Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

Harry and Lana Jean Gallant were divorced in September 1980. Lana Jean was awarded custody of their minor child, and Harry was ordered to pay $75 per month in child support and all reasonable medical, optical, and dental expenses for the child. Due to the father's disability from an industrial accident, the court allowed him to defer payments until he began receiving disability benefits.

Harry started receiving Workers' Compensation benefits in late 1981 and contributed to the child's medical expenses from 1981 to 1985. Around 1981 or 1982, he transferred a trailer to Lana Jean as partial payment for back child support, which she later sold for $6,000.

In April 1985, Harry began receiving Social Security benefits and union retirement benefits totaling approximately $1,180 per month, along with a lump sum Social Security payment of $36,000. From 1986 onward, he ceased making child support or medical payments despite requests from Lana Jean.

Consequently, Lana Jean filed a motion for contempt against Harry for failure to pay child support and medical expenses. After a hearing in November 1987, the District Court issued a judgment in February 1989 finding Harry liable for $6,367.38 in arrearages, medical expenses, and attorney fees. Harry appealed solely the child support arrearages portion of the judgment.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the District Court erred in finding Harry Gallant liable for $4,050 in child support arrearages despite his partial payment through transfer of a trailer and the child's receipt of Social Security benefits.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • Harry Gallant argued that he substantially complied with his child support obligations by transferring a house trailer to Lana Jean as partial payment of arrearages.
  • He contended that obtaining Social Security benefits for the child was agreed upon by the parties as terminating his child support obligation.
  • He asserted that the transfer of the trailer was intended to absolve him of all past due child support.

Respondent's Arguments

  • Lana Jean testified she received $2,400 net from the sale of the trailer, which the court credited against arrearages.
  • She maintained that the child’s receipt of Social Security benefits did not relieve Harry of his child support obligations.
  • She demonstrated actual need for continued support, particularly due to the child's substantial medical expenses related to a physical disability.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
In Re the Marriage of Sabo, 224 Mont. 252, 730 P.2d 1112 (1986) Standard for "substantial compliance" with child support orders. The court held that the father's actions did not meet the substantial compliance standard, as the trailer transfer only accounted for part of the arrearages and Social Security benefits were not expenditures by the father.
Williams v. Budke, 186 Mont. 71, 606 P.2d 515 (1980) Further guidance on substantial compliance with child support obligations. Reinforced that partial payments and benefits obtained do not necessarily satisfy child support obligations absent clear agreement or modification.
In Re Marriage of Cook, 223 Mont. 293, 725 P.2d 562 (1986) Clarification that Social Security benefits for a child do not constitute a parent's expenditure satisfying child support obligations. The court cited this precedent to reject the father's argument that Social Security benefits fulfilled his support obligations.
State ex rel Blakeslee v. Horton, 222 Mont. 351, 722 P.2d 1148 (1986) Statutory limitations on relieving obligor parents of past due child support. The court expressed reluctance to relieve the father of arrearages due to statutory constraints, supporting the enforcement of past due support.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court analyzed the father's partial payments and benefits in light of the dissolution decree and applicable statutes. It acknowledged the credit of $2,400 from the trailer sale but rejected the father's claim that this transfer extinguished all arrearages, noting that modification of child support requires written consent under Section 40-4-208(2)(b)(ii), MCA.

The court further rejected the father's contention that Social Security benefits for the child fulfilled his support obligations, citing precedent that such benefits are not expenditures by the parent and do not satisfy the decree's intent.

The father failed to demonstrate substantial and continued changed circumstances necessary for modification under Section 40-4-208(2)(b)(i), MCA, while the mother showed ongoing need due to the child's medical expenses.

Consequently, the court affirmed the District Court's calculation of arrearages after crediting the trailer sale proceeds, maintaining the father's liability for the remaining $4,050 in child support arrearages.

Holding and Implications

The Supreme Court of Montana affirmed the District Court's judgment holding Harry Gallant liable for $4,050 in child support arrearages.

The decision enforces the principle that partial payments or benefits obtained for a child do not automatically satisfy child support obligations absent formal modification or clear agreement. The ruling directly affects the parties by requiring the father to pay the outstanding arrearages, including medical expenses, but does not establish new precedent beyond affirming existing statutory and case law standards.

IN RE THE MARRIAGE OF LANA JEAN GALLANT, PETITIONER AND RESPONDENT, AND HARRY GALLANT, RESPONDENT AND APPELLANT

JUSTICE SHEEHY delivered the Opinion of the CourtPage 364

Harry Gallant appeals from a judgment of the District Court, Eighth Judicial District, Cascade County, finding him liable for $6,367.38 in child support arrearages, medical expenses and attorney fees. We affirm the District Court

The sole issue presented is whether the court erred in finding the father liable for $4,050 in child support arrearages

Harry and Lana Jean Gallant were divorced in September, 1980 Lana Jean Gallant was awarded custody of the minor child, and Harry was required to pay all reasonable medical, optical and dental bills incurred on behalf of the child, as well as $75 per month in child support. The court recognized the father's disability as a result of an industrial accident, and allowed him to forego payment until he received his disability benefits

The father began receiving $1,000 per month in Workers' Compensation benefits in the fall of 1981. It is uncontroverted that he helped pay his son's medical expenses from 1981 to 1985 In 1981 or 1982, father agreed to turn over a trailer to the mother as partial payment of back child support. Mother subsequently sold the trailer for $6,000

In April, 1985, father began receiving Social Security benefits of $850 per month, as well as union retirement benefits of $330 per month, making his total monthly income approximately $1,180 In addition, he received a lump sum payment of past Social Security benefits totaling $36,000.00

Father made no child support payments, and no medical payments from 1986 on, despite requests from the mother. Subsequently, mother retained counsel and filed a motion for order to show cause why contempt should not issue for the father's failure to pay child support and reasonable medical bills. Hearing on the matter took place on November 17, 1987, and judgment and order issued on February 21, 1989. The District Court found that the father was 86 months behind in child support, amounting to $6,450. The court credited him with $2,400, the amount the mother testified she had netted on the sale of the mobile trailer. The court found the father also owed $1,238.09 in medical expenses The court noted that the parties' child had been receiving $325 per month in Social Security benefits since 1985, but declined to discharge the child support obligation in light of those benefits. This appeal ensued. Appellant appeals only the child support ruling

The father contends that the District Court erred in finding he owes child support arrearages. Father argues that he has substantially complied with the decree's child support obligations by turning the house trailer over to his ex-wife, and by obtaining Social Security payments for the child

The mother testified that she received $2,400 from the sale of the trailer after costs were deducted. This testimony is unrefuted. The court took into consideration statements by both parties that the transfer of the property was in lieu of child support payments. The court then subtracted $2,400 from its calculation of arrearages:

86 months at $75/month $6,450.00 Less: Credit from transfer of property $2,400.00 _________ $4,050.00

Father has raised no objection to the $2,400 figure offered by the wife. Rather, he asserts that the parties agreed that the transfer would absolve husband of all arrearages. The District Court properly disregarded the claim, as such modification requires the written consent of the parties. Section 40-4-208(2)(b)(ii), MCA. Thus, after crediting father for $2,400, the court properly adjudged the remaining $4,050 due and owing

Father also contends that his obtaining of Social Security payments for the child serves as substantial compliance with the support obligation. He states that the parties agreed at the decree's inception to terminate child support upon obtainment of Social Security benefits. No such provision is contained with the parties' dissolution decree

The father's claim of substantial compliance with the child support order does not meet the standard of "substantial compliance" set forth in In Re the Marriage of Sabo (1986), 224 Mont. 252, 256, 730 P.2d 1112, 1114 and Williams v. Budke (1980), 186 Mont. 71, 74-5, 606 P.2d 515, 517. The surrender of the trailer here accounted for only one-third of the outstanding child support debt. Further, the attainment of Social Security benefits for the child is not an "expenditure [by the father] which constitutes substantial compliance with the spirit and intent of the decree." In Re Marriage of Cook (1986), 223 Mont. 293, 299, 725 P.2d 562, 566. Such benefits in no way constitute an expenditure from the father. The father has neither shown nor pleaded substantial and continued changed circumstances that would serve to allow modification. Section 40-4-208(2)(b)(i), MCA. Conversely, the mother has shown actual need for the support. The parties' child has accrued substantial medical bills due to his physical disability. This Court is reticent because of statutory limitation to relieve an obligor parent of past due child support obligations. State ex. rel Blakeslee v Horton (1986), 222 Mont. 351, 722 P.2d 1148 1150-51; Sabo, supra

We affirm the District Court

CHIEF JUSTICE TURNAGE and JUSTICES BARZ, McDONOUGH and WEBER concur

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

MARRIAGE OF GALLANT
(Feb 15, 1990)