Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

In late 1983, defendant Rodney Carrington performed waterproofing work as a subcontractor on a building and parking deck project, with Clancy Theys Construction Company acting as the general contractor. After completion and use of the parking deck in 1984, water leaks were discovered causing damage to cars and cracking in the concrete slabs. Clancy Theys hired an engineering firm which recommended two repair methods; the less expensive method involving applying a urethane-based coating over the existing waterproofing was chosen and cost approximately $130,000. In June 1985, Clancy Theys sued Carrington for the cost of this remedial work. Carrington had liability insurance from plaintiff Western World Insurance Co., which denied coverage and refused to defend Carrington. Plaintiff then filed this declaratory judgment action to determine the parties' rights under the policy. Clancy Theys intervened as a defendant. The trial court granted summary judgment for plaintiff, and both defendants appealed.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether a declaratory judgment action was proper to determine if insurance coverage existed under the policy.
  2. Whether the insurance policy’s "work product" exclusion (exclusion (o)) barred coverage for the claim seeking costs to repair or replace allegedly defective waterproofing work.
  3. Whether the insurer was estopped from denying coverage based on its statements to the defendants regarding coverage under different repair methods.

Arguments of the Parties

Defendants' Arguments

  • Exclusion (o) does not apply to bar coverage for the claim.
  • Cited cases such as Bundy Tubing Company v. Royal Indemnity Company to support that exclusion (o) should not exclude coverage for repair costs.
  • Argued that plaintiff should be estopped from denying coverage because plaintiff knew of the damage before repair method selection and stated it would deny coverage under either method.

Plaintiff's Arguments

  • Declaratory judgment action is proper to resolve the insurance coverage dispute.
  • Exclusion (o), a "work product" exclusion, clearly excludes coverage for damages consisting solely of the cost to repair or replace the insured’s defective work.
  • Defendants’ estoppel argument lacks factual support and legal authority and fails under the applicable elements of equitable estoppel.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Hobson Construction Co. v. Great American Ins. Co., 71 N.C. App. 586, 322 S.E.2d 632 (1984) Declaratory judgment action proper to determine insurance coverage. Supported that declaratory judgment action was appropriate here to resolve coverage dispute.
Insurance Co. v. Simmons, Inc., 258 N.C. 69, 128 S.E.2d 19 (1962) Declaratory judgment action by insurer to determine coverage is proper. Confirmed propriety of insurer’s declaratory judgment action under similar facts.
Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co. v. Allen, 68 N.C. App. 184, 314 S.E.2d 552 (1984) Exclusionary clauses must be narrowly construed but interpreted according to plain meaning. Guided the court to interpret exclusion (o) as written, without disregarding plain language.
Fidelity Bankers Life Ins. Co. v. Dortch, 318 N.C. 378, 348 S.E.2d 794 (1986) Policy language must be given its plain meaning. Supported the court's strict adherence to the clear language of exclusion (o).
Gulf Mississippi Marine Corp. v. George Engine Co., 697 F.2d 668 (5th Cir. 1983) Work product exclusions in liability policies exclude coverage for defective work repair costs. Used as persuasive authority that exclusion (o) excludes claims for repair or replacement of insured’s defective work.
Bundy Tubing Company v. Royal Indemnity Company, 298 F.2d 151 (6th Cir. 1962) Exclusion does not bar coverage for damage to property other than insured’s defective product. Distinguished by the court as inapplicable because here the claim is solely for repair of insured’s own work.
Moore v. Upchurch Realty Co., 62 N.C. App. 314, 302 S.E.2d 654 (1983) Elements of equitable estoppel defined. Applied to reject defendants’ estoppel claim for lack of genuine factual dispute and supporting authority.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court began by confirming that a declaratory judgment action is appropriate to resolve insurance coverage disputes where an actual controversy exists, citing North Carolina precedent and statutes.

The critical legal question was whether the insurance policy covered the claim by Clancy Theys against Carrington. The policy covered damages for property damage but contained exclusion (o), which excluded coverage for property damage to the insured's own work or products.

The court found the claim consisted solely of costs to replace or repair Carrington's allegedly defective waterproofing work. Because exclusion (o) is a "work product" exclusion, it excludes coverage for the cost of repairing or replacing the insured's own defective work, which is considered a business risk not covered by liability insurance.

Although exclusionary clauses are narrowly construed, the court emphasized it must give effect to the plain language of the policy. The court relied on persuasive decisions from other jurisdictions holding similar exclusions unambiguous and effective to exclude such claims.

The defendants’ cited cases were distinguished because those cases involved claims for damage to property other than the insured's defective work or product, or diminution in value, which were not present here.

Regarding estoppel, the court applied the established elements of equitable estoppel and found no genuine issue of material fact. The defendants failed to provide legal authority supporting their estoppel argument and thus the claim was rejected.

Holding and Implications

The court affirmed the trial court's summary judgment in favor of the plaintiff insurance company, holding that the policy’s exclusion (o) barred coverage for the claim seeking costs to repair or replace the insured’s defective waterproofing work.

The direct effect of this decision is that the insurer has no duty to defend or indemnify Carrington for Clancy Theys’ claim. The court did not establish new legal precedent but applied existing legal principles and persuasive authority to affirm the exclusion of coverage under the policy’s work product exclusion.

WESTERN WORLD INSURANCE COMPANY, INC. v. RODNEY CARRINGTON, D/B/A CARRINGTON ENGINEERED WATERPROOFING SYSTEMS, AND D/B/A CARRINGTON ENGINEERING WATERPROOFING, INC. AND CLANCY THEYS CONSTRUCTION COMPANY

1. Declaratory Judgment Act 4.3 — construction dispute — insurance coverage — declaratory judgment action proper A declaratory judgment action to determine whether insurance coverage existed was proper where plaintiff's insured was being sued on a claim for which plaintiff denied coverage and for which, if coverage existed, plaintiff had a duty to defend. N.C.G.S. 1-254.

2. Insurance 143 — construction dispute — work product exclusion — no coverage A work product exclusionary clause in a liability insurance policy applied and the policy did not provide coverage for a claim by a general contractor against a subcontractor arising from a leaking parking deck where the damages sought were solely for bringing the quality of the insured's work up to the standard bargained for. The quality of the insured's work is a business risk which is solely within his own control, and liability insurance generally does not provide coverage for claims arising from the failure of the insured's product or work to meet the quality or specifications for which the insured may be liable as a matter of contract.

3. Estoppel 8 — construction dispute — insurance company not estopped to deny coverage Summary judgment was properly granted for plaintiff insurance company in a declaratory judgment action arising from a construction dispute where the record clearly showed no genuine issue of material fact regarding whether plaintiff should be estopped to deny coverage and defendants' brief fails to provide supporting authority for their estoppel argument. N.C. Rule of App. Procedure 28(b)(5).

This is a declaratory judgment action. In late 1983, defendant Rodney Carrington (Carrington) performed waterproofing work as a subcontractor on a building and parking deck project. Defendant Clancy Theys Construction Company (Clancy Theys) was the project's general contractor. In 1984, after the parking deck was completed and in use, water was discovered leaking through part of the top level of the parking deck. The leaking damaged several cars parked in the lower deck and caused some cracking in parts of the deck's concrete slabs. Clancy Theys hired an engineering firm to investigate the cause of the leaks and suggest possible solutions to the problem. The firm suggested two alternative methods of correcting the problem: (1) remove all the topping and stonework, restore the original waterproofing system, and replace the stonework and topping; or (2) install a new waterproofing system by applying a urethane based deck coating and sealant over the entire deck, without removing or tearing off the original waterproofing system Carrington had applied. The second and less expensive method was utilized at a total cost of approximately $130,000.

On 19 June 1985, Clancy Theys brought suit against Carrington for the cost of performing the remedial work. At the time Carrington performed the original waterproofing, he carried a liability insurance policy issued by plaintiff, Western World Insurance Co., Inc. Carrington called upon plaintiff to defend the action. Plaintiff declined, denying that Clancy Theys' claim was covered by the policy. On 20 November 1985, plaintiff instituted this action against Carrington for a declaration of the parties' rights under the policy. By a consent order filed 6 January 1987, Clancy Theys was allowed to intervene as a defendant. On 9 April 1987, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. On 17 August 1987, after considering the pleadings, affidavits, discovery materials, and arguments of the parties, the trial court granted plaintiff's motion for summary judgment. Both defendants appeal.

EAGLES, Judge.

A declaratory judgment action may be brought to determine whether coverage exists under an insurance policy. Hobson Construction Co. v. Great American Ins. Co., 71 N.C. App. 586, 322 S.E.2d 632 (1984), disc. rev. denied, 313 N.C. 329, 327 S.E.2d 890 (1985); G.S. 1-254. The complaint and the record must show that an actual controversy exists. Gaston Bd. of Realtors, Inc. v. Harrison, 311 N.C. 230, 316 S.E.2d 59 (1984). The complaint and the record here show that plaintiff's insured is being sued on a claim for which it denies coverage and for which, if coverage exists, it has a duty to defend. Accordingly, a declaratory judgment action may be brought. Cf. N.C. Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co. v. Warren, 89 N.C. App. 148, 365 S.E.2d 216 (1988). Our Supreme Court has held, under facts similar to the instant case, that the insurer's declaratory judgment action to determine whether coverage existed was proper. See Insurance Co. v. Simmons, Inc., 258 N.C. 69, 128 S.E.2d 19 (1962).

The sole issue here is whether plaintiff's policy provides Carrington with coverage against Clancy Theys' claim. The policy states that plaintiff will pay all claims which the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because of bodily injury or property damage. For purposes of this action there is no dispute that there is "property damage" as defined in the policy. The policy, however, contains certain "exclusions" from coverage which plaintiff argues exempt it from the obligation to defend and pay.

Exclusion (o) of the policy provides that the insurance does not apply:

(o) to property damage to work performed by or on behalf of the named insured arising out of the work or any portion thereof, or out of materials, parts or equipment furnished in connection therewith.

The record does not contain a copy of the complaint in Clancy Theys' action against Carrington. However, the record clearly indicates that Clancy Theys' claim consists solely of costs incurred in replacing the allegedly defective waterproofing work done by Carrington with a new waterproofing system. We hold that "exclusion (o)" operates to exclude those costs from the policy's coverage.

Exclusionary clauses are not favored and must be narrowly construed. Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co. v. Allen, 68 N.C. App. 184, 314 S.E.2d 552, disc. rev. denied, 311 N.C. 761, 321 S.E.2d 42 (1984). The court, however, must interpret the policy as written and may not disregard the plain meaning of the policy's language. Fidelity Bankers Life Ins. Co. v. Dortch, 318 N.C. 378, 348 S.E.2d 794 (1986). Although there are no North Carolina cases construing the language of "exclusion (o)," numerous decisions from other jurisdictions have held that identical or similar exclusionary clauses are unambiguous and operate to exclude from coverage the type of damages which Clancy Theys is claiming here.

Exclusion (o) is one of several "work product" exclusions found in standardized liability insurance policies. See Gulf Mississippi Marine Corp. v. George Engine Co., 697 F.2d 668 (5th Cir. 1983). Since the quality of the insured's work is a "business risk" which is solely within his own control, liability insurance generally does not provide coverage for claims arising out of the failure of the insured's product or work to meet the quality or specifications for which the insured may be liable as a matter of contract. See Western World Ins. v. H.D. Eng. Design, 419 N.W.2d 630 (Minn. 1988); Henderson, "Insurance for Products Liability and Completed Operations — What Every Lawyer Should Know," 50 Neb. L. Rev. 415, 441 (1971). The cases interpreting this kind of exclusion recognize, as we do, that liability insurance policies are not intended to be performance bonds. See Breaux v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 345 So.2d 204 (La.App. 1977). Consequently, courts have uniformly held that the language of exclusion (o) excludes damages sought for the cost of repairing or replacing the insured's own work or product. See Gulf Mississippi Marine Corp. v. George Engine Co., supra, Biebel Bros., Inc. v. United States Fidelity G. Co., 522 F.2d 1207 (8th Cir. 1975); Carboline Company v. Home Indemnity Company, 522 F.2d 363 (7th Cir. 1975); Simmons v. Great Southwest Fire Ins. Co., 569 F. Supp. 1429 (E.D.Mo. 1983), aff'd, 734 F.2d 1318 (8th Cir. 1984); G.L. Shaw Bldrs. v. State Auto Ins. Co., 182 Ga. App. 220, 355 S.E.2d 130 (1987); Hartford Accident Ind. Co. v. Case Foundation Co., 10 Ill. App.3d 115, 294 N.E.2d 7 (1973); Breaux v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., supra, Taylor-McDonnell v. Commercial Union Ins., 744 P.2d 892 (Mont. 1987); Weedo v. Stone-E-Bricks, Inc., 81 N.J. 233, 405 A.2d 788 (1979); Travelers Ins. Co. v. Volentine, 578 S.W.2d 501 (Tx.App. 1979). Here, the record shows that the damages sought against Carrington are those costs incurred in replacing his allegedly defective waterproofing system with an effective waterproofing system. Therefore, the claim is excluded from the policy's coverage.

Defendants contend that exclusion (o) does not apply and cite several cases, including Bundy Tubing Company v. Royal Indemnity Company, 298 F.2d 151 (6th Cir. 1962), in support of their argument. All of the cases cited by defendants, however, are readily distinguishable since they involve claims for damages other than costs for repairing or replacing the insured's defective work or product. In Bundy, supra, the insured manufactured some defective tubing, which was installed beneath concrete flooring. The court held that an exclusion similar to the one here did not exclude the cost of removing and replacing the concrete flooring in which the defective tubing had been installed. Similarly, in St. Paul Fire and Marine Ins. v. Sears, Roebuck Co., 603 F.2d 780 (9th Cir. 1979), where the insured had improperly installed a urethane foam roofing material, and replacing it involved damage to property other than that of the insured, the court held that the cost of the "repair operation" would not be excluded. Id. at 784. The exclusion has also been held inapplicable where the damages sought are for diminution in value of the property or product of which the insured's work or product is merely a part. See Missouri Terrazzo Co. v. Iowa Nat. Mut. Ins. Co., 740 F.2d 647 (8th Cir. 1984); Ohio Cas. Ins. Co. v. Terrace Enterprises, Inc., 260 N.W.2d 450 (Minn. 1977).

In all of those cases, the damages claimed were for damage to property other than that of the insured, which was caused either by the defective work or product, or the need to repair or replace that work or product. In this case, from the record before us it is clear that Clancy Theys is not seeking damages for diminution in the structure's value, or costs for repairing the cracking in the concrete, or costs for any damage to its own property caused by the allegedly defective waterproofing. Clancy Theys' only claim is for costs incurred in substituting or replacing the protective functions which Carrington's original waterproofing work should have provided. The damages sought are solely for bringing the quality of the insured's work up to the standard bargained for. Consequently, the policy provides no coverage for the claim.

Defendants also argue that plaintiff should be estopped to deny coverage. They contend that had they used the more expensive method, most of their costs in repairing the work would have been covered. Since plaintiff knew of the damage before the method of repairing it was chosen, and because plaintiff stated to Clancy Theys that it would deny coverage under either method, defendants contend that plaintiff is now estopped to deny coverage. We disagree.

The elements of equitable estoppel are: a false representation of a material fact; made with the intention that the representation be acted upon; where some action is taken by the party asserting estoppel in reliance on the representation, which results in prejudice to him; and where the injured party was not misled by his own lack of care. See Moore v. Upchurch Realty Co., 62 N.C. App. 314, 302 S.E.2d 654 (1983). The record here clearly shows no genuine issue of material fact regarding whether plaintiff should be estopped to deny coverage. In addition, defendants' brief fails to provide supporting authority for their estoppel argument, as required by N.C.R. App. P. 28(b)(5). Defendants' argument is without merit.

Affirmed.

Chief Judge HEDRICK and Judge PHILLIPS concur.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

WESTERN WORLD INS. CO. v. CARRINGTON
(Jun 1, 1988)