Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The appeal arises from an order dated 22.1.2010 passed by the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, Rajgarh, directing the opposite party to pay accidental benefit under insurance policies to the complainant. The respondent's husband (the insured) held three insurance policies from the appellant LIC, each for ₹1 lakh with accidental benefit coverage. The insured was abducted and subsequently murdered on 29.11.2006. LIC paid the sum insured but withheld the accidental benefit of ₹3 lakh, pending the outcome of a Sessions Court case. After the Sessions Court delivered its decision on 10.9.2008, LIC denied accidental benefit on the ground that the insured's murder was not accidental. The consumer forum ordered payment of the accidental benefit, which led to this appeal before the present court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the murder of the insured can be legally classified as an accidental death for the purpose of claiming accidental benefit under the insurance policies.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The insured's death was a planned murder and therefore not an accident.
  • Consequently, the accidental benefit under the insurance policies is not payable.

Respondent's Arguments

  • The respondent contended that the accidental benefit was due since the insured was killed unlawfully and the payment of sum insured alone was insufficient.
  • They awaited the Sessions Court decision to establish the nature of the death.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Smt. Rita Devi & Ors. v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. & Anr., II (2000) ACC 291 (SC), IV (2000) SLT 179, II (2000) CLT 192 (SC), (2000) 5 SCC 113 Distinction between murder simplicitor and accidental murder; a murder can be accidental if the killing was not the dominant intention but occurred in furtherance of another felonious act. The court applied this principle to determine that the insured’s murder was intentional and thus not accidental, rejecting the claim for accidental benefit.
Maya Devi v. LIC of India, III (2008) CPJ 120 (NC) Reference to Halsbury's Laws of England that a murder is considered an accident unless the immediate cause of injury is a deliberate and wilful act of the insured himself. The court relied on this authority to support the conclusion that the insured’s deliberate act of lending money and the resulting motive for murder negated the classification of death as accidental.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court examined the factual matrix and legal precedents to determine whether the insured’s death constituted an accident under the insurance policies. The Sessions Court found that the insured had monetary dealings with the accused, who had a motive to kill him due to disputes over loaned money. The court noted that the insured's death was the result of a deliberate act motivated by a dispute rather than an unforeseen accident. Citing the Supreme Court’s ruling in Smt. Rita Devi, the court emphasized that a murder is not accidental if the dominant intention was to kill the victim. The court also referred to the National Commission’s decision in Maya Devi, which held that unless the insured’s own deliberate act caused the injury, the death could be considered accidental. Here, the insured’s act of lending money and the motivation of the accused established an intentional killing (murder simplicitor). Therefore, the accidental benefit was not payable.

Holding and Implications

The court allowed the appeal and set aside the impugned order of the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum that had directed payment of accidental benefit. No order as to costs was made.

The decision directly affects the parties by denying the accidental benefit claim to the respondent. The court did not establish any new precedent but applied established principles distinguishing accidental death from intentional murder in insurance claims.

    Life Insurance Corp. Of India v. Anita Gupta

    Neerja Singh, Members:

    1. This appeal arises from the order dated 22.1.2010, passed in C.C. No. 128/2009 by District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, Rajgarh, directing the opposite party to pay the accidental benefit of the policies to the complainant.

    2. The brief facts of the case are that the respondent husband, Shri Shailendra Gupta (hereinafter referred to as the insured), had three insurance policies, Nos. 351721510, 351721511 and 352331081, for र1 lakh each. The policies also included accidental benefit. The policies were issued by the appellant, Bharatiya Jeevan Bima Nigam (hereinafter referred to as LIC). On 29.11.2006, some miscreant abducted the insured and later killed him. The respondent states that though the LIC paid her the sum insured, the accidental benefit, amounting to र3 lakh for the 3 policies, was not paid. They informed her that the decision would be taken after the decision of the case before the Sessions Court. The decision of the Court, dated 10.9.2008, was sent to the LIC. On 3.11.2008, LIC informed the respondent that the accidental benefit on policy No. 352331081, was not payable, as the murder was not an accident.

    3. The appellant LIC stated that the insureds death was a planned murder and was not an accident, so the accidental benefit claimed under the policies is not payable.

    4. We have heard the learned Counsel for the parties and perused the documents filed on record.

    5. The short point involved in this dispute is whether the murder of the insured could be considered an accidental death. In the judgment of the Sessions Court, filed before us, it has been held that there were monetary dealings between the murder accused and the insured. The insured used to lend money to the accused on interest. The Sessions Court came to the conclusion that probably a dispute arose regarding the settlement of accounts, and in the ensuing scuffle, the insured was killed.

    6. In the case of Smt. Rita Devi & Ors. v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. & Anr., II (2000) ACC 291 (SC)=IV (2000) SLT 179=II (2000) CLT 192 (SC)=(2000) 5 SCC 113, the Honble Supreme Court held, "The question, therefore, is, can a murder be an accident in any given case? There is no doubt that "murder", as it is understood, in the common parlance is a felonious act where death is caused with intent and the perpetrators of that act normally have a motive against the victim for such a killing. But there are also instances where a murder can be an accident on a given set of facts. The difference between a "murder" which is not an accident and a "murder" which is an accident depends on the proximity of the cause of such murder. In our opinion, if the dominant intention of the Act of felony is to kill any particular person then such a killing is not an accidental murder but is a murder simplicitor, while if the cause of murder or act of murder was originally not intended and the same was caused in furtherance of any other felonious act then such murder is an accidental murder."

    (Emphasis supplied)

    7. This view was again taken by the Honble National Commission in the case of Maya Devi v. LIC of India, III (2008) CPJ 120 (NC), wherein they have cited Halsburys Laws of England, Vol 25, Pg 311 Para 575, 4th Edition, which stipulates that unless the immediate cause of the injury is the deliberate and wilful act of the insured himself the murder would be considered an accident.

    8. In the instant case, the insured used to lend money to the accused on interest. Whether the insured went to meet them to demand his money, or they abducted him with the intention of murdering him, by no stretch of imagination can it be said to be an accident, it was the act of the insured himself, which was the immediate cause of the injury. The accused had a motive and sufficient reason to kill him. In our considered view, it is a clear case of murder simplicitor.

    9. In view of the aforesaid, the appeal is allowed, and the impugned order of the District Forum is set aside. No order as to costs.

    Appeal allowed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Life Insurance Corp. Of India v. Anita Gupta
    (Jun 7, 2011)