DECISION AND JUDGMENT ENTRY
HARSHA, J.
{¶ 1} After C.W. entered an admission to two counts of rape, the Adams County Common Pleas Court, Juvenile Division adjudicated him a delinquent child and committed him to the custody of the Ohio Department of Youth Services ("DYS"). Upon his release from DYS custody, the court classified C.W. as a Tier III juvenile sex offender. C.W. now appeals that decision.
{¶ 2} C.W. contends that the trial court erred under Juv. R. 4(B) by not appointing him a guardian ad litem to protect his interests at the classification hearing because he had no parent, guardian, or legal custodian to do so. We agree. C.W. qualified as a "child" within the meaning of the rule and the hearing constituted a "juvenile court proceeding." Even if C.W. had a parent, guardian, or legal custodian (at the time of the hearing), that person was never notified of the hearing and thus did not appear to protect C.W.'s interests. Therefore, the court should have appointed a guardian ad litem. Accordingly, we reverse the judgment classifying C.W. as a Tier III juvenile sex offender and remand this matter to the juvenile court.
{¶ 3} This decision renders moot C.W.'s additional claims that 1.) R.C. 2151.281(A) also required appointment of a guardian ad litem; 2.) the juvenile court made various errors in its classification judgment entry; 3.) the juvenile court did not address certain mandatory factors or consider certain evidence when it classified him; 4.) counsel rendered ineffective assistance at the classification hearing; 5.) his classification under Senate Bill 10 violated his right to equal protection under the law as guaranteed by the United States and Ohio Constitutions; 6.) the retroactive application of Senate Bill 10 to him violated the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution and the Retroactivity Clause of the Ohio Constitution.
I. Facts
{¶ 4} In 2005, the Adams County Sheriffs Office filed complaints against C.W., then age 14, in case numbers 20052003 and 20052004, which have been consolidated for purposes of this appeal. The complaints alleged that C.W. committed two counts of rape and two counts of gross sexual imposition. C.W. entered an admission to both counts of rape, each a first-degree felony if committed by an adult, and the court dismissed the gross sexual imposition charges along with charges in other cases unrelated to this appeal. The court adjudicated C.W. a delinquent child. After the dispositional hearing, the court committed C.W. to the custody of DYS for a minimum period of two years and a maximum period not to exceed his 21st birthday. The court ordered that a hearing would be held for purposes of classifying C.W. as a juvenile sex offender registrant upon his release from DYS.
{¶ 5} In April 2008, the court held the classification hearing and signed an "Explanation of Duties to Register as a Juvenile Offender Registrant" form in which the court classified C.W. as a Tier III registrant, not subject to community notification. However, in June 2008 the court vacated this classification because C.W.'s hearing occurred before his release from DYS. Subsequently, C.W. was released from DYS custody, but he later returned after a parole violation. Prior to the parole violation, the classification hearing had been delayed after the trial court granted C.W.'s various requests for continuances, motion for a competency evaluation, and request for a stay of the classification hearing.
{¶ 6} Ultimately, the court held a classification hearing in March 2010 when C.W. was again released from DYS custody. C.W. was 19 at the time of the hearing. After the hearing, the court classified C.W. as a Tier III juvenile sex offender registrant, not subject to community notification. This appeal followed.
The trial court's classification entry mistakenly states that C.W. was 18 at the time of the hearing.
II. Assignments of Error
{¶ 7} C.W. assigns the following errors for our review:
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR I
The Trial Court Committed Plain Error When it Failed to Appoint a Guardian ad Litem for [C.W.] in Violation of Ohio Revised Code Section 2151.281(A)(1) and Juvenile Rule 4(B)(1). (March 3, 2010, T.pp. 2-59); (A-55).
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR II
The Adams County Juvenile Court abused its discretion when it entered an order that does not reflect the findings and the mandatory requirements for a juvenile sex offender classification hearing. (A-55); (March 3, 2010, T.pp. 2-59); R.C. 2152.83(B).
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR III
The Adams County Juvenile Court abused its discretion when it classified
[C.W.] as a Tier III juvenile sex offender registrant, without considering information concerning the factors in R.C. 2152.83(B) and (D) to support its finding that finding. (A-55); (March 3, 2010, T.pp. 2-59).
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR IV
[C.W.] was denied the effective assistance of counsel when trial counsel failed to present any evidence to show that [C.W.] had successfully completed juvenile sex offender treatment, and failed to apprise the court of its duty under R.C. 2152.83(B)(2) to consider the effectiveness of [C.W.'s] disposition and treatment provided before it determined that [C.W.] was to be classified as a juvenile sex offender registrant. This failure led the court to classify [C.W.], who was a discretionary registrant, as a tier III juvenile offender registrant. (March 3, 2010, T.pp. 2-38); (A-55).
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR V
The trial court erred when it applied Senate Bill 10 to [C.W.], as the law violates his right to equal protection under the law.
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution; Article I, Section 2 of the Ohio Constitution. (A-55); (March 3, 2010, T.pp. 2-59).
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR IV
The retroactive application of Senate Bill 10 to [C.W.] violates the Ex Post Facto clause of the United States Constitution and the retroactivity clause of Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution. (A-55); (March 3, 2010, T.pp. 2-59).
III. Failure to Appoint Guardian Ad Litem
{¶ 8} In his first assignment of error, C.W. contends that the trial court violated Juv. R. 4(B) and R.C. 2151.281(A) when it failed to appoint him a guardian ad litem for purposes of the classification hearing. The state contends that C.W. was not entitled to a guardian ad litem because he was 19 at the time of the classification hearing and therefore not a "child" within the meaning of these provisions.
{¶ 9} Juv. R. 4(B) states in relevant part: "The court shall appoint a guardian ad litem to protect the interests of a child or incompetent adult in a juvenile court proceeding when: (1) The child has no parents, guardian, or legal custodian; (2) The interests of the child and the interests of the parent may conflict[.]" Because this rule is mandatory, the failure of a court to appoint a guardian ad litem when required under it constitutes reversible error. In re Slider, 160 Ohio App.3d 159, 2005-Ohio-1457, 826 N.E.2d 356, at ¶ 9. Whether Juv. R. 4(B) imposes a mandatory duty upon the court to appoint a guardian ad litem and whether the court failed to discharge that duty constitute questions of law we review de novo. See In re A.G.B., 173 Ohio App.3d 263, 2007-Ohio-4753, 878 N.E.2d 49, at ¶ 11, citing Cleveland Elec. Illuminating Co. v. Pub. Utilities Comm. of Ohio, 76 Ohio St.3d 521, 1996-Ohio-298, 668 N.E.2d 889.
{¶ 10} Undoubtedly the classification hearing constituted a "juvenile court proceeding" within the meaning of Juv. R. 4(B). Moreover, C.W. does not argue that he qualifies as an "incompetent adult," so we initially must determine whether he qualifies as a "child" within the meaning of the rule. As used in the Juvenile Rules, the term "child" has "the same meaning as in sections 2151.011 and 2152.02 of the Revised Code." Juv. R. 2(D).
{¶ 11} R.C. 2151.011(B)(5) defines a child as "a person who is under eighteen years of age, except that the juvenile court has jurisdiction over any person who is adjudicated an unruly child prior to attaining eighteen years of age until the person attains twenty-one years of age, and, for purposes of that jurisdiction related to that adjudication, a person who is so adjudicated an unruly child shall be deemed a `child' until the person attains twenty-one years of age." C.W. admits that he was 19 years old at the time the classification hearing occurred. However, C.W. was adjudicated a delinquent child, not an unruly child, so the unruly child provision in the definition does not apply. See R.C. 2151.011(B)(12) and R.C. 2152.02(F) (defining a delinquent child); R.C. 2151.022 (defining an unruly child). Therefore, C.W. does not meet the definition of a "child" under R.C. 2151.011(B)(5).
{¶ 12} Next, we must evaluate R.C. 2152.02 to determine whether C.W. meets the definition of a "child" under that statute. Relevant here are former R.C. 2152.02(C)(1) and (6):
R.C. 2152.02(C) was amended, effective June 17, 2010, to add provision (C)(7) to the statute.
As used in [Chapter 2152 of the Revised Code]:
(C)(1) "Child" means a person who is under eighteen years of age, except as otherwise provided in divisions (C)(2) to (6) of this section.
* * *
(6) The juvenile court has jurisdiction over a person who is adjudicated a delinquent child or juvenile traffic offender prior to attaining eighteen years of age until the person attains twenty-one years of age, and, for purposes of that jurisdiction related to that adjudication, except as otherwise provided in this division, a person who is so adjudicated a delinquent child or juvenile traffic offender shall be deemed a "child" until the person attains twenty-one years of age. * * *
{¶ 13} C.W. was over 18 at the time of the classification hearing. However, he was adjudicated a delinquent child prior to turning 18 and had not yet turned 21. Therefore, under R.C. 2152.02(C)(6), C.W. would qualify as a "child" for purposes of determining the juvenile court's jurisdiction. Moreover, the Supreme Court of Ohio has rejected the argument that a person who meets the requirements of this provision qualifies as a "child"
solely for the purpose of evaluating the court's jurisdiction.
In re Andrew, 119 Ohio St.3d 466, 2008-Ohio-4791,
895 N.E.2d 166, at ¶ 6. The Court has found that "the second clause of (C)(6) means that when a juvenile court is exercising jurisdiction over a person adjudicated a delinquent child pursuant to the matter for which
the person was adjudicated delinquent, the person adjudicated delinquent
shall be treated as a child until he reaches the age of 21." Id. (Emphasis added.) In
Andrew, the appellant was adjudicated a delinquent child but had a parole-violation hearing after he turned 18. Id. at ¶ 1. The Supreme Court concluded that under R.C. 2152.02(C)(6), he qualified as a "child" and therefore could not waive his right to counsel at the parole-violation hearing because he had not been counseled by a parent, custodian, or guardian or consulted with an attorney. Id. at ¶¶ 7-8. Similarly, we conclude that the second clause of R.C. 2152.02(6) means that C.W. should be treated as a child for purposes of the guardianship provision in Juv. R. 4(B). See Juv. R. 2(D).
{¶ 14} Next, we must consider whether under Juv. R. 4(B) one of the conditions that required appointment of a guardian ad litem existed. C.W.'s mother, K.B., was identified in the delinquency complaints but his father was not. K.B. was served with a complaint and summons in both cases. Prior to the first hearing, K.B. sent the court a handwritten note stating that she was "waiving [her] right to be at [C.W.'s] hearing." At the hearing, the court indicated that it had learned that K.B. was in jail and planned to appoint C.W. a guardian ad litem. K.B. did appear at the remainder of the hearings up to and including the dispositional hearing. However, the court still appointed C.W. a guardian ad litem. K.B. told the court that she did not know where C.W.'s father was.
{¶ 15} K.B. and the guardian ad litem appeared at the first classification hearing in April 2008. Because C.W. was under 18 at that time, the court expressed concern that upon his release, a parent, custodian or guardian could be held legally responsible if C.W. failed to comply with his registration requirements. Therefore, the court purported to "emancipate" C.W. at that time but never filed an entry to that effect. After this hearing, neither K.B. nor the guardian ad litem appeared for any other hearings related to C.W.'s case. At an October 14, 2008 hearing, the court inquired about the whereabouts of C.W.'s mother. The court noted that while K.B. was incarcerated, the court was able to secure her appearance by issuing warrants to convey, but the court indicated it no longer knew her whereabouts. C.W. told the court that she was "living with some friends and stuff right now" and that he did not know her address. In November 2009, C.W.'s guardian ad litem filed a motion to withdraw because C.W. "ha[d] been sentenced and [the guardian's] services [were] completed." The court granted the motion. Although C.W. was represented by counsel at the March 2010 classification hearing, C.W. no longer had a guardian ad litem. The fact that C.W. was represented by counsel at the hearing does not absolve the court of its duty to appoint a guardian if required under the rule. In re Wilson, Washington App. No. 04CA26, 2004-Ohio-7276, at ¶ 19.
{¶ 16} The record provides no indication that C.W.'s mother, who did not appear at the March 2010 hearing, was ever notified of the hearing. There is no evidence that either the court or C.W. learned of K.B.'s whereabouts after the October 14, 2008 hearing. Thus, the court can hardly be faulted for not providing notice to her. But, without her appearance, C.W. had no parent to protect his interests at the hearing. See Juv. R. 4(B)(1). It is also possible based upon C.W.'s earlier comments that he did not know his mother's address, that she may have abandoned his interests, and was no longer willing to act on his behalf. If so, this represents a conflict between C.W. and his mother under Juv. R. 4(B)(2) and requires the appointment of a guardian ad litem. At a minimum, the court should have inquired about the absence of C.W.'s mother and the nature of their current relationship.
{¶ 17} Because C.W.'s interests at the classification hearing were not protected by a parent or a guardian ad litem as required by Juv. R. 4(B)(1) or (2), we sustain C.W.'s first assignment of error in part. We need not address C.W.'s additional claim that R.C. 2151.281(A) also required appointment of a guardian ad litem. Accordingly, we reverse the juvenile court's judgment classifying C.W. as a Tier III juvenile sex offender and remand this matter to the juvenile court for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.
{¶ 18} This decision renders moot C.W.'s remaining assignments of error in which he contends that: 1.) the juvenile court made various errors in its classification judgment entry; 2.) the juvenile court did not address certain mandatory factors or consider certain evidence when it classified him; 3.) counsel rendered ineffective assistance at the classification hearing; 4.) his classification under Senate Bill 10 violated his right to equal protection under the law as guaranteed by the United States and Ohio Constitutions; 5.) the retroactive application of Senate Bill 10 to him violated the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution and the Retroactivity Clause of the Ohio Constitution. Thus, we need not address those arguments. See App. R. 12(A)(1)(c).
JUDGMENT REVERSED AND CAUSE REMANDED.
JUDGMENT ENTRY
It is ordered that the JUDGMENT IS REVERSED and that the CAUSE IS REMANDED. Appellee shall pay the costs.
The Court finds there were reasonable grounds for this appeal.
It is ordered that a special mandate issue out of this Court directing the Adams County Common Pleas Court, Juvenile Division, to carry this judgment into execution.
Any stay previously granted by this Court is hereby terminated as of the date of this entry.
A certified copy of this entry shall constitute the mandate pursuant to Rule 27 of the Rules of Appellate Procedure. Exceptions.
Abele, J. Kline, J.: Concur in Judgment and Opinion.
nable conflicting interpretations. For this reason, the court is required to construe the ambiguity strictly against the insurer and in favor of coverage.
See Bradshaw v. Chandler, 916 N.E.2d 163, 166
(Ind. 2009). Accordingly, the court is persuaded that the intentions or expectations of the negligent insured control the determination of whether an "occurrence" implicating coverage arises in a particular case. Thus, in the present case the allegations of negligence against the Bowers reveal that an "occurrence" implicating American Family's duty
to defend has arisen. American Family's Second Motion for Summary Judgment is therefore DENIED.
Other courts addressing this issue have imputed the words "from the standpoint of the insured" into the definition of an "accident" where the policy does not contain such a provision, see Farmland Mut. Ins. Co. v. Scruggs, 886 So.2d 714, 719 (Miss. 2004) (adding the phrase "from the standpoint of the insured" to the definition of "accident."), or have resorted to the common meaning of "accident" and held that whether there is an accident must be evaluated from the standpoint of the insured. Allstate Ins. Co. v. McCarn, 645 N.W.2d 20, 23 (Mich. 2002). Moreover in Safeco Ins. Co, the Ohio Supreme Court recently reaffirmed its prior holdings that "liability coverage hinges on whether the act is intentional from the perspective of the person seeking coverage . . . the intentions of the molester are immaterial to determining whether the allegedly negligent party has coverage." Safeco, 913 N.E. 2d at 432.
II. Exclusions
American Family asserts that even if an "occurrence" under the insuring clause creates coverage, a host of exclusion provisions apply, all of which preclude coverage for the Bowers in the underlying state suit.
Generally, "insurers are free to limit coverage; however, all exceptions, limitations and exclusions must be plainly expressed. An exclusionary clause must clearly and unmistakably express the particular act or omission that will bring the exclusion into play." Wells v. Auto Owners Ins. Co., 864 N.E.2d 356, 358 (Ind.Ct.App. 2007) (citing Jackson v. Jones, 804 N.E.2d 155, 158 (Ind.Ct.App. 2004)). The court now examines each of the exclusions.
A. Sexual Molestation, Intentional Acts, and Violation of Law Exclusions
In Count II of her amended state court complaint, Butler asserts that the Bowers were aware of the danger from Jonathan but did not intervene to stop the molestation. American Family asserts that by virtue of these allegations, the Bowers's claim is excluded under one or all of the following exclusions: (1) the sexual molestation exclusion; (2) the intentional acts exclusion; and (3) the violation of law exclusion. Because each of these exclusions beg the question of whether they apply with the same force to innocent co-insureds as they would to a perpetrator, the court considers them in tandem.
All three exclusion preclude claims for bodily injury arising out of the particular excluded act:
Section II — Exclusions 1. Abuse. We will not cover bodily injury or property damage arising out of or resulting from any actual or alleged: a. sexual molestation or contact; . . . 10. Intentional Injury. We will not cover bodily injury or property damage caused intentionally by or at the direction of any insured even if the actual bodily injury or property damage is different than that which was expected or intended from the standpoint of any insured. 17. Violation of Law. We will not cover bodily injury or property damage arising out of: a. violation of any criminal law for which any insured is convicted According to American Family, there is no question that Butler's claims for battery and emotional distress arise from an intentional act of sexual molestation by Jonathan, or, alternatively, from Jonathan's criminal act. Thus, American Family seizes upon these undisputed facts to assert that because Butler's claims against Jonathan are clearly foreclosed by the above exclusions, so too, are her claims against the Bowers.
In response, the Bowers first point to evidentiary materials from the state court case which they argue demonstrate that the undisputed evidence is that the Bowers were unaware of the sexual molestation occurring to Butler. ( See Response Brief, p. 2 and deposition citations therein). According to the deposition testimony cited, both Butler and Jonathan indicate that the Bowers had no actual knowledge of the molestation. Thus, the Bowers contend that the factual underpinnings of the claim demonstrate that the case is solely one of negligent supervision. Because the claims against them are ones of negligence and the parties agree that they did not commit a criminal act, the Bowers assert there is an open question of Indiana law as to whether they are precluded by any of the above three exclusions.
The insurer may go beyond the face of the complaint and refuse to defend based upon the factual underpinnings of the claims against its insured. Cincinnati Ins. Co. v. Mallon. 409 N.E.2d 1100, 1105 (Ind. Ct.App. 1980). "Accordingly, in evaluating the factual basis of a claim and the insurer's concomitant duty to defend, this court may properly consider the evidentiary materials offered by the parties to show coverage." Trisler, 575 N.E.2d at 1023. When the underlying factual basis of the complaint, even if proved true, would not result in liability under the insurance policy, the insurance company can properly refuse to defend. Mallon, 409 N.E.2d at 1105 (citing 7C John A. Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice, § 4683). "It is the nature of the claim and not its merits that determines the duty to defend." Terre Haute First National Bank v. Pac. Employers Ins. Co., 634 N.E.2d 1336, 1339 (Ind.Ct.App. 1993); Mallon, 409 N.E.2d at 1105.
American Family agrees that there is no direct Indiana case addressing the question of whether any of the above clauses excludes coverage for an innocent co-insured. Other jurisdictions addressing the issue have come to opposing views. Compare Hingham Mut. Fire Ins. Co. v. Smith, 865 N.E.2d 1168 (Mass.App. 2007); Philbrick v. Liberty Mut. Fire Ins. Co. 934 A.2d 582, 585 (N.H., 2007); American Commerce Ins. Co. v. Porto, 811 A.2d 1185, 1196 (R.I. 2002) ("if the alleged sexual molestation is a cause of the claimed bodily injuries, then the existence of other alleged negligence claims and proximate causes is of no moment-the bodily injuries alleged are causally connected to or `arise out of' the sexual molestation, and are thereby excluded from coverage"); Allstate Ins. Co. v. Bates, 185 F.Supp.2d 607, 613 (E.D.N.C. 2000) (excluding coverage for negligent co-insureds reasoning that "[w]ithout the molestation there would be no injury and thus, no basis for the negligence claim"); with U.S. Fidelity Guar. Co. v. Open Sesame Child Care Ctr., 819 F.Supp. 756, 760 (N.D.Ill. 1993) ("In refusing to separate the employer's alleged negligence from the employee's intentional conduct, [other] courts impermissibly ignored the employer's independent acts which gave rise to the alleged tort"); Silverball Amusement, Inc. v. Utah Home Fire Ins. Co., 842 F.Supp 1151, 1159-1165 ("an insurer must provide coverage and a legal defense to an insured where a complaint alleges that an employer was negligent in hiring and supervision of an employee who subsequently committed an intentional tort. An insurance policy would require an exceedingly precise exclusionary clause to avoid that fundamental principle, and there is no such clause in the instant case"); St. Paul Fire Marine Insurance Co. v. Schrum, 149 F.3d 878 (8th Cir. 1998); Doe v. Shaffer, 738 N.E.2d 1243 (Ohio 2000), C.P. v. Allstate Ins. Co., 996 P.2d 1216, 1225-1226 (Alaska 2000) ("From the perspective of insureds whose acts are alleged to have negligently, but not criminally or intentionally, been a cause of a claimant's injury, these exclusions do not apply to the negligence claims against them"); and Safeco Insurance, 913 N.E.2d at 434-436 (concluding that because the insured were held separately liable for their own actions, "which were neither intentional nor illegal;" the injuries they caused were distinct from the injuries caused by another insured's intentional and illegal acts. Therefore, "the intentional-act and illegal-act policy exclusions do not apply to the negligence claims."); Frankenmuth Mut. Ins. Co. v. Williams, 690 N.E.2d 675, 678-680 (the intentional-act exclusion does not apply to negligent co-insured's conduct).
The court acknowledges that not each of these cases specifically deals with all three exclusions in tandem as the undersigned has done here. However, what the cases do demonstrate is that insurers often rely upon a combination of these exclusions, as here, and present similar arguments as the ones presented here.
In examining these sets of cases there appear to be two lines of reasoning applied by the various courts. In cases where courts determine that the sexual molestation or intentional act exclusions preclude coverage for all related claims, the courts have reasoned that without the molestation, the allegations of negligence would not have surfaced and thus, the injury would not have occurred. Thus, these courts conclude that the injuries from the negligent conduct related to an intentional tort are inextricably intertwined with the injuries arising from the intentional or illegal act. See Safeco Ins., 913 N.E.2d at 435 (discussing opposing view).
The line of authority reaching the opposite conclusion reasons that negligent supervision and negligent entrustment torts are separate in nature and create distinct injuries from the molestation itself. In Frankenmuth, the Indiana Supreme Court concluded that the insurer could not rely on the intentional acts exclusion because the insured's negligence caused a separate injury from the intentional act of another insured, i.e., the negligent supervision injured the plaintiff by creating an increased exposure to the risk of molestation which "must be considered separately from the injuries resulting from the molestation itself." Frankenmuth, 690 N.E.2d at 679. See also, U.S. Fidelity Guar. Co., 819 F.Supp. at 760 ("In refusing to separate the employer's alleged negligence from the employee's intentional conduct, [other] courts impermissibly ignored the employer's independent acts which gave rise to the alleged tort"); St. Paul Fire Marine Ins., 149 F.3d at 880-881 (applying Missouri law and noting that the intentional tort was "merely incidental" to the negligent-supervision claim, making the negligence a separate and nonexcluded cause of the victim's injuries); Bd. of Public Edn. of the School Dist. of Pittsburgh v. Natl. Union Fire Ins. Co. 709 A.2d 910, 916-917 (Pa.Super 1998) ("Where it is alleged that negligence allowed a crime to occur, does the claim against the negligent arise from the negligence or from the criminality? We believe it is the former").
In light of the absence of controlling Indiana authority, American Family attempts to circumvent the issue of whether the Bowers can be liable despite their status as innocent co-insured altogether by making an alternative argument that the exclusions for intentional and criminal acts apply to acts by "any insured." Since Jonathan was an insured under the Policies, they contend that any intentional or criminal acts by him exclude coverage for his parents. It follows then, that if this language in the intentional or criminal acts exclusions applies to preclude coverage, it matters not whether the Bowers are innocent co-insureds under any of the exclusions.
It is true that a review of the intentional acts and violation of law exclusions in the Policies state that the Policies do not cover "bodily injury . . . caused intentionally by. . . . any insured . . . even if the actual bodily injury or property damage is different than that which was expected or intended from the standpoint of any insured' or "bodily injury . . . arising out of . . . violation of any criminal law for which any insured is convicted." (See Policy Exclusions, #s 10, 17). Yet, as the Bowers point out, there also exists in the Policies the severability clause which requires each insured to be considered separately. Thus, they contend that the severability clause cannot be reconciled with the "any insured" language of the intentional and criminal acts exclusions when the severability clause demands that the insurance applies separately to each insured.
As with the initial inquiry as to whether negligent acts of co-insureds are barred by the exclusions, there is no direct Indiana law discussing this issue. Moreover, there is also a split of authority in other jurisdictions as to whether the language "any insured" American Family utilizes throughout its policies bars the Bowers from a defense when the policy also contains a severability provision. Compare McCauley Enters. v. N.H. Ins. Co., 716 F.Supp. 718, 721 (D.Conn. 1989) (holding that an exclusion referencing "any insured" barred recovery of losses by an innocent co-insured); Michael Carbone, Inc. v. Gen. Accident Ins. Co., 937 F.Supp. 413, 423 (E.D.Pa. 1996) (holding that an exclusion phrased "any insured" precluded coverage despite a severability clause); Chacon v. Am. Family Mut. Ins. Co., 788 P.2d 748, 752 (Colo. 1990) (holding that an exclusion for the intentional acts of "any insured" precluded a negligent supervision claim despite a severability clause); Oaks v. Dupuy, 653 So.2d 165, 168 (La.Ct.App. 1995) (concluding that a severability clause did not alter the scope of an exclusion clause phrased in terms of "any insured"); Am. Family Mut. Ins. Co. v. Copeland-Williams, 941 S.W.2d 625, 629 (Mo.Ct.App. 1997) ("The use of the phrase `any insured' makes the exclusionary clause unambiguous even in light of the severability clause."); Am. Family Mut. Ins. Co. v. Moore, 912 S.W.2d 531, 533-35 (Mo.Ct.App. 1995) (holding that a severability clause did not negate an exclusion for damages "arising out of business pursuits of any insured . . . by an insured"); Northwest G.F. Mut. Ins. Co. v. Norgard, 518 N.W.2d 179, 180, 184 (N.D. 1994) (holding that an exclusion for sexual molestation by "an insured, an insured's employee or any other person involved" precluded coverage for a negligent supervision claim against another insured, notwithstanding a severability clause); Great Cent. Ins. Co. v. Roemmich, 291 N.W.2d 772, 774 (S.D. 1980) (finding no ambiguity in the term "any insured" in an exclusionary clause, even when interpreted with a severability of insurance provision); Caroff v. Farmers Ins. Co. of Wash., 989 P.2d 1233, 1237 (Wash. App. 1999) (holding that exclusions of coverage for injury arising out of child molestation by "any insured" precluded coverage despite general severability clauses); Taryn E.F. v. Joshua M.C., 505 N.W.2d 418, 421 (Wis.App. 1993) (holding that an exclusionary clause referencing "any insured" precluded coverage even when read with a severability clause); with Am. Ins. Co. v. AV S, 145 F.3d 1224, 1229 (10th Cir. 1998) ("[T]he term `any insured' in an exclusion clause in a policy that also contains a severability clause does not exclude coverage for all insureds when only one insured is at fault."); Transp. Indem. Co. v. Wyatt, 417 So.2d 568, 571 (Ala. 1982) (applying a severability clause and finding the term "any insured" in an exclusion ambiguous); Premier Ins. Co. v. Adams, 632 So.2d 1054, 1057 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App. 1994) (holding that a severability clause limited an exclusion for intentional acts by "any insured" to exclude coverage only for the insured who intentionally caused the injury); Brumley v. Lee, 963 P.2d 1224, 1228 (Kan. 1998) (holding that a severability clause afforded each insured his or her own policy despite an exclusionary intentional act clause referencing "any insured"); Worcester Mut. Ins. Co. v. Marnell, 496 N.E.2d 158, 161 (Mass. 1986) (interpreting a severability clause to nullify a motor vehicle exclusion despite the exclusion's "any insured" language); Am. Nat'l Fire Ins. Co. v. Estate of Fournelle, 472 N.W.2d 292, 295 (Minn. 1991) (stating that a severability clause provided for separate coverage to named insureds despite a household exclusion applying to "any insured").
Under the doctrine of Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938), a federal court sitting in diversity is bound by state substantive law. Where, as here, the parties assert there is no controlling state law, the court has the obligation to apply the law of the state as it believes the highest court of the state would apply it if presented with the issue. See Lexington Ins. Co. v. Rugg Knopp, Inc., 165 F.3d 1087, 1090 (7th Cir. 1999).
The undersigned contemplated at great length certifying these issues to the Indiana Supreme Court. However, pursuant to Indiana Appellate Rule 64, a federal district court may certify a question of Indiana law to the Indiana Supreme Court when "it appears to the federal court that a proceeding presents an issue of state law that is determinative of the case and on which there is no clear controlling Indiana precedent." [emphasis added]. Here, because American Family has asserted additional exclusions outside of the three for which there is no clear Indiana precedent, the resolution of the certified questions by the Indiana Supreme Court would not determine the case. There would remain genuine issues of material fact as to whether additional exclusions would apply. Thus, the undersigned decided the issues as the court believes Indiana's Supreme Court would in accordance with Erie.
Here, the Court's review of the cases demonstrates that the Indiana Supreme Court has provided some guidance (albeit not on facts identical to the present case but not far removed), as to Indiana's position on issues such as the one in this case. In Frankenmuth Mutual, a minor child was molested by her babysitter's husband. 690 N.E.2d at 676. The victim and her mother pursued a civil battery claim against the molester. Neither the babysitter, White, nor her husband officially notified their homeowners's carrier, Frankenmuth, of the claim, although Frankenmuth was generally aware of the litigation and sent a reservation of rights letter. Frankenmuth sent a letter to the attorney who represented the babysitter and her husband, indicating that there was no coverage afforded for damages resulting from the molestation of a child and requesting copies of the lawsuit filings so that it could determine if it had a duty to defend. Frankenmuth refused to defend White and eventually she entered into a consent judgment with the plaintiff. The Plaintiff's attorney then sought to execute a judgment against Frankenmuth pursuant to the Homeowner's policy.
Frankenmuth moved for summary judgment arguing, among other things, that the claim was excluded from the policy because the injuries had resulted from the intentional acts committed by the babysitter's husband. Frankenmuth, 690 N.E.2d at 677. In response, the Indiana Supreme Court concluded:
Frankenmuth's intentional act arguments are essentially an attempt to conflate the conduct of White with that of her husband in order to bring the consent judgment within the intentional act exclusion. The fundamental problem with this strategy is that [the plaintiff] never alleged that White engaged in any intentional conduct or participated in the molestation. [The plaintiff's] complaint accused White of only negligent supervision, which supposedly exposed [the plaintiff] to the risk that White's husband would molest [the plaintiff].
Id. at 678. The court went on to hold that intentional act exclusion does not apply to White's alleged negligence. Id.
Notably, Frankenmuth does not involve the sexual molestation or criminal acts exclusions and focuses solely on the intentional acts exclusion in that particular policy. However, American Family makes no argument that the fundamental principle relied upon by the Indiana Supreme Court, i.e., that insurance policy exclusions that preclude coverage for intentional or illegal acts do not preclude coverage for the negligent actions of other insureds under the same policy, would not equally apply here. And, based upon the facts of this case and the holding in Frankenmuth the rationale applies equally to all three exclusions. Indeed, it would make little sense to delineate among the three exclusions where the underlying premise is identical in all three scenarios. Thus, this court holds that under Indiana law, the sexual molestation, the criminal law, or the intentional acts exclusions in American Family's policies do not apply to preclude coverage for the alleged negligent acts of a co-insured.
This court's conclusion is also not altered by American Family's contention that because the language in the criminal law and intentional acts exclusions bars coverage for criminal or intentional acts of "any insured" it bars coverage for innocent co-insured's such as the Bowers. American Family asserts that its exclusions are unambiguous and apply where "any insured" covered by the Policies commits an intentional or criminal act. Thus, it attempts, once again, to conflate Jonathan Bower's intentional conduct with the alleged negligence of his parents thereby foreclosing coverage and a duty to defend for the parents. American Family further contends that the existence of the severability provision is irrelevant because the intentional and criminal acts exclusions contain specific unambiguous language which disallows coverage.
This argument is similar to the one presented at the outset as to whether an "occurrence" to trigger coverage could be found and, as numerous courts have concluded, (see list supra), adopting American Family's reasoning in the confines of this case would make the severability provision superfluous. This is precisely the result the Indiana Court of Appeals sought to avoid in its holding in Wayne Township. The Policies provide that the insurance applies separately to each insured. Yet, it then attempts to exclude from the coverage intentional or criminal acts by another insured. The Indiana Supreme Court in construing insurance policies has held that an insurance contract should be interpreted to harmonize the contract's provisions rather than place them in conflict. Allgood v. Meridian Security Insurance Co., 836 N.E.2d 243 (Ind. 2005). Here, a reasonable insured would believe from the severability provision that their insurance coverage and any exclusion of coverage would be judged on the basis of their particular conduct and acts within their control. To then exclude coverage on the basis of another insured's conduct creates a conflict between the two provisions and denies the reasonable insured the coverage protection which the severability provision affords. Accordingly, this court believes that Indiana would follow the reasoning of those courts that hold that a severability clause providing for separate coverage to named insureds applies despite language in an exclusion applying to "any insured."
Accordingly, the court concludes that the sexual molestation, criminal acts, and intentional acts exclusions do not apply to preclude coverage under the Policies to the Bowers for their alleged negligence. American Family's Motion for Summary Judgment on this issue is therefore DENIED.
B. Intra-Insured Exclusion
In her state court complaint, Butler alleges that the Bowers stood "in loco parentis" to her during the period in which she was sexually molested by Jonathan. In loco parentis means "in the place of a parent." Black's Law Dictionary 803 (8th ed. 2004). The doctrine generally "refers to a person who has put himself in the situation of a lawful parent by assuming the obligations incident to the parental relation without going through the formalities necessary to legal adoption. It embodies the two ideas of assuming the parental status and discharging the parental duties." In re M.W., 913 N.E.2d 784, 788 (Ind.App., 2009) (quoting Niewiadomski v. United States, 159 F.2d 683, 686 (6th Cir. 1947).
As a result of the allegation that the Bowers were "stand-in" parents for Butler, American Family asserts that it has no duty to defend because the Policies exclude coverage for bodily injury to any insured. (Policy Exclusions #11, p. 11). This provision seeks to exclude coverage for bodily injury between insureds. The Policies further define "insured" as follows:
a.
Insured means
you and, if residents of
your household:
(1)
your relatives; and
(2) any other person under the age of 21 in your care or in the care of
your resident relatives
(Policy, p. 1). According to American Family's analysis, because Butler has sued under the theory of "in loco parentis," she qualifies as an additional insured and the intra-insured exclusion bars coverage.
Oddly, however, both American Family and the Bowers agree that although the state court complaint alleges that Butler was "in loco parentis," the evidence does not support such a finding. In its reply brief American Family writes:
Plaintiff American Family and Defendants Michael and Anne Bower are in agreement that Michael and Anne Bower did not assume parental duties as to Defendant Gabriel Butler under the facts of this case. Plaintiff American Family also agrees that in order for the intra-insured exclusion in the American Family homeowners policies to apply to Gabrielle Butler, she would have to be considered a resident of the Bower household during the times she was molested by Jonathan . . . American Family also agrees that it is unlikely that evidence in the underlying trial of this matter will establish that Gabrielle Butler
was a resident of the Bower household during the times she was molested . . . For purposes of Plaintiff American Family's second motion for summary judgment, it will be assumed that there are questions of fact as to the issue of "in loco parentis" as raised in Defendant Gabrielle Butler's amended complaint in the underlying tort litigation.
(Reply, pp. 3-4).
American Family's position above acknowledges one of the basic obligations on insurers when determining whether it will provide coverage and a defense to a particular claim. Indeed, because "the duty to defend . . . arises before all the facts can be determined at trial[,] an insurer [must] examine the allegations of the complaint and make a reasonably complete investigation of the facts [] before it can deny coverage and consequent defense." Am. States Ins. Co. v. Aetna Life Cas. Co., 177 Ind.App. 299, 379 N.E.2d 510, 518 (Ind.Ct.App. 1978). In turn, it is incumbent on the insured to present facts that indicate coverage. In this case, American Family appears to concede that there are disputed facts which are indicative of the coverage issue thereby making summary judgment on whether the exclusion applies impossible at this stage. Accordingly, American Family's Second Motion for Summary Judgment is DENIED as to the issue of whether the intra-insured exclusion bars coverage in this case.
C. Coverage for the Church on Fire, Business Pursuits Exclusion, Professional Liability Exclusions
Next, American Family seeks summary judgment on the issue of whether it owes a duty to defend Michael Bower in his capacity as the Pastor of The Church on Fire based on Count V of Butler's state law complaint. In Count V, Butler alleges as follows:
13. That the Defendant Church and its Pastor, Defendant Michael Bower, had duties to its members, and specifically to the minor Plaintiff herein . . .
14. That the Defendants, the Church and Michael Bower, knowing Jonathan Bower's history and predilections, were negligent in the supervision, hiring, and retention of Jonathan Bower, II.
From these allegations, Butler seeks to hold the Church and Michael Bower accountable for acts that occurred at the Church.
According to American Family, the Policies at issue here cover only acts that occurred on the insured premises. Since it is undisputed in this case that the Church on Fire was not the insured premises, American Family asserts it has no obligation to defend Michael Bower for acts that occurred on the church premises. It further argues that to the extent that Butler contends that Michael Bower was negligent as the Pastor of the Church on Fire while acts of molestation was ongoing there, no coverage exists under the homeowners policies because of the Business Pursuits and Professional Liability exclusions in those policies: 4. Business. We will not cover bodily injury or property damage arising out of business pursuits or the rental or holding for rental of any part of any premises except: a. activities which are normally considered non- business *** 15. Professional Liability. We will not cover bodily injury or property damage arising out of the rendering or failing to render professional services. (Policies, p. 11).
In response, the Bowers assert that there are genuine issues of material fact as to whether these two exclusions can be applied to the facts of this case. According to them, there is absolutely no evidence that acts of molestation for which Butler seeks to hold the Church and Michael Bower as Pastor accountable occurred on the Church premises or whilst Michael Bower was acting as Pastor of the Church. Thus, if all the acts of molestation occurred at the insured premises, the Bowers argue that neither of the above exclusions can apply since Michael Bower was not rendering any professional services at the insured premises.
Again, the court is faced with the same basic tenet behind an insurer's duty to defend, i.e., that is the duty to examine the complaint and investigate the facts. Having said this, the court agrees with American Family that to the extent Butler is seeking to hold Michael Bower liable as Pastor of the Church on Fire for acts of molestation that occurred there, it would be entitled to summary judgment based upon the business pursuits and professional liability exclusions. However, as the Bowers point out, the facts in the underlying tort litigation suggest that no acts of molestation occurred at the Church while Michael Bower was employed as its Pastor and thus, the two exclusions are inapplicable to the claim against the Bowers. Thus, there exists a genuine issue of material fact as to whether the exclusions sought to be employed by American Family are applicable to preclude a defense. Thus, American Family's Second Motion for Summary judgment is DENIED as to application of the two business related exclusion but GRANTED as to whether the Church on Fire is covered as an insured under the Policies.
D. Punitive Damages Exclusion
American Family contends that it is entitled to summary judgment as to whether the Policies cover punitive or exemplary damages. The Policies clearly provide that they do not cover "punitive or exemplary damages." (Policies, p. 12). In their response brief, the Bowers do not address American Family's argument that the Policies clearly exclude punitive damages. Accordingly, based upon the plain language of the Policies, American Family is entitled to summary judgment on this issue. American Family's Second Motion for Summary Judgment is GRANTED as to the claim that the Policies exclude claims for punitive damages against the Bowers.
Conclusion
Based on the foregoing, American Family's Second Motion for Summary Judgment [DE 83] is GRANTED in part and DENIED in part as set out herein. Consistent with this Order, the court hereby DECLARES as follows:
Plaintiff American Family's homeowner's policies provide coverage to Defendants Michael and Anne Bower for the "occurrences" involving Jonathan L. Bower, II alleged to
have caused bodily injury to Defendant Gabrielle L. Butler on the insured premises, subject to any applicable exclusions.
Plaintiff American Family owes a duty to defend Defendants Michael and Anne Bower for the "occurrences" involving Jonathan L. Bower, II alleged to have caused bodily injury to Defendant Gabrielle L. Butler on the insured premises, subject to any applicable exclusions.
Plaintiff American Family's homeowner's policies exclusions of coverage for acts of sexual molestation, intentional acts, or criminal acts do not exclude coverage for the negligent acts of a co-insured.
Plaintiff American Family's homeowners policies exclude coverage for punitive damages claimed in the underlying litigation.
Plaintiff American Family does not owe any coverage to Defendant The Church on Fire under the Policies for the events involving Jonathan L. Bower, II alleged to have caused bodily injury to Defendant Gabrielle L. Butler on the premises of The Church on Fire.
Plaintiff American Family does not owe a duty to defend The Church on Fire for the claims allegedly arising out of the sexual molestation of Defendant Gabrielle Butler on the premises of the Church on Fire.
The remainder of the issues in American Family's Motion for Summary Judgment require the resolution of genuine issues of material fact. Summary judgment is therefore DENIED as to those issues.
Entered: November 5, 2010