AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The claimant, Gurdial Singh, met with an accident on 27th December 1969 when he was hit by a truck (No. PNL-6240) driven by Harnek Singh. Mohinder Singh was the owner of the truck, which was insured with appellant No. 2. The claimant sought compensation of Rs. 38,400/- from the truck owner, the insurance company, and the driver. The Tribunal awarded Rs. 17,000/- including medical expenses, pain and suffering, and pecuniary loss due to a 40% permanent disability caused by amputation of the claimant’s left leg below the knee.

The claimant was standing on the correct side of the road when the truck, allegedly driven at high speed, struck him, crushing his leg. He was taken to the Primary Health Centre and then to the Civil Hospital, Ludhiana. The claim was contested by the truck owner and the insurance company, while the driver proceeded ex-parte. The claimant and several witnesses testified, as did the owner and his witnesses.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the claimant contributed to the accident by his own negligence.
  2. Whether the driver was authorized and acting in the course of employment, thus making the owner and insurer liable.
  3. Whether the amount of compensation awarded by the Tribunal was excessive.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants' Arguments

  • The claimant was negligent by standing on the edge of the metalled road where he had no right to be, contributing to the accident.
  • The driver was not authorized and was not acting in the course of employment; hence the owner and insurer were not liable.
  • The compensation awarded was excessive and unsupported by evidence, including the claimant’s earning capacity and failure to deduct for lump sum payment or life expectancy.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Sitaram Motilal Kalal v. Santanuprasad Jaishankar Bhatt, 1966 A.C.J 89 Presumption that a driver driving a vehicle is authorized and acting in the course of employment unless rebutted. The Court held that the presumption was not rebutted by the owner, thus the owner and insurer were liable for compensation.
P.S Bhatnagar v. State of Punjab, 1977 79 P.L.R 300 Guidance on awarding compensation for pain and suffering, including judicial discretion and comparative assessment. The Court used this precedent to highlight that the Tribunal’s award for pain and suffering was low and that a more liberal approach could have been taken.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court examined the claimant’s position on the road and found no merit in the appellants’ negligence claim, emphasizing that being on the correct side of the road does not permit a motorist to knock down a pedestrian. The absence of any counter-evidence or testimony from the driver, who was the best witness, supported the claimant’s version that the accident was caused by the driver’s negligence.

Regarding authorization, the Court applied the legal presumption that a driver is authorized and acting in the course of employment unless the contrary is proven. Since the owner did not rebut this presumption or take any steps against the driver after the accident, the Court inferred authorization and liability on the owner and insurer.

On compensation, the Court found the Tribunal’s assessment of the claimant’s earning capacity to be conservative and reasonable given the local context. The award for pain and suffering was also considered modest given the severity of the injury (amputation and permanent disability). The Court rejected the appellants’ contention for deductions on account of lump sum payment or life expectancy, reasoning that the Tribunal’s overall award was already modest and no further deductions were warranted.

Holding and Implications

The appeal was dismissed.

The Court upheld the Tribunal’s award of Rs. 17,000/- compensation to the claimant, confirming the liability of the truck owner and insurer. The decision leaves the parties to bear their own costs. No new precedent was established; the ruling affirms existing principles on driver authorization and compensation assessment in motor accident claims.

    Mohinder Singh And Others v. Gurdial Singh And Others

    D.S Tewatia, J.:— Respondent Gurdial, Singh, hereinafter referred to as the claimant, met with an accident on 27th December, 1969 at about 5 p.m in the area of Sidhwan Bet with Truck No. PNL-6240 driven at the time by Harnek Singh, respondent No. 2 and Mohinder Singh, appellant No. 1, was the owner of the truck in question which was insured with appellant No. 2. The claimant sought compensation to the tune of Rs. 38,400/- from the two appellants and respondent No. 2, the driver. The Tribunal allowed his claim only for a sum of Rs. 17,000/- which sum included Rs. 250/- towards the medical expenses incurred by the claimant, Rs. 2350/- towards pain and suffering and the rest likely pecuniary loss on account of 40 per cent permanent disability suffered by him as a result of amputation of his left leg 12″ below knee.

    2. The facts asserted by the claimant were that he, alongwith his nephew Harbhajan Singh, had gone to take diesel for the latter's tractor. At the time when the accident took place he was standing on his correct side, at the fag end of the mettalled portion of the road where it joined the kutcha portion. The truck came at a fast speed and hit him. As a result of the impact, he fell down and the truck passed over his left leg which as a result thereof was crushed. Harbhajan Singh aforesaid and one Kuldip Singh removed him on a cot to the Primary Health Centre, Sidhwan Bet, from where, on the advice of the doctor, he was removed to the Civil Hospital, Ludhiana.

    3. The claim was contested by the owner and the insurance company while Harnek Singh driver was proceeded ex-parte. In support of his claim, the claimant, apart from himself appearing as P.W 4, examined Harbhajan Singh P.W 3, Dr. H.S Dhillon P.W 1, and Banta Singh Patwari P.W 2. The owner, besides himself appearing in the witness box as R.W 3, examined Ram Gopal and Ajaib Singh as R.W 1 and R.W 2 respectively.

    4. Mr. Munishwar Puri, learned counsel for the appellants, has assailed the award on three grounds (1) that the claimant was himself negligent and had contributed to the accident, (2) that the driver not being the authorised driver of the owner and not acting during the course of employment under the owner, neither the owner not the insurance company was liable to pay compensation, and (3) that the amount of compensation awarded by the Tribunal was highly excessive.

    5. As regards the question of negligence, the learned counsel for the appellants canvassed that on his own showing the claimant was standing on the brim of the metalled portion of the road where he had no business to be and so the accident occurred on account of his negligence.

    6. I find no merit in this contention of the learned counsel. The claimant, no doubt, says that he was standing on the outer fringe of the metalled portion on the correct side of the road, but that does not mean that a motorist can knock a person down if that person happens to be present on his own side of the road and that too almost at a point where the metalled portion adjoins the kutcha portion. In the present case, no counter version has been pleaded and the driver, who was the best person to depose to the circumstances, has neither himself appeared in the witness box nor the owner has produced him as his own witness. There being no rebuttal of evidence of the claimant and Harbhajan Singh, it cannot be said that the accident had not occurred as a result of the negligence of the driver.

    7. As to the second ground of attack, it may be observed that there is no dispute that the truck in question at the relevant time was driven by Harnek Singh, rather it has been admitted in the written statement itself. In the normal circumstances when a person happens to be driving a vehicle of the kind, it has to be presumed that the person driving the vehicle had the authority of the owner to drive and was driving in the course of the employment of the owner, unless evidence is placed on the record to prove the contrary. Such is the authoritative pronouncement of their Lordships of the Supreme Court in Sitaram Motilal Kalal v. Santanuprasad Jaishankar Bhatt . 1966 A.C.J 89.. However, the presumption is a rebuttable one. The Tribunal, in my opinion, has rightly held that this presumption has not been rebutted by the owner. The owner in his statement has not referred to his taking any step against Harnek Singh after he came to know of the fact that Harnek Singh driver had driven the truck and had caused the accident. That would not have been the conduct of an owner whose truck had been unauthorisedly taken away by a stranger and who had caused an accident therewith. The inference is irresistible that Harnek Singh driver was authorised to drive the truck and was acting in the course of the employment of the owner in question at the time of the accident.

    8. Now coming to the question of quantum of compensation it may be observed that the claimant is an agriculturist engaged in cultivation with his father who owns about 9 acres of land. The Tribunal assessed his capacity to earn at Rs. 15.0/- p.m and on the basis of the doctor's evidence in regard to permanent disability to the extent of 40 percent it assessed the monthly pecuniary loss on that amount at Rs. 60/- p.m for the rest of his life, the expectancy whereof was fixed at 70 years.

    9. Mr. Munishwar Puri, learned counsel for the appellants, stressed, that the Tribunal had no evidence before it to come to the conclusion in regard to the capacity of the claimant to earn Rs. 150/- p.m The learned counsel also contended that the Tribunal erred in not effecting deductions from the amount of compensation on account of lumpsum payment, uncertainty of life and such other factor.

    10. In a case like this, it is enough if there is evidence that at the time the claimant met with the accident he was a healthy person capable of supporting himself atleast by working as a farm hand. The claimant had himself said so. The Tribunal assessed his capacity to earn at Rs. 150/- p.m which comes to about Rs. 5/- per day, which atleast in this part of the country, nobody touches with is pair of tongs. If at all, the Tribunal in this case has been tight fisted. This approach of the Tribunal is further amplified by the fact that it awarded only Rs. 2350/- for pain and suffering to a person whose leg had been crashed under the wheels of a truck and which later on had to be amputated rendering him invalid for life.

    11. In the matter of awarding compensation for pain and suffering, it is no doubt true that certain amount of conjectures enters, but even then the rule of thumb does not determine the conclusions of the Court and it is for this reason that sometimes comparisons are made though they are odious, but resort to them is necessary so that the exercise of discretion in this regard is kept within judicial limits.

    12. In a decision reported in P.S Bhatnagar v. State of Punjab . 1977 79 P.L.R 300., a Division Bench of this Court finding Rs. 4,000/- as inadequate, increased it to Rs. 10,000/-. That was a case in which there was fracture of legs and there was a head injury as a result whereof the person concerned suffered paralysis. While facts of no two cases are similar, nevertheless it is safe to presume that in a case where leg was not only crushed but was amputated and the man was rendered invalid for life, the Division Bench would have taken an equally liberal view if it had to deal with the case like the present one.

    13. Mr. Munishwar Puri rightly did not challenge the award of the Tribunal in regard to the amount of damages for pain and suffering, but the above discussion has a relevancy to his next submission pertaining to the effecting of deductions from the amount of compensation on account of payment in lumpsum, uncertainty of life etc. In support of his submission he has referred to one or two decisions, which it is unnecessary to cite as there is no auarrel with the proposition that while assessing the just compensation, the Court normally effects deductions ranging from ten percent to thirty percent depending upon the facts of a given case. In the present case, no deductions of any amount is warranted for the reasons already discussed because the Tribunal while awarding compensation to the claimant has been quite niggardly towards the complainant. Had the claimant come up in appeal, he might have succeeded in securing higher compensation.

    14. For the reasons stated, I find no merit in this appeal and the same is dismissed. However, parties are left to bear their own costs.

    Appeal dismissed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Mohinder Singh And Others v. Gurdial Singh And Others
    (Aug 2, 1977)