Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Dennis McCarthy's Case — Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts (Nov. 18, 1925)

Factual and Procedural Background

The Industrial Accident Board issued a decision, certified to the Superior Court, finding the employee totally incapacitated from February 20, 1924, to June 2, 1924, and entitled to $237.71 to June 2, 1924, with the Board reserving the employee's right to partial incapacity compensation thereafter.

The record shows that the employee sustained an injury to his left knee on May 10, 1922. By an agreement approved June 15, 1922, he received weekly compensation of $16. On February 8, 1924, a hearing before a single member resulted in a finding dated February 20 that "this employee can work if he cares to apply himself. The insurer therefore is authorized to discontinue compensation at this time." On April 16, 1924, the full Industrial Accident Board affirmed and adopted the single member's findings and authorized discontinuance of compensation as of February 20, 1924; neither party certified that decision to the Superior Court under G.L. c. 152, § 11.

At the employee's request, alleging continuing disability, a subsequent hearing before a single member produced detailed findings concluding that disability had ended on February 20, 1924. On review, the full Industrial Accident Board made the decision certified to the Superior Court (finding total incapacity from February 20 to June 2, 1924). The Superior Court (McLaughlin, J.) entered a decree awarding compensation in accordance with the board's certification. The insurer appealed to the Supreme Judicial Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether, after the Industrial Accident Board previously affirmed and adopted a single member's finding authorizing discontinuance of compensation (a decision which neither party certified to the Superior Court under G.L. c. 152, § 11), the Board or the Superior Court had jurisdiction to order payment of further compensation.
  2. Whether the Industrial Accident Board's later order awarding compensation for total disability between February 20 and June 2, 1924, was valid in light of the prior unappealed/uncertified decision.

Arguments of the Parties

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the parties' legal arguments.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Brode's Case, 251 Mass. 414 Principle that a decision of the Industrial Accident Board which is not certified to the Superior Court under G.L. c. 152, § 11, has finality such that the Board or the Superior Court lacks jurisdiction to order payment of further compensation contrary to that decision. The court relied on and applied the principles stated and amplified in Brode's Case to conclude that the employee was not entitled to compensation on the facts presented and to reverse the Superior Court decree.
Hunnewell's Case, 220 Mass. 351 The opinion does not specify a rule quoted from this case. The court stated that the present case is distinguishable from Hunnewell's Case.
Weir's Case, 252 Mass. 236 The opinion does not specify a rule quoted from this case. The court stated that the present case is distinguishable from Weir's Case.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court's analysis rests primarily on the principles articulated in Brode's Case, decided after the Industrial Accident Board hearings in this matter. Those principles, the Chief Justice stated, "indubitably and imperatively" required the conclusion that the employee was not entitled to the compensation awarded by the board and affirmed by the Superior Court.

The court emphasized that the Industrial Accident Board had earlier, on April 16, 1924, affirmed and adopted a single member's finding authorizing the discontinuance of compensation as of February 20, 1924, and that that decision had not been certified to the Superior Court under the statutory provision (G.L. c. 152, § 11). Because of the finality implications described in Brode's Case, neither the Board nor the Superior Court had jurisdiction to order payment of further compensation inconsistent with that earlier, unappealed decision.

The opinion notes the court considered but found the present case distinguishable from Hunnewell's Case and Weir's Case, without elaborating further on the distinguishing facts in the published opinion.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The Superior Court decree awarding compensation in accordance with the Industrial Accident Board's later decision was reversed. A decree was ordered to be entered in favor of the insurer.

Implications: The direct effect is that the employee's claim for the compensation awarded for the period February 20 to June 2, 1924, was defeated and judgment entered for the insurer. The opinion rests on application of existing precedent (Brode's Case) and does not articulate or establish a new broader rule beyond that application.

DENNIS McCARTHY'S CASE.

Workmen's Compensation Act, Finality of decision by Industrial Accident Board as to incapacity, Law of the case.

After a decree by the Industrial Accident Board which neither party certified to the Superior Court under G.L.c. 152, § 11, and which affirmed and adopted findings by a single member of the board that the "employee can work if he cares to apply himself. The insurer therefore is authorized to discontinue compensation at this time," there is no jurisdiction either in the Industrial Accident Board or in the Superior Court to order payment of further compensation. Following Brode's Case, 251 Mass. 414. After the Industrial Accident Board on April 16, 1924, rendered the decision above described, a single member of the board at the request of the employee gave a further hearing on the question, whether there was disability after February 20, 1924, and the single member made detailed findings of fact and concluded that disability ceased on that date. On review by the Industrial Accident Board, an order was made that compensation for total disability between February 20 and June 2 be paid, and the insurer appealed. Held, following Brode's Case, 251 Mass. 414, that the decree must be reversed.

RUGG, C.J.

The principles stated and amplified in Brode's Case, 251 Mass. 414, decided since the hearings before the Industrial Accident Board, indubitably and imperatively require the conclusion that the employee is not entitled to compensation on the facts here disclosed. The case at bar is distinguishable from Hunnewell's Case, 220 Mass. 351, and Weir's Case, 252 Mass. 236.

Decree reversed. Decree to be entered in favor of insurer.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

McCARTHY'S CASE
(Nov 18, 1925)