AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2022 INSC 619
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2022 INSC 619
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The appellant was the registered owner of a truck (Registration No. CG-04-JC-4984) that was insured by the respondent insurance company for the period 22 August 2012 to 21 August 2013 upon payment of a premium of ₹28,880. The truck was stolen during the night of 23–24 March 2013. A First Information Report (FIR No. 57/13) was lodged the same day at Police Station Kumhari, and both the insurer and the Regional Transport Office (RTO) were informed immediately.

The appellant supplied all documents requested by the insurer except the original or a duplicate certified copy of the Registration Certificate (RC), which could not be obtained because the RTO’s computer records were locked after the theft report. Only a photocopy of the RC and registration particulars were available.

Alleging delay in settlement, the appellant filed Consumer Complaint No. 200/2013 before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (DCDRC), Durg. On 3 December 2013 the DCDRC directed the appellant to furnish a duplicate certified RC within a month, obliging the insurer to settle the claim thereafter. The RTO refused to issue the duplicate RC, prompting the appellant to file Consumer Complaint No. 179/2014. On 23 January 2015 the DCDRC dismissed that complaint, holding that non-submission of the RC justified the insurer’s non-settlement. The State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission and subsequently the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NCDRC) affirmed the dismissal. The present appeal challenges the NCDRC’s order dated 3 August 2021.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether an insurer commits “deficiency in service” under consumer protection law by refusing to settle a theft claim solely because the insured cannot produce the original or duplicate certified Registration Certificate when its production is impossible due to circumstances beyond the insured’s control.
  2. Whether insisting on such documentation, despite the availability of a photocopy and registration particulars, is an arbitrary and overly technical approach to claim settlement.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The appellant complied with all policy conditions by promptly reporting the theft to the police, insurer and RTO.
  • Failure to provide the original or duplicate RC was beyond the appellant’s control because the RTO refused to issue the duplicate once the vehicle was reported stolen; nevertheless, a photocopy and official registration particulars were supplied.
  • Refusal to settle the claim on this narrow ground constitutes deficiency in service.

Respondent Insurance Company's Arguments

  • The claim could not be processed because the appellant did not furnish the original or duplicate certified RC, a document required under the policy terms.
  • Accordingly, non-settlement does not amount to deficiency in service.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court noted the following undisputed facts: the existence of a valid insurance policy, payment of premium, prompt filing of an FIR, and immediate notice to both the insurer and the RTO. The only impediment to settlement was the absence of the original or duplicate certified RC. The appellant had made bona fide efforts to obtain the duplicate RC, but the RTO’s system was locked due to the theft report, rendering issuance impossible.

The insurer already possessed, or could have accessed, a copy of the RC because it was supplied when the policy was issued, and the appellant had provided a photocopy along with registration particulars from the RTO. The Court characterized the insurer’s stance as “too technical” and “arbitrary,” emphasizing that consumer claims should not be defeated by formalities outside the consumer’s control, especially after payment of a substantial premium and occurrence of the insured peril (theft).

Accordingly, the Court held that refusal to settle the claim solely on the non-production of the original/duplicate RC constituted deficiency in service.

Holding and Implications

Held: The orders of the District Commission, State Commission, and NCDRC dismissing the complaint are set aside. Consumer Complaint No. 179/2014 is allowed. The insurer must pay the insured amount of ₹12 lakh with interest at 7 % from the date the claim was submitted, and litigation costs of ₹25,000, within four weeks.

Implications: The decision reinforces that insurers cannot rely on technical documentation hurdles to deny claims when compliance is impossible for reasons beyond the insured's control. While the judgment is fact-specific and sets no new precedent in the form of cited case law, it signals judicial disapproval of arbitrary claim-settlement practices by insurance companies.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Gurmel Singh (S) v. Branch Manager, National Insurance Co. Ltd. (S).

    M.R. Shah, J.:— Feeling aggrieved and dissatisfied with the impugned final judgment and order dated 03.08.2021 passed by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission at New Delhi in Revision Petition No. 2898/2015, by which, the appellant is denied the relief of settling the claim under the insurance policy, the original complainant - appellant herein has preferred the present appeal.

    2. That the appellant herein - original complainant was the registered owner of the Truck bearing No. CG-04-JC-4984. The said vehicle was insured with the respondent herein - insurance company for the period from 22.08.2012 to 21.08.2013. The appellant also paid a sum of Rs. 28,880/-to the respondent towards premium. On 23-24.03.2013 in the midnight, the said vehicle was stolen. A FIR was immediately lodged in the Police Station Kumhari, which was registered as FIR No. 57/13. On the same day, the complainant also informed the insurance company as well as the Regional Transport Office (RTO) regarding the theft of the Truck. That after giving information regarding theft, the appellant submitted all the documents sought by the insurance company, but the insurance company failed to settle the claim. That being aggrieved by the delay in settling the claim, the appellant filed the consumer complaint No. 200/2013 before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Durg, Chhattisgarh. The District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission disposed of the said complaint vide order dated 03.12.2013 with the direction that the appellant herein would furnish duplicate certified copy of the certificate of registration of Truck to the insurance company within a month and that the insurance company within a month after receiving the same would settle the claim as per the terms and conditions of the insurance policy. It is the case on behalf of the appellant that in compliance of the order passed by the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, the appellant submitted an application before the RTO for obtaining duplicate certified copy of the certificate of registration of the Truck in question. However, RTO denied to issue duplicate certified copy of the certificate of registration on the ground that due to the report of the theft of the Truck, the details regarding registration certificate on the computer has been locked. Therefore, the RTO refused to issue the duplicate certified copy of the certificate of registration of the Truck. Thereafter, the appellant - original complainant submitted an application before the insurance company along with photocopy of the certificate of registration and registration particulars, as provided by the RTO. Despite the above, the claim was not settled and therefore, the appellant filed a fresh consumer complaint bearing No. 179/2014 before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Durg, Chhattisgarh. That the said District Commission vide order dated 23.01.2015 dismissed the said complaint by observing that as the appellant had not filed the relevant documents for settlement of claim therefore, the non-settlement of the claim cannot be said to be deficiency in service. The order passed by the District Commission has been confirmed by the State Commission and thereafter, by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission by the impugned judgment and order.

    3. We have heard Shri Anand Shankar Jha, learned counsel appearing on behalf of the appellant and Mrs. Hetu Arora Sethi, learned counsel appearing on behalf of the respondent - insurance company.

    4. It is not in dispute that the vehicle belonging to the appellant was insured with the respondent - insurance company. It is also not in dispute that the same was valid for the period between 22.08.2012 to 21.08.2013. It is also not in dispute that the appellant herein paid a sum of Rs. 28,880/- to the respondent towards premium. It is also not in dispute that the insured vehicle was stolen for which a FIR has been registered in the Police Station Kumhari on the very day on which the vehicle was stolen. Immediately on the very same day, the appellant informed the insurance company as well as RTO regarding the theft of the Truck. The appellant also produced the photocopy of the certificate of registration and the registration particulars as provided by the RTO. However, the appellant could not produce either the original certificate of registration or the duplicate certified copy of certificate of registration of the Truck. When the appellant applied for the duplicate certified copy of the certificate of registration, the RTO denied to issue the duplicate certified copy on the ground that in view of information/report regarding theft of the vehicle, which has been registered with the RTO, the details regarding registration certificate on the computer has been locked. The insurance claim has not been settled mainly on the ground that the appellant has not produced either the original certificate of registration or even the duplicate certified copy of certificate of registration issued by the RTO. However, the appellant did produce photocopy of certificate of registration and other registration particulars as provided by the RTO. Even, at the time of taking the insurance policy and getting the insurance, the insurance company must have received the copy of the certificate of registration. Therefore, the appellant had tried his best to get the duplicate certified copy of certificate of registration of the Truck. However, because of the report of theft of the Truck, the details of registration on the computer have been locked and the RTO has refused to issue the duplicate certified copy of registration. Therefore, in the facts and circumstance of the case, when the appellant had produced the photocopy of certificate of registration and the registration particulars as provided by the RTO, solely on the ground that the original certificate of registration (which has been stolen) is not produced, non-settlement of claim can be said to be deficiency in service. Therefore, the appellant has been wrongly denied the insurance claim.

    5. In the present case, the insurance company has become too technical while settling the claim and has acted arbitrarily. The appellant has been asked to furnish the documents which were beyond the control of the appellant to procure and furnish. Once, there was a valid insurance on payment of huge sum by way of premium and the Truck was stolen, the insurance company ought not to have become too technical and ought not to have refused to settle the claim on non-submission of the duplicate certified copy of certificate of registration, which the appellant could not produce due to the circumstances beyond his control. In many cases, it is found that the insurance companies are refusing the claim on flimsy grounds and/or technical grounds. While settling the claims, the insurance company should not be too technical and ask for the documents, which the insured is not in a position to produce due to circumstances beyond his control.

    6. In view of the above and for the reasons stated above, the order passed by the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Durg, Chhattisgarh, dismissing the complaint filed by the appellant and the orders passed by the State Commission and National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, confirming the same deserve to be set aside and are hereby set aside. The original complaint being Consumer Complaint No. 179/2014 filed before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Durg, Chhattisgarh, is hereby allowed. The appellant is entitled to the insurance amount of Rs. 12 lakhs along with interest @ 7 per cent from the date of submitting the claim. The respondent - insurance company is also saddled with the liability to pay the litigation cost, which is quantified at Rs. 25,000/- to be paid to the appellant herein. The aforesaid amount is to be paid by the insurance company to the appellant within a period of four weeks from today. The present appeal is accordingly allowed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Gurmel Singh (S) v. Branch Manager, National Insurance Co. Ltd. (S).
    (May 20, 2022)