Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2006 INSC 413
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • Section 3(1) of the Act
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (in short “the Act”)
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2006 INSC 413
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • Section 3(1) of the Act
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (in short “the Act”)
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The deceased workman, Mr. J. Venkaiah, was employed at Nellore Thermal Station, Nellore. On 24 September 1994 he suffered a fatal heart attack while at the workplace. His widow (the present appellant) filed a claim before the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation alleging that the death was the result of stress and strain arising out of employment and sought ₹1,00,000 as compensation. The Commissioner accepted this contention and, on 16 June 2001, awarded ₹61,236.

The employers (respondents) challenged that award before the Andhra Pradesh High Court under Section 30 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923. The High Court allowed the appeal, holding that the death was not an “accident arising out of and in the course of employment” because it resulted from a heart attack unrelated to the nature of the work. The widow appealed to the Supreme Court, which rendered the present judgment.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the death of a workman from a heart attack suffered at the workplace constitutes “personal injury caused by accident arising out of and in the course of employment” under Section 3(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923.
  2. Whether the employer is liable to pay compensation when the employee had a pre-existing heart condition and the work involved no significant stress or strain.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • A heart attack occurring at the place of employment should, by itself, be treated as resulting from the stress and strain of employment.
  • The Commissioner had given cogent reasons linking the death to employment; hence the High Court erred in reversing the award.

Respondents' Position (as recorded before the High Court)

  • The deceased did not suffer any injury from an accident; he died of a natural heart attack.
  • The nature of his duties—merely switching equipment on or off—could not have produced stress or strain capable of causing the heart attack.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Fenton v. Thorley & Co. Ltd., 1903 AC 443 Definition of “accident” as an untoward, unexpected mishap. Used to clarify that an “accident” under Section 3(1) must be an unforeseen event and not a natural progression of disease.
Trim Joint District School Board of Management v. Kelly, 1914 AC 667 Qualification that “designed” in the context of an accident refers to design by the sufferer. Reinforced that intentional acts by the workman are outside the scope of compensable accidents, underscoring the need for unforeseen events.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Supreme Court reiterated that Section 3(1) imposes liability only when there exists a causal connection between employment and injury/death. It laid down the following analytical steps:

  1. If death results purely from the natural progression of a disease unconnected with employment, no liability arises.
  2. Employment must either contribute to or accelerate the fatal outcome for liability to attach.
  3. The term “accident” denotes an unexpected mishap; “injury” refers to physiological injury.
  4. Evidence showed the deceased had a pre-existing chest disease and had been under treatment.
  5. The deceased's duties were confined to switching operations, a task deemed devoid of significant stress or strain; medical opinion confirmed this.
  6. Therefore, the heart attack lacked the requisite causal nexus with employment and could not be classified as an accident arising out of such employment.

Holding and Implications

Appeal dismissed; the High Court’s judgment stands affirmed.

Although the Court confirmed that the appellant is not entitled to compensation, it directed that no recovery be effected for the amount already disbursed, owing to the peculiar circumstances of the case. The decision reinforces the requirement of a demonstrable causal link between employment and injury/death for compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act, but it creates no new precedent beyond applying settled principles to the facts.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Jyothi Ademma v. Plant Engineer, Nellore And Another

    Arijit Pasayat, J.— The appellant calls in question the legality of the judgment rendered by a learned Single Judge of the Andhra Pradesh High Court holding that the appellant was not entitled to any compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (in short “the Act”). The appeal filed by the respondents under Section 30 of the Act was allowed by the High Court. The Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation (in short “the Commissioner”) had awarded a sum of Rs 61,236 by award dated 16-6-2001, which was challenged by the respondents before the High Court.

    2. Background facts in a nutshell are as follows:

    Mr J. Venkaiah, the appellant's husband (hereinafter referred to as “the deceased workman”), was working in Nellore Thermal Station, Nellore. On 24-9-1994 he died at the work spot. The appellant filed an application before the Commissioner claiming compensation of Rs 1,00,000. Her stand in the claim petition was that the death was due to stress and strain closely linked with the employment of the deceased workman and, therefore, attributable to an accident arising out of and in the course of employment. The plea found favour with the Commissioner who made the award as noted above. The respondents filed an appeal under Section 30 of the Act before the High Court. The primary stand was that the deceased workman did not die on account of any injury sustained by him “in any accident arising out of and in the course of his employment”. The High Court noted that there was no injury as such, but he died due to a heart attack at the work spot. The High Court found that the nature of the job which the deceased workman was doing could not have caused any stress and strain and, therefore, the death due to heart attack cannot be said to have been caused by any accident arising out of and in the course of his employment.

    3. In support of the appeal, learned counsel for the appellant submitted that whenever a person dies as a result of heart attack at the work spot, it can be said that he died due to the stress and strain of the working conditions. He, therefore, pleaded that the order of the Commissioner should be restored and that of the High Court be set aside, as the Commissioner had indicated reasons in support of his conclusions.

    4. There is no appearance on behalf of the respondents.

    5. Section 3(1) of the Act which is relevant for the purpose of this case reads as follows:

    “3. Employer's liability for compensation.—(1) If personal injury is caused to a workman by accident arising out of and in the course of his employment, his employer shall be liable to pay compensation in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter:
    Provided that the employer shall not be so liable—
    (a) in respect of any injury which does not result in the total or partial disablement of the workman for a period exceeding three days;
    (b) in respect of any injury, not resulting in death or permanent total disablement, caused by an accident which is directly attributable to—
    (i) the workman having been at the time thereof under the influence of drink or drugs, or
    (ii) the wilful disobedience of the workman to an order expressly given, or to a rule expressly framed, for the purpose of securing the safety of workmen, or
    (iii) the wilful removal or disregard by the workman of any safety guard or other device which he knew to have been provided for the purpose of securing the safety of workmen;”

    6. Under Section 3(1) it has to be established that there was some causal connection between the death of the workman and his employment. If the workman dies as a natural result of the disease which he was suffering or while suffering from a particular disease he dies of that disease as a result of wear and tear of the employment, no liability would be fixed upon the employer. But if the employment is a contributory cause or has accelerated the death, or if the death was due not only to the disease but also the disease coupled with the employment, then it can be said that the death arose out of the employment and the employer would be liable.

    7. The expression “accident” means an untoward mishap which is not expected or designed. “Injury” means physiological injury. In Fenton v. Thorley & Co. Ltd. 1903 AC 443 it was observed that the expression “accident” is used in the popular and ordinary sense of the word as denoting an unlooked for mishap or an untoward event which is not expected or designed. The above view of Lord Macnaghten was qualified by the speech of Lord Haldane, L.C in Trim Joint District School Board of Management v. Kelly 1914 AC 667 as follows:

    “I think that the context shows that in using the word ‘designed’ Lord Macnaghten was referring to designed by the sufferer.”

    8. In the present case it has been brought on record that the deceased was suffering from chest disease and was previously being treated for such disease. The High Court also noted that the job of the deceased was only to switch on or off and, therefore, the doctor had clearly opined that there was no scope for any stress or strain in his duties. In view of the factual findings recorded, the High Court's judgment does not suffer from any infirmity.

    9. However, it has to be noted that the amount has already been paid to the appellants, as stated by learned counsel.

    10. Considering the peculiar circumstances of the case, we direct that there shall be no recovery from the appellant of any amount paid, though in view of our judgment she is not entitled to any compensation.

    11. The appeal is accordingly disposed of. No costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Jyothi Ademma v. Plant Engineer, Nellore And Another
    (Jul 11, 2006)