Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Judges
Acts
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Judges
Acts
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The respondent's husband disappeared in 1946 while in a disordered state of mind. Despite inquiries, no one had heard of him by the time the respondent filed Application No. 1880 of 1955. The respondent named certain insurance companies holding life insurance policies on her husband as respondents in the application, including the National Indian Life Insurance Company, whose interest later devolved on the Life Insurance Corporation (LIC). The application sought a declaration presuming the husband's death on or after 16-3-1953 (seven years after disappearance) and a direction to the insurance companies to settle her claims under the policies accordingly.

The insurance companies did not appear, and on 8-7-1955, the Court declared the husband presumed dead and directed the insurance companies to deposit amounts payable under the policies into court. The National Indian Life Insurance Company deposited Rs. 5,000 accordingly. Subsequently, the insurance company claimed a refund of Rs. 1380-12-0, representing premia paid by the company to keep the policy alive after the government discontinued payments in 1948. This sum was retained in court pending investigation, while the remainder was paid to the respondent.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the insurance company is entitled to deduct and recover the premia paid by it to keep the policy alive after 1948 from the amount payable on the policy.
  2. Whether the earlier court order dated 8-7-1955 bars the insurance company’s claim under principles of res judicata or analogous doctrines.
  3. The proper legal presumption regarding the date of death of the respondent’s husband under Section 108 of the Indian Evidence Act and its implications for the insurance company's claim.
  4. Whether the respondent’s husband must be presumed to have died after July 1952 to validate the insurance company’s payments of premia and the court’s prior orders.
  5. The entitlement of the respondent to interest on the insurance amount from the presumed date of death or from the date of the court’s order.

Arguments of the Parties

Applicant's Arguments (Life Insurance Corporation)

  • The insurance company paid premia after government payments ceased to keep the policy alive under the contractual clause allowing such action.
  • The sums paid with interest amount to Rs. 1380-12-0, which the company is entitled to deduct from the amount payable under the policy.
  • The earlier court order did not decide or bar the insurance company’s claim to recover premia by way of res judicata, as the original application did not give notice of such a claim.
  • The company’s claim implies that the respondent’s husband was alive during the period when premia were paid (1948–1952).
  • The respondent’s husband must be presumed to have died after July 1952 to avoid the claim being barred by limitation under Article 86 of the Indian Limitation Act.

Respondent's Arguments

  • The respondent prayed for a declaration that her husband died on or after 16-3-1953 and for the insurance companies to dispose of her claims accordingly.
  • She contended entitlement to interest from the presumed date of death until the presentation of the petitions.
  • She also claimed interest from the date of the court’s order directing the insurance company to deposit the money until actual deposit.
  • The respondent cannot repudiate the presumed date of death (after March 1953) fixed in her own application to resist the insurance company’s claim.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Jeshanker v. Bai Divali, 22 Bom LR 771 (AIR 1920 Bom 85) Presumption of death under Section 108 of the Indian Evidence Act: earliest date of death is the date of suit filing. Initially considered but later distinguished and not followed by the court.
Venkateswarlu v. Bapayya, 1957-1 Andh WR 55 (AIR 1957 Andh Pra 380) Presumption under Section 108 extends only to the fact of death after seven years, not to the exact date of death within that period; burden lies on claimant to prove death date. Adopted by the court as correctly stating the law regarding presumption of death and burden of proof.
Veeramma v. Chenna Reddi, ILR 37 Mad 440 (AIR 1914 Mad 505) Support for the principle that the exact time of death within seven years is not presumed but must be proved. Referenced and adopted as consistent with the ruling in Venkateswarlu v. Bapayya.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court began by examining the nature of the insurance company's claim for refund of premia paid to keep the policy alive after government payments ceased in 1948. It accepted the contractual clause permitting the company to pay premia and deduct such sums from the policy proceeds upon the insured's death.

The Court rejected the respondent's objection that the prior order dated 8-7-1955 barred the insurance company's claim by res judicata, noting that the original application did not give the insurance companies notice of any such claim. The Court emphasized that for a judgment or order to have res judicata effect, the issue must have been expressly raised and decided, which was not the case here.

Regarding the presumption of death under Section 108 of the Indian Evidence Act, the Court analyzed conflicting precedents. It declined to follow Jeshanker v. Bai Divali, which fixed the earliest date of death as the suit filing date, and instead adopted the principle from Venkateswarlu v. Bapayya and Veeramma v. Chenna Reddi. These rulings hold that while death is presumed after seven years, the exact time of death within that period is not presumed and must be proved by the claimant.

Applying this principle, the Court held that the burden lies on the insurance company to prove the husband was alive during the period when premia were paid (1948–1952). Since there was no evidence to that effect, the Court nonetheless took a practical approach to avoid injustice. It found that to give effect to limitation laws and the respondent's own application, the husband must be presumed to have died after July 1952, validating the insurance company's payments and the Court's prior orders.

The Court rejected the respondent's claim for interest from the presumed date of death, reasoning that the money was not payable until the Court's finding of death. It also declined interest from the date of the order directing deposit to the date of actual deposit, as the order was made without notice to the insurance company, which might not have been prepared for immediate deposit.

Finally, the Court ordered payment to the respondent's advocates and directed that parties bear their own costs.

Holding and Implications

Application allowed.

The Court held that the insurance company is entitled to recover Rs. 1380-12-0 representing premia paid to keep the policy alive, as the respondent’s husband must be presumed to have died after July 1952. The prior order does not bar this claim by res judicata. The respondent is entitled to receive the balance of the insurance amount but is not entitled to interest on the sums from the presumed date of death or from the date of the court’s order to deposit. Each party shall bear its own costs.

This decision clarifies the application of the presumption of death under Section 108 of the Indian Evidence Act and confirms that claims by insurance companies to recover premia paid post disappearance may be entertained if not barred by limitation or prior adjudication. No new precedent beyond the application of established principles was set.

    V. Seshi Ammal, In Re

    1. The respondent's husband disappeared from his home in 1946. He was then in a disordered state of mind. Persons who would have heard of him if he had been alive had not heard of him when the respondent filed Appln. No. 1880 of 1955. To that application, she made certain insurance companies, which held policies on his life, respondents. One of these insurance companies was the ‘National Indian Life Insurance Company. In that company, the respondent's husband had a policy for Rs. 5,000/-. The company's interest has now devolved on the Life Insurance Corporation. This application is made by the Life Insurance Corporation.

    2. In Appln. No. 1880 of 1955 the respondent prayed for an order (1) declaring that her husband Venkatarama Aiyar must be presumed to have died on or after 16-3-1953 on the expiry of seven years from the date of disappearance on 16-3-1946 and that she was the sole beneficiary under the insurance policies mentioned in Appln. No. 1880 of 1955, and (2) directing the insurance companies to dispose of her claims under the said policies in accordance with law. Notice was served on the insurance companies.

    3. They did not appear. On 8-7-1955, this Court passed an order declaring that the respondent's husband V. Venkatarama Aiyar might then be presumed to have died and directing the insurance companies to pay into this court to the credit of these proceedings the amounts payable under the respective insurance policies. In pursuance of that direction, the National Indian Life Insurance Co., deposited Rs. 5000.

    4. After depositing the money, the Insurance company represented that it was entitled to refund of Rs. 1380-12-0. That sum has been retained in court pending investigation of the company's claim. The rest of the money has been paid over to the respondent.

    5. The insurance company's claim arises this way. The respondent's husband was employed under the Government of India. He had his insurance premia paid from out of his provident fund. The policy had been assigned by him and the respondent (who was his nominee under the policy) to the Government of India. The Government of India continued to pay the premia accruing due on the policy even after they received report of the respondent's husband's disappearance.

    6. That continued until 1948. They discontinued payment from and after 1948. Under the clause in the contract of insurance, the insurance company was entitled to keep the policy alive by paying the required premia. The applicant states — and I accept the statement — that the company, acting in exercise of its powers under that clause, paid insurance premia and kept the policy alive.

    7. The sums thus paid, with interest, aggregate to the amount now claimed by the applicant, namely, Rs. 1380-12-0. Under the relevant clause in the contract between the insured and the insurance company, the insurance company was entitled to deduct that sum from the money due on the policy, when it became payable after the death of the insured. Under the terms of that clause, the insurance company's present representative, the Life Insurance Corporation, prays for payment of that sum.

    8. The first objection that is raised is that the order passed by this court on 8-7-1955 implied a finding that the insurance company was not entitled to any part of the sum which the company was directed to deposit in court. I am unable to agree. In Appln. No. 1880 of 1955, the prayer of the respondent relating to the insurance companies was that they be directed to dispose of her claim under the said policies in accordance with law.

    9. That prayer did not give to any of the insurance companies notice that a claim on their part to retain any part of the insurance amounts would be heard or decided by the court on that application. They were therefore not bound to appear, provided they had no objection to the prayer being granted, that is to say, provided they had no objection to the court directing them to dispose of the respondent's claim in accordance with law.

    10. What the court did, on the other hand, was to call on the insurance companies to deposit into court the amounts covered by the policies. The order passed in that form was an order passed without express notice to the companies and without any intimation to them that a claim by any of them to retain any part of the amount payable under the policies would be affected by the order that the court would pass.

    11. In order that a judgment or order passed ‘ex parte’ may, on the ground of ‘res judicata’ or on principles analogous to ‘res judicata’, bar the hearing of a question or issue in a subsequent proceeding or at a subsequent stage of the same proceeding, it is necessary that the pleading and the prayer that led to the passing of the judgment or decree should give express notice to the opposite party that the question or issue would or might be decided by the court which deals with the matter.

    12. The respondent's application (1880 of 1955) gave the insurance companies no such notice in regard to any claim they might have as regards the amounts covered by the policies. Nor do I think that Balakrishna Aiyar J., in the order which he passed on 8-7-1955, intended to decide adversely to the insurance company any claim on its part to be entitled to deduct a portion of the amount covered by the policy by way of reimbursing itself (the company) the insurance premia paid by it to keep the policy alive.

    13. I hold that the applicant's claim to payment of Rs. 1380-12-0 is not barred by ‘res judicata’ or on any principle analogous to res judicata, by the order passed by this court on 8-7-1955.

    14. The next objection raised to the applicant's claim is that, since the applicant has not proved that the respondent's husband was alive in or after 1948, the applicant is not entitled to claim the money paid by the applicant to keep the policy alive. It is, of course, true that the insurance company would have been entitled to pay the premia so as to keep the policy alive in the event only of the respondent's husband having been alive during the period covered by such payment of premia by the insurance company.

    15. In asking for refund of the premia paid by the company, the applicant, in effect, seeks a finding that the respondent's husband was alive in the years 1948 to 1952 when the company paid the premia so as to keep the policy alive. For such a finding, learned counsel for the applicant calls in aid Jeshanker v. Bai Divali, 22 Bom LR 771 : (AIR 1920 Bom 85 (2) (A). It was held in that case that, where the court presumes death under Section 108 of the Indian Evidence Act the earliest date to which the death could be ascribed is the date when the suit was filed.

    16. If that ruling correctly states the law, the date to which the respondent's husband's death could be attributed is the date on which the respondent presented Appln. No. 1880 of 1955 and the applicant's claim is well-founded. But that ruling has been expressly dissented from in Venkateswarlu v. Bapayya, 1957-1 Andh WR 55 : (AIR 1957 Andh Pra 380) (B). The latter ruling accepts and elaborates the views expressed by this court in Veeramma v. Chenna Reddi, ILR 37 Mad 440 : (AIR 1914 Mad 505) (C). I adopt, with respect, the statement of the law made in 1957-1 Andh WR 55 : (AIR 1957 Andh Pra 380) (B). The law is thus stated in that case:

    “The presumption under Section 108 of the Evidence Act extends to the fact of death at the expiration of seven years and not to the time of death at any particular period. There is no presumption that death took place at the end of seven years or;at any particular time within that period. The exact time of death is not a matter of presumption at of proof by evidence and the onus of proving that death took place at a particular time within the period of seven years lies on the person who claims a right for the establishment of which that fact is essential.”

    17. In that view, the burden lies on the applicant to prove that the respondent's husband died in or after 1952 and that he was alive when the insurance company paid premia to keep the policy alive. There is no evidence that the respondent's husband was live in 1948 or at any particular point of time after he disappeared from his home in 1946.

    18. But learned counsel for the applicant contends that, unless the respondent agrees that her husband died after July 1952, her claim to get the insurance amount through court would be barred by time. For payment of a sum payable after proof of death of the insured, Article 86 of the Indian Limitation Act prescribes a period of three years from the date of the death of the deceased. It is necessary to place on a legal basis this court's order under which the respondent has been paid Rs. 3,000 odd out of the money deposited by the insurance company.

    19. For that purpose, the following findings of fact are necessary, namely, (1) that the respondent's husband is dead and (2) that he died after July 1952 within three years before the filing of Appln. No. 1880 of 1955. With a view, therefore, to do complete justice between the parties, the Court has necessarily to take the view that the respondent's husband died after July 1952, that the insurance company acted properly in keeping the policy alive, till 1952 and that this court's orders directing the insurance company to deposit the amount into court and directing payment of a part of the money to the respondent are legal and proper.

    20. The respondent in her application (1880 of 1955) prayed for a declaration that her husband died on or after. 16-3-1953. The date 16-3-1953 entitled her to an order directing the insurance company to bring the money into court. She cannot reprobate that date with a view to resisting the company's claim to refund of a part of the money. I hold that, in the special circumstances of this case, the respondent's husband must be presumed to have died after July 1952 and that the applicant is entitled to refund of the amount claimed.

    21. Learned counsel for the respondent claims that she is entitled to interest from the presumed date of death of her husband till date of the presentation of the petitions. But the money did not become payable till the court gave a finding that the respondent's husband should be presumed to be dead — and interest could not be allowed on money that had not become payable.

    22. Learned counsel for the respondent claims that she is entitled to interest from the date of the order of this court directing the insurance company to deposit the money till the actual date of deposit. This court did not make an order for deposit with interest from the date on which that order was made. That order was made in a form for which the insurance company might not have been prepared.

    23. The respondent had in her application (No. 1880 of 1955) prayed only for a direction to the insurance companies to dispose of her claims under the policies in accordance with law. The court made a departure in her favour from the prayer in directing the companies to deposit the money in Court. They would have had to take legal advice before depositing the money. I do not think it just or proper to direct the applicant to pay interest from the date of the order till the date of deposit. An order of payment will be made. The cheque will be drawn in favour of the applicant's advocates. The parties will bear their own costs.

    V.B.B

    24. Application allowed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    V. Seshi Ammal, In Re
    (Dec 6, 1957)