Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Judges

Harris v. Shuttleworth & Ors

Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The Plaintiff was employed by Company A from May 1976 until April 1986, when her employment was terminated by the employer giving three months' notice in lieu of salary. During her employment, she was a member of Company A's Pension Fund. Upon termination, she was entitled under the Pension Fund Rules to a deferred pension payable at the normal pension age of 60. However, the Plaintiff, aged 45 at termination, claimed that her termination amounted to retirement due to incapacity and that she was therefore entitled to an immediate full pension under Rule 19 of the Pension Fund Rules. The Trustees of the Fund rejected this claim, leading the Plaintiff to commence legal action seeking a declaration of entitlement to an immediate pension, an account of sums due, payment orders, and damages as an alternative. The High Court dismissed her claim in July 1992, and she appealed the decision. The Defendants supported the dismissal and raised additional grounds in a Respondent's Notice.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. What is the proper construction, in Rule 19, of the phrase "retirement from the service by reason of incapacity"?
  2. Specifically, does "retirement from the service by reason of incapacity" preclude a situation where the employer terminates the contract of employment as was done in this case?

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The Judge erred by construing "retirement" only in an intransitive (active) sense, excluding the possibility that the Plaintiff could have been "retired" by the employer (a transitive/passive sense).
  • It was incorrect to conclude that retirement was inconsistent with dismissal; an employer should not be able to deprive an employee of pension rights by dismissing her despite incapacity.
  • The Pension Fund Rules should be given a practical and purposive construction, considering the employee's rights under the contract of employment.
  • The definition of "incapacity" should not be limited to permanent incapacity as the Judge held; the meaning should be broader.
  • Previous versions of the Pension Fund Rules and guidance documents support a construction that includes retirement due to permanent ill health or incapacity.

Respondents' Arguments

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the Respondents' legal arguments beyond their support of the Judge's decision and additional grounds set out in a Respondent's Notice.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Mettoy Pension Trustees v Evans (1990) 1 WLR 1587 Supports purposive construction of pension scheme rules and recognition that pension rights derive from employment contract. Referenced by Appellant to argue for practical construction of "retirement".
Parry v Cleaver (1970) AC 1 Recognition that pensionable employment is more valuable than mere wages; pension contributions are part of remuneration. Used to emphasize the contractual and earned nature of pension rights.
Brooks v National Westminster Bank Ltd (unreported, 1983) Retirement and dismissal are separate concepts; retirement construed in intransitive sense only. Distinguished by the court; found not conclusive for present case due to differences in scheme rules.
Mihlenstedt v Barclays Bank International Ltd (1989) IRLR 522 Interpretation of incapacity requiring permanent inability to undertake duties as an employee. Considered but found specific to different wording and facts.
Dorrell v May & Baker Ltd (unreported, 1990) Dismissal by employer precludes retirement for incapacity pension entitlement. Followed Brooks; noted but not determinative in current case.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court analyzed the phrase "retirement from the service by reason of incapacity" as a whole rather than dissecting "retirement" and "incapacity" separately. It concluded that these terms qualify each other and must be understood in context. The court held that Rule 19 is intended to apply where incapacity is sufficiently serious and likely to endure until normal pension age, affecting the employee’s ability to work for the employer or any similar employer.

The court rejected the High Court Judge's earlier exclusive intransitive interpretation of "retirement," finding that termination by the employer can constitute retirement by reason of incapacity if the employee is dismissed due to such incapacity. This conclusion was reached despite precedent suggesting retirement and dismissal are separate concepts because the present Pension Fund Rules differ materially from those in the cited cases, particularly in the interaction between Rule 18 (deferred pension) and Rule 19 (immediate pension for incapacity).

The court emphasized the contractual nature of pension rights and the need to interpret the rules in a manner consistent with the employee’s contributions and the scheme’s purpose. It found no reason to exclude dismissal by the employer from the definition of retirement where incapacity is the cause. Thus, the proper construction allows for an employee dismissed due to incapacity to be considered as having retired by reason of incapacity.

Holding and Implications

The court allowed the appeal and answered the key questions as follows:

  • "Retirement from the service by reason of incapacity" means the member leaves service before normal pension age due to physical or mental disability or ill health so serious that it is probable the member will be unable to work in their present or similar employment with the employer or any other employer until normal pension age.
  • The manner of termination—whether by the employee giving notice or the employer dismissing—does not preclude the termination from constituting retirement by reason of incapacity.

The direct effect is that the Plaintiff may be entitled to an immediate pension under Rule 19 despite dismissal. The decision clarifies the interpretation of "retirement" in the context of incapacity pensions under these Pension Fund Rules but does not establish a broad precedent beyond the specific scheme context.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

Harris v Shuttleworth & Ors

Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Justice Licence v1.0.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

Harris v Shuttleworth & Ors
(Nov 24, 1993)