AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Summary of Opinion: Hudson Insurance Company & Safety National Casualty Corporation v. City of Chicago Heights

Factual and Procedural Background

Donald Crotty and Donald Schak owned several buildings in Chicago Heights. In 1984 the owners contracted to sell the properties for $1.9 million. In August and September 1984 the City posted notices alleging approximately 4,300 building, health, and fire code violations and on September 27, 1984 the city ordered the buildings' tenants, most of whom were black, to vacate. After tenants left, the buildings deteriorated due to fire damage, vandalism, looting, and other events. The city ordered the buildings razed in November 1984 and the properties were later demolished.

The building owners filed suit in federal court on May 14, 1986 (Crotty v. City of Chicago Heights, 86 C 3412), alleging violations of 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981, 1982, 1983, and 1985(3), along with tortious interference and conspiracy claims, all grounded on the allegation that the City intentionally and discriminatorily posted violations to destroy the buildings and remove primarily black residents. A bifurcated jury trial began in June 1992; the jury returned a verdict for the plaintiffs in the liability phase. Before the damages phase, the parties reached a settlement in which Chicago Heights expressly denied liability but agreed to pay $4.5 million. The district court subsequently dismissed the suit and no final judgment was entered.

Chicago Heights incurred approximately $1.7 million in legal fees and costs in addition to the $4.5 million settlement. Insurance coverage: (1) a comprehensive general liability policy with the Insurance Corporation of Ireland (ICI) for July 1, 1984–July 1, 1985 (duty to defend; $500,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate); ICI appointed counsel and contributed $350,000 to the settlement; (2) a Public Employees and Public Liability policy from International Insurance Company (May 1, 1984–May 1, 1987) with $1 million limits, which International denied covered the settlement (coverage dispute noted as pending in district court and an Illinois appellate decision was referenced regarding partial recovery); and (3) excess/umbrella policies with Safety National Casualty Company (Safety) and Hudson Insurance Company (Hudson): Safety provided umbrella coverage July 1, 1984–July 1, 1986 ($1 million per occurrence and aggregate) subject to payment of an "ultimate net loss" in excess of retained limits caused by an "occurrence"; Hudson issued a following-form excess policy in excess of Safety with $4 million aggregate for July 1, 1984–July 1, 1985.

Safety and Hudson (both insurers) jointly filed a diversity declaratory-judgment action against Chicago Heights seeking a declaration of non-coverage for the Crotty settlement losses. Chicago Heights counterclaimed against Safety and Hudson and also sued International. All parties moved for summary judgment. The district court granted summary judgment in favor of Hudson and Safety on the ground that the events leading to the Crotty settlement did not constitute an "occurrence" as defined in the Safety and Hudson policies. The city appealed.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the events giving rise to the Crotty settlement constituted an "occurrence" under the Safety and Hudson insurance policies, thereby triggering coverage obligations.
  2. Whether the jury verdict in Crotty (which led to the settlement and after which the action was dismissed without final judgment) should be given preclusive effect for purposes of resolving the insurers' coverage obligations.

Arguments of the Parties

City of Chicago Heights (Appellant)

  • The district court erred in finding there was no "occurrence" under the insurance policies.
  • The district court improperly gave preclusive effect to the Crotty jury verdict because that verdict was never entered as a final judgment (the case was settled and dismissed).
  • Even if the verdict is given preclusive effect, the ultimate facts derivable from that verdict do not necessarily establish that the city intended the destruction of any buildings.

Safety National Casualty Company and Hudson Insurance Company (Appellees)

  • Asserted that the events leading to the Crotty settlement did not constitute an "occurrence" as defined in their policies (an "occurrence" being an accident causing injury or damage neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of the insured).
  • Raised additional alternative grounds for summary judgment (which the district court did not decide because it granted summary judgment on the "occurrence" ground). Those alternative arguments included: alleged failure of the city to maintain required underlying coverage, policy exclusion clauses, and failure to apportion settlement costs between intentional and unintentional theories of liability.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Karanzanos v. Navistar Intern. Transp. Corp., 948 F.2d 332, 334 (7th Cir. 1991) Standard of review: district court's grant of summary judgment reviewed de novo. The court stated it reviews summary judgment de novo and cited Karanzanos for that principle.
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552-53, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986) Summary judgment burden: moving party's initial burden and non-moving party must present specific facts to rebut. Used to describe the allocation of burdens on summary judgment and the necessity for the non-moving party to come forward with specific facts.
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 255, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2513-14, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986) Rule on viewing the record and inferences in the light most favorable to the non-moving party. Cited to explain how the appellate court reviews the record and reasonable inferences for summary judgment purposes.
Argento v. Village of Melrose Park, 838 F.2d 1483, 1498 (7th Cir. 1988) Under Illinois law, civil rights claims for intentional violations can fall under the definition of "occurrence" if the injuries were not specifically intended or expected. Invoked to explain Illinois law's focus on whether the injury was expected or intended, not merely whether the acts were intentional; used as a key precedent in analyzing "occurrence."
Calvert Ins. Co. v. Western Ins. Co., 874 F.2d 396, 399 (7th Cir. 1989) Illustrates that intentional acts may nonetheless constitute no "occurrence" where the injurers clearly expected to harm the victim; focuses on whether the injury was expected or intended. Used as a contrasting example where no "occurrence" was found because officers clearly expected to cause harm; supports the court's discussion of the "expected or intended" inquiry under Illinois law.
USF G v. Wilkin Insulation Co., 144 Ill.2d 64, 161 Ill.Dec. 280, 286, 578 N.E.2d 926, 932 (1991) Referenced as part of Illinois authorities addressing whether injuries were expected or intended for the "occurrence" inquiry. Cited among Illinois cases supporting the legal standard that the focus is on whether the injury was expected or intended by the insured.
Illinois Farmers Ins. v. Preston, 153 Ill. App.3d 644, 106 Ill.Dec. 552, 554-55, 505 N.E.2d 1343, 1345-46 (1st Dist. 1983) Another Illinois decision used to frame the "expected or intended" concept in the context of coverage. Included with other Illinois authority to establish the governing approach to "expected" injuries.
Bay State Ins. Co. v. Wilson, 96 Ill.2d 487, 71 Ill.Dec. 724, 726, 451 N.E.2d 880, 882 (1983) Definition of "expected" injuries: those that "should have been reasonably anticipated by the insured." Quoted by the court to explain what constitutes an "expected" injury under Illinois law.
Tunnell v. Edwardsville Intelligencer, 43 Ill.2d 239, 252 N.E.2d 538, 540 (1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 1021, 90 S.Ct. 1259, 25 L.Ed.2d 530 (1970) Illustrates that a plaintiff's action does not abate and that a post-verdict event (death) does not negate entitlement to judgment on a verdict; supports notion that a verdict need not be final to have force. Used to support the proposition that a jury verdict need not be entered as a final judgment to have collateral estoppel or preclusive effect.
Davenport v. DeRobertis, 844 F.2d 1310, 1313-14 (7th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Lane v. Davenport, 488 U.S. 908, 109 S.Ct. 260, 102 L.Ed.2d 248 (1988) Example that a jury verdict need not be final to have collateral estoppel effect. Cited as authority that a non-final verdict may have collateral estoppel effect relevant to the insurers' coverage dispute.
St. Paul Fire and Marine Ins. Co. v. Nat'l Chiropractic Mut. Ins. Co., 496 N.W.2d 411, 415 (Minn.Ct.App. 1993) Used by way of comparison: the settlement should be understood to resolve the claims submitted to the jury and the ultimate facts necessary to prove them. Quoted as logical support for treating the settlement as resolving the claims and the ultimate facts determined by the jury verdict.
International Ins. Co. v. City of Chicago Heights, 268 Ill.App.3d 289, 205 Ill.Dec. 698, 643 N.E.2d 1305 (1994) Referenced in a note regarding a separate Illinois appellate determination concerning International's policy and partial recovery of legal fees arising from the Crotty suit. Cited in the opinion's factual/note section concerning coverage litigation involving International Insurance Company; not used in the court's coverage analysis of Safety/Hudson.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court first stated the applicable standards for summary judgment: review is de novo (Karanzanos), the moving party bears the initial burden (Celotex), and the record and inferences are viewed in the light most favorable to the non-moving party (Anderson). The Safety policy's coverage was described: it obligated payment for an "ultimate net loss" in excess of retained limits for personal injury, property damage, or advertising injury "caused by an occurrence," with "occurrence" defined as "an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, which results in personal injury or property damage neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of the Insured." The Hudson policy followed Safety's form, so Hudson's liability depended on a finding of "occurrence" under Safety.

Under Illinois law, as the court explained, intentional civil-rights claims can still fall within the definition of an "occurrence" where the injuries were not specifically intended or expected (Argento; Calvert; related Illinois authorities). The court emphasized that Illinois law focuses on whether the injury was expected or intended by the insured, not merely whether the underlying acts were intentional. The court also explained that "expected" injuries include those that should have been reasonably anticipated (Bay State).

Addressing the relevance of the Crotty jury verdict and settlement, the court rejected Chicago Heights' argument that the verdict was a nullity simply because no final judgment was entered. The court cited Illinois and Seventh Circuit authority (Tunnell; Davenport) and commentary (Restatement (Second) of Judgments § 13g comment 3) to support the proposition that a jury verdict need not be final to have collateral estoppel effect. The court reasoned that the settlement arose from the jury verdict and settled the claims submitted to the jury, and thus the ultimate facts necessary to prove those claims should determine what the settlement resolved (cf. St. Paul Fire and Marine).

Applying those principles to the record, the court concluded that the Crotty case and settlement demonstrated that Chicago Heights intentionally and discriminatorily posted the buildings' violations to drive out black residents, and from the ultimate facts of Crotty it was reasonable to infer that, as a result of its actions, Chicago Heights expected to destroy the buildings and interfere with the owners' contracts. The court noted that while one might not abstractly expect discrimination or tortious interference to lead to building destruction, given the circumstances (posting violations, evacuation, subsequent deterioration and razing) the destruction and resulting damages were reasonably foreseeable and should have been anticipated by the city.

Finally, the court observed that Safety and Hudson produced evidence supporting the inference of expectation and that Chicago Heights offered nothing in response besides its denial of liability in the settlement. The court concluded that the essentially undisputed record established that the injuries and damages were expected from the standpoint of the insured, which precluded a finding of an "occurrence" under the Safety policy (and therefore under the Hudson policy as a following-form excess insurer).

Holding and Implications

The court held that there was no "occurrence" under the Safety policy or the Hudson policy and affirmed the district court's grant of summary judgment for the insurers.

Implications:

  • Direct effect: Safety National Casualty Company and Hudson Insurance Company are not obligated under their policies to cover Chicago Heights' losses from the Crotty settlement; the district court's judgment in favor of the insurers is affirmed.
  • The court resolved the dispute on the ground that the injuries were expected from the insured's standpoint; because the court affirmed on this ground it expressly did not address the insurers' alternative arguments (e.g., failure to maintain underlying coverage, policy exclusions, and failure to apportion settlement costs).
  • No broader rule beyond the application of Illinois law to the facts was announced; the opinion applies existing Illinois and Seventh Circuit authorities to the specific circumstances and does not state a novel rule of law beyond that analysis.

HUDSON INSURANCE COMPANY, A DELAWARE CORPORATION, AND SAFETY NATIONAL CASUALTY CORPORATION, A MISSOURI CORPORATION, PLAINTIFFS-APPELLEES, v. CITY OF CHICAGO HEIGHTS, AN ILLINOIS MUNICIPAL CORPORATION, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT.

FLAUM, Circuit Judge.

Safety National Casualty Corporation and Hudson Insurance Company brought a diversity suit against the City of Chicago Heights seeking a declaration of non-coverage for losses suffered by Chicago Heights as a result of a settlement in an underlying civil-rights discrimination case. The district court granted Hudson and Safety's joint motion for summary judgment, and we now affirm.

I.

Donald Crotty and Donald Schak owned a number of buildings in Chicago Heights. In 1984, Crotty and Schak entered into contracts to sell the properties for $1.9 million. In August and September of 1984, however, Chicago Heights posted notices of approximately 4,300 building, health and fire code violations, and on September 27, 1984, the city ordered the buildings' tenants, most of whom were black, to vacate the premises. After the tenants left, the buildings' condition deteriorated because of fire damage, vandalism, looting, and other events. Chicago Heights ordered the buildings razed in November, 1984, and the properties were later demolished.

The building owners filed suit in federal court on May 14, 1986. Crotty v. City of Chicago Heights, 86 C 3412. The building owners alleged that Chicago Heights had violated the owners' rights under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 (intentional racial discrimination depriving a person of the right to make or enforce contracts), 1982 (intentional racial discrimination depriving a person of the right to purchase, lease, sell, hold, or convey property), 1983 (intentional violation under color of state law of a person's rights), 1985(3) (conspiracy depriving a person of the equal protection of the laws or the equal privileges and immunities under the laws), had tortiously interfered with their contracts, and had fraudulently conspired against the building owners. Underlying all the Crotty claims was the owners' assertion that Chicago Heights had intentionally and discriminatorily posted building violations in order to destroy the buildings and drive out the mostly black residents.

Another, almost identical, suit had been proceeding in state court since 1985. The building owners subsequently dismissed this suit voluntarily and elected to proceed on the federal action alone.

Other counts were initially pleaded but subsequently dismissed voluntarily.

A bifurcated jury trial of the Crotty claims began in June, 1992. The jury returned a verdict in the liability phase of the trial for the plaintiffs on all counts. Before the damages phase began, however, the parties entered into a settlement agreement. In the settlement, Chicago Heights expressly denied liability but agreed to pay the plaintiffs $4.5 million. The district court subsequently dismissed the law suit and no final judgment was entered.

Having incurred approximately $1.7 million in legal fees and costs in defending the Crotty suit in addition to the $4.5 million settlement, Chicago Heights sought reimbursement from its insurers. Chicago Heights had a comprehensive general liability policy with the Insurance Corporation of Ireland ("ICI") issued for the period from July 1, 1984, to July 1, 1985. The ICI policy included a duty to defend as well as liability limits of $500,000 for each occurrence under the policy and $500,000 in the aggregate. ICI appointed counsel to defend Chicago Heights in the Crotty case and contributed $350,000 to the settlement.

Chicago Heights also had a Public Employees and Public Liability Insurance Policy from International Insurance Company from May 1, 1984, to May 1, 1987. The International policy had limits of $1 million per loss and $1 million in the aggregate. International denied that its policy covered the settlement and refused to indemnify Chicago Heights at all.

A coverage dispute action between International and Chicago Heights is currently pending in the federal district court, although an Illinois state appellate court recently determined in a separate declaratory judgment action that International's policy permitted recovery of approximately $573,600 for a portion of the legal fees arising from the Crotty suit. International Ins. Co. v. City of Chicago Heights, 268 Ill.App.3d 289, 205 Ill.Dec. 698, 643 N.E.2d 1305 (1994).

Finally, Chicago Heights had excess insurance coverage policies with Safety National Casualty Company and Hudson Insurance Company. The Safety policy provided umbrella coverage to Chicago Heights, its officers, employees, and other "Insureds" from July 1, 1984, through July 1, 1986, for $1 million per occurrence and in the aggregate. The Safety policy only obligated Safety to pay for an "ultimate net loss" in excess of the retained limit which Chicago Heights became legally obligated to pay as damages on account of personal injury, property damage or advertising injury liability caused by an "occurrence." The Hudson policy provided umbrella coverage to Chicago Heights on terms similar to the Safety policy, except that the Hudson policy was in excess of the Safety policy and had a limit of $4 million in the aggregate. Hudson's coverage extended from July 1, 1984, to July 1, 1985.

Safety, a Delaware corporation with its principal place of business in New York, and Hudson, a Missouri corporation with its principal place of business in Missouri, jointly filed this diversity action against Chicago Heights seeking a declaration of non-coverage for the losses Chicago Heights incurred in the Crotty settlement. Chicago Heights filed a counterclaim against Safety and Hudson, as well as a complaint against International. All parties moved for summary judgment. The district court granted Safety and Hudson's motion on the ground that the events leading to the Crotty settlement did not constitute an "occurrence" as defined in the Safety and Hudson policies but declined to rule on the insurance companies' other theories. Chicago Heights now appeals that decision.

II.

Chicago Heights maintains on appeal that the district court erred in finding there was no occurrence under the Safety and Hudson policies. Chicago Heights contends that the district court improperly gave preclusive effect to the Crotty jury verdict because that verdict was never entered. Furthermore, Chicago Heights argues, even assuming that the verdict is preclusive, no ultimate facts derivable from that verdict necessarily establish that the city intended the destruction of any buildings. We agree with the district court that there was no "occurrence" under the policy and affirm on that ground.

Because we affirm on this ground, we, like the district court, do not address the alternative grounds on which Safety and Hudson sought summary judgment. These other arguments include the city's alleged failure to maintain $5 million in coverage underlying the Safety and Hudson policies, additional exclusion clauses in both policies that precluded coverage, and Chicago Heights' failure to apportion its settlement costs among intentional and unintentional theories of liability.

We review a district court's grant of summary judgment de novo. Karanzanos v. Navistar Intern. Transp. Corp., 948 F.2d 332, 334 (7th Cir. 1991). Summary judgment is appropriate where "the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law." FED.R.CIV.P. 56(c). The party moving for summary judgment bears the initial burden of showing that no genuine issue of material fact exists. Once that burden is met, the non-moving party must come forward with specific facts to rebut that showing. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552-53, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). We review the record, and all reasonable inferences which can be drawn from it, in the light most favorable to the non-moving party. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 255, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2513-14, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986).

In the instant case, the Safety policy required Safety to pay for:

ultimate net loss in excess of the retained limit hereinafter stated which the Insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because of

a. personal injury or

b. property damage or

c. advertising injury

to which this insurance applies, caused by an occurrence. . . .

The policy defines an "occurrence" as "an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, which results in personal injury or property damage neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of the Insured." The Hudson policy was a "following-form" excess policy such that any liability on the part of Hudson was premised on liability on the part of Safety. Therefore, neither policy is activated unless there was an "occurrence" under the Safety policy.

The parties agree that Illinois law controls the interpretation of the insurance contracts at issue in this case. Under Illinois law, "civil rights claims for intentional violations can fall under the definition of occurrence as long as the injuries incurred were not specifically intended or expected." Argento v. Village of Melrose Park, 838 F.2d 1483, 1498 (7th Cir. 1988); see also Calvert Ins. Co. v. Western Ins. Co., 874 F.2d 396, 399 (7th Cir. 1989) ("The focus at all times, under Illinois law, is whether the injury was expected or intended by the police officers, not whether the acts of the officers were performed intentionally.") (emphasis in original); USF G v. Wilkin Insulation Co., 144 Ill.2d 64, 161 Ill.Dec. 280, 286, 578 N.E.2d 926, 932 (1991); Illinois Farmers Ins. v. Preston, 153 Ill. App.3d 644, 106 Ill.Dec. 552, 554-55, 505 N.E.2d 1343, 1345-46 (1st Dist. 1983). "Expected" injuries include those that "are of such a nature that they should have been reasonably anticipated by the insured." Bay State Ins. Co. v. Wilson, 96 Ill.2d 487, 71 Ill.Dec. 724, 726, 451 N.E.2d 880, 882 (1983). In Argento, for example, the black victim of a police beating prevailed under 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3) on a claim charging his assailants with discriminatorily conspiring "to deprive him of justice and equal protection of the laws." 838 F.2d at 1486. We held that the police department's insurer could not, on a summary judgment motion, deny coverage to one of the officers on the basis of an "occurrence" clause because the infliction of bodily injury was not a necessary element of a § 1985(3) claim and neither side had presented uncontroverted evidence as to whether that officer, who had not been present at the beating, had specifically intended the injury. Id. at 1498-99. Using similar reasoning, we concluded in Calvert, another police assault case, that there was no occurrence under an insurance contract, and therefore no coverage, because the Calvert officers clearly expected to harm their victim. 874 F.2d at 399. We likewise determined in Calvert that the city employing the officers lacked coverage under the same policy. We held that the city had "expected" the suspect's injuries because it had "recklessly" failed to supervise the officers. Id. at 399-400.

As a first step, we must ascertain the relevance of the Crotty case and its subsequent settlement. Chicago Heights contends that the jury verdict in Crotty is a nullity and should have no binding effect. We disagree. Illinois law dictates, for example, that "when a plaintiff dies after having received a verdict in his favor but before the entry of judgment, his action does not abate and he is entitled to judgment upon that verdict." Tunnell v. Edwardsville Intelligencer, 43 Ill.2d 239, 252 N.E.2d 538, 540 (1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 1021, 90 S.Ct. 1259, 25 L.Ed.2d 530 (1970). Moreover, a jury verdict need not be final to have collateral estoppel effect. See, e.g., Davenport v. DeRobertis, 844 F.2d 1310, 1313-14 (7th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Lane v. Davenport, 488 U.S. 908, 109 S.Ct. 260, 102 L.Ed.2d 248 (1988); RESTATEMENT (SECOND) JUDGMENTS § 13g comment 3 (1980). The settlement disputed in this case arose from the jury verdict; it was designed to settle the very claims submitted to the jury. Logic counsels that those claims, and whatever ultimate facts would be necessary to prove them, should determine what the settlement settled. Cf. St. Paul Fire and Marine Ins. Co. v. Nat'l Chiropractic Mut. Ins. Co., 496 N.W.2d 411, 415 (Minn.Ct.App. 1993). As Safety and Hudson point out, it was precisely because the Crotty jury had found the liability issues against Chicago Heights that Chicago Heights settled the case.

The Crotty case and settlement demonstrated that Chicago Heights intentionally and discriminatorily posted the buildings at issue in order to drive out the buildings' black residents. As Argento cautions, the consequences of intentional actions are not necessarily intended or expected. It is nonetheless reasonable to infer from the ultimate facts of the Crotty case that Chicago Heights, as a result of its actions, expected to destroy the buildings and interfere with the building owners' contracts. One might not expect that intentional discrimination or tortious interference with contractual relations, as abstract claims, would lead to the destruction of buildings, but they certainly do under the given circumstances. Furthermore, when Safety and Hudson came forward with evidence supporting that inference, Chicago Heights presented nothing in response except for its denial of liability in the settlement. We are therefore left with the essentially undisputed conclusion that even if Chicago Heights did not intend the destruction of the buildings through vandalism by third parties, it should have expected the destruction of the buildings and the ultimate damages suffered by the Crotty plaintiffs as the likely consequence of that action. That is enough for summary judgment.

Thus, we hold that there was no occurrence under the Safety policy or the Hudson policy that triggered either company's coverage obligations. For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the district court is affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

HUDSON INS. CO. v. CITY OF CHICAGO HEIGHTS
(Feb 10, 1995)