Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

This case arises from a claim for death benefits under the Missouri Workmen's Compensation Law filed by the widow and minor children of Leland Gayle Selvey, who died in a motorcycle accident while traveling between his home and the Robertson family farm where he worked. Selvey was employed by Darrell D. Robertson d/b/a Robertson Dairy to milk cows on a family farm owned by Robertson's father. Selvey was paid on an hourly basis "portal to portal," including travel time. Following the fatal accident, the referee and Industrial Commission found that Selvey was engaged in exempt farm labor at the time of his death and that the employer had not elected to bring himself within the Compensation Law with respect to such farm labor, thus denying compensation. The circuit court reversed the Commission's award, finding Selvey was not a farm employee and awarding death benefits. The employer and insurer appealed to the Springfield Court of Appeals.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether Selvey's employment at the time of his fatal accident constituted farm labor exempt from the Workmen's Compensation Law under § 287.090, subsec. 1(2).
  2. Whether the employer had validly elected to bring himself within the provisions of the Compensation Law with respect to the exempt farm labor under § 287.090, subsec. 2.
  3. Whether the Industrial Commission's findings and award denying compensation were reasonable and supported by the evidence.

Arguments of the Parties

Claimants-Respondents' Arguments

  • Selvey’s duties involved milking cows, but the use of automatic milking machines made him a "specialist," removing him from the category of farm labor.
  • At the time of the fatal accident, Selvey was returning home and being paid for travel time, so he was not engaged in farm labor at that moment.
  • Employer and insurer intended to cover Selvey under the Compensation Law despite the statutory exemption for farm labor, as evidenced by statements from the employer and insurer’s witness.

Employer and Insurer's Arguments

  • Selvey’s employment was farm labor, specifically milking cows, which is exempt from compensation unless the employer elects coverage.
  • The employer had not elected to bring farm labor within the scope of the Compensation Law by filing notice or purchasing appropriate insurance.
  • The Industrial Commission's findings that Selvey was engaged in farm labor and that no election was made were reasonable and supported by the evidence.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Brown v. Missouri Lumber Transports, 456 S.W.2d 306 Standard of review on appeal from Industrial Commission findings: courts cannot substitute their judgment unless findings are clearly against overwhelming evidence. Affirmed the principle that the Commission’s findings are to be upheld if reasonable and supported by evidence.
Ricks v. H. K. Porter, Inc., 439 S.W.2d 164 Standard of appellate review for compensation cases. Reinforced deferential review of Commission’s factual findings.
Snowbarger v. M. F. A. Central Co-operative, 349 S.W.2d 224 Standard of review on Industrial Commission awards. Supported deferential approach to Commission’s factual determinations.
Johnson v. Simpson Oil Co., 394 S.W.2d 91 Review of Commission findings and liberal construction of Workmen's Compensation Law. Confirmed courts must view evidence in light most favorable to Commission findings.
Plemmons v. Pevely Dairy Co., 233 S.W.2d 426 Milking cows is traditionally considered farm labor. Supported Commission’s finding that Selvey’s work was farm labor.
Dost v. Pevely Dairy Co., 273 S.W.2d 242 Definition and scope of farm labor under the Compensation Law. Reinforced the principle that milking cows is farm labor.
Baer v. City of Brookfield, 366 S.W.2d 469 Workmen’s Compensation Law must be liberally construed for public welfare. Guided interpretation of statute but did not override statutory exemptions.
Davis v. McKinney, 303 S.W.2d 189 Burden of proof on claimants asserting applicability of Compensation Law. Supported the principle that claimants must prove coverage.
Gregory v. Lewis Sales Co., 348 S.W.2d 743 Commission cannot allow claim where coverage is not provided or essential legal elements are lacking. Supported denial of compensation absent valid election of coverage.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court began by reaffirming the deferential standard of review applied to Industrial Commission findings, emphasizing that appellate courts may only overturn such findings if they are clearly against the overwhelming weight of the evidence. The court reviewed the nature of Selvey's employment, noting that milking cows is historically recognized as farm labor under Missouri law. The evidence showed Selvey’s sole duties were milking cows on the family farm and that his travel to and from the farm was incidental and compensated "portal to portal," making his status that of a farm laborer during his travel time as well.

The court rejected the claimants' argument that Selvey’s use of automatic milking machines elevated him beyond farm labor or that being paid for travel time removed him from farm labor status. It emphasized that the journey was an inherent part of his service.

Regarding coverage, the court found no evidence that the employer had made the statutory election to bring farm labor within the Compensation Law by either filing notice or purchasing appropriate insurance. Statements by the employer and insurer did not amount to a valid election. The court underscored that claimants bear the burden of proving coverage and that liberal construction of the statute does not authorize allowances where statutory requirements are unmet.

Accordingly, the court concluded that the Industrial Commission’s findings that Selvey was engaged in exempt farm labor and that no election had been made were reasonable and supported by the record. The circuit court’s contrary judgment was therefore set aside, and the case was remanded with directions to affirm the Commission’s denial of compensation.

Holding and Implications

The court REVERSED the judgment of the circuit court and REMANDED with directions to affirm the Industrial Commission's award denying compensation.

The direct effect of this decision is to deny death benefits to the claimants on the basis that Selvey was engaged in exempt farm labor at the time of his death and that the employer had not validly elected coverage under the Workmen’s Compensation Law. The opinion does not establish new precedent beyond applying existing principles regarding the definition of farm labor, the requirement of employer election for coverage, and the standard of appellate review. No broader implications beyond the parties are explicitly discussed.

MARY SELVEY ET AL., CLAIMANTS-RESPONDENTS, v. DARRELL D. ROBERTSON D/B/A ROBERTSON'S DAIRY, EMPLOYER-APPELLANT, AND CONTINENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY, A CORPORATION, INSURER-APPELLANT.

STONE, Judge.

In this proceeding under the Missouri Workmen's Compensation Law [Chap. 287], the widow and minor children of Leland Gayle Selvey, and employee of Darrell D. Robertson d/b/a Robertson Dairy, seek to recover death benefits on account of the employee's death in a tragic motorcycle pickup crash on Highway 160 east of Lamar, Missouri, on August 25, 1967. (All statutory references are to RSMo 1969, V.A.M.S.) The referee found that, at the time of his death, the employee was engaged in exempt farm labor [ § 287.090, subsec. 1, subd. (2)] as to which the employer had not elected to bring himself within the operation of the Compensation Law [ § 287.090, subsec. (2)], and accordingly denied compensation. On review, the Industrial Commission adopted the referee's findings and additionally found "that deceased employee was in excepted employment in that he was engaged in work long familiar as an incident of ordinary farming" and "at the time of his death he was returning from work which was incidental to his employment as he was paid, portal to portal." On claimants' further appeal, the circuit court filed an elaborate written opinion, including findings that "decedent was not a farm employee" and that "he was not engaged in farm duties at the time of the fatal accident but was being paid `portal to portal,'" reversed and set aside the final award of the Industrial Commission denying compensation, and entered judgment awarding death benefits to claimants and directing payment of burial expenses as provided in § 287.240. With the laboring oar thus placed in their hands, the employer and insurer bring the case to us.

Particularly in view of the briefs and arguments here, it appears appropriate to emphasize at the outset that, although on judicial review the circuit court was in the first instance, and this court is on appeal, authorized to determine whether, upon the entire record, the Industrial Commission reasonably could have made the findings and award under consideration, this does not mean that either court may substitute its own judgment on the evidence for that of the Commission. Rather, a reviewing court may set aside the findings and award of the Commission only if they are clearly contrary to the overwhelming weight of the evidence, when the evidence in its entirety, including all legitimate inferences reasonably deducible therefrom, is viewed in the light most favorable to such findings and award. Brown v. Missouri Lumber Transports, Inc., Mo., 456 S.W.2d 306, 307; Ricks v. H. K. Porter, Inc., Mo., 439 S.W.2d 164, 166(2), 167(3-6); Snowbarger v. M. F. A. Central Co-operative, Mo. (banc), 349 S.W.2d 224, 225(2); Johnson v. Simpson Oil Co., Mo.App., 394 S.W.2d 91, 93(1). Our statement of facts accords appropriate and required recognition to that basic principle of judicial review in this category of cases. Vandaveer v. Reinhart Donovan Const. Co., Mo.App., 370 S.W.2d 156, 158; Heaton v. Ferrell, Mo.App., 325 S.W.2d 800, 802.

Darrell D. Robertson operated a milk processing plant and store in Lamar, Missouri. That real estate was acquired by Darrell and title thereto was taken in his name. The raw milk for the processing plant was supplied by a herd of cows on "the family farm ... located approximately seven miles northeast of Lamar," which was owned by Darrell's father, Loyd F. Robertson. Darrell "grew up" on that farm and, while yet a youth, acquired "some cows" of his own which became and remained a part of the herd of cows on the farm while he was a student in Missouri University and thereafter in military service. After his discharge from service in 1959, he and his father went "into the dairy business together" as equal partners. Each of them owned "some of the cows" in the herd on the family farm, with title to the farm remaining in the father. All of the farm expenses "pertaining to the production of milk" and all of the expenses of the processing plant were paid from the same "dairy account," the net profits of the partnership enterprise were credited to the father and son "fifty-fifty," and annual partnership tax returns were filed on that basis.

Leland Gayle Selvey was employed by Darrell about four years prior to the fatal accident. The Selvey family resided "rent free" in a house owned by Darrell which was next door to the processing plant and store in Lamar. When, at the hearing before the referee, the widow was asked by her counsel "what did your husband do for Darrell Robertson," she answered "he milked the cows"; and the next question, "did he have any other duties other than milking cows," elicited the simple, unelaborated answer, "no," To perform these duties, he made two round trips daily, one early in the morning and the other early in the afternoon, from his residence to the Robertson farm seven miles northeast of Lamar. The milking process consisted of "getting [the cows] washed and ready for the [automatic] milkers" and then milking them four at a time. Milk was transported from the farm to the processing plant three times each week in a bulk tank on a trailer hooked to a pickup truck owned by the dairy. The empty tank was taken from the processing plant to the farm on the early afternoon trips on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays but, as Darrell explained, on each occasion the tank was not filled and returned to the plant until the following morning. Just before the empty tank was moved from the plant on the next trip to the farm, the interior of the tank was cleansed and rinsed with water and then drained.

For his early morning trips to the Robertson farm, Selvey always provided his own transportation, using either his motorcycle or the Selvey family car. One of the benefits accruing to Selvey by reason of his residence next door to the processing plant and store was that on the afternoon trips he frequently rode to the Robertson farm in the dairy pickup. As Mrs. Selvey agreed on cross-examination, "when [Darrell] was there" he drove the pickup; "if [Darrell] wasn't there" her husband drove the pickup but that was not "a part of his regular duties." "Normally" Darrell rinsed and drained the interior of the empty bulk tank before it was hooked to the pickup and taken to the farm, but "on occasions when [he] was not present or would perhaps be late" Selvey attended to the rinsing and draining of the empty tank. However, Darrell testified positively that Selvey had "no assigned duties" in the processing plant or store and that his only "required duties were to milk cows."

Initially, Selvey was paid a fixed wage per month, but sometime prior to his fatal accident he went on an hourly rate "from the time he left home until he returned home," the moving consideration for this change having been (so Darrell explained) that "it was more fair to compensate" Selvey on that basis because from time to time there were substantial variations in the number of cows to be milked. Upon his return from each trip to the farm, Selvey recorded his time on a time sheet in the dairy store and then went home. While returning on his motorcycle from his early morning trip to the farm on Friday, August 25, 1967, he sustained fatal injuries as the result of a collision with a pickup truck which occurred at a point along the route customarily traveled between his home and the farm.

On the date of accident, there was in force and effect a workmen's compensation insurance policy issued by Continental Insurance Company to Darrell D. Robertson d/b/a Robertson's Dairy affording coverage for "Dairy Products Stores — Retail; Ice Cream Mfg. — including salesmen, drivers; Creameries — including salesmen, route supervisors, drivers," but providing no coverage for the statutorily-exempt employment of farm labor [ § 287.090, subsec. 1(2)], as was manifest upon the face of the policy and was confirmed by witness Carr, Continental's Kansas City branch office casualty superintendent.

The determinative question presented to the referee in the first instance and to the Industrial Commission on review was whether or not Selvey's employment at the time of his fatal accident was one of farm labor. The nature of his employment was determinable from the whole character of the work he was required to perform and not simply from a consideration of what he was doing at the time of his accident or the place of accident or the general nature and scope of the employer's business. We have no doubt but that, from the evidence adduced upon hearing, the referee and the Industrial Commission reasonably could have found that Selvey was employed to milk cows on the Robertson family farm, and that this was the only work he was required to perform and was, in fact, the work he had performed on the morning of the fatal accident. The milking of cows is work historically and logically regarded as an incident of farming, and one performing such work usually is held to be engaged in farm labor. Plemmons v. Pevely Dairy Co., 241 Mo.App: 659 (1, 2), 233 S.W.2d 426(1); Beyer v. Decker, 159 Md. 289, 150 A. 804.

Dost v. Pevely Dairy Co., Mo., 273 S.W.2d 242, 243(1); Albin v. Hendrich Brothers Implement Co., Mo.App., 382 S.W.2d 734, 739(4); Vandeventer v. Melson, Mo.App., 330 S.W.2d 156, 159 160(2); Blew v. Conner, Mo.App., 310 S.W.2d 294, 299(10), approved as to this holding Mo. (banc), 328 S.W.2d 626, 629, 630(7); Davis v. McKinney, Mo. App., 303 S.W.2d 189, 192(2); McCaleb v. Greer, 241 Mo.App. 736, 747, 267 S.W.2d 54, 60(5); Plemmons v. Pevely Dairy Co., 241 Mo.App. 659, 669, 233 S.W.2d 426, 431-432.

We are unable to embrace instant claimants' contention, unsupported by authority, that Selvey had the "duties of a specialist" and thus had been lifted above and out of the category of farm labor because his assigned task had been made less onerous by the availability and use of automatic milking machines. No more persuasive or acceptable is the theory espoused by claimants' counsel and approved by the trial court that, at the time of his fatal accident, Selvey was not a farm laborer because (in the language of counsel) "his employment at that time was not milking cows but traveling back to his home for which time he was being paid." The only purpose of that ill-fated early morning trip was to enable Selvey to milk cows on the Robertson family farm, i. e., to perform work which both the referee and the Industrial Commission reasonably found (so we think) to have been farm labor. In these circumstances, "the journey [was] an inherent part of the service" [1 Larson, Workmen's Compensation Law § 16.00, l.c. 253] or, as the Industrial Commission put it, "was incidental to his employment as he was paid, portal to portal"; and Selvey's status, portal to portal, was that of an employee engaged in farm labor.

Emphasizing the statutory injunction that the provisions of the Workmen's Compensation Law "shall be liberally construed with a view to the public welfare" [ § 287.800 — see Dost v. Pevely Dairy Co., Mo., 273 S.W.2d 242, 244; Baer v. City of Brookfield, Mo.App., 366 S.W.2d 469, 471(6)], claimants' counsel attach "great significance" (a) to Darrell's statement, in response to the referee's inquiry "had you elected to come under the Compensation Act at the farm," that "we can find no record of this and I cannot recall it .... I actually got into this compensation thing through an agent ... who said `your employees are covered' and I did not know really until this accident happened that there was a differential between farm help and other type help ...." and (b) to the bland comment of witness Carr that "in writing such policies, we try to obtain wishes and desires of the insured as to who is and who is not to be covered." We are unable to follow claimants' counsel in their bold leap from the two above-quoted statements to their confident conclusion that "it was the intention of both the employer and the insurer to afford coverage for [Selvey] and his dependents." But that aside, the fact remains that not a scintilla of evidence indicated employer Darrell had, with respect to the exempt employment of farm labor, elected to bring himself within the provisions of the Compensation Law [Chap. 287] in either of the two ways specifically provided in § 287.090, subd, 2, i. e., (1) by filing with the Division of Workmen's Compensation notice of his election so to do, or (2) by purchasing and accepting a valid compensation insurance policy, the terms of which showed such intent. Obviously, neither Darrell's pre-accident ignorance of the exempt status of farm labor nor any post-accident conclusion, reached in the illuminating glare of hindsight, as to what he should or would have done if he had been endowed with pre-accident knowledge of such exempt status could constitute or work a pre-accident statutory election under § 287.090, subd. 2.

It is a trite principle that claimants, who assert the applicability of the Compensation Law, have the burden of so proving. Davis v. McKinney, Mo.App., 303 S.W.2d 189, 193(6); Hogue v. Wurdack, Mo.App., 298 S.W.2d 492, 499(15, 16), and cases there cited. And the statutory direction that the Compensation Law be construed liberally neither impinges upon the function and right of the Industrial Commission, as trier of the facts, to draw from the evidence such inferences and findings as may be fairly and reasonably permissible [Johnson v. Simpson Oil Co., supra, Mo. App., 394 S.W.2d at 98(14); Barton v. Western Fireproofing Co., Mo.App., 326 S.W.2d 344, 349(6); Staten v. Long-Turner Const. Co., Mo.App., 185 S.W.2d 375, 381(13)] nor authorizes allowance of a claim where coverage is not provided or an essential element required by law is lacking. Gregory v. Lewis Sales Co., Mo.App., 348 S.W.2d 743, 747-748(6); Ott v. Consolidated Underwriters, Mo.App., 311 S.W.2d 52, 56-57; Hogue v. Wurdack, supra, 298 S.W.2d at 500(20).

Concluding that, on the evidence presented, the Industrial Commission reasonably could have found (as it did) that Selvey's employment at the time of accident was one of farm labor and that, with respect to such exempt employment, his employer had not theretofore elected to bring himself within the provisions of the Compensation Law [Chap. 287] in either of the two ways specifically provided in § 287.090, subd. 2, it becomes our duty to set aside the judgment heretofore entered in the Circuit Court of Barton County and to remand the cause to that court with directions to enter a judgment affirming the final award of the Industrial Commission denying compensation. It is so ordered.

TITUS, P. J., and HOGAN, J., concur.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

SELVEY v. ROBERTSON
(May 21, 1971)