RYAN, J.
We granted leave to appeal in this case to consider whether the cost of living increases in workers' disability compensation benefits provided for in MCL 418.355; MSA 17.237(355) (hereinafter § 355) apply to the minimum as well as the maximum weekly rates for total disability as established in MCL 418.351; MSA 17.237(351) (hereinafter § 351).
At the time of her injury in March of 1977, plaintiff was employed by the defendant Fairview Tubular Products. She was a full-time employee normally working 40 hours a week at the then-prevailing minimum wage of $2.40/hour for a weekly gross wage of $96. Deductions for federal and state taxes and social security reduced her weekly gross pay to $77.62.
Defendant voluntarily began paying plaintiff compensation benefits of $64 per week, a rate two-thirds of her gross wage of $96 per week, comporting with the general provision of § 351. Plaintiff petitioned for a determination whether she was receiving the proper rate of compensation under the formula prescribed in §§ 351 and 355 for a disabled employee with two defendants.
After consideration of the parties' claims, the hearing officer entered the following order:
"It is ordered that the matter has been submitted on stipulated facts and briefs and the singular issue as to whether petitioner is being paid voluntarily the correct amount of weekly benefits. I find that the Jolliff decision is applicable. The correct weekly benefit rate for petitioner with two dependents and an alleged injury date of 3-25-77 is the minimum of $96.00 per week pursuant to § 351 and the director's annual adjustment. I interpret the stipulation of the parties to be, and I so order, that the defendant shall pay the correct rate from date of injury to the date of this order with credit for payments already made." (Footnote added.)
Jolliff v American Advertising Distributors, Inc, 49 Mich. App. 1; 211 N.W.2d 260 (1973), lv den 391 Mich. 780 (1974).
The director's annual adjustment is of course a reference to the provisions of § 355. The practical effect of the order in this instance was to award to the plaintiff compensation benefits which coincidentally matched her gross wages but which, in fact, paid her more weekly net income than she was receiving in her full-time employment, since the compensation award was not subject to tax.
Both the Workers' Compensation Appeal Board and the Court of Appeals subsequently affirmed the increased award on the basis of the Jolliff case in which the Court of Appeals, in 1973, approved an interpretation of §§ 351 and 355 which would adjust minimum as well as maximum rates. Jolliff v American Advertising Distributors, Inc, 49 Mich. App. 1; 211 N.W.2d 260 (1973).
1978 WCABO 3613.
Court of Appeals per curiam opinion, 92 Mich. App. 164; 284 N.W.2d 487 (1979).
I
The heart of the dispute is whether the Legislature ever intended that the minimum benefit rates of § 351 were to be adjusted in accordance with § 355. We are convinced it did not.
Section 351(1), as applicable at the time of this injury, provided:
"(1) While the incapacity for work resulting from the injury is total, the employer shall pay, or cause to be paid as hereinafter provided, to the injured employee, a weekly compensation of 2/3 of his average weekly wages, but not more than $64.00, if such injured employee has no dependents; $69.00 if 1 dependent; $75.00 if 2 dependents; $81.00 if 3 dependents; $87.00 if 4 dependents; and $93.00 if 5 or more dependents; except as provided in section 355. Compensation shall be paid for the duration of the disability. Weekly payments shall not be less than $27.00 if there are no dependents; $30.00 if 1 dependent; $33.00 if 2 dependents; $36.00 if 3 dependents; $39.00 if 4 dependents; and $42.00 if 5 or more dependents; except as provided in section 355. Compensation shall be paid for the duration of the disability. The conclusive presumption of total and permanent disability shall not extend beyond 800 weeks from the date of injury and thereafter the question of permanent and total disability shall be determined in accordance with the fact, as the fact may be at that time." (Emphasis added.)
As is evident, there are two references subjecting § 351 to the adjustment provisions of § 355; one following the maximum and another following the minimum rates established for each dependency classification.
At the time of the plaintiff's injury, § 355 provided:
"(1) The maximum weekly rate in each dependency classification in this act shall be adjusted once each year in accordance with the increase or decrease in the average weekly wage in covered employment, as determined by the employment security commission. The average weekly wage in covered employment determined by the employment security commission for the year ending June 30, 1967, shall be the base on which such adjustments are made.
"(2) A second adjustment, if any, shall be made on January 1, 1970 and shall reflect the change, if any, between the average weekly wage for June 30, 1969 and the average weekly wage for June 30, 1968 and the adjustment shall be made in like manner on each January 1 thereafter, utilizing the average weekly wage for the preceding June 30.
"(3) Adjustment for the statutory maximum rate shall be made only if there has been an increase or decrease in the average weekly wage of at least $1.50 during the preceding year, applied to the June 30, 1967, base and the director shall announce the adjustment each December 1, to become effective the following January 1. If in any year the change is less than $1.50, the director shall announce no change for the following year but the amount of change in such year shall be carried forward and added to or subtracted from subsequent annual determinations until the total change shall be at least $1.50, in which year an adjustment shall be made. There shall be an adjustment made of $1.00 in the maximum rates for each $1.50 increase or decrease in the average weekly wage. The maximum weekly rate as so determined for the year in which the date of injury occurred shall remain fixed without further change as to the personal injury occurring within such year." (Emphasis added.)
In providing for the adjustment of benefits, the foregoing section makes reference solely to maximum rates on four separate occasions. Nevertheless, it is the plaintiff's claim, concurred in by the WCAB and the Court of Appeals and based on Jolliff, that the language following the minimum rates established in § 351 and subjecting them to § 355 should be interpreted as requiring an annual adjustment to minimum rates equal to any adjustment in the maximum rates.
We disagree with this interpretation and hold that no adjustment to the minimum rates prescribed in § 351 is authorized because none was intended by the Legislature. We reach that conclusion because of 1) the Legislature's failure to make specific provision for adjustment of minimum rates while explicitly doing so with respect to maximum rates, 2) an analysis of the history of the provision in question, and 3) the internal conflicts and plainly absurd results which plaintiff's construction of the statute would effect.
II
In construing the Worker's Disability Compensation Act, we are bound to effectuate legislative intent. Dyer v Sears, Roebuck Co, 350 Mich. 92; 85 N.W.2d 152 (1957). Our effort to discover the apparent intent of the Legislature in this matter begins with an examination and analysis of the history of our present §§ 351 and 355, formerly MCL 412.9; MSA 17.159.
Prior to 1949 the general legislative scheme for workers' disability compensation provided for payments of two-thirds of average weekly wages and those payments could in no case exceed $21 per week or fall below $10 per week, without regard to the number of a claimant's dependents. Dependency classifications were added by 1949 PA 238 and both maximum and minimum rates were raised and provision was made for maximum and minimum rates in each classification. Subsequently, adjustments to both the maximum and minimum rates in each dependency classification were effected by 1952 PA 263; 1954 PA 175; and 1956 PA 195. Each time an adjustment to either the maximum or minimum rates was made, it was done expressly and by a separate legislative act.
In 1965, however, pursuant to 1965 PA 44, the Legislature amended MCL 412.9; MSA 17.159, in a fashion designed to eliminate the need to adjust the compensation levels by separate legislative act every few years. It undertook to make maximum levels "self" adjusting with the aid of the Michigan Employment Security Commission.
Specifically, the pertinent provisions of 1965 PA 44, codified at MCL 412.9(a); MSA 17.159(a) read:
"(a) While the incapacity for work resulting from the injury is total, the employer shall pay, or cause to be paid as hereinafter provided, to the injured employee, a weekly compensation of 66-2/3% of his average weekly wages, but not more than $58.00 as of September 1, 1965, $61.00 as of September 1, 1966 and $64.00 as of September 1, 1967 if such injured employee has no dependents; $63.00 as of September 1, 1965, $66.00 as of September 1, 1966 and $69.00 as of September 1, 1967 if 1 dependent; $70.00 as of September 1, 1965, $72.00 as of September 1, 1966 and $75.00 as of September 1, 1967 if 2 dependents; $77.00 as of September 1, 1965, $79.00 as of September 1, 1966 and $81.00 as of September 1, 1967 if 3 dependents; $84.00 as of September 1, 1965, $86.00 as of September 1, 1966 and $87.00 as of September 1, 1967 if 4 dependents and $91.00 as of September 1, 1965, $92.00 as of September 1, 1966 and $93.00 as of September 1, 1967 if 5 or more dependents, except as provided in subsection (f). Compensation shall be paid for the duration of the disability. Weekly payments shall in no event be less than $27.00 if there are no dependents; $30.00 if 1 dependent; $33.00 if 2 dependents; $36.00 if 3 dependents; $39.00 if 4 dependents; and $42.00 if 5 or more dependents; except as provided in subsection (f). Compensation shall be paid for the duration of the disability." (Emphasis added.)
The provision perpetuated the basic two-thirds of average weekly wages formula which was the historic basis for determining benefit amount, but set out maximum rates which increased annually and which covered the period from September 1, 1965 to January 1, 1969. At the same time, a flat minimum rate was established for each dependency classification which would remain unchanged.
The 1965 act also subjected both the maximum and minimum rates to the provisions of subsection (f), the antecedent of § 355 with which we are concerned today.
Subsection (f), first created in 1965 PA 44, read:
"The maximum weekly rate in each dependency classification shall be adjusted once each year in accordance with the increase or decrease in the average weekly wage in covered employment, as determined by the Michigan employment security commission. The average weekly wage in covered employment determined by the Michigan employment security commission for the year ending September 30, 1967, shall be the base on which such adjustments are made.
"The first adjustment, if any, shall be made on January 1, 1969, and shall reflect the change, if any, between the average weekly wage for September 30, 1968, and the average weekly wage for September 30, 1967, and the adjustments shall be made in like manner on each January 1 thereafter, utilizing the average weekly wage for the preceding September 30.
"Adjustment for the statutory maximum rate shall be made only if there has been an increase or decrease in the average weekly wage of at least $1.50 during the preceding year, applied to the September 30, 1967, base and the director shall announce the adjustment each December 1, to become effective the following January 1. If in any year the change is less than $1.50, the director of the department shall recommend no change for the following year but the amount of change in such year shall be carried forward and added to or subtracted from subsequent annual determinations until the total change shall be at least $1.50, in which year an adjustment shall be made. There shall be an adjustment made of $1.00 in the maximum rates for each $1.50 increase or decrease in the average weekly wage. The maximum weekly rate as so determined for the year in which the date of injury occurred shall remain fixed without further change as to the personal injury occurring within such year." (Emphasis added.)
The same ambiguity which plaintiff asserts now exists in § 351 had its genesis, therefore, in the 1965 act.
The 1965 act expressly provided upward adjustments for the years September 1, 1965-October 31, 1966; September 1, 1966-October 31, 1967; September 1, 1967 to December 31, 1968, but only for the maximum rates. It is indisputable that the act precluded any adjustment in minimum rates prior to 1969 and it follows therefore that the Legislature intended the minimum rates to remain unchanged for at least three years while the maximum rates were to be self-adjusted during that same period.
While it is true that there is language in the 1965 act, following the establishment of the flat minimum rates, making those rates subject to the provisions of subsection (f), at the time the act became effective (September 1, 1965) that language could have no effect since subsection (f), by its own terms, was inoperative, insofar as rate adjustment was concerned, until 1969. The "except as provided in subsection (f)" language following the statement of the maximum rates was similarly inoperative until January 1969. It was only in January 1969, that subsection (f) would become operative and then to carry on the adjustment progression for the maximum benefit rates only, as first begun by the Legislature's establishment in September, 1965, of annually increasing maximum rates.
We can see no reason why the Legislature would have unambiguously mandated that minimum compensation rates for all dependency classifications would remain unchanged for the years September 1965 to January 1969 and intend that subsection (f) should suddenly spring into action to adjust those minimum rates for all subsequent years. It would seem reasonable that if the Legislature intended annual adjustments to be made to the minimum rates through subsection (f), it would have made express adjustments for the years September 1965 to January 1969, just as it did for the maximum rates, and then provide for subsection (f) adjustments to carry on the automatic adjustment process for subsequent years. The Legislature's failure to make provision for adjusting the minimum rates from September 1965 to January 1969 is strong indication that there was no intention that subsection (f) have such effect after January of 1969. We are fortified in this view by the Legislature's failure to make any reference in subsection (f) to minimum compensation rates while, at the same time, making reference to maximum rates four times.
The basic provisions of MCL 412.9; MSA 17.159 have remained intact although that section has now been repealed and subsections (a) and (f) replaced by §§ 351 and 355 respectively, to the result that what has been said heretofore applies with equal or greater force since the Legislature has reconsidered and re-enacted essentially the same legislative scheme.
In 1980, pursuant to 1980 PA 357 to be effective January 1, 1982, the Legislature once again modified §§ 351 and 355. As amended these sections, as well as the addition of MCL 418.356; MSA 17.237(356), make it unmistakably clear that § 351 will contain no minimum benefit for total disability.
III
Our conviction that the Legislature never intended to adjust minimum rates rests not only on our judgment of legislative intent derived from the particular method utilized to free the Legislature from periodic express rate adjustments as embodied in MCL 412.9, subsections (a) and (f); MSA 17.159, subsections (a) and (f), but also on the precise language of present §§ 351 and 355 and the effect those provisions would have if given the plaintiff's interpretation.
As noted, the plain language of § 355 makes no reference to minimum rates. While there is no statutory definition of "maximum weekly rates" as used in that section, it would be unreasonable to conclude that "maximum rates" refers to anything more than the ceiling rates ("not more than") established in § 351 to which § 355 is cross-referenced. While such a reading would render the "except as provided in section 355" language following the minimum rates nugatory, it does not destroy any substantive provision in the act. It merely renders the cross-reference surplusage and of no more or less significance than that reference had when the provision was first enacted in 1965. To give § 351 the interpretation given it by Jolliff and advocated by the plaintiff would require that we write into the statute a substantive amendment; a legislative function we decline to undertake as it amounts to an unconstitutional usurpation of the powers of a co-equal branch of our government.
Further indication that the Legislature never intended that minimum rates be adjusted are the internal conflicts, unfairness and absurd results which such an interpretation would permit.
It must be remembered that in assessing legislative intent the act is to be construed as a whole and its provisions are to be construed so as to harmonize rather than conflict with one another. Gerlesits v Lakey Foundry Machine Co, 319 Mich. 229; 29 N.W.2d 856 (1947); Kasarewski v Hupp Motor Car Corp, 315 Mich. 225; 23 N.W.2d 689 (1946).
A
MCL 418.321; MSA 17.237(321), formerly MCL 412.5; MSA 17.155, establishes death benefits for the dependents of an employee "wholly dependent upon [the deceased's] earnings for support at the time of the injury". The maximum and minimum compensation rates are virtually identical to those provided for disabled persons by § 351. However, the only reference in § 321 to § 355 is with respect to the language establishing the maximum rates. There is no language referring to the § 355 adjustment provision following the minimum rate schedule.
Because the death of the employee without dependents would terminate the payment of benefits, § 321 establishes a benefit schedule which begins with one dependent as opposed to no dependents under § 351.
We can find no plausible reason why the Legislature would intend to adjust upward the minimum compensation rate for a totally disabled person and his dependents as the plaintiff claims while, at the same time, unambiguously not doing so for the surviving dependents of an employee killed during the course of employment.
B
Adjustment of the minimum compensation rates for disabled employees would also impair the effectiveness of MCL 418.357; MSA 17.237(357), which mandates an annual 5% reduction in benefits for each year after the age of 65 to a minimum of 50% of the benefits paid at age 65. An example best demonstrates the manner in which that impairment would occur.
MCL 418.357 states:
"(1) When an employee who is receiving weekly payments or is entitled to weekly payments reaches or has reached or passed the age of 65, the weekly payments for each year following his sixty-fifth birthday shall be reduced by 5% of the weekly payment paid or payable at age 65, but not to less than 50% of the weekly benefit paid or payable at age 65, so that on his seventy-fifth birthday the weekly payments shall have been reduced by 50%; after which there shall not be a further reduction for the duration of the employee's life. Weekly payments shall not be reduced below the minimum weekly benefit as provided in this act."
For the calendar year 1981, the adjusted maximum for a totally disabled worker with no dependents is $181 per week. The corresponding minimum rate, if adjusted, is $144. If, because of adjustment of minimum rates, benefits cannot be reduced below $144 as an employee moves beyond age 65, then the maximum reduction could only be $37 or 20% of the $181 received at age 65 rather than the 50% maximum reduction which § 357 requires be accomplished by age 75.
At the time the reduction provisions of § 357 first appeared in the act, the mathematical reality was that the maximum weekly rate of $58 for an injured employee with no dependents could be reduced by 50% pursuant to the above provision down to a weekly rate of $28 which would still be in excess of the then-prescribed minimum of $27. It appears evident that in 1965, when the Legislature first provided for an annual 5% reduction in benefits between the ages of 66 and 75 it had taken into consideration the minimum rates established and had ensured compatibility between the § 357 50% reduction provision and the difference between maximum and minimum rates. To adjust minimum rates as plaintiff suggests would make it impossible for the legislatively mandated 50% reduction to be effective. Adjustment of the minimum rates would render a substantive provision in the act meaningless and would violate a fundamental canon of statutory construction:
These provisions first appeared pursuant to 1965 PA 44, formerly codified at MCL 412.9(g); MSA 17.159(g).
This ineffectiveness of the 50% reduction requirement would obtain as long as average weekly wage rates in the state remain at or above those of 1970. Only the first adjustment to the minimum rates in 1969 would have done no violence to the 50% reduction provision of § 357.
The chart for weekly compensation rates adjusted both as to maximum and minimum rates and as available from the office of the Director of the Bureau of Workers' Disability Compensation looks like this:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------- Number of From 1-1-69 From 1-1-70 From 1-1-71 From 1-1-72 From 1-1-73 Dependents to 12-31-69 to 12-31-70 to 12-31-71 to 12-31-72 to 12-31-73 Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max. --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 0 $32 $69 $38 $75 $42 $79 $47 $84 $57 $94 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 1 35 74 41 80 45 84 50 89 60 99 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 2 38 80 44 86 48 90 53 95 63 105 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 3 41 86 47 92 51 96 56 101 66 111 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 4 44 92 50 98 54 102 59 107 69 117 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 5 or more 47 98 53 104 57 108 62 113 72 123 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------- Number of From 1-1-74 From 1-1-75 From 1-1-76 From 1-1-77 From 1-1-78 Dependents to 12-31-74 to 12-31-75 to 12-31-76 to 12-31-77 to 12-31-78 Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max. --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 0 $64 $101 $70 $107 $78 $115 $90 $127 $105 $142 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 1 67 106 73 112 81 120 93 132 108 147 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 2 70 112 76 118 84 126 96 138 111 153 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 3 73 118 79 124 87 132 99 144 114 159 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 4 76 124 82 130 90 138 102 150 117 165 --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 5 or more 79 130 85 136 93 144 105 156 120 171 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------- Number of From 1-1-79 From 1-1-80 From 1-1-81 Dependents to 12-31-79 to 12-31-80 to 12-31-81 Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max. ------------------------------------------------- 0 $119 $156 $134 $171 $144 $181 ------------------------------------------------- 1 122 161 137 176 147 186 ------------------------------------------------- 2 125 167 140 182 150 192 ------------------------------------------------- 3 128 173 143 188 153 198 ------------------------------------------------- 4 131 179 146 194 156 204 ------------------------------------------------- 5 or more 134 185 149 200 159 210 -------------------------------------------------
"`It is an elementary rule of construction that effect must be given, if possible, to every word, clause and sentence of a statute.' A statute should be construed so that effect be given to all its provisions, so that no part will be inoperative or superfluous, void or insignificant and so that one section will not destroy another unless the provision is the result of obvious mistake or error." 2A Sutherland, Statutory Construction (4th ed), § 46.06, p 63.
We cannot attribute to the Legislature an intent to destroy the act's internal compatibility by ascribing to it an unexpressed intention that the minimum compensation rates of § 351 be adjusted.
C
Still further indication that the Legislature did not intend that minimum rates be adjusted is the unlikelihood that it intended to maintain an arbitrary $37 difference between maximum and minimum rates. That is the effect of matching each dollar adjustment in the maximum rate with an equal adjustment in the minimum rate. All such a scheme does is perpetuate a narrow range within which the two-thirds average weekly wage calculation must fall to be effective. The primary two-thirds calculation loses much of its force if minimum rates are adjusted, since the adjustment would mandate a $37 window within which all disabled wage earners would be compensated.
The $37 difference applies to the no-dependents classification. The difference is constant in all other dependent classifications but varies from $39 to $51. See chart in fn 8.
It is clear that the two-thirds calculation is the primary rate-setting formula. Even the adjustment provisions of § 355 adhere to the 2/3 average weekly wage approach, mandating a $1.00 adjustment for each $1.50 change in the average weekly wage.
It should be pointed out that the maintenance of an arbitrary constant difference in minimum and maximum benefit rates leads to considerable distortion in the percentage changes of the respective rates. If both rates are adjusted upward, the ratio of minimum rates to maximum rates becomes increasingly larger. If both rates were adjusted upward indefinitely, the ratio would approach 1 and the $37 difference would have little, if any, practical meaning.
Also, a comparison of the percentage increase of adjusted minimums and adjusted maximums from the rates effective September 1, 1967 to January 1, 1981 reveals that if adjusted, minimums would have risen from $27 to $144 or 433%, while maximums have risen from $64 to $181, or only 183%.
Certainly from the face of the act we can discern no rational reason why the Legislature would promote a scheme which, in comparative terms, would boost the minimum benefit rates at such a dramatically accelerated pace.
Moreover, if minimum rates are adjusted, over time, all disabled workers would eventually be compensated at precisely the same rate. Such a result hardly comports with the declared policy of the Worker's Disability Compensation Act to compensate workers for their loss of wage-earning capacity, MCL 418.371(1); MSA 17.237(371)(1), unless we adopt the wholly unwarranted fiction that all workers in a free society have the same wage-earning capacity. We decline to follow that course and do not attribute such a philosophy to our Legislature. Rather, we conclude that the Legislature, aware of the economic realities in this state, assumed that the upward pressures on wages would assure that a two-thirds multiplier would continue to upwardly adjust the benefit rates for those individuals on the lower ends of the economic ladder. In addition, we believe it is evident that the Legislature, in providing for annual adjustments to maximum rates only, intended some parity between the prescribed two-thirds of average weekly wages and maximum compensation benefits in an economy which is generally expanding.
The accompanying graph best illustrates the overall "levelling" effect of adjusting minimum benefit rates.
The horizontal axis represents the passage of time. The vertical axis represents an increase in dollar amounts. We take notice that, given a growing and inflationary economy, as time passes wages increase and therefore any adjustment pursuant to § 355 will be upward. Plaintiff's assertion that the minimum rates ought to be adjusted would result in a graph in which the distance between the line representing adjusted maximum rates would remain at a constant distance from that representing the adjusted minimums. While the amount of adjustment need not necessarily remain constant from year to year, and in reality has not, for ease of illustration we will assume it has. Hence, the slope of the lines representing the adjusted levels is constant and the lines are straight.
Assume an injury occurred to each of three individuals at exactly the same time — point A. Assume also that X was earning so much in excess of the adjusted maximum rate that 2/3 of his average weekly wage (AWW) still fell at a point well above the adjusted maximum rate — here point X. His actual recovery would be at the maximum adjusted rate each year until he reached the level representing two-thirds of AWW. At that time he would collect benefits at that level (see Wemmer v National Broach Machine Co [After Remand], 89 Mich. App. 312; 280 N.W.2d 845) presumably until that time when the adjusted minimum rate would equal two-thirds AWW. From that point on, if minimums are to be adjusted, he would collect at the increasing minimum level. If minimums were not adjusted, X would continue collecting benefits only at the rate of two-thirds AWW.
In a similar fashion, Y, whose wages were such that two-thirds AWW fell below the maximum adjusted level, would continue to collect at his two-thirds level until the minimum adjusted level would equal two-thirds AWW. Again, depending on whether the minimums are adjusted, Y's benefit rate would either increase accordingly or stay at the two-thirds AWW level.
Finally, Z, whose wage is so low that two-thirds AWW leaves him below any minimum level, will begin collecting and continue to collect either at the unadjusted minimum level or at the minimum adjusted level.
The result, if minimums are adjusted, is obvious. At point B, all three wage earners, despite the disparity in wages at the time of injury, would be receiving the same compensation. On the other hand, if minimum rates are unadjusted, the difference in wage-earning capacity is reflected in the benefits each wage earner receives.
Although our holding is based on what we perceive to have been the intent of the Legislature at the time of enactment of the provisions discussed, in practical effect, given the contrary interpretations of the law by the Director of the Bureau of Workers' Compensation and the bureau's subdivisions, the Workers' Compensation Appeal Board and its hearing referees, and the Court of Appeals, today's holding is not unlike the announcement of a new rule of law. Its application therefore should be treated accordingly. See Whetro v Awkerman, 383 Mich. 235; 174 N.W.2d 783 (1970); Parker v Port Huron Hospital, 361 Mich. 1; 105 N.W.2d 1 (1960); Bricker v Green, 313 Mich. 218; 21 N.W.2d 105 (1946).
In the interest of fairness we do not believe our holding should affect any disability compensation payments already made. Consequently, no recipient will be obligated to repay sums already received by reason of the erroneous computation formula we have nullified today. However, any benefits due and not yet paid or to be awarded after the date of this opinion shall be in accord with this ruling.
Accordingly, Jolliff is overruled, the Court of Appeals is reversed, and the cause is remanded for recomputation of benefits in conformance with this opinion.
COLEMAN, C.J., and KAVANAGH, LEVIN, and FITZGERALD, JJ., concurred with RYAN, J.