Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Acts
  • pension (section 8.6). Section 8.7authorised
  • Security Act 1973
  • section 13.3(ii)
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Acts
  • pension (section 8.6). Section 8.7authorised
  • Security Act 1973
  • section 13.3(ii)
Smart Summary

Summary of Opinion: Air Jamaica Limited v. Joy Charlton and Others (Privy Council, 28 April 1999)

Factual and Procedural Background

Air Jamaica Limited ("the Company") was incorporated in 1968 as Jamaica's national airline, with the Accountant General holding a controlling interest on behalf of the Government of Jamaica. A contributory pension scheme for employees was established by a Trust Deed and Pension Plan dated 1 April 1969. The Trust Deed was varied in 1973 to introduce an unlimited power of amendment; the Manager was appointed manager of the scheme.

Following substantial operating losses the Government entered a Privatisation Agreement (6 May 1994) to sell its shareholding. The Agreement required the Company to give redundancy notices to nearly all employees (with limited exceptions) and the Government undertook responsibility for redundancy payments made prior to completion. Virtually all employees were made redundant on 30 June 1994, except four trustees who were made redundant on 30 September 1994.

By 1994 the trust fund had a substantial actuarial surplus (in excess of $400 million). On 10 August 1994 the respondents (representative members) commenced proceedings seeking a declaration that the Plan had been discontinued and an order applying the balance of the fund in accordance with section 13 of the Plan (the rule applicable on discontinuance). On 19 August 1994 the Company purported to amend the Trust Deed and Plan to enable the surplus to be paid to the Company; the respondents challenged this and obtained an interlocutory injunction which was later discharged by consent in exchange for an undertaking by the Attorney-General that the Government would replenish the fund if the court upheld the respondents' contentions. The trustees, at their direction, caused the Manager to pay the balance of the trust fund to the Company.

At trial Theobalds J. held (i) that the trusts were void for perpetuity; (ii) that the 1994 amendments were ineffective; and (iii) that the surplus reverted to the Crown as bona vacantia. On appeal the Court of Appeal (by majority) allowed the respondents' appeal and directed that the fund be dealt with in accordance with section 13.3(ii) of the Plan (pre-amendment), and that the Attorney-General replenish the trust fund in accordance with his undertaking. A reconstituted Court later ordered repayment of moneys paid to the Company to be repaid with compound interest and allowed costs to be paid from the fund.

The Company and the Attorney-General appealed to the Privy Council. The Manager also appealed insofar as the Court of Appeal's order was taken to impose a personal obligation on it.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the Rule Against Perpetuities applied to the pension scheme and, if so, which provisions (if any) of the Trust Deed and Pension Plan were void for perpetuity.
  2. Whether the Pension Plan had been discontinued (and if so, the relevant date of discontinuance).
  3. Whether the 1994 amendments to the Trust Deed and Pension Plan were valid and effective to transfer the surplus to the Company.
  4. What is the correct destination of the actuarial surplus (including whether a resulting trust arises and whether the surplus or any part is bona vacantia to the Crown).
  5. Whether the Manager can be held personally liable to repay moneys it paid to the Company.
  6. Whether repayment (if ordered) should be with compound interest, simple interest, or no interest.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants' Arguments (Company and Attorney-General)

  • Both the Company and the Attorney-General contended that the trusts of the pension scheme were void for perpetuity (see para. 20).
  • The Company claimed entitlement to the whole balance of the fund: if trusts void, by way of resulting trust; if trusts not void, by virtue of the 1994 amendments (para. 20).
  • The Attorney-General claimed the surplus had reverted to the Crown as bona vacantia: if trusts void because employees had received entitlements and clause 4 precludes the Company claiming by resulting trust; if trusts not void, because even under the 1994 amendments ultimate trust in favour of the Company took effect only on discontinuance (para. 20).
  • If the appeal failed, both appellants submitted that repayment (ordered by the Court of Appeal) should have been without interest or with simple interest only (para. 20).

Respondents' Arguments

  • The respondents asserted that the Plan had been discontinued and that, under section 13.3(ii) of the pre-amendment Plan, the surplus should be applied for the benefit of Members, widows and designated beneficiaries (para. 7, 18).
  • They challenged the validity of the 1994 amendments and obtained interim relief to prevent implementation (para. 8).

Manager's Position

  • The Manager indicated it would act in accordance with the directions of the Court and was made a party because the fund was under its control (para. 17, 21).
  • It contended (on appeal) that it should not be personally liable to repay the funds it had paid to the Company (para. 218–220; addressed at para. 21 and para. 221–236).

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Lucas v. Telegraph Construction and Maintenance Co. Ltd. [1925] L.N. 211 Illustration that, absent statutory intervention, pension schemes are subject to the Rule Against Perpetuities. The Board cited it as part of established authority that occupational pension schemes are subject to the Rule Against Perpetuities in jurisdictions without statutory exemption (para. 28).
In re Flavel's Will Trusts [1969] 1 W.L.R. 444 Another authority showing application of the Rule Against Perpetuities to trusts/pension-type arrangements. Referred to as part of the body of authority demonstrating that pension schemes can be affected by the Rule (para. 28).
In re Thomas Meadows & Co. Ltd. (1960) Staff Pension Scheme Rules [1971] Ch. 278 Example of case law addressing pension schemes and perpetuity issues. Referred to as one of the cases in which courts have applied the Rule Against Perpetuities to pension arrangements (para. 28).
In re Allott; Hanmer v. Allott [1924] 2 Ch. 498 Illustrates that administrative powers may be void for perpetuity where capable of exercise outside the perpetuity period. Used to explain that trustee powers (e.g., power to sell or lease) can be void ab initio if capable of being exercised outside the perpetuity period (para. 30).
Imperial Group Pension Trust Ltd v. Imperial Tobacco Ltd. [1991] 1 W.L.R. 589 That a company's power to amend pension rules is subject to an obligation to act in good faith (where relevant). The Board cited it to support the proposition that the Company could not lawfully amend the Plan so as to disregard members' interests and had to exercise amendment powers in good faith (para. 41–42).
Vandervell v. Inland Revenue Commissioners [1967] 2 AC 291 Principle that a resulting trust may arise by operation of law even if the transferor intended to part with the beneficial interest. The Board relied on the Vandervell principle to reject the proposition that clause 4 could preclude a resulting trust; it held resulting trusts arise notwithstanding asserted intention to the contrary (para. 45–48).
In re A.B.C. Television Ltd. Pension Scheme (unreported, 22 May 1973, Foster J.) Decision holding a clause similar to clause 4 "negatives the possibility of implying a resulting trust". The Board considered that Foster J.'s conclusion was wrong in principle and explained why such clauses should be construed as forbidding repayment under the scheme but not as rebutting a resulting trust that arises by operation of law (para. 45–47).
Davis v. Richards & Wallington Industries Ltd. [1990] 1 W.L.R. 1511 Discussion of circumstances in which a resulting trust in favour of employees may be excluded (including practical difficulties and tax limits). The Board discussed Scott J.'s reasoning and distinguished it, concluding that the employees' contributions should be shareable pro rata and that practical or tax difficulties are not proper grounds to reject a resulting trust in principle (para. 48–51, 51–56).

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Privy Council set out a structured analysis, applying established principles of trust law and the Rule Against Perpetuities to the particular features of the Air Jamaica pension scheme. The principal steps in the reasoning were:

  1. Characterisation of the scheme: The Board analysed whether the scheme was contractual or trust-based. It concluded that the scheme employed the machinery of a trust fund with trustees and trust obligations (not merely contractual obligations). Although members' rights derive in part from contracts of employment, the entitlement to pensions arises under the trusts of the scheme (paras. 22–27).
  2. Applicability of the Rule Against Perpetuities: The Board observed that, because Jamaica had not enacted legislation exempting pension schemes from the Rule (unlike England and other jurisdictions), the Company's pension scheme was subject to the common law Rule Against Perpetuities (paras. 28–31).
  3. Analytical approach to defined benefit schemes: The Board accepted the Law Commission analysis that a defined benefit scheme can be regarded as a series of separate settlements — each employee's contributions and rights constituting a settlement in relation to that employee — and that the Rule Against Perpetuities must be applied to each settlement separately (paras. 32–33).
  4. Identification of provisions invalid for perpetuity: Applying that analysis, the Board found most individual entitlements payable on death or retirement valid, but identified specific provisions as void for perpetuity: the widow's power to designate beneficiaries (sections 8.6 and 8.7) and the trust in section 13.3(ii) (the trust to apply any balance, on discontinuance, to provide additional benefits to Members and their widows and designated beneficiaries) (paras. 34–35).
  5. Whether the Plan was discontinued: The Board explained the conceptual difference between closing a scheme to new entrants, ceasing contributions (discontinuance), and winding up. It held that discontinuance occurred when the Company ceased deducting contributions and paying matching contributions. Evidence showed no deductions after 31 May 1994 and no contributing members after 30 June 1994; therefore the Plan was discontinued on 30 June 1994, before the August 1994 amendments (paras. 36–42).
  6. Validity of the 1994 amendments: The Board held the August 1994 amendments incurably bad for multiple reasons: (a) amendments cannot affect existing members' settlements because any post-settlement power to amend that could operate beyond the perpetuity period is void; (b) the Company had a duty to act in good faith in exercising any amendment power (citing Imperial Group), and it could not lawfully amend to confer an interest on the Company where clause 4 expressly prohibited repayment to the Company; and (c) the trustees could not achieve by staged amendments what direct amendment would have been prohibited to accomplish (paras. 41–44, 461–464).
  7. Destination of the surplus: The Board proceeded on the prima facie position that the surplus is held on a resulting trust for those who provided it. Absent evidence to the contrary, the surplus was to be treated as provided one half by the Company and one half by the Members (para. 43). The Board rejected the Attorney-General's contention that clause 4 precluded a resulting trust (relying on Vandervell and rejecting Foster J.'s conclusion in the unreported ABC Television case), and rejected the submission that employees had "received all that they bargained for" so as to deny a resulting trust. The Board concluded the Company could retain the portion attributable to its contributions; the members' portion should be divisible pro rata among members and estates in proportion to contributions (paras. 44–51, 53–59).
  8. Manager's liability: The Board concluded there was no basis for imposing personal liability on the Manager for repayments: it acted at trustees' direction, against the Attorney-General's undertaking, and had not been accused of impropriety (paras. 21, 221–236).
  9. Interest on repayment: The Board held the Court of Appeal was entitled to order repayment with compound interest because the monies were released to the Company in reliance on the Attorney-General's undertaking to replenish the fund; had the injunction remained in place, the money would have been held in an account where interest would have been compounded. Thus the Crown must restore the members' attributable part with compound interest from receipt to payment (paras. 52–53, 569–580).

Holding and Implications

Core Ruling: The Company's appeal is allowed; the Attorney-General's appeal is dismissed. (para. 54)

The Board set aside the orders of the Court of Appeal and substituted the following declarations and directions (expressed in the language used by Their Lordships):

  1. That the widow's power to designate a beneficiary (section 8.6) and to change a designated beneficiary (section 8.7), and the trust contained in section 13.3(ii) of the Pension Plan, are void for perpetuity (para. 54(i)).
  2. That so much of the surplus as is attributable to contributions made by the Company should be repaid to or retained by the Company (para. 54(ii)).
  3. That so much of the surplus as is attributable to contributions made by Members is divisible pro rata among the Members and the estates of deceased Members in proportion to their respective contributions without regard to the value of the benefits they have received and irrespective of the dates of their contributions (para. 54(iii)).
  4. That so much of the surplus as is attributable to the contributions made by Members and which was paid to the Company should be forthwith repaid to the trustees by the Crown in accordance with the Attorney-General's undertaking, together with compound interest at the rate specified by the Court of Appeal from the date of receipt by the Company to the date of payment (para. 54(iv)).

Additional immediate consequences ordered by the Board:

  • The order imposing personal liability on the Manager should be varied so that no personal liability is imposed on it (paras. 21, 233–236).
  • The costs of all parties to the appeal should be met out of the surplus before it is dealt with in accordance with the declarations (para. 54, 603–604).
  • The Board expressly refrained from deciding that past payments (of pensions in payment) are recoverable (para. 602).

Broader note and legislative recommendation: Their Lordships drew attention to the practical difficulty of creating modern pension schemes in jurisdictions without statutory exemptions from the Rule Against Perpetuities, and respectfully recommended that Jamaican authorities consider retrospective legislation to exempt authorised pension schemes from the Rule (paras. 55–615). This recommendation is a call to the Jamaican legislature and not a judicial fiat (para. 55).

This summary is strictly confined to the information contained in the provided opinion and does not add facts or interpretations beyond the text.

    Air Jamaica Limited v. Joy Charlton and Others (Jamaica)

    JISCBAILII_CASE_TRUSTS

    Air Jamaica Limited v. Joy Charlton and Others (Jamaica) [1999] UKPC 20 (28th April, 1999)

    Privy Council Appeal No. 27 of 1998

    (1) Air Jamaica Limited

    (2) Life of Jamaica Limited and

    (3) The Attorney General

    Appellants

    v.

    Joy Charlton, Clive Goodall,

    Barbara Clarke and

    Ian Philpotts (suing on behalf of themselves and members

    of the Pension Plan for Employees of Air Jamaica (1968)

    Limited)

    Respondents

    FROM

    THE COURT OF APPEAL OF JAMAICA

    ---------------

    JUDGMENT OF THE LORDS OF THE JUDICIAL

    COMMITTEE OF THE

    PRIVY COUNCIL,

    Delivered the 28th

    April 1999

    ------------------

    Present at the hearing:-

    Lord Steyn

    Lord Hope of Craighead

    Lord Millett

    Sir Christopher Slade

    Sir Andrew Leggatt

    [Delivered by Lord

    Millett]

    ------------------

    Background

    1. Air Jamaica Limited ("the Company") was

    incorporated in 1968 under the Jamaican Companies Act to operate as the national

    civil aviation carrier for Jamaica. It was established in response to the need

    to provide air services on a continuous basis to an island nation dependent on

    tourism and communication. The Accountant General held a controlling interest in

    the Company on behalf of the Government of Jamaica.

    2. A pension scheme for the employees of the Company was created

    by a Trust Deed and Pension Plan dated 1st April 1969. These established a

    contributory pension scheme which provided defined benefits for employees of the

    Company, their widows and designated beneficiaries. The Trust Deed was varied in

    1973 in order to introduce an unlimited power of amendment. The Pension Plan was

    amended in minor respects not material to the present appeals in 1993. The

    second appellant ("the Manager") was appointed manager of the pension

    scheme.

    3. The Company incurred substantial losses from its operations

    and the Government of Jamaica decided to dispose of its controlling interest to

    the private sector. On 6th May 1994 it entered into a Privatisation Agreement

    with Air Jamaica Acquisition Group Ltd. for the sale and purchase of the

    Government’s shareholding. The Agreement recorded the intention of the parties

    that there should be continuity of flag carrier services by the Company as the

    national airline of Jamaica, and that substantial ownership and effective

    control of the airline should continue to be vested in Jamaican nationals.

    4. The Privatisation Agreement required the Government to

    procure the Company to serve redundancy notices upon all its employees with the

    exception of up to 10 employees selected by the new owners. It also authorised

    the new owners during the period before completion of the acquisition to require

    the Company to engage up to 10 new employees, though it does not appear that the

    new owners exercised this right. The Government undertook responsibility for

    redundancy payments to the employees made redundant prior to completion.

    5. In accordance with the terms of the Privatisation Agreement

    virtually all the employees of the Company were made redundant on 30th June

    1994. There were only four exceptions. These were the four trustees of the

    pension scheme. They were made redundant on 30th September 1994.

    6. Under the Privatisation Agreement the new owners were obliged

    to continue the Company’s operations and to maintain a level of service

    consistent with its status as Jamaica’s national airline. To enable them to

    discharge these obligations the new owners offered to re-engage many of the

    former employees of the Company, and those who accepted entered into new pension

    arrangements.

    7. By 1994 a substantial actuarial surplus had been built up in

    the trust fund. As a result, after the defined benefits had been paid out in

    accordance with the Pension Plan, a balance remained in excess of $400 million.

    On 10th August 1994 the respondents, as representative Members of the pension

    scheme, issued an Originating Summons seeking a Declaration that the Plan had

    been discontinued and an Order that the balance of the fund should be applied

    for the benefit of Members and their dependants in accordance with section 13 of

    the Plan, that being the rule which was applicable in the event of

    discontinuance. The Company, the trustees and the Manager were made defendants

    to the proceedings.

    8. On 19th August 1994 the Company purported to make further

    amendments to the Trust Deed and Pension Plan in order to enable the surplus to

    be paid to the Company. The respondents challenged the validity of these

    amendments and obtained an interlocutory injunction to restrain the defendants

    from implementing them. The Attorney-General obtained leave to intervene in the

    proceedings in order to claim that the trusts of the pension scheme were void

    for perpetuity and that the surplus funds were bona vacantia. The injunction was

    discharged by consent and replaced by an undertaking given by the

    Attorney-General on behalf of the Government of Jamaica that, should the Court

    uphold the respondents’ contentions, the Government would replenish the trust

    fund "to the full extent required". At the direction of the trustees

    the Manager then paid the balance of the trust fund to the Company, where it had

    the effect of reducing the financial obligations of the Government to the new

    owners under the Privatisation Agreement.

    The Trust Deed and Pension Plan

    9. The Trust Deed established a trust fund to be held by

    trustees upon irrevocable trusts for the purpose of securing retirement pensions

    and other benefits for contributing employees of the Company, their widows and

    designated beneficiaries. The Trust Deed contained a covenant by the Company

    with the trustees to pay contributions to the fund in accordance with the Plan.

    Clause 4 of the Trust Deed provided that:-

    "No moneys which at any time have been contributed

    by the Company under the terms hereof shall in any circumstances be

    repayable to the Company."

    10. The Plan provided for contributions to be made by Members by

    deduction from their salaries and for matching payments to be made by the

    Company. The Company was also obliged to make further payments into the fund if

    these were required by the trustees, acting on actuarial advice, in order to

    provide the benefits specified by the Plan. Their Lordships understand that no

    such further payments were in fact ever required. "Members" were

    defined as contributing employees of the Company.

    11. The Plan provided for fixed retirement pensions to be paid to

    Members who reached normal retirement age and for smaller pensions to be paid to

    Members who retired early. Where a Member died in service then, depending on his

    circumstances, either (i) his widow became entitled to a widow’s pension or

    (ii) his contributions were payable to his designated beneficiary with compound

    interest (section 8.1). Where a Member died after his pension payments had

    commenced, his widow was entitled to a widow’s pension. Where a Member’s

    contributions with interest to the date his pension commenced or his earlier

    death exceeded the total of any pension payments made to the Member or his

    widow, or designated beneficiary the excess was payable to the beneficiary

    designated by the person last in receipt of a pension (section 8.6). Section 8.7

    authorised the Member to designate in writing the beneficiary to receive any

    benefits under sections 8.1 or 8.6 and the Member or his widow from time to time

    to change such beneficiary.

    12. Before the latest amendments in August 1994 section 13 of the

    Plan authorised the Company to amend the Plan from time to time and to

    discontinue the Plan at any time, but not so as to enable any part of the trust

    fund to be used otherwise than for the exclusive benefit of Members or other

    persons entitled to benefits under the Plan. Section 13.3 provided for what was

    to happen in the event of discontinuance. It directed the trustees to convert

    the trust fund into money and apply it first in the purchase of annuities in

    place of pensions in payment and secondly in the purchase of annuities or

    deferred annuities for those entitled to future pensions. Subject thereto

    section 13.3(ii) provided that:-

    "… any balance of the Fund shall be applied to

    provide additional benefits for Members and after their death for their

    widows or their designated beneficiaries in such equitable and

    non-discriminatory manner as the Trustees may determine in accordance with

    the advice of an Actuary."

    13. If valid, this would have enabled the trustees to deal

    effectively with the surplus by using it to provide additional benefits for

    Members, their widows and designated beneficiaries.

    The 1994 amendments

    14. The Trust Deed and Pension Plan were amended in August 1994

    in order to enable the surplus to be returned to the Company. This was achieved

    by amending clause 4 of the Trust Deed, removing the proviso to the power of

    discontinuance contained in section 13.1 of the Plan, and replacing section

    13.3(ii) by a trust to pay any balance of the fund remaining to the Company.

    Their Lordships observe that the ultimate trust (now in favour of the Company)

    still arose only in the event of discontinuance. At the same time the Trust Deed

    was also amended by belatedly introducing a Royal Lives clause. This was

    intended to meet any claim that the trusts were void for perpetuity.

    The course of the proceedings below

    15. There were two issues in the case. The first was concerned

    with the validity of the 1994 amendments. The second was concerned with the

    destination of the surplus of $400 million. The trial judge (Theobalds J.) made

    no express finding whether there had been a discontinuance of the Plan. He held

    (i) that the trusts of the pension scheme were void for perpetuity; (ii) that

    the 1994 amendments were of no effect; and (iii) that the surplus reverted to

    the Crown as bona vacantia.

    16. The judge assumed that the effect of the rule against

    perpetuities was that all the trusts and powers of the scheme were void ab

    initio. He held that clause 4 of the Trust Deed excluded any resulting trust in

    favour of the Company, and that since the Members and their dependants had

    received all the benefits to which they were entitled they could not claim under

    a resulting trust either. Accordingly he declared that the trust fund reverted

    to the Crown as bona vacantia. It is not clear whether he intended the

    declaration to apply to the whole trust fund or only to the surplus after all

    accrued benefits had been satisfied. The Attorney-General has throughout limited

    the Crown’s claim to the surplus, but their Lordships observe that the

    existence of a surplus after the interests of beneficiaries have been fully

    satisfied presupposes the validity of the trusts and is inconsistent with the

    basis on which the Attorney-General has argued the case and on which the judge

    reached his decision.

    17. The Company and the respondents appealed from the order of

    Theobalds J. to the Court of Appeal. The Manager, which indicated throughout

    that it would act in accordance with the directions of the Court, was made a

    party to the appeal. At the outset of the hearing of the appeal counsel for the

    respondents indicated that the substantive issue in the appeal related to the

    identity of the persons entitled to the balance of the trust fund and that the

    resolution of this issue did not concern the Manager. The Court of Appeal agreed

    that, in the interests of saving costs, counsel for the Manager need not attend

    the hearing.

    18. The Court of Appeal by a majority ( Forte and Downer JJ.A.

    with Carey J.A. dissenting) allowed the respondents’ appeal. The majority

    held: (i) that the rule against perpetuities had no application because the

    rights of Members arose out of their contracts of employment and were governed

    by the law of contract rather than the law of trusts; (ii) that in any event the

    trusts did not infringe the rule because each Member was a relevant life in

    being whose interest must vest in possession on his own retirement or death;

    (iii) that the Plan was discontinued either on 30th June 1994 or on 30th

    September 1994; (iv) that the 1994 amendments were of no effect; (v) that the

    balance of the trust fund should be dealt with in accordance with section

    13.3(ii) of the Pension Plan as it stood before the 1994 amendments; and (vi)

    that the Attorney-General should cause the trust fund to be replenished in

    accordance with his undertaking.

    19. At a later hearing a reconstituted Court ordered the moneys

    paid out of the trust fund to the Company to be repaid to the fund with compound

    interest. The Court ordered the costs of all parties to be paid out of the fund.

    The issues on the appeal

    20. The Company and the Attorney-General now appeal from this

    decision. They both contend that the trusts of the pension scheme are void for

    perpetuity and that the Pension Plan was not discontinued, but here their

    agreement ends. The Company claims that it is entitled to the whole balance of

    the fund. If the trusts of the pension scheme are void, this is by way of

    resulting trust; if they are not void, it is by virtue of the 1994 amendments.

    The Attorney-General claims that the balance of the fund has reverted to the

    Crown as bona vacantia. If the trusts of the pension scheme are void, this is

    because the employees have received their full entitlement under the Plan and

    can have no further interest in the trust fund, while clause 4 of the Trust Deed

    precludes the Company from claiming any part of the fund by way of resulting

    trust. If they are not void, it is because even under the 1994 amendments the

    ultimate trust in favour of the Company took effect only in the event of

    discontinuance. If the appeal fails, both these Appellants submit that the

    reconstituted Court should have ordered repayment without interest or

    alternatively with simple interest only. The Manager appeals against the order

    insofar as it is taken to impose a personal obligation upon it to repay the

    moneys which it had paid to the Company.

    The Manager’s appeal

    21. Their Lordships can dispose of the Manager’s appeal at

    once. There was no basis for imposing any personal liability on the Manager to

    make repayment of the money which it paid to the Company. It behaved properly

    throughout, and it has not been accused of any impropriety. It was joined as a

    party to the proceedings only because the fund was under its control. It

    indicated throughout that it would deal with the fund in accordance with the

    directions of the Court. As was contemplated by the parties (and by the Court)

    at the time, it paid the money to the Company at the direction of the trustees

    and against an undertaking by the Attorney-General that the Crown would make

    repayment if required. The undertaking was given and the injunction dissolved

    for the very purpose of enabling the payment to be made. The order of the Court

    of Appeal does not identify the party or parties by whom the repayment was to be

    made. Their Lordships doubt that it was ever intended that it should be made by

    the Manager. Regardless of the outcome of the remainder of this appeal, the

    order should be varied to make this clear.

    Does the Rule Against Perpetuities apply?

    22. A pension scheme can, in theory at least, be established by

    contract between the employer and each employee and without using the machinery

    of a trust. Such a scheme would have to be very simple. It would look very like

    a self-employed pension policy. There would be no trust fund and no trustees.

    The employer would simply contract with each of his employees that, if the

    employee made weekly payments to the employer, the employer would pay the

    employee a pension on retirement or a lump sum on death. The employer would not

    make any contributions itself, since there would be no one to receive them. But

    the benefits would be calculated at a higher level than would be justified by

    the employee’s contributions alone.

    23. The Company’s pension scheme was, however, of a very

    different kind. A trust fund was established with its own trustees.

    Contributions, whether by Members or by the Company, were paid into the trust

    fund, and the trustees were given powers of investment over the fund.

    24. The benefits were funded in part by contributions and in part

    by the income of the investments held in the fund. The interposition of a trust

    fund between the Company and the Members meant that payment of benefits to

    Members was the responsibility of the trustees, not the Company. The machinery

    employed was that of a trust, not a contract.

    25. This is not to say that the trust is like a traditional

    family trust under which a settlor voluntarily settles property for the benefit

    of the object of his bounty. The employee members of an occupational pension

    scheme are not voluntary settlors. As has been repeatedly observed, their rights

    are derived from their contracts of employment as well as from the trust

    instrument. Their pensions are earned by their services under their contracts of

    employment as well as by their contributions. They are often not inappropriately

    described as deferred pay. This does not mean, however, that they have

    contractual rights to their pensions. It means only that, in construing the

    trust instrument, regard must be had to the nature of an occupational pension

    and the employment relationship that forms its genesis.

    26. In the present case prospective employees were informed that

    the Company maintained a pension scheme for its staff and that membership was

    compulsory for those under 55 years of age. They were told the amount of the

    employee’s contribution, and that the Company paid "An amount not less

    than the employee’s contribution, plus any amount necessary to support the

    financial viability of the scheme". Even if these can be regarded as

    imposing contractual obligations on the Company, the only obligation which was

    undertaken by the Company, and one which it has fully performed, was to make

    contributions to the fund. The obligation to make pension payments was not a

    contractual obligation undertaken by the Company, but a trust obligation imposed

    on the trustees. Their Lordships agree with the observation of Carey J.A., who

    was dissenting in the Court of Appeal, that each employee becomes a Member of

    the pension scheme by virtue of his employment, but that his entitlement to a

    pension arises under the trusts of the scheme.

    27. Their Lordships should add for completeness that, while the

    Members’ entitlements arise under the trusts of the Pension Plan, the Company’s

    obligation to deduct contributions from Members and to pay them to the Trustees

    together with its own matching contributions, is contractual. The Company

    undertook this obligation by its covenant with the Trustees in the Trust Deed.

    The obligation was, however, subject to the power of the Company unilaterally to

    discontinue the Plan under section 13.2 of the Plan.

    28. It is well established that, absent statutory intervention,

    such pensions schemes are subject to the Rule Against Perpetuities: see for

    example Lucas v. Telegraph Construction and Maintenance Co. Ltd. [1925]

    L.N. 211; In re Flavel’s Will Trusts [1969] 1 W.L.R. 444; In re Thomas

    Meadows & Co. Ltd. And Subsidiary Companies (1960) Staff Pension Scheme

    Rules [1971] Ch. 278. Following the decision of Russell J. in the

    Telegraph case the Superannuation and other Trust Funds (Validation) Act

    1927 was hurriedly introduced in England with retrospective effect to exempt

    pension schemes from the Rule Against Perpetuities provided that certain

    criteria were satisfied. That Act has since been repealed and replaced by the

    Social Security Act 1973 which makes special provision for all qualifying

    occupational pension schemes to be exempt from the Rule. Similar legislation has

    been introduced in most other common law jurisdictions both in the Commonwealth

    and in the United States. Unhappily no such legislation has been enacted in

    Jamaica, where no steps have been taken to modernise the Rule as was done in

    England by the Perpetuities and Accumulations Act 1964. The Company’s pension

    scheme is thus subject to the common law Rule Against Perpetuities unaffected by

    any legislative amendment.

    The effect of the Rule.

    29. The classic formulation of the Rule is stated in Gray on The

    Rule Against Perpetuities (1942 4th Ed.) at page 191. Its effect is that no

    interest is valid unless it must vest, if it vest at all, within a period of a

    life in being at the date of the gift plus 21 years. The Rule is applied

    remorselessly. A gift is defeated if by any possibility, however remote, it may

    vest outside the perpetuity period. It is not saved by the fact that, in the

    event, it vests inside the period. This can create many traps. One well known

    trap relates to "the unborn widow". A gift to A for life with

    remainder to his widow for life, where A is a life in being at the date of the

    settlement, is valid; the gift to the widow must vest, if it vests at all, on A’s

    death. But A’s widow cannot be ascertained until A’s death. However old A

    may be, and however young his wife, in theory his wife may die and he may

    remarry a woman not yet born at the date of the settlement. His widow is not,

    therefore, a life in being, and she may survive A by more than 21 years. A gift

    which may not vest until her death is accordingly void for perpetuity.

    30. The Rule Against Perpetuities also applies to the

    administrative trusts and powers of the trustees. Such powers must not be

    capable of being exercised outside the perpetuity period, and they may be void

    even if all the trusts to which they are attached are valid. Where, therefore,

    there is a trust for A for life with remainder to his widow for life, and the

    trustees are given a power to sell or lease land comprised in the settlement,

    the power is void ab initio because it is capable of being exercised at any time

    during the widow’s life, and she may survive A by more than 21 years: see In

    re Allott, Hanmer v. Allott [1924] 2 Ch. 498. The same rule applies to a

    power to alter beneficial interests, such as a power of appointment. Such a

    power may, however, be saved if its objects are such that, even if it is

    expressed to be exercisable without limit of time, the power is in fact only

    capable of being exercised within the perpetuity period.

    31. The original Trust Deed and Pension Plan contained no Royal

    Lives Clause. The trusts of the scheme are therefore of unlimited and indefinite

    duration. It does not, however, follow that, as the judge held and the

    Attorney-General and the Company both claimed, the whole of the trusts declared

    by the Pension Plan are void ab initio.

    32. Their Lordships have considered the analysis of the effect of

    the Rule Against Perpetuities on pension schemes made by the English Law

    Commission in its recent Report on The Rules Against Perpetuities and Excessive

    Accumulations (1998) (Law Com. No. 251) at para. 3.53. They regard it as

    correct, at least in relation to a defined benefit scheme like the present. In

    their Lordships’ view such a scheme can properly be regarded as comprising a

    series of separate settlements. Every time an employee joins the scheme, a new

    settlement is created. The settlement comprises the contributions made in

    respect of the employee whether by him or by the Company. The Rule Against

    Perpetuities must be applied separately to each individual settlement, and each

    employee must be treated as a life in being in relation to his own settlement.

    On this footing, any benefits, whether payable as a lump sum or by way of an

    annuity, which are payable on the death or earlier retirement of the employee

    are valid.

    33. Their Lordships do not accept the appellants’ submission

    that this analysis is inappropriate where the trust fund is a common fund to

    which all Members have contributed. It would fail to save the trusts if it could

    be said that contributions made by one Member and which were not used to fund

    his own benefits could be made available to provide benefits to other Members

    who were not lives in being at the date of his settlement. But the essential

    feature of a defined benefits pension scheme is that the benefits payable in

    respect of each Member are fixed at the outset at an amount which is capable of

    being funded by the contributions payable in respect of the Member without

    recourse to the contributions of any other Member. Of course, in practice some

    Members will receive more than they contribute and others will receive less; but

    this ought not to render the trusts void for perpetuity. The trust fund is only

    a security for the payment of benefits, and a defined benefits scheme can be

    regarded for this purpose as a form of mutual insurance. Where each Member’s

    contributions are sufficient to fund his own pension by the purchase of an

    annuity from an insurance company, there is no perpetuity merely because they

    are in effect employed in the purchase of the pension from the trust fund.

    Regarded in this light, the pension payable to a Member who takes out more than

    he puts in can be said to derive, not from the funds of settlements made by

    other Members, but from the successful investment of his own settlement funds.

    34. On this analysis, the only provisions of the Pension Plan

    which are struck down are the widow’s power to designate a beneficiary to

    receive benefits (section 8.6) and to change the identity of a designated

    beneficiary (section 8.7); and the important trust contained in section 13.3(ii)

    of the original Plan. This trust arises in the event of discontinuance and

    requires the trustees, after providing for all accrued benefits, to employ any

    surplus in providing additional benefits to Members, their widows and designated

    beneficiaries. The trust cannot be saved by treating the Pension Plan as

    constituting a series of separate settlements made by each of the Members. The

    trust is contingent on the discontinuance of the scheme, which may occur more

    than 21 years after the death of any particular Member. This would not matter if

    the beneficiaries of the trust were confined to persons who were all lives in

    being at the date of the particular settlement. But it is a class gift in favour

    of Members (which cannot be read distributively to confine it in each case to

    the Member who made the settlement), their widows and dependants. These are not

    all lives in being at the date of any individual settlement.

    35. As Carey J.A. observed, had the trust in section 13.3(ii)

    been valid, there would have been no surplus on discontinuance, since the

    trustees would have been obliged to use up the balance of the trust fund in the

    payment of additional benefits. It is the failure of this trust which has

    created the surplus.

    Was the Pension Plan discontinued?

    36. The Court of Appeal were divided on the question whether the

    Plan had been discontinued. Carey J.A. considered that discontinuance required a

    formal decision by the Board of the Company, and no such resolution was in

    evidence. Forte J.A. considered that the Company was acting in bad faith by not

    resolving to discontinue the Plan since it was seeking to obtain for itself

    benefits which would otherwise have accrued to the Members. Downer J.A.

    considered that the Plan was discontinued once there were no current

    contributing Members.

    37. Before their Lordships counsel for the Company and the

    Attorney-General strenuously contended that the Plan had not been discontinued

    because (a) the business of Air Jamaica was still being carried on by the

    Company; only the shareholders had changed: and (b) pensions were still in

    payment under continuing trusts. These contentions are misconceived. A pension

    scheme can be discontinued without discontinuing the employer’s business; and

    discontinuing a pension scheme is not the same as winding it up.

    38. A pension scheme is a continuing scheme under which new

    members are continually joining and existing members leaving or taking their

    benefits. In order to wind up such a scheme three steps must be taken, though

    the first two may be taken simultaneously. First, the scheme must be closed to

    new entrants. If no further steps are taken, the scheme continues as a closed

    scheme, contributions continuing to be paid in respect of existing members but

    no new members being admitted. Secondly, contributions must cease to be paid in

    respect of existing members, who will either have been made redundant or have

    been transferred to a new scheme. At this stage the scheme is discontinued,

    since it ceases to be a continuing one. But pensions in payment continue to be

    payable until the third stage is reached and the scheme is finally wound up.

    39. It follows that all that was necessary to discontinue the

    Pension Plan was that the Company cease to deduct contributions from its

    employees and to pay matching contributions to the trustees. This did not

    require a formal resolution of the Board. Section 13.1 of the Pension Plan gives

    the Company power to amend the Plan by an instrument in writing signed by a

    majority of the Directors, but no similar requirement is imported into section

    13.2 which allows the Company to discontinue the Plan at any time. This is

    because it is not a power - if it were it would be void for perpetuity - but a

    liberty. As their Lordships have pointed out, the Company’s obligation to

    deduct contributions from Members and account for them to the trustees and to

    pay matching contributions of its own to the trustees is contractual. Section

    13.2 modifies the terms of the contract by giving the Company liberty to

    discontinue contributions notwithstanding its undertaking.

    40. The evidence is that the Company ceased to deduct

    contributions from Members or to pay contributions to the trustees after 31st

    May 1994. No deductions were made from the last pay packets of employees who

    were made redundant on 30th June, or from the wages paid to the four employees

    who continued in employment until 30th September. There were no contributing

    Members after 30th June 1994, with the result that the Plan was discontinued on

    that date, that is to say before the 1994 amendments were made.

    The validity of the 1994 amendments

    41. Their Lordships are satisfied that the 1994 amendments are

    incurably bad. There are several reasons for this. In the first place, as their

    Lordships have already explained, any power to amend the trusts is void for

    perpetuity. This does not mean that an amendment is wholly without effect. An

    employee who joins the Plan after an amendment makes his settlement upon the

    trusts of the Plan as amended. But an amendment cannot affect existing Members.

    The 1994 amendments, which were made after the Plan had been closed to new

    Members, were therefore without effect.

    42. In the second place, and perpetuity apart, the Company’s

    power to amend the Plan was subject to an obligation to exercise it in good

    faith: see Imperial Group Pension Trust Ltd. v. Imperial Tobacco Ltd. [1991]

    1 W.L.R. 589. The Company was not entitled simply to disregard or override the

    interests of the Members. Once it became likely that the Plan would be wound up,

    the Company would have to take this fact into account, and it is difficult to

    see how the Plan could lawfully be amended in any significant respect once it

    had actually been discontinued. But even if it could, their Lordships are

    satisfied that it could not be amended in order to confer any interest in the

    trust fund on the Company. This was expressly prohibited by clause 4 of the

    Trust Deed. The 1994 amendments included a purported amendment to the Trust Deed

    to remove this limitation, but this was plainly invalid. The trustees could not

    achieve by two steps what they could not achieve by one.

    Destination of the surplus

    43. Prima facie the surplus is held on a resulting trust for

    those who provided it. This sometimes creates a problem of some perplexity. In

    the present case, however, it does not. Contributions were payable by the

    Members with matching contributions by the Company. In the absence of any

    evidence that this is not what happened in practice, the surplus must be treated

    as provided as to one half by the Company and as to one half by the Members.

    44. The Attorney-General contended that neither the Company nor

    the Members can take any part in the surplus, which has reverted to the Crown as

    bona vacantia. He argued that clause 4 of the Trust Deed precludes any claim by

    the Company, while the Members cannot claim any part of the surplus because they

    have received all that they are entitled to. There is authority for both

    propositions. Their Lordships consider that they can be supported neither in

    principle nor as a matter of construction.

    45. In In re A.B.C. Television Ltd. Pension Scheme unreported,

    22nd May 1973 Foster J. held that a clause similar to clause 4 of the present

    Trust Deed "negatives the possibility of implying a resulting trust".

    This is wrong in principle. Like a constructive trust, a resulting trust arises

    by operation of law, though unlike a constructive trust it gives effect to

    intention. But it arises whether or not the transferor intended to retain a

    beneficial interest - he almost always does not - since it responds to the

    absence of any intention on his part to pass a beneficial interest to the

    recipient. It may arise even where the transferor positively wished to part with

    the beneficial interest, as in Vandervell v. Inland Revenue Commissioners [1967] 2 AC 291. In that case the retention of a beneficial interest by the

    transferor destroyed the effectiveness of a tax avoidance scheme which the

    transferor was seeking to implement. The House of Lords affirmed the principle

    that a resulting trust is not defeated by evidence that the transferor intended

    to part with the beneficial interest if he has not in fact succeeded in doing

    so. As Plowman J. had said in the same case at first instance ([1966] Ch. 261 at

    p. 275):-

    "As I see it, a man does not cease to own property

    simply by saying ‘I don’t want it.’ If he tries to give it away the

    question must always be, has he succeeded in doing so or not?"

    46. Lord Upjohn expressly approved this at p. 314.

    47. Consequently their Lordships think that clauses of this kind

    in a pension scheme should generally be construed as forbidding the repayment of

    contributions under the terms of the scheme, and not as a pre-emptive but

    misguided attempt to rebut a resulting trust which would arise dehors the

    scheme. The purpose of such clauses is to preclude any amendment that would

    allow repayment to the Company. Their Lordships thus construe clause 4 of the

    Trust Deed as invalidating the 1994 amendments, but not as preventing the

    Company from retaining a beneficial interest by way of a resulting trust in so

    much of the surplus as is attributable to its contributions.

    48. The Members’ contributions stand on a similar footing. In

    Davis v. Richards & Wallington Industries Ltd. [1990] 1 W.L.R. 1511

    Scott J. held that the fact that a party has received all that he bargained for

    is not necessarily a decisive argument against a resulting trust, but that in

    the circumstances of the case before him a resulting trust in favour of the

    employees was excluded. The circumstances that impressed him were twofold. He

    considered that it was impossible to arrive at a workable scheme for

    apportioning the employees’ surplus among the different classes of employees

    and he declined, at page 1544 to "impute to them an intention that would

    lead to an unworkable result". He also considered that he was precluded by

    statute from "imputing to the employees an intention" that they should

    receive by means of a resulting trust sums in excess of the maximum permitted by

    the relevant tax legislation.

    49. These formulations also adopt the approach to intention that

    their Lordships have already considered to be erroneous. Their Lordships would

    observe that, even in the ordinary case of an actuarial surplus, it is not

    obvious that, when employees are promised certain benefits under a scheme to

    which they have contributed more than was necessary to fund them, they should

    not expect to obtain a return of their excess contributions. In the present

    case, however, the surplus does not arise from overfunding but from the failure

    of some of the trusts. It is impossible to say that the Members "have

    received all that they bargained for". One of the benefits they bargained

    for was that the trustees should be obliged to pay them additional benefits in

    the event of the scheme’s discontinuance. It was the invalidity of this trust

    that gave rise to the surplus. Their Lordships consider that it would be more

    accurate to say that the Members claim such part of the surplus as is

    attributable to their contributions because they have not received all that they

    bargained for.

    50. Pension schemes in Jamaica, as in England, need the approval

    of the Inland Revenue if they are to secure the fiscal advantages that are made

    available. The tax legislation in both countries places a limit on the amount

    which can be paid to the individual employee. Allowing the employees to enjoy

    any part of the surplus by way of resulting trust would probably exceed those

    limits. This fact is not, however, in their Lordships’ view a proper ground on

    which to reject the operation of a resulting trust in favour of the employees.

    The Inland Revenue had an opportunity to examine the Pension Plan and to

    withhold approval on the ground that some of its provisions were void for

    perpetuity. They failed to do so. There is no call to distort principle in order

    to meet their requirements. The resulting trust arises by operation of the

    general law, dehors the pension scheme and the scope of the relevant tax

    legislation.

    51. Scott J. was impressed by the difficulty of arriving at a

    workable scheme for apportioning the surplus funds among the Members and the

    executors of deceased Members. This was because he thought it necessary to value

    the benefits that each Member had received in order to ascertain his share in

    the surplus. On the separate settlement with mutual insurance analysis which

    their Lordships have adopted in the present case, however, no such process is

    required. The Members’ share of the surplus should be divided pro rata among

    the Members and the estates of deceased Members in proportion to the

    contributions made by each Member without regard to the benefits each has

    received and irrespective of the dates on which the contributions were made.

    Interest

    52. The Court of Appeal ordered that the moneys paid out of the

    trust fund should be repaid to the trust fund with compound interest. The

    Company and the Attorney-General have appealed on the ground that no case has

    been made out for the payment of compound interest. They rely on the fact that

    the circumstances in which a Court of Equity will order compound interest are

    narrowly circumscribed.

    53. Their Lordships think that these arguments are based on a

    misunderstanding. The moneys were released to the Company on the

    Attorney-General’s undertaking to replenish the trust fund "to the full

    extent required". In ordering the repayment to be made with compound

    interest, the Court of Appeal was not exercising its equitable jurisdiction over

    trust funds, but merely giving effect to the Attorney-General’s undertaking as

    properly construed. Had the injunction not been discharged, the trustees would

    have retained the money pending the determination of the proceedings and held it

    in some suitable account where the interest would have been rolled up and added

    to capital. The Crown’s obligation is to restore the trust fund (or so much

    thereof as is distributable to Members) to what it would have been if it had not

    been paid to the Company. This does not require that the whole of the moneys

    paid to the Company be repaid, but only so much as is attributable to the

    Members’ contributions; but it does require repayment to be made with compound

    interest.

    Conclusion

    54. Their Lordships will humbly advise Her Majesty that the

    Company’s appeal should be allowed and the Attorney-General’s appeal should

    be dismissed. The orders made by the Court of Appeal should be set aside, and in

    lieu thereof it should be declared (i) that the widow’s power to designate a

    beneficiary conferred by section 8.6 of the Pension Plan and to change the

    identity of a designated beneficiary conferred by section 8.7 and the trust

    contained in section 13.3(ii) of the Pension Plan are void for perpetuity; (ii)

    that so much of the surplus as is attributable to contributions made by the

    Company should be repaid to or retained by the Company; (iii) that so much of

    the surplus as is attributable to contributions made by Members is divisible pro

    rata among the Members and the estates of deceased Members in proportion to

    their respective contributions without regard to the value of the benefits they

    have received and irrespective of the dates of their contributions; and (iv)

    that so much of the surplus as is attributable to the contributions made by

    Members and was paid to the Company should be forthwith repaid to the trustees

    by the Crown in accordance with the undertaking of the Attorney-General together

    with compound interest at the rate specified by the Court of Appeal from the

    date of receipt by the Company to the date of payment. The effect of

    declarations (i) and (ii) above is to bring to an end any benefit currently in

    payment which depend on the validity of the provisions in question. Their

    Lordships should not be taken to be deciding that past payments are recoverable.

    The costs of all parties to the appeal should be met out of the surplus before

    it is dealt with in accordance with declarations (ii) and (iii) above.

    The need for legislation

    55. Their Lordships would respectfully draw the attention of the

    authorities in Jamaica to the need for retrospective legislation affecting

    continuing schemes to exempt authorised pension schemes from the Rule Against

    Perpetuities. It is virtually impossible to establish a modern pension scheme

    with any degree of sophistication without some at least of the trusts and powers

    being rendered invalid by the Rule. It is, of course, possible to include a

    Royal Lives Clause from the outset, but this is not an ideal remedy since a

    modern pension scheme ought to be designed to last indefinitely and not brought

    to an end by some extraneous and irrelevant event. This must, however, be a

    matter for the Jamaican legislature and not for their Lordships.

    [20]

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Air Jamaica Limited v. Joy Charlton and Others (Jamaica)
    (Apr 28, 1999)