AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

Claimant Dominick Coluccio, a 28-year-old laborer, sustained a low back injury on July 22, 1983. A Workers' Compensation Law Judge determined that claimant had a permanent partial disability and ruled that the claim was subject to Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8) (d) due to a preexisting speech impairment. The Workers' Compensation Board later amended the decision, finding that the combination of claimant's compensable chronic low back syndrome and vocational background resulted in a continuing permanent total industrial disability. Based on this classification, the Board discharged the Special Disability Fund. A request for full Board review was denied. The employer and its workers' compensation insurance carrier appealed the Board’s amended decision.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the claimant’s condition constitutes a total industrial disability despite medical testimony indicating capability for light work.
  2. Whether the Special Disability Fund was properly discharged under Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8) given the existence of a preexisting speech impairment.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants' Arguments

  • The employer and its workers' compensation carrier appealed the Board’s amended decision, presumably challenging the finding of total disability and the discharge of the Special Disability Fund.
  • The carrier sought to invoke Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8) based on claimant's preexisting speech impediment, arguing that the Fund should not be discharged.

Respondents' Arguments

  • The Special Disability Fund initially conceded that the claim fell within the statutory provision unless total disability was found to be based solely on the back injury.
  • The Board’s finding of total disability was premised on the combined effects of claimant’s back injury and vocational background rather than the speech impairment.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Matter of Moore v RPM Indus., 144 A.D.2d 135 Supports assessment of total industrial disability based on combined physical and vocational factors. Used to substantiate the Board’s finding that claimant’s total disability arises from both back condition and vocational limitations.
Matter of Grandinetti v Syracuse Univ., 134 A.D.2d 683 Addresses standards for determining total disability in workers’ compensation cases. Referenced to uphold the Board’s classification of total industrial disability.
Matter of Rourke v Reichhold Chem., 129 A.D.2d 949 Establishes criteria for total disability when medical evidence shows partial capacity but other factors limit employment. Supports the conclusion that total disability can be awarded despite medical testimony of some work capacity.
Matter of Russo v M M Transp., 127 A.D.2d 931 Requirements for relief under Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8): preexisting impairment known to employer and greater subsequent disability. Applied to determine that the Fund was properly discharged because total disability was not premised on the preexisting impairment alone.
Matter of Saletta v Allegheny Ludlum Steel Corp., 62 A.D.2d 360, lv denied 45 N.Y.2d 711 Clarifies standards for invoking Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8) relating to preexisting conditions. Supports the court’s conclusion that the Fund was properly discharged given the Board’s rationale.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court acknowledged that while the claimant’s specific pathological causes for continuing back pain were unclear, it was undisputed that he was permanently partially disabled. The central issue was whether total disability was warranted. Although claimant’s orthopedist testified that he could perform light work with restrictions, the court found this did not exclude a total disability award. Substantial medical evidence showed claimant was totally incapable of manual labor, compounded by his functional illiteracy and medication-induced drowsiness. The court agreed with the Board’s assessment that the combination of claimant’s back injury and vocational background justified a total industrial disability.

Regarding the Special Disability Fund, the court applied the statutory criteria requiring an employer to prove a preexisting impairment known to them and that the subsequent disability was materially greater than that caused by the injury alone. Since the Board’s total disability finding was based on the back injury combined with vocational limitations—not the preexisting speech impairment—the Fund was properly discharged. The court found the Fund’s discharge rational and consistent with Workers' Compensation Law §§ 15 (a), (b), and (d).

Holding and Implications

The court affirmed the amended decision of the Workers' Compensation Board, including the finding of total industrial disability and the discharge of the Special Disability Fund.

The direct effect of this decision is that claimant is recognized as totally disabled based on the combined effects of his compensable back injury and vocational limitations, and the Special Disability Fund is relieved from liability. No new legal precedent was established beyond the application of existing Workers' Compensation Law provisions and relevant case law.

In the Matter of the Claim of DOMINICK COLUCCIO, Respondent, v. AENCO, INC., et al., Appellants, and SPECIAL DISABILITY FUND, Respondent. WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD, Respondent.

Weiss, J.

Claimant, then a 28-year-old laborer, sustained a low back injury on July 22, 1983. A Workers' Compensation Law Judge eventually found that claimant had a permanent partial disability, and held that the claim was subject to Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8) (d) based upon a preexisting speech impairment. The Workers' Compensation Board rendered an amended decision finding "the combination of the claimant's compensable chronic low back syndrome and vocational background generates in this claimant a continuing permanent total industrial disability" and, in the light of this classification, discharged the Special Disability Fund (Workers' Compensation Law § 15 [8]). A request for full Board review was denied. The employer and its workers' compensation insurance carrier have appealed.

Although the specific pathologic reasons for claimant's continuing back pain have escaped detection, it is undisputed that claimant's lower back condition has rendered him permanently partially disabled. The question here, however, is one of total disability. We recognize that Dr. James Striker, claimant's attending orthopedist, testified that he was capable of performing light work with various physical restrictions as to bending, lifting and sitting. These findings, however, do not preclude a total disability award. There is substantial medical evidence that claimant is totally incapable of performing work involving manual labor. The record further substantiates that claimant is functionally illiterate and required to take medication on a daily basis that makes him drowsy. The coupling of claimant's back limitations with his limited vocational background provides a substantial basis for the Board's assessment of a total industrial disability (see, Matter of Moore v RPM Indus., 144 A.D.2d 135; Matter of Grandinetti v Syracuse Univ., 134 A.D.2d 683; Matter of Rourke v Reichhold Chem., 129 A.D.2d 949).

We further find that the Board correctly discharged the Fund. To obtain relief pursuant to Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8), an employer must establish the existence of "a permanent physical impairment prior to the accident, that such condition was known to the employer, and that the subsequent disability is materially and substantially greater than that which would have resulted from the subsequent injury alone" (Matter of Russo v M M Transp., 127 A.D.2d 931, 932; see, Matter of Saletta v Allegheny Ludlum Steel Corp., 62 A.D.2d 360, lv denied 45 N.Y.2d 711). Here, the carrier seeks to invoke Workers' Compensation Law § 15 (8) by virtue of claimant's preexisting speech impediment. Notably, the Fund initially conceded that the claim fell within the ambit of that statutory provision, unless a finding of total disability was premised on the back injury alone. A review of the Board's determination shows that its finding of total disability was premised on the combined effects of claimant's back injury and his vocational background, not any physical speech impediment. Since the Board could rationally assess a total disability without regard to claimant's preexisting physical impairment, the Fund was properly discharged (see, Workers' Compensation Law § 15 [a], [b], [d]).

Amended decision affirmed, without costs. Mahoney, P.J., Kane, Weiss, Levine and Harvey, JJ., concur.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

MATTER OF COLUCCIO v. AENCO, INC
(Feb 23, 1989)