AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2004 INSC 296
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2004 INSC 296
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The appellant, a nationalised bank, introduced a Voluntary Retirement Scheme (VRS) effective from 1 December 2000 to 31 December 2000 to reduce staff strength. Respondent 1, Mr. Ranveer Singh Bawa, opted for the Scheme on 6 December 2000 but sought to withdraw his option on 22 December 2000, and again through reminders dated 30 December 2000 and 17 January 2001. Relying on clause 10.4 of the Scheme, the Bank refused withdrawal and relieved him from service on 29 January 2001.

Respondent 1 filed a writ petition in the Delhi High Court on 26 March 2001 seeking reinstatement. A learned Single Judge allowed the petition, holding that withdrawal was permissible before acceptance. The Bank’s intra-court appeal was dismissed by the Division Bench on 5 September 2001. The Bank then approached the Supreme Court by special leave. During the pendency of the appeal, the Bank filed I.A. No. 1 of 2003 raising the additional contention that the respondent had already accepted and utilised payments under the VRS.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether an employee who opted for the Bank’s Voluntary Retirement Scheme can validly withdraw that option after having received and utilised the payments/benefits extended under the Scheme.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant Bank

  • Respondent 1 accepted and utilised VRS benefits credited to his two savings accounts (Nos. 4775 and 4777), including salary, notice-period pay and leave encashment.
  • He used these funds to repay a car loan of Rs 65,220—compliance mandated by the Scheme—and invested additional sums in Public Provident Fund and fixed deposits.
  • By accepting and appropriating these benefits, Respondent 1 is estopped from resiling, as recognised in Bank of India v. O.P. Swarnakar.

Respondent 1

  • He withdrew his VRS option on 22 December 2000—well within the Scheme period—yet the Bank ignored repeated withdrawal requests and unilaterally relieved him on 29 January 2001.
  • Credits to his accounts were made unilaterally by the Bank; any utilisation occurred while his writ petition challenging the retirement was pending and therefore amounts to receipt of payments under protest, not acquiescence.
  • The High Court’s finding in his favour remains correct because withdrawal preceded the Bank’s acceptance.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Bank of India v. O.P. Swarnakar, (2003) 2 SCC 721 (a) VRS is an invitation to offer; withdrawal permissible before acceptance.
(b) Optees who accept and retain benefits are estopped from withdrawing.
The Court applied the estoppel principle, holding that Respondent 1, having accepted and utilised VRS payments, cannot withdraw.
Punjab National Bank v. Virender Kumar Goel, (2004) 2 SCC 193 Optees who knowingly received and used VRS benefits cannot be allowed to withdraw. Cited to reinforce that utilisation of benefits bars withdrawal.
Bank of India v. Pale Ram Dhania (order) Same estoppel principle concerning utilisation of VRS benefits. Referenced as additional authority supporting the Bank’s position.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Supreme Court confined itself to the estoppel question raised in the appeal. After examining detailed account statements annexed to the Bank’s counter-affidavit, the Court found that:

  • Respondent 1 had two active savings accounts into which the Bank credited salary, notice-period pay and leave encashment on 27-12-2000, 25-01-2001 and 29-01-2001.
  • He consciously utilised these credits to repay his car loan, make Public Provident Fund deposits and create a three-year fixed deposit of Rs 1,42,406.40.
  • No objection to the credits was raised at any point; his conduct displayed full knowledge and acceptance of the benefits.

Applying the doctrine of estoppel articulated in O.P. Swarnakar, the Court held that an employee who knowingly accepts and utilises VRS payments cannot later deny the binding effect of the Scheme. The respondent’s subsequent attempt to withdraw, even if initiated before formal acceptance, was rendered ineffective once he appropriated the benefits.

Holding and Implications

Appeal allowed; the judgments of the Single Judge and Division Bench of the Delhi High Court are set aside.

Direct effect: Respondent 1 is not entitled to rejoin service or retract his VRS option; no costs were awarded. The decision reiterates and reinforces the estoppel principle governing VRS optees who accept monetary benefits, without creating new jurisprudence beyond the established holdings in O.P. Swarnakar and related cases.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Punjab & Sind Bank And Another v. S. Ranveer Singh Bawa And Another

    S.H Kapadia, J.— The question that arises for consideraton in this case is whether the respondent who earlier opted for Voluntary Retirement Scheme could be permitted to withdraw therefrom after having received the payments under the Scheme.

    2. The facts giving rise to the dispute lie within a narrow compass. The appellant is a nationalised bank. On 28-10-2000, in order to downsize the strength of its staff, the appellant floated the Voluntary Retirement Scheme (hereinafter referred to for the sake of brevity as “VRS”). The Scheme was to commence with effect from 1-12-2000 and it was to remain in operation up to 31-12-2000. On 6-12-2000, Respondent 1 Ranveer Singh Bawa, opted for VRS. On 22-12-2000, Respondent 1 requested that he be allowed to withdraw his option. On 23-12-2000, the Scheme stood modified. On 30-12-2000 and 17-1-2001, the said respondent wrote reminders and requested that he be permitted to withdraw his option. However, in view of clause 10.4 of the Scheme, the appellant did not permit him to opt out from VRS. Consequently, w.e.f 29-1-2001, Respondent 1 was relieved from service. Aggrieved, he filed the writ petition in the High Court on 26-3-2001 inter alia seeking resumption of duties without any break in service. On 24-7-2001, the learned Single Judge allowed the writ petition on the ground that the optee is entitled to withdraw his option before its acceptance by the Bank. Against the decision of the learned Single Judge, the appellant carried the matter in appeal to the Division Bench. By the impugned judgment dated 5-9-2001, the Division Bench dismissed the letters patent appeal. Hence, this civil appeal by special leave petition.

    3. In the case of Bank of India v. O.P Swarnakar (2003) 2 SCC 721 two questions arose for determination, namely, whether the Scheme is an offer, as contended on behalf of the Bank or an invitation inviting offers from employees; and secondly, whether the optees having accepted the payments/benefits under the Scheme could be permitted to resile therefrom. On the first question, it was held that the said Scheme was contractual in nature; that it constituted invitation and not an offer; and that no consideration passed in terms of the Scheme so as to constitute an agreement. Under the circumstances, it was held that revocation was possible and effective at any time before acceptance as up to such acceptance no legal obligation existed. On the second question, it was held that those employees who have accepted the payments/benefits under the Scheme cannot approbate and reprobate nor can they be permitted to withdraw.

    4. When the appeal came up for hearing, it was submitted on behalf of the appellant on facts that Respondent 1 herein had received and accepted payments/benefits under the Scheme and consequently, he was not entitled to withdraw therefrom. In this connection, reliance was placed on the averments in the counter-affidavit filed by the appellant on 28-2-2004 in IA No. 1 of 2003 filed in the present civil appeal. It was urged that the said respondent had two savings bank accounts Nos. 4775 and 4777, in which the Bank credited salaries, notice-period salary as well as leave encashment benefits under the Scheme, which was never objected to by the respondent. Further, the credits in the savings bank accounts were used by the respondent to repay his car loan to the Bank amounting to Rs. 65,220, which was one of the conditions prescribed in the Scheme. Further, the said respondent had utilized the credits in the said accounts for investment in fixed deposits. Accordingly, it was submitted that the respondent had received the payments under the Scheme, he had utilized those payments to discharge his obligations under the Scheme by repayment of car loan and he had invested the amounts in fixed deposits. Therefore, he was not entitled to withdraw from the Scheme. Mr Jayant Bhushan, learned Senior Counsel appearing on behalf of the respondent, on the other hand, contended that on 6-12-2000, the respondent herein opted for VRS. He urged that the Scheme was open up to 31-12-2000. On 22-12-2000, the said respondent withdrew his offer. He repeatedly reminded the management thereafter to accept his request for withdrawal. Despite reminders, on 29-1-2001, the management relieved the respondent from service, which was challenged by him by filing a writ petition in the Delhi High Court on 26-3-2001. It was urged that although the respondent succeeded in the writ petition, till date the appellant has failed to reinstate the respondent. It was submitted that the appellant had unilaterally credited the salaries, the notice pay and the leave encashment benefits in the account of the respondent with the appellant Bank and consequently, the receipts of payments cannot constitute waiver or acquiescence on the part of the respondent. At the highest, it was receipt of payment under protest. In this connection, reliance was placed on the fact of pendency of the writ petition in the High Court.

    5. In the case of Bank of India v. O.P Swarnakar (2003) 2 SCC 721 this Court observed that estoppel is based upon the acceptance and retention of benefits, by one having knowledge or notice of the benefits from a contract or a transaction. The doctrine of estoppel is a branch of the rule against assumption of inconsistent positions. One who knowingly accepts the benefit of a contract is estopped from denying the binding effect on him of such contract. This rule has to be applied to do equity. It was accordingly held that those optees who knowingly received the payments and utilized them were not entitled to withdraw from VRS. In the case of Punjab National Bank v. Virender Kumar Goel (2004) 2 SCC 193 the applicant Bank submitted that some of the optees having accepted the benefits under VRS cannot be permitted to withdraw therefrom. In that matter, several review petitions were filed and in some of those review petitions, it was found that the optees were aware of the credits in their accounts and they had even withdrawn the amounts deposited and had utilized the same and consequently in such cases, this Court did not permit the optees to withdraw from VRS. To the same effect is the order passed by this Court in the case of Bank of India v. Pale Ram Dhania. In the light of the above judgments, we have to consider the facts of the present case.

    6. At the outset, it may be mentioned that before the High Court the only question which arose for determination in this case was whether the respondent herein was entitled to withdraw his option before the cut-off date. The question as to whether the said respondent had received the payments/benefits and had utilized the same was not there before the High Court. The last question has been raised by the Bank in IA No. 1 of 2003 in the present civil appeal.

    7. We quote hereinbelow paras 3, 4 and 5 of the counter-affidavit dated 28-2-2004:

    “3. That the account statement submitted along with the additional affidavit at pp. 23-24 relates to Savings Bank Account No. 4775 maintained by the respondent. A perusal of the same would show that on 27-12-2000 salary to the tune of Rs. 15,154.00 was credited to his account. Subsequently, on 25-1-2001 another credit entry amounting to Rs. 14,600.42p. was made on account of salary. On 29-1-2001, a credit entry amounting to Rs. 23,548.59 on account of notice-period salary as applicable under the Voluntary Retirement Scheme was made.
    4. That thereafter on 1-2-2001 the respondent himself transferred a sum of Rs. 60,000 in the said account and on that very day he adjusted his car loan amount of Rs. 65,220.00 payable to the Bank. It is stated that under the Voluntary Retirement Scheme every employee who took the voluntary retirement and the benefits thereunder had to adjust the loans payable by him to the Bank and it was in pursuance to the provision of the Scheme that the respondent cleared the loan amount and also closed the said account on 1-2-2001. It is noteworthy that in between, he had transferred a sum of Rs. 13,406.74p. on 30-1-2001 and another sum of Rs. 13,859 to his other account. The deponent states that this clearly shows the operation of the said account by the respondent.
    5. That the respondent was maintaining another account being Account No. 4777 at Maharajpur Branch of the appellant Bank. A copy of which has been annexed by the respondent at p. 22 wherein the transfers had been made in this account. The respondent had used and transacted the account as is evident from the account statement annexed herewith for the period from 6-12-2000 to 16-10-2001. The respondent has only annexed a part of the statement for the period from 4-1-2001 to 31-3-2001. The statement from 6-12-2000 to 16-10-2001 as annexed by the appellant Bank would show that the respondent operated this account on regular basis. He had made a payment of Rs. 30,000 on 13-1-2001 to State Bank of India towards Public Provident Fund and another deposit of Rs. 60,000 was made to SBI on 5-1-2001 as PPF deposit. The leave encashment benefit of Rs. 1,42,406.40p. was credited in this account on 26-3-2001. The respondent made an FDR to the tune of Rs. 1,42,406.40p. on 31-3-2001 for a period of three years which is still lying with him and is due only on 31-3-2004.”

    8. From the averments herein, it is clear that Respondent 1 had two savings bank accounts Nos. 4775 and 4777. He had withdrawn his option on 22-12-2000 and yet without any objection he receives three credits in his account on 27-12-2000, 25-1-2001 and 29-1-2001 on account of salary (including notice pay). Thereafter, he repays his car loan; invests Rs. 30,000 in PPF and Rs. 1,42,406.40 in fixed deposit for three years, which is a long-term investment. Therefore, the principle of estoppel extensively discussed by this Court in the case of Bank of India v. O.P Swarnakar (2003) 2 SCC 721 applies to the facts herein. The conduct of Respondent 1 indicates his knowledge about payments in his accounts; that he never objected to such payments and that he had appropriated the amounts for his benefit. Therefore, he cannot resile from the Scheme.

    9. For the aforestated reasons, this appeal deserves to be allowed. We order accordingly. The judgment and order under challenge is set aside, with no order as to costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Punjab & Sind Bank And Another v. S. Ranveer Singh Bawa And Another
    (Apr 21, 2004)