JOHNSON, Judge.
On this appeal, Lawrence and Sandra Schneider raise only two claims for relief: 1) The trial court should have entered judgment notwithstanding the verdict in their favor, and 2) The trial court erred in refusing certain requested points for charge of the Schneiders and granting certain points for charge of the defendants. We find both claims to be without merit. Accordingly, we affirm.
The distinguished trial court set forth the material facts in its Opinion denying post-trial motions as follows:
The Plaintiff, Lawrence Schneider, is a longtime client of the Defendant Lindenmuth-Cline Insurance Agency. Originally Mr. Schneider held a No-Fault automobile insurance policy from Motorists Mutual Insurance Company (hereinafter Motorists), under which Mr. Schneider received primary coverage for Medical benefits.
In 1983 Mr. Cline became an agent for Aetna Insurance Company (hereinafter Aetna) in addition to Motorists. At that time Aetna was engaged in a campaign to woo clients away from Motorists, and to that end offered a one time incentive commission to Mr. Cline for every policy he could change over. Additionally, due to Motorists' deteriorating financial condition, Mr. Cline felt that the switch to Aetna would be beneficial to his clients. Mr. Schneider was one of the people he contacted about the change.
A form letter was sent out in December of 1983 to the targeted clients together with a request for information. Mr. Schneider returned his letter with a handwritten inquiry about possibly omitting his deductible. Mr. Cline recalled a telephone conversation with Mr. Schneider when Mr. Cline advanced the alternatives of eradicating the deductible or switching to excess coverage as a means of saving money on premiums. Thinking that Mr. Schneider desired to switch to excess coverage Mr. Cline obtained his Blue Cross/Blue Shield policy numbers in anticipation of the change.
Mr. Schneider had no recollection of this conversation with Mr. Cline. On the contrary he stated that in several
conversations with a Lindenmuth-Cline employee named Linda in 1983 and 1984, he specifically requested the continuation of primary coverage. The only Linda employed by the agency did not begin work until 1988.
In 1984 Mr. Cline arranged for the transfer of Mr. Schneider's auto insurance from Motorists to Aetna, and also arranged the switch from primary to excess coverage. A copy of the policy, which included language concerning the coordination of benefits, was mailed to Mr. Schneider who was billed for the lesser, excess coverage, premium. In 1985, while the Aetna policy was in effect, Mr. Schneider, his wife and son were injured in an automobile accident.
Believing that they were entitled to primary, or double dip coverage, Mr. Schneider instituted this action sounding in breach of contract and negligence against the Lindenmuth-Cline Agency, Pat Cline and Aetna Insurance. The parties stipulated Plaintiff's damages to be $18,478.93. The case went to trial before a jury, who on January 15, 1991, returned a verdict for the defendants. Plaintiff filed timely post trial motions.
Turning to the first issue, our standard of review of an order denying judgment n.o.v. is limited. We must determine whether there was sufficient competent evidence to sustain the verdict. Wenrick v. Schloemann-Siemag Aktiengesellschaft, et al., 523 Pa. 1, 4, 564 A.2d 1244, 1246 (1989); Ingrassia Construction Co., Inc. v. Walsh, 337 Pa. Super. 58, 61, 486 A.2d 478, 480 (1984). In so doing, we must grant the verdict winner the benefit of every inference which reasonably may be drawn from the evidence. We also must reject all unfavorable testimony and inferences. Ingrassia, supra. See also Lira v. Albert Einstein Medical Center, 384 Pa. Super. 503, 508, 559 A.2d 550, 552 (1989); Jewell v. Beckstine, 255 Pa. Super. 238, 386 A.2d 597 (1978). Judgment n.o.v. may be granted only in clear cases, where the facts are such that no two reasonable minds could fail to agree that the verdict was improper. Gray v. H.C. Duke Sons, Inc., 387 Pa. Super. 95, 563 A.2d 1201 (1989); Frank v. Peckich, 257 Pa. Super. 561, 391 A.2d 624 (1978). Judgment n.o.v. may not be employed to invade the province of the factfinder. Thus, where there is a question of fact to be resolved, this is the fact-finder's function. Trawick v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co., 242 Pa. Super. 271, 363 A.2d 1265 (1976).
The trial court acted correctly in refusing to grant the Schneiders' motion for judgment n.o.v. None of the testimony adduced at trial showed that the Schneiders requested or paid for insurance coverage other than that which they received. The Schneiders received a copy of their policy shortly after it was issued and had every opportunity to review the plain language of its excess coverage provision.
The Schneiders rely upon the case of Tonkovic v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, 513 Pa. 445, 521 A.2d 920 (1987) for their assertion that judgment n.o.v. was wrongly withheld. We find that case to be inapposite.
In Tonkovic, the insured applied, in July 1979, for an insurance policy providing disability coverage offered by State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. It was undisputed that Tonkovic applied for coverage that would enable him to make his mortgage payments in the event of injury, without regard to where such injury might occur, or whether he might be eligible for worker's compensation benefits. An application had been filled out covering these specific points. Tonkovic paid for the policy. Three months later, Tonkovic was injured on the job and received worker's compensation benefits. Tonkovic's subsequent application for benefits under his State Farm policy was rejected. Our supreme court found that Tonkovic had applied and paid for certain coverage in advance, and State Farm then unilaterally reduced and excluded the coverage desired. It found that Tonkovic had specifically requested a type of coverage that would have protected him in the very instance before the court, but was issued a policy quite different from that which he requested. Our supreme court recognized that Tonkovic placed testimony before the jury from which the jury could conclude that Tonkovic never received a copy of the policy and had never been advised of a change in the coverage for which he had originally applied. On those facts, our supreme court held that an insurer may not unilaterally change the coverage provided without an affirmative showing that the insured was notified of, and understood, the change, regardless of whether the insured read the policy. Tonkovic at 454, 521 A.2d at 925.
At best, the Tonkovic decision demonstrates the existence of factual disputes calling for jury resolution. There is nothing in that decision to form the basis for a grant of judgment n.o.v. in the Schneiders' favor. Even under the extreme circumstances present in Tonkovic, the issue before our supreme court was whether a jury could find that the policy exclusion was not applicable. The court stated that, on appeal, the evidence and the reasonable inferences must be viewed in the light most favorable to the verdict winner and that conflicts in testimony must be resolved in the verdict winner's favor. Id. at 454, 521 A.2d at 925. At the very most, the Schneiders were entitled to exactly what they received: the submission of their claim to the jury.
Turning to the Schneiders' second contention on appeal, again we find no error. The Schneiders asked for the following points for charge:
6. When an insurer elects to issue a policy different from what the insured requested, there is clearly a duty to advise the insured of the changes so made. The burden is not on the insured to read the policy to discover such changes or not read at his peril.
Tonkovic v. State Farm Mutual Automobile
Insurance Company, 521 A.2d [at] 925.
7. Where an individual applies for and prepays for specific insurance coverage, the insurer may not unilaterally change the coverage provided without an affirmative showing that the insured was notified of and understood the change regardless of whether the insured read the policy.
Tonkovic. . . .
8. An insurer cannot unilaterally defeat the expressed expectations of the insured when the issued coverage differs materially from the coverage which the insured specifically applied, the insurer must call the difference to the attention of the insured, regardless of whether the policy language by
itself is clear.
Koval v. Liberty Mutual Insurance
Company, [
366 Pa. Super. 415, 421], 531 A.2d [487], 490 (1987).
Plaintiff's Supplemental Additions to the Points for Charge, submitted January 14, 1991, ruled on January 15, 1991, Trial Transcript, January 14 and 15, 1991, pp. 194, 195, R.R.Vol. II, pp. 194, 195, Brief for Appellant, pp. 17-18.
A trial judge is not bound to remold points for charge presented to him. If they are not strictly in accordance with the facts in evidence or the law of the case, she may refuse them. Sedlitsky v. Pareso, 400 Pa. Super. 1, 8, 582 A.2d 1314, 1317 (1990), appeal denied 527 Pa. 673, 594 A.2d 659 (1991). It is not error for the court to refuse a requested point for charge which is improperly formulated, and the court is not responsible for adapting the request to make it a correct statement submittable to the jury. Parnell v. Taylor, 266 Pa. Super. 74, 86, 403 A.2d 100, 106 (1979) (Per Price, J., with one judge concurring in the result). Points for charge which necessitate qualification or modification may be refused, for the trial judge is not to mold or restate points which are not accurate as drawn. Solomon v. Luria, 213 Pa. Super. 87, 246 A.2d 435, 439 (1968).
We conclude that none of the requested points here at issue accurately reflect the authorities from which they purportedly are drawn, nor do they reflect the facts at trial in this case. We therefore find no error in the trial court's rejection of the points for charge set forth above.
In the Argument portion of the Schneiders' Brief, the only authority relied upon and argued, outside of the quoted language contained in the disputed points for charge, in support of these requested points is Tonkovic v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, supra. The facts presented at trial would not support any one of the three requested points.
Lawrence Schneider had primary coverage for medical benefits under a Motorist Mutual policy. He was contacted by defendant Pat Cline concerning switching his carrier to Aetna. Cline testified, as on cross-examination, that Schneider was interested in saving money in his insurance costs if a transfer were to be affected. Cline apprised Schneider of two possibilities for decreasing his premium costs: eliminating his property deductible since the automobile being insured was somewhat old and switching to excess rather than primary coverage on the medical benefits. Cline obtained Schneider's private hospitalization and medical benefits policy numbers in anticipation of the change from Motorist Mutual to Aetna.
Schneider did not recall this conversation with Cline, but testified that in speaking with an employee named Linda at the Lindenmuth-Cline agency in 1983 and 1984, he specifically requested the continuation of primary coverage. Cline, in 1984, arranged for the transfer of the insurance from Motorist Mutual to Aetna, with a switch from primary to excess coverage. The policy, with language concerning the coordination of benefits, was mailed to and received by Schneider in 1984. After the policy was issued, Schneider was billed for, and paid, the lower, excess coverage premium. The following year, the Schneiders were involved in an accident. Their request to secure double payment from Aetna was refused prompting this suit.
These facts will not support the points requested. As to requested point No. 6, above, the Aetna policy had not been requested by the insured but was discussed on the initiative of the agent as a possible cost-saving device. More fundamentally, the requested point omits a material clause included in the Tonkovic opinion. The pertinent language in Tonkovic is, in its entirety:
We find a crucial distinction between cases where one applies for a specific type of coverage and the insurer unilaterally limits that coverage, resulting in a policy quite different from what the insured requested, and cases where the insured received precisely the coverage that he requested but failed to read the policy to discover clauses that are the usual incident of the coverage applied for. When the insurer elects to issue a policy differing from what the insured requested
and paid for, there is clearly a duty to advise the insured of the changes so made. The burden is
not on the insured to read the policy to discover such changes, or not read it at his peril.
Tonkovic 513 Pa. at 454, 521 A.2d at 925 (emphasis added). In the case now under review, there is absolutely no testimony to support any suggestion that Schneider had paid for primary coverage under the Aetna policy and received something less. To the contrary, the uncontradicted testimony was that Schneider received a bill for a reduced sum, after the policy had been delivered to him, and paid that reduced sum without further inquiry.
In the same vein, requested point No. 7 was properly refused since it, also, assumes facts that were not in evidence, that is, the alleged application and prepayment for specific insurance coverage, and the unilateral change of the coverage provided. The Schneiders contend on appeal that this case is controlled by Tonkovic. We cannot agree.
Both of the requested points for charge, Nos. 6 and 7, when accurately related to the Tonkovic holding, depend upon a factual scenario not present on this appeal. Schneider did not prepay for specific coverage, he did not fill out an application for specific coverage, and he did receive both a reduced premium notice and his policy at least one year prior to the incident which triggered his claim against Aetna. We find no error in the trial court's denial of points Nos. 6 and 7.
As to requested point No. 8, this is nothing more than a restatement of points Nos. 6 and 7. The language submitted to the trial court is an excerpt from Koval v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, 366 Pa. Super. 415, 422, 531 A.2d 487, 490 (1987). In Koval, in quoting the language here sought to be given to the Schneider jury as request No. 8, this Court was doing nothing more than distinguishing Tonkovic from the case then before it, a case in which an anti-stacking clause was upheld against the insured.
We are unable to find the "crucial distinction" which energized the Tonkovic decision. Tonkovic 513 Pa. at 454, 521 A.2d at 925. We find no error in the trial court's denial of point No. 8.
In the alternative, the Schneiders argue that the trial court erred in charging the jury "as requested by the defendants." The Schneiders contend that the following portion of the court's charge was erroneous:
Now, we talked about the insurance policy and how it was issued and mailed to the insured. Now, an insured is deemed to have knowledge of the contents of an insurance policy issued to him when he has received the policy. If the terms of the insurance policy are such that upon reading the policy the insured would be aware that coverage for medical benefits would be excess over similar benefits he is deemed to have such knowledge.
If you find based upon the evidence that the language of Mr. Schneider's insurance policy included clearly worded and conspicuously displayed language to the extent that the coverage for medical benefits would be excess over similar benefits available to the insured, then the insured is not permitted to recover against any of the defendants in this case.
Trial Transcript, January 14 and 15, 1991, pp. 212-213, R.R.Vol. II, pp. 212-213.
The Schneiders also take issue with the following excerpt from the trial court's charge:
. . . . You may find in favor of the plaintiffs against the Pat Cline Agency only if you find by a preponderance of the evidence that the plaintiffs and Pat Cline or Lindenmuth-Cline specifically agreed that primary medical benefit coverage would be included in the Aetna insurance being acquired.
Id. at 211-212.
The Schneiders do not argue that the quoted language is not a correct statement of the law in Pennsylvania. They limit their objection to the charge actually given on the basis that it is "violative of the holding in Tonkovic." While this may very well be true, it would not be determinative of this appeal unless we were to find that Tonkovic controls the outcome of this case. The Schneiders concede as much. In evaluating a claim of erroneous instructions to the jury, we must analyze the court's charge in its entirety. Olson v. Dietz, 347 Pa. Super. 1, 6, 500 A.2d 125, 127 (1985). We are unable to find any error in the charge as a whole. That the charge does not parallel the holding in Tonkovic is of no moment, inasmuch as the unique facts and "crucial distinction" found by our supreme court in Tonkovic are not present here.
Our role as a reviewing court is limited to determining whether the trial court committed error in either (a) giving points for charge that were not consistent with the law and the facts, or (b) refusing to give requested points for charge which are required in order to secure a proper resolution of the dispute. On this appeal, the Schneiders advance three specific points for charge which were refused. On the trial record available to this court, we find no error in such refusal. The Schneiders, in the alternative, go on to suggest that a portion of the charge that was given was erroneous. Since the challenged portions mirror facts which were in front of the jury and set forth correct statements of Pennsylvania law, we cannot find error in those portions of the charge about which objection has been made.
Accordingly, we AFFIRM the judgment in favor of the defendants and against the plaintiffs. Judgment AFFIRMED. Jurisdiction RELINQUISHED.
FORD ELLIOTT, J., files a concurring and dissenting opinion.