Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Judges
- LORD HOFFMAN IN <I>SECRETARY OF STATE FOR WORK AND PENSIONS V MOYNA</I>
- COMMISSIONER, EX PARTE SECRETARY OF STATE
See more information ...
Click here to read the full judgment
SD v. Eastleigh Borough Council (HB) (Housing and council tax benefits : other)
Smart Summary
Factual and Procedural Background
This appeal concerns the calculation of housing benefit for the Appellant, who lives in a three-bedroom house but was deemed to be under-occupying it following the departure of two of her three children. The Local Authority applied a 14% reduction to her eligible rent under regulation B13 of the Housing Benefit Regulations 2006, on the basis that she was entitled to only two bedrooms. The Appellant contended that she required an additional bedroom for overnight care due to her medical conditions and thus should not have the reduction applied. The First-tier Tribunal dismissed her appeal against the Local Authority's decision, leading to this appeal with permission granted by the First-tier Tribunal.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether the Appellant qualifies as a "person who requires overnight care" under the definition in regulation 2(1) of the Housing Benefit Regulations 2006, thereby entitling her to an additional bedroom for a carer under regulation B13.
- The proper interpretation of the term "regularly" in the context of whether carers "regularly stay overnight" at the claimant's dwelling for the purpose of providing care.
- Whether the First-tier Tribunal erred in law in its interpretation and application of the statutory test concerning the need for overnight care.
Arguments of the Parties
Appellant's Arguments
- The Appellant argued that she is entitled to an additional bedroom because she requires overnight care due to severe eczema and severe asthma.
- She provided medical evidence from her consultant physician confirming the unpredictability of her condition and the potential need for someone to stay overnight to provide care.
- The Appellant asserted that it would be unreasonable to require a carer to sleep in a room other than a bedroom and that the Local Authority's approach would preclude anyone from showing a need for a bedroom for a carer.
- She gave evidence that her carer stayed overnight frequently, including periods of several weeks at a time, amounting to approximately 15-20 days per month on average.
Local Authority's Arguments
- The Local Authority maintained that the Appellant did not meet the requirement that carers "regularly stay overnight" as defined by the regulations.
- They relied on the decision in Bolton MBC v BF (HB) to argue that a carer could sleep in a room other than a bedroom, so the requirement for an additional bedroom was not satisfied.
- The Local Authority contended that the Appellant's entitlement to the middle rate care component of disability living allowance was based on day attendance needs, not night attendance needs, undermining her claim for overnight care.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent |
Rule or Principle Cited For |
Application by the Court |
| Bolton MBC v BF (HB) [2014] UKUT 48 (AAC) |
Clarification that a carer is provided with the use of a bedroom if provided with a room in which to sleep, not necessarily a formal bedroom. |
The court found Bolton irrelevant because in the present case the room used by carers was undisputedly a bedroom. The precedent did not support the Local Authority's argument that any room with a portable bed counts as a bedroom. |
| Secretary of State for Work and Pensions v Moyna [2003] UKHL 44 |
Principles of statutory interpretation, focusing on the importance of context, syntax, and background in discerning the meaning of words in legislation. |
The court applied the principle that the meaning of "regularly" must be derived from context and rejected the First-tier Tribunal's narrow interpretation, favoring a broader understanding consistent with the purpose of the legislation. |
| R. v National Insurance Commissioner, ex parte Secretary of State for Social Services [1994] 1 W.L.R. 1290 |
Legal principle that ascertaining the meaning of a word in a statutory provision is a question of law. |
The court held that the interpretation of "regularly" was a question of law, justifying the Upper Tribunal's intervention on this point. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The court examined the statutory definition of a "person who requires overnight care" and identified that the pivotal issue was the meaning of "regularly" in relation to the requirement that carers "regularly stay overnight." The First-tier Tribunal had interpreted "regularly" as denoting reasonably even intervals of overnight stays, but the Upper Tribunal found this interpretation too restrictive and inconsistent with the legislative purpose.
The court emphasized that "regularly" should be understood as "habitually," "customarily," or "commonly," reflecting a need for overnight care that arises often and steadily enough to justify reserving a bedroom. The court reasoned that the legislation aims to encourage smaller accommodation or lodgers and that a bedroom cannot be switched on and off; thus, the need for a bedroom must be assessed over a sufficiently long period.
The court found that the First-tier Tribunal erred in law by failing to adopt this broader and more purposive interpretation. The Upper Tribunal accepted the Appellant's evidence of her medical condition and care arrangements as sufficient to satisfy the correct legal test. It also rejected the Local Authority’s reliance on the Bolton case as irrelevant to the facts here.
The court further clarified that entitlement to the care component of disability living allowance based on night attendance conditions is not determinative; a claimant may satisfy the overnight care requirement even if their award is based on day attendance.
Holding and Implications
The court ALLOWED the Appellant's appeal.
The decision of the First-tier Tribunal dated 9 July 2013 was set aside and replaced with a decision that the Appellant's housing benefit is to be calculated from 1 April 2013 without the 14% reduction for under-occupation, on the basis that she is entitled to three bedrooms under regulation B13.
The implication of this decision is that the Appellant will receive housing benefit calculated on the full eligible rent without reduction. No new precedent was established beyond the clarification of the interpretation of "regularly" in this context, and the decision is primarily dispositive as to the parties.
Click here to read the full judgment