Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The plaintiff (Philip N. Rosenberg) and defendant (Cindy M. Merida) were divorced by judgment nisi entered August 17, 1990; they had two children (born 1977 and 1984). An agreement incorporated into the divorce judgment (but with child-related provisions merged into the judgment) awarded physical custody to the defendant, shared legal custody to the parties, and set a child support obligation for the plaintiff. In December 1992 the plaintiff began receiving Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) and his children began receiving SSDI dependency benefits payable to the defendant as representative payee. The plaintiff filed a complaint for modification of child support on November 8, 1994; the defendant filed for modification (seeking increased support and sole legal custody of the son) on November 7, 1995. The trust previously providing the plaintiff income was dissolved in December 1995 and principal of about $179,000 was distributed to the plaintiff; the defendant obtained an attachment of those funds (later reduced). A Probate and Family Court judge issued a modification judgment on August 21, 1996 increasing child support to $130 per week, relieving the plaintiff of uninsured medical/dental expense obligation, attaching $60,000 of the plaintiff's assets, and awarding sole legal custody of the son to the defendant. The plaintiff appealed; the Supreme Judicial Court transferred the case from the Appeals Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether a noncustodial parent who receives SSDI dependency benefits for minor children should receive a credit against his child support obligation for those benefits, and if so, how that credit should be calculated and applied under the Massachusetts child support guidelines.
  2. Whether the Probate and Family Court judge exceeded authority under G.L. c. 208, § 36 in attaching $60,000 of the plaintiff's assets to secure child support and potential college expenses.
  3. Whether the judge's award of sole legal custody to the defendant was supported by adequate findings required under G.L. c. 208, § 28 and applicable custody standards.

Arguments of the Parties

Plaintiff's Arguments

  • The plaintiff argued that SSDI dependency benefits should be treated as part of the noncustodial parent's gross income for guideline computation and then the noncustodial parent should receive a dollar-for-dollar credit equal to the SSDI dependency benefits against the guideline-determined support obligation.
  • The plaintiff argued that the Probate and Family Court judge exceeded authority under G.L. c. 208, § 36 by attaching assets primarily to secure potential future college expenses (a future contingency) and thus lacked authority to attach those assets.

Defendant's Arguments

  • The defendant contended at oral argument that the guidelines require inclusion of SSDI dependency benefits in the income of the custodial parent (because the benefits come into the custodial parent's household).
  • The defendant sought an increase in support and sole legal custody of the son; she also sought to attach the plaintiff's recently distributed trust assets to secure obligations, and noted that the plaintiff had been relieved of uninsured medical/dental obligations in the judgment.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Canning v. Juskalian Cited regarding the promulgation of the Massachusetts child support guidelines. Used to indicate provenance of the guidelines.
Department of Revenue v. Roe Cited in connection with the guidelines' promulgation. Referenced as authority underlying the guidelines' validity.
Pontbriand v. Pontbriand Describes the overwhelming majority of states allowing a credit for Social Security benefits paid to dependent children. Supported the Court's adoption of the majority position allowing a credit.
Graby v. Graby Identifies New York as a jurisdiction that refuses a per se credit. Contrasted New York's approach with the majority rule the Court adopted.
Wilson v. Stenwall Example of cases disallowing a credit for factual reasons. Noted as illustrative that disallowance is often fact-specific, not per se.
Miller v. Miller Rationale that Social Security benefits derive from the parent's earnings and are not akin to welfare; treated as persuasive authority for allowing a credit and for calculation approach. Quoted for the rationale supporting a credit and cited as precedent for the Court's adopted approach to calculation/application.
Davis v. Davis Supporting principle that custodial parent need not be concerned with source of payments so long as payments are made. Used to support that allowing a credit is not detrimental to the child's interests.
Children Youth Servs. v. Chorgo Similar support regarding source of payments being of no concern if payments are made. Referenced to reinforce that credit does not harm custodial parent's receipt of support.
Cohen v. Murphy Massachusetts case allowing a credit where ambiguity in original order favored the alleged contemnor. Viewed as illustrative and consistent with allowing credit, though not dispositive here.
Cash v. Cash Quoted in Cohen regarding benefits being earned in part by the noncustodial parent. Used to support the characterization of benefits as earnings-derived.
Nazworth v. Nazworth Provides precedent for the Court's calculation approach (include benefits in obligor's income, apply guidelines, then credit). Cited as supporting the prescribed calculation method.
Weaks v. Weaks Discusses requirement to seek modification to apply credit and the view that requiring modification may be "harsh and unjust." Noted as representing the minority view; referenced in analysis of requiring modification under G.L. c. 208, § 28.
Buckley v. Buckley Appeals Court held that a judge may have made an implicit finding that guidelines produced an unjust result where other findings implied that conclusion. Distinguished because here no findings exist from which an implicit conclusion could be drawn.
Pare v. Pare Probate and Family Court judge has broad discretion to fashion judgments to protect minor children's interests. Applied to uphold the judge's authority to attach assets to secure child support and potential college expenses.
Kendall v. Kendall Custody determinations rest within the judge's discretion. Employed in discussing standard of review for custody modification.
Vilakazi v. Maxie Supports deference to judge's custody decisions. Referenced in custody standard discussion.
Prindle v. Fisk Findings in custody cases must stand unless plainly wrong. Quoted to describe standard for sustaining custody findings.
Guardianship of a Minor Supports deference to trial judge's findings in custody matters. Referenced in standard for review of custody findings.
King v. King Authority on judicial deference in custody decisions. Cited for the proposition that custody determinations will be sustained absent clear error.
Bouchard v. Bouchard Requires that all relevant factors be weighed in determining best interests of the child. Applied to conclude the judge failed to make sufficiently detailed findings to sustain award of sole legal custody.
Haas v. Puchalski Referenced in connection with Bouchard regarding factors to be considered in custody decisions. Used to support the requirement that relevant factors be weighed.
Rolde v. Rolde Suggests that inability to communicate may justify modifying shared legal custody. Noted that the judge's single finding about inability to communicate might minimally support a material and substantial change, but was insufficient alone for custody award.
Ardizoni v. Raymond Requires specific or detailed findings in custody modifications showing best interests analysis. Applied to vacate the award of sole legal custody for lack of adequate findings.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court addressed three principal issues.

First, on SSDI dependency benefits and child support: the Court found no controlling Massachusetts precedent and surveyed other jurisdictions, concluding that the majority allow a credit to the noncustodial parent. The Court reasoned that Guideline I-A defines income broadly and explicitly lists social security and disability benefits among items to be included, indicating the guidelines contemplate including SSDI dependency benefits in a parent's income. The Court adopted the approach of treating the SSDI dependency benefits as if first paid to the noncustodial parent: include the benefits in the noncustodial parent's gross income, apply the guidelines to compute the guideline support amount (subject to judge's adjustment on written findings under G.L. c. 208, § 28), then allow the noncustodial parent a dollar-for-dollar credit equal to the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits. The Court stated the practical exception that if the guideline-computed (or adjusted) support amount is less than the SSDI dependency benefits, the total support obligation equals the SSDI dependency benefits. The Court further concluded that a noncustodial parent may apply the credit only after seeking and obtaining a modification judgment under G.L. c. 208, § 28.

Second, on attachment of assets: the Court held that G.L. c. 208, § 36 permits requiring sufficient security for payment "according to the judgment." The Court found the attachment here was to secure the plaintiff's child support obligation and potential contribution to the son's college expenses. Because article VIII of the parties' incorporated agreement imposes financial responsibility for college expenses and remains part of the judgment, the Court concluded the judge did not exceed authority in attaching $60,000 of the plaintiff's assets and affirmed that portion of the judgment.

Third, on custody: the Court noted the modification judgment contained only the finding that "the parties are unable to communicate with one another." Although that single finding might minimally bear on material change, the Court emphasized the judge failed to make specific, detailed findings demonstrating that awarding sole legal custody was necessary in the child's best interests. Citing precedent requiring all relevant factors be weighed and specific findings, the Court vacated the award of sole legal custody and remanded for further proceedings.

Because the judge made no findings sufficient to determine whether he followed the Court's prescribed calculation for SSDI dependency benefits, the Court vacated the judgment insofar as it related to the amount of the plaintiff's support obligation and remanded for further proceedings consistent with the opinion.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The Supreme Judicial Court held that SSDI dependency benefits paid to minor children because of a noncustodial parent's disability are attributable as income to the noncustodial parent for purposes of the Massachusetts child support guidelines and that the noncustodial parent is entitled to a dollar-for-dollar credit equal to the amount of those SSDI dependency benefits; however, the noncustodial parent must seek and obtain a modification under G.L. c. 208, § 28 to apply that credit. The Court vacated the judgment insofar as it fixed the support amount and insofar as it awarded sole legal custody to the defendant; it affirmed the attachment of $60,000 of the plaintiff's assets.

Implications: The decision adopts in Massachusetts the majority rule allowing a credit for SSDI dependency benefits and prescribes a method for calculation and application (include benefits in obligor's income, apply guidelines, then credit). The case was remanded for further findings and recalculation consistent with this rule; the Court affirmed the judge's authority to attach assets to secure existing judgment obligations. No contempt remedy or retroactive credit beyond the modification process was awarded by this opinion.

PHILIP N. ROSENBERG vs. CINDY M. MERIDA.

Divorce and Separation, Child support, Child custody, Findings. Parent and Child, Child support, Custody.

This court concluded that, where a noncustodial parent receives Social Security disability income (SSDI) dependency benefits, that amount is attributable as income to that parent for computation of child support under the Massachusetts child support guidelines, and that parent is then entitled to a dollar-for-dollar credit equal to the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits against the support obligation; however a parent, in order to apply the credit, must file a complaint for modification of the child support obligation or otherwise seek approval of a judge pursuant to the provisions of G.L.c. 208, § 28. [184-189]

In a proceeding in the Probate and Family Court for modification of a child support order, where the judge made no findings relating to the amount of the support obligation [189] or relating to his award of sole legal custody of the minor child to the mother [190-191], the matter was remanded for further proceedings.

A judge of the Probate and Family Court did not exceed his authority under G.L.c. 208, § 36, in attaching the assets of the father in the amount of $60,000, to secure his child support obligation and for potential contribution to the minor child's college education expenses. [189-190]

IRELAND, J.

This appeal from a modification judgment (judgment) of the Probate and Family Court is a case of first impression in the Commonwealth and raises the issue whether a noncustodial spouse who is receiving disability income benefits from the Social Security Administration should receive a credit against his child support obligation for the benefits paid by the Social Security Administration to his minor children as a result of his disability. We conclude that the noncustodial spouse should receive such a credit. However, because there are insufficient findings relating to the amount of the noncustodial spouse's support obligation, we vacate the judgment and remand the case for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. This appeal also raises two other issues, which we discuss in due course.

The judge would have been warranted in finding the following facts. The plaintiff and the defendant were married on August 31, 1975. A daughter was born of the marriage in 1977, and a son was born of the marriage in 1984. The parties separated in 1986, and a judgment of divorce nisi was entered in the Probate and Family Court on August 17, 1990. The plaintiff and the defendant have each remarried. At the time the judgment issued, the plaintiff was living in Texas, the daughter was a full-time student at Hamilton College in Clinton, New York, and the son was enrolled at a public school in the town in which the defendant lived.

The only finding that the judge made was that "the parties are unable to communicate with one another."

The parties also entered into an agreement of separation, support, and division of property (agreement) on the same date as the judgment of divorce. The agreement was incorporated into, but not merged with, the judgment of divorce, except for all matters pertaining to the care, custody, visitation, support, and education of the children, which were merged into the judgment of divorce under express provisions of the agreement. Under the agreement, the parties retained shared legal custody of their minor children. Physical custody was awarded to the defendant. The plaintiff was granted visitation rights on a supervised basis. The plaintiff was required to pay child support in the amount of $73.22 per week, to provide health insurance for the children, and to pay one half of their uninsured medical and dental expenses. The defendant began providing health insurance for the children in 1991, and, pursuant to the terms of the agreement, the plaintiff's support obligation correspondingly increased to $113.55 per week. That amount was still in effect at the time the judgment issued.

When the parties were divorced in 1990, the plaintiff was unemployed, and his income consisted solely of interest and dividends from a family trust (trust). In December, 1992, the Social Security Administration determined that the plaintiff was disabled, and he began to receive Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) benefits. At the same time, the defendant, as representative payee for the minor children, also began to receive SSDI benefits (SSDI dependency benefits) because of the plaintiff's disability. At the time the judgment issued, the plaintiff was receiving SSDI benefits of $266 per week, and the defendant was receiving SSDI dependency benefits of $138.83 per week.

On November 8, 1994, the plaintiff filed a complaint for modification, seeking a reduction in his child support obligation. On November, 7, 1995, the defendant filed a complaint for modification, seeking an increase in child support and sole legal custody of the parties' minor son. On December 27, 1995, the trust was dissolved in an unrelated legal action, and the entire principal amount of about $179,000 was distributed to the plaintiff. On January 3, 1996, the defendant filed an ex parte motion to attach the assets that had been distributed from the trust. The motion was allowed, and on January 10, 1996, the parties stipulated to a reduction in the amount of the attachment to $75,000. All matters were consolidated for trial, and a modification hearing was held on July 17, 1996.

The judgment, which issued on August 21, 1996, increased the plaintiff's child support obligation to $130 per week, but relieved him of any responsibility for the children's uninsured medical and dental expenses. The judgment also reduced the amount of the plaintiff's assets that were subject to attachment to $60,000 and awarded sole legal custody of the parties' son to the defendant. The plaintiff's motions for a stay of judgment and for relief from the judgment were denied. His appeal followed, and we transferred the case on our own motion.

The defendant contends in her brief that the plaintiff's share of the uninsured medical and dental expenses averages about $17.30 per week, which is essentially equal to the amount of the increase in the plaintiff's child support obligation. As such, the defendant contends that the judgment does not substantially change the plaintiff's total obligation, but simply shifts the manner of payment to eliminate any need for the parties to communicate with respect to sharing the uninsured expenses.

1. Determination of child support amount. General Laws c. 208, § 28, provides that orders for support of minor children shall be modified if there is an inconsistency between the amount of the existing order and the amount that would result from application of the Massachusetts child support guidelines (guidelines). Under Guideline III, the judge has discretion to increase or decrease the support amount by as much two percent as determined from applying the guidelines. There is otherwise "a rebuttable presumption that the amount . . . which would result from the application of the guidelines is the appropriate amount of child support to be ordered." G.L.c. 208, § 28. The judge may determine that one party has overcome the presumption, but only upon making specific written findings "that the guidelines amount would be unjust or inappropriate under the circumstances" and that departure from the guidelines "is consistent with the best interests of the child." Id.

The Massachusetts child support guidelines (guidelines) were promulgated by the Chief Administrative Justice of the Trial Court pursuant to G.L.c. 211B, § 15. See Canning v. Juskalian, 33 Mass. App. Ct. 202, 204 n. 2 (1992), citing Department of Revenue v. Roe, 29 Mass. App. Ct. 967, 968 (1990). The current version of the guidelines became effective January 1, 1998.

The issue before us with respect to the determination of the amount of the child support obligation is whether the judge properly accounted for the SSDI dependency benefits. In particular, we need to decide whether the plaintiff should receive a credit against his support obligation for the SSDI dependency benefits, and, if so, how the credit should be calculated and applied. The plaintiff argues that the proper approach for dealing with SSDI dependency benefits is to treat them first as if they were part of the gross income of the noncustodial parent for purposes of applying the guidelines and then to give that parent a dollar-for-dollar credit (equal to the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits) against the support obligation as determined by the guidelines. We agree. However, because the judge made no findings concerning the amount of the support obligation, we cannot determine if he followed this approach. Accordingly, we vacate the judgment insofar as it relates to the amount of the support obligation and remand for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

Both parties agree that there is no reported case law in the Commonwealth that is directly on point. However, "[t]he overwhelming majority of states that have considered this issue allow a credit for Social Security benefits paid to dependent children." Pontbriand v. Pontbriand, 622 A.2d 482, 484 (R.I. 1993). More than thirty States have allowed a credit to the noncustodial parent for SSDI dependency benefits or for Social Security retirement benefits paid to the minor children of the noncustodial parent. See Annot., 34 A.L.R.5th 447, 469-487, 498-503 (1996). By contrast, New York appears to be the only State that refuses to allow such a credit as a per se rule. SeeGraby v. Graby, 87 N.Y.2d 605, 613 (1996). In other cases where a credit has been disallowed, courts have generally done so not as a matter of law, but for other reasons based on the facts and circumstances of the particular case. See Wilson v. Stenwall, 868 P.2d 1317, 1319 (Okla.Ct.App. 1992), and cases cited.

We now adopt the majority position of allowing a credit to the noncustodial parent for SSDI dependency benefits. One rationale for this position, which we find persuasive, is that:

"unlike welfare and other forms of public assistance, social security benefits represent contributions that a worker has made throughout the course of employment; . . . Although the benefits are payable directly to the child rather than through the contributing parent, the child's entitlement to payments derives from the parent, and the payments themselves represent earnings from the parent's past contributions."
Miller v. Miller, 890 P.2d 574, 576-577 (Alaska 1995). At the same time, allowing a credit to the noncustodial parent is not detrimental to the interests of the dependent child or children. Under the guidelines, the custodial spouse is to receive a certain amount of support, consistent with the various general principles stated in the preamble to the guidelines. The judge may then adjust this amount upon making specific written findings that it is "unjust or inappropriate." G.L.c. 208, § 28. Once the proper support amount is determined, the actual source of the payments should be of no concern to the custodial parent, so long as the payments are actually made. See Miller, supra at 577, quoting Davis v. Davis, 141 Vt. 398, 401 (1982); Children Youth Servs. v. Chorgo, 341 Pa. Super. 512, 518 (1985).

At issue in Miller v. Miller, 890 P.2d 574, 576 (Alaska 1995), were Social Security retirement benefits, rather than Social Security disability income (SSDI) benefits, as in the instant case. However, the court there concluded, that, in this regard, there was "no reason to treat retirement benefits any differently than disability benefits." Id. at 577. We agree.

Allowing a credit is also consistent with our case law. In the factually similar case of Cohen v. Murphy, 368 Mass. 144, 146 (1975), the noncustodial parent had become disabled subsequent to the original support order, and the SSDI dependency benefits paid to his children exceeded his support obligation under that order. He unilaterally stopped his ongoing support payments, and the Probate Court issued a contempt decree against him. Id. at 145-146. We reversed and held that he was allowed a credit for the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits. Id. at 145. However,Cohen is not dispositive here. Our decision in Cohen was based largely on the fact that it was not clear from the original support order whether the noncustodial parent was entitled to the credit. Id. at 147. We then concluded that, because the noncustodial parent was an alleged contemnor, any ambiguities should be resolved in his favor. Id. There is no issue of contempt in the instant case. We note also that Cohen predates the guidelines. Nonetheless, the rationale of Cohen is illustrative of, and consistent with, our conclusion in the instant case, in that we noted in Cohen that the SSDI dependency benefits "were earned in part by the [noncustodial spouse] himself and not altogether a gift from the Federal Government." Id. at 148, quoting Cash v. Cash, 234 Ark. 603, 607 (1962).

The more difficult question is how to calculate and apply the credit. There is little consistency among the States that allow a credit, see Annot., 34 A.L.R.5th 447, 469-487, 498-503 (1996), nor do the guidelines provide a definitive answer. However, Guideline I-A defines income broadly as "gross income from whatever source" and explicitly lists social security benefits and disability benefits in the items that are to be included in income. It thus seems clear that the guidelines contemplate that the SSDI dependency benefits should be included in the income of one parent or the other.

The defendant contended at oral argument that the guidelines require us to include the SSDI dependency benefits in the income of the defendant here (or, presumably as a more general rule, in the income of the custodial parent), because the dependency benefits were income that came into the defendant's household. We see nothing in the guidelines that supports the defendant's contention.

The fairest approach for calculating the credit here is to treat the SSDI dependency benefits as if they were first paid directly to the noncustodial parent, who then pays that same amount to the custodial parent to satisfy some part of the support obligation. Specifically, the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits should be included in the income of the noncustodial parent and the guidelines should then be applied to that amount. As in any other determination of a proper support obligation, the judge may adjust the amount as calculated by this approach on making findings that such amount is unjust or inappropriate. See G.L.c. 208, § 28. The noncustodial parent is then allowed a credit equal to the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits. The net amount of the noncustodial parent's support obligation thus is simply the difference between the support amount calculated above (or as adjusted by the judge) minus the amount of the credit.

There would be an exception if the amount of the support obligation as calculated by this approach (or as adjusted by the judge) is less than the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits. In such case, the total support obligation is simply equal to the amount of the SSDI dependency benefits, and the noncustodial parent would not owe any additional amount.

This approach has precedent in at least two other jurisdictions. See Miller, supra at 578; Nazworth v. Nazworth, 931 P.2d 86, 89 (Okla.Ct.App. 1996), citing Wilson v. Stenwall, 868 P.2d 1317, 1319 (Okla.Ct.App. 1992). Under most circumstances, this approach should most nearly maintain the same percentage breakdown of income between the noncustodial parent and the custodial parent that existed prior to the disability of the noncustodial parent.

The final consideration here is how to apply the credit. The noncustodial parent may apply the credit against a child support obligation only after seeking modification and receiving an appropriate modification judgment. This is a minority position among those States that allow a credit for the SSDI dependency benefits to the noncustodial parent. See Weaks v. Weaks, 821 S.W.2d 503, 506 (Mo. 1991) (en banc). However, we believe that G.L.c. 208, § 28, does not permit any other method for the noncustodial parent to alter the amount of the support payments.

Any concerns over requiring a modification may be overblown. As the court stated in Weaks, supra, "[i]n situations involving disability benefits, the party seeking credit most likely faces a reduction of income, financial uncertainty, physical or mental impairment and other attendant consequences of disability." Contrary to the conclusion that the court then drew in Weaks,supra, that requiring the noncustodial parent to seek a modification would be "harsh and unjust," we believe instead that these are precisely the situations in which it would be likely that the noncustodial parent would be seeking a modification in any event, because that parent will have undergone a substantial change in his or her circumstances.

In a tentative draft, dated April 8, 1998, the American Law Institute proposed treating SSDI dependency benefits as "independent sources of income" of the child. Principles of the Law of Family Dissolution: Analysis and Recommendations, § 3.10 comment d (Tent. Draft No. 3, 1998). Under the tentative draft, such income would "not ordinarily diminish a parent's child support obligation." Id. However, the tentative draft would allow a credit if "the child support obligor . . . would otherwise suffer hardship," unless allowing the credit would impose even greater hardship on the child. Id. The amount of the credit, if any, would be subject to the judge's discretion.Id.
In the illustration accompanying the tentative draft, the obligor parent is receiving worker's compensation benefits, as well as SSDI benefits. The illustration thus appears to anticipate situations in which the obligor parent had employment income prior to becoming disabled. That is not the situation here.
We note also that the approach we have prescribed here for calculating and applying the credit for SSDI dependency benefits would change if the guidelines were changed.

Because there are no findings concerning the support amount, we cannot determine if the judge followed the approach that we have prescribed here. We therefore vacate the judgment insofar as it relates to the support amount and remand for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

In Buckley v. Buckley, 42 Mass. App. Ct. 716, 723 (1997), the Appeals Court held that the judge in the Probate and Family Court had made an implicit finding that application of the guidelines had yielded an unjust or inappropriate result, even without an explicit statement to that effect. However, in that case, the Appeals Court concluded that the judge's thought process was implicit in his other findings. Here, there are no findings concerning the amount of the support obligation from which we could begin to identify such an implicit finding.

2. Attachment of plaintiff's assets. The judgment attached $60,000 of funds the plaintiff is currently holding in a bank account. General Laws c. 208, § 36, provides that, "[w]hen alimony or support is adjudged for the spouse or children, the Court may require sufficient security for its payment according to the judgment" (emphasis added). The plaintiff argues that the primary purpose of the attachment was to secure the college expenses of his son and that, because these expenses are a future contingency, they have not yet been subject to a judgment, as required by G.L.c. 208, § 36. The plaintiff concludes that the judge correspondingly exceeded his authority under G.L.c. 208, § 36. We disagree.

The daughter's college expenses are being paid by a separate trust fund (of which the son is not a beneficiary) and thus are not at issue in this appeal.

A Probate and Family Court judge has "broad discretion to fashion judgments in divorce proceedings that will best protect the interests and welfare of the parties' minor children." Pare v. Pare, 409 Mass. 292, 298-299 (1991). The exact form of the order (or the decision to enter an order at all) is also within the judge's broad discretion. Id. at 300. The judgment states explicitly that the plaintiff's assets are being attached "to secure [his] child support obligation and for potential contribution to [his minor child's] college education expenses." The judgment does not indicate how much of the attachment is intended to secure the child support obligations and how much is intended to secure the potential college expenses, but this is of no import. The plaintiff does not contest that any amounts set aside to secure his child support obligations would have been subject to a judgment (and thus would fall within the judge's authority under G.L.c. 208, § 36). At the same time, article VIII of the agreement requires each party to bear some financial responsibility for the college expenses. This article was incorporated in the judgment of divorce and nothing in the record indicates that it has been modified. The plaintiff's obligation for his son's college expenses has therefore been subject to a judgment, and his argument fails. Accordingly, the judge did not exceed his authority under G.L.c. 208, § 36, in attaching the plaintiff's assets. We affirm the judgment insofar as it attaches $60,000 of the plaintiff's assets.

At the modification hearing, the defendant alleged that the plaintiff was then in arrears on his child support obligations. The alleged arrearage appears to have amounted to less than $500 and was not addressed in the judgment.

A logical extension of the plaintiff's argument would be that the judge also exceeded his authority under G.L.c. 208, § 36, by attaching assets to secure the plaintiff's child support obligations, because, under the terms of the agreement, such payments can terminate upon the occurrence of a number of events (for example, the death of the child). Similar to the potential college expenses, each of the weekly child support payments would thus be a future contingency and would not explicitly have been subject to a judgment. Such an argument (which the plaintiff did not make) would clearly be contrary to the plain language and intent of G.L.c. 208, § 36, and to our cases.

The plaintiff does not argue here that the amount of the attachment was incorrect or inequitable, but rather that the judge did not have authority to attach any assets at all. We believe that the amount of the attachment was not beyond the judge's discretion, given the amount of the plaintiff's support obligation, the age of the minor child, and the potential amount of college expenses. We note, in addition, that the plaintiff is allowed to keep the income from the attached assets, and that he has indicated that he does not intend to use the other principal from the trust for his own support.

3. Legal custody of minor child. The judgment stripped the plaintiff of shared legal custody with the defendant of their minor child and awarded sole legal custody to the defendant. General Laws c. 208, § 28, provides that a Probate and Family Court judge may modify an earlier divorce judgment concerning the custody of a minor child upon finding "that a material and substantial change in the circumstances of the parties has occurred and the judgment of modification is necessary in the best interests of the child." The determination of which parent will promote a child's best interests rests within the discretion of the judge. See Kendall v. Kendall, 426 Mass. 238, 251 (1997), cert. denied, 118 S.Ct. 2369 (1998), citing Vilakazi v. Maxie, 371 Mass. 406, 409 (1976). A judge's findings in a custody case "must stand unless they are plainly wrong." Prindle v. Fisk, 2 Mass. App. Ct. 843 (1974), citing Guardianship of a Minor, 1 Mass. App. Ct. 392, 398 (1973). See King v. King, 373 Mass. 37, 40 (1977). However, we will not sustain an award of custody "unless all relevant factors in determining the best interests of the child have been weighed." Bouchard v. Bouchard, 12 Mass. App. Ct. 899 (1981), citing Haas v. Puchalski, 9 Mass. App. Ct. 555, 556 n. 5 (1980). See King, supra, and cases cited.

The only finding contained in the modification judgment is that "the parties are unable to communicate with one another." Although we express no opinion in this regard, that finding, if supported by the record, might be minimally sufficient to warrant a conclusion that a material and substantial change in the circumstances of the parties had occurred. See Rolde v. Rolde, 12 Mass. App. Ct. 398, 404 (1981) (concluding that shared legal custody requires both parents to agree on basic issues in child rearing and to want to cooperate in making decisions for their children). However, the judge "failed to make specific or detailed findings based on evidence within the record" that awarding sole legal custody of the minor child to the defendant was in the best interests of the child. Ardizoni v. Raymond, 40 Mass. App. Ct. 734, 741 (1996). We thus cannot determine what factors the judge considered in making the custody award, and we accordingly cannot sustain the award. Id. Bouchard, supra. We vacate the judgment insofar as it awards sole legal custody to the defendant, and remand for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

So ordered.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

ROSENBERG v. MERIDA
(Aug 12, 1998)