FOGG, Judge.
In this worker's compensation action, ABB C-E Services, Inc., and Transportation Insurance Company appeal the award of compensation, interest, and penalties and attorney's fees to William D. Hammons, the plaintiff.
The parties stipulated that the plaintiff injured his left knee in the course and scope of his employment on October 31, 1990. The plaintiff, a 63 year old boilermaker, underwent arthroscopic surgery on the left knee on February 15, 1991. By September, 1992, the treating orthopedic surgeon declared the plaintiff a candidate for total knee arthroplasty with restrictions of no prolonged sitting or standing; by October, 1992, the plaintiff had developed right knee pain and swelling with x-rays indicating collapse with bone-on-bone contact of the medial component.
The defendants initially paid the plaintiff temporary total disability benefits, and then supplemental earnings benefits (SEB) at the maximum rate from September 30, 1991, until December 9, 1991. At that time, they reduced the SEB and then, on August 4, 1993, terminated it. The plaintiff filed this worker's compensation claim on November 18, 1993, and trial was held on April 14, 1994.
The hearing officer awarded the plaintiff SEB from August 27, 1991, until April 14, 1994, in the amount of $1,212.60 per month with legal interest from the date of judicial demand until paid; permanent total disability benefits from the date of trial, April 14, 1994, in the amount of $1,481.66 per month with legal interest from the date of judicial demand until paid; penalties of $2,000.00 and attorney's fees of $1,500.00; and costs, including expert witness fees of $500.00 for Dr. Stephen Speeg and $600.00 for Mr. Curtis Charrier.
On appeal, the defendants contend that the hearing officer erred in finding that the plaintiff was permanently totally disabled; in calculating the amount of SEB; in determining the rate of compensation payable to the plaintiff for permanent total disability; in determining the interest owed to the plaintiff; in ruling that the defendants were arbitrary and capricious; and in finding them responsible for costs and experts' fees and in determining the amounts of those fees. The plaintiff answered the appeal seeking an increase in the award of attorney's fees.
Regarding their contention that the hearing officer erred in determining that the plaintiff was totally permanently disabled, the defendants claim that the plaintiffs various other health problems rendered him unable to work as opposed to his knee injury. In her reasons for judgment, the hearing officer detailed the plaintiff's many health problems, and observed that because he had been regularly working as a boilermaker with most of those problems, the plaintiff would "still be working had he not injured his knee." The hearing officer continued,
[T]he accident literally took his legs out from under him. Once this was [sic] occurred, this man with a 3rd grade education and years of boilermaking expertise, began to spiral. His depression worsened, he developed the lumbar facet disease, his arthritis accelerated, and he generally deteriorated to the point where he cannot work at all.
The hearing officer concluded that due to losing the strength of his left and then his right knee, the plaintiff was unable to work, and that the condition of his knees, together with his "horrible general medical condition," constituted permanent total disability.
A pre-existing disease or infirmity of the employee does not disqualify a claim if a work-related injury aggravates, accelerates, or combines with the pre-existing disease or infirmity to produce disability. Toth v. Ensco Environmental Services, Inc., 546 So.2d 188 (La.App. 1st Cir.), writ granted in part on other grounds, reversed in part on other grounds, 551 So.2d 623 (La.), writ denied, 551 So.2d 632 (La. 1989). A hearing officer's factual findings regarding whether a worker's compensation claimant has met the burden of proving disability are entitled to great weight and will not be overturned, absent manifest error. Alford v. Environmental Monitoring, 93-0985 (La.App. 1st Cir. 10/7/94), 646 So.2d 961. The factfinder's determinations as to whether an employee's testimony is credible and whether an employee has discharged his burden of proof are factual findings. Bruno v. Harbert International Inc., 593 So.2d 357 (La. 1992). When findings are based on a credibility determination, a hearing officer's decision to credit the testimony of one of two or more witnesses can virtually never be manifestly erroneous or clearly wrong. Rosell v. ESCO, 549 So.2d 840 (La. 1989). We have thoroughly reviewed the record, including the lay testimony, medical testimony, reports and exhibits, and we conclude that the hearing officer's finding that the plaintiff was permanently totally disabled at the time of the hearing is not manifestly erroneous.
The defendants contend that the permanent total disability benefits awarded the plaintiff exceed the maximum rate of compensation permissible under the Louisiana Worker's Compensation Law. Under LSA-R.S. 23:1202(A)(2), the maximum weekly compensation to be paid is 75 percent of the average weekly wage paid in all employment subject to the Louisiana Employment Security Law. The statute further provides,
B. [T]he average weekly wage in all employment subject to the Louisiana Employment Security Law shall be determined by the administrator of the office of employment security on or before August 1 of each year as of the quarter ending on the immediately preceding March 31 of each year. The average weekly wage so determined shall be applicable for the full period during which compensation is payable when the date of occurrence of injury falls within the twelve-month period commencing September 1 following the determination.
According to the Louisiana Register (Vol. 16, No. 8, August 20, 1990), of which we are authorized to take judicial notice under LSA-R.S. 49:966(C), the state's average weekly wage paid in all employment subject to the Employment Security Law effective September 1, 1990 was $376.02, making the maximum weekly compensation $282.00. At the hearing, the parties stipulated that the plaintiff's average weekly wage at the time of the injury was $516.86. Permanent total disability benefits are sixty-six and two-thirds percent of the plaintiff's average weekly wage, which in this case would be $344.23. Therefore, because sixty-six and two thirds percent of the plaintiff's average weekly wage is greater than the maximum compensation, the maximum compensation the plaintiff can receive for total permanent disability is $282.00 per week. We note that the plaintiff's contention that the parties did not stipulate to the maximum rate payable for permanent total benefits is meritless because the maximum rate for temporary total disability (which the parties stipulated was at the maximum rate of $282.00 per week) and permanent total disability would be the same. Additionally, while the hearing officer made a monthly award, there is no statutory provision for a monthly award of permanent total disability benefits. Cf. LSA-R.S. 23:1221(3)(a). We therefore will amend the judgment to award the plaintiff $282.00 weekly for permanent total disability benefits.
The defendants contend that the plaintiff was not entitled to SEB as awarded by the hearing officer because the hearing officer did not base her computation on the two jobs the defendants claimed were available to the plaintiff. The plaintiff is entitled to SEB if the injury has resulted in the employee's inability to earn wages equal to ninety percent or more of wages at the time of injury. LSA-R.S. 23:1221(3)(a). The injured employee bears the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the injury resulted in his inability to earn that amount under the facts and circumstances of the individual case. Freeman v. Poulan/Weed Eater, 93-1530 (La. 1/14/94), 630 So.2d 733. Once the employee's burden is met, the burden of proof then shifts to the employer, who, if it wishes to contend that the employee is earning less than he is able to earn so as to defeat or reduce SEB, bears the burden of proving that the employee is physically able to perform a certain job and that the job was offered to the employee or that the job was available to the employee in his or the employer's community or reasonable geographic region. LSA-R.S. 23:1221(3)(c)(i).
The hearing officer determined that the two jobs the defendant found for the plaintiff were "obviously unavailable"; yet, she noted that the plaintiff did seek one of the jobs which had already been filled when he applied. As to the second job as a donut cutter, the plaintiff's treating orthopedic surgeon had conditionally approved the job with the restriction of "no prolonged standing"; the plaintiff testified that he learned that the job required heavy lifting and constant standing when he looked into it. We have reviewed the testimony and evidence and the hearing officer's conclusion that the jobs offered were not available to the plaintiff is not manifestly wrong.
The defendants also contend that the hearing officer erred in awarding SEB for the period from August 27, 1991, through April 14, 1994, because the plaintiff applied for retirement benefits in August, 1993, and began receiving them shortly afterwards. Under LSA-R.S. 23:1221(3)(d)(iii), the right to SEB terminates "[w]hen the employee retires or begins to receive old age insurance benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act, whichever comes first; however, the period during which supplemental earnings benefits may be payable shall not be less than one hundred four weeks."
The plaintiff called an adjustor for the defendant insurer and asked her about the effect of his acceptance of retirement benefits on his worker's compensation benefits. After discussing the matter with her supervisor, the adjustor informed the plaintiff that his acceptance of retirement benefits "would not in any way alter your workers [sic] compensation benefits." At the plaintiff's request, she sent him a letter on October 11, 1991, which also said this. The plaintiff was not represented by counsel when he made the inquiry; based on the adjustor's representations, he applied for retirement benefits. He testified that if he had not been given this advice, he would not have applied for the retirement pension because he "couldn't afford to, because I was getting more money there [worker's compensation benefits] than I get from my pension."
The hearing officer found that the defendant insurer misled the claimant and that because the insurer's representative wrote the letter and gave this advice to the plaintiff, it was liable for penalties and attorney's fees for its termination of the plaintiffs SEB. Moreover, by awarding SEB from August 27, 1991, until April 14, 1994, the hearing officer did not apply LSA-R.S. 23:1221(3)(d)(iii) to terminate the SEB based on the plaintiff's receipt of retirement benefits. We agree with the hearing officer's decision not to apply the termination provision under the particular circumstances of this case. The plaintiff justifiably relied on the representation of the defendant's adjustor and accepted retirement benefits to his detriment; therefore, the defendants are estopped from using the plaintiff's receipt of retirement benefits as a basis to terminate his SEB. See Wilkinson v. Wilkinson, 323 So.2d 120 (La. 1975). An analogous jurisprudential rule is that an employer who lulls an injured employee into a false sense of security may not later interpose a plea of prescription to the worker's untimely suit for compensation benefits. Wesley v. Claiborne Electric Co-op., Inc., 446 So.2d 857 (La.App. 2d Cir.), writ denied, 450 So.2d 955 (La. 1984). The defendants' contention that they terminated the SEB due to the plaintiff's retirement, not due to his acceptance of retirement benefits, is purely semantics. The defendants' assignment of error regarding the amount of SEB awarded has no merit.
The defendants contend that the hearing officer erred in finding them responsible for penalties and attorney's fees under LSA-R.S. 23:1201.2 for their arbitrary and capricious refusal to pay compensation benefits. Whether the refusal to pay worker's compensation benefits warrants the imposition of penalties and attorney's fees is a factual question which will not be disturbed in the absence of manifest error. Alford, 646 So.2d at 964. We find no error in the hearing officer's imposition of penalties and attorney's fees based upon the defendants' termination of SEB because the plaintiff was receiving retirement benefits.
The defendants contend that the hearing officer erroneously awarded legal interest from the date of judicial demand until paid. LSA-R.S. 23:1201.3(A) states, in pertinent part, "Any compensation awarded and all payments thereof directed to be made by order of the hearing officer shall bear judicial interest from the date ordered paid by the hearing officer until the date of satisfaction." According to two other circuits, this statute replaces the jurisprudential rule that pre-judgment interest on worker's compensation benefits is awarded from the dates the payments are due until they are paid. Verret v. Cajun Travel, Inc., 94-1432 (La.App. 3d Cir. 4/6/95), 653 So.2d 777; Crooks v. Town of Ball, 94-466 (La.App. 3d Cir. 11/2/94), 649 So.2d 597; Brazley v. Burger King/CIGNA, 613 So.2d 739 (La.App. 4th Cir.), writ denied, 615 So.2d 339 (1993). We agree that LSA-R.S. 23:1201.3(A) is applicable, and, therefore, the hearing officer erred in awarding judicial interest from the date of judicial demand. We amend the judgment to award interest in accordance with LSA-R.S. 23:1201.3(A). Concerning "compensation awarded, " such as SEB and permanent total disability benefits due as of the date of the hearing officer's judgment, interest runs from the date of the hearing officer's judgment, June 6, 1994, until the date of satisfaction. Regarding the payments of compensation "directed to be made by order of the hearing officer," which in this case consist of the total permanent disability benefits to be paid weekly after the hearing officer's judgment, interest on these benefits runs from the respective dates the benefits are due ("the date ordered paid by the hearing officer") until the benefits are paid.
The defendants also complain that the hearing officer's award of expert witness fees for Dr. Speeg and Mr. Charrier is excessive. The defendants assert that the plaintiff should have presented their testimony by deposition. Under LSA-R.S. 23:1317 (B), "Costs may be awarded by the hearing officer, in his discretion, and when so awarded, the same may be allowed, taxed, and collected as in other civil proceedings. The fees of expert witnesses shall be reasonable. . . ." We do not find that the hearing officer abused her discretion in her award of costs in this case as the plaintiff is not required to present the testimony of witnesses by deposition.
The plaintiff has asked for an increase of attorney's fees on appeal. An increase in attorney's fees is usually warranted on appeal where the defendant appeals and obtains no relief when the appeal has necessitated additional work on the part of the plaintiff's counsel. Pitcher v. Hydro-Kem Services, Inc., 551 So.2d 736 (La.App. 1st Cir.), writ denied, 553 So.2d 466 (La. 1989). While we have amended the judgment in this case based upon two of the defendant's six assignments of error, the attorney's fees were based on the defendants' arbitrary and capricious termination of SEB; the defendants did not prevail on that assignment of error, nor the remaining assignments of error. The amendments to the judgment were minor. Thus, we find an increase in attorney's fees is warranted in the amount of $1,500.00.
For the foregoing reasons, the judgment is amended to award the plaintiff supplemental earnings benefits (SEB) from August 27, 1991, until April 14, 1994, in the amount of $1,212.60 per month with legal interest from June 6, 1994, the date ordered paid by the hearing officer, until paid and to award the plaintiff permanent total disability benefits from the date of trial, April 14, 1994, in the amount of $282.00 per week. Legal interest is awarded on all permanent total disability benefits which had accrued as of June 6, 1994; the interest on these benefits runs from June 6, 1994 until the date of satisfaction. Legal interest is awarded on permanent total disability benefits due after the hearing officer's judgment from the date each respective payment is due until the date of satisfaction. In all other respects, the judgment is affirmed. The plaintiff is awarded additional attorney's fees from the defendants of $1,500.00 for this appeal, with legal interest thereon from the date of this judgment until paid. Costs of this appeal are to be paid by the defendants.
AMENDED, AND AS AMENDED, AFFIRMED.
SHORTESS, J., concurs with reasons.
CARTER, J., concurs in part and dissents in part with reasons.
WHIPPLE, J., concurs in part, and dissents in part, for reasons assigned.
PARRO, J., dissents in part for the reasons assigned by REDMANN, J. Pro Tem.
FITZSIMMONS, J., concurs and assigns reasons.
KUHN, J., concurs and assigns reasons.
REDMANN, J., Pro Tem., dissents in part and assigns reasons.