AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948
  • this Act
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948
  • this Act
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The case concerns the liability of an employer to pay contributions under the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948, in respect of amounts paid to its employees as production bonus. The core controversy is whether such production bonus falls within the definition of “wages” under Section 2(22) of the Act.

The Insurance Court held that the production bonus in question is “wages” within the meaning of Section 2(22). The High Court confirmed this view, relying on two Full Bench decisions of the Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka High Courts. The employer (appellant) challenged this before the present court, also disputing the correctness of the amount of contribution assessed by the Employees' State Insurance Corporation, which had been calculated on an ad hoc basis and accepted by the Insurance Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the production bonus paid to the employees constitutes “wages” within the meaning of Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948.
  2. Whether the Insurance Court erred in accepting the ad hoc assessment made by the Employees' State Insurance Corporation without determining the exact amount of contribution payable by the employer.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The appellant, through counsel Dr. Prakash, contended that the Insurance Court had not determined the exact amount of contribution payable.
  • It was argued that since the Corporation had made only an ad hoc assessment, it was the duty of the Insurance Court to ascertain and fix the precise amount of contribution legally payable by the appellant.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
ESI Corpn. v. A.P. Paper Mills Ltd., 1978 Lab IC 19; AIR 1978 AP 18; (1978) 1 LLJ 469; (1977) 2 LLN 582 (FB) Relied upon to support the view that production bonus paid to employees can fall within the definition of “wages” under Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act. Cited as an authority by the Insurance Court and the High Court in holding that the production bonus in question constituted “wages”; the present court notes this reliance and upholds the same conclusion regarding the nature of production bonus.
N.G.E.F. Ltd. v. Dy. Regional Director, E.S.I.C., 1980 Lab IC 431; AIR 1980 NOC 109 (Kant) (FB) Similarly relied upon to affirm that production bonus is includible in “wages” for the purpose of contribution under the Employees' State Insurance Act. Referred to as a supporting Full Bench decision that had been relied on by the Insurance Court and the High Court; the present court maintains the same legal position that production bonus is “wages”.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court first examined the statutory definition of “wages” in Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act. That provision defines “wages” broadly as all remuneration paid or payable in cash to an employee if the terms of the contract of employment, express or implied, are fulfilled, and includes certain additional remuneration paid at intervals not exceeding two months, subject to specific exclusions (such as employer’s contributions to provident or pension funds, travelling allowance, sums to defray special employment-related expenses, and gratuity on discharge).

Focusing on the nature of the disputed payment, the court held that production bonus is “nothing but remuneration for the additional production which the employees have contributed.” It noted that, under the agreement, the production bonus was to be paid at the end of each quarter, and employees were entitled to receive advances against such bonus. The Insurance Court had found that every employee had in fact received such advance.

The court rejected any argument that the timing or mode of payment altered the character of the bonus. It reasoned that the stipulation that the bonus would be paid at the end of the quarter did not transform it into something other than remuneration for the labour performed during that quarter. The critical factor was the nature of the payment, not the schedule of disbursement. The very expression “production bonus” indicated that it was connected with or relatable to production over a period, and hence directly tied to the employees’ work.

On this basis, the court concluded that production bonus could not be treated as anything other than “wages” within the meaning of Section 2(22).

Turning to the second issue, the court considered Dr. Prakash’s contention that the Insurance Court ought to have determined the exact amount of contribution payable, instead of accepting the ad hoc assessment of the Employees' State Insurance Corporation. The court observed that:

  • It was the appellant who had approached the Insurance Court challenging the Corporation’s demand for contribution.
  • In the application before the Insurance Court, the appellants merely asserted that the amount demanded by the Corporation was incorrect, but they neither specified what they considered to be the correct amount (on the assumption that their contention about production bonus not being wages might fail) nor adduced evidence to support any alternative computation.

In light of this, the court held that, given the appellants' failure to plead or prove the correct amount or to produce relevant material, there was nothing improper in the Insurance Court refraining from re-calculating the contribution and instead accepting the Corporation’s calculation as the correct amount. The court therefore found no error in the Insurance Court’s approach to the quantum of contribution.

Holding and Implications

The court held that the production bonus paid to the employees is “wages” within the meaning of Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948. It further held that the Insurance Court was justified in accepting the Employees' State Insurance Corporation’s calculation of contribution, in the absence of any specific or substantiated challenge by the appellants to the quantum demanded.

Consequently, the court DISMISSED THE APPEAL WITH COSTS.

The immediate effect of this decision is that the employer remains liable to pay contributions on the production bonus as part of “wages” in the amount assessed by the Corporation and accepted by the Insurance Court. The opinion does not discuss any broader implications or the creation of new legal principles beyond affirming the inclusion of production bonus in “wages” under the existing statutory framework.

    Modella Woollens Ltd. v. Employees' State Insurance Corporation And Another

    Order

    1. The question involved in the present case is whether the production bonus paid to the employees is “wages” within the meaning of Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 (hereinafter referred to as the ‘Act’). The Insurance Court has taken the view that the production bonus in question is ‘wages’ and the High Court has confirmed it relying on two Full Bench decisions of the Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka High Courts, viz. ESI Corpn. v. A.P Paper Mills Ltd. 1978 Lab IC 19, AIR 1978 AP 18, (1978) 1 LLJ 469, (1977) 2 LLN 582 (FB) and N.G.E.F Ltd. v. Dy. Regional Director, E.S.I.C 1980 Lab IC 431, AIR 1980 NOC 109 (Kant) (FB) which have also been relied upon by the Insurance Court. The definition of wages reads as follows:

    “ ‘Wages’ means all remuneration paid or payable in cash to an employee, if the terms of the contract of employment, express or implied, were fulfilled and includes (any payment to an employee in respect of any period of authorised leave, lock-out, strike which is not illegal or lay-off and) other additional remuneration, if any (paid at intervals not exceeding two months) but does not include—

    (a) any contribution paid by the employer to any pension fund or provident fund, or under this Act;

    (b) any travelling allowance or the value of any travelling concession;

    (c) any sum paid to the person employed to defray special expenses entailed on him by the nature of his employment; or

    (d) any gratuity payable on discharge.”

    2. It cannot be disputed that the production bonus is nothing but remuneration for the additional production which the employees have contributed. Under the agreement the bonus in question is to be paid at the end of each quarter. There is also a provision in the agreement that the employees can claim advance against such bonus and the finding recorded by the Insurance Court shows that every employee has received such advance. The mere term in the agreement that the payment of bonus would be made at the end of the quarter, therefore, does not make the bonus, a payment other than remuneration for the labour put in during the said quarter. Hence the stipulation in the agreement that the payment of the bonus would be made at the end of the quarter is not material for deciding the question whether the payments would be covered by the first part of the definition or not. What the court has to look into is the nature of the payment. The term production bonus itself shows that it is a payment connected with or relatable to the production over a period. Hence it cannot be a payment other than ‘wages’ within the meaning of the said definition.

    3. Dr Prakash next contended that the Insurance Court had not decided the exact amount to be paid. According to him, since the Insurance Corporation has made the assessment on an ad hoc basis, it was the duty of the court to decide the exact amount which was liable to be paid by the appellants as contribution. It is the appellant who had gone to the court against the demand for contribution made by the Corporation. In the application filed before the Insurance Court, the appellants did not come out with the correct amount which according to them was payable, assuming that their contention that the production bonus was not wages, was not upheld. Beyond stating in the application that the amount demanded by the Corporation was incorrect, the appellants said and proved nothing before the court. We are, therefore, of the view that in the circumstances, there was nothing wrong if the Insurance Court did not go into the further question and examine the exact amount payable by the appellants and accepted the amount calculated by the Corporation as the correct amount of contribution. The appeal is, therefore, dismissed with costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Modella Woollens Ltd. v. Employees' State Insurance Corporation And Another
    (Aug 25, 1993)