Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • clause (c) of Rule 7
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Acts
  • clause (c) of Rule 7
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

This Letters Patent Appeal challenges the judgment of a learned Single Judge rendered in C.W.P No. 660/2000 dated 20.5.2004. The respondent, Shri Dharamvir Singh, enrolled in the Army on 15.6.1985 and was discharged on 28.2.1994 after serving eight years and 250 days. During service, he was placed in a Low Medical Category (CEE) permanently from 26.6.1993 due to a condition described as “generalised seizore.” The Re-survey Medical Board determined that the disability was neither attributable to nor aggravated by military service and assessed it at 20% for two years. The competent authority rejected his claim for disability pension on 21.11.1995, advising him to file an appeal, which he did not do. Instead, the respondent approached the Court seeking directions for release of the disability pension. The learned Single Judge allowed the writ petition on 20.5.2004, prompting this appeal.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the respondent’s disability, described as "generalised seizore," is attributable to or aggravated by military service within the meaning of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 (Part-I).
  2. Whether the learned Single Judge erred in allowing the writ petition by considering only paragraph 7(b) of Appendix (II) of the Pension Regulations while omitting paragraph 7(c).
  3. Whether the respondent is entitled to disability pension despite the Medical Board’s opinion that the disability was not attributable to military service.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The judgment of the learned Single Judge is unsustainable.
  • The disease “generalised seizore” is constitutional in nature and was found by the Re-survey Medical Board not attributable to or aggravated by military service.
  • The learned Single Judge failed to consider relevant legal provisions, particularly paragraph 7(c) of Appendix (II) of the Pension Regulations.

Respondent's Arguments

  • Supported the judgment of the learned Single Judge allowing the writ petition.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Union of India v. Keshar Singh, 2007 (4) SLR 100 Clarification of paragraphs 7(b) and 7(c) of Appendix (II) of the Pension Regulations, regarding attribution of disease to military service and conditions for disability pension. The Court relied on this precedent to emphasize that both paragraphs 7(b) and 7(c) must be read together, establishing that a disease must have arisen in service and conditions of military service must have contributed to its onset for disability pension entitlement. The Court found no material to show such contribution in the respondent’s case.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court examined the facts and medical opinions, noting that the respondent was placed in a Low Medical Category due to “generalised seizore.” The Re-survey Medical Board clearly stated that the disability was neither attributable to nor aggravated by military service. The Court observed that the learned Single Judge had referred to paragraph 7(b) of Appendix (II) of the Pension Regulations, which presumes a disease leading to discharge arose during service if not noted at recruitment. However, crucially, the learned Single Judge failed to consider paragraph 7(c), which requires that the conditions of military service must have determined or contributed to the onset of the disease for pension entitlement.

The Court relied on the Supreme Court’s ruling in Union of India v. Keshar Singh, which clarified that paragraphs 7(b) and 7(c) must be read together. The Court found that since the Medical Board’s opinion did not attribute the disability to military service and no evidence was presented to show that military service conditions contributed to the disease, the respondent was not entitled to disability pension. The Court also decided that the payments already made as disability pension should not be recovered from the respondent.

Holding and Implications

The Letters Patent Appeal is allowed and the judgment of the learned Single Judge is set aside.

The respondent is not entitled to disability pension as the disability was not attributable to or aggravated by military service. The decision directly affects the parties by denying pension entitlement but does not establish any new precedent beyond reaffirming the correct interpretation of paragraphs 7(b) and 7(c) of Appendix (II) of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 (Part-I). No costs were awarded.

    Union Of India And Others v. Shri Dharamvir Singh

    This Letters Patent Appeal is directed against the judgment of learned Single Judge rendered in C.W.P No. 660/2000 dated 20.5.2004

    Brief facts necessary for the adjudication of this Letters Patent Appeal are that respondent-Shri Dharamvir Singh enrolled in the Army on 15.6.1985 was discharged on 28.2.1994 In the meantime, the respondent had rendered eight years and 250 days service in the Army. The Release Medical Board at 166 Military Hospital put the respondent in Low Medical Category (CEE) permanently with effect from 26.6.1993 for two years. The Board found the respondent suffering from “GENERALISED SEIZORE” The Re-survey Medical Board had considered the individual disability neither attributable to nor aggravated by military service. The disability was assessed 20% for two years. His case for disability pension was rejected by the competent authority on 21.11.1995 The respondent was advised to file an appeal. He has not chosen to do so. However, the respondent approached this Court seeking direction to the Union of India for the release of disability pension. The learned Single Judge allowed the writ petition on 20.5.2004

    Mr. Sandeep Sharma has strenuously argued that the judgment rendered by the learned Single Judge is not sustainable. He then argued that the disease ‘generalised seizore’ was constitutional in nature and the same has not been found by the Re-survey Medical Board attributable or aggravated by military service. Mr. Sandeep Sharma lastly contended that the learned Single Judge has not taken into consideration the relevant law while allowing the petition.

    Mr. Lokender Thakur appearing for respondent has supported the judgment.

    We have gone through the judgment of the learned Single Judge and pleadings carefully.

    The respondent was discharged from the military after being placed in Low Medical Category (CEE). The Re-survey Medical Board had opined the disability of the respondent neither attributable nor aggravated by military service. He was found suffering from ‘generalised seizore’. The learned Single Judge has purportedly referred to paragraph 7(b) of appendix (II) as referred to in Regulations 48, 173 and 185 while coming to the conclusion that the respondent was not suffering from the disease on account of which he was invalidated out of the service at the time of his initial recruitment in the Indian Army. However, the learned Single Judge has omitted to take note of paragraph 7(c) of appendix (II) as referred to in Regulations 48, 173 and 185 of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 (Part-I).

    The legal position raised in this Letters Patent Appeal is no more res integra in view of law laid down by their Lordships of the Hon'ble Supreme Court in Union of India v. Keshar Singh, 2007 (4) SLR 100. Their Lordships of the Hon'ble Supreme Court were also seized of the matter wherein the Medical Board had given a clear opinion that the illness was not attributable to military service. In this case also the soldier has developed schizophrenia. Their Lordships of the Hon'ble Supreme court have held as under:

    “In support of the appeal learned Additional Solicitor General submitted that both learned Single Judge and the Division Bench have lost sight of para 7(c). Both 7(b) and 7(c) have to be read together. They read as follows:-

    “7(b) A disease which has led to an individual's discharge or death will ordinarily be deemed to have arisen in service if no note of it was made at the time of the individual's acceptance for military service. However, if medical opinion holds for reasons to be stated, that the disease could not have been detected on medical examination prior to acceptance for service the disease will not be deemed to have arisen during service.

    7(c) If a disease is accepted as having arisen in service, it must also be established that the conditions of military service determined or contributed to the onset of the disease and that the conditions were due to the circumstances of duty in military service.”

    A bare reading of the aforesaid provision makes it clear that ordinarily if a disease has led to the discharge of individual it shall ordinarily be deemed to have arisen in service if no note of it was made at the time of individual's acceptance for military service. An exception, however, is carved out, i.e if medical opinion holds for reasons to be stated that the disease could not have been detected by Medical Examination Board prior to acceptance for service, the disease would not be deemed to have arisen during service. Similarly, clause (c) of Rule 7 makes the position clear that if a disease is accepted as having arisen in service it must also be established that the conditions of military service determined or contributed to the onset of the disease and that the conditions are due to the circumstances of duty in military service. There is no material placed by the respondent in this regard.

    In view of the legal position referred to above and the fact that the Medical Board's opinion was clearly to the effect that the illness suffered by the respondent was not attributable to the military service, both the learned Single Judge and the Division Bench were not justified in their respective conclusion. The respondent is not entitled to disability pension. However, on the facts and circumstances of the case, payment already made to the respondent by way of disability pension shall not be recovered from him. The appeal is allowed but in the circumstances without any order as to costs.”

    The disease developed by the petitioner i.e ‘generalise seizore’ is constitutional in nature and the Re-survey Medical Board had specifically opined, as noticed above, that the disability was neither attributable nor aggravated by the military service. The opinion of the Re-survey Medical Board has to be given primacy.

    Accordingly, the learned Single Judge has erred in law by allowing the writ petition only on the basis of plain reading of paragraph 7(b) of Appendix (II) as referred to in Regulations 48, 173 and 185 of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 (Part-I). He has omitted to see clause 7(c) of Appendix (II) of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 (Part-I).

    Consequently, in view of the observations made hereinabove, the Letters Patent Appeal is allowed. The judgment of the learned Single Judge is set aside. No costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Union Of India And Others v. Shri Dharamvir Singh
    (Jul 31, 2009)