AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Opinion Summary — Insurance Company of North America v. United States Gypsum Company (W.D. Va., Jan. 20, 1988)

Factual and Procedural Background

This consolidated diversity action arises from a massive subsidence event beneath the United States Gypsum Company (USG) Plasterco, Virginia facility on November 4, 1984. United States Gypsum Company, a Delaware corporation engaged in mining gypsum, operated a gypsum wallboard plant at Plasterco. Insurance Company of North America (INA), a Pennsylvania insurer, issued to USG an "all-risk" property insurance policy effective June 1, 1983 covering over 120 USG locations. The policy contained a $250,000 deductible and did not specifically exclude subsidence or mine-related perils; INA reinsured part of the policy with Industrial Risk Insurers (IRI).

On November 4, 1984, a large area (approximately twenty acres) collapsed at Plasterco, creating sinkholes as deep as seventy-five feet, damaging buildings, utilities, roadway and railroad, and causing USG to spend evidence of approximately $34 million in repairs. INA filed suit in the Western District of Virginia; USG filed suit in the Northern District of Illinois, and the cases were later transferred and consolidated in Abingdon. A jury returned a verdict for USG for $24.8 million. INA moved for judgment notwithstanding the verdict (JNOV), arguing, among other things, that the loss was non-fortuitous (i.e., not covered under an all-risk policy). The court addressed the fortuity issue (whether the subsidence was fortuitous) and denied INA's motion for JNOV in this opinion; other issues from the jury trial were reserved for a separate opinion.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the subsidence event at USG's Plasterco facility on November 4, 1984 was a "fortuitous" loss for purposes of an "all-risk" insurance policy (i.e., whether the loss was covered or excluded under the unnamed fortuity doctrine).
  2. Whether the insured (USG) met its burden of proving the loss was fortuitous, given the surrounding facts and USG's prior knowledge and precautions.
  3. Relatedly, whether INA's conduct in underwriting and inspection (via its agent IRI) affected the court's assessment of fortuity and the equities of enforcing noncoverage.

Arguments of the Parties

Insurance Company of North America (INA)

  • Moved for summary judgment and later JNOV arguing the loss was non-fortuitous (i.e., intended or expected from the insured's standpoint) and therefore not covered under the all-risk policy.
  • Raised additional fraud and policy defenses at trial (the jury returned a verdict for USG notwithstanding these defenses).
  • Argued throughout trial that USG failed to disclose particular information or events (the opinion characterizes INA's counsel as repeatedly asserting that USG did not reveal "this" event or "that" information).

United States Gypsum Company (USG)

  • Presented evidence that the November 4, 1984 subsidence was unexpected and extraordinary in magnitude and therefore fortuitous under the all-risk policy.
  • Offered proof of a multi-faceted monitoring and risk-reduction program implemented after abandoning active mining (precise surface monitoring, crack mapping, borehole studies, backfilling, water level control and periodic committee reviews), and that prior subsidence events at Plasterco had been small and had not produced damage approaching the deductible.
  • Introduced evidence of substantial prior investments and recent plant repairs and operations (e.g., $12 million modernization in 1978-79; routine repairs the week prior to the collapse) to show USG did not expect a catastrophic collapse.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Morrison Grain Co., Inc. v. Utica Mutual Insurance Co., 632 F.2d 424 (5th Cir. 1980) Burden of proof: the insured bears the burden to prove a loss was fortuitous; and the burden is "easily met" though in practice few courts find non-fortuitousness. Cited to establish the allocation of burden and to support that proof of fortuity rests with USG.
Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. v. Marine Office-Appelton and Cox Corp., 579 F.2d 561 (10th Cir. 1978) Supports the principle that the insured must prove fortuitousness. Used to corroborate the allocation of burden on the insured to show the loss was fortuitous.
British and Foreign Marine Insurance Co. v. Gaunt, 2 A.C. 41 (1921) Historical development: fortuity doctrine originated in marine insurance context. Referenced as part of the historical origins of the fortuity doctrine.
Mellon v. Federal Insurance Co., 14 F.2d 997 (S.D.N.Y. 1926) Example applying fortuity: damage to a ship's boiler that exploded was fortuitous; damage to a cracked boiler due to latent defect or wear and tear was not. Used as an illustrative early application of fortuity distinctions.
Compagnie des Bauxites de Guinee v. Insurance Co. of North America, 554 F. Supp. 1080 (W.D. Pa.), rev'd, 724 F.2d 369 (3d Cir. 1983) Discusses public policy underlying fortuity (to discourage fraud) and treats certain losses as fortuitous even if inevitable as to occurrence but uncertain as to timing; also relevant to defining accident/fortuity. Cited for the public policy rationale and for the proposition that inevitability as to occurrence does not automatically render a loss non-fortuitous; the court relied on this line of authority when discussing definitions of fortuity and accident.
Millers Mutual Fire Insurance Co. v. Murrell, 362 S.W.2d 868 (Tex. Civ. App. 1962) Holds that damage resulting from earth swelling that was certain to occur was nevertheless fortuitous because the parties lacked knowledge that damage was inevitable at a particular time. Used as a key example supporting the view that fortuity depends on parties' awareness and certainty regarding timing of loss.
Compagnie Des Bauxites de Guinee v. Insurance Company of North America, 724 F.2d 369 (3d Cir. 1983) Interprets fortuity/accident doctrine; emphasizes lack of foreseeability/timing certainty and cautions against hindsight analysis. Relied on for the proposition that fortuity should not be judged by hindsight and that loss may be accidental/fortuitous even if inevitable in a broad sense.
Essex House v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 404 F. Supp. 978 (S.D. Ohio 1975) Where witnesses could not predict with certainty when a structural risk would manifest, the loss was treated as fortuitous/accidental. Used as an example where inability to predict timing supported a finding of fortuity for the insured.
Employers Casualty Co. v. Holm, 393 S.W.2d 363 (Tex. Civ. App. 1965) An inherent defect unknown to the insured may be fortuitous. Cited to support the proposition that lack of insured's knowledge converts certain intrinsic defects into fortuitous losses.
Redna Marine Corp. v. Poland, 46 F.R.D. 81 (S.D.N.Y. 1969) Excessive wear and tear unknown to the insured can be treated as fortuitous. Cited to show that unknown wear or deterioration may nonetheless be fortuitous under modern standards.
Goodman v. Fireman's Fund Insurance Co., 600 F.2d 1040 (4th Cir. 1979) Negligence of the insured (or its agent) does not necessarily render a loss non-fortuitous under all-risk policies absent an express exclusion. Used to note that insured negligence, standing alone, does not preclude fortuity unless policy explicitly excludes such losses.
Capital Coastal Corp. v. Hartford Fire Insurance Corp., 378 F. Supp. 163 (E.D. Va. 1974) Recognized in Virginia federal court that claimed loss must be fortuitous; sinking of boat characterized as not fortuitous but due to ordinary wear and tear. Relied on to support the court's conclusion that the fortuity doctrine is understood and applicable within the Commonwealth of Virginia.
American Nat. Ins. Co. v. Dozier, 172 Va. 376, 2 S.E.2d 282 (1939) Virginia case on the definition of "accident" (used to support similarity of "accidental" and "fortuitous"). Used as supporting Virginia authority for equating accidental and fortuitous in relevant definitions.
Monterey Corp. v. Harp, 216 Va. 843, 224 S.E.2d 142 (1976) Virginia definition of "accidental": "happen by chance, or unexpectedly; taking place not according to the usual course of things; casual; fortuitous." Relied upon to support the court's view that accident and fortuity are closely aligned under Virginia law.
Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co. v. Echols, 207 Va. 949, 154 S.E.2d 169 (1967) Addresses insurer's duty to inspect prior to issuing a policy. Cited to assert that INA had a duty to make inspections before issuing the policy and thus bears responsibility for its inspection practices.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court first framed the fortuity doctrine as an unnamed exclusion implicit in "all-risk" insurance contracts: all risks are covered except those that are non-fortuitous. The court noted that the insured bears the burden to prove fortuity, citing binding and persuasive authorities for that allocation of proof.

The court then reviewed the conceptual contours of the fortuity doctrine and related authority: its historical development in marine insurance, public policy concerns (preventing insurance of losses that are certain and encouraging fraud), and modern refinements focusing on the parties' awareness of the risk and whether the loss was expected or intended by the insured. The opinion equated fortuity closely with the notion of "accident" — concentrating on whether a loss was unplanned and unexpected rather than on whether it was inevitable in some abstract sense.

Applying these legal principles to the facts, the court made the following analytical steps:

  • Evaluated the factual record regarding prior subsidence incidents at Plasterco: although sinkholes and cave-ins had occurred historically in the area (dozens since before 1925), in the 25 years prior to the policy issuance there were only eight small holes with minimal damage and none approaching the $250,000 deductible. The largest previous loss was under $700 in 1969.
  • Examined USG's post-abandonment monitoring and mitigation efforts (flooding the mine to the ninth level, precise level monitoring, contour mapping, borehole video, crack mapping, convergence monitors, backfilling, water-level control, and a semiannual review committee) and found these measures showed minimal movement in the plant area and indicated that USG did not expect catastrophic collapse.
  • Found credible testimonial evidence from USG witnesses that the November 4, 1984 event was unprecedented in magnitude and unexpected by those familiar with the mine, including evidence that monitoring had not revealed grounds for concern and that the observed concentration of movement in summer 1984 was believed to be localized at a previously known "grave hole."
  • Considered INA's knowledge and underwriting conduct: the court found INA knew it was insuring substantial mining operations; INA used IRI to inspect a sample of files and facilities (including Plasterco) rather than performing its own inspections; IRI's review had identified abandoned mines and sinkhole risks elsewhere and reported facilities at risk, yet INA took no action (e.g., requiring exclusions or further inquiries).
  • Concluded that INA's underwriting manuals cautioned underwriters to consider exclusions where a loss approached certainty and specifically mentioned subsidence as a peril apt to cause severe loss; the court found INA's failure to act (and IRI's negligence) when armed with information about mine-related risks amounted to gross negligence, and that such conduct was relevant to the equities of enforcing a noncoverage position.
  • Weighed the facts that USG had never suffered a subsidence loss beyond the deductible, had invested in plant modernization and routine repairs shortly before the collapse, and that employees entered the mine days before the event — all tending to show USG did not expect a catastrophic event.
  • Applied the governing precedents and definitions: because the insured and other reasonable observers lacked knowledge that a catastrophic subsidence was inevitable or expected within the policy term, the court treated the November 4 event as fortuitous (accidental) rather than a non-fortuitous, intended, or expected loss.

The court emphasized not judging the event with hindsight; it repeatedly noted that absence of prior catastrophic loss, USG's preventive measures, and the lack of contradiction from INA witnesses supported a finding of fortuity.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The court ruled that the subsidence at USG's Plasterco facility was a fortuitous event for purposes of the all-risk insurance policy and therefore denied INA's motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict. JNOV DENIED.

Immediate implications:

  • The jury verdict for USG in the amount of $24.8 million survives the JNOV motion to the extent addressed by this opinion, because the court concluded the loss was fortuitous and covered by the all-risk policy as written.
  • The court adopted and applied the fortuity doctrine as the appropriate legal framework in this Virginia federal case and relied on a line of authorities defining fortuity/accident in terms of the parties' awareness and expectation of loss. The court did not purport in this opinion to announce a novel statewide precedent beyond applying established federal and state-cited authorities; its ruling was a determination of coverage and denial of INA's JNOV motion in this litigation.
  • The opinion indicates that other issues arising from the jury trial (including INA's other defenses) remain to be addressed in a separate opinion; those matters were not resolved in this decision.

Note: This summary is based exclusively on the content of the provided opinion. Sections omitted or summarized reflect only the information contained in that opinion.

INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH AMERICA, Plaintiff, v. UNITED STATES GYPSUM COMPANY, Defendant. UNITED STATES GYPSUM COMPANY, Plaintiff,

GLEN M. WILLIAMS, District Judge.

This diversity case presents the novel issue of whether the subsidence of the earth beneath a gypsum processing plant was fortuitous. For the purposes of an "all risk" insurance policy, the court rules that the subsidence event was indeed fortuitous and denies the insurance company's motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The parties in these cases include the United States Gypsum Company (USG) and the Insurance Company of North America (INA). USG is a Delaware corporation engaged in the mining of gypsum, a mineral used chiefly in the manufacture of gypsum board. As its name suggests, INA, a Pennsylvania corporation, is an insurer.

INA issued to USG an all-risk property insurance policy covering over 120 USG locations on June 1, 1983. This type of policy insures all risks of loss except for specifically excluded events. The policy did not exclude subsidence or mine-related perils. INA reinsured part of the policy with Industrial Risk Insurers (IRI), a company partially owned by INA, for any losses above $5 million. The policy contained a $250,000 deductible.

On November 4, 1984, the earth subsided beneath part of the Plasterco, Virginia facility where USG had a gypsum wallboard plant it had operated since the turn of the century. A large area collapsed causing a massive surface subsidence of up to six feet over an area of approximately twenty acres. Several large cave holes appeared that were as much as seventy-five feet deep and several hundred feet across. Buildings and power and water lines were damaged as well as portions of Highway 745 and the Norfolk and Western Railroad. USG presented evidence to show that it had spent approximately $34 million to repair the damage.

INA filed suit in this district, while USG filed suit in the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. This court ordered the Illinois case transferred to Abingdon. The cases were consolidated for trial. The jury returned a verdict for USG in the amount of $24.8 million, the full amount it claimed, notwithstanding INA's various fraud and policy defenses. INA originally argued through a motion for summary judgment that the loss suffered by USG was nonfortuitous. Because numerous questions of fact pervaded the issue, the court denied the motion and heard the evidence as a trier of fact at the same time the other issues were presented to the jury. This opinion relates to the fortuity issue alone; other issues arising out of the jury trial will be considered in a separate opinion.

USG's Plasterco facility is located in Washington County. The surrounding area has been mined by various firms since the nineteenth century. Prior to the November 4 subsidence, numerous cave-ins and natural sinkholes had occurred; at least forty holes have appeared since sometime before the year 1925. In the twenty-five year period leading up to the issuance of the insurance policy, there had been only eight such holes which had caused little or no property damage. The largest single loss prior to the great event of November 4 was in 1969, incurring less than $700 in damage.

After USG abandoned the mine in 1979, company officials sought the advice of several experts, including Dr. Nolan Aughenbagh and Dr. James Scott, to develop a program to reduce the risk of subsidence damage. The program consisted of three major efforts: measurement of surface subsidence, evaluation of failure, and reduction of the risk of subsidence. First, USG let the mine flood to the ninth level and began to scientifically measure surface subsidence through "Precise Level Monitoring." Along with contour mapping, this monitoring revealed steadily increasing rates of surface subsidence throughout the October 1980 to August 1984 time frame. The maximum amount of subsidence was 7.9 inches of movement with only 2.9 inches around the mill structure area. However, no damage was occurring. Second, USG scientifically measured mine failure through: visual inspections, borehole video camera studies, crack mapping, underground precise level surveying, crack gauges, inclinometers, electric distance measuring devices, lasers and prisms, roof convergence monitors and computer-enhanced three-dimensional graphics. Finally, USG reduced the risk of subsidence loss through continued monitoring and measuring of ground movement, controlling the water level, drilling holes and backfilling mine cavities which were considered the most dangerous. This was accomplished from the surface of the mine. USG also established a committee to meet twice a year to review the subsidence conditions.

The subsidence which occurred on November 4, 1984 was unique not only in the history of Plasterco but in the history of USG. The undisputed testimony in this case from all of USG's witnesses familiar with the mine was that they never expected subsidence of such magnitude. The subsidence measurements from USG's monitoring program revealed minimal movement and gave no grounds for concern. Even though there was an increase in the summer of 1984, USG's experts believed that the concentration was in an isolated area where a single cave hole existed known as the "grave hole" which had opened several times in the past.

The court finds that INA, at the time it issued the all-risk policy, knew it was insuring a company that had substantial mining operations and that subsidence was a risk of mining. INA did not conduct its own inspections of the more than 120 facilities USG sought to insure: instead, INA employed IRI to inspect a number of randomly selected facilities to assess risk of loss. One of these facilities was the Plasterco plant. No one disputes the evidence that in April 1983, IRI reviewed files containing subsidence information at both Plasterco and Fort Dodge, Iowa. IRI inspectors specifically reported the existence of abandoned mines at Fort Dodge and sink holes and damaged plant facilities in other areas. Yet, INA took no action in response to this information.

The parties do not dispute the evidence that USG had never had any subsidence loss greater than the $250,000 deductible. INA therefore insured USG only against catastrophic or substantial subsidence loss which is the kind of loss which is at issue in this case. In twenty five years prior to June 1, 1983, Plasterco had never experienced a subsidence loss that was anywhere near the level of the deductible in this case.

At the time INA issued its all-risk policy to USG, there was one of the most competitive market conditions ever to exist in the history of the insurance industry. Interest rates were soaring, inflation was high and insurance companies were anxious to invest their premiums and reserves to avail themselves of the high rate of return. As a result, insurance companies aggressively solicited and competed for business. At the time INA issued this policy, its underwriting manuals provided that underwriters should carefully consider whether exclusions should be imposed to restrict coverage, and particularly where subsidence was the insured peril. Underwriting manuals stated that subsidence was an all-risk peril that may cause severe loss. These manuals also stated that, where a loss approached certainty, the policy should either exclude coverage or contain an appropriate deductible. The USG policy was consistent with the underwriting guidelines. Insurance witnesses in this case agreed that, with respect to all-risk policies, the insurance business considered a non-fortuitous loss to be one which was intended and expected from the standpoint of the insured.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW Fortuitous Loss Defined

"All risk" insurance contracts are a type of insurance where the insurer agrees to cover all risks of loss except for certain excluded events. Courts in the United States have interpreted this type of insurance to exclude non-fortuitous losses. This unnamed exclusion is known as the fortuity doctrine. See generally S. Cozen and R. Bennett, Fortuity: The Unnamed Exclusion, XX Forum 222 (1985). The burden of proof is on the insured to prove the loss was fortuitous. Morrison Grain Co., Inc. v. Utica Mutual Insurance Co., 632 F.2d 424, 429 (5th Cir. 1980); Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. v. Marine Office-Appelton and Cox Corp., 579 F.2d 561, 564 (10th Cir. 1978). The burden is easily met, Morrison, 632 F.2d at 430, but in practice, not so easily overcome since few courts have held a loss to be non-fortuitous.

The fortuity doctrine was first developed in the marine insurance context after World War I. British and Foreign Marine Insurance Co. v. Gaunt, 2 A.C. 41 (1921); (water damage to wool carried on ship's deck was fortuitous) Mellon v. Federal Insurance Co., 14 F.2d 997 (S.D.N.Y. 1926) (damage to ship's boiler which exploded was fortuitous but damage to cracked boiler was not fortuitous because apparently due to latent defect or wear and tear). The underlying principle of the doctrine is public policy: it would encourage fraud to allow recovery on an insurance loss which is certain to occur. Compagnie des Bauxites de Guinee v. Insurance Co. of North America, 554 F. Supp. 1080, 1085 (W.D.Pa.), rev'd 724 F.2d 369 (3d Cir. 1983). Through the years, the courts have recognized that there are losses which are certain to occur but uncertain as to time of occurrence. The most obvious example of this of course would be life insurance where the event of death is a certainty, but the timing of its occurrence is not. Fortuitous has been defined as "occurring by chance without evident causal need or relation or without deliberate intention." Webster's Third International Dictionary at 895 (1961). See also Black's Law Dictionary at 589 (5th ed. 1979). Throughout the years, the doctrine of fortuity has been refined to mean one which is dependent on chance insofar "as the parties to the contract are aware." Restatement of Contracts § 291, Comment (a) (1931). This rule of law defining fortuitous event was first enunciated without reference to the Restatement of Contracts. In 1962, in Millers Mutual Fire Insurance Co. v. Murrell, 362 S.W.2d 868 (Tex.Civ.App. 1962), the insured had damage to his dwelling when the earth beneath the house became swollen and expanded which in turn caused the walls and foundation of the house to buckle and collapse. All the expert testimony in the case demonstrated that the loss was certain to occur. The court nonetheless held that it was fortuitous in nature because even though everyone knew, from the day the house was built, that the earth would swell and expand, no one had any certain knowledge that the damage was inevitable. In other words, the parties themselves were not aware that the loss would occur at a particular time.

Some courts have found it helpful to interpret fortuitous as analogous to the insurance policy term "accident." In construing the word "accident," the emphasis focuses on the unplanned and unintentional nature of the damage rather than the fact that it is a physical certainty, or something that is inevitable. Therefore, in considering whether or not a collapse of a tippler building and crusher house fell due to an unknown design defect, the court concluded that even though the loss was inevitable, it was clearly unplanned and unintentional. Compagnie Des Bauxites de Guinee v. Insurance Company of North America, 724 F.2d 369 (3rd Cir. 1983). Here, we see the definition of fortuity becoming almost synonymous with accident. In fact, Black's Law Dictionary uses the words fortuity and accidental as synonymous. Thus, in Essex House v. St. Paul Fire Marine Insurance Company, 404 F. Supp. 978 (S.D.Oh. 1975), the insurance company claimed that a face brick was bound to collapse within the policy time limits however, the witnesses for the defense were unable to state when it could be predicted with certainty the loss would occur. Therefore, the court found for the plaintiff.

In earlier days of the fortuity doctrine, losses which occurred from inherent defects in insured property or ordinary wear and tear were considered to be non-fortuitous. E.g., Gaunt, 2 A.C. at 57. Under recent standards, the focus has been on the awareness of the insured to the loss. Therefore, it has been held that an inherent defect unknown to the insured was nevertheless fortuitous. Employers Casualty Co. v. Holm, 393 S.W.2d 363 (Tex.Civ.App. 1965). Excessive wear and tear which was unknown to the insured has also been considered as fortuitous. Redna Marine Corp. v. Poland, 46 F.R.D. 81 (S.D.N.Y. 1969). This approach makes a loss fortuitous even if it is occasioned by the negligence of the insured, Goodman v. Fireman's Fund Insurance Co., 600 F.2d 1040, 1042 (4th Cir. 1979), unless there is an express exclusion to the contrary.

For purposes of this case, the court will consider that the doctrine of fortuity is adopted and is the law of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Although there are no Virginia cases directly on point, at least one Virginia federal court, in a marine insurance case, has recognized that a claimed loss must be fortuitous and must have occurred by chance beyond the ordinary exertions of human skill. Capital Coastal Corp. v. Hartford Fire Insurance Corp., 378 F. Supp. 163 (E.D.Va. 1974) (sinking of boat was not fortuitous but due to ordinary wear and tear). Also, since the definition of accident and definitions of fortuity are so closely aligned, the court finds support for the doctrine from prior Virginia cases on the definition of "accident." See American Nat. Ins. Co. v. Dozier, 172 Va. 376, 2 S.E.2d 282 (1939). (Evidence that welder died from inhaling "galvanize" fumes sufficient for jury to find death was accidental). In Monterey Corp. v. Harp, 216 Va. 843, 850, 224 S.E.2d 142, 147 (1976), a Virginia court defines accidental in the same manner as Black's Law Dictionary, to-wit: "happen by chance, or unexpectedly; taking place not according to the usual course of things; casual; fortuitous." In determining whether or not a loss is fortuitous, one must not look upon it on as a matter of hindsight. Compagnie Des Bauxites, 724 F.2d at 372. Furthermore, if the court finds that USG in this case was negligent, it is noteworthy that where the insured or its agent was negligent, this has been deemed to be fortuitous unless there was an express exclusion in an all-risk policy. Goodman v. Fireman's Fund Insurance Co., 600 F.2d at 1042. The testimony of the expert witnesses in this case for both INA and USG testified that the standard for fortuity in the industry was determined from intended and expected actions from the standpoint of the insured.

Was the Plasterco Loss Fortuitous?

Upon due consideration of the facts in this case and based upon the law as gleaned from the cases throughout the United States, the court believes that the Plasterco loss was a fortuitous event. All of the witnesses who testified on behalf of USG stated that they did not expect the occurrence of a loss of this magnitude. The testimony of the witnesses showed that the losses which have occurred in the past at Plasterco or other USG locations were minor property losses. Furthermore, the sinkholes which had occurred prior to the accident were located at places beyond any areas where property was located. USG was monitoring and caring for the facility to prevent any catastrophic damage from occurring at any place where any plants were located. Certainly, a subsidence event was a risk at any USG location where mining had been ongoing. Indeed, subsidence is likely to occur on the earth above a mine but any resulting damage is at best a risk, not a certainty, especially where precautions are taken. Insurance companies do insure risks, and the subsidence damage in this case was just that — a risk.

There was no certainty that any subsidence was destined to occur or, in particular, that it was destined to occur within the time limits of the policy in issue. USG had adopted and implemented a rather costly program to reduce the risk of subsidence damage. All of the witnesses who testified in this case stated that the catastrophic subsidence which occurred on November 4, 1984 was unexpected. INA produced no witnesses who testified to the contrary. Until that day, no damage had ever occurred that would have given rise to a claim under INA's policy at Plasterco.

USG's conduct before the June 1, 1983 policy date is perhaps the strongest evidence that the firm did not expect a catastrophic subsidence of the earth at Plasterco. In 1978 and 1979, USG invested $12 million modernizing the plant, which tended to double production capacity. USG would not have invested such sums if it expected a major catastrophe. In the week prior to the subsidence, USG spent several thousands of dollars repairing a large portion of its parking lot, most of which was destroyed during the subsidence. November 1, 1984, two USG employees, including the mine superintendent, entered the mine to observe its condition. Certainly, they would not have risked their lives roaming around a mine that was expected to collapse. The event occurred on a Sunday with the plant in normal operation. Again, USG would not jeopardize the lives of a full shift of employees if it expected a catastrophe. USG did expect some movement in the limited area of the gravehold and cordoned off this area; yet, the earth actually subsided at the entire plant area, not just at the gravehold.

INA's Risk Assessment

Of considerable significance in this case, which the court has not found in a reading of other cases relating to all-risk policies, is the manner in which INA carried out its duty to inspect. See Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co. v. Echols, 207 Va. 949, 956, 154 S.E.2d 169, 172 (1967). All of the evidence shows that INA inspected all of the files through its agent, IRI, before writing this policy. These files contained many examples showing minor subsidence losses but none were ever questioned. INA knew it was insuring a company that had substantial mining operations, but it never insisted on any inspections of its own. Instead, INA delegated this to IRI which also has a loss in this matter.

Throughout all the arguments which have been made to this court in this case, INA's attorneys have consistently argued to the court and jury that USG did not reveal "this" event or provide "that" item of information. However, under Virginia law, INA had a duty to make an inspection before issuing the policy. Id. It had the right to incorporate exclusions in the policy to account for high-risk exposure. INA should have monitored the facility to evaluate the accuracy of its risk assessment. However, the record is replete with other examples of mining operations, abandoned mines and subsidence risks of which INA was aware. For example, IRI inspectors had specifically reported the existence of abandoned mines at Fort Dodge and the formation of mine-related sinkholes that had damaged plant facilities. The inspectors reported those mines were in danger of developing more sinkholes. Despite this knowledge, INA and IRI chose not to make any additional inquiries nor to take any action to restrict coverage of the all-risk policy. The court can neither sympathize nor tolerate INA's silence in the face of the information which was in its possession. This court believes it is unreasonable to place all of the blame on USG.

Furthermore, the court finds that INA's own manuals cautioned its underwriters to be careful and to consider whether exclusions should be imposed. These underwriting manuals specifically mention subsidence as being an insured peril which is apt to cause a severe loss and should therefore be carefully evaluated. The negligence of IRI and INA's employees in making their inspections, knowing that they were covering subsidence, is inexcusable and amounts to gross negligence.

The equities of this case reveal that INA so carelessly issued this policy that it is a factor which the court should consider in deciding this issue. The all-risk policy produced from the parties' negotiations is wholly consistent with INA's then-existing policies and guidelines. Finally, this court would note that the USG policy had a substantial deductible of $250,000 which covered normal subsidence loss. Indeed, the $250,000 would have more than covered any loss ever suffered by USG. It is noteworthy that INA only insured USG for catastrophic or substantial subsidence loss which is precisely the kind of loss at issue here. If this is not the intended type of coverage that was to be furnished, INA was getting money from USG for nothing. This is exactly the type of loss that INA contracted to take care of.

CONCLUSION

The court finds a non-fortuitous loss is one that must have been intended and expected from the standpoint of the insured. The facts in this case show that the loss suffered by USG at Plasterco was neither intended nor expected when viewed from the standpoint of USG or when viewed from the standpoint of anyone else, including a non-interested party. Therefore, the motion JNOV is denied.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

INS. CO. OF NORTH AMERICA v. U.S. GYPSUM CO., (W.D.Va. 1988)
(Jan 20, 1988)