AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Case Summary: Hartford Insurance Company v. County of Nassau

Factual and Procedural Background

The insurer (Hartford Insurance Company) was first notified of the accident on November 4, 1976, more than 45 months after the date of the accident. Rather than sending a written notice disclaiming liability or denying coverage, the insurer sent a reservation-of-rights letter agreeing to defend and, approximately two months after receiving notice (on January 5, 1977), commenced a declaratory judgment action seeking a declaration of its obligations under the policy. No explanation for the two-month delay in disclaiming or denying coverage was provided in the record. The Appellate Division had previously ruled in favor of the insurer; the Court of Appeals reversed the order appealed from, with costs, and reinstated the judgment of Supreme Court, Nassau County.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether, under Insurance Law § 167, subdivision 8, an insurer's two-month delay in disclaiming liability or denying coverage after it first learns of an accident constitutes a failure to give written notice "as soon as is reasonably possible."
  2. Whether, absent any explanation for delay, a two-month delay in disclaiming or denying coverage may be deemed unreasonable as a matter of law rather than a question of fact.

Arguments of the Parties

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the parties' legal arguments.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Allstate Ins. Co. v Gross, 27 N.Y.2d 263 Failure to give written notice "as soon as is reasonably possible" precludes effective disclaimer or denial; ordinarily timeliness is a question of fact, but in extreme cases may be decided as a matter of law. Applied to hold that, because insurer offered no explanation for a two-month delay after notice, that delay was unreasonable as a matter of law and precluded disclaimer or denial of coverage.
Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. [Frank], 44 N.Y.2d 897 Reinforces that failure to give timely written notice precludes effective disclaimer or denial of coverage. Reinforced the principle that the insurer's failure to give timely notice precludes disclaimer; cited in support of the court's conclusion.
Downey v Merchants Mut. Ins. Co., 30 A.D.2d 171, affd 23 N.Y.2d 989 Illustrates possibility that if an insurer errs in disclaiming it may be subjected to an action to compel defense. Cited in the dissent to note that an insurer that hastily disclaims may face subsequent litigation to compel defense; relied on to argue that two-month delay was not necessarily unreasonable.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court began with Insurance Law § 167, subdivision 8, requiring written notice "as soon as is reasonably possible" to disclaim liability or deny coverage. It confirmed prior authorities (Allstate Ins. Co. v Gross; Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. [Frank]) holding that a failure to give such notice as soon as reasonably possible precludes an effective disclaimer or denial.

On the agreed facts the insurer received notice of the accident more than 45 months after it occurred, sent a reservation-of-rights letter agreeing to defend, and then commenced a declaratory judgment action two months after receiving notice. The Court observed that a reservation-of-rights letter cannot substitute for a disclaimer or denial of coverage. Because the insurer offered no explanation for the two-month delay, the Court concluded that the delay was unreasonable as a matter of law. The Court acknowledged that timeliness is generally a question of fact, but explained that when there is no explanatory proof for delay an otherwise short delay may be unreasonable as a matter of law.

In response to the dissent, the Court emphasized that the insurer had an opportunity to explain the delay and failed to do so; the Court declined to engage in speculation to justify the delay.

Holding and Implications

Order reversed; judgment of Supreme Court, Nassau County, reinstated.

Direct effect: The insurer is precluded from disclaiming liability or denying coverage in this case due to its unreasonable delay in giving written notice (two months) without any explanation. The opinion applies existing precedent to the facts presented; it does not announce a broader new rule beyond applying the established standard that unexplained delay may be unreasonable as a matter of law.

HARTFORD INSURANCE COMPANY, Respondent, v. COUNTY OF NASSAU, Appellant, and RICHARD A. JAEGER, Respondent, et al., Defendants.

MEMORANDUM.

The order appealed from should be reversed, with costs, and the judgment of Supreme Court, Nassau County, reinstated.

In order to effectively disclaim liability or deny coverage for death or bodily injury under an automobile liability insurance policy, an insurer must "give written notice as soon as is reasonably possible of such disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage" (Insurance Law, § 167, subd 8). A failure by the insurer to give such notice as soon as is reasonably possible after it first learns of the accident or of grounds for disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage, precludes effective disclaimer or denial (see Allstate Ins. Co. v Gross, 27 N.Y.2d 263; Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. [Frank], 44 N.Y.2d 897).

In the instant case, which was submitted to the courts upon an agreed statement of facts, the insurer was first notified of the accident on November 4, 1976, more than 45 months after the date of the accident. Rather than sending any notice of disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage to the insured, the insurer instead commenced this action seeking a declaration of its obligations under the policy on January 5, 1977, some two months after it first received notice of the accident. No explanation whatsoever was given for this two-month delay by the insurer. The only thing which the record indicates that the insurer did during the two-month period was to send a letter to the insured agreeing to defend it in the pending tort suit but reserving any rights the insurer might otherwise have. This letter, of course, could not serve as a notice of disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage, and would be relevant only in the event that the insured should claim that the insurer had waived its right to disclaim by conducting the defense. A reservation of rights letter has no relevance to the question whether the insurer has timely sent a notice of disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage (see Allstate Ins. Co. v Gross, supra, at p 269). As for the commencement of this action, even assuming arguendo that it could serve as a notice of disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage, we conclude that where, as here, no explanation is offered for the delay in disclaiming liability or denying coverage, a delay of two months is unreasonable as a matter of law, and hence the insurer may not disclaim liability or deny coverage in this case.

Normally the question whether a notice of disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage has been sent "as soon as is reasonably possible" is a question of fact which depends on all the facts and circumstances, especially the length of and the reason for the delay (see Allstate Ins. Co. v Gross, supra, at p 270). It is only in the exceptional case that it may be decided as a matter of law. Where, however, as here, there is absolutely no explanation for the delay provided by the insurer, a delay of two months is, as a matter of law, unreasonable.

In response to the dissent, we note that the insurer has had a full opportunity to explain the delay, and has failed to do so. Although a two-month delay may often be easily justified, if in fact there be justification, no attempt was made to do so in this case, and speculation as to possible legitimate reasons for the delay is inappropriate. It is the responsibility of the insurer to explain its delay; it is not the function of the courts to engage in speculation as to what might have happened in order to remedy a failure of proof.

JASEN, J. (dissenting).

I cannot agree with the court's conclusion that an unexplained delay by an insurer "in disclaiming liability or denying coverage [for] two months is unreasonable as a matter of law." I had thought the rule to be that an insurer give written notice of disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage as soon as is reasonably possible. (Insurance Law, § 167, subd 8.) As a foundation, the statute requires "unreasonableness" as a standard for delay; thus, no specific time period is deemed to constitute undue delay. "Rather the question of unreasonableness", we said in Allstate Ins. Co. v Gross ( 27 N.Y.2d 263, 270), "becomes a question of fact, or if extreme, of law, depending upon the circumstances of the case which make it reasonable for the insurer to take more or less time to make, complete, and act diligently on its investigation of its coverage or breach of conditions in its policy." (Emphasis supplied.)

The agreed statement of facts discloses that the insurer was first notified by the county of the accident nearly four years after the date of the accident. Forthwith, the insurer provided a defense and within 11 days advised the insured county by letter of its reservation of rights as to coverage. Within two months, insurer commenced this action for declaratory judgment to disclaim liability and coverage under the insurance policy issued by the insurer.

Based on these undisputed facts and circumstances, can it be said that, even without explanation, the period of two months was an unreasonable or extreme delay, as a matter of law, in commencing the declaratory judgment action to disclaim? I think not. The question is the promptness and forthrightness of the insurer's response to the insured's unreasonable delay in notifying the insurer of its claim. It seems most unfair to hold, as the majority does, that the insured county had nearly four years to notify the insurer of the existence of the claim and that the insurer must review a stale claim on the eve of trial and make an absolute decision to disclaim in less than two months. To so hold, the majority ignores the realities of the situation presented — to wit, the additional time required to investigate an accident which occurred almost four years prior to notification of the claim. It should further be stressed that if the insurer errs in its decision to disclaim coverage, a possibility enhanced by the necessity to conduct a hasty investigation, it will be subjected to an action to compel it to defend. (See Downey v Merchants Mut. Ins. Co., 30 A.D.2d 171, affd 23 N.Y.2d 989.)

In addition, it should be emphasized that this case was decided upon an agreed statement of facts; thus, the parties were not accorded a full opportunity, in a trial setting, to establish their respective positions. While it could be argued that the insurer should not now be permitted to take refuge behind its failure, or more likely, oversight, to include statements which would justify its delay, I would think such justification is implicit in the peculiar circumstances presented by this case.

For these reasons, I agree with the unanimous court at the Appellate Division that "under the facts of this case, the insurer's delay in disclaiming was not unreasonable as a matter of law (cf., Allstate Ins. Co. v Gross, 27 N.Y.2d 263)" and, accordingly, would affirm.

Chief Judge COOKE and Judges GABRIELLI, JONES, WACHTLER and FUCHSBERG concur in memorandum; Judge JASEN dissents and votes to affirm in a separate opinion.

Order reversed, etc.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

HARTFORD INSURANCE COMPANY v. COUNTY OF NASSAU
(Mar 29, 1979)