JONES, J.
The question before the Court is whether under the State and Federal Constitutions, plaintiffs are entitled to receive from the State the same level of benefits received by aged, blind or disabled United States citizens from the federal Social Security program. We hold that plaintiffs are not entitled to such benefits.
I.
In New York State, eligible needy aged, blind or disabled individuals receive public assistance through Supplemental Security Income (SSI) from the federal government, along with additional state payments (ASP) provided by the State. The SSI program was established in 1972, effective in 1974, by the United States Congress to provide aid to individuals who because of their physical condition were unable to support themselves ( 42 USC § 1381 et seq.). The federal government manages SSI/ASP payments and makes all administrative and eligibility determinations (Social Services Law § 211).
Prior to 1974, New York State provided public assistance under its own program entitled "Aid to the Aged, Blind and Disabled" (AABD) pursuant to former Social Services Law, article 5, title 6. As a result of the federal takeover of this category of public assistance, the State discontinued the AABD program and repealed the old law. But in order to ensure that the benefits provided would not be less than whatever current benefits were being received after the transfer from state to federal funding, Congress required the states to provide a mandatory minimum supplement so that total aid was at least equal to the pre-SSI levels. New York therefore adopted a new title 6 of article 5 of the Social Services Law, entitled Additional State Payments for Eligible Aged, Blind and Disabled Persons (Social Services Law §§ 207- 212), which provided additional state payments to the aged, blind and disabled who either received federal SSI payments ( see 42 USC § 1381 et seq.), or whose income or resources, though above the standard of need for the SSI program, was not sufficient under Social Services Law § 209 (2). At the time ASP was adopted, eligibility was limited to aged, blind or disabled persons who were residents of New York State and either United States citizens or aliens who had not been determined by an appropriate federal authority to be unlawfully residing in the United States.
In 1996, Congress enacted the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) (Pub L 104-193 tit IV, codified at 8 USC § 1601 et seq.), otherwise known as the "Welfare Reform Act," which restricted alien eligibility for federally funded public assistance benefits and authorized the states to follow suit with their own programs. Under PRWORA, legal aliens who do not become United States citizens in seven years lose their SSI and ASP benefits. Thereafter, in 1998, New York's Social Services Law § 209 (1) (a) (iv) was amended to limit eligibility for ASP to residents of the state who, if not citizens of the United States, are aliens eligible for federal benefits. The purpose of the amendment was to conform state law with federal law and to "make clear which aliens may be eligible for state supplementation of the federal supplemental security income program" (Senate Mem in Support of L 1998, ch 214, 1998 McKinney's Session Laws of NY, at 1667). Therefore, when Congress created a class of legal aliens who would become ineligible for SSI/ASP benefits, the State discontinued supplemental support for this class under Social Services Law § 209 and, instead, provided public assistance pursuant to Social Services Law § 131-a (2), also known as the state-funded "safety net assistance" (SNA) provision. Under the "safety net" program, eligible individuals would receive approximately $352 in the form of a shelter allowance, a basic grant, a home energy allowance, a supplemental home energy allowance and a fuel allowance if heat is not included in rent ( see Brownley v Doar, 12 NY3d 33, 39 n 2 [2009]).
II.
Plaintiffs are aged, blind or disabled persons and legal resident aliens of New York State who became ineligible for SSI payments and ASP because they did not become citizens in the time frame mandated by the United States Congress in the PRWORA or were never eligible for SSI/ASP by virtue of the act. Plaintiffs commenced this action against defendant Commissioner of the New York State Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA) in 2004 and moved for class certification and a preliminary injunction. In an amended complaint filed in March 2005, plaintiffs alleged that defendant failed to provide legal immigrants with assistance consistent with the standard of need in Social Services Law § 209 (2) for aged, blind or disabled persons based solely on their immigration status, without regard to their need, and in violation of article XVII of the New York State Constitution, because SSI/ASP benefits totaled $761 per month whereas SNA provided $352 in monthly support. The amended complaint also alleged a violation of the Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution and article I, § 11 of the New York State Constitution. Plaintiffs sought an order requiring OTDA to provide retroactive payments and ongoing assistance in an amount consistent with Social Services Law § 209 (2). Supreme Court granted plaintiffs' motions for certification, certifying a class defined as "All persons identified to, or identifiable by, defendant as elderly, blind, and disabled persons lawfully residing in New York State who have received, are receiving, or will receive assistance at less than the standard of need set out in [Social Services Law §] 209 (2), solely because of their immigration status," and summary judgment ( 9 Misc 3d 1109[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 51462[U], *8). The court held that OTDA's failure to provide assistance to plaintiffs and the class at the standard of need for the elderly, blind and disabled set out in Social Services Law § 209 (2) violates article XVII, § 1 of the State Constitution and the right of plaintiffs and the class to the equal protection of the laws under the Federal and State Constitutions. The court therefore permanently enjoined OTDA from failing to provide assistance to plaintiffs and the class consistent with the standard of need set out in Social Services Law § 209.
The Appellate Division affirmed the order of Supreme Court holding that plaintiffs were entitled to receive public assistance under SNA at the level of citizens under SSI/ASP, as set forth in Social Services Law § 209 (2) ( 49 AD3d 201). Plaintiffs were thereby entitled to state safety net assistance pursuant to Social Services Law § 131-a (2) plus an additional payment by the State sufficient to bring their benefits up to the SSI/ASP level. The Appellate Division granted defendant leave to appeal and certified the following question to this Court: "Was the order of Supreme Court, as affirmed by this [c]ourt, properly made?" We answer this question in the negative.
III.
OTDA argues that article XVII of the New York State Constitution does not require the State to provide SNA public assistance at the Social Services Law § 209 (2) SSI/ASP standard of need. According to OTDA, State Constitution, article XVII, § 1 requires the State to provide for the needy in a "manner and by such means, as the legislature may from time to time determine" but does not mandate a particular level of aid to any individual or class; and Social Services Law § 209 (2) sets a standard of need for recipients of SSI but is not a general standard of need or independent financial commitment by the Legislature to a class of all aged, blind or disabled individuals who are ineligible for federal Social Security benefits.
OTDA further argues that equal protection does not compel the State to create a public assistance program to provide benefits discontinued by operation of federal law. OTDA contends that plaintiffs are not being treated unequally by the State because they have failed to identify any New York resident who receives public assistance from the State at the Social Services Law § 209 standard of need.
Plaintiffs claim the State violates article XVII of the State Constitution because it does not provide for SNA at the standard of need set forth and defined in Social Services Law § 209 (2). Specifically, plaintiffs note that article XVII of the State Constitution requires the State to provide for the aid, care and support of the needy, and argue that section 209 (2) establishes a standard of need for all needy elderly and disabled lawful residents of the state, whether or not they are citizens of the United States. As such, plaintiffs argue, the State by failing to provide SNA benefits in an amount equal to the level set forth in section 209 (2) violates article XVII of the State Constitution.
IV.
At the outset, we note that ASP is not a stand-alone program which sets a "standard of need" for all elderly, blind or disabled individuals within the state. ASP, a supplement to the SSI program established by the federal government and Social Services Law § 209 (2), merely sets forth "the standard of monthly need for determining eligibility for and the amount of additional state payments." ASP represents a supplementary monetary amount which is included in the single check received by SSI recipients from the federal Social Security Administration (SSA) which administers SSI and ASP together.
While it is true that New York State did have a public assistance program, AABD, which provided for the needy aged, blind or disabled, it discontinued that separate program more than 30 years ago when the federal government began providing for this population through the SSI program in 1974. The federal government set the SSI benefit level; however, participant states were required to supplement the federal contribution. In order to fulfill the requirement of participation by the State, the Legislature enacted ASIJ turning control of its AABD program over to the federal government and providing a small contribution to SSI. In order to avoid a reduction in benefits upon the transfer to the SSI program, a mandatory minimum state supplement for those who received AABD in December 1973 was set forth in Social Services Law § 210 ( see 42 USC § 1382e). Failure to enact the mandatory minimum supplement or the mandatory maintenance of effort supplement results in a penalty to the State's federal Medicaid funding ( see 42 USC § 1382g [a]). With the foregoing as a backdrop, we first consider the parties' claims under article XVII of the State Constitution.
In 1976, Congress enacted a maintenance of effort rule which required states to provide "supplementary payments" in an amount no lower than their December 1976 levels ( see 42 USC § 1382g).
Article XVII, § 1 requires the State to provide for the aid, care and support of the needy. This provision "was intended to serve two functions: First, it was felt to be necessary to sustain from constitutional attack the social welfare programs . . . created by the State . . . and, second, it was intended as an expression of the existence of a positive duty upon the State to aid the needy" ( Tucker v Toia, 43 NY2d 1, 7).
"[T]he provision for assistance to the needy is not a matter of legislative grace; rather, it is specifically mandated by our Constitution. Section 1 of Article XVII of the New York State Constitution declares: `The aid, care and support of the needy are public concerns and shall be provided by the state and by such of its subdivisions, and in such manner and by such means, as the legislature may from time to time determine'" (
Tucker, 43 NY2d at 7).
However, article XVII, § 1 of the State Constitution, which requires the State to provide for the aid, care and support of the needy, does not "mandate that public assistance must be granted on an individual basis in every instance," nor does it command that "the State must always meet in full measure all the legitimate needs of each [public assistance] recipient" ( Matter of Bernstein v Toia, 43 NY2d 437, 448-449). In Bernstein, this Court upheld the replacement of individual grants for shelter with a flat grant based upon fiscal constraints and the need to optimize available public assistance moneys. In our recent decision Brownley v Doar ( 12 NY3d at 43-44), we reiterated that it is the prerogative of the Legislature to determine who is needy and to allocate public funds.
When the federal government enacted PRWORA the State amended ASP to mirror SSI's new eligibility criteria; individuals who became ineligible for SSI because of this federal change regarding citizenship became eligible only for "safety net" assistance. On the other hand, the decisions by the courts below require the State to set up an entirely new public assistance program to pay the difference between SSI/ASP benefits ($761) and what SNA currently provides ($352). As aptly pointed out by OTDA, this would be an ever-increasing amount over which the Legislature has no control and would create a disparity in the monthly aid received by other recipients of SNA. We hold that article XVII does not compel the State to assume the federal government's obligation when an elderly or disabled person becomes ineligible for continued SSI/ASP benefits.
Next, we examine the parties' equal protection claims. In considering whether a state statute violates the Equal Protection Clause, the Supreme Court applies different levels of scrutiny to different types of classifications. As a general rule, the Supreme Court has strictly scrutinized state laws that create alienage classifications when distributing or regulating economic benefits. Under strict scrutiny, a state statute will withstand an equal protection challenge only when the state can show that the law "furthers a compelling state interest by the least restrictive means practically available" ( see Bernal v Fainter, 467 US 216, 227). However, the strict scrutiny test is to be invoked only where a challenged law can be said to create classifications drawn along suspect lines. In the instant case, the alienage restriction embodied in Social Services Law § 209 (1) (a) (iv) was mandated by federal law (PRWORA). In conforming the New York statute to mirror the federal law, the State did not create a classification drawn along suspect lines. Because the State did not create a program of benefits which excluded plaintiffs, levels of scrutiny are inapplicable and there is no basis for an equal protection challenge.
In support of their equal protection argument, plaintiffs rely on Matter of Aliessa v Novello ( 96 NY2d 418) where this Court held that Social Services Law § 122 violated the Equal Protection Clauses under the Federal and State Constitutions by denying Medicaid benefits funded solely by the State to plaintiffs based on their status as legal aliens. In Aliessa, we concluded that Social Services Law § 122 was subject to — and could not pass — strict scrutiny because New York enacted a state-based program which provided benefits to citizens but denied the same benefits to aliens ( 96 NY2d at 436). This Court determined that the concept of need played no part in the operation of the statute, which could not be justified on the basis of a distinction between "qualified aliens," i.e., aliens who are lawfully admitted for permanent residence (generally, green card holders) or otherwise validly residing in the United States, and those permanently residing in the United States under color of law, i.e., aliens of whom the Immigration and Naturalization Service is aware but has no plans to deport, on the one hand, and citizens on the other.
Plaintiffs also cite to Matter of Lee v Smith ( 43 NY2d 453). In Lee, a plaintiff on SSI received less in benefits than persons who were not disabled and who received public assistance under "home relief." This Court held that Social Services Law § 158 (a), which provided that a "person who is receiving federal supplemental security income payments and/or additional state payments shall not be eligible for home relief," was unconstitutional as applied to such recipients because it violated the equal protection guarantees of the Federal and State Constitutions.
"Home relief was the precursor of the current "safety net program" and in some instances provided a greater payment amount than the payment received by SSI recipients.
Plaintiffs' and the dissent's reliance on Aliessa and Lee is misplaced. Aliessa and Lee are distinguishable from the instant case because they both involved a state-funded program — in Aliessa, a Medicaid program, and in Lee, a home relief program. In Lee, exclusion was based on the source of the income, even though the income was below the standard for receiving home relief. In Aliessa, the federal Medicaid program imposed a nationwide policy in which benefits were not available to aliens. However, federal law permitted the states to create a state-funded program. New York enacted such a program which provided benefits to citizens but excluded assistance to aliens. This Court found those exclusions impermissible.
Here, contrary to the view of plaintiffs and the dissenting Judges, there is no equal protection violation. There is no longer a state program of "Aid to the Aged, Blind and Disabled." The AABD program ceased in 1974 when SSI came into being and no state program replaced it when public assistance to that class of individuals was relinquished to the federal government ( see Social Services Law § 2). As there is no state program of aid for this class, there are no state residents receiving public assistance from New York at the level requested by plaintiffs. Simply put, the right to equal protection does not require the State to create a new public assistance program in order to guarantee equal outcomes under wholly separate and distinct public benefit programs. Nor does it require the State to remediate the effects of PRWORA.
Under section 2 (19), public assistance refers to family assistance, safety net assistance and veteran assistance.
In 1998, when the Legislature amended Social Services Law § 209 (1) (a) (iv), it was fully aware of the consequences. The Legislature is charged with providing for the needy; however, it does so mindful of the State's resources. When the State eliminated its AABD program, it was with the understanding that the federal government would be responsible for this class of needy individuals and that the State would provide a smaller supplementary payment. In short, enactment of a new public assistance program requires legislative action.
Accordingly, the order of the Appellate Division should be reversed, without costs, judgment granted declaring in accordance with this opinion and the certified question answered in the negative.