AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

On February 26, 1898, the plaintiff, Modern Woodmen of America, issued a $2,000 benefit life insurance certificate to Arthur M. Gray, payable to his then wife as beneficiary. In 1918, a substitute certificate was issued payable $1,000 each to his son Ernest G. Gray and daughter Bertha M. Gray (now Bertha M. Neil) after the original certificate was lost. In 1921, the insured requested a change of beneficiaries to Bertha M. Neil and Nettie M. Cartzdefner (described as "friend"), but no formal action was taken by the plaintiff on this request. The insured married Nettie M. Cartzdefner in 1923, and four quarterly premiums were paid from their community property. The insured died in 1924. Conflicting claims to the insurance proceeds arose between the son and daughter on one side and the widow on the other. The plaintiff interpleaded the claimants and deposited the $2,000 into court. The trial court awarded $1,000 to the widow and $500 to each child. All parties appealed this judgment.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the payment of premiums from community property after the insured's marriage constituted a new contract converting the entire policy proceeds into community property.
  2. Whether the attempted 1921 change of beneficiaries to include Nettie M. Cartzdefner was effective under the plaintiff society’s by-laws.
  3. Whether the widow is entitled to the insurance proceeds given the by-laws' restrictions on beneficiary designation and the use of community funds.
  4. How the proceeds of a life insurance policy paid for partly with community funds and partly with separate funds should be apportioned.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant Nettie M. Gray (Widow)

  • Argued that the insurance certificate was a renewable, lapsable policy, and each premium payment from community property constituted a new contract of insurance, thus making the entire proceeds community property.
  • Claimed the attempted beneficiary change in 1921 entitled her to at least $1,000 of the proceeds.
  • Asserted that by contract with the insured, the proceeds had become community property.

Appellants Ernest G. Gray and Bertha M. Neil (Children)

  • Contended that the widow was entitled to nothing since the beneficiary change was not properly effected according to the plaintiff’s by-laws.
  • Maintained that community funds paid toward premiums do not automatically convert the entire policy proceeds into community property.
  • Argued that proceeds should be apportioned between community and separate property based on the ratio of premiums paid from each source.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Valentine v. Head Camp, 180 Cal. 192 Policy becomes void upon failure to pay any premium. Confirmed that the policy would lapse if premiums were not paid, but rejected the argument that each premium payment created a new contract.
Supreme Lodge v. Price, 27 Cal.App. 607 Change of beneficiary must follow society’s by-laws; courts will enforce changes only if insured fulfilled all requirements. Applied to hold that since no formal change was made after beneficiary became qualified, the attempted change was ineffective.
New York Life Ins. Co. v. Bank of Italy, 60 Cal.App. 602 Use of community property to pay premiums on insurance payable to a non-spouse does not constitute a gift; policy proceeds are community property to the extent of premiums paid from community funds. Used to support apportionment of proceeds between community and separate property based on premiums paid from each source.
Vieux v. Vieux, 80 Cal.App. 222 Property purchased partly with community and partly with separate funds should be apportioned accordingly. Analogously applied to life insurance proceeds to justify proportional division.
In re Webb, Myr. Prob. 93 Apportionment of insurance proceeds based on premiums paid before and after marriage. Cited with approval to affirm proportional division of proceeds between separate and community property.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court examined the nature of the insurance policy as a renewable, lapsable contract, acknowledging that failure to pay premiums voids the policy but rejecting the claim that each premium payment constituted a new contract. It emphasized the insured’s age limitation under the society’s by-laws and found that the insured had a valuable right to maintain the policy from its issuance in 1898 through regular premium payments, even past age fifty, which could not be negated by subsequent community payments after marriage. Regarding the beneficiary change, the court noted that the plaintiff’s by-laws strictly limited who could be beneficiaries and prescribed a formal procedure for changes. Since Nettie M. Cartzdefner was not qualified as a beneficiary in 1921 and no formal change was made after marriage, the attempted designation was ineffective. The court further rejected the widow’s argument that a contract with the insured converted the proceeds into community property, citing the by-laws voiding any such agreement. The children’s contention that the widow was entitled to nothing was also rejected insofar as community funds were used to pay premiums after marriage. The court adopted the principle that proceeds should be apportioned between community and separate property according to the ratio of premiums paid from each source, analogizing to established rules for mixed-fund property acquisition. Because no evidence was presented at trial regarding the amounts of premiums paid before and after marriage, the court ordered a retrial to ascertain these amounts and to apportion the proceeds accordingly.

Holding and Implications

The judgment of the Superior Court was REVERSED and the case remanded for retrial. The trial court is directed to determine the amounts of premiums paid prior to the insured’s last marriage and those paid from community funds thereafter. The $2,000 insurance proceeds are to be divided proportionally between separate and community property according to these findings. The separate property portion is to be divided equally between Ernest G. Gray and Bertha M. Neil, and the community property portion is to be awarded to Nettie M. Gray. Each party is to bear their own costs on appeal.

No new precedent was established beyond the application of existing principles regarding apportionment of insurance proceeds and beneficiary designation under society by-laws.

MODERN WOODMEN OF AMERICA (a Corporation), Plaintiff, v. ERNEST G. GRAY et al., Defendants and Appellants; NETTIE M. GRAY, Defendant and Appellant.

DOOLING, J., pro tem.

On February 26, 1898, plaintiff herein issued to Arthur M. Gray, a certain benefit life insurance certificate in the sum of $2,000, payable to his then wife as beneficiary. On July 17, 1918, upon proof that the prior certificate was lost or destroyed, plaintiff issued to said Arthur M. Gray a substitute certificate payable in the sum of $1,000 each to his son Ernest G. Gray and his daughter Bertha M. Gray, now Bertha M. Neil. On March 19, 1921, the insured indorsed upon said certificate a request for change of beneficiaries to Bertha M. Neil, daughter, and Nettie M. Cartzdefner, described in said request as "friend". No formal action was ever taken by plaintiff upon this request. On October 13, 1923, the insured and said Nettie M. Cartzdefner were married. After this marriage four quarterly premiums were paid to plaintiff from the community property of insured and his wife, Nettie M. (Cartzdefner) Gray and on September 16, 1924, the insured died. Conflicting claims under the certificate of insurance were made by the son and daughter on the one hand and the widow on the other; and the plaintiff interpleaded them and paid the $2,000 into court. From the judgment awarding $1,000 to the widow, Nettie M. Gray, and $500 to each of the children, all parties appeal.

[1] Appellant Nettie M. Gray, the widow, urges that since the certificate is what is described as a renewable, lapsable policy, i.e., one in which the failure to pay any one premium ipso facto totally avoids the policy, the payment of each quarterly premium from community property constituted in effect a new contract of insurance and hence that the entire proceeds of the policy were purchased with community funds and constitute community property.

That the policy under the by-laws of plaintiff society would become absolutely void upon the failure to pay any premium seems clear ( Valentine v. Head Camp, 180 Cal. 192 [3 A.L.R. 380, 180 P. 2]), but it does not follow that the payment of each premium amounted in effect to the making of a new contract of insurance. The by-laws under which the certificate of insurance was issued limit persons who may be insured to the ages between sixteen and fifty years and require the passage by the applicant of a satisfactory physical examination. In 1898 the insured's application for insurance shows his age to have been at that time between forty-two and forty-three years. He was, in 1923, over fifty years of age and it was only by virtue of his having obtained the certificate of insurance prior to his marriage to appellant Nettie M. Gray and his having regularly paid the premiums thereon in the meantime, that he was entitled to continue to enjoy the protection afforded by the certificate. While the right of his beneficiaries to receive the proceeds of the policy was dependent upon his continuing to pay the accruing premiums thereon, nevertheless he had acquired the right to have the contract of insurance continued in force by virtue of the payment of premiums from its issuance to him in 1898 until the date of his second marriage in 1923. This was a valuable right in the eyes of the law and it would be unreasonable to hold that the payment of the premiums after 1923 from community funds would convert the entire proceeds of the certificate of insurance into community property.

[2] Appellant Nettie M. Gray further claims that the attempt to name her as a beneficiary in 1921 at least entitled her to the $1,000 which was awarded her. The by-laws of plaintiff society provide that benefit certificates shall be made payable only to the wife, relative by blood to the fourth degree, children by legal adoption, parents by legal adoption, a person dependent on the member, or a member of his family. It is neither pleaded nor proved that in 1921 when the insured sought to have Nettie M. Cartzdefner made a beneficiary she stood in any of these designated relations to him, nor is there any proof that after their marriage the insured ever made any application to have her named as beneficiary. The by-laws provide a detailed mode to be followed in making a change of beneficiary. While it is true that where the insured has done all that is required of him to effect a change of beneficiary, a court of equity will treat the change as made (19 Cal. Jur., pp. 496, 497), that rule cannot have application to a case such as this where nothing has been done to effect the change after the beneficiary has become qualified under the rules of the society. The mode provided for the change of beneficiary must be followed as far, at least, as it lies in the power of the insured to do so. ( Supreme Lodge v. Price, 27 Cal.App. 607 [ 150 P. 803].)

[3] This is a complete answer, also, to appellant Nettie M. Gray's claim that by contract between herself and the insured the proceeds of the policy had been made community property, in view of the by-laws of plaintiff that any agreement entered into by the member by the terms of which he attempts to assign the benefits or any portion thereof to any other person than the beneficiary designated in the certificate shall be absolutely void.

[4] Appellants Ernest G. Gray and Bertha M. Neil take the position that since the beneficiary can only be changed in the manner provided in the by-laws, the widow is entitled to nothing. In so far as her rights are dependent upon the fact that community funds were used to pay the last four premiums this contention is unsound. It is settled since the decision of this court in New York Life Ins. Co. v. Bank of Italy, 60 Cal.App. 602 [ 214 P. 61], that the husband cannot make a gift of community property by using it to pay premiums upon life insurance, payable to someone other than his wife. This court said in that case at page 606: "The chose in action represented by the policy belonged to the community because of the fact that community funds had been paid as the consideration for its acquisition." In that case all the premiums were paid from the community property and hence the entire proceeds of the policy were held to be community property.

Where, as here, the life insurance is paid for partly with community and partly with separate funds the proceeds of the policy should in our judgment be apportioned in the same ratio that the amount of such community funds paid for premiums bears to the amount of separate funds paid for such purpose. This is the rule applied to tangible property purchased partly with community and partly with separate funds ( Vieux v. Vieux, 80 Cal.App. 222, 229 [ 251 P. 640]) and in In re Webb, Myr. Prob. 93, cited with approval by this court in New York Life Ins. Co. v. Bank of Italy, supra, where a decedent paid the first one-third of the amount of premiums on a policy of insurance from his earnings before marriage, and the remainder from those made subsequent to marriage, it was held that one-third of the proceeds of the policy belonged to his separate estate and two-thirds belonged to the community. We are satisfied that this is the proper rule.

One other matter should be spoken of. All of the premiums from community property were paid since the 1923 amendment to section 1401 of the Civil Code. There being no attempt by the insured to dispose of it otherwise by will, the entire portion of the $2,000 which is community property should accordingly go to the widow, Nettie M. Gray.

Unfortunately there was no proof made on the trial of the amount paid in premiums by the insured from the inception of the policy in 1898 to the time of the insured's last marriage in 1923. Accordingly the case will have to be retried.

The judgment is reversed with directions to the trial court to ascertain the amount paid in premiums to plaintiff for this insurance prior to October 13, 1923, the date of the insured's last marriage, and the amount since paid from community funds and to divide the $2,000 into separate and community property in the same proportion that such amounts so paid bear to one another; that portion which is so determined to be separate property to be divided equally between the beneficiaries Ernest G. Gray and Bertha M. Neil, and that portion which is determined to be community property to be awarded to the widow Nettie M. Gray, each party to bear his own costs on appeal.

Tyler, P.J., and Cashin, J., concurred.

A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the District Court of Appeal on June 1, 1931.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

MODERN WOODMEN OF AMERICA v. GRAY
(May 2, 1931)