AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Motions
Attorney(S)
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Motions
Attorney(S)

ROCKLAND EXPOSITION, INC., Plaintiff, v. GREAT AMERICAN ASSURANCE CO., Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION ORDER

JOSEPH GOODWIN, District Judge

Pending before the court is the plaintiff's Motion to Remand Case to the Circuit Court of Putnam County. For the reasons discussed below, this Motion is GRANTED. This case is REMANDED to the Circuit Court of Putnam County.

I. Factual and Procedural Background

The plaintiff filed the Complaint in the Circuit Court of Putnam County on August 3, 2009. (Notice Removal [Docket 1], Ex. 1 ("Compl.").) This case is one of over a hundred parallel personal injury actions (collectively, the "Parallel Litigations"), filed by the plaintiff's counsel, seeking damages based on defendant Monsanto Company's ("Monsanto") alleged unlawful disposal of dioxin and furan waste material at its Nitro, West Virginia plant site, and the defendants' alleged failure to control this contamination. The plaintiff asserts that exposure to the contamination caused the plaintiff to develop cancer.

The Complaint states that the Nitro plant was owned and operated by the former Monsanto Company — "Old Monsanto" — "until its pupation into one of more of the herein named defendants," including "New Monsanto," approximately "sometime during and after . . . 1997." (Compl. ¶ 19.) This Order will simply refer to "Monsanto" rather than distinguish between the company's iterations.

According to the plaintiff, Monsanto owned and operated a chemical plant near Nitro from approximately 1934 to approximately 2000. (Compl. ¶¶ 3-4.) The plaintiff alleges that Monsanto produced an agricultural herbicide — 2, 4, 5 — trichlorophenoxyacidic acid ("2, 4, 5-T") — "which was heavily contaminated with dibenzo dioxins and dibenzo furans." The plaintiff further asserts that, beginning in 1949, Monsanto "began to dispose of dioxin-contaminated waste . . . in a manner which caused dioxins/furans to escape into the atmosphere contaminating the air in and around the areas" where the plaintiffs live. ( Id. ¶ 4.) More specifically, the plaintiff claims "[t]he production of dioxin contaminated 2, 4, 5-T continued 7 days a week 365 days a year from 1949 to approximately 1971 at the Monsanto Nitro Plant. During this entire time period, dioxin-contaminated wastes were burned, 7 days a week, in an open 20 feet by 40 feet pit on the plant site as well as at off-site dumps . . . causing dioxin/furans-contaminated particulate matter to contaminate the air and property in Nitro and surrounding areas." ( Id. ¶ 31.)

The plaintiff brings claims against each of the defendants — Monsanto; Pharmacia Corporation; Flexsys America Company; Flexsys America L.P.; Apogee Coal Company, LLC; and Solutia Inc. — "as successors to the dioxins/furans related legacy liabilities" of Monsanto. ( Id. ¶ 5.) In relevant part, the plaintiff alleges that defendant Apogee Coal Company, LLC ("Apogee") is a successor to the liabilities of companies that owned or controlled Monsanto's waste disposal site. The plaintiff further maintains that contaminated waste from Monsanto's Nitro plant was "disposed of and burned all with the permission and knowledge of such predecessor companies." ( Id. ¶ 74.) The plaintiff asserts that Apogee is a West Virginia corporation, and that when the Complaint was filed, Apogee's principal place of business was Charleston, West Virginia. ( Id.)

The defendants removed the Parallel Litigations to this court on December 13, 2009, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1332 and 1442.

The plaintiff subsequently filed the Motion to Remand on June 19, 2010

II. Standard

A Notice of Removal need only contain "a short and plain statement of the ground of removal"; the pleading standard is the same as that imposed on a plaintiff in drafting an initial complaint. Ellenburg v. Spartan Motors Chassis, Inc., 519 F.3d 192, 199-200 (4th Cir. 2008). But when challenged, "`[t]he party seeking removal bears the burden of demonstrating that removal jurisdiction is proper.'" Id. (quoting In re Blackwater Sec. Consulting, LLC, 460 F.3d 576, 583 (4th Cir. 2006)); see also Dixon v. Coburg Dairy, Inc., 369 F.3d 811, 816 (4th Cir. 2004) ("The burden of demonstrating jurisdiction resides with `the party seeking removal.'" (quoting Mulcahey v. Columbia Organic Chems. Co., 29 F.3d 148, 151 (4th Cir. 1994))). Congress intended to "restrict removal and to resolve all doubts about the propriety of removal in favor of retained state court jurisdiction." Marshall v. Manville Sales Corp., 6 F.3d 229, 232 (4th Cir. 1993). Courts must construe removal jurisdiction strictly "because of the `significant federalism concerns' implicated." Dixon, 369 F.3d at 816 (quoting Mulcahey, 29 F.3d at 151). "Therefore, `[i]f federal jurisdiction is doubtful, a remand [to state court] is necessary.'" Id.

III. Analysis

The defendants argue that removal of this case is proper on two separate grounds. First, the defendants assert that complete diversity of citizenship exists between the parties. The parties agree that the plaintiffs are citizens of West Virginia, and that all of the named defendants, except Apogee, are citizens of other states. The parties disagree, however, over the citizenship of defendant Apogee. Furthermore, the defendants assert that even if Apogee is a West Virginia citizen, the plaintiff's inclusion of Apogee as a defendant constitutes fraudulent joinder, because the plaintiff lacks any basis for asserting the facts underlying the claim against Apogee.

Second, the defendants assert that removal was proper under the federal officer removal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1442. That statute permits removal of actions against "[t]he United States or any agency thereof or any officer (or any person acting under that officer) of the United States or of any agency thereof, sued . . . for any act under color of such office." 28 U.S.C. § 1442. Defendants assert that Monsanto's Nitro plant was engaged primarily in the business of manufacturing 2, 4, 5-T on behalf of the federal government and that removal under § 1442 was proper.

The defendants also asserted that the plaintiff's right to relief "necessarily depends on resolution of a substantial question of federal law," Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 486 U.S. 800, 808 (1988) (quoting Franchise Tax Bd. v. Constr. Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 27-28 (1983)), which establishes federal jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331. After this ground was challenged by the plaintiff's motion to remand, the defendants abandoned it.

As explained below, both of the defendants' removal arguments fail. Remand of this case to the Circuit Court of Putnam County is therefore warranted.

A. The defendants have not established that Apogee is not a citizen of West Virginia.

Federal diversity jurisdiction requires that every defendant be completely diverse from every plaintiff. 28 U.S.C. § 1332. The "crucial date" for the determination of Apogee's citizenship in this case is the date the Complaint was filed — August 2, 2009. See Mullins v. Beatrice Pocahontas Co., 489 F.2d 260, 261 (4th Cir. 1974). Diversity jurisdiction here depends on whether Apogee was a West Virginia citizen on August 2, 2009.

A corporation is "a citizen of any State by which it has been incorporated and of the State where it has its principal place of business." 28 U.S.C. § 1332(c)(1). The parties agree that for purposes of determining jurisdiction, Apogee's citizenship is determined by the citizenship of its sole corporate member, Magnum Coal Company ("Magnum"). Magnum is incorporated in Delaware. Its "principal place of business" however is in dispute. The plaintiff's Complaint alleges that Apogee is a West Virginia corporation, and that on the date the Complaint was filed, Apogee's principal place of business was located in Charleston, West Virginia. (Compl. ¶ 74.) In their Notice of Removal, the defendants claim that Magnum [and thereby Apogee] "is a citizen of Delaware and possibly also a citizen of Missouri, . . . not West Virginia." (Notice Removal ¶ 14.)

Defendants present two arguments to support their assertion that Magnum (and thereby Apogee) is not a West Virginia citizen. First, they argue that Magnum might qualify as an inactive corporation without a principal place of business. In that circumstance, Magnum should only be considered a citizen of its state of incorporation: Delaware. Second, they argue that if Magnum does have a principal place of business, it is in Missouri, not West Virginia. I will address each argument in turn.

1. Magnum is not an inactive corporation.

The defendants, citing Athena Automotive, Inc. v. DiGregori, 166 F.3d 288, 291 (4th Cir. 1999), argue that Magnum might qualify as an inactive corporation, and, as such, "might appropriately be considered a citizen only of its state of incorporation, Delaware." (Notice Removal ¶ 14.) To qualify as an inactive corporation, a business must "cease[] all operations," and enough time must pass for "the continuing impact of its business" to dissipate. Athena Auto., Inc., 166 F.3d at 291. "[A]s a general matter, an `inactive' corporation (that is, a corporation conducting no business activities) has no principal place of business, and is instead a citizen of its state of incorporation only." Midlantic Nat'l Bank v. Hansen, 48 F.3d 693, 696 (3d Cir. 1995).

To support their argument that Magnum is an inactive corporation, the defendants state that Magnum has no employees and "serves merely as one of several intermediary entities" through which another company "owns and controls its national mining operations." (Notice Removal ¶ 13.) The facts do not support this argument. The defendants admit that Magnum holds a lease of office space in Charleston, and collects payments from a coal purchaser. Furthermore, the defendants concede that, unlike the plaintiff in Athena Automotive, Magnum was not totally inactive at the time the Complaint was filed, stating that Magnum's presence in West Virginia "since January 1, 2009, has been . . . to the almost total exclusion of any substantive activity." ( Id. ¶ 13 (emphasis added).). Nevertheless, the defendants request the court to "apply the same principles to reach the same result," due to Magnum's "dearth of activity." ( Id. 6 n. 7.)

I decline this invitation. Magnum continued to conduct some business activities at the time the Complaint was filed, and thus was not an inactive corporation. Magnum was therefore a citizen both of its state of incorporation, Delaware, and its principal place of business. I will now address defendants' second argument, that Magnum's principal place of business was located outside of West Virginia.

2. The defendants have not demonstrated that Magnum's principal place of business is outside of West Virginia.

A corporation's principal place of business is "the place where a corporation's officers direct, control, and coordinate the corporation's activities." Hertz Corp. v. Friend, 130 S. Ct. 1181, 1192 (2010) "And in practice it should normally be the place where the corporation maintains its headquarters — provided that the headquarters is the actual center of direction, control, and coordination, i.e., the `nerve center,' and not simply an office where the corporation holds its board meetings." Id.

The defendants argue that Magnum's principal place of business at the time the Complaint was filed (insofar as Magnum had a principal place of business) was Missouri. As evidence, the defendants offer the following:

• On July 23, 2008, Magnum became a wholly owned subsidiary of Patriot Coal Corporation, which is headquartered in St. Louis, Missouri;
• Magnum's corporate records are kept in St. Louis, Missouri;
• The written consents, which have supplanted Magnum's shareholder and directors' meetings, are in St. Louis, Missouri;
• Seven of Magnum's ten corporate officers, and two of its three directors, had offices exclusively in St. Louis, Missouri.

(Resp. Opp'n Mot. Remand [Docket 24], Ex. V, Affidavit of Lawrence I. Bell, July 2, 2010 ¶¶ 1, 4, 5, 6, 7.)

The defendants assert that Magnum's presence in West Virginia since January 1, 2009, "has been in form only — it held a pre-2008 lease of office space in Charleston, West Virginia but did not pay the rent and did not occupy the space." (Resp. Opp'n Mot. Remand 12 n. 3.) According to the defendants, "[a] signature of a lease left over from an earlier time and a bank account set up strictly to collect on a single, old debt do not make [. . .] the locus of decision making and control center of corporate affairs" in West Virginia. ( Id. at 13.)

The plaintiff rejects the defendants' assertion that Magnum's principal place of business was Missouri. The plaintiff submits that in April 2009, Magnum admitted in another case before this court that its principal office was located in Charleston, West Virginia. Furthermore, the plaintiff asserts that Magnum certified to the West Virginia Secretary of State, in its Annual Report filed March 17, 2010, that its principal office is in Charleston, West Virginia. (Mem. Supp. Mot. Remand [Docket 20] 4, 6 (citing Answer to Amended Complaint ¶ 3, McNeal v. Brook Trout Coal, LLC, No. 09-306 (S.D. W. Va. Apr. 6, 2009)).) The plaintiff also argues that the defendants have not explained what Magnum's principal business activity is, or how that activity is directed or controlled. (Reply Resp. Opp'n [Docket 27] 3.)

Magnum's admission in April 2009 that its "principal office" was located in Charleston, West Virginia does not prove that Magnum is a citizen of West Virginia. The admission pertains to "all times complained of" in the complaint in that case. The original complaint in that case was filed December 8, 2008; the amended complaint was filed March 5, 2009; and the complaint concerns contracts that were entered into prior to February 2007. Magnum's admission in April 2009 is irrelevant to this case.

Magnum's corporate filings merit closer scrutiny. In Magnum's 2011 Corporation Annual Report, filed on March 17, 2010, it lists its "Home State" as Delaware and its charter type as "foreign," but its "Principal Office" as located in Charleston, West Virginia. It also lists its President and one of its two Directors as Paul H. Vining, with an office in Charleston, West Virginia. (Reply Resp. Opp'n, Ex. 1.) Magnum's Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and second Director are listed with Missouri addresses. The 2010 Limited Liability Company Annual Report for a "Magnum Coal Sales LLC" lists the same Charleston, West Virginia "Principal Address," but also lists West Virginia as its "Home State" and its charter type as "domestic." ( Id. at 3).

The relationship between Magnum Coal Company and Magnum Coal Sales, LLC is unclear. The filings suggest that the former, at least, is subject to some control from Missouri. Nevertheless, both listed the location of their "Principal Office" as Charleston, West Virginia. The term "Principal Office" suggests that Magnum is directed, controlled, and coordinated from that location. The forms allow companies to list a "Principal Office," "Mailing Address," and, crucially, a "Local Office," strongly suggesting that "Principal Office" refers to the company's overall "nerve center," and not simply its principal in-state office.

The burden of establishing federal jurisdiction falls on the party seeking removal. See Dixon v. Coburg, 369 F.3d at 816 (citations omitted). The defendants have failed to establish the state in which Magnum's principal place of business is located. Although Magnum appears to be subject to some control from Missouri, the defendants have not explained what Magnum's principal business activity is and how and where such activity is effectively directed, controlled, and coordinated. At most, they have demonstrated that there is ambiguity surrounding Magnum's principal place of business — ambiguity that must be resolved against the defendants. See id.; Maggio-Onoranto Assocs., Inc. v. AEGON N.V., 104 F. Supp. 2d 518, 522 (D. Md. 2000). Considering all the evidence together, the defendants have not met their burden of establishing diversity jurisdiction.

3. Apogee Coal has not been fraudulently joined.

Having determined that the defendants have failed to show complete diversity, I must now address their argument that Apogee was fraudulently joined. To succeed in demonstrating fraudulent joinder, the defendants must show "that the plaintiff cannot establish a claim even after resolving all issues of law and fact in the plaintiff's favor." Hartley v. CSX Transp., Inc., 187 F.3d 422, 424 (4th Cir. 1999) (citation omitted). The removing party must demonstrate either "outright fraud in the plaintiff's pleading of jurisdictional facts" or that "there is no possibility that the plaintiff would be able to establish a cause of action against the in-state defendant in state court." Marshall v. Manville Sales Corp., 6 F.3d 229, 232 (4th Cir. 1993) (internal quotation marks omitted).

The plaintiff's claim against Apogee is premised on the allegation that Apogee is a successor to the liabilities of companies that owned or controlled Monsanto's waste disposal site, and that contaminated waste from Monsanto's Nitro plant was "disposed of and burned all with the permission and knowledge of such predecessor companies." (Compl. ¶ 74.) The defendants argue that the plaintiff lacks a basis to assert the facts which underlie its claim against Apogee, insofar as "Plaintiffs' Counsel lacks a reasonable evidentiary foundation for asserting that anyone . . . was burning dioxin-contaminated wastes at any time" at Monsanto's site near Nitro, West Virginia. (Notice Removal ¶ 20.) The defendants note that similar complaints filed by plaintiff's counsel, in Carter v. Monsanto Co., No. 3:08-cv-1359 (S.D.W.Va. Nov. 21, 2008), and Bibb v. Monsanto Co., No. 3:08-cv-1358 (S.D.W.Va. Nov. 21, 2008), do not mention the burning of dioxin-contaminated waste; the defendants also state that they are "unaware of any evidence of burning . . . unearthed through discovery in the related class actions upon which this allegation could properly be premised." ( Id. ¶ 21.) The defendants further assert that because plaintiff's counsel did not sue Apogee in the Bibb litigation or in a similar personal injury case recently filed in another federal court, Spaulding v. Monsanto, 1:09-cv-9470, they "[do] not actually believe that there exists a valid claim against Apogee." ( Id. ¶ 21, 9 n. 11.)

The plaintiff asserts in the Motion to Remand that there is evidence that the dumping of wastes "`caused large explosions and unusual chemical reactions'" at the site. (Mem. Supp. Mot. Remand 10 (quoting Order Denying Apogee Coal Company's Motion for Summary Judgment, Carter v. Monsanto, No. 00-C-300 (Cir. Court Putnam County, W. Va. Nov. 13, 2008)).) The plaintiff also argues that plaintiff's counsel's failure to sue Apogee in other cases is irrelevant. Nevertheless, the plaintiff points out that plaintiff's counsel "zealously (and successfully) opposed Apogee Coal's motion for summary judgment" in Carter "— when doing so was not necessary in order to maintain that matter in state (as opposed to federal) court." (Mem. Supp. Mot. Remand 11.)

The defendants have not met their burden of demonstrating fraudulent joinder. Whatever discrepancy might exist between evidence of "large explosions and unusual chemical reactions" and the Complaint's allegations of "burning" is insufficient to justify a finding of "outright fraud." If the allegations in the plaintiff's Complaint are true, the plaintiff will certainly be able to establish a cause of action against Apogee in state court. Furthermore, I agree with the plaintiff that it is irrelevant which defendants are being pursued in other litigation.

The defendants have failed to establish that diversity jurisdiction exists. The only possible remaining basis for this court's jurisdiction is under the federal officer removal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1442. As laid out below, that jurisdictional basis is also faulty.

B. There is no causal nexus between any government control of the manufacturing of 2, 4, 5 — T and the defendants' waste disposal practices at the plant in Nitro.

Title 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1) permits removal for suits against federal officers and persons "acting under" them, for their acts "under the color of such office." The defendants assert that Monsanto's Nitro plant, "[f]or many years within the time period pertinent to this case . . . was engaged primarily — and at times exclusively — in the business of manufacturing 2, 4, 5-T for inclusion in the military defoliant Agent Orange." (Notice Removal ¶ 24.) According to the defendants, Monsanto was compelled by the United States government to satisfy orders for 2, 4, 5-T, pursuant to detailed and precise specifications. The defendants argue that "[i]n light of the fact that Plaintiff seeks to hold Monsanto liable for injuries allegedly resulting, at least in part, from work performed by Monsanto at the behest of the federal government, there is removal jurisdiction over this action under 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1)." ( Id. at ¶ 39.) The plaintiff argues that the federal government's involvement in the manufacture of 2, 4, 5-T is not relevant to this case, because the claims in the Complaint rest solely upon the defendants' waste disposal practices.

The shadow of prior litigation hangs over this issue. This court has considered the question of federal officer removal jurisdiction in two class action litigations very similar to this case: Bibb v. Monsanto Co., No. 3:08-cv-1358 (S.D.W.Va. Nov. 21, 2008), and Carter v. Monsanto Co., No. 3:08-cv-1359 (S.D.W.Va. Nov. 21, 2008). In Bibb, this court found that the plaintiffs alleged that they suffered harm from "the collective and continuous operation of the Nitro Plant in producing 2, 4, 5-T, including production, disposal, and any other process that was part of the plant operation, [and] led to the emission of the dioxins/furans." (Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Plaintiffs' Motion to Remand at 27, Bibb v. Monsanto Co., No. 3:08-cv-1358 (S.D.W.Va. Dec. 19, 2008).) This court found that "plaintiffs' claims include those based on production processes controlled by the federal government," and concluded that removal would have been proper had it been timely effected. ( Id.) In Carter, however, this court concluded that the plaintiffs' claims arose solely from the defendants' disposal of 2, 4, 5-T waste, which occurred without federal involvement. Carter v. Monsanto Co., 635 F. Supp. 2d 479, 497 (2009). This court thus remanded Carter to state court, because there was no "causal nexus between the federal control over the manufacturing at the Nitro Plant and the acts underlying the instant action." Id. This court held that defendants could "not establish a basis for federal officer removal unless the defendants disposed of the 2, 4, 5-T waste under the direct and detailed control of the federal government or in furtherance of a specific request by a federal officer." Id.

The defendants argue that this case is distinguishable from Carter because the plaintiff's injuries allegedly arise from "generalized, airborne dioxin" rather than the "waterborne dioxin contamination" at issue in Carter. (See Mem. Opp. Mot. Remand at 18). The crucial issue is not the type of contamination, but whether the plaintiff alleges harms caused by processes controlled by the federal government or harms caused by processes controlled by the defendants alone. Carter, 635 F. Supp. 2d at 495 — 97. The defendants have offered no allegations that the disposal practices at issue in this matter were "under the direct and detailed control of the federal government," or that they result from actions "in furtherance of a specific request by a federal officer," alleging only that the disposal practices created a different kind of contamination than the practices at issue in Carter. Id. at 497.

Both the Carter plaintiffs and the instant plaintiff focus solely on injuries caused by the defendants' disposal practices. (Compl. ¶ 2.) Accordingly, no causal nexus exists in either Carter or in this case between the federal government's control of manufacturing and the actions underlying the plaintiff's Complaint. The defendants' removal under § 1442 was improper.

IV. Conclusion

For the reasons discussed above, the plaintiff's motion to remand is GRANTED and this case is REMANDED to the Circuit Court of Putnam County, West Virginia.

The court DIRECTS the Clerk to send a copy of this Order to counsel of record and any unrepresented parties.

ENTER: September 29, 2010

t is settled law in New York that `[a]bsent a valid excuse, a failure to satisfy the notice requirement vitiates the policy and the insurer need not show prejudice before it can assert the defense of noncompliance.'" (quoting Sec. Mut. Ins. Co., 293 N.E.2d at 78)).

Prompt notice serves the useful purpose of allowing "the insurer to investigate the facts on which the claim is predicated and to adjust its books in order to maintain a proper reserve fund in light of the insured's claim." Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 748 F.2d at 121.

On July 17, 2008, New York amended its insurance law to require that every policy issued or delivered in the state, "against liability for injury to person . . . or against liability for injury to, or destruction of, property," contain a "provision that failure to give any notice required to be given by such policy within the time prescribed therein shall not invalidate any claim made by the insured, injured person or any other claimant, unless the failure to provide timely notice has prejudiced the insurer." N.Y. Ins. Law § 3420(a)(5). But, this law only applies to policies issued on or after January 17, 2009. See An Act to Amend the Civil Practice Law and Rules and the Insurance Law, in Relation to Liability Insurance Policies § 8, 2008 N.Y. Sess. Laws 388 (McKinney) ("This act shall take effect on the one hundred eightieth day after it shall have become a law, and shall apply to policies issued or delivered in this state on or after such date and to any action maintained under such a policy. . . ."). Here, it is undisputed that the Policy was issued before January 17, 2009. (Def.'s 56.1 ¶ 6.) Thus, N.Y. Ins. Law § 3420(a)(5) does not apply to the Policy, and Great American need not show that it was prejudiced by any late notice by REI.

"New York courts have held that the question whether notice was given within a reasonable time may be determined as a question of law when (1) the facts bearing on the delay in providing notice are not in dispute and (2) the insured has not offered a valid excuse for the

delay." New York v. Blank, 27 F.3d 783, 795 (2d Cir. 1994); see also Gresham v. Am. Gen. Life Ins. Co., 523 N.Y.S.2d 282, 282 (App. Div. 1987) ("While ordinarily it is a question of fact whether an insured gave timely notice of loss, summary judgment is warranted where the insured has not offered a credible excuse for the delay in notification and where the underlying facts are not in dispute. . . ."); Columbus Trust Co. v. Hanover Ins. Co., 375 N.Y.S.2d 628, 629 (App. Div. 1975) (collecting cases).

1. Whether REI's Notice was Unreasonably Late

The Court must first ask whether REI's delay was unreasonable as a matter of law. It is undisputed that on June 27, 2008, AASP informed REI of the suit and faxed REI a copy of the complaint (Def.'s 56.1 ¶ 12), and it was not until October 1, 2008 that Great American received actual notice of AASP's suit, ( id. ¶ 15). But, the Parties do dispute whether REI's August 19, 2008 notice to Marshall Sterling constitutes notice to Great American.

Under New York law, "an insurance broker is the agent of the insured, not the insurance company, and notice to an insurance broker, absent exceptional circumstances, is not notice to the insurer." Phila. Indem. Ins. Co. v. Horowitz, Greener Stengel, LLP, 379 F. Supp. 2d 442, 457 (S.D.N.Y. 2005) (internal quotation marks and ellipsis omitted); see also Vittorioso, 1999 WL 167716, at *2 ("Under New York law an insurance broker is ordinarily an agent of the insured, not the insurer."); Sec. Mut. Ins. Co., 293 N.E.2d at 79 n. 3 ("[A] broker is normally the agent of the insured and notice to the ordinary insurance broker is not notice to the liability carrier."). "Such exceptional circumstances have been found in situations where the agent's role went far beyond that of solicitor of the liability policy, and included responsibilities such as collecting premiums, issuing the policy, and being designated as an agent or broker for the insurer." Phila. Indem. Ins. Co., 379 F. Supp. 2d at 457 (internal quotation marks omitted); s ee also Cohen v. Utica First Ins. Co., 436 F. Supp. 2d 517, 527 (E.D.N.Y. 2006) (noting that "exceptional circumstances" justifying a court in finding that notice to an insurance broker constitutes notice to the insurer, "have been found in situations where the agent's role `went far beyond that of solicitor of the liability policy, and included responsibilities such as collecting premiums, issuing the policy, and being designated as an "agent or broker" for the insurer.'" (quoting Phila. Indem. Ins. Co., 379 F. Supp. 2d at 457)); Mighty Midgets, Inc. v. Centennial Ins. Co., 389 N.E.2d 1080, 1082 (N.Y. 1979) (finding that broker was an agent of the insurance company where it "collected the premiums, issued the policy and was designated by the policy as `agent or broker'"). However, merely "procuring a policy from an insurer is insufficient to cause a broker to become an agent of the insurer." Phila. Indem. Ins. Co., 379 F. Supp. 2d at 458 n. 7; see also Vittoriosoa, 1999 WL 167716, at *2 ("Selling a policy to the insured does not by itself make the broker an agent of the insurer."). Rather, "there must be evidence of some action on the insurer's part from which a general authority to represent the insurer may be inferred." Phila. Indem. Ins. Co., 379 F. Supp. 2d at 457; see also Vittoriosoa, 1999 WL 167716, at *2 ("For a broker to become an insurer's agent, there must be evidence of some action on the insurer's part from which a general authority to represent the insurer may be inferred."); Matco Prods., Inc. v. Boston Old Colony Ins. Co., 480 N.Y.S.2d 134, 137 (App. Div. 1984) ("There must be evidence of some action on the insurer's part, or facts from which a general authority to represent the insurer may be inferred, in order to convert an insurance broker into an agent of the insurer.").

Here, Great American's assistant vice president has stated that it "never had any agency agreement of any kind, written or otherwise, with Marshall Sterling with respect to" the Policy (Damewood Aff ¶ 3), and that "Marshall Sterling was solely the broker on behalf of the insured," ( id. ¶ 6). Likewise, the chief claims officer at K K Insurance swore that "K K was the only Claims Administrator or agent with authority to receive and handle claim notifications" under the Policy (Aff. of P. Douglas Hamm ("Hamm Aff.") ¶ 7), and that premiums paid under the Policy "were not collected by Marshall Sterling . . . but, instead, were collected by K K on behalf of Great American," ( id. ¶ 6). REI disputes this, but with minimal evidence establishing any act on Great American's part that made M S its agent. For example, REI's president (McCarey) swore that "[d]uring the last 25 years, both [REI] and I notified Marshall Sterling . . . when a potential insurance claim arose" (McCarey Affirmation ¶ 5), and that he "believed [Marshall Sterling] were insurance agents," ( id. ¶ 10). Also, McCarey paid premiums for the Policy to Marshall Sterling, by check made out to Marshall Sterling. (Supp. Affirmation of David McCarey ¶¶ 3-5, ex. 1-4.) And, when REI had a credit on its Great American Policy in 2009, Marshall Sterling issued a refund in the form of a Marshall Sterling check. ( Id. ¶ 6, Ex. 5.) REI has submitted copies of checks and invoices that support its assertions. ( Id. Ex. 1-5.) These facts, if believed, might be sufficient to justify the Court in treating notice to Marshall Sterling as notice to Great American, if there was evidence that the insurer (here, Great American) did something that either made Marshall Sterling its agent or made it appear to REI that Great American made Marshall Sterling its agent. See Phila. Indem. Ins. Co., 379 F. Supp. 2d at 457; Cohen, 436 F. Supp. 2d at 527; Mighty Midgets, Inc., 389 N.E.2d at 1082.

But, Plaintiff has offered no evidence that Great American designated Marshall Sterling as its agent. This case is far different, therefore, from those rare cases where the insurer designated the broker its agent. For example, in Mighty Midgets, the New York Court of Appeals found that notice to an insurance broker counted as notice to the insurer because "the broker's role went far beyond that of solicitor of the liability policy." Mighty Midgets, Inc., 389 N.E.2d at 1082. There, the broker "collected the premiums, issued the policy and was designated by the policy as `agent or broker.'" Id. Moreover, it was the "established practice" for the broker "to be entrusted with large batches of policies executed by [the insurer's] authorized signatories in blank, leaving it to [the broker] rather than [the insurer] to fill in such things as policy numbers, names of assureds it procured and the premiums to be charged." Id. And, the broker "required no further authorization from [the insurer] to decide . . . if and when a policy was to go into effect." Id. Thus, Marshall Sterling's mere acceptance of premium checks on Great American's behalf pales in comparison to the evidence of an agency relationship in Mighty Midgets.

Relatedly, REI avers that the Policy was ambiguous as to whom REI should notify, citing Jeffrey v. Allcity Ins. Co., 809 N.Y.S.2d 174 (App. Div. 2006). (Pl.'s Resp. 6.) There, the Court found that the insured reasonably interpreted the policy to allow notice to his broker. See Jeffrey, 809 N.Y.S.2d at 175 (agreeing with plaintiff's argument that "the notice provision was ambiguous because it used the pronouns `we,' `us,' and `our' to describe who should be notified without clearly identifying Allcity as the party to whom those terms applied, and that, given the ambiguity, the contract should be interpreted to allow notice to his broker"). But, REI does not allege that it read the Policy to allow notice to its broker. Nor could it, since the Policy clearly specified that "[n]otice to any agent of ours in New York State . . . shall be considered notice to us," and never suggested that notice to the insured's broker would be sufficient. (Damewood Aff. Ex. A, New York Changes Commercial Gen. Liab. Coverage Form, C.2.e (emphasis added).) Indeed, REI admits that it knew that Great American's agent was the person it needed to notify. (McCarey Affirmation ¶ 10.) Rather, REI faults Great American for not specifying

the identity of its agents in the Policy, thereby failing to correct REI's erroneous belief that Marshall Sterling was Great American's agent. Yet, again, an insured's mistaken belief that its broker is an agent of its insurer does not excuse late notice under New York law, s ee Vittorioso, 1999 WL 167716, at *2; Shaw Temple A.M.E. Zion Church v. Mount Vernon Fire Ins. Co., 605 N.Y.S.2d 370 (App. Div. 1993), absent exceptional circumstances, see Mighty Midgets, 389 N.E.2d at 1082.

Even if REI could argue that it read the Policy to allow notice to its broker, Jeffrey would still not apply here because the Policy is not ambiguous in that regard. While the Policy uses the terms "we" and "us," like the policy in Jeffrey, it also specifically defines those terms as "the company providing this insurance." (Commercial Gen. Liab. Form, Preamble.) And the first page of the Policy explicitly identifies the "GREAT AMERICAN ASSURANCE COMPANY" as the company providing the insurance. (Pl.'s Resp. Ex. A, at *1.) By contrast, it does not appear that the policy in Jeffrey defined the terms, "we," us," and "the Company providing this Insurance." Accordingly, Great American did nothing to deflect its identity as the intended recipient of the required notice. Moreover, the first page of the Policy also listed K K's name and address at the top of the page under the heading, "Producer's Name and Address" ( id.), further weakening REI's argument that Great American was responsible for REI's incorrect belief that Marshall Sterling was Great American's agent.

The Court takes seriously its obligation to "carefully predict how the state's highest court would resolve" issues of state law, Runner v. New York Stock Exchange, Inc., 568 F.3d 383, 386 (2d Cir. 2009), and recognizes that "[d]ecisions of New York's intermediate appellate courts are `helpful indicators' of how the Court of Appeals would decide" such issues, Reddington v. Staten Island Univ. Hosp., 511 F.3d 126, 133 (2d Cir. 2007). Yet, the Court is not able to further parse Jeffrey as it is a 453-word summary order that cites no authority. Moreover, the only appellate division case to cite Jeffrey did not clarify its meaning, instead distinguishing it in one sentence. See Bd. of Hudson River-Black River Regulating Dist. v. Praetorian Ins. Co., 867 N.Y.S.2d 256, 258 (App. Div. 2008) ("[U]nlike the circumstances in [ Jeffrey], the notification provisions of the instant policy are not ambiguous as to who must be notified in the event of an occurrence.").

Even assuming, arguendo, that Marshall Sterling acted as Great American's agent for the purposes of accepting notice of claims, REI still did not provide effective notice until September 30, 2008, when it sent AASP's complaint to Marshall Sterling. The Policy required that "[i]f a claim is made or `suit' is brought against [REI], [REI] must . . . see to it that [Great American] receive[s] written notice of the claim or `suit' as soon as practicable." (Commercial Gen. Liab. Form § IV, 2.b.) The Policy also mandated that REI "immediately send" Great American "copies of any demands, notices, summonses or legal papers received in connection with the claim or `suit.'" ( Id. § IV, 2.c.(1).) It is undisputed that REI did not provide anything in writing to Marshall Sterling, let alone Great American, until September 30, 2008. Before then, REI had only given Marshall Sterling oral notice, by "discuss[ing] whether coverage would exist," with Townsend, and by asking Townsend "to determine whether REI's insurance policies provided coverage for the AASP action." (Pl.'s Mem. Ex. A-4 ¶¶ 5, 7.)

REI attempts to avoid the Policy's explicit written notice requirements by pointing to an amendment to the Policy which was apparently added to allow claimants to provide notice to Great American's agents, instead of having to notify the company directly. (Pl.'s Resp 4-5.) The amendment is tacked on to end of the portion of the Policy dealing with notice, Commercial General Liability Form § IV, and is labeled as provision "2.e." It states: "Notice given by or on behalf of the insured, or written notice by or on behalf of the injured person or any other claimant, to any agent of ours in New York State, with particulars sufficient to identify the insured, shall be considered to be notice to us." (Damewood Aff. Ex. A, New York Changes Commercial General Liability Coverage Form, C.) REI notes that the provision first refers to "notice," and then to "written notice," and argues that, by negative implication, the first reference should be construed to allow oral notice. (Pl.'s Resp 5.)

Plaintiff's argument is analogous to the cannon of statutory construction, expressio unius est exclusio alterius ("inclusion of one thing indicates exclusion of the other"). While this cannon is useful where it appears the drafters acted deliberately, it can be misleading where the drafters wrote carelessly. See Matter of Am. Reserve Corp., 840 F.2d 487, 492 (7th Cir. 1988) (Easterbrook, J.) (stating that the "weakness" of "the maxim expressio unius" is that it assumes that the drafter "tie[s] up every knot in every statutory subsection"); Nat'l Petroleum Refiners Ass'n v. F.T.C., 482 F.2d 672, 676 (D.C. Cir. 1973) (maintaining that expressio unius "stands on the faulty premise that all possible alternative or supplemental provisions were necessarily considered and rejected by the legislative draftsmen"); William N. Eskridge, Jr., et al., Legislation 855 (4th ed. 2007) (noting that "[o]ne basic problem" with expressio unius is that it "assumes that the legislature thinks through statutory language carefully, considering every possible variation"). Here, it is difficult to believe that by adding provision 2.e — the main goal of which was obviously to allow notice to agents, as an alternative to notice to the insurer — the

It is not uncommon for courts interpreting contracts to rely on the same principles that guide statutory construction. See Tilley v. Mead Corp., 927 F.2d 756, 771 (4th Cir. 1998) ("[J]ust as a court, in construing a statute[,] is obliged to give effect, if possible, to every word Congress used, so must a court interpret the language of a contract. . . .") (internal quotation marks and citations omitted); SR Int'l Bus. Ins. Co. Ltd. v. World Trade Ctr. Props., LLC, 445 F. Supp. 2d 320, 352 (S.D.N.Y. 2006) (noting that two cannons of statutory construction, noscitur a sociis and ejusdem generis, are "at times applied together to statutes or contracts"); Harris v. Allstate Ins., 127 N.E.2d 816, 818 (N.Y. 1955) (applying the canon of statutory construction noscitur a sociis to interpret an automobile insurance policy); cf. Restatement (Second) of Contract § 202 (noting that courts should generally give contractual language its "generally prevailing meaning," and interpret the writing "as a whole").

Parties also intended to surreptitiously repeal two explicit provisions requiring written notice. Cf. Radzanower v. Touche Ross Co., 426 U.S. 148, 154 (1976) ("It is, of course, a cardinal principle of statutory construction that repeals by implication are not favored."); Morton v. Moncari, 417 U.S. 535, 549 (1974) (applying "the `cardinal rule . . . that repeals by implication are not favored.'") (quoting Posadas v. Nat'l City Bank, 296 U.S. 497, 503 (1936)). Indeed, REI has not explained why, under this provision, Great American would no longer desire written notice of a claim or copies of demands, notices, summonses, or legal papers received from an "insured," while still requiring those documents from "injured person[s]" and "other claimant[s]." (Damewood Aff. Ex. A, New York Changes Commercial General Liability Coverage Form, C.)

It is axiomatic that ambiguities in insurance policies must be construed against the insurer. See Hartol Prods. Corp. v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 47 N.E.2d 687, 690 (N.Y. 1943) ("It is well-settled that if a policy of insurance is written in such language as to be doubtful or uncertain in its meaning, all ambiguity must be resolved in favor of the policy holder and against the company."); see also U.S. Underwriters Ins. Co. v. Affordable Hous. Found., 256 F. Supp. 2d 176, 180 (S.D.N.Y. 2003) ("Under New York law, contracts of insurance are strictly construed in favor of the insured and against the insurer."). But, when the policy's provisions are unambiguous and intelligible, courts should enforce them as drafted. See Parks Real Estate Purchasing Group v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 472 F.3d 33, 42 (2d Cir. 2006). A policy is "ambiguous" where it is subject to more than one "reasonable interpretation." Continental Casualty Co. v. Rapid-American Corp., 609 N.E.2d 506, 512 (N.Y. 1993); see also Webster's II: New Riverside University Dictionary (1988) (defining "ambiguous" as "[l]iable to more than one interpretation"). Moreover, "[t]he cardinal principle for the construction and interpretation of insurance contracts — as with all contracts — is that the intentions of the parties should control." Newmont Mines Ltd. v. Hanover Ins. Co., 784 F.2d 127, 135 (2d Cir. 1986). Here, REI's interpretation of provision 2.e is not reasonable as it is clear that the Parties did not intend to implicitly repeal the two written notice clauses. See Field v. Mans, 516 U.S. 59, 67-75 (1995) (noting that "the rule of construction" presuming that Congress acts intentionally when it "includes particular language in one section of a statute but omits it in another section" is strongest where "the contrast" is "apparently deliberate," but "[t]he rule is weakest when it suggests results strangely at odds with other textual pointers" (internal quotation marks omitted)). Accordingly, the Policy required REI to provided written notice of AASP's claim and copies of AASP's complaint and any other demands, notices, summonses, or legal papers received in connection with the AASP litigation.

Where, as here, an insurance policy requires written notice of a claim, oral notice is of no legal significance. See Bazar v. Great Am. Indem. Co., 119 N.E.2d 346, 350 (N.Y. 1954) (dismissing an insurance claim "[b]ecause of the violation of the `written notice' provision of the policy"); First City Acceptance Corp. v. Gulf Ins. Co., 665 N.Y.S.2d 114, 116

(App. Div. 1997) ("Verbal `telephonic notice' to the selling agent of an insurance policy does not constitute the requisite notification in writing."); Hunt v. Galaxy Ins. Co., 636 N.Y.S.2d 194, 196 (App. Div. 1996) ("[T]elephonic contact with [the insurer's] agent does not satisfy [the policy's written notice] requirement. . . ."); Collins v. Isaksen, 633 N.Y.S.2d 539, 540 (App. Div. 1995) ("Even assuming that [the insured] orally notified [the insurer] of the accident [the day after it occurred], such oral notification did not constitute proper notice under the policy."); Travelers Ins. Co. v. Littleton, 630 N.Y.S.2d 353, 354 (App. Div. 1995) ("When the notice provision specifies that notice shall be in writing, other forms of notice will not suffice."); Shaw Temple A.M.E. Zion Church, 605 N.Y.S.2d at 371-72 ("[T]he policy requires written rather than oral notice. The nine-month delay in providing the written notice required by the policy was unreasonable as a matter of law. Accordingly, coverage under the policy was vitiated, and the appellant has no duty to defend or indemnify the plaintiff."); Elkowitz v. Farm Family Mut. Ins. Co., 579 N.Y.S.2d 740, 742 (App. Div. 1992) (dismissing insurance claim for improper notice, despite the fact that insured gave oral notice two weeks after the accident, because "an insurer is not obligated to pay the loss of its insured in the absence of timely notice of the loss in accordance with the terms of the policy"); Losi by Losi v. Hanover Ins. Co., 527 N.Y.S.2d 458, 458 (App. Div. 1988) ("The claim that oral notification at a high school function was timely notification under the circumstances is without merit. It is clear that such informal, casual conversation does not constitute proper notice under the policy provisions."); Jenkins v. Burgos, 472 N.Y.S.2d 373, 378 (App. Div. 1984) ("[T]he notice given to Allstate on the telephone shortly after the accident was insufficient because it was not written. . . .").

In Prudential Property Cas. Ins. v. Persaud, 682 N.Y.S.2d 412 (App. Div. 1998), the Appellate Division held that "under the particular facts of this case, . . . the plaintiff waived the policy's written notice requirement and that the oral notification of the claim constituted sufficient notice." Id. at 415. In that case, the insurer's "own records acknowledge[d] receipt of the notice, which included all of the information that was required by the policy to be provided in a written notice," and the insurer "assigned a claim number to the matter and began an investigation." Id. at 414. Here, by contrast, REI merely "discussed" with its broker "whether coverage would exist" for the AASP litigation (Pl.'s Mem. Ex. A-4 ¶ 5), and asked him "to determine whether REI's insurance policies provided coverage for the AASP action," ( id. ¶ 7). There is no evidence that REI provided any of the critical information regarding the AASP suit, such as the complaint. Nor is there any indication that Great American assigned a claim number to the matter and began an investigation. Accordingly, Persaud does not apply here, and Great American did not waive the Policy's written notice requirements.

Therefore, REI did not provide effective notice to Great American until at least September 30, 2008, when it provided Marshall Sterling a copy of AASP's complaint. (Def.'s 56.1 ¶ 15.) This was more than three months after June 27, 2008, when AASP notified REI of its suit. Based on these undisputed facts, the delay is unreasonable as a matter of New York law. See Am. Ins. Co. v. Fairchild Indus., Inc., 56 F.3d 435, 440 (2d Cir. 1995) ("Under New York law, delays for one or two months are routinely held `unreasonable.'"); Prof'l Prod. Research Inc. v. Gen. Star Indem. Co., 623 F. Supp. 2d 438, 445 (S.D.N.Y. 2008) ("[E]ven periods of delay as short as two months have been found to be unreasonable as a matter of law."); Myers v. Cigna Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 953 F. Supp. 551, 556-57 (S.D.N.Y. 1997) (finding sixty-day delay was not "as soon as practicable"); Heydt Contracting Corp. v. Am. Home Assurance Co., 536 N.Y.S.2d 770 (App. Div. 1989) (finding four month delay unreasonable as a matter of law); Deso v. London Lancashire Indem. Co. of Am., 143 N.E.2d 889 (N.Y. 1957) (finding fifty-one days unreasonably late as a matter of law). Indeed, REI has not cited a single case in which a court has held a three-month delay in providing written notice was reasonable.

2. Whether REI has a Valid Excuse for its Late Notice

REI will escape the consequences of its unreasonable delay if it offers a "valid excuse." Blank, 27 F.3d at 793. REI asserts that its delay is excused for three reasons. First, it claims it was "ignorant of its insurance coverage for the AASP litigation." (Pl.'s Resp. 5.) New York law excuses late notice where the insured demonstrates that its delay was caused by "justifiable ignorance of available insurance coverage." Seemann v. Sterling Ins. Co., 699 N.Y.S.2d 542, 543 (App. Div. 1999); see also Sparacino v. Pawtucket Mut. Ins. Co., 50 F.3d 141, 143 (2d Cir. 1995) ("[D]elay will be excused if the insured in good faith reasonably believes there is no policy coverage. . . .") (internal quotation marks omitted). But, "[t]o prevail on this theory, an insured must prove that he or she was ignorant of the available coverage, and that he or she made `reasonably diligent efforts to ascertain whether coverage existed.'" Mount Vernon Fire Ins. Co. v. Abesol Realty Corp., 288 F. Supp. 2d 302, 314 (E.D.N.Y. 2003) (quoting Winstead v. Uniondale Union Free Sch. Dist., 608 N.Y.S.2d 487, 489 (App. Div. 1994)). Moreover, where coverage is unclear, reasonable insurance-holders give notice. See Prof'l Prod. Research, 623 F. Supp. 2d at 446 ("The fact that `advertising injury' is an amorphous concept does not reasonably excuse delaying notice for so much as a day. Indeed, if `advertising injury' is difficult to define, it argues for giving notice at the first moment when a claim that might qualify is asserted.").

REI has submitted no evidence that it was ignorant of its insurance coverage, and it certainly has not suggested any circumstances that could justify a rational jury in finding that its ignorance was "reasonable." REI's moving papers devote just one sentence to its ignorance of coverage excuse, simply asserting that "REI was ignorant of its insurance coverage for the AASP litigation." (Pl.'s Resp. 5.) For support, REI cites "Ex. A-6, McCarey Aff. at ¶ 11," which merely states that Mr. McCarey "did not interpret the March 27, 2008 letter from Laurence Olive as requiring Rockland to notify Great American of the possibility of a claim," a fact that does not directly speak to whether or not REI was aware of its insurance coverage, and which in any case does not excuse the fifty-two days that REI delayed before asking its insurance broker about the possibility of coverage. See Fairchild, 56 F.3d at 440 ("Under New York law, delays for one or two months are routinely held `unreasonable.'").

The only case REI cites on this point, Seemann v. Sterling Ins. Co., 699 N.Y.S.2d 542 (App. Div. 1999), is readily distinguishable. There, the appellate division held that the insured met his burden of "demonstrat[ing] that he acted with due diligence in order to protect his own interest when he received a document which would have prompted any person of ordinary prudence to consult either an attorney or an insurance broker," because "upon receipt of the letter from the injured party's attorney, plaintiff promptly notified" his insurer. Id. at 543 (internal quotation marks, ellipsis, and citation omitted). But here, when REI received a copy of AASP's complaint — "a document which would have prompted any person of ordinary prudence to consult either an attorney or an insurance broker" — it did not consult its broker for fifty-two days and then, apparently, did nothing for another forty days while it waited for a response from its broker.

Second, REI argues that its late notice should be excused because "it was not, and still is not, at all clear who is Great American's New York agent for purposes of notice." (Pl.'s Resp. 6.) Yet, REI does not allege that it attempted to provide earlier notice, but was thwarted in its effort to ascertain the identity of a Great American agent who could accept such notice. Instead, REI's claim seems to be that Great American did not do enough to dispel REI's misperception that REI's broker, Marshall Sterling, was also Great American's agent. But, as noted above, even assuming, arguendo, that notice to Marshall Sterling could be effective, REI still failed to give effective notice under September 30, 2008, because it did not provide written notice to Marshall Sterling until then.

Third, REI argues that its late notice is excused because it had a reasonable, "`good-faith belief in its non-liability'" for the claims asserted by AASP. (Pl.'s Resp. 5 (quoting Crucible Materials Corp. v. Aetna Cas. Sur. Co., 228 F. Supp. 2d 182, 197 (N.D.N.Y. 2001)).) But, although such a belief might excuse REI from providing timely notice of an "`occurrence' or an offense which may result in a claim," it does not excuse REI from providing timely notice "[i]f a claim is made or `suit' is brought against" it. (Commercial Gen. Liab. Form § IV, 2.a, b (emphasis added).) This is because neither of the reasons for excusing an insured's late notice of an "occurrence" based on its belief in its non-liability, applies to late notice of a "claim."

First, as the Second Circuit has explained, "a notice of occurrence requirement is treated differently under New York law from a notice of claim requirement," because "the term `occurrence' . . . leaves room for differences of opinion as to whether a particular event is likely to lead to liability." Fairchild, 56 F.3d at 439 (citing New York v. Blank, 27 F.3d 783, 795-96 (2d Cir. 1994)). By contrast, "the term `claim'" is not "fertile ground for disputes" because a "claim" is simply "an assertion by a third party that in the opinion of that party the insured may be liable to it." Id. Whether an insured is liable for a claim has nothing to do with whether that claim has been asserted. See id. ("A notice of claim provision . . . focuses on the actions of third parties and may be triggered by an unreasonable — even sanctionable — assertion of liability.").

Second, courts excuse late notice of an occurrence because, otherwise, insureds would effectively be "required to notify insurers of every incident that poses even a remote possibility of liability," leaving insurers "swamped with notice of minor incidents that pose little danger of liability." Id. (internal quotation marks omitted). But, this "over-noticing" concern does not apply to notice of claims since "claims" are a far smaller class than "occurrences," and pose a far higher risk of liability for the insurer. This is especially true for polices that cover an insured's legal fees — like those at issue here and in Fairchild — because the mere filing of a claim, if it is covered by the policy, triggers the insurer's duty to pay for the insured's defense. Id. at 439 (noting that one harm of "vexatious litigants" is the need for the sued to notify their insurance carriers). Thus, the chances that an insurance company will incur at least some liability for a "claim" covered by the policy is not a "remote possibility," id., but a realistic possibility. It is therefore unsurprising that insurers have been abundantly clear that they desire notice of all "claims," not just meritorious claims. (Commercial Gen. Liab. Form § IV, 2.b.) Accordingly, the Second Circuit has held that "[a]n assertion of possible liability, no matter how baseless, is . . . all that is needed to trigger a notice of claim provision." Id.

Plaintiff asks this Court to ignore Fairchild in light of Reynolds Metal Co. v. Aetna Casualty Surety Co., 696 N.Y.S.2d 563 (App Div. 1999). (Pl.'s Resp. 5-6.) There, the Appellate Division expressly disagreed with Fairchild, finding "no reason why a failure to give a timely notice of claim should not be excused by an insured's good-faith belief in nonliability." Reynolds Metal Co., 696 N.Y.S.2d at 568. The court rejected Fairchild's distinction between notice of occurrence and notice of claim provisions because "[i]t appears illogical that insureds should be required to promptly notify insurers of every claim no matter how remote the possibility of liability or coverage but be excused from doing so if a reasonable evaluation of an occurrence yields the same conclusion." Id. In so holding, Reynolds relied heavily on the New York Court of Appeals' decision in Empire City Subway Co. v. Greater New York Mutual Insurance Co., 315 N.E.2d 755 (1974). There, the insured argued that its lengthy delay in providing notice of an occurrence and a claim was excused by its good faith belief in its non-liability. Id. at 756-57. Because the Court of Appeals found the insured's belief in its non-liability unreasonable, it rejected that excuse for providing late notice of the occurrence and the claim. Id. at 757-58. Still, the Reynolds court found it "significant that the [ Empire City] court considered the merits of the plaintiff's excuse instead of simply holding that any excuse for a failure to serve a notice of claim was irrelevant." Reynolds Metal Co., 696 N.Y.S.2d at 568.

Some courts within the Second Circuit apparently believe that Reynolds is sufficient justification to ignore the Second Circuit's ruling in Fairchild. See Ill. Nat. Ins. Co. v. Banc One Acceptance Corp., No. 05-CV-1260, 2008 WL 5423262, at *12 (N.D.N.Y. Dec. 29, 2008) (finding that "the doctrine of excuse, when reasonable, may also excuse a delay in notifying an insurer of a potential claim," because "the Third Department rejected the Second Circuit's interpretation of New York law and the Circuit's distinction between late notice of a claim and late notice of an occurrence" (citing Reynolds Metal Co., 696 N.Y.S.2d 563)); Crucible Materials Corp., 228 F. Supp. 2d at 197 ("In light of the Reynolds Metal decision and the Court of Appeal's willingness [in Empire City] to consider the excuse of non-liability in late notice of claim cases, this court finds that the doctrine of excuse applies in the instant case."); Mark A. Varrichio Assocs. v. Chi. Ins. Co., No. 01-CV-2737, 2001 WL 1524475, at *4 (S.D.N.Y. Nov. 29, 2001) (noting, in dicta, that "lower [New York State] courts have expressed implicit and explicit disagreement with the approach taken" by the Second Circuit in Fairchild (citing Reynolds, 696 N.Y.S.2d 563, and Strand v. Pioneer Ins. Co., 704 N.Y.S.2d 683 (App. Div. 2000))); cf. In re Ancillary Receivership of Reliance Ins. Co., 863 N.Y.S.2d 415, 420-21 (App. Div. 2008) (quoting Reynolds approvingly).

Still, others courts in the Second Circuit have followed Fairchild over Reynolds. See Travelers Cas. Sur. Co. v. Dormitory Auth.-State of N.Y., 07-CV-6915, 2008 WL 2567784, at *6 (S.D.N.Y. June 25, 2008) ("[A] good faith belief that a claim or suit against an insured that alleges damages within the scope of an insurance policy will not ultimately succeed does not relieve that insured of its obligation to provide notice of that claim or suit."); Mount Vernon Fire Ins. Co., 288 F. Supp. 2d at 314 ("Once an insured has been served with a summons and complaint . . . the insured can no longer claim a good faith belief in nonliability for the underlying occurrence."); Paul K. Rooney, P.C. v. Chi. Ins. Co., No. 00-CV-2335, 2001 WL 262703, at *10 (S.D.N.Y. Mar. 16, 2001) ("[T]here is no valid excuse under New York law for failing to give reasonable notice when there is an actual claim that triggers a notice of claim provision requiring immediate notice."); cf. Underwriters at Lloyd's of London v. 150 Nassau St. Billiards, Inc., 2003 WL 22999464, at *10 n. 4 ("Courts in the Second Circuit have . . . distinguished the two notice provisions and have questioned whether the failure to give notice of a claim can be excused by a belief in nonliability."

This Court sides with these latter decisions and elects to follow Fairchild rather than Reynolds. First, Empire City, upon which Reynolds relies heavily, was decided well before Fairchild. So, the Second Circuit in Fairchild apparently did not read Empire City as implicitly holding that a good faith belief in non-liability can excuse late notice of a claim. Indeed, Empire City could be read as holding only that the insured's belief in its nonliability was unreasonable, rather than resolving thorny issues involving the differences between notice of occurrence and notice of claim provisions. See Empire City, 315 N.E.2d at 758 (refusing to excuse an insured's late notice "[s]ince [the insured] has failed to offer any credible explanation for the 16-month delay in notifying [its insurer] of [the] claim"). Second, Reynolds's attack on Fairchild's distinction between notice of occurrences and claims is unpersuasive, as other judges in this District have noted. See Travelers Cas. Sur. Co., 2008 WL 2567784, at *6 n. 10 ("[The Reynolds] decision's conclusion that there is `no reason' to draw a distinction between claims and occurrences regarding notice requirements, is belied by [ Fairchild and Blank]." (quoting Reynolds Metal Co., 696 N.Y.S.2d at 568)); Paul K. Rooney, P.C., 2001 WL 262703, at *10 (noting that the rationale for excusing late notice of occurrences when the insured believes it is not liable is to avoid requiring notice where there is "little danger" of a claim being filed "by the insured against the insurer," and recognizing that "[o]nce there is a reasonable possibility that the policy will be involved, . . . this rationale is no longer applicable"). Accordingly, this Court follows the Second Circuit's decision in Fairchild and finds that REI's alleged good-faith belief that it was not liable for the claims asserted by AASP does not excuse REI's failure to provide timely notice of those claims to Great American. 3. Whether Great American Waived its Late Notice Defense

It is also worth noting that, even if the Court followed Reynolds, REI's non-liabilty excuse would fail because it has not offered any facts explaining why it believed it was not liable to AASP. In particular, neither of David McCarey's statements explain why he did not think REI was liable. Accordingly, REI has not raised a factual dispute over whether its belief in non-liability was reasonable.

REI contends that Great American waived its late notice defense. In its initial letter denying REI's claim, Great American stated that it denied the claim based both on REI's late notice, and on its belief that AASP's suit against REI was not covered by the policy. (Pl.'s Mem. Ex. A-7.) REI argues that by denying that REI's litigation costs were covered by the Policy, Great American waived any late notice defense it might have had. (Pl.'s Mem. 19.) For support, REI cites the Second Circuit's statement that "[i]t is established that a repudiation of liability by an insurer on the ground that the loss is not covered by the policy operates as a waiver of the notice requirements contained in the policy." H.S. Equities, Inc. v. Hartford Acc. Indem. Co., 661 F.2d 264, 270 (2d Cir. 1981).

There is language in several other cases, however, suggesting that, under New York law, an insurer only waives a late notice defense where it denies a claim solely on the ground that it is not covered by the policy, without mentioning the late notice defense. See, e.g., Rock Transp. Props. Corp. v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 433 F.2d 152, 153 (2d Cir. 1970) (finding that, because the defendant "specifically disclaimed liability under the policies on the sole ground" that damage resulted from normal wear and tear, the defendant "waived the notice requirement" (emphasis added)); In re Balfour Maclaine Int'l Ltd., 873 F. Supp. 862, 871 (S.D.N.Y. 1995) ("[E]ven if [the defendant's] late-notice defense has merit, we find that [it] waived this defense by failing to include it in its original declaratory judgment complaint. . . ."); Haslauer v. N. Country Adironack Co-op. Ins. Co., 654 N.Y.S.2d 447, 448 (App. Div. 1997) (finding that because defendant's "disclaimer was based solely on an alleged lack of coverage," it "waived the defenses of late notice or illegality" (emphasis added)); Ehrlich ex rel. Williams v. Aetna Cas. Sur. Co., 463 N.Y.S.2d 934, 938 (App. Div. 1983) (finding that insurer refused to pay insured " solely upon the ground of lack of coverage and thereby waiv[ed] its affirmative defense of late notice" (emphasis added)); Gen. Accident Ins. Group v. Cirucci, 403 N.Y.S.2d 773, 773 (App. Div. 1978) ("[Insurer,] in its original letter of disclaimer, failed to assert the alleged unreasonable delay . . . in giving notice of the occurrence. [Insurer] cannot now assert that delay as the basis for its disclaimer."), aff'd, 387 N.E.2ed 223 (N.Y. 1979); Appell v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 255 N.Y.S.2d 545, 547 (App. Div. 1964) ("[D]elay was waived by [insurer's] original disclaimer which was based primarily upon the ground of the [plaintiffs'] non-cooperation in violation of the terms of the policy, without mention of plaintiffs' delay in giving it notice of the accident."); cf. Ethicon, Inc. v. Aetna Cas. Sur. Co., 805 F. Supp. 203, 205 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) (finding that, under New Jersey law, the defendant did not "waive its late notice defense by including a denial of coverage among other reasons for denying coverage in its" letter). Moreover, REI has not pointed to a single case in which a court applying New York law has found that an insurer waived its late notice defense even though it raised that defense in its first, prompt denial letter.

Finding waiver only where an insurer fails to include a late notice defense in its claim denial — as opposed to also finding waiver where an insurer denies a claim both for lack of notice and lack of coverage — is consistent with the general rule that an insurer waives whatever defenses it does not include in its claim denial. See Luria Bros. Co., Inc. v. Alliance Assur. Co., 780 F.2d 1082, 1090 (2d Cir. 1986) ("It is settled that `[w]hen one specific ground of forfeiture is urged against the claim, and a refusal to pay is based upon a specific ground, all other grounds are waived.'" (quoting 16C Appleman Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice § 9260, at 393 (1981))); Middle E. Eng'g Dev. Co. v. Arkwright-Boston Mfrs. Mut. Ins. Co., No. 86-CV-834, 1987 WL 17419, at *2 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 16, 1987) ("Under the waiver doctrine, when an insurer refuses to pay a claim based on one ground that it specifically states, the insurer waives all other grounds for denying liability."); Gen. Accident Ins. Group v. Cirucci, 387 N.E.2d 223, 224 (N.Y. 1979) ("[T]he notice of disclaimer must promptly apprise the claimant with a high degree of specificity of the ground or grounds on which the disclaimer is predicated."); Elmuccio v. Allstate Ins. Co., 540 N.Y.S.2d 465, 467 (App. Div. 1989) (finding that "even if Allstate could have validly disclaimed based upon a late notice," its failure "to raise this ground in its disclaimer letter . . . precludes its consideration").

A contrary ruling would compel an insurer who receives late notice either to waive its late notice defense, or its defense on the merits. This might be a reasonable result if the H.S. Equities line of cases were based on the broader principle that insurers must show prejudice in order to deny coverage based on late notice. Indeed, as one Maryland case explained, if an insurer "would have declined the defense in any event based on its mistaken conclusion that there was no potential coverage[,] the insurer should not later be allowed to use the delay as a bar to reimbursing the insured for the reasonable expenses incurred in defending the covered claim." Sherwood Brands, Inc. v. Hartford Acc. Indem. Co., 698 A.2d 1078, 1086-87 (Md. 1977). But, because the prejudice rule followed in Maryland does not apply here, there is no logic compelling the rule urged by REI.

Indeed, lack of prejudice cannot be the rationale for the H.S. Equities rule since, until recently, New York has not required insurers to establish prejudice in order to state a late notice defense. See supra note 6. Instead, as H.S. Equities itself says explicitly, the rule it states is based on a concept of "waiver." 661 F.2d at 270. The law generally finds that a party "waives" a defense only where the party intentionally renounces it, or is deemed to renounce it based on its failure to raise it at the same time it specifically raises other defenses. See New York v. AMRO Realty Corp., 936 F.2d 1420, 1431 (2d Cir. 1991) ("In the insurance context, New York law defines waiver as `a voluntary and intentional relinquishment of a known right.' . . . An `implied waiver exists when there is an intention to waive unexpressed, but clearly to be inferred from circumstances.'") (citations and ellipses omitted). New York cases discuss the rule stated in H.S. Equities in similar terms, smacking of waiver. See id. at 1432 ("[The insurers'] assertion of several grounds for disclaimer without mentioning late notice, provides ample `evidence that the insurer intended to abandon that defense,'. . . . Indeed, . . . under New York law, the act by an insurer of disclaiming on certain grounds but not others is deemed conclusive evidence of the insurer's intent to waive the unasserted grounds." (quoting Commercial Union Ins. Co. v. Int'l Flavors Fragrances, Inc., 822 F.2d 267, 274 (2d Cir. 1987)). An insurance company cannot be said to have intended to waive a late notice defense that it explicitly raised in its claim denial, simply because it also denied the claim on the merits. Accordingly, the Court finds that Great American did not waive its late notice defense.

This holding can be squared with H.S. Equities's ostensibly categorical statement that "a repudiation of liability by an insurer on the ground that the loss is not covered by the policy operates as a waiver of the notice requirements," 661 F.2d at 270, if H.S. Equities is viewed as a futility, rather than a waiver, case. In H.S. Equities, the insurer had a "general position" that its policy did not cover third-party consumer suits. Id. at 271. This blanket "repudiation of liability on the ground that the loss is not covered by the policy" rendered notice of the loss futile, since the insurer already declared its intention not to cover it. Indeed, it appears that the Second Circuit views H.S. Equities as a futility case. See Olin Corp. v. Ins. Co. of N. Am., 221 F.3d 307, 329 (2d Cir. 2000) ("Under the rule of H.S. Equities, where an insured becomes aware of a general practice of its insurer to deny coverage for a particular type of claim on a particular basis, the insured is relieved of the obligation to continue to give futile notification as to such claims." (emphasis added)). H.S. Equities is also rendered consistent with New York cases implying that a late notice defense is waived only where "disclaimer [is] based solely on an alleged lack of coverage," Haslauer, 654 N.Y.S.2d at 448, when it is remembered that those cases dealt with waiver of "the defense[] of late notice," id. (emphasis added), whereas H.S. Equities involved "waiver of the notice requirements," H.S. Equities, 661 F.2d at 270 (emphasis added). That is, where, as in H.S. Equities, an insured is aware that an insurer has a general policy of denying certain claims, it makes sense to hold that the insured is not required to give notice. By contrast, where the insured fails to give the notice that he or she was admittedly required to give, the question is whether the insurer waived its defense based on that violation of the notice requirement. Consistent with H.S. Equities and Olin, this is particularly true here, where REI does not allege that Great American had a general position of denying coverage in cases like that brought against REI. See Olin, 221 F.3d at 329 (noting that under H.S. Equities, insured is relieved of notice obligations where insured's knowledge of insurer's general practice makes notice futile). The Court holds that a late notice defense is waived only where the insurer fails to raise it in its claims denial.

III. Conclusion

For the reasons stated herein, the Court denies REI's motion for partial summary judgment and grants Great American's cross-motion for summary judgment because of REI's unreasonable and unexcused delay in notifying Great American of the AASP's suit. The Clerk of the Court is respectfully directed to terminate the pending motion (Dkt. No. 38), enter judgment for Defendant, and close this case.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: September 29, 2010

White Plains, New York

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

ROCKLAND EXPOSITION, INC. v. GREAT AMERICAN ASSUR (S.D.N.Y. 9-29-2010)
(Sep 29, 2010)