AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The theft of the petitioner Om Prakash’s vehicle occurred on 23 March 2010. The petitioner reported the theft to Reliance General Insurance Ltd. after an eight-day delay. The petitioner’s counsel presented an affidavit from Shri Dinesh, the truck driver, detailing the timeline of events following the theft, including interactions with police authorities and attempts to notify the insurance company. The petitioner contended that the theft was genuine and that the delay in notice was justified by the circumstances, including holidays and police involvement. The petition challenges an order dated 23 October 2013 from the State Commission Haryana, against which this revision petition was filed before the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the delay in notifying the insurance company about the theft of the vehicle violated the terms of the insurance policy.
  2. Whether the insurance company is liable to honor the theft claim despite the delayed intimation.
  3. The interpretation and application of the term "immediate notice" as stipulated in the insurance policy conditions.

Arguments of the Parties

Petitioner’s Arguments

  • The fact of theft is undisputed and proven by the affidavit of the truck driver and the FIR registered on the day of the incident.
  • The delay in informing the insurance company was due to the insurance office being closed on a holiday and the petitioner’s involvement with police investigations across multiple jurisdictions.
  • The petitioner complied with the insurance policy’s conditions by providing all necessary documents and cooperating with the insurer after the initial delay.
  • There was no violation of the policy condition requiring immediate notice, as the delay was justified and unavoidable.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. vs. Parvesh Chander Chadha, Civil Appeal No. 6739 of 2010 Requirement of immediate notice to insurer about theft; delayed intimation disentitles claim. The court relied on this precedent to emphasize that failure to give immediate notice deprived the insurer of the opportunity to investigate, leading to dismissal of the claim.
Mohammadali Liyakatali Pathan vs. Reliance General Insurance Company Limited, Revision Petition No. 3183 of 2011 Interpretation of the word "immediate" in insurance policy notice conditions. The Commission referred to this case to support the strict interpretation of timely notice requirements.
The New India Assurance Co. Ltd. vs. Shri Dharam Singh and another, First Appeal No. 426 of 2004 Enforcement of prompt notice condition and rejection of claims where delay not justified. The court applied this precedent to affirm that delayed intimation without sufficient cause voids insurer’s liability.
National Insurance Company Ltd. vs. Nitin Khandelwal, (2008) 11 SCC 256 General principles regarding insurance claims and notice. The court held that this precedent was not applicable in the present case due to differing facts and policy terms.
Rahul Tanwar vs. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd., Revision Petition No. 2951 of 2011 Reinforcement of the requirement for immediate notice to insurer. Commission followed this precedent to dismiss the present revision petition for lack of merit.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court examined the facts surrounding the delay in notifying the insurer about the theft. Although the petitioner argued that the delay was due to the insurance office being closed on a holiday and involvement with police investigations, the court found these reasons insufficient to excuse the delay. The insurance policy explicitly required immediate written notice upon occurrence of any accidental loss or theft. The court emphasized that the insurer’s right to investigate and attempt to recover the stolen vehicle is prejudiced by delayed notice. The court relied heavily on binding precedent from the Supreme Court and prior decisions of the Commission which held that failure to comply with the immediate notice condition disentitles the insured to claim compensation. The court rejected the petitioner’s contention that the delay was justified, affirming the strict contractual obligation to notify the insurer promptly.

Holding and Implications

The revision petition is dismissed.

The direct effect of this decision is that the petitioner’s claim for theft compensation is denied due to non-compliance with the policy condition requiring immediate notice to the insurer. The ruling reinforces the principle that insured parties must strictly adhere to notice requirements to preserve insurer rights and claim validity. No new precedent was established; rather, the court reaffirmed established legal principles regarding timely notification in insurance claims.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Om Prakash v. Reliance General Insurance

    NATIONAL CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION

    NEW DELHI

    REVISION PETITION NO. 908 OF 2014

    (Against the Order dated 23/10/2013 in Appeal No. 570/2013 of the State Commission Haryana)

    1. OM PRAKASH

    S/O SRI KHUSI RAM, R/O MUZADNAGAR (VILLAGE)

    TEHSIL HANSI

    DISTRICT : HISAR ...........Petitioner(s) Versus

    1. RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE & 3 ORS.

    88E, 2ND FLOOR, MODEL TOWN, DELHI HISAR ROAD,

    THROUGH ITS MANAGER

    HISAR - 125001

    HARYANA

    2. RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE

    POLICE ISSUING OFFICE, 570, NAIGRAUN CROSS

    ROAD, NEST TO ROYAL INDUSTRIAL ESTATE,

    WADALA (W) THROUGH PRINCIPAL OFFICER,

    MUMBAI - 400001

    MAHARASHTRA

    3. ANIL GOYAL , AGENT OF RELIANCE GENERAL

    INSURANCE ,

    NOW, AT H.NO-1081 SECTOR-13

    HISAR

    HARYANA

    4. MAGMA FINCROP LTD.,

    SHOP NO-1 AGGARSAIN MARKET, PARIJAT COMPLEX,

    THROUGH ITS BRANCH MANAGER

    HISAR

    HARYANA ...........Respondent(s)

    BEFORE:

    HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE J.M. MALIK, PRESIDING MEMBER For the Petitioner : Mr. Harish Pandey, Advocate with Mr. Manish Kumar, Advocate

    Mr. Mayank Upadhyaya, Advocate

    For the Respondent :

    Dated : 12 Feb 2014

    ORDER

    JUSTICE J. M. MALIK, PRESIDING MEMBER (ORAL)

    1. Learned counsel for the petitioner present. Arguments heard.

    1

    2. The theft of vehicle took place on 23.3.2010. This is an admitted fact that the information was sent to the Reliance General Insurance Ltd. after 8 days. Learned counsel for the petitioner points out that factum of theft stands proved. He has also invited our attention towards the affidavit of Shri Dinesh, who was driving the truck. Paras 2, 3, 4 and 5 are relevant. The same are hereby reproduced :

    "2. That the deponent has informed the owner on account of this theft on 24.03.2010 in morning time. The owner Om Prakash visited in the office of the respondent insurance company, Hisar where the office was found closed due to holiday on account of Ram Nawami.

    -3-

    3. That thereafter, the owner reached where the occurrence of theft was occurred/happened and met to deponent and then to concern police officials. The deponent and owner was asked by the police to remain stayed with them in order to help them for tracing out the said truck and asked to collect and provide the necessary documents and reports pertaining to the said truck. The deponent and owner remained busy with the police of Rajasthan who visited many cities and places. The police had also conveyed the massage telephonically to other police stations and police of Haryana State.

    4. That the police of Rajasthan i.e. concerned I.O. forced and compelled the owner that he should be accompanied with them on patrolling duty which was conducted for tracing out the truck.

    5. That the owner is aged person who left from the police station Rajasthan to village on 29.03.2010 and reached 30.03.2010. On 28.03.2010 it was Sunday. However, he approached to the officer of Insurance Company at Hisar and lodged reports in respect of theft of said truck which was got insured at Hisar by the respondent. He had provided all the necessary documents demanded by respondent and found the theft claim to be genuine. The copy of same is already attached with file as Ex. R-2.

    -4-

    3. Learned counsel for the petitioner has invited my attention towards condition No. 1, which runs as follows:

    2

    Condition No. 1. Notice shall be given in writing to the Company immediately upon the occurrence of any accidental loss or damage in the event of any claim and thereafter the insured shall give all such information and assistance as the Company shall require. Every letter claim writ summons and/or process or copy thereof shall be forwarded to the Company immediately on receipt by the insured. Notice shall also be given in writing to the Company immediately the insured shall have knowledge of any impending prosecution, inquest or fatal inquiry in respect of any occurrence which may give rise to a claim under this Policy. In case of theft or criminal act, which may be the subject to a claim under this Policy the insured shall give immediate notice to the police and co-operate with the Company in securing the conviction of the offender."

    4. Learned counsel for the petitioner submits that there is no violation of the condition on the part of the petitioner. It is pointed out that FIR was registered on the same very day and the survey report clearly mentions that the theft is genuine. -5-

    5. All these arguments leave no impression upon this Commission. The Apex Court in the case of Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. vs. Parvesh Chander Chadha, Civil Appeal No. 6739 of 2010 decided on 17.8.2010 was pleased to hold:

    "Admittedly the respondent had not informed the appellant about the alleged theft of the insured vehicle till he sent letter dated 22.5.1995 to the Branch Manager. In the complaint filed by him, the respondent did not give any explanation for this unusual delay in informing the appellant about the incident which gave rise to cause for claiming compensation. Before the District Forum, the respondent did state that he had given copy of the first information report to Rajender Singh Pawar through whom he had insured the car and untraced report prepared by police on 19.9.1995 was given to the said Shri Rajender Singh Pawar, but his explanation was worthless because in terms of the

    3

    policy, the respondent was required to inform the appellant about the theft of the insured vehicle. It is difficult, if not impossible, to fathom any reason why the respondent, who is said to have lodged First Information Report on 20.1.1995 about the theft of car did not inform the insurance company about the -6-

    incident. In terms of the policy issued by the appellant, the respondent was duty bound to inform the theft of the vehicle immediately after the incident. On account of delayed intimation, the appellant was deprived of its legitimate right to get an inquiry conducted into the alleged theft of the vehicle and make an endeavor to recover the same. Unfortunately, all the consumer foras omitted to consider this grave lapse on the part of the respondent and directed the appellant to settle his claim on non-standard basis. In our view, the appellant cannot be saddled with the liability to pay compensation to the respondent despite the fact that he had not complied with the terms of the policy."

    6. Similar view was taken by this Commission in a case reported in Mohammadali Liyakatali Pathan vs. Reliance General Insurance Company Limited, revision petition No. 3183 of 2011 decided on 12.7.2012 by a bench of this Commission headed by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Ashok Bhan. What does the word 'immediate' means was comprehensively explained by the above said bench.

    -7-

    7. Similar view was taken in another judgment titled as The New India Assurance Co. Ltd. vs. Shri Dharam Singh and another, first appeal No. 426 of 2004 decided on 4.7.2006 . It was also held that the decision in National Insurance Company Ltd. vs. Nitin Khandelwal reported in (2008) 11 SCC 256 has got no application in this case.

    4

    8. Similar view was taken by this Commission in another revision petition No. 2951 of 2011-Rahul Tanwar vs. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. pronounced on 9.11.2012. The revision petition has no merits and the same is, therefore, dismissed.

    ......................J

    J.M. MALIK

    PRESIDING MEMBER

    5

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Om Prakash v. Reliance General Insurance
    (Feb 12, 2014)