AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The Hagan Corporation, an insurance broker, sued The Travelers Insurance Company and The Travelers Indemnity Company in three actions (tried together) to recover brokerage commissions on sums the insurers had recovered from their insured, Edward A. Thompson, Inc., and two of its officers. Under brokerage contracts the plaintiff was entitled to fixed percentages of gross premiums when paid and collected. The insurers had paid the plaintiff commissions on premiums the insured voluntarily paid. Later the insurers brought separate suits against the insured and two officers, alleging a conspiracy to defraud them by understating payrolls and equipment and thereby understating premiums; those suits produced judgments for the insurers of $24,051.17, $60,535.31 and $3,636.02 (including interest and costs). The plaintiff sought commissions on these judgments (less taxed costs, but including interest). The trial court dismissed the complaints; the Appellate Division reversed.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the broker is entitled to commissions on amounts recovered by the insurers in tort actions against the insured that were measured by unpaid premiums (i.e., whether those recoveries constitute "premiums" on which commissions are payable).
  2. Whether commissions recoverable by the broker must be reduced by attorneys' fees and expenses the insurers incurred in prosecuting the actions on a contingent basis.
  3. Whether interest collected with the judgments is part of the gross premiums for purposes of calculating the broker's commission.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments (The Hagan Corporation)

  • The judgments recovered by the insurers represent damages measured by the amount of premiums justly due under the policies; therefore the broker is entitled to its contractual percentage on those amounts.
  • The insurers treated the policies as valid, accepted premiums voluntarily paid, and paid commissions on such premiums; having done so, insurers cannot deny the plaintiff commissions on amounts collected as premiums.
  • The brokerage contract entitled the plaintiff to a percentage of the gross premiums collected and did not require the plaintiff to bear any proportionate cost of procuring insurance or collecting premiums; therefore attorneys' fees are not deductible from the broker's commission.

Respondents' Arguments (The Travelers Companies)

  • The moneys recovered were not premiums but damages resulting from a conspiracy by the insured to defraud the insurers; therefore the broker is not entitled to commissions on those recoveries.
  • The insured breached its contract to pay premiums and never intended to perform, so the broker failed to establish a "meeting of the minds" between insured and insurers — a necessary element to recover commissions.
  • The insurers incurred substantial outside attorneys' fees (contingent basis) to recover the sums; such litigation costs should be deducted from amounts on which the broker's commission is calculated.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Travelers Ins. Co. v. Thompson, Inc., 228 App. Div. 607 That damages recovered by the insurers in the tort actions are measured by the amount to which the plaintiffs would have been entitled upon the correct books, diminished by payments already made. The court relied on this measure to conclude that the judgments represented the premiums that should have been paid and thus were recoveries equivalent to gross premiums for commission purposes.
Affd., 264 N.Y. 635 Affirmation of the judgments referenced in the Appellate Division decision. Used to support the finality of the judgments and the conclusion that the recoveries were measured by unpaid premiums.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court determined that (1) the insurers' judgments in the conspiracy/tort actions were measured by the difference between premiums actually paid and those that should have been paid under the policies; (2) because the insurers themselves treated the policies as valid, accepted voluntary premiums and paid commissions on those premiums, they cannot deny the broker its contractual commissions when recovered amounts are to be considered premiums; (3) the broker's contract entitled it to a percentage of the gross premiums collected and did not allocate any share of collection or litigation costs to the broker; (4) the fact that insurers employed outside counsel on a contingent basis does not change the contractual allocation of expenses and does not permit deduction of attorneys' fees from the gross amounts on which the broker's commission is computed; and (5) interest included in the judgments (collected by the insurers) is to be treated as part of the gross premiums collected and is subject to the broker's agreed percentage. Applying these principles, the court concluded the plaintiff was entitled to its contractual percentages of the amounts collected (including interest) and to costs.

Holding and Implications

Judgments reversed, with costs, and judgments entered in favor of the plaintiff in accordance with the opinion.

Consequences: The Hagan Corporation is entitled to recover its contractual commissions on the gross amounts collected by the insurers in the three judgments (including interest from the date of collection, February 25, 1930) and costs; insurers may not deduct attorneys' fees from those amounts under the brokerage contract. No broader changes in precedent are announced beyond application of the contract terms and the court's view that the tort recoveries were measured by unpaid premiums.

THE HAGAN CORPORATION, Appellant, v. THE TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY, Respondent. (Action No. 1.) THE HAGAN CORPORATION, Appellant,

O'MALLEY, J.

Under its contract with the defendant insurance companies, the plaintiff corporation, an insurance broker, was entitled to a certain percentage of the premiums collected from the insured on policies negotiated by the plaintiff and issued by the defendants. Upon all premiums paid voluntarily by the insured the plaintiff has received full payment from the defendants. These three actions which were tried together before the court without a jury are brought to recover plaintiff's percentage of moneys collected by the defendant companies in actions brought by them against the insured, which actions resulted in judgments in favor of these defendants.

The actions here brought have been successfully defended in the trial court upon the theory that the moneys recovered by the defendant insurance companies against the insured represented, not premiums upon which the plaintiff is entitled to commissions under its contract with the defendants, but dmaages resulting from a conspiracy entered into by the insured and others to defraud the defendant companies out of premiums justly due to the insurers.

Plaintiff, appellant, while conceding that the judgments recovered by the defendants against the insured represent damages sustained by the insurers, contends that the damages recovered were measured by the amount of premiums justly due and payable under the policies and that, therefore, it is entitled to its commissions upon the judgments represented by the moneys recovered. Our conclusion is that the position of the plaintiff, appellant, must be sustained; and, therefore, the judgments dismissing the complaints should be reversed and judgments granted in favor of the plaintiff.

The policies in question were issued to a corporation known as Edward A. Thompson, Inc., which conducted a stevedoring and trucking business. The policies issued by the defendant, the Travelers Insurance Company, in actions Nos. 1 and 2, were automobile public liability policies upon which the plaintiff was entitled to seventeen and one-half per cent of the gross premiums; workmen's compensation and employers' liability policies upon which the plaintiff was entitled to ten per cent, and employers' public liability policies upon which the plaintiff was entitled to seventeen and one-half per cent when such premiums were paid and actually collected. The policy issued by the defendant Travelers Indemnity Company, in action No. 3, covered automobile property damage, collision and glass damage and upon this the plaintiff was entitled to twenty per cent of the gross premiums when paid and actually collected. As already noted, upon all premiums paid voluntarily by the insured and collected by the defendants, the plaintiff has received its full commissions.

Upon the policies in question premiums payable by the insured were based upon the size of the payrolls of the insured, the amount of its equipment in use and other elements not necessary to specify. Some time after the policies had been in operation the defendant insurance companies brought suits against the insured corporation, Edward A. Thompson, Inc., and two of its officers, in which actions the complaints charged that the insured and its two officers had conspired to defraud the insurance companies by falsifying its books; by concealing its true books; misrepresenting the extent of equipment in use; the size of its payrolls and had conspired to cause the insured to breach its contract with the insurers; that pursuant to the conspiracy, said defendants had made false book entries, concealed the true books of the insured, and had exhibited false books and misrepresented the premiums due. The actions sought recovery from the insured and its two officers of a total sum representing the difference between the premiums disclosed and paid and the premiums actually earned.

As in the case before us, there were three separate actions, one brought by each of the defendants herein, predicated upon such conspiracy. Their trial resulted in judgments against the insured and its officers individually in the sum of $24,051.17 in one action; $60,535.31 in another, and $3,636.02 in the third, all of which included interest and costs. The plaintiff here sues to recover its agreed commissions on these several amounts, less the amount of costs taxed, but including interest upon the amount of the judgment from the date of entry.

In the opinion written by the learned justice who tried these so-called tort or conspiracy cases, it was stated, with respect to the damages to which the insurance companies were entitled, that those "damages are to be measured by the amount to which the plaintiffs [insurance companies] would have been entitled upon the correct books, as diminished by the amount of the payments heretofore actually made." The judgments so recovered were affirmed by this court ( Travelers Ins. Co. v. Thompson, Inc., 228 App. Div. 607).

The respondent defendants here seek to support the judgments appealed from upon the ground, among others, that its client, the insured, Edward A. Thompson, Inc., breached its contract "to pay the premiums in accordance with the terms of the said policies" and that as the evidence warrants a finding that the insured never intended to carry out its contract to pay premiums as required, the plaintiff, as broker, failed to establish that it effected a "meeting of the minds" between the insured and the insurers, and, therefore, failed to establish one of the necessary elements of its cause of action. In answer to this it is but necessary to note that defendants at all times treated the policies as valid and accepted premiums voluntarily paid by the insured; and, upon such premiums so collected, paid to the plaintiff its commissions. Having recognized the plaintiff's right to recover under its contract of brokerage for one purpose, it may not be heard to say that the plaintiff is not entitled to recover its commissions upon all premiums received by the defendants, if they are to be considered as premiums. If under this brokerage contract and the policies as issued to the insured the defendants have been made whole, certainly it would be unjust and inequitable to deny the plaintiff equal relief. The mere fact that the actions against the insured were not for premiums as such should not deprive the plaintiff of its right to relief.

As already noted, we are of opinion that the damages represented by the judgments recovered by the insurance companies in the tort actions were measured by the difference between the premiums actually paid by the insured and those which it should have paid under its contract. The actions in which such judgments were recovered were predicated upon such measure of damages and the award was made upon the defendants' own theory. And this is true, even though the actions out of which the judgments arose were in tort, to which two of the insured's officers were made parties by reason of an alleged conspiracy.

We now come to the question of whether the plaintiff is entitled to recover commissions upon the gross amount of the judgments recovered and collected by the defendants, or whether the latter are entitled to have deducted therefrom attorneys' fees amounting to some $34,000, or nearly one third of the amount recovered. Defendants' evidence tended to show that they engaged special counsel upon a contingent basis.

The defendants themselves offered evidence to the effect that in fixing the rate of compensation to be paid a broker in effecting various types of insurance, there is taken into consideration all the expenses incident to bringing the premium into the defendant companies. This included the services of a legal staff. There can be no doubt that in the ordinary case where special counsel have not been retained, a broker would, therefore, not be compelled to bear the proportionate share of such overhead. The fact that in the present instance the defendant companies engaged outside counsel at an additional expense should not change the rule.

In other cases there would be no expense whatever for the reason that premiums would be promptly and properly paid without resort to any action on the part of the carriers. It may be that the additional cost here recovered might well be considered in fixing a new and future rate for brokerage fees. However, under plaintiff's contract with the defendants, it was entitled to a certain percentage of the gross premium collected by the defendants. By the contract of the parties the plaintiff was not to bear any proportionate cost of procuring the insurance or collecting the premiums therefor.

As defendants in their judgments collected interest on an amount equivalent to the premiums that should have been paid them, such interest must be deemed to be part of the gross premiums collected. The plaintiff, therefore, is entitled to recover its proper percentage in each case of the amounts collected, together with interest from the date of such collection, February 25, 1930, together with costs.

The judgments should, therefore, be reversed, with costs, and judgments entered in favor of the plaintiff in accordance with this opinion, with costs.

FINCH, P.J., MERRELL, MARTIN and UNTERMYER, JJ., concur.

Judgments reversed, with costs, and judgments entered in favor of the plaintiff in accordance with opinion, with costs. Settle orders on notice.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

HAGAN CORPORATION v. TRAVELERS INSURANCE CO
(Jan 19, 1934)