KELLY, J.
Defendant Quimby's claim against the third-party tort-feasor was settled before judgment. The settlement agreement provided that any claims of plaintiff-employer were not included in the settlement.
Plaintiff had not intervened in defendant's action against the third-party tort-feasor nor had it started its own action as provided by statute, and the statute of limitations had run against plaintiff at the time of settlement.
Plaintiff commenced action to recover the moneys plaintiff had paid defendant under the workmen's compensation law prior to defendant's settlement with the third-party tort-feasor and joined defendant Quimby's attorney, George L. McCargar, Jr., as a party defendant.
Defendants' answer denied "that plaintiff is entitled to any judgment against these defendants or either of them in any sum of money whatsoever."
The trial court granted plaintiff's motion for summary judgment against both defendants.
The Court of Appeals ( 5 Mich. App. 174, 180) reversed the trial court by holding that plaintiff "is not entitled to be reimbursed" and stated:
"The question of the attorney's personal liability in turning over the amounts recovered to his client without reimbursing the employer need not be considered in light of the above decision which does not recognize any right of the employer to the settlement made by its employee in this case."
The question presented calls for determination of legislative intent as expressed in CLS 1961, § 413.15 (Stat Ann 1960 Rev § 17.189), the pertinent part being the first 6 paragraphs as follows:
"Where the injury for which compensation is payable under this act was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in some person other than a natural person in the same employ or the employer to pay damages in respect thereof, the acceptance of compensation benefits or the taking of proceedings to enforce compensation payments shall not act as an election of remedies, but such injured employee or his dependents or their personal representative may also proceed to enforce the liability of such third party for damages in accordance with the provisions of this section. If the injured employee or his dependents or personal representative does not commence such action within 1 year after the occurrence of the personal injury, then the employer or its compensation insurance carrier may, within the period of time for the commencement of actions prescribed by statute, enforce the liability of such other person in the name of that person. Not less than 30 days before the commencement of suit by any party under this section, such party shall notify, by registered mail at their last known address, the workmen's compensation commission, the injured employee, or in the event of his death, his known dependents, or personal representative or his known next of kin, his employer and the workmen's compensation insurance carrier. Any party in interest shall have a right to join in said suit.
"Prior to the entry of judgment, either the employer or his insurance carrier or the employee or his personal representative may settle their claims as their interest shall appear and may execute releases therefor.
"Such settlement and release by the employee shall not be a bar to action by the employer or its compensation insurance carrier to proceed against said third party for any interest or claim it might have.
"In the event the injured employee or his dependents or personal representative shall settle their claim for injury or death, or commence proceeding thereon against the third party before the payment of workmen's compensation, such recovery or commencement of proceedings shall not act as an election of remedies and any moneys so recovered shall be applied as herein provided.
"In an action to enforce the liability of a third party, the plaintiff may recover any amount which the employee or his dependents or personal representative would be entitled to recover in an action in tort. Any recovery against the third party for damages resulting from personal injuries or death only, after deducting expenses of recovered, shall first reimburse the employer or its workmen's compensation insurance carrier for any amounts paid or payable under the workmen's compensation act to date of recovery, and the balance shall forthwith be paid to the employee or his dependents or personal representative and shall be treated as an advance payment by the employer on account of any future payment of compensation benefits.
"Expenses of recovery shall be the reasonable expenditures, including attorney fees, incurred in effecting such recovery. Attorney fees, unless otherwise agreed upon, shall be divided among the attorneys for the plaintiff as directed by the court. The expenses of recovery above mentioned shall be apportioned by the court between the parties as their interests appear at the time of said recovery."
Construing this statute, the trial court in its opinions stated:
"The workmen's compensation law, taken as a whole, would seem to recognize the right of the compensation insurance carrier to participate in any recovery by the employee from a third-party tort-feasor. * * *
"This statute expressly provides that any `recovery' for `personal injuries or death only' shall `first reimburse the employer or its workmen's compensation insurance carrier for any amounts paid or payable' after deduction of expenses of recovery. Any settlement for any items of damage for personal injuries would be expressly covered by this act. And this would be true whether or not the employer or its insurance carrier were parties to the suit.
"The fact that the employer may have secured releases from the third-party tort-feasor does not in any way alter the position of the employer in respect to his rights under the act. Defendants have omitted this claim from their brief and the court considers it abandoned."
In contrast to the trial court, we quote the following from the opinion of the Court of Appeals:
"The employer contends that the act requires reimbursement to be made from `any recovery against the third party for damages resulting from personal injuries.' * * *
"The interpretation given to the statute by the appellee in the instant case would nullify the section providing for separate settlements and releases of employer or employee claims or interests. * * *
"Transamerican Freight Lines, Inc., is not entitled to be reimbursed for the sums paid out of an agreement which was a settlement of its employee's individual claims against a third party and which specifically excludes claims of Transamerican. This settlement and release does not bar an action by the employer or its insurance carrier to recover amounts paid under the workmen's compensation act from the third party."
From the first workmen's compensation legislation in Michigan this Court has recognized the employer-insurer's right to reimbursement as a form of statutory subrogation.
Prior to 1952, when the amendment to part 3, § 15, with which this Court is here concerned, was enacted, the statute provided that:
"Where the injury for which compensation is payable under this act was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in some person other than the employer to pay damages in respect thereof, the employee may at his option proceed either at law against that person to recover damages, or against the employer for compensation under this act, but not against both, and if compensation be paid under this act the employer may enforce for his benefit or for that of the insurance company carrying such risk, or the commissioner of insurance, as the case may be, the liability of such other person."
This Court in Michigan Employers Casualty Co. v. Doucette (1922), 218 Mich. 363, 365, considered the above quoted statutory language, and defining the employer's right to recovery said:
"No assignment is necessary. The statute confers the right by way of subrogation."
This decision of employer's rights was subsequently approved in Utley v. Taylor Gaskin, Inc. (1943), 305 Mich. 561, 575 and Bay State Milling Co. v. Izak (1945), 310 Mich. 601, 604.
The 1952 amendment of part 3, § 15, among other things, provides for the deduction of reasonable expenses of recovery before the employer-insurer's right to reimbursement from the employee. See our 1954 decision in Rookledge v. Garwood, 340 Mich. 444, holding the employer-insurer's right to reimbursement without discussion of attorney fees as an expense of recovery, and where this Court said (p 458):
"`The former statute required an employee to elect whether to pursue his remedy against the employer for compensation or to seek his common-law remedy against the third party causing the injury. Under the present statute the employee may receive compensation or take proceedings to enforce compensation payments and also sue the third party. The statute provides in substance, that in case of recovery against the third party, after deducting expenses of recovery, the amount of the judgment is to be used first to reimburse the employer or the workmen's compensation insurance carrier for amounts paid or payable under the compensation act to date of recovery and the balance is paid to the insured employee or his dependents. This statute pertains to the remedy and hence applies to the present action. Judd v. Judd, 125 Mich. 228; Heineman v. Schloss, 83 Mich. 153; Nash v. Robinson, 226 Mich. 146; Detroit Club v. State of Michigan, 309 Mich. 721; Stott v. Stott Realty Company, 288 Mich. 35. Since the change in the statute created no new cause of action and the amendment merely limited a procedural defense, the amended statute governs this controversy.'" (Emphasis ours.)
In construing legislative intent, we keep in mind our holding in regard to the mandatory word "shall" and construe the act and its amendments as a whole, thus avoiding if possible construction of one provision in such a manner as to render another of no effect.
Smith v. School District No. 6, Fractional, Amber Township (1928), 241 Mich. 366; Village of Durand v. Board of Supervisors of Shiawassee County (1903), 132 Mich. 448.
Joslin v. Campbell, Wyant Cannon Foundry Co. (1960), 359 Mich. 420; Taylor v. State (1960), 360 Mich. 146.
We do not agree with the Court of Appeals' conclusion that to hold that the act requires reimbursement to be made from "`any recovery against the third party for damages resulting from personal injuries'" would "nullify the section providing for separate settlements and releases of employer or employee's claims or interests."
We quote with approval the following from plaintiff-appellant's brief:
"The crux of plaintiff's dispute with the defendants and with the Court of Appeals — the jugular issue — lies not in the proposition that an employee or an employer-insurer may each settle and release a third party as `their interests shall appear', but, rather, in what constitutes the `interest' that each may settle without affecting the interests of the other."
Paragraphs 1 and 5 of the statute above quoted establish the right to bring an action, the recovery and reimbursement. Paragraph 1 provides that both employer and employee may become party plaintiff, and paragraph 5 states that the action may be brought to recover any damages "for which the employee or his dependents or personal representatives will be entitled to recover in an action for tort" and that "any recovery" for damages resulting "from personal injury or death only, after deduction of expenses for recovery, shall first reimburse the employer or its workmen's compensation insurance carrier." (Emphasis ours.)
Paragraphs 2, 3 and 4 provide for settlement. Paragraph 2 provides that both employer and employee have the right to settle before judgment. Paragraph 3 provides the employee's release shall not be a bar to any action by the employer insurer, and paragraph 4 makes it plain that if the employee settles his claim "for injury or death "then "any moneys so recovered" after deduction of expenses of recovery including attorney fees must be first applied to reimbursement of the employer-insurer.
The statutory provision allows no alternative other than approving the trial court's order granting summary judgment in favor of plaintiff against defendant Clayton L. Quimby.
There remains the question: Should defendant Quimby's attorney, George L. McCargar, Jr., be held liable?
Plaintiff's complaint alleged that on or about October, 1960, defendant Quimby commenced the action in the circuit court for the county of Jackson; that defendants Quimby and McCargar, having knowledge that plaintiff intended to intervene, requested plaintiff not to do so, promising that if plaintiff would so agree "that defendant Clayton L. Quimby and defendant George L. McCargar would hold and secure any judgment that might be recovered against third-party tort-feasor for the joint benefit of plaintiff and defendants and until the total respective rights of plaintiff and defendants thereto could be ascertained, determined or settled; that defendant Clayton L. Quimby and defendant George L. McCargar did further promise and agree in exchange for said considerations by plaintiff that no settlement negotiations would be completed or accomplished without the knowledge and consent of plaintiff and without the respective rights of plaintiff and defendants in and to any settlement sum having first been determined and settled, and defendants further promised that plaintiff would be currently and constantly kept advised and informed of the progress of all settlement negotiations as and when they occurred." Relying on said promises, plaintiff did not intervene, and on December 20, 1963, defendants accomplished the settlement and dismissal of the suit. Plaintiff had no knowledge of such action until January 18, 1964.
Defendants' answer denied "that there are any representations or agreements of any type or kind whatsoever on which the plaintiff could rely for the reason that such promises, agreements or representations did not exist and further defendants deny that plaintiff refrained from attempting to intervene in said law suit because of any such agreements or promises."
Defendant George L. McCargar filed a motion for summary judgment.
January 6, 1965, the trial court filed an opinion disposing of defendant McCargar's motion holding:
"The workmen's compensation law, taken as a whole, would seem to recognize the right of the compensation insurance carrier to participate in any recovery by the employee from a third party tort-feasor. * * *
"Was there a contract between plaintiff and McCargar that the latter hold the funds until divided? This is a fact question, and the answer will depend upon the proofs. This issue cannot be determined on a summary motion. * * *
"The court is of the opinion that the motion for summary judgment should be denied."
Plaintiff filed its motion for summary judgment and defendants answered denying plaintiff's contention that there was no genuine issue as to any material fact except as to the amount of damages, and stating "that there is a real issue of fact."
An "agreed statement of facts" was filed stating it was:
"For purposes of plaintiff's motion for summary judgment, heretofore filed in this matter, the parties by their respective counsel have stipulated and agreed upon the following statement of facts:".
There followed in the agreed statement of facts recitation in regard to starting action — defendants' asking for and plaintiff's furnishing information, and settlement without plaintiff's knowledge. The statement, however, did not in any way refer to any agreement between plaintiff and defendants that defendants would "hold and secure any judgment that might be recovered against third-party tort-feasors for the joint benefit of plaintiff and defendants until the total respective rights of plaintiff and defendants thereto could be ascertained" as alleged by plaintiff in its declaration.
This agreed statement of facts established that on October 12, 1957, plaintiff paid $10 to one of the third-party tort-feasors and $700 to the other third-party tort-feasor, and secured from them a release of any claim they might have against plaintiff.
The trial court in an opinion refused to pass upon plaintiff's motion, stating:
"The stipulated facts are silent as to how the payment of the settlement was handled. In the ordinary course of events defendant Quimby and his attorney, Mr. McCargar, would have been named payees of the settlement check. If this is so, and both indorsed the instrument, the court would hold that both defendants held the funds as trustees. Out of these funds would first come the expenses of recovery, including the attorney fee, then the amount paid by plaintiff by way of compensation would be reimbursed with the balance accruing to defendant Quimby. There would be personal liability on the part of both defendants for plaintiff's share. But for the determination of this issue there must be more stipulated facts or a hearing in lieu thereof before the court. The court will await counsel's action thereon."
An affidavit subsequently filed stating that both defendants were payees and indorsers of the draft evidently satisfied the court, and on August 30, 1965, an order granting summary judgment was entered jointly and severally against both defendants.
Defendant advised plaintiff of his selection of defendant McCargar as his attorney before starting his action. And plaintiff showed no disagreement with defendant's choice, or any concern as to whether the attorney was to be paid on a contingent basis or paid in some other way.
The pleadings disclose that defendants denied "there was any constructive trust or any fiduciary obligation" or any agreement to hold any moneys received from third-party tort-feasors for the benefit of plaintiff. Plaintiff's motion for summary judgment abandoned any such claim.
There was nothing unusual in the way the settlement was concluded, and the trial court recognized this fact stating in an opinion: "In the ordinary course of events defendant Quimby and his attorney, Mr. McCargar, would have been named payees of the settlement check."
The trial court in the first motion presented for summary judgment stated that the court would have to have proof as to whether there was an agreement between plaintiff and defendant McCargar that the funds would be held in trust for the plaintiff, but the second and final motion for summary judgment was granted solely on the proof that McCargar was named as payee and indorsed the check. Plaintiff claims that the sole proof that defendant McCargar was indorser and payee was sufficient to justify summary judgment against defendant McCargar.
It is to be noted that the statute specifically provides for deduction of the expenses of recovery prior to a division of the settlement or judgment figure. The statute further provides a definition of expenses of recovery as follows:
"Expenses of recovery shall be the reasonable expenditures, including attorney fees, incurred in effecting such recovery."
The statute further provides that the expenses of recovery shall be apportioned by the court between the parties as their interests appear at the time of the recovery.
The summary judgment against defendant attorney McCargar was erroneously entered and must be reversed.
We reverse the judgment of the Court of Appeals. We affirm the trial court's judgment against defendant Quimby and reverse the trial court's judgment against defendant McCargar.
The cause is remanded for the purpose of entering an order in conformity with this opinion. No costs, neither party prevailing in full.
DETHMERS, C.J., and T.M. KAVANAGH, ADAMS, and T.E. BRENNAN, JJ., concurred with KELLY, J.