AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • S. 7 of the Irish Free State (Consequential Provisions) Act, 1922,
  • S. 1, Superannuating Act, 1909,
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • S. 7 of the Irish Free State (Consequential Provisions) Act, 1922,
  • S. 1, Superannuating Act, 1909,
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The appellants were formerly civil servants in the employment of the Crown in Southern Ireland who, by the instruments implementing the establishment of the Irish Free State, were transferred to the service of that State. After retirement they were dissatisfied with the retiring allowances awarded by the Minister of Finance and brought an action in the High Court against the Attorney-General of the Free State seeking a series of declarations as to the allowances to which they were entitled.

At trial Mr. Justice Meredith granted part of the relief claimed. On appeal the Supreme Court of the Irish Free State, by a majority (one judge dissenting), held that the action would not lie and dismissed it with costs. The appellants obtained special leave and appealed to the Board. The Board heard two principal questions: (1) whether the appellants had legal rights enforceable by declaration against the Attorney-General; and (2) if such rights existed, whether the statutes governing superannuation entitled them to the specific declarations claimed.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the appellants possess legal rights in respect of retiring allowances enforceable by an action for a declaration against the Attorney-General of the Irish Free State.
  2. Assuming such rights exist, whether, on the true construction of the superannuation statutes and related 1922 enactments, the appellants are entitled to the particular declarations and relief they claimed (including the treatment of supplemental pensions, an "overriding maximum" and calculation of a lump-sum allowance).

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants' Arguments

  • The appellants sought declarations of the allowances to which they were entitled and relied on the Agreement for a Treaty (Art. 10) and the 1922 statutes and orders that incorporated the Treaty into the municipal law of the Irish Free State, thereby creating enforceable legal rights in the State courts.
  • They challenged specific conditions attached to the awards made by the Minister's Compensation Committee (notably the quarterly re-assessment/sliding scale, an "overriding maximum" cap, and a reduction to 75% for the lump-sum calculation) and opposed the application of a sliding scale to their pensions (although the appeal records that they unsuccessfully contested the application of a sliding scale before the Board).

Respondent's Arguments

  • The respondent relied on English decisions holding that a servant of the Crown has no right under the Superannuation Acts to sue for a superannuation allowance (citing Cooper v. Reg. and Yorke v. Regem) and on the House of Lords' recognition of that authority in Considine v. Mclnerney. Those decisions, it was argued, turn on the language of the Superannuation Acts (including S.30 of the 1834 Act and S.2 of the 1859 Act).
  • The respondent further argued that, even if rights arose from the Treaty and subsequent enactments, those rights were confined to a right to put forward a claim to the Minister of Finance (as successor to the British Treasury) and to receive whatever compensation he might award—analogous to the Eighth Schedule to the Government of Ireland Act 1920, where awards were made by a Civil Service Committee whose decisions were final (S.56(6)).
  • It was contended that because the Civil Service Committee for all Ireland had lapsed and no equivalent committee for Southern Ireland had been set up, the Minister effectively became the decision-maker; the respondent relied on the Minister's adoption of a Treasury Minute and the recommendations of an advisory Compensation Committee as determining the appellants' awards.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Cooper v. Reg. [1880] 14 Ch. D. 811 Authority that a servant of the Crown has no right under the Superannuation Acts to sue for a superannuation allowance (decision turns upon the language of the Superannuation Acts). The Board recognized the authority of the decision but distinguished the present case because the appellants' claim rested on the Treaty and 1922 enactments which altered the legal position under Irish law.
Yorke v. Regem [1915] 1 K.B. 852 Similar principle to Cooper: under the Superannuation Acts a servant of the Crown could not maintain an action for superannuation; decisions are dependent on statutory language. Used to show the existing English line of authority; the Board held those decisions did not prevent judicial enforcement where the Treaty and enactments created new municipal rights in the Free State.
Considine v. Mclnerney [1916] 2 A.C. 162 House of Lords recognized the authority of the earlier decisions about non-justiciability under the Superannuation Acts. The Board acknowledged that recognition but treated the present claims as based on a distinct statutory foundation (the Treaty and 1922 statutes), enabling judicial enforcement in the Free State courts.
Dyson v. Attorney-General [1911] 1 K.B. 410; Dyson v. Attorney-General [1912] 1 Ch. 158 Establishes the permissibility of an action for a declaration of rights against the Attorney-General (form of action relied upon by the appellants). The Board saw no objection to the form of action and held it was in accordance with these well-known decisions, thereby accepting that a declaration proceeding against the Attorney-General was appropriate.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Board proceeded in two stages corresponding to the two principal questions raised.

1. Existence and justiciability of rights:

  • The Board acknowledged the line of English authority that, under the Superannuation Acts as originally framed, servants of the Crown could not sue for superannuation because the Acts either denied an absolute right (S.30 of the 1834 Act) or vested final determination in administrative bodies (S.2 of the 1859 Act).
  • However, the appellants' claim did not rest solely on the ordinary Superannuation Acts: it rested on Article 10 of the Agreement for a Treaty (which promised the Free State would pay fair compensation on terms not less favourable than those accorded by the 1920 Act) and on the subsequent 1922 enactments and orders that gave Article 10 the force of law in the Free State. Key instruments cited included the Provisional Government (Transfer of Functions) Order 1922 (C.1.7), Act No. 1 of 1922 (making Treaty articles law), and Arts. 77 and 78 of the Free State Constitution.
  • Particularly Art. 78 was held to convert the benefit of Art. 10 of the Treaty into a legal right for every transferred officer, enforceable in the courts of the Free State.
  • Because the statutory machinery for determining awards (notably the Civil Service Committee created by the 1920 Act) had, for Southern Ireland, ceased to operate following the establishment of the Free State, the Board held that the duty of ascertaining the compensation (where required) fell upon the courts rather than leaving officers without judicial remedy.
  • The Minister's Compensation Committee (an advisory body composed of a Supreme Court Judge as chairman, two ministerial appointees, and two staff appointees) was recognized as fair and useful but strictly advisory with no statutory binding effect; therefore its recommendations could not preclude judicial determination.
  • On these grounds the Board concluded that the appellants had legal rights which could be asserted in the Free State courts and that the chosen form of action for declarations against the Attorney-General was appropriate.

2. Construction of the statutes and validity of the disputed conditions attached to the awards:

  • The Compensation Committee had adopted principles contained in a British Treasury Minute of 20 March 1922 (adopted by the Minister on 11 May 1922). The Board held that the Minute could not bind officers who had been transferred to the Free State and that the Minister could not make the Minute binding by adoption because the Minister had no broader discretion than the statutes permitted.
  • Condition (1): the Committee made supplemental pensions subject to quarterly re-assessment with reference to official cost-of-living figures (a sliding scale). The Board held that a reasonable interpretation of the superannuation statutes permitted the supplemental pension to vary with the cost-of-living figure, because the pension should reflect changes in the bonus/salary in the same manner as the salary would have varied in service. Thus condition (1) was sustainable.
  • Condition (2): the Committee imposed an "overriding maximum" preventing the supplemental pension from exceeding its prescribed amount at the date of retirement. The Board rejected this condition: if the pension can fall with the cost-of-living figure it should also be capable of rising; the salary at the date of retirement ought not to be a conclusive cap preventing upward variation under the sliding scale.
  • Condition (3): for an officer (Cochran) entitled under the Superannuating Act 1909 to a lump sum equal to one-thirtieth of annual salary multiplied by years of service, the Committee calculated that lump sum on 75% of the bonus. The Board held there was no statutory warrant for calculating the lump sum by this "rough-and-ready" method. The lump sum, being intended as an accession to the first year's pension to meet increased temporary expenditure on retirement, should be calculated on the same basis as that pension; accordingly the 75% reduction could not be sustained.
  • Overall, the Board concluded that the disputed conditions (2) and (3) were inconsistent with the statutory rights; condition (1) (sliding scale) was permissible.

Holding and Implications

Holding:

The Board ordered that the Supreme Court's order be set aside and that the judgment of Meredith, J. (the trial judge) be restored. In the opinion the Board expressly agreed with Meredith, J., on all points.

Order set aside.

Consequences and implications:

  • Direct effect on the parties: the appellants' entitlement to have their compensation determined according to the Court's construction (as reflected in Meredith, J.'s judgment) is restored. The respondent (the Attorney-General) is ordered to pay the costs of the appeal to the Supreme Court of the Irish Free State.
  • Costs concerning this appeal to the Board: because the appellants unsuccessfully contended before the Board against the application of a sliding scale to their pensions, the Board ordered that there should be no costs of this appeal (i.e., no costs award against the respondent in respect of the Board appeal on that point).
  • Broader implications: the decision establishes that the Treaty provision (Art. 10) incorporated into the Free State's municipal law by 1922 enactments conferred enforceable legal rights on transferred officers, and where the statutory machinery for determining compensation has disappeared, the courts have the duty to ascertain and enforce the rights. The opinion does not purport to lay down a novel general principle beyond applying the enacted Treaty provisions and statutes to the facts; it restores the trial judge's construction rather than announcing an entirely new precedent.

This summary is based exclusively on the provided opinion and does not add or infer facts beyond those stated in the text.

    John Howard Wigg And Another v. Attorney General Of Irish Free State

    The Lord Chancellor.-

    This is an appeal by special leave from an order of the Supreme Court of the Irish Free State, reversing (by a majority) the judgment of Mr. Justice Meredith in favour of the appellants.

    The appellants, who were formerly established civil servants in the employment of the Crown in Southern Ireland, were, by the several instruments which effected or followed upon the establishment of the Irish Free State, transferred to the service of that State. They have since retired, and being dissatisfied with the retiring allowances granted to them by the Minister of Finance, they brought this action in the High Court against the Attorney-General of the Free State, claiming a series of declarations as to the allowances to which they are entitled. Mr. Justice Meredith, by whom the action was tried, granted part of the relief claimed; but, on appeal to the Supreme Court, that Court by a majority (Mr. Justice Johnston dissenting) held that the action would not lie, and dismissed it with costs. Hence the present appeal.

    On the argument of the appeal before this Board two distinct questions were discussed, namely, first, whether the appellants are entitled to any legal rights in respect of which an action for a declaration will lie against the Attorney-General; and, secondly, whether, assuming that such an action will lie, the appellants are, on the true construction of the statutes relating to superannuation or compensation for loss of office, entitled to the declarations which they claim. The questions so raised are of considerable public importance, both as bearing on the effect to be given in the Courts of the Free, State to the statutes and orders of 1922, and also as affecting the interests of a large number of former servants of the Crown.

    Upon the first question the respondent relied in the first place on the decisions of the English Courts which have laid it down that a servant of the Crown has no right under the Superannuation Acts to sue for his superannuation allowance; and for this purpose reference was made to the cases of Cooper v. Reg. [1880] 14 Ch. D. 811 : 49 L.J. Ch. 490 : 28 W.R. 611 : 42 L.T. 617 and Yorke v. Regem [1915] 1K.B. 852 : 84 L. J. K. 947 : 31 T.L.R. 220 : 112 L.T. 1135. Their Lordships do not question the authority of those decisions, which, indeed, was recognized by the House of Lords in Considine v. Mclnerney [1916] 2 A. C. 162 : 85 L. J. P. C. 168 : 32 T.L.R. 453 : 60 S J. 456 : 114 1138 : (1916) W. C. and I. Rep. 114 but those cases turned entirely upon the language of the Superannuation Acts. S. 30 of the Act of 1834 (which has not been repealed) enacts that nothing in this Act shall extend or be construed to extend to give any person an absolute right to compensation for past services or to any superannuation or retiring allowance under this Act. and S. 2 of the Act of 1859 provides that any question as to a claim for superannuation shall be referred to the Commissioners of the treasury, "whose decision shall be final"; and, in view of these enactments, it was clear that no action could be brought to set aside or vary a, decision of the Commissioners of the Treasury. But the claim of the present appellants rests, not upon the Superannuation Acts taken by themselves, but upon those Acts as modified and applied by the Agreement for a Treaty between Great Britain and Ireland and the statutes and orders of 1922. By Art. 10 of the Agreement for a Treaty it was provided as follows :

    The Government of the Irish Free State agrees to pay fair compensation on terms not less favourable than those accorded by the Act of 1920 to Judges, officials, members of police forces, and other public servants who are discharged by it or who retire in consequence of the change of Government effected in pursuance hereof.

    This article, taken by itself, might not have been enforceable by an individual citizen in the Irish Courts; but by a series of enactments following upon the Agreement for a Treaty, it has been made a part of the municipal law of the Free State. By the Provisional Government (Transfer of Functions) O. 1922, C1. 7, it was provided as follows :

    (i) All officers who are on the day of transfer engaged or employed in the discharge of functions transferred under this order to the Provisional Government shall be transferred to and becoms officers of the Provisional Government

    (ii) Where an officer is transferred to the Provisional Government under this order, he shall hold office by a tenure corresponding to his previous tenure, and if he is discharged by the Provisional Government, or if he retires in consequence sequence of the change of Government effected by this order, he shall be entitled to receive compensation from the Provisional Government and the terms of such compensation shall not be less favorable to him than such as are accorded in the like circumstances by the Government of Ireland Act, 1920.

    By Act No 1 of 1922-the statute by which Dail Eireann enacted a Constitution for the Irish Free State-it was enacted that the Articles of Agreement for a Treaty should have the force of law; and Arts. 77 and 78 of the Constitution provided as follows :

    77. Every existing officer of the Provisional Government at the date of the coming into operation of this Constitution (not being on officer whose services have been lent by the British Government to the Provisional Government) shall on that date be transferred to and become an officer of the Irish Free State (Saorstat Eireann), and shall hold office by a tanner corresponding to his previous tenure.

    78. Every such existing officer who was transferred from the British Government by virtue of any transfer of services to the Provisional Government shall be entitled to the benefit of Art. 10 of the Scheduled Treaty.

    The effect of these enactments, and particularly of Art. 78 of the Constitution, was to give to every existing officer who was transferred to the Provisional Government, and afterwards to the Free State, a right by Irish law to the benefit of Art. 10 of the Agreement for a Treaty with a corresponding title to enforce that right in the Courts of the Free State.

    But it was argued on behalf of the respondent that, even assuming that the Statutes conferred a right, they gave the appellants no more than a right to put forward their claim to the Minister of Finance (to whom the functions of the British Treasury in respect of superannuating have been transferred) and to receive such compensation as he might award to them. In support of this view it was pointed out that at most the effect of Art. 10 of the Agreement for the Treaty and Art. 78 of the Constitution was to give to existing civil servants transferred to the Free State the rights accorded the Eighth Schedule to the Government of Ireland Act, 1920; that under that schedule a civil servant retiring under the statutory conditions would only have been entitled to receive such compensation as the Civil Service Committee set up by that Act might award to him in accordance with the rules contained in the schedule; and that by S. 56 (6) of the Act the determination of the Civil Service Committee of any claim or question which was to be determined by them under the Act was to be final and conclusive. In consequence of the establishment of the Free State the Civil Service Committee has, so far as Southern Ireland is concerned, never been set up ; and it was argued that, this being so, the right to make an award under Sch. 8 of the Act of 1920 has reverted to the Minister of Finance as the successor to the British Treasury. Their Lordships do not agree with this reasoning. It is true that the Civil Service Committee for all Ireland has lapsed, and that by S. 7 of the Irish Free State (Consequential Provisions) Act, 1922, such a Committee has been set up for Northern Ireland only ; but the effect is not to transfer the functions of that Committee as regards Southern Ireland to the Minister of Finance. The right of an existing officer retiring under the statutory conditions to receive compensation in accordance with the rules contained in Sch. 8 of the Act of 1920 remains, and is converted by Art. 78 of the Constitution into a legal right ; and the machinery provided by the statute for ascertaining the amount of the compensation having disappeared, the duty of ascertaining. it falls, in case of need, upon the Courts.

    In this connation it is desirable to mention that, with a view to obtaining assistance in the duties falling upon him in this connation, the Minister of Finance has set up a Compensation Committee, whose duty it is to advise him as to the compensation to be awarded to retiring civil servants. This Committee consists of a Judge of the Supreme Court, who is the Chairman, two members appointed by the Minister and two appointed by the staff of civil servants. The constitution of the Committee is eminently fair, and there can be no doubt that its advice is of value; but it is an Advisory Committee only with no statutory powers, and it was not, and could not be, contended on behalf of the respondent that its conclusions have a binding effect.

    Upon the first point, therefore, their Lordships are of opinion that the appellants have a legal right which may be asserted in the Courts of the Irish Free State; and they see no objection to the form of the action, which is brought against the Attorney-General for a declaration of rights and is in accordance with the well-known decisions in Dyson v

    Attorney-General [1911] 1 K. B. 410 : 80 L. J. K. B. 531 : 27 T.L.R. 143 : 55 S. J. 168 : 103 L.T. 707. Dyson v. Attorney-General [1912] 1 Ch. 158 : 81 L. J. K. B. 217 : 105 L. T. 753 : 28 T. L. R. 72 and other cases.

    Before dealing with the questions of amount it is desirable to state in a little more detail the position of the two appellants, the nature of the compensation awarded to them respectively, and the questions upon which disagreement has arisen.

    Each of the appellants had many years of service to his credit, and each of them was entitled at the date of his retirement to a fixed salary and also to a supplemental salary (or bonus) varying with the costs-of-living figure; and in each case the notice of retirement, which was given in accordance with the statutory conditions specified in the Eighth Schedule to the Act of 1920, took effect after the passing of the Irish State Constitution Act. But there was this difference between the appellants, namely, that whereas the appellant 2, Mr. Cochran, had elected to adopt the provisions of the Superannuating Act, 1909 the appellant 1, Mr. Wig, had preferred to remain subject to the provisions of the Act of 1859 Accordingly, while the first appellant was entitled, in accordance with the Act of 1859, to a superannuating allowance equal to one-sixtieth of his annual salary and emoluments for every completed year of service (subject to the notional increases of his salary and years of service prescribed by Part 1 of the Rules contained in the Eighth Schedule to the Act of 1920), the right of appellant 2 was to a superannuating allowance equal to one-eightieth of his annual salary and emoluments for every completed year of service (subject to the notional increases above mentioned), together with an additional allowance of a lump sum equal to one-thirtieth of his annual salary and emoluments for every completed year of service, but not exceeding one and a half times the amount of such salary and emoluments.

    In calculating the pensions to be awarded to the appellants the Compensation Committee, whose recommendations were adopted by the Minister of Finance, proceeded generally upon the above lines. They made the proper notional increases in the salary (both fixed and supplemental and in the years of service of each appellant, and awarded to each of them a fixed pension representing the proper proportion of his fixed salary and a supplemental pension representing the proper proportion of his supplemental salary (or bonus) as so increased ; but in each case they made it a condition of the award (1); that the supplemental pension should be subject to re-assessment quarterly with reference to the official cost-of-living figures from time to time declared ; and (2) that at no time should the supplemental pension exceed its prescribed amount at the date of the retirement, which was referred to as the " overriding maximum " Further, (3), in calculating the lump sum allowance to be paid to the appellant Cochran in respect of his supplemental salary or bonus, they calculated that allowance upon 75 per cent, only and not upon the whole of the bonus to which he was entitled at the date of retirement. It is with regard to these conditions numbered (1), (2) and (3) that the awards were questioned on this appeal

    In imposing the disputed conditions, the Advisory Committee followed the principles laid down in a Minute of the British Treasury dated 20th March 1922, which was adopted by the Minister of Finance on the 11th May 1922 ; and it is necessary to consider whether the Minute is binding on the appellants. In their Lordships' opinion it is not so binding. The Minute was the outcome of a long discussion between the Treasury and the British civil servants as to the pension able character of the bonus, and it is no doubt operative as to officers remaining in the service of the Crown in Great Britain; for, as to the pensions to be awarded to those officers, the Treasury has a wide discretion. But the Minute cannot affect the rights of officers who at its date had been transferred to the Government of the Free State ; nor could the Minister of Finance, who (as their Lordships have held) has no discretion as to the compensation to be allowed to officers in the position of the appellants, make the Minute binding upon them by adoption. Their rights must depend upon the construction of the statutes without reference to any Minute; and the question to be determined is whether and to what extent the disputed conditions are in accordance with the statutes

    As to the condition numbered (1) their Lordships are of opinion that upon a reasonable interpretation of the statutes dealing with superannuating allowances, the supplemental pension can be made to vary (like the bonus on which it is calculated) with the cost-of-living figure. If a transferred officer were entitled on retirement to have his pension calculated upon his current bonus, without reference to any future variation, the effect might be that he would get more by way of pension than he could have claimed if he had remained in the British service, and their Lordships do not think that this was the intention of the Acts. The pension may be made to vary as the salary would have varied.

    But on the same reasoning their Lordships do not think that the condition numbered (2) can be sustained. If the pension is made to fall with the cost-of-living figure, it should also be capable of rising with that figure ; and if the amount of the officer's salary at the date of his retirement is not conclusive for the purpose of preventing the application of the sliding scale under condition (1), neither should it be treated as an overriding maximum as prescribed by condition (2).

    The condition numbered (3) raises a difficult question. The additional allowance payable under S. 1, Superannuating Act, 1909, to an officer who comes within the provisions of that Act, is to be "a lump sum equal to one-thirtieth of the annual salary and emoluments of his office, multiplied by the number of completed years he has served.'' There is an obvious difficulty in applying this formula to a salary which may vary up or down from year to year, and no doubt it was on this ground that the Treasury, in the Minute above referred to, directed that this allowance should be calculated on 75 per cent only of the current amount of the bonus. But in their Lordships' opinion there is no warrant in the statute for this rough-and-ready way of dealing with the matter. The lump sum allowance, as Meredith, J., pointed out, is not intended as a commutation payment for the purpose of investment, but as an allowance for meeting the increased temporary expenditure connected with the officer's retirement ; and accordingly it is reasonable that it should be regarded as an ac-cession to the first year's pension and be calculated on the same basis as that pension. Upon the whole their Lordships are of opinion that this condition cannot be sustained.

    The result is that their Lordships find themselves in agreement on every point with the judgment of the learned trial Judge, and they are of opinion that the order of the Supreme Court should be set aside and the judgment of Meredith, J., restored. The respondent shall pay the costs of the appeal to the Supreme Court ; but as on the appeal to this Board the appellants contended unsuccessfully against the application of a sliding scale to their pensions, there should be no costs of that appeal. Their Lordships will humbly advise. His Majesty accordingly.

    Order set aside.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    John Howard Wigg And Another v. Attorney General Of Irish Free State
    (May 3, 1927)