Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Docket Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

John Roumeliotis was employed as an automobile service station attendant by George Popa. While working alone on November 2, 1994, Roumeliotis was severely beaten, suffering multiple skull fractures, the loss of his left eye, and severe burns. Evidence suggested Popa knew the station was in a high-crime area and that the station had been robbed twice within the year prior to the assault. Roumeliotis filed for workers' compensation and learned Popa had not obtained workers' compensation insurance and was not a self-insurer, in violation of Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 152, § 25A. On February 1, 1985, Roumeliotis brought suit in Massachusetts alleging Popa was strictly liable for failing to obtain insurance and for inadequate safety. Popa filed for Chapter 7 bankruptcy on May 3, 1996. Roumeliotis was scheduled as holding a contingent and unliquidated claim. On July 10, 1996, Roumeliotis filed an adversary complaint in bankruptcy seeking a determination that his state-law claims were non-dischargeable under 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6). The Bankruptcy Court dismissed the complaint on October 31, 1996; the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel affirmed; Roumeliotis appealed to this Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6)'s "willful and malicious injury" exception to discharge encompasses debts arising from recklessly or negligently inflicted injuries, or instead covers only debts arising from injuries inflicted with actual intent to cause injury.
  2. Whether the plaintiff's expenses and damages arising from the assault and the defendant's failure to obtain workers' compensation insurance fall within the exception of § 523(a)(6).

Arguments of the Parties

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the parties' legal arguments.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Kawaauhau v. Geiger, 118 S.Ct. 974 (1998) Held that § 523(a)(6) covers only deliberate or intentional injury — debts arising from recklessly or negligently inflicted injuries do not fall within § 523(a)(6). The court relied on Kawaauhau to conclude that the plaintiff's expenses and damages arising out of the assault do not fall within the compass of § 523(a)(6).
the Eighth Circuit Described as having read § 523(a)(6) to require actual intent to cause injury (the reading the Supreme Court endorsed). The court cited the Eighth Circuit's reading as the interpretation supported by the Supreme Court's analysis in Kawaauhau.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court framed the sole issue as the scope of 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6). It relied on the Supreme Court's recent, unanimous decision in Kawaauhau v. Geiger, which interpreted the statutory phrase "willful and malicious injury" to mean that "willful" modifies "injury" and therefore requires an actual, deliberate intent to cause injury rather than merely an intentional act that results in injury. The Kawaauhau Court held that debts arising from recklessly or negligently inflicted injuries do not fall within § 523(a)(6).

Applying that rule to the undisputed facts, the panel found that although Popa's failure to obtain workers' compensation insurance was an intentional act that caused injury, there was no showing that Popa acted with the actual intent to cause the plaintiff's injuries. Because the requisite actual intent to injure was absent, the plaintiff's damages arising from the assault did not fall within § 523(a)(6)'s exception to discharge.

Holding and Implications

HOLDING: The judgment of the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel is affirmed. The court held that plaintiff's expenses and damages arising out of the assault do not fall within the compass of 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6).

Implications: The direct effect is that the plaintiff's claims are not excepted from discharge under § 523(a)(6) on the record before the court. The opinion applies Supreme Court precedent (Kawaauhau) and does not purport to establish a new rule beyond that interpretation.

No costs to either party.

IN RE: GEORGE POPA, DEBTOR. JOHN ROUMELIOTIS, PLAINTIFF, APPELLANT, v. GEORGE POPA, DEFENDANT, APPELLEE.

BOWNES, Senior Circuit Judge.

The sole issue before us is the scope of the application of 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6), which provides that a debtor is not discharged from any debt, "for willful and malicious injury by the debtor to another entity or to the property of another entity." The facts are clear and undisputed.

I.

Plaintiff-appellant John Roumeliotis was employed as an automobile service station attendant by defendant-appellee George Popa. While working alone at night on November 2, 1994, plaintiff was severely beaten. He suffered multiple fractures to his skull, the loss of his left eye, and severe burns on his back. There was evidence from which it could be found that Popa knew that his service station was located in a high-crime area. Within a period of less than a year prior to the assault on plaintiff, the service station had been robbed twice.

Plaintiff filed for workers' compensation with the Massachusetts Industrial Accident Board. He was informed that Popa had not obtained workmen's compensation insurance from a private carrier and that he did not qualify as a self-insurer. Popa, therefore, had violated Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 152, § 25A (West 1988).

On February 1, 1985, plaintiff brought suit against Popa in Massachusetts, alleging that Popa was strictly liable for failing to obtain Massachusetts workers' compensation insurance and that Popa failed to provide adequate safety for plaintiff at the service station. On May 3, 1996, Popa filed for chapter 7 bankruptcy protection. Plaintiff was scheduled by the debtor, Popa, as holding a contingent and unliquidated claim for an unknown amount. On July 10, 1996, plaintiff filed an adversary complaint in the Bankruptcy Court, seeking to have his state court claims determined to be non-dischargeable. The complaint was dismissed on October 31, 1996. An appeal was taken to the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel, which affirmed the dismissal by the Bankruptcy Court. This appeal followed.

II.

The Supreme Court, in a unanimous opinion by Justice Ginsburg, has spoken directly on the question of the scope of the application of 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6) in a very recent case, Kawaauhau v. Geiger, 118 S.Ct. 974 (1998).

The facts as stated by the Court are:

In January 1983, petitioner Margaret Kawaauhau sought treatment from respondent Dr. Paul Geiger for a foot injury. Geiger examined Kawaauhau and admitted her to the hospital to attend to the risk of infection resulting from the injury. Although Geiger knew that intravenous penicillin would have been more effective, he prescribed oral penicillin, explaining in his testimony that he understood his patient wished to minimize the cost of her treatment.

Geiger then departed on a business trip, leaving Kawaauhau in the care of other physicians, who decided she should be transferred to an infectious disease specialist. When Geiger returned, he canceled the transfer and discontinued all antibiotics because he believed the infection had subsided. Kawaauhau's condition deteriorated over the next few days, requiring the amputation of her right leg below the knee.

Id. at 976.

The Court's analysis is compelling:

We confront this pivotal question concerning the scope of the "willful and malicious injury" exception: Does § 523(a)(6)'s compass cover acts, done intentionally, that cause injury (as the Kawaauhaus urge), or only acts done with the actual intent to cause injury (as the Eighth Circuit ruled)? The words of the statute strongly support the Eighth Circuit's reading.

. . . .

The word "willful" in (a)(6) modifies the word "injury," indicating that nondischargeability takes a deliberate or intentional injury, not merely a deliberate or intentional act that leads to injury. Had Congress meant to exempt debts resulting from unintentionally inflicted injuries, it might have described instead "willful acts that cause injury." Or, Congress might have selected an additional word or words, i.e., "reckless" or "negligent," to modify "injury." Moreover, as the Eighth Circuit observed, the (a)(6) formulation triggers in the lawyer's mind the category "intentional torts," as distinguished from negligent or reckless torts. Intentional torts generally require that the actor intend "the consequences of an act," not simply "the act itself." Restatement (Second) of Torts § 8A, comment a, p. 15 (1964) (emphasis added).

Id. at 977.

The Court held, "We hold that debts arising from recklessly or negligently inflicted injuries do not fall within the compass of § 523(a)(6)."

It is clear in the case before us that the failure of Popa to obtain workmen's compensation insurance was an intentional act that caused injury, as were the doctor's actions in Geiger, but Popa's failure to obtain insurance was not done, as in Geiger, with the actual intent to cause injury.

We hold that Geiger clearly and unmistakably means that plaintiff's expenses and damages arising out of the assault on him do not fall within the compass of U.S.C. § 523(a)(6).

The judgement of the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel is affirmed.

No costs to either party.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

IN RE POPA
(Apr 2, 1998)