Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

On December 15, 1988, the parties entered into a stipulation whereby the defendant father agreed to pay child support of $50 per week for each of his two children. This obligation was subject to provisions concerning Social Security disability benefits payable to the children due to the defendant's disability. The stipulation provided that the plaintiff mother would accept these Social Security disability benefits on behalf of the children in lieu of the defendant's child support payments, and the defendant would cover any shortfall if benefits totaled less than $5,200 annually. Additionally, if the plaintiff received a lump sum retroactive payment for benefits, she was to reimburse the defendant for child support payments covering the retroactive period. The parties divorced by a judgment entered February 15, 1989, which incorporated but did not merge the stipulation.

The Social Security Administration approved benefits for the children and issued a lump sum payment of $14,200 to the plaintiff as representative payee in October 1991, followed by monthly payments totaling $532. The defendant moved to enforce the stipulation after unsuccessful requests for compliance, while the plaintiff argued the provisions were illegal and cross-moved for increased child support. The Supreme Court granted enforcement of the stipulation, rejected the illegality claim, and denied the plaintiff’s request for increased support. The defendant appealed the enforcement order.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether Social Security disability benefits received by children as a result of a noncustodial parent's disability may be credited against the noncustodial parent's child support obligation.
  2. Whether the provisions of the stipulation relating to Social Security disability benefits were illegal and unenforceable.
  3. Whether the plaintiff demonstrated sufficient grounds for an upward modification of child support based on changed circumstances.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments (Plaintiff Mother)

  • The provisions of the stipulation concerning Social Security disability benefits were illegal and therefore unenforceable.
  • Requested an upward modification of child support, asserting changed circumstances including the possibility of losing a part-time teaching position and increased income of the defendant.

Respondent's Arguments (Defendant Father)

  • Sought enforcement of the stipulation’s child support provisions related to Social Security disability benefits after the plaintiff failed to comply.
  • Argued that the stipulation was valid and binding, and the Social Security benefits should be credited against his child support obligation.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Passaro v. Passaro, 92 A.D.2d 861 (N.Y. App. Div. 1983) Social Security disability payments received by a child due to the parent's disability may be credited toward the parent's child support obligation. The Court cited this case to affirm that Social Security benefits can offset child support obligations.
Matter of Graby v. Graby, 196 A.D.2d 128 (N.Y. App. Div. 1993) Confirmed the crediting of Social Security disability benefits against noncustodial parent's child support obligation under the Child Support Standards Act and Federal Family Support Act. The Court agreed with this reasoning and relied on it to uphold enforcement of the stipulation.
Zwirn v. Zwirn, 153 A.D.2d 854 (N.Y. App. Div. 1989) Supports enforcement of stipulations regarding child support and benefits. Referenced to support the enforcement of the parties' uncontroverted stipulation.
Matter of Boden v. Boden, 42 N.Y.2d 210 (1977) Standards for modification of child support require an unanticipated and unreasonable change in circumstances or unfairness of the original agreement. Used to reject plaintiff’s request for modification due to insufficient showing of changed circumstances.
Matter of Brescia v. Fitts, 56 N.Y.2d 132 (1982) Child support modification requires a demonstration that children are not adequately supported. Applied to conclude that the children were adequately supported under the agreement.
Brevetti v. Brevetti, 182 A.D.2d 606 (N.Y. App. Div. 1992) Affirms the principles for modification of child support and the general reluctance to modify based solely on increased income. Supported denial of plaintiff’s upward modification motion and the court’s reasoning about income increases.
Matter of Laitman v. Laitman, 88 A.D.2d 954 (N.Y. App. Div. 1982) Loss of employment does not constitute a change in circumstances unless it is permanent or cannot be replaced. Applied to reject plaintiff’s claim that possible loss of part-time teaching position warranted modification.
Matter of Bernstein v. Goldman, 180 A.D.2d 735 (N.Y. App. Div. 1992) Generally courts do not modify child support agreements solely based on increased income of a parent. Reinforced the court’s denial of modification based on defendant’s increased income.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court analyzed the stipulation in light of established legal principles concerning Social Security disability benefits and child support obligations. It relied on precedent from Passaro v. Passaro and the more recent Matter of Graby v. Graby, which confirmed that Social Security disability benefits paid to children due to a noncustodial parent's disability may be credited against that parent's child support obligation. The court found the stipulation's provisions consistent with these principles and not illegal.

Regarding the plaintiff's request for upward modification, the court applied the standard requiring an unanticipated and unreasonable change in circumstances or unfairness in the original agreement. The plaintiff failed to meet this burden, as the potential loss of a part-time job was speculative and the defendant's increased income alone did not justify modification. The court thus upheld the original agreement and denied the plaintiff’s cross-motion.

Holding and Implications

The order of the Supreme Court, Westchester County, was affirmed insofar as appealed from, with costs.

The court enforced the stipulation crediting Social Security disability benefits against the defendant’s child support obligation and rejected the plaintiff’s claim of illegality. It also denied the plaintiff’s request for modification of child support due to insufficient demonstration of changed circumstances. This decision directly resolves the parties’ dispute without establishing new precedent beyond affirming existing case law.

JUDITH R. PATTEN, Appellant, v. WILLIAM P. PATTEN, Respondent.

Ordered that the order is affirmed insofar as appealed from, with costs.

On December 15, 1988, the parties entered into a stipulation whereby, inter alia, the defendant father agreed to pay child support of $50 per week for each of his two children. This obligation, however, was subject to several provisions relating to the anticipated payment of Social Security disability benefits to the children as a result of the defendant's disability. The stipulation provided that the plaintiff mother would accept these Social Security disability benefits on behalf of the children in lieu of the defendant's child support payments, and that the defendant would be responsible for any deficit, i.e., if the benefits amounted to less than $5,200 per year. The agreement further provided that if the plaintiff received a lump sum payment for retroactive benefits on behalf of the children, she was to reimburse the defendant for the child support payments made by him for the period subsumed by the retroactive payment. The parties were divorced by a judgment of the Supreme Court, Westchester County, entered February 15, 1989, and the stipulation was incorporated, but not merged, into the judgment.

The Social Security Administration (hereinafter the SSA) thereafter approved the application for benefits on behalf of the children. In October of 1991, the SSA remitted a lump sum check to the plaintiff, as representative payee, of $14,200 to cover "past benefits due", and has, since December of 1991, made monthly payments for the children totalling $532 per month.

The defendant moved for enforcement of the stipulation after repeated requests to the plaintiff for compliance proved fruitless. The plaintiff countered that the provisions in question were illegal and, accordingly, unenforceable. In addition, the plaintiff cross-moved for an upward modification of child support. The Supreme Court granted the defendant's request for enforcement of the child support provisions relating to the Social Security payments, rejected the plaintiff's claim of illegality, and concluded that the parties' unequivocal stipulation should govern. The court further denied the plaintiff's cross motion for additional support. We affirm.

The principle that Social Security disability payments received by a child by virtue of the child's parent's disability may be credited toward the disabled parent's child support obligation was expressed by this Court in Passaro v Passaro ( 92 A.D.2d 861, 863).

More recently, in Matter of Graby v Graby ( 196 A.D.2d 128), the Appellate Division, Fourth Department reexamined the issue presented and considered the continued validity of Passaro in light of the guidelines set forth in this State's Child Support Standards Act (see, Family Ct Act § 413), promulgated in compliance with the Federal Family Support Act of 1988 (see, 42 U.S.C. § 667). The Court determined that "Social Security disability benefits received by a child as a result of a noncustodial parent's disability shall be credited against the noncustodial parent's child support obligation" (Matter of Graby v Graby, supra, at 135). We agree with the Fourth Department's reasoning and conclusion, and, accordingly, affirm the portion of the order appealed from which enforced the provisions of the otherwise uncontroverted stipulation (see, Zwirn v Zwirn, 153 A.D.2d 854).

The Supreme Court properly rejected the plaintiff's request for upward modification of child support, as the plaintiff failed to demonstrate "an unanticipated and unreasonable change in circumstances, or that the agreement entered into by the parties was unfair when entered into (see, Matter of Boden v Boden, 42 N.Y.2d 210), or that the child[ren] w[ere] not being adequately supported (see, Matter of Brescia v Fitts, 56 N.Y.2d 132)" (Brevetti v Brevetti, 182 A.D.2d 606, 607).

The possibility that the plaintiff will lose her part-time teaching position does not constitute an unanticipated change in circumstances until it becomes clear that the position, if indeed lost, cannot be replaced with another (see, Matter of Laitman v Laitman, 88 A.D.2d 954). Moreover, although the plaintiff claims that the defendant's income had increased since 1989, "the courts generally do not modify an agreement with respect to child support based merely upon a parent's increased income" (Brevetti v Brevetti, supra, at 608; see, Matter of Bernstein v Goldman, 180 A.D.2d 735). Thompson, J.P., Copertino, Pizzuto and Santucci, JJ., concur.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

PATTEN v. PATTEN
(Apr 18, 1994)