contract of liability insurance shall be issued or delivered in this state, unless it contains provisions to the effect that the insolvency or bankruptcy of the insured shall not release the insurer from the payment of damages for injuries sustained or loss occasioned during the existence of the policy, and any judgment which may be rendered against the insured for which the insurer is liable which shall have become executory, shall be deemed prima facie evidence of the insolvency of the insured, and an action may thereafter be maintained within the terms and limits of the policy by the injured person, or his or her survivors mentioned in Revised Civil Code Article 2315, or heirs against the insurer. The injured person or his or her survivors or heirs hereinabove referred to, at their option, shall have a right of direct action against the insurer within the terms and limits of the policy; and such action may be brought against the insurer alone, or against both the insured and insurer jointly and in solido, in the parish in which an action could be brought against either the insured or the insurer under the general rules of venue prescribed by Art. 42, Code of Civil Procedure. This right of direct action shall exist whether the policy of insurance sued upon was written or delivered in the State of Louisiana or not and whether or not such policy contains a provision forbidding such direct action, provided the accident or injury occurred within the State of Louisiana. Nothing contained in this Section shall be construed to affect the provisions of the policy or contract if the same are not in violation of the laws of this State. It is the intent of this Section that any action brought hereunder shall be subject to all of the lawful conditions of the policy or contract and the defenses which could be urged by the insurer to a direct action brought by the insured, provided the terms and conditions of such policy or contract are not in violation of the laws of this State.
It is also the intent of this Section that all liability policies within their terms and limits are executed for the benefit of all injured persons, his or her survivors or heirs, to whom the insured is liable; and that it is the purpose of all liability policies to give protection and coverage to all insureds, whether they are named insured or additional insureds under the omnibus clause, for any legal liability said insured may have as or for a tortfeasor within the terms and limits of said policy.
La.R.S. 22:655.
The statute is open-textured; its expansive terms do not explicitly delineate its ambit. Terms such as "liability policy" or "injured person" may have more than one meaning in law and common usage; on their face they do not definitely inform us as to the kind of damages and insurance to which the statute applies. In order to properly interpret the statute with respect to the pertinent issues, it is necessary to consider the distinction between liability and indemnity contracts, the historical development of direct action statutes nationally and the legal and social environment out of which the Louisiana Direct Action Statute arose.
INDEMNITY AND LIABILITY INSURANCE DISTINGUISHED
In legal parlance "liability insurance" is used in both a broad and a narrow sense. When the term is used in a broad sense it includes both contracts of indemnity against loss and contracts of insurance against liability. See Vance, Insurance § 196 (3rd ed. 1951). But when the term is used in a narrow sense it refers only to contracts of insurance against liability as opposed to contracts of indemnity against loss. See Meloy v. Conoco, Inc., 504 So.2d 833 (La. 1987).
Under a liability policy (in the narrow sense) the insurer is required to make payment although the insured has not yet suffered any loss, for by definition the purpose of the liability policy is to shield the insured from being required to make any payment on the claim for which he is liable. Couch on Insurance 2d (Rev. ed.) § 44:4. Under an indemnity contract, by way of contrast, the insurer is only required to indemnify or make whole the insured after he has sustained actual loss, meaning after the insured has paid or been compelled to make a payment, his action against the insurer then being to recover the amount of such loss by way of indemnity. Id.; See Meloy v. Conoco, Inc., 504 So.2d at 839.
The general distinction between the two kinds of insurance is that if the policy is one against liability, the coverage thereunder attaches when the liability attaches, regardless of actual loss at that time; but if the policy is one of indemnity only, an action against the insurer does not lie until an actual loss in the discharge of the liability is sustained by the insured. 43 Am. Jur.2d Insurance § 712 (1964); See also Meloy v. Conoco, Inc., supra; Waugh v. American Casualty Co., 190 Kan. 725, 378 P.2d 170 (1963); Gorman v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 210 Md. 1, 121 A.2d 812 (1956); Kinnan v. Charles B. Hurst Co., 317 Ill. 251, 148 N.E. 12 (1925); McBride v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 126 Ark. 528, 191 S.W. 5 (1917); Goodman v. Georgia Life Ins. Co., 189 Ala. 130, 66 So. 649 (1914); Frye v. Bath Gas Electric Co., 97 Me. 241, 54 A. 395 (1903); Fenton v. Fidelity Casualty Co., 36 Or. 283, 56 P. 1096 (1899); American Employers' Liability Ins. Co. v. Fordyce, 62 Ark. 562, 36 S.W. 1051 (1896); Anoka Lumber Co. v. Fidelity Casualty Co., 63 Minn. 286, 65 N.W. 353 (1895); Couch, supra § 44:4; Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice (Buckley ed.) § 4261.
In general, the class into which a particular policy falls depends upon the intention of the parties to the contract, as evinced by the phraseology of the agreement in such respect in the policy. 43 Am.Jur.2d § 712; see also Michel v. American Fire Casualty Co., 82 F.2d 583 (5th Cir. 1936); Slavens v. Standard Accident Ins. Co., 27 F.2d 859 (9th Cir. 1928); DaCosta v. General Guaranty Insurance Co, of Florida, 226 So.2d 104 (Fla. 1969); Appleman, supra § 4261; 1 R. Long, Law of Liability Insurance § 1.06. If the policy is ambiguous, the ambiguity should be resolved by interpretation that the policy is one against liability rather than one of indemnity against loss actually paid by the insured. 43 Am.Jur.2d § 712; see also Michel v. American Fire Casualty Co., supra; Lake v. Fidelity Deposit Co. of Maryland, 430 F.2d 1251 (5th Cir. 1970); DaCosta v. General Guaranty Insurance Co. of Florida, supra; West v. MacMillan, 301 Pa. 344, 152 A. 104 (1926); Appleman, supra § 4261.
THE NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT OF LEGISLATION PERMITTING DIRECT TORT SUITS BY INJURED PERSONS AGAINST TORTFEASORS' INSURERS
The right of an accident victim to bring an action directly against the tortfeasor's insurer has undergone considerable change since the turn of the century. Early on, the rule was clear that the insurance fund could not be reached by an injured party in a direct suit against the insurer (even after judgment against the insured), the theory being that the contract of insurance was limited in its scope to the insurer and the insured, and did not constitute a contract for the benefit of the injured party. James Thornton, The Impact of Insurance on the Law of Torts, 15 Law Contemp. Probs. 431, 435 (1950). Thus the injured party could not directly invoke its benefits. Id. See Bain v. Atkins, 181 Mass. 240, 63 N.E. 414 (1902); Clark v. W.R. Bonsal Co., 157 N.C. 270, 72 S.E. 954 (1911).
Efforts were made, however, to reach the insurance fund through garnishment proceedings against the insurer as garnishee or by equitable proceedings seeking to require the insurer's indebtedness to the insured to be applied pro tanto to the satisfaction of the insured's indebtedness to the plaintiff. James Thornton, supra at 436. In some cases the plaintiffs were successful. The Minnesota Supreme Court in Anoka Lumber Co. v. Fidelity Casualty Co., 63 Minn. 286, 65 N.W. 353 (1895), for example, construed the insurance policy as one of insurance against liability, rather than a contract of indemnity, and concluded that the injured party could reach the insurance fund once the insured's liability to the injured party had been established by final judgment. See also Hoven v. Employers' Liability Assurance Corp., 93 Wis. 201, 67 N.W. 46 (1896).
The insurers, however, got around the effect of such decisions by simply putting suitably drawn "no action" clauses in their policies. These provided in substance: "No action shall be against the company as respects any loss under this policy unless it shall be brought by the insured, himself, to reimburse him for loss actually sustained and paid by him in satisfaction of a judgment after trial of the issue." James Thornton, supra at 436. Confronted with this language, the courts generally took the view that the policy was one of indemnity against loss rather than of insurance against liability. See Luger v. Windell, 116 Wn. 375, 199 P. 760 (1921). Accordingly, the conclusion usually followed that garnishment proceedings by the injured person could not be maintained against the insurer and equitable remedies could not be used to reach the fund. See Allen v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 145 F. 881 (3rd Cir. 1906). Although policies that did not contain the "no action" clause were generally construed to be policies of insurance against liability rather than for indemnity against loss, most policies were written with the "no action" clause, and an injured claimant could rarely obtain relief against the insurer. James Thornton, supra at 436; Compare Carter v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 76 Kan. 275, 91 P. 178 (1907) with Blanton v. Kansas City Cotton Mills Co., 103 Kan. 118, 172 P. 987 (1918). Thus, anomalously, if the insured was solvent so that a judgment of damages could be collected against him, the insurance company would pay, but if the insured was insolvent so that the judgment was uncollectable, the company did not have to pay. See Luger v. Windell, 116 Wn. 375, 199 P. 760 (1921); Shea v. United States Fidelity Co., 98 Conn. 447, 120 A. 286 (1923); James Thornton, id. But see E. Sawyer, Automobile Liability Insurance 2-3 (1936) noting that many companies probably did not choose to take full advantage of the unjust legal situation.
Remedial legislation was brought forth to solve the difficulty at least in part. The general effect of the legislation was to permit the injured party to sue the insurer directly once the insured's liability was established by final judgment, any clauses to the contrary being ineffective. James Thornton, supra at 437; See Jackson v. Citizens Casualty Co., 277 N.Y. 385, 14 N.E.2d 446 (1938). Such statutes provide that no policy of insurance against loss or damage shall be issued unless it contains a provision that the bankruptcy or insolvency of the person insured shall not release the insurer from the payment of damages and that, after judgment has been obtained against the insured, in case execution is returned unsatisfied, an action can be maintained by the injured person directly against the insurer. James Thornton, id.
Early legislative efforts focusing on making a bankrupt employer's insurance available to his injured employees were soon engulfed in the larger movement for worker's compensation. See Bradbury's Workmen's Compensation Law (3d ed. 1917) 53-55; Michelbacher and Nial, Workmen's Compensation Insurance (1925) 95-108. With the advent of the automobile and the consequent increase in the amount of liability insurance, came a demand for legislation enabling personal injury creditors of an insolvent tortfeasor to reach his insurance money. See Crobaugh and Redding, Casualty Insurance (1928) 280, 282-83; Huebner, Property Insurance 421 (1922); Vance, Insurance § 275 (2d ed. 1930). The legislatures of twenty-two states responded with statutes permitting a direct suit against the insurer despite the insolvency of the insured. Comment, Legislative Efforts To Make Insurance Guarantee the Payment of Tort Claims, 46 Harv.L.Rev. 1325, 1326 (1933). The statutes of Massachusetts and New York have furnished models for most jurisdictions. Id.
THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT OF THE LOUISIANA DIRECT ACTION STATUTE
The Louisiana Direct Action Statute is the product of a lengthy legislative and judicial process. See McKenzie Johnson, Louisiana Civil Law Treatise, Insurance Law and Practice § 22 (1986). For the purpose of correcting the injustice created by insurers' avoidance of tort victims' direct suits by use of "no action" clauses in insurance policies the legislature by Act 253 of 1918 enacted the first element of the remedial legislation known as the Direct Action Statute. The 1918 Act prohibited the insurance of any policy of insurance against liability "unless it contains a proviso that the insolvency or bankruptcy of the insured would not release the company from the payment of damages for injury sustained or loss occasioned during the life of the policy," and further provided that "in the case of such insolvency or bankruptcy, an action may be maintained within the terms and limits of the policy by the injured person or his or her heirs, against the insurer company." 1918 La.Acts No. 253, § 1.
In Edwards v. Fidelity Casualty Co., 11 La.App. 176, 123 So. 162 (Orl. 1929) the court of appeal in an action by an injured party against an insurer, rejected the insurer's defenses based on the insured's failure to give timely notice of the claim and the lack of a judgment establishing the insolvency or bankruptcy of the insured. The court reasoned that "the purpose of the statute [is] to create immediately upon the happening of the accident, a cause of action in the injured party against the insurer, if any, of the party at fault. Of course, the right to present and enforce this cause of action is conditioned upon the obtaining of a judgment against the party at fault and upon unsuccessful efforts to collect that judgment . . . ." 11 La.App. at 178, 123 So. at 163; and that an unsatisfied execution of a judgment was satisfactory proof of insolvency.
In the next legislative session, Act 55 of 1930 was enacted, virtually codifying the Edwards decision. See McKenzie Johnson, supra § 22 at 24. This act added two concepts to the Direct Action Statute: (1) "any judgment which may be rendered against the assured, for which the insurer is liable, which shall have become executory, shall be deemed prima facie evidence of the insolvency of the assured", and (2) "the injured person or his or her heirs, at their option, shall have a right of direct action against the insurer company within the terms and limits of the policy, in the parish where the accident or injury occurred, or in the parish where the assured has his domicile, and said action may be brought either against the insurer company alone or against both the assured and the insurer company, jointly and in solido." 1930 La.Acts No. 55. In permitting a suit against the insurer either alone or jointly with the insured, the Louisiana Direct Action Statute differed significantly from that of most other states. The absence of similar provisions in other statutes reflects the traditional fear that to permit the jury to know that a defendant is protected by insurance will prejudice its consideration of the case. Comment, Legislative Efforts To Make Insurance Guarantee the Payment of Tort Claims, 46 Harv.L.Rev. at 1328; 1 Wigmore, Evidence § 282 (2d ed. 1927); see James Thornton, supra at 437.
In 1948 the legislature, in an effort to collect and codify the body of laws regulating insurance, adopted the Louisiana Insurance Code of 1948. (1948 La. Acts No. 195) The Direct Action Statute was embodied in the Code as section 14.45 without any change important to the present case. Also incorporated into the Code by the same act was section 1.06, which provided that "[i]nsurance shall be classified and defined as follows: * * * (4) Liability. Insurance against the liability of the insured for the death, injury or disability of an employee or other person, and insurance against the liability of the insured for damage to or destruction of another person's property. * * * (14) Miscellaneous. Any other kind of loss, damage, or liability properly the subject of insurance and not within any other kind or kinds of insurance as defined in this Section, if such insurance is not contrary to law or public policy." 1948 La.Acts No. 195, § 1.06; La.R.S. 22:6 (4), (14). Like the Direct Action Statute, these provisions evidence a primary design to regulate liability insurance related to personal injury and tangible property damage but a certain reluctance or ambivalence toward fixing the ultimate range of the legislation.
The final amendment of significance in the present case occurred in Act 125 of 1958. In that act the present final paragraph of the statute was added: "It is also the intent of this Section, that all liability policies within their terms and limits are executed for the benefit of all injured persons, his or her survivors or heirs, to whom the insured is liable; and that it is the purpose of all liability policies to give protection and coverage to all insured, whether they are named insureds or additional insureds under the omnibus clause, for any legal liability said insured may have as or for a tort-feasor within the terms and limits of said policy." 1958 La.Acts No. 125.
INTERPRETATION OF THE DIRECT ACTION STATUTE WITH RESPECT TO THE ISSUES IN THE PRESENT CASE
It is well settled that the Direct Action Statute is designed to facilitate the recovery of damages ex delicto; it does not authorize a direct action based solely on a breach of contract. Tyler v. Walt, 184 La. 659, 167 So. 182 (1936); Lacour v. Merchants Trust and Savings Bank, 153 So.2d 599 (La.App. 4th Cir. 1963); Pennsylvania Fire Ins. Co. v. Underwriters at Lloyds London, 140 So.2d 212 (La.App. 4th Cir. 1962); McKenzie Johnson, supra § 30 at 94. When the statute is applicable and authorizes a direct suit against a tortfeasor's insurer, the statute is read into and becomes a part of a policy written pursuant thereto, even though the policy does not contain the language required by the statute, or contains language prohibited by the statute. Olympic Towing Corporation v. Nebel Towing Company, 419 F.2d 230 (5th Cir. 1969), overruled on other grounds, 783 F.2d 1296 (5th Cir. 1986); Humble Oil Refining Co. v. M/V John E. Coon, 207 F. Supp. 45 (E.D.La. 1962); Dean v. Bituminous Casualty Corporation, 72 F. Supp. 801 (W.D.La. 1947); Bosse v. Wolverine Ins. Co., 88 N.H. 98, 184 A. 359 (1936); Perlman v. Independence Indemnity Co. of Philadelphia, 134 Misc. 499, 235 N.Y.S. 194 (1929); Malmgren v. Southwestern Automobile Insurance Co., 201 Cal. 29, 255 P. 512 (1927); Thos. W. Leigh, Direct Actions Against Liability Insurers, 326 Ins. L.J. 633 (1949).
In our opinion the Direct Action Statute is a mandate for a tort victim to bring a direct suit to recover damages for personal injury or corporeal property damage from the tortfeasor's insurer, regardless of whether the insurer has framed the policy as a liability or an indemnity contract. It would lead to absurd consequences to interpret the statute as permitting an insurer to insulate itself from such an action by framing its policy as an indemnity contract or by inserting a "no action" clause in its policy. At the time of Louisiana's first enactment of a direct action statute in 1918, many of the policies issued were indemnity policies requiring that loss actually be sustained, i.e., through the payment of a judgment by the insured. See Webb v. Zurich Insurance Co., 251 La. 558, 205 So.2d 398, 402 (1967); LeBouef v. Colony Insurance Co., 486 So.2d 760, 761 (La.App. 1st Cir. 1986); McKenzie Johnson, supra § 22; Comment, Legislative Efforts To Make Insurance Guarantee the Payment of Tort Claims, 46 Harv.L.Rev. 1325 (1933); James Thornton, supra at 435-36; Comment, Direct Actions — Insurance Contracts, 13 La.L.Rev. 495 (1953); Leigh, supra, 326 Ins.L.J. 633. The legislative history is clear that the principal object of the statute was to overcome strategems of that kind by insurers to bar tort victims' direct suits to recover for personal injuries and corporeal property damage resulting from automobile collisions and other kinds of harmful impacts. See Webb v. Zurich Insurance Co., supra, 205 So.2d at 403; LeBouef v. Colony Insurance Co., id.; Symeonides v. Cosmar Compania Naviera, S.A., 494 F. Supp. 240 (M.D.La. 1980). Louisiana's Act 253 of 1918 was part of a national movement to alleviate the injustice brought about by the increased use of clauses in indemnity contracts requiring actual payment or loss by the insured. See Webb v. Zurich Insurance Co., id., LeBouef v. Colony Insurance Co., id.; Comment, supra, 46 Harv.L.Rev. at 1325-1326; James Thornton, supra at 436-437. This movement was given its greatest impetus by the advent of the automobile, the consequent increase in the amount of insurance, and the legislative concerns for the need to compensate automobile accident victims. See Comment, supra, 46 Harv.L.Rev. at 1326. If the Direct Action Statute were to be rendered ineffective in every case in which the insurer had framed its policy as an indemnity contract, rather than as a liability policy, the statute would be reduced to a toothless absurdity, affording no real protection even to innocent vehicular accident victims, who were intended to be principal beneficiaries of the legislation. See McKenzie Johnson, supra § 30.
On the other hand, it would stretch the legislative mandate too far to interpret the statute to prohibit "indemnity" contracts and "no action" clauses in situations not involving personal injury or damage to corporeal property. In this respect, it seems unlikely that the legislative aim was to completely abolish such provisions in all forms of liability and indemnity insurance. The statute does not expressly prohibit "indemnity" contracts or "no action" clauses or even address them as general evils to be remedied. In the absence of such an expression, a construction of the statute as absolutely forbidding such contractual provisions in suits to recover for loss or damage to incorporeals, see La.Civ. Code art. 461 (1978), seems overbroad and quite remote from the known subjects of legislative concern, viz., the plight of victims sustaining personal injury or property damage in automobile and other accidents.
Furthermore, the statute is susceptible to other, more reasonable interpretations with respect to whether a direct action against the tortfeasor's insurer is afforded a tort victim suffering only loss or damage to incorporeal property. It seems possible that the legislature either intended to deny this class of tort victims the right to a direct action altogether or that the legislative aim was to permit the parties to the insurance contract to determine whether the particular insurance policy would be amenable to direct suit except in litigation involving the critical areas of concern, viz., personal injury or corporeal damage resulting from vehicular accidents or other trauma. The latter interpretation conforms better to the context in which the statutory language occurs, the text of the law as a whole, and the purpose of the law. There is solid evidence that the legislature intended to abolish the distinction between a contract of insurance against liability and a contract of indemnity against loss for the benefit of personal injury and corporeal property damage victims, but there is little evidence of a legislative aim to do so otherwise. However, it is well settled that the statute is remedial and should be liberally construed to accomplish its purpose of affording a person suffering loss or damage a direct action against a tortfeasor's insurer. See Home Insurance Company v. Highway Insurer Underwriters, 222 La. 540, 62 So.2d 828 (1953); Ralston Purina Company v. Cone, 304 So.2d 735, 738 (La.App. 2nd Cir. 1974); Cushing v. Maryland Casualty Co., 198 F.2d 536 (5th Cir. 1952), vacated and remanded on other grounds, 347 U.S. 409, 74 S.Ct. 608, 98 L.Ed. 806 (1954); Lewis v. Manufacturers Casualty Insurance Co., 107 F. Supp. 465 (W.D.La. 1952); Appleman, supra § 4863; Couch, supra § 45:798. It is consistent with the principle of liberal construction to uphold the direct action when an insurer, charged with knowledge of the law, issues a policy specifically insuring against liability, rather than indemnifying against loss, in the face of the Direct Action Statute, which applies to every "policy or contract of liability insurance" and proclaims that "all liability policies within their terms and limits are executed for the benefit of all injured persons". Moreover, because the interpretation of a legislative text strongly resembles the interpretation of a private legal document, we may interpret doubtful provisions in the light of equity, usages and the nature of the provision. See F. Geny, Methode d'Interpretation et Sources en Droit Prive Positif No. 103 (2d ed. La.St.L. Inst. trans. 1963); La.Civ. Code art. 2053. Unless the parties to the insurance contract have agreed unambiguously that the contract shall be an indemnity contract only, it would be inequitable to deny an innocent tort victim the right to bring a direct action against the insurer, even if he has sustained only loss or damage to an incorporeal. Furthermore, it appears that the usage or established practice of our courts would permit a tort victim suffering incorporeal property damage to bring a direct action against the insurer of the alleged tortfeasor when the insurance contract has been framed as one against liability rather than as an unambiguous contract of indemnity against loss. See, e.g., Ralston Purina Company v. Cone, 304 So.2d 735 (La.App. 2nd Cir. 1974); Vessel v. St. Paul Fire Marine Insurance Co., 276 So.2d 874 (La.App. 1st Cir. 1973).
APPLICATION OF THE PRECEPTS
Applying the foregoing precepts, we conclude that the loss or damage alleged does not involve personal injury or corporeal property damage, but that the insurance contract is ambiguous as to whether the parties intended that it insure against liability or indemnify against loss with respect to the damage claimed, and that, therefore, the ambiguity should be resolved by interpreting the policy in this respect to be one against liability rather than one of indemnity against loss actually paid by the insured. Accordingly, because we construe the policy to be one of liability with respect to the plaintiffs' claims, it follows that the Direct Action Statute applies to allow them to bring a direct suit against the insurer.
A summary of the arguments of the plaintiffs and the insurance company illustrates that the insurance contract is susceptible to more than one reasonable interpretation. First, the company points out that the "Action Against Company" clause refers to indemnity:
"No action shall lie against the Company, unless as a condition precedent thereto, the Insured shall have fully complied with the terms of this contract. In the event of the bankruptcy or insolvency of the Insured, the Company shall not be relieved of the payment of such indemnity hereunder as would have been payable but for such bankruptcy or insolvency."
Second, the plaintiffs argue that the condition defining the term "Loss" with respect to the relevant coverage is couched in terms of insurance against liability:
"[A]ny amount the Insured is obligated to pay as respects his legal liability, whether actual or asserted, for any negligent act, any error, any omission or any breach of duty, and, subject to the applicable limits and terms of this policy, shall include damages, judgments, settlements, costs of investigation (excluding salaries of officers and employees), and costs, charges and expenses incurred in the defense of actions, suits or proceedings and appeals therefrom."
Finally, the parties draw opposite reasonable inferences from the "Loss Payable" condition:
"Recovery under this contract in respect to claim or loss arising out of any occurrences covered hereunder shall not be made unless and until the insured's liability has either been rendered fixed and certain by final judgment or admitted by the Company in writing; but in no event shall recovery be made hereunder unless proof of claim is made upon the Company within ninety (90) days after final judgment or admission.
It is not the intention of this Policy that it shall operate as or be construed to be additional insurance. The Company shall not be required to pay any portion of its coverage unless and until the Insured has actually and in fact paid to the claimant or claimants the full limit of its retention. Proof of Payment by the insured of its full liability shall be a condition precedent to any and all liability and claim against the Company under this contract."
Regarding the "Loss Payable" condition, the company argues that the provision requiring that the insured's liability be fixed and certain is consistent with an indemnity contract; that unlike a liability policy the contract permits recovery when proof of claim is made within 90 days after final judgment or admission; and that the final sentence indicates that the contract is an indemnity agreement by providing that proof of the insured's payment of its full liability is a condition precedent to the company's liability.
But the plaintiffs argue plausibly that the proviso requiring that the insured's liability be fixed by judgment or the insurance company's admission in order to bind the insurer is not in conflict with the proposition that the policy is a liability contract. The chief distinction between a liability policy and an indemnification policy is that under a liability policy a cause of action accrues when liability attaches, whereas under an indemnification policy there is no cause of action until the liability has been discharged, as by payment of the judgment by the insured. Meloy v. Conoco, 504 So.2d at 839; Appleman, supra § 4261, p. 72. Furthermore, plaintiffs contend, since recovery against the company is in order when the insured's liability becomes fixed by judgment or the insurer's admission, the final two sentences of the provision cannot be interpreted to require that the insured pay the judgment or the settlement before recovery may be had from the insurance company. Instead, they argue, these sentences refer only to the insured's obligation to pay the full limit of its retention prior to making a claim against the insurer.
From these and other somewhat less cogent arguments of the parties, and from our own examination of the insurance contract, we conclude that the policy is indeed ambiguous and should therefore be interpreted to be a contract of insurance against liability in the present case rather than as a contract of indemnity against loss.
DECREE
For the reasons assigned, we conclude that the plaintiffs are entitled to bring a direct action against the insurance company in this case. Accordingly, the judgment of the court of appeal is reversed, the exception of no right of action is overruled and the case is remanded to the trial court for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.
REVERSED; EXCEPTION OVERRULED; REMANDED TO THE TRIAL COURT.
HALL, J., concurs and assigns reasons.
WATSON, J., concurs in the result for the reasons stated in the original opinion.
MARCUS, J., dissents and assigns reasons.
COLE, J., dissents for reasons originally assigned, and for additional reasons.