Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Judges
Smart Summary

Concise Analytical Summary of the Opinion

Factual and Procedural Background

On March 11, 1983 at about 6:15 P.M. a head-on collision occurred on the Grand-Trunk Road near Shahbad between a car (registration BHS-324) and a truck (registration PJP-3165) coming from opposite directions. The car-driver Vikramjit Bhardwaj and three other occupants of the car (S. Kishnan, Amarjit Kaur and Ajit Kaur) died. The only survivor named in the opinion is Sukhmeat/Sukhmeet Singh, who sustained serious injuries.

At the Tribunal level, the car-driver Vikramjit Bhardwaj was held wholly to blame; accordingly the Tribunal declined compensation to his widow and children but awarded compensation to the dependants of S. Kishnan, Amarjit Kaur and Ajit Kaur and to the injured survivor Sukhmeet Singh. The Tribunal held the car-driver, the owner of the car and the car's insurer jointly and severally liable for the awarded amounts.

On appeal, the primary challenge was to the Tribunal's finding on negligence. The appellate court reviewed evidence concerning the point of impact, witness testimony, physical evidence (photographs and site plan), and the claimants' and respondents' versions to determine fault and to reassess compensation where appropriate.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the Tribunal's finding that the car-driver (Vikramjit Bhardwaj) was solely to blame for the accident was correct, or whether negligence should be attributed differently (including to the truck-driver).
  2. What adjustments, if any, should be made to the compensation awards (quantum and apportionment) given any modification in the finding of negligence, and the allocation of liability among the drivers, owners and insurers.

Arguments of the Parties

Claimants' Arguments

  • The claimants alleged that the accident was caused by the rash and negligent driving of the truck; specifically, that the truck came at very high speed from the opposite direction and suddenly moved onto its wrong side and struck the car.
  • The primary eyewitness for this version was P.W.13, Sukhmeet/Sukhmeat Singh (the injured survivor), whose injuries indicated he was a witness to the occurrence.

Respondents' / Truck-side Arguments

  • No detailed counter-version was pleaded on behalf of the truck-driver or owner except the stark plea that the accident was caused due to the rash and negligent driving of the car-driver.
  • The truck-driver (R.W.1 Baldev Singh) gave oral testimony asserting a different account: that the car suddenly attempted to overtake a bus ahead and in doing so collided with the truck. The court noted this story had not been pleaded in the written statement and treated it as a new version.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Lachhman Singh v. Gurmit Kaur, 1979 PLR-1 Full Bench principle regarding the appropriate multiplier ('16') to compute dependency for loss of earnings in assessing compensation for death. The court applied the '16' multiplier (as per the Full Bench guidance in the cited authority) in computing dependency for Vikramjit Bhardwaj, assessing dependency at Rs. 20,000 per annum and computing a gross compensation of Rs. 3,20,000, which was then reduced by half (to Rs. 1,60,000) due to contributory negligence.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court conducted a fact-specific analysis based on testimonial and physical evidence to determine the point of impact and allocate negligence:

  1. Evidence considered: testimony of the injured eyewitness P.W.13 (Sukhmeet/Sukhmeat Singh) who said the truck came at high speed and moved onto its wrong side; testimony of the truck-driver R.W.1 (Baldev Singh) giving a new story of the car overtaking a bus (a version not pleaded in the written statement); investigating officer A.W.7 (ASI Ram Chand) who prepared the site plan Exhibit A/9; photographs A.W.6/1 to 9; and observation that glass was splattered all over the road and the car's number-plate fell near the accident place.
  2. On the point of impact, the court weighed the site plan and photographs: although photos showed both vehicles on the correct side where they stopped, the site plan and splattered glass indicated a considerable distance between the point of impact and where vehicles stopped, suggesting they moved toward the centre of the road and that the truck pushed the car backwards after impact.
  3. The court held that the truck-driver's account that the car attempted an overtake was an afterthought (not pleaded earlier) and therefore lacked credence.
  4. The road conditions (a wide straight road with no other traffic) meant drivers had ample time and opportunity to see each other and take evasive action; the court observed that neither driver took such action.
  5. Given the evidentiary picture—eyewitness testimony, site plan, splattered glass, position of the number-plate, and the improbability and unpleaded nature of the truck-driver's new account—the court concluded that both the car-driver and the truck-driver were negligent and equally to blame. Accordingly, the Tribunal's prior finding that the car-driver alone was wholly at fault was modified.
  6. On compensation for Vikramjit Bhardwaj: the court examined income evidence. The widow produced Income-tax Orders (P.W.14/A and P.W.14/B) for 1979-80 and 1980-81 showing total income in the range of Rs. 27,000–29,000 per annum (a little over Rs. 2,000 per month). A statement of accounts for M/s V. Bhardwaj Associates (Exhibit P.W.12/A) showing net profit for 1981-82 was produced but was prepared after the death. The court noted absence of income-tax orders nearest to the date of death and absence of explanation therefor.
  7. Applying the Full Bench principle in Lachhman Singh v. Gurmit Kaur (1979 PLR-1), the court applied multiplier '16' to the assessed dependency of Rs. 20,000 per annum, arriving at a gross compensation figure (Rs. 3,20,000) which was scaled down to Rs. 1,60,000 due to the deceased's contributory negligence (i.e., equal blame shared by the drivers).
  8. Distribution: the court ordered Rs. 30,000 each to the two children of the deceased, with the balance to the widow; minors' amounts to be paid as the Tribunal deems in their best interest. Interest at 12% per annum from date of application to date of payment was awarded on the amount due to the claimed parties in this calculation.
  9. For the other claimants (dependants of S. Kishnan, Amarjit Kaur, Ajit Kaur, and Sukhmeet Singh for injuries), the court upheld the Tribunal's awards, finding no call for reduction. Specifics: S. Kishnan's award of Rs. 4,80,000 (multiplier '16', assessed dependency Rs. 2,500 per month) was affirmed; Amarjit Kaur's award (teacher at Rs. 900 per month; court found multiplier 16 was not strictly appropriate but nevertheless did not interfere); Ajit Kaur's award of Rs. 30,000 to husband for loss of services was left intact (court noted it might have been higher but did not disturb it); Sukhmeet Singh's claim for injuries (Rs. 20,000) was affirmed and the amount awarded to him for loss relating to Ajit Kaur's death (Rs. 30,000) was also upheld.
  10. On liability and contribution: having found both drivers equally negligent, the court directed that the car-driver, owner and insurer on one hand and the truck-driver, owner and insurer on the other, are jointly and severally liable for the awards (except the award in the appeal by Kusum Bhardwaj and others, which the court held shall be wholly the liability of the truck-driver, truck owner and its insurer). The court clarified that claimants may recover whole or part of any award from any or all of these parties; parties paying in excess of their share would be entitled to ratable contribution inter se. Effectively, the court fixed liability at one-half to each side for the awards (except the specified award in Kusum Bhardwaj's appeal).

Holding and Implications

Core Ruling: The appeals are disposed of with the Tribunal's sole-fault finding modified: the court held that both the car-driver and the truck-driver were negligent and equally to blame for the accident; compensation awards were adjusted and the apportionment of liability among drivers, owners and insurers clarified.

Direct consequences and specific orders:

  • For Vikramjit Bhardwaj (car-driver) dependants (widow Kusum Bhardwaj and two sons): dependency assessed at Rs. 20,000 per annum; applying multiplier '16' produced Rs. 3,20,000 which was scaled down to Rs. 1,60,000 in view of contributory negligence. Interest at 12% per annum from the date of the application to date of payment is awarded. Of this amount Rs. 30,000 each to the two children and the balance to the widow; minors' amounts to be paid as Tribunal directs.
  • Awards to other claimants were upheld: Rs. 4,80,000 to the widow and children of S. Kishnan; Rs. 1,15,200 to the husband and children of Amarjit Kaur; Rs. 30,000 to the husband of Ajit Kaur and Rs. 20,000 to Sukhmeet Singh for his own injuries (these were affirmed by the court).
  • Liability: car-driver, car-owner and car-insurer on one side and truck-driver, truck-owner and truck-insurer on the other are jointly and severally liable for payment of the compensation awarded (except in Kusum Bhardwaj's appeal where liability is wholly on the truck side). Each side's liability for awards (other than that exception) is fixed at one-half; parties who pay more than their share may seek ratable contribution inter se.
  • Costs: the claimants are entitled to costs in these appeals against all respondents except the State Bank of India. Counsel fee awarded: Rs. 500 (one set only).

The opinion does not purport to create a new precedent beyond applying the Full Bench principle cited; it modifies the Tribunal's finding by apportioning fault equally and adjusts compensation accordingly.

    Kusum Bhardwaj And Ors. v. Baldev Singh And Ors

    1. An accident between the car BHS-324 and the truck PJP-3165 coming from opposite directions, resulted in the death of the car-driver-Vikramjit Bhardwaj and three other occupants of the car, namely; S. Kishnan, Amarjit Kaur and Ajit Kaur. The only survivor being Sukhmeat Singh, who sustained serious injuries. This happened on March 11, 1983 at about 6-15 P.M. on the Grand-Trunk Road near Shahbad. Holding that it was the car-driver Vikramjit Bhardwaj who was wholly to blame for the accident the Tribunal declined compensation to his widow and children, but awarded Rs. 4,80,000/- as compensation to the widow and children of S. Kishnan ; Rs. 1,15,200 to the husband and children of Amarjit Kaur, and Rs. 30,000/- to Sukhmeet Singh, the husband of Ajit Kaur and in respect of his own injuries Sukhmeet Singh was awarded Rs. 20,000/- as claimed by him. With the car-driver being held to be at fault, he, the owner of the car, and the insurance company with which it stood insured, were held to be jointly and severally liable for the amounts awarded.

    2. In appeal now the challenge in the first instance was to the finding on the issue of negligence.

    3. The claimants sought to lay the blame for the accident upon the truck-driver by pleading that it was on account of the rash and negligent driving of the truck that it came and struck against the car and that too in disregard of the traffic rules. No counter-version of the accident was put-forth on behalf of the truck-driver or its owner except the stark plea that the accident had been caused due to the rash and negligent driving of the car-driver.

    4. The case of the claimants rests upon the testimony of P.W. 13 Sukhmeet Singh. His injuries in the accident mark him out to be a stamped witness to the occurrence. It was his testimony that the truck came at a very fast speed from the opposite direction and it suddenly came on to its wrong side and hit into the car. As against this, there is the testimony of the truck-driver, R.W. 1-Baldev Singh, who sought to put out a new story, namely, that the accident occurred when the car suddenly tried to over-take a bus going ahead and it thus came and hit into the truck coming from the other side. It is pertinent to note that no such plea had been raised in the written statement.

    5. The crucial point for determination here is the precise point of impact between the car and the truck. Great stress, in this behalf, was laid by Mr. L.M. Suri, appearing for the truck-owner, on the fact that both vehicles were on the correct side of the road after the accident, as would be evident from the photographs A.W. 6/1 to 9. The other side, on the other hand, sought to press in aid the site plan Exhibit A/9 prepared by the investigating officer A.W. 7 ASI Ram Chand soon after the accident, which denotes the place of impact to be on the correct side of the car. In dealing with this aspect of the matter, it is important to note that according to the testimony of the investigating officer, glass was splattered all over the road and this provides clear indication of the car having been pushed back by the truck after the impact. The site plan Exhibit A/9 reveals quite a distance between the place of impact and where the two vehicles eventually stopped. The path of travel of the two vehicles between these points tends to suggest that both the vehicles must have been coming somewhere towards the centre of the road. It is, at any rate, apparent from the evidence on record that neither vehicle took any evasive action to avoid the accident. The version of the truck-driver that the accident occurred when the car was trying to over-take a bus, is clearly an after thought and warrants no credence. The truck being considerably heavier than the car, it would be very much in accord with probabilities that it would drag the car along. The place where the number-plate of the car fell, provides an important pointer to the place of impact. It must be assumed that it fell near or around the place where the accident occurred.

    6. The significant aspect of the matter here is that the accident occurred on a wide straight road with no other traffic there, which would mean that there was ample time and opportunity for the drivers of the two vehicles to see each other and to take appropriate steps to avoid danger to themselves or to each other. It appears, neither exercised this imperative precaution.

    7. Considering all the circumstances of the case, in the light of what has come on record, there can be no escape from the conclusion that this accident occurred due to the negligence of both the car and the truck-drivers and thus both deserve to be held to be equally to blame for it. The finding, on the issue of negligence must thus be modified accordingly.

    8. Next to consider is the claim for compensation put-forth on behalf of the widow and the two sons of the car-driver-Vikramjit Bhardwaj, deceased. The evidence here consists of the testimony of P.W. 14-Kusum Bhardwaj, the widow of the deceased, who deposed that her husband was about 47 years of age at the time of his death. He was proprietor of M/s. V. Bhardwaj Associates at Delhi and his earnings were over Rs. 4,000/- per month. She further stated that before September 1981, he had been working as Sales Executive with M/s. Jullundur Motor Agencies, Delhi at a salary of Rs. 3,500/- per month and was also getting a car allowance of Rs. 500/- per month. In support, she placed on record, Income-tax Orders Exhibit P.W. 14/A and P.W. 14/B for the years 1979-80 and 1980-81.

    9. Vikramjit Bhardwaj died leaving behind not only his widow Kusum Bhardwaj who was 41 years of age, but also two sons aged 16 and 15 years respectively. It has come in evidence that they were all dependent upon the deceased.

    10. The other evidence to consider with regard to the claim for compensation arising from the death of Vikram Jit Bhardwaj is the statement of P.W. 12, H.S. Soni, Chartered Accountant, who proved Exhibit P.W.12/A, the statement of accounts, in respect of M/s V. Bhardwaj Associates. According to this statement, the net profit of this firm was shown to be Rs. 35,890/- for the year 1981-82. In dealing with the evidence led with regard to the income of Vikram Jit Bhardwaj, it deserves note that what the Chartered Accountant, P.W. 12 H.S. Soni, produced on record, was a statement of accounts prepared after the death of the deceased. As for the Income-Tax Orders, those produced were of the period prior to 1981. In other words, the orders nearest to the date of death are not forthcomings and for this counsel for the claimant had no explanation. Be that as it may, the total income of the deceased as revealed by the Income-tax Orders P.W. 14-A and P.W. 14-B show that it was Rs. 27,000/- to Rs. 29,000/- per annum. If this is relied upon, it would mean that the income of the deceased was a little over Rs. 2,000/- per month. Applying here the principle laid down by the Full Bench in Lachhman Singh v. Gurmit Kaur 1979 PLR-1, in so far as they are applicable here, '16' would undoubtedly be the appropriare multiplier to be applied and the dependency deserves to be assessed at Rs. 20,000/- per annum, So computed, compensation payable to the claimants would work out to Rs. 3,20,000/-, which has to be scaled down to Rs. 1,60,000/- in view of the contributory negligence of the deceased. This amount is accordingly ordered to be paid to the claimants which they shall be entitled to along with interest at the rate of 12 per cent per annum from the date of the application to the date of the payment of the amount awarded. Out of the amount awarded, a sum of Rs. 30,000/- each shall be paid to the children of the deceased and the balance to his widow. The amount payable to the minor claimants shall be paid to them in such manner as the Tribunal may deem to be in their best interest.

    11. As regards the compensation awarded to the other claimants, no reduction is indeed called for. In the case of S. Kishnan, evidence shows that he was only 43 years of age at the time of his death. He died leaving behind his 30 years old widow and two minor daughters. S. Kishnan was working as Regional Manager with M/s India Motor Parts and Accessories (P) Limited, New Delhi at a salary of Rs. 4,225/- per month. Besides this, he was also entitled to a free car and other perks. Considering his situation and that of the claimants, the Tribunal rightly applied a multiplier of '16' in his case and assessed the dependency at Rs. 2,500/- per month. No exception can thus be taken to the award of Rs. 4,80,000/- as compensation, in this case.

    12. Turning now to the case of Amarjit Kaur, deceased, evidence shows that she was employed as a Teacher at a salary of Rs. 900/- per month. It is true that though she was 48 years of age, her husband was about 58 years old at the time of her death. '16' in this case was clearly not the appropriate multiplier to be applied, but considering the fact that the claimant suffered not only a financial loss as represented by the salary of the deceased, but also the loss of services of the house wife, the amount awarded calls for no interference in appeal.

    13. In case of Ajit Kaur, deceased, the compensation awarded to her husband was only Rs. 30,000/- for loss of services of the housewife. This figure, if anything, should have been higher, considering the amounts awarded on this account in other cases. Similarly, counsel failed to show any justification for reduction in the amount awarded to Sukhmeet Singh in respect of the injuries suffered by him.

    14. In the result, it must be held that car-driver, owner and insurance company on one hand and the truck-driver, owner and insurance company on the other, are jointly and severally liable for payment of the compensation awarded to the claimants (except in the case of Kusum Bhardwaj), it is, however, clarified that it shall be open to the claimants to recover the whole or any part of the compensation awarded from either or all of them. The parties from whom the recovery is made shall, however, be entitled to a ratable contribution inter se if the amount recovered from them, by the claimants, is in excess of their share of the liability. In other words, the car-driver, owner and Insurance Company on the one hand and the truck-driver, owner and insurance company on the other, shall be liable for the compensation awarded to the extent of only one-half each. As regards the liability in respect of the amount awarded to the claimants, in the appeal filed by Kusum Bhardwaj and others, this shall be wholly that of the truck-driver, owner and insurance company with which it was insured.

    15. The appeals are disposed of accordingly. The claimants shall, however, be entitled to their costs in these appeals against all the respondents, except State Bank of India. Counsel fee Rt. 500/- (One set only).

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Kusum Bhardwaj And Ors. v. Baldev Singh And Ors
    (Jul 31, 1986)