Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by

UNITED STATES ex rel. Patrick LOUGHREN, Relator, Appellee, v. UNUM GROUP, Defendant, Appellant.

OPINION AND ORDER

GREGORY FROST, District Judge

This matter is before the Court on Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims of National Programming Service, LLC ("NPS") (Doc. # 50), NPS's Memorandum in Opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims of NPS (Doc. # 56), Plaintiff's Reply Memorandum in Support of Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims of NPS (Doc. #59), Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment on NPS's Counterclaims (Doc. # 93), NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice (Doc. # 97), Plaintiff's Memorandum in Opposition to NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice (Doc. # 99), and NPS's Reply Memorandum in Support of Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice (Doc. # 102). For the reasons that follow, the Court GRANTS NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice, DENIES as MOOT Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims of NPS, and DENIES as MOOT Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment on NPS's Counterclaims.

I. Background

On May 4, 2010, this Court granted all three of the defendants' dispositive motions (Doc. # 91): Defendant Dish Network's Motion to Dismiss (Doc. # 38), Defendant NPS's Motion for Summary Judgment (Doc. # 61), and Defendant 411 Web Directory's Motion for Summary Judgment (Doc. # 69). In that Opinion and Order, the Court determined that the issue before it was identical to the issue that Judge Watson had ruled upon in Ferron v. Echostar Satellite, LLC, No. 06-cv-00453 (S.D. Ohio 2007). In Echostar, Judge Watson determined that Plaintiff John W. Ferron could not succeed on his claim filed pursuant to the Ohio Consumer Sales Practices Act, Ohio Rev. Code § 1345.01 et seq. ("OCSPA"). This Court adopted the Echostar opinion and order in its entirety, granted Defendants' dispositive motions, and entered judgment in favor of Defendants.

At the time this Court entered judgement, still pending were Defendant NPS's counterclaims for abuse of process and to have Plaintiff declared a vexatious litigator. Plaintiff had also filed Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims of NPS, which was fully at issue. (Docs. # 50, 56, 59.)

On May 4, 2010, after judgment was entered in favor of Defendants on Plaintiff's claims against them, Plaintiff filed Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment on NPS's Counterclaims. (Doc. # 93.) NPS has not responded to that motion.

On May 28, 2010, NPS filed NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice. (Doc. # 97.) That motion is fully at issue. (Docs. # 99, 102.)

II. Standard

The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provide that an action may not be dismissed once an answer has been filed or once the party against whom the claim was filed has moved for summary judgment, except "upon order of the court and upon such terms and conditions as the court deems proper." Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(a)(2). That dismissal is without prejudice unless otherwise stated. See id.

The Sixth Circuit instructs:

Whether dismissal should be granted under the authority of Rule 41(a)(2) is within the sound discretion of the district court. Banque de Depots v. National Bank of Detroit, 491 F.2d 753, 757 (6th Cir. 1974). The primary purpose of the rule in interposing the requirement of court approval is to protect the nonmovant from unfair treatment. Ikospentakis v. Thalassic S.S. Agency, 915 F.2d 176, 177 (5th Cir. 1990). Generally, an abuse of discretion is found only where the defendant would suffer "plain legal prejudice" as a result of a dismissal without prejudice, as opposed to facing the mere prospect of a second lawsuit. Cone v. West Virginia Pulp Paper Co., 330 U.S. 212, 217 (1947); Kovalic v. DEC Int'l, Inc., 855 F.2d 471, 473 (7th Cir. 1988).
Grover by Grover v. Eli Lilly and Co., 33 F.3d 716, 718 (6th Cir. 1994). With regard to plain legal prejudice, the court explained:

In determining whether a defendant will suffer plain legal prejudice, a court should consider such factors as the defendant's effort and expense of preparation for trial, excessive delay and lack of diligence on the part of the plaintiff in prosecuting the action, insufficient explanation for the need to take a dismissal, and whether a motion for summary judgment has been filed by the defendant. Kovalic, 855 F.2d at 474 (citing Pace v. Southern Express Co., 409 F.2d 331, 334 (7th Cir. 1969)).
Id. This Court does not need to resolve every factor in NPS's favor to find that dismissal without prejudice is warranted. See Tyco Labs., Inc. v. Koppers Co., 627 F.2d 54, 56 (7th Cir. 1980). The factors are more of a guide and discretion ultimately rests with the trial court. See id.

III. Analysis A. NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice

Plaintiff argues that he will suffer plain legal prejudice if the Court grants NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice. Plaintiff requests, however, that if the Court grants NPS's motion, that it also reimburse Plaintiff for his attorney's fees and costs associated with responding to NPS's counterclaim.

1. Plaintiff will not suffer plain legal prejudice.

Plaintiff argues that he will suffer plain legal prejudice because:

First, Plaintiff has incurred approximately $8,700.00 in attorney's fees and costs defending against NPS's groundless Counterclaim by preparing and filing a Motion to Dismiss, conducting discovery related to NPS's Counterclaim, and preparing and filing a Motion for Summary Judgment. (Wafer Aff. ¶ 8) Second, NPS showed a complete lack of diligence in prosecuting its Counterclaim. Indeed, other than filing its Counterclaim, NPS did not conduct any discovery or otherwise undertake any effort to prosecute the Counterclaim. (Wafer Aff. ¶ 9) Third, NPS has not offered a sufficient reason for the need to dismiss its claim without prejudice at this late date, asserting only that it is doing so to "simplify this litigation" and "avoid attorney's fees." And, fourth, Plaintiff has filed not only a Motion for Summary Judgment, but also a Motion to Dismiss. The Court's order granting either of these Motions will be dispositive as to NPS's Counterclaim.

(Doc. # 99 at 4-5.) Plaintiff's arguments are not well taken.

First, the Court recognizes that Plaintiff has naturally invested time and effort in litigating this action. Courts have held that such expenditures may prove insufficient to defeat a Rule 41(a) motion. See B J Mfg. Co. v. D.A. Frost Indus., Inc., 106 F.R.D. 351, 353 (N.D. Ohio 1985) ("`[T]he advanced state of the litigation and the legal and other expenses incurred . . . do not mandate a denial of plaintiff's motion. . . .'" quoting Louis v. Bache Group, Inc., 92 F.R.D. 459, 461 (S.D. N.Y. 1981)). Here, Plaintiff has not expended an unreasonable amount of effort and expense in this action, as discussed in more detail below.

Moreover, the Court does not find that NPS's claims are groundless. This Court is well aware of the numerous cases filed under the OCSPA by Plaintiff, a licensed Ohio attorney. See, e.g., Ferron v. VC E-Commerce Solutions, Inc., No. 2:06-CV-322 (S.D. Ohio May 1, 2006); Ferron v. Search Cactus, LLC, No. 2:06-CV-327 (S.D. Ohio May 3, 2006); Ferron v. Zoomego Inc., No. 06 CV 7542 (Franklin Cty. June 6, 2006); Ferron v. Echostar Satellite, LLC, No. 2:06-CV-453 (S.D. Ohio June 12, 2006); Ferron v. Fifth Third Bank, No. 07 CV 9183 (Franklin Cty. July 12, 2007); Ferron v. DIRECTV, Inc., No. 07 CV 12358 (Franklin Cty. Sept. 13, 2007); Ferron v. E360Insight, LLC, No. 07 CV 12774 (Franklin Cty. Sept. 21, 2007); Ferron v. Subscriberbase Holdings, Inc., No. 08 CV 9532 (Franklin Cty. July 2, 2008); Ferron v. Zoomego Inc., No. 08 CV 009533 (Franklin Cty. July 2, 2008); Ferron v. GVN Michigan Inc., No. 08 CV 10563 (Franklin Cty. July 23, 2008); Ferron v. I-Dish Com LLC, No. 08 CV 12739 (Franklin Cty. Sept. 5, 2008); Ferron v. DirectStar TV LLC, No. 08 CV 16546 (Franklin Cty. Nov. 18, 2008). The Court is also aware of the numerous courts that have found Plaintiff's continued filing of actions under the OCSPA distasteful, to say the least. See e.g., Burge v. Supervalu Holdings, Inc., No. C-60194, 2007 WL 865483, at *5 (Ohio Ct. App. 1st Dist. Mar. 23 2007) ("We are offended by the contrived nature of this frivolous action, which has wasted much time, paper, and other resources to the prejudice of legitimate disputes between parties, especially those involving the consumer-protection laws of Ohio.") It takes no stretch of the imagination to envision abuse of process and vexatious litigation claims to be successfully prosecuted against Plaintiff.

Second, NPS has not shown a lack of diligence in prosecuting its counterclaims. Simply because NPS sought little discovery does not indicate a lack of diligence. NPS sought very little discovery from Plaintiff in the instant action, conducting no depositions at all, and was successful in demonstrating via dispositive motions that Plaintiff's claims lacked merit. Additionally, the nature of the claims-abuse of process and vexatious litigation-can be evaluated in large part by viewing Plaintiff's pleadings and public record of the cases filed by Plaintiff.

Third, the Court finds that in the present circumstances NPS has offered sufficient reason for the request to dismiss its counterclaims, i.e., preserving resources of both the parties and the Court. Judicial resources are certainly an important issue to the Court. NPS explained that, while it believes that its counterclaims have merit and also provide for the potential recovery of attorney's fees, the OCSPA provides an avenue to recover of fees. There is currently an oral hearing on attorney's fees scheduled for August 5, 2010 before this Court.

Fourth, Plaintiff's argument that he has spent a significant amount of time drafting and filing a motion to dismiss and a motion for summary judgment is simply disingenuous. Plaintiff's motion for summary judgment is literally cut and pasted in its entirety from Plaintiff's motion to dismiss. The only difference is that Plaintiff replaces the standard for the motion to dismiss with one for summary judgment and changes a couple of the headings. Indeed, the filing of the motion for summary judgment just hours after this Court entered judgment in NPS's favor was likely a strategic move on Plaintiff's part to prevent a potential motion to dismiss under Rule 41(a) by NPS and perhaps to bolster Plaintiff's anticipated request for attorney's fees.

Finally, the instant circumstances are not of the type that courts consider as constituting legal prejudice. As the Sixth Circuit explains:

Courts readily find plain legal prejudice where dismissal results in stripping a defendant of an absolute defense. As we noted in Grover, "[a]t the point when the law clearly dictates a result for the defendant, it is unfair to subject him to continued exposure to potential liability by dismissing the case without prejudice." Id. at 719. See also Phillips v. Illinois C. G. Railroad, 874 F.2d 984, 987 (5th Cir. 1989) (holding that dismissal would result in clear legal prejudice because in second suit defendant "would be stripped of an absolute defense."); Kern v. TXO Prod. Corp., 738 F.2d 968, 970 (8th Cir. 1984) ("If defendant has already won its case, reimbursement of fees and expenses cannot make it whole from the injury of being sued again, perhaps this time to lose.").
Rosenthal v. Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc., 217 Fed. Appx. 498, 500 (6th Cir. 2007). In the instant action, Plaintiff will not be stripped of any absolute defense, has not secured any dispositive ruling it his favor from this Court, nor does the law clearly dictate a result in his favor.

Moreover, the Court reminds Plaintiff that two years ago, in Ferron v. Search Cactus, No. 2:06-CV-00327, this Court granted his Motion to Dismiss Without Prejudice under Rule 41(a)(2) in circumstances much less favorable to a dismissal than those currently before the Court. In that case, Plaintiff did not move for a Rule 41(a)(2) dismissal until two years after the case had been filed, 262 entries had been made on the docket, and "following a conference in which the Court indicated certain inclinations that were adverse to Plaintiff." ( Search Cactus, No. 06-cv-327; Doc. # 263 at 4.) In that Opinion and Order the Court opined:

Although Defendants have incurred expense and have devoted considerable time to this litigation, these expenditures would inform the proceedings in a subsequent case. There may be inconvenience here, but there is not legal prejudice.
Id. at 5. This Court's reasoning applies with equal force to the circumstances currently before it.

Based upon the foregoing, the Court concludes that Plaintiff will not suffer plain legal prejudice by the dismissal of NPS's counterclaims filed against him.

2. An award of attorney's fees is not warranted.

The Court again directs Plaintiff's attention to the Court's decision granting his request for a Rule 41(a)(2) dismissal in Ferron v. Search Cactus. Defendants in that case also alternatively requested attorney's fees, which this Court denied. ( See Search Cactus, No. 06-cv-327; Doc. # 263.)

The Sixth Circuit "has expressly rejected the contention that the payment of defense costs is universally required for voluntary dismissal under Rule 41(a)(2)." Bridgeport Music, Inc. v. Universal-MCA Music Publ'g, Inc., 583 F.3d 948, 954 (6th Cir. 2009) (citing DWG Corp. v. Granada Invs., Inc., 962 F.2d 1201, 1202 (6th Cir. 1992)). Factors in support of not awarding fees include whether a plaintiff acted in good faith in bringing the suit, Blackburn v. City of Columbus, 60 F.R.D. 197, 198 (S.D. Ohio 1973) and whether the costs were wasted, Bentz v. Reed Elsevier, Inc., No. C-3-00-350, 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20370, 2000 WL 33244507, at *3 (S.D. Ohio Dec. 5, 2000) (attorneys' fees not required because there were no wasted costs).

In the case sub judice, there is no indication that NPS's suit was not a bona fide effort to seek redress for the alleged wrongs it perceived it suffered at Plaintiff's hands. There is nothing in the record to indicate that NPS filed its counterclaims to harass, embarrass, or abuse Plaintiff. Nor is there evidence to suggest that NPS deliberately sought to increase Plaintiff's costs by extending the litigation.

In addition, Plaintiff could use the evidence obtained during this discovery in a subsequent action to avoid wasting costs. See Spar Gas, Inc. v. AP Propane, Inc., 972 F.2d 348, 1992 WL 172129, at *2 (6th Cir. 1992) (unpublished table decision) (crediting rule that "when a district court conditions voluntary dismissal without prejudice upon payment of a defendant's fees, the court should award only those fees representing legal work that could not be used in subsequent litigation on the same claims").

Like its conclusion in Search Cactus in favor of Plaintiff, the Court here, having considered the foregoing, determines that the American Rule on attorneys' fees, which "refuses to economically penalize in this fashion the litigant who in good faith files [claims against a party]," justifiably applies to the case at bar. Blackburn, 60 F.R.D. at 198. Accordingly, the Court concludes that imposing an award of attorneys' fees and costs is not warranted here.

B. Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss and Motion for Summary Judgment

The Court's decision to grant NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice renders moot Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims of NPS and Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment on NPS's Counterclaims.

IV. Conclusion

For the reasons set forth above, the Court GRANTS NPS's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims Without Prejudice (Doc. # 97), DENIES as MOOT Plaintiff's Motion to Dismiss Counterclaims of NPS (Doc. # 50), and DENIES as MOOT Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment on NPS's Counterclaims (Doc. # 93). The Clerk is DIRECTED to ENTER JUDGMENT in accordance with this Opinion and Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

2. Jennine

Jennine was a 38-year-old pediatric nurse who developed left (non-dominant) arm, neck, and back pain after a car accident with an 18-wheeler on May 10, 1999. Jennine had unsuccessful carpal tunnel surgery three months later. Jennine was then scheduled to have surgery on her shoulder on September 22, 1999. In August prior to the surgery, Jennine's physician reported to Unum that the prognosis for her recovery after the surgery was good and that her condition was expected to improve in three to four months.

On September 30, 1999, a week after Jennine's surgery, Unum received a document from Jennine describing her symptomology. Jennine indicated that she was having difficulty with the full function of her left arm and stated that she was unable to work because of what she described as "severe" pain. Nonetheless, that same day, the Unum claims handler noted that Jennine "may improve" with additional treatment and that Jennine "has work capacity now." The claims handler requested a vocational review, and Unum's vocational specialist added this notation to Jennine's file, also dated September 30, 1999:

Please consider a rehab referral when appropriate as this young individual would have non-patient care alternatives once she recovers from shoulder surgery scheduled for September 22nd and possibly even light patient care alternatives depending on the extent of her recovery.

Also on that day, Unum approved Jennine's insurance claim and sent her a Payment Option Form, instructing her to file for SSDI or face a reduction in her benefits.

Jennine was familiar with SSDI eligibility requirements because of her background as a nurse, and she told Unum that she did not qualify for SSDI benefits. She further informed Unum of her intention to return to work.

Nonetheless, Jennine applied for SSDI on October 20, 1999. When the clerk at the Social Security office asked her why she was applying (because "it did not look like [Jennine was] qualified"), Jennine told her that her "disability insurance company required [her] to apply."

Jennine returned to work as a pediatric nurse coordinator in April 2000. After Jennine informed the SSA of her return to work, the Agency denied her application for SSDI.

III. Analysis

The FCA "covers all fraudulent attempts to cause the government to pay out sums of money." United States ex rel. Conner v. Salina Regional Health Center, Inc., 543 F.3d 1211, 1217 (10th Cir. 2008). While the government can bring an action under the FCA, 31 U.S.C. § 3730(a), the Act also provides for a private individual to file suit on a qui tam basis "in the name of the Government." 31 U.S.C. § 3730(b)(1); see also United States ex rel. Lissack v. Sakura Global Capital Markets, Inc., 377 F.3d 145, 152 (2d Cir. 2004).

At trial, the jury considered whether Unum violated two provisions of the FCA, those which impose liability on:

[a]ny person who —
(1) knowingly presents, or causes to be presented, to an officer or employee of the United States Government . . . a false or fraudulent claim for payment or approval; [or]
(2) knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be made or used, a false record or statement to get a false or fraudulent claim paid or approved by the Government. . . .
31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(1)-(2) (2008). The jury was instructed that to establish a violation of the FCA, Relator had to prove that a false or fraudulent claim was submitted to the United States, that Unum had the requisite scienter, and that Unum caused the submission of the claim. The district court further instructed that the Relator must prove that the allegedly false statement contained within the claim (that the applicant was "unable to work" or "disabled") was material to the SSA's decision whether to pay or approve the claim.

In 2009, Congress passed the Fraud Enforcement and Recovery Act ("FERA"), Pub.L. No. 111-21, 123 Stat. 1617 (2009), which amended and renumbered these provisions as §§ 3729(a)(1)(A) and (a)(1)(B), respectively, see FERA § 4(a), 123 Stat, at 1621. The amendment to section 3729(a)(2), but not the amendment to section 3729(a)(1), was made retroactive to June 7, 2008, applicable to "all claims under the False Claims Act . . . that [were] pending on or after that date." FERA § 4(f), 123 Stat, at 1625. There is disagreement among our sister circuits as to whether Congress intended the amended section 3729(a)(2) to be applied retroactively to actions, like this one, pending as of June 7, 2008, see United States ex rel. Kirk v. Schindler Elevator Corp., 601 F.3d 94, 113 (2d Cir. 2010), or rather to pending "claim[s]" as defined by 31 U.S.C. § 3729(b)(2)(A) (i.e., "any request or demand . . . for money or property"), see Hopper v. Solvay Pharm., Inc., 588 F.3d 1318, 1327 n. 3 (11th Cir. 2009); United States v. Science Applications Intern. Corp., 653 F.Supp.2d 87, 106-07 (D.D.C. 2009). Under the prior definition, the amended section 3729(a)(2) would apply in this case; under the latter definition, the former version would apply.
We need not decide whether the FERA applies retroactively here because under either the former or amended version of section 3729(a)(2), our analysis of Relator's claims against Unum will be the same. As Unum notes, "under both versions, [Relator] was required to prove falsity, materiality, and scienter."
Moreover, Unum was not harmed by the fact that the jury was instructed under the prior version of the statute. The primary difference between the former and amended versions of the provision is the replacement of the phrase "to get" with the word "material." As we discuss further in Section III.B.2, the FERA amendments to the FCA were responding, in part, to the Supreme Court's suggestion in Allison Engine Co., Inc. v. United States ex rel. Sanders, 553 U.S. 662, 128 S.Ct. 2123, 170 L.Ed.2d 1030 (2008), that section 3729(a)(2) contained an intent requirement, and by striking the words "to get," Congress intended to eliminate that requirement. S.Rep. No. 111-10, at 11 (2009). That change is not particularly relevant here. The "intent requirement" which Allison Engine read into section 3729(a)(2) was in the context of a party submitting a false statement not directly to the government, but to a private third party (as in the case of a subcontractor and prime contractor). The Court explained that the subcontractor would only violate section 3729(a)(2) if it had the intent that the statement be used by the prime contractor to get the Government to pay its claim. Id. at 2130. There is no question in this case that Unum caused the statements at issue to be made directly to the government; thus Allison Engine's intent requirement and its abrogation by FERA, are not relevant here.
For the remainder of this opinion, we will cite to the 2008 version of section 3729(a)(2). The elements of the provision, for the purpose of this case, are the same, and as the 2008 version was the version with which the jury was charged and on which it evaluated Unum's liability, it is the more appropriate version here.


A. Materiality

1. Materiality Requirement

We have long held that the FCA is subject to a judicially-imposed requirement that the allegedly false claim or statement be material. See United States v. Data Translation, Inc., 984 F.2d 1256, 1267 (1st Cir. 1992) (citing Turner v. Johnson Johnson, 809 F.2d 90, 95 (1st Cir. 1986), for the proposition that materiality is "established as an element of common law fraud"). Recently, the Supreme Court found that a materiality requirement applies in the context of sections 3729(a)(2) and (a)(3). See Allison Engine Co., Inc., 128 S.Ct. at 2126, 2130. Though the Court did not consider the application of a materiality requirement to subsection (a)(1), we see no reason why Allison Engine should disturb our previous reading of a materiality requirement into the statute more generally. See 1 John T. Boese, Civil False Claims and Qui Tam Actions § 2.04, 2-171-72 (3d ed. 2006 Supp. 2010).

We reach the same conclusion regarding Congress's 2009 amendment to the former section 3729(a)(2), incorporating an explicit materiality requirement in place of the "to get" language that the Supreme Court relied upon in its decision limiting liability in Allison Engine.

As the Supreme Court has held, "[i]n general, a false statement is material if it has `a natural tendency to influence, or [is] capable of influencing, the decision of the decisionmaking body to which it was addressed.'" Neder v. United States, 527 U.S. 1, 16, 119 S.Ct. 1827, 144 L.Ed.2d 35 (1999) (quoting United States v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506, 509, 115 S.Ct. 2310, 132 L.Ed.2d 444 (1995)). Many of our sister circuits have employed that definition in the FCA context, see, e.g., United States ex rel. Longhi v. United States, 575 F.3d 458, 468-70 (5th Cir. 2009); United States ex rel. Sanders v. North American Bus Indus., Inc., 546 F.3d 288, 297 (4th Cir. 2008) (citations omitted); United States v. Bourseau, 531 F.3d 1159, 1171 (9th Cir. 2008), and it is the definition Congress recently adopted when it amended the FCA. See 31 U.S.C. § 3729(b)(4) ("the term `material' means having a natural tendency to influence, or be capable of influencing, the payment or receipt of money or property."). It is also the standard that the district court employed in instructing the jury, and both parties agree that standard was the correct one. Accordingly, we will find that the statement reporting the date that the applicant was "unable to work" was material if it had a natural tendency to influence or was capable of influencing the SSA's decision whether or not to award SSDI benefits.

2. Standard of Review

We review the denial of a motion for judgment as a matter of law, including legal decisions made therein, de novo. Burke v. McDonald, 572 F.3d 51, 57 (1st Cir. 2009) (citations omitted). As for matters of fact, "we view the evidence in the light most favorable to the verdict, asking only whether a rational jury could on the basis of that evidence find as the jury has." Id. (citation omitted). "[A] jury's verdict and factual findings `must be upheld unless the facts and inferences viewed in the light most favorable to the verdict point so strongly and overwhelmingly in favor of the movant that a reasonable jury could not have returned the verdict.'" Mass. Eye and Ear Infirmary v. QLT Phototherapeutics, Inc., 552 F.3d 47, 57 (1st Cir. 2009) (citations omitted).

Unum contends that our review on the issue of materiality should "fall squarely on the non-deferential side of the review continuum," arguing that materiality here involves "alleged misrepresentations to public officers and parsing of the SSA regulatory framework," and is thus a law-dominated question. In support of this argument, Unum cites United States ex rel. Berge v. Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama, 104 F.3d 1453 (4th Cir. 1997), in which the Fourth Circuit held that the determination of materiality in the FCA context, "although partaking the character of a mixed question of fact and law, is one for the court." Id. at 1460.

Unum also cites United States ex rel. A + Homecare, Inc. v. Medshares Mgmt. Group, Inc., 400 F.3d 428 (6th Cir. 2005), in which the Sixth Circuit affirmed the lower court's holding, in denying summary judgment for defendant, that a false statement was material as a matter of law. Id. at 441, 446-47.

As the Supreme Court has stated, the issue of materiality is a mixed question of law and fact, "involving as it does the application of a legal standard to a particular set of facts." TSC Indus., Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438, 450, 96 S.Ct. 2126, 48 L.Ed.2d 757 (1976); see also In re Stone Webster, Inc., Sec. Litig., 414 F.3d 187, 209 (1st Cir. 2005) (stating, in the securities fraud context, that the materiality of a false statement is a question for the jury). As in the securities fraud arena, materiality in the FCA context involves a factual determination of the weight that the decisionmaker would have given particular information. See United States v. Job Resources for the Disabled, No. 97 C 3904, 2000 WL 1222205, at *3 (N.D.Ill. Aug. 24, 2000). While a district court may determine at the summary judgment stage that undisputed evidence demonstrates that a false statement or claim is material (or immaterial) as a matter of law, that is not the posture in which this case is presented.

We acknowledge that the Supreme Court has also observed that "the characterization of a mixed question of law and fact for one purpose does not govern its characterization for all purposes." United States v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506, 522, 115 S.Ct. 2310, 132 L.Ed.2d 444 (1995). In Gaudin, the Court noted that mixed questions of law and fact have typically been resolved by juries. Id. at 512, 115 S.Ct. 2310 (citing TSC Industries, Inc., 426 U.S. at 450, 96 S.Ct. 2126; McLanahan v. Universal Ins. Co., 26 U.S. (1 Pet.) 170, 188-89, 191, 7 L.Ed. 98 (1828) (materiality of false statements in insurance applications)). Yet the Court declined to overrule its previous decision in Kungys v. United States, 485 U.S. 759, 108 S.Ct. 1537, 99 L.Ed.2d 839 (1988), which "held that, in appellate review of a District Court (nonjury) denaturalization proceeding, the appellate court's newly asserted standard of materiality could be applied to the facts by the appellate court itself, rather than requiring remand to the District Court for that application." Gaudin, 515 U.S. at 522, 115 S.Ct. 2310 (citing Kungys, 485 U.S. at 772, 108 S.Ct. 1537).

When Unum moved for judgment as a matter of law, it argued that the statements at issue could not be viewed as material to the SSA's decision whether to award benefits because (1) the claimants had "disclosed fully and fairly the underlying facts upon which the statements] [were] made"; and (2) "[t]hat decision is made by the SSA alone, after a full review of all of the available medical records." The district court heard those arguments and rejected them, finding a legally sufficient evidentiary basis on which a reasonable jury could find against Unum.

We note that on remand the district court would be free to reconsider, in light of previously excluded evidence, whether Unum would be entitled to judgment as a matter of law on the issue of materiality.

We will uphold the jury's verdict unless "the facts and inferences viewed in the light most favorable to the verdict point so strongly and overwhelmingly in favor of [Unum] that a reasonable jury could not have returned the verdict.'" Mass. Eye and Ear Infirmary, 552 F.3d at 57.

Regardless, whether we employ de novo review on the issue of materiality or a standard more deferential to the jury's verdict, we find that on the evidence before the jury, the statements at issue here were material to the SSA's payment decision.

3. Evidence of Materiality

We note at the outset that our conclusions in this section are based only on the evidence that was actually presented to the jury.

The case was submitted to the jury on the theory that the false statements alleged by Relator were the statements in the application for SSDI that the applicant was "unable to work" or "is disabled."

The court instructed "I want to emphasize that the plaintiff's position is that both the use of the words `unable to work' and `I am disabled' are the alleged false statements and false claims here, and those are both to be construed within the meaning of the Social Security Act."

Unum argues that the statements at issue cannot be material because the SSA conducts an independent review of medical and other evidence to determine the actual date that the applicant became unable to work within the meaning of the Social Security Act. The date reported by the applicant, Unum argues, serves as only a starting point for this independent review, and thus cannot be "material evidence of disability." Unum argues that the statement that an applicant is unable to work as of a particular date is a "legal conclusion . . . not a factual representation likely to influence the SSA's decision." In effect, Unum argues that because the Agency conducts an independent review to determine whether the applicant is unable to work as defined by the Social Security Act, the applicant's own opinion that she is unable to work is not material. We disagree.

Unum cites the SSA's Program Operations Manual System ("POMS"), the publicly available operating instructions for processing Social Security claims, which differentiates between the "alleged onset date" ("AOD") of the applicant's disability and the "established onset date" ("EOD") of the disability. The AOD is "the date the claimant alleges he or she became unable to work because of his or her medical condition, regardless of whether or not that date appears to be appropriate." POMS DI 25501.001(E)(1) (2008), available at https://secure.ssa.gov/appslo/poms.nsf/aboutpoms (last visited Jul. 19, 2010) (emphasis added). The EOD, by contrast, is determined by the disability adjudicator "based on the medical and other evidence in the case record." POMS DI 25501.001(E)(3). The AOD is "the starting point in establishing the onset of disability," and "[i]f the medical and other evidence is consistent with the AOD," the AOD will also be the EOD. POMS DI 25501.011(A). However, "[m]edical and other evidence is the primary consideration in determining the EOD." POMS DI 25501.011(C). The POMS instructs disability adjudicators that "[i]f the evidence supports a date other than the AOD, establish the most accurate onset date (either earlier or later than the AOD) that is consistent with the total evidence." POMS DI 25501.021(C).

Unum's argument misunderstands the definition of materiality. As several of our sister circuits have held, the natural tendency test focuses on the potential effect of the false statement when it is made. See Longhi, 575 F.3d at 470; Bourseau, 531 F.3d at 1171. In other words, all that the test requires is that the false or fraudulent statement is capable of influencing the Agency's decision.

Moreover, the fact that an allegedly false statement constitutes the speaker's opinion does not disqualify it from forming the basis of FCA liability. An opinion may qualify as a false statement for purposes of the FCA where the speaker "knows facts `which would preclude such an opinion.'" United States ex rel. Siewick v. Jamieson Science and Engineering, Inc., 214 F.3d 1372, 1378 (D.C. Cir. 2000) (quoting Harrison v. Westinghouse Savannah River Co., 176 F.3d 776, 792 (4th Cir. 1999)). "Facts" for this purpose are those which the applicant could "reasonably classify as true or false" as opposed to "legal argumentation and possibility." Id.

The Harrison court quoted Prosser for the proposition that "an opinion or estimate carries with it `an implied assertion, not only that the speaker knows no facts which would preclude such an opinion, but that he does know facts which justify it.'" Harrison, 176 F.3d at 792 (quoting W. Page Keeton, et al., Prosser Keeton on the Law of Torts § 109, at 760(5thed.1984)).

We note that Unum is not challenging the jury's conclusion that the statements at issue were false, but merely the conclusion that they were materially false. We find, on the evidence before the jury, that an applicant's opinion regarding the date on which he became unable to work is material, in that it has the potential to influence the Agency's determination of one's eligibility for benefits. Cf. United States v. Phythian, 529 F.3d 807, 812-13 (8th Cir. 2008) (holding in the context of a 42 U.S.C. § 408(a)(3) prosecution that applicant's statements to the SSA that she was not working and was unable to work were material in that they had "`a natural tendency to influence' the SSA in making its eligibility determination, as the ability to work is critical to the SSA's determination.").

Unum calls to our attention a portion of the Code of Federal Regulations, which states that a medical doctor's determination that an applicant is "unable to work" as defined by the Social Security Act is entitled to no "special significance". 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(e). This is so because it is an opinion on an issue that is "reserved to the Commissioner because [it is an] administrative finding[] that [is] dispositive of a case." Id. We do not believe, however, as Unum suggests, that the above provision means that a statement by the applicant of an inability to work is immaterial to the Agency's decision. Certainly, an applicant's opinion that he is "unable to work" is not determinative of the Agency's final decision, just as a doctor's opinion that an applicant is "unable to work" is not conclusive, as the responsibility for "making the determination or decision about whether [the applicant] meet[s] the statutory definition of disability" lies with the Commissioner. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(e)(1). Nonetheless, if an applicant were to fail to answer question 5(a) on the application form, where he is asked to provide the date when he became "unable to work," he would not receive benefits. "An award cannot be processed" if an applicant does not answer "all questions affecting entitlement." POMS GN 00205.001(B). Similarly, as Relator's expert Kenneth Nibali testified at trial, a response of "not applicable" or "N/A" would not be an appropriate response to question five.

Nibali stated "1 know that the instructions, the program operation manual that is the guidance for the employees filling this out says where an answer is simply not available, that you may put that kind of response in[, see POMS DI 11005.022(C)]; but I know these instructions also very much say that this is something that needs to be filled in, and you do your very best to get the claimant's allegation about when they felt they were unable to work."

The trial testimony of Relator's and Unum's Social Security experts established that the agency uses "all the information" on the application form to begin to create a record in evaluating an applicant's claim. Question 5(a) is a "starting point" from which the agency starts making decisions on an applicant's disability. As Nibali explained, the response to that question is "a very critical piece of information for starting the process" because "[i]t's [the applicant's] allegation as to when [he] first became unable to work because of [his] illnesses, et cetera."

Though all three experts testified to the SSA's "open-door policy" of encouraging all comers to apply, each also testified that the SSA expects all applicants to be truthful. The Code of Federal Regulations states that those who "believe [they] may be entitled to benefits" should apply. 20 C.F.R. § 404.603 (emphasis added). While applicants are not required to self-assess their eligibility and there is "no expectation of complete and utter accuracy," an applicant must sign under penalty of per-jury that his application is truthful to the best of his knowledge and ability. An applicant could face criminal and civil penalties if he "makes or causes to be made any false statement or representation of a material fact" in applying for SSDI. 42 U.S.C. § 408(a)(2); 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-8(a)(1).

The Social Security Act defines "a material fact" as "one which the Commissioner of Social Security may consider in evaluating whether an applicant is entitled to benefits." 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-8(a)(2).

As Nibali explained, "it costs a lot of money to take in claims and process them, that's taxpayer money . . . that we all pay. So we would like to think that people have a belief that they may have a disability that meets our definition if they're going to come into our program."

Given the instructions presented to applicants on the disability report and the signature requirement on the application form, it is reasonable for the SSA to conclude that an applicant in good faith believes that he may be eligible for SSDI benefits when submitting an application. Specifically, when an applicant provides a date on which he became unable to work in response to question 5(a) on the application form (rather than leaving the question blank or answering "not applicable"), the SSA may reasonably conclude that, at the very least, the applicant believes himself to be "unable to work" as he understands the Social Security Act's definition of that term.

Though this belief, which may be inferred from an affirmative response to question 5(a), can be no more than the applicant's opinion since the SSA bears the responsibility of evaluating the applicant's eligibility, as we have stated, an opinion may be characterized as a false statement for purposes of the FCA if its maker knows facts which would preclude it. Siewick, 214 F.3d at 1378. As we discuss further below, there was substantial evidence presented at trial that Unum knew, or at the very least should have known, facts about George and Jennine's medical condition and work capacity that would preclude an opinion that either was "unable to work."

Moreover, the fact that the Agency conducts an independent evaluation of each applicant's eligibility does not render the applicant's (or, in this case, Unum's) opinion immaterial. As the Sixth Circuit opined in the Medicare context "[a] party cannot file a knowingly false claim on the assumption that the fiscal intermediary will correctly calculate the value in the review process. Such a result would shift the burden of cost calculation from the provider to the fiscal intermediary and encourage the filing of false claims, which is directly at odds with the stated goal of the FCA." A+ Homecare, Inc., 400 F.3d at 447 (citation omitted). Though an applicant for SSDI bears a lesser burden of presenting accurate information than does a provider under Medicare regulations, an SSDI applicant at least bears the burden of being truthful and forthcoming in his responses to the Agency. If he himself knows facts which would preclude a belief that he is unable to work as defined by the Social Security Act, and yet indicates on his application that he is unable to work, then his false statement causes his application to move forward through the Agency's evaluation process when it otherwise would not have. Because the statement is capable of influencing the Agency's decision to consider and ultimately pay the claim, it is thus material under the FCA.

B. Scienter

1. Standard of Review

Again, we review de novo the denial of a motion for judgment as a matter of law. Burke, 572 F.3d at 57. We will uphold the jury's verdict on scienter "unless the facts and inferences viewed in the light most favorable to the verdict point so strongly and overwhelmingly in favor of the movant that a reasonable jury could not have returned the verdict." Id.

2. FCA's Definition of Scienter

To be found liable under the FCA, an individual must act "knowingly" in submitting a false claim. 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(1)-(2) (2008). The statute defines "knowing" and "knowingly" as having "actual knowledge" of information or acting in "deliberate ignorance" or "reckless disregard" of the truth or falsity of the information. 31 U.S.C. § 3729(b)(1)-(3) (2008).

The FERA amendments did not alter the statute's scienter requirement. See 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(1)(A)-(B).

The amended version of the statute defines "knowingly" in precisely the same manner. 31 U.S.C. § 3729(b)(1)(A)(i)-(iii).

Unum argues that in order to establish the requisite scienter, the relator must show not only that Unum acted knowing that the statements at issue were false, but knowing that they were materially false. In support of its argument, Unum quotes Allison Engine, which, in its introductory section states that "a plaintiff asserting a section 3729(a)(2) claim must prove that the defendant intended that the false record or statement be material to the Government's decision to pay or approve the false claim." Id., 128 S.Ct. at 2126 (emphasis added). But the Allison Engine court expressly distinguished its holding as to intent from section 3729's scienter requirement, explaining that the intent requirement that the Court discerned in section 3729(a)(2) did not derive from the term "knowingly," but rather from the infinitive phrase "to get" in "knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be made or used, a false record or statement to get a false or fraudulent claim paid or approved by the Government." Id. at 2130 n. 2. The Court further distinguished its holding from the FCA's definition of "knowingly," explaining that its holding "refers to a defendant's purpose in making or using a false record or statement" while section 3729(b) "refers to specific intent with regard to the truth or falsity of `information.'" Id.

In other words, it appears that while affirming the existence of a materiality requirement for section 3729(a)(2), Allison Engine did not alter the FCA's scienter requirement. Unum's claim that the FCA requires that a defendant have knowledge that a claim was materially false is a misreading of the statute and of Allison Engine.

3. Evidence of Scienter

Unum argues that it cannot be found to have the requisite scienter as a matter of law because its conduct was entirely consistent with the SSA's established practices. It argues that no SSA regulations or policy require that private disability insurers "prescreen" an application, and therefore it could not have known that it had a duty to screen applicants for some minimal likelihood of success. Unum presented these arguments to the district court as well as the jury, and they were rejected. We find that the jury was not unreasonable in this conclusion.

Unum proffers that the SSA knowingly allows state agencies and the federal FERS program to routinely require individuals to apply for SSDI without making any pre-determination that those individuals are so entitled. Unum argues that the SSA's "well-known and published acceptance" of this practice by state agencies and the federal FERS program lends support to its argument that it had no reason to believe that it was required to prescreen insureds before requiring them to apply for SSDI. As Unum explains it, "[i]t hardly would be unreasonable to conclude that, if those individuals were not submitting a false claim simply by supplying the dates they were unable to work when the SSA would conclude otherwise, neither would it be a false claim when one of Unum's insureds does the same thing." We discuss the issue of excluded "FERS evidence" in more detail in Section III.C.

Unum argues that it acted reasonably in viewing the regulations and practice of the SSA as allowing any individual who meets the non-disability requirements of Title II to apply. In support, Unum cites the POMS, which explicitly states that "[e]very individual who meets the necessary nondisability requirements of title II . . . is entitled to a substantive determination about whether he/she is under a disability." POMS DI 22501.003. Unum notes that the POMS also instructs SSA employees that when it appears during a preclaim interview that a claimant does not meet the eligibility requirements for SSDI, the employee should inform the claimant of that fact but still advise him of the right to file an application "in spite of apparent ineligibility." POMS DI 11005.005.B.2. Unum further cites the testimony of SSA's Rule 30(b)(6) designee, presented at trial, that "there's currently no published policy out there that requires . . . private disability insurers to quote/unquote `prescreen' an application before a claimant comes and files."

In effect, Unum argues that because the SSA's own regulations did not appear to disapprove of Unum's practice of requiring insureds to apply for SSDI after they had been disabled for six months, Unum could not have "known" that it was causing false claims to be submitted because it was reasonable to think that the Agency welcomed such claims. In support, Unum cites decisions from several of our sister circuits noting, "[t]o take advantage of a disputed legal question . . . is to be neither deliberately ignorant nor recklessly disregardful." United States ex rel. Hagood v. Sonoma Cnty. Water Agency, 929 F.2d 1416, 1421 (9th Cir. 1991); see also United States v. Southland Mgmt. Corp., 326 F.3d 669, 682 n. 7 (5th Cir. 2003) (Jones, J., concurring); United States ex rel. Hochman v. Nackman, 145 F.3d 1069, 1074 (9th Cir. 1998).

But this is not a case of a "disputed legal question." Though the SSA has an "open-door policy" encouraging all comers to apply, SSA regulations state that those who "believe [they] may be entitled to benefits" should file an application, 20 C.F.R. § 404.603, implying, as discussed above, that those who do not in good faith believe that they may be entitled, should not apply. Though the SSA has not promulgated any guidance as to whether a private disability insurer has any obligation to prescreen claimants for SSDI eligibility before requiring them to apply, it appears clear from the evidence in the record that the Agency does not invite applications from those who have no basis for a good faith belief that they are eligible for SSDI benefits. The jury heard evidence that justified a reasonable conclusion that George and Jennine's applications fell into that category. Not only did Unum have a clear understanding of the difference between its own "own occupation" standard and the SSA's more rigorous "any occupation" standard, but it also had knowledge of Jennine and George's capacity for work as reflected by the information in their claims files. Given that evidence, it was not unreasonable for the jury to conclude that Unum at least had "reckless disregard" for the falsity of George and Jennine's statements that they were "unable to work" within the meaning of the Social Security Act.

Other cases which Unum cites in support of its position are inapposite. This is not a case in which Unum "did merely what the [SSA] bid it do." Hagood, 929 F.2d at 1421; see also United States ex rel. Durcholz v. FKW Inc., 189 F.3d 542, 545 (7th Cir. 1999) ("We decline to hold FKW liable for defrauding the government by following the government's explicit directions."); United States ex rel, Becker v. Westinghouse Savannah River Co., 305 F.3d 284, 288-89 (4th Cir. 2002) (affirming defendant's motion for summary judgment, noting that agency had "instructed" defendant to make representations which relator alleged were false). SSA did not direct Unum to require its six-months'-disabled insureds to submit claims for SSDI.

Nor can Unum claim that the SSA had prior knowledge that the claims Unum caused to be submitted were false. See Durcholz, 189 F.3d at 545 ("If the government knows and approves of the particulars of a claim for payment before that claim is presented, the presenter cannot be said to have knowingly presented a fraudulent or false claim.") (emphasis added); Southland Mgmt. Corp., 326 F.3d at 682 (Jones, J., concurring) ("Where the government and a contractor have been working together, albeit outside the written provisions of the contract, to reach a common solution to a problem, no claim arises."); United States ex rel. K R Ltd. P'ship v. Mass. Housing Finance Agency, 530 F.3d 980, 984 (D.C. Cir. 2008); Wang v. FMC Corp., 975 F.2d 1412, 1421 (9th Cir. 1992). The jury heard testimony that the SSA was unaware of the specifics of Unum's practices. Unum attempts to bolster its "government knowledge" argument by noting that it knew that the SSA would engage in an independent gathering and assessment of the facts underlying each claim, but that is not evidence that the SSA knew of any deficiencies in the claims at issue before they were filed.

C. FERS Evidence

Next, Unum argues that the district court excluded evidence which precluded Unum from mounting its "principal scienter argument." Unum sought to show that the federal government under the Federal Employee Retirement System ("FERS") and state governments under comparable programs regularly require applicants to apply for SSDI as a condition of applying for other forms of federal and state benefits (generally, "FERS evidence"). Unum contends that this evidence was critical to its defense that it did not knowingly cause the submission of false claims because it would have shown that the federal and state programs did not engage in any prescreening before requiring employees to file for SSDI, that the SSA was aware of that practice and affirmatively took no position as to whether it was inappropriate or not, and that the SSA's "well-known and published acceptance" of that practice gave Unum good cause to think that its own conduct was lawful.

We review the district court's ruling excluding the proffered evidence for abuse of discretion. United States v. Rodriguez-Velez, 597 F.3d 32, 40 (1st Cir. 2010). "In deference to a district court's familiarity with the details of the case and its greater experience in evidentiary matters, [we] afford broad discretion to a district court's evidentiary rulings." Sprint/United Mgmt. Co. v. Mendelsohn, 552 U.S. 379, 384, 128 S.Ct. 1140, 170 L.Ed.2d 1 (2008).

We find that the district court abused that discretion in this case. The district court found, without elaboration, that it had "an inadequate basis for comparing FERS to Unum." Because the court did not explain its ruling, we are left to guess at its reasoning. What is clear, however, is that the court appeared to disregard a highly relevant "basis for comparing" FERS to Unum: the SSA's practices in evaluating claims for SSDI benefits which each of those entities caused to be submitted.

Evidence that FERS and comparable state programs require applicants to file for and pursue SSDI claims as a condition of applying for other forms of federal and state benefits is not necessarily relevant in and of itself to Unum's defense. What is relevant is the SSA's knowledge that FERS and state programs imposed such requirements on their applicants and the SSA's inability (or refusal) to differentiate between FERS applicants and Unum applicants. By excluding this evidence, the court prevented the jury from considering evidence that was highly relevant to the issue of materiality.

As detailed above, Unum focuses its argument on the relevance of the excluded evidence to the issue of Unum's scienter; we do not find that argument to be compelling and thus do not address it here.
However, Unum's argument also implicates the element of materiality. As discussed in Section III.B.2, Unum argues that it could not have had scienter that it was causing material false statements to be made. In effect, Unum argues that it could not have known the statements were material since it knew that the SSA was aware that even the government (FERS) caused such statements to be made routinely through a claims process in which FERS claims were not separately identifiable. Unum seeks to base this argument on evidence indicating that the SSA could not have treated disability statements as material, i.e., evidence helping to show that they were not material. Thus, Unum is making a materiality argument as part of a scienter argument, and it is on that basis that we consider the relevance of the FERS evidence.
We note, as well, that Unum argued directly to the district court that the FERS evidence was relevant to the issue of materiality, and we explored this point thoroughly with Relator's counsel at oral argument.

The excluded evidence supports the conclusion that the statement that a claimant is "unable to work" is not capable of influencing the agency's decision to approve the claim. Though it would appear from the face of the SSDI application form and disability report and the evidence presented at trial that such a statement is material to the SSA's decision, as discussed in Section III.A. supra, excluded evidence of the Agency's practices appears to belie that conclusion.

The excluded evidence would have demonstrated that the SSA was aware that under FERS, every federal employee seeking FERS disability retirement benefits must file an application for SSDI benefits as well. See 5 C.F.R. §§ 844.201(b)(1), 844.201(b)(2), 844.203(a). It would have also demonstrated that the SSA knew that not only the federal government, but also the "states keep . . . dumping people on SSA that they know may not be eligible." The record reflects that the SSA cannot differentiate between a FERS applicant and any other applicant. It follows that the Agency must necessarily assume that on any given application, the response to question 5(a) could be false in the same way that George and Jennine's assertions of disability were determined to be false-that the applicant is applying only because he was required to do so by FERS and therefore does not necessarily have a good faith belief that he may be "unable to work" under the statute. In light of the FERS evidence, a jury could reasonably conclude that the SSA has no reason to believe that any applicant is implying, through an affirmative answer to that question, that he may be eligible for benefits.

We note that in order to receive a disability annuity under FERS, the individual's "disabling medical condition" must be expected to continue for at least one year from the date the application for disability retirement is filed. 5 C.F.R. § 844.103(a)(3). Though that provision suggests that FERS requirements for eligibility are more closely aligned with SSDI's eligibility requirements than Unum's, it does not change our conclusion. An individual can receive FERS benefits without meeting a definition of disability as stringent as SSDI's "any occupation" standard, see 5 U.S.C. §§ 8451(a)(1)(B), 8451(a)(2)(A), 5 C.F.R. § 844.103(a)-(b), so it cannot be presumed that an applicant meeting FERS's eligibility requirements will also be eligible for SSDI.

Thus, the excluded evidence tends to support the conclusion that an affirmative answer to question 5(a) carries no implied opinion as to potential eligibility, and that therefore, it could not have been capable of influencing the SSA's decision to initially process or eventually pay the claims at issue; i.e., it could not have been material.

By excluding from the jury evidence of the SSA's knowledge, and apparent acquiescence in, the requirement by FERS and comparable state programs that all claimants apply for SSDI without regard to potential eligibility, the district court prevented the jury from considering evidence that was highly relevant to the essential element of materiality. The probative value of the evidence outweighs any potential it may have had to mislead the jury, Fed.R.Evid. 403, especially if it were appropriately cabined to bear on the issue of materiality rather than on Unum's scienter.

IV. Conclusion

For these reasons, the exclusion of the FERS evidence was not harmless, and while we affirm the district court's denial of Unum's motion for judgment as a matter of law, we must vacate the jury's verdict and remand for a new trial. Judgment vacated. Remanded for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs in favor of Unum Group.

In light of this outcome, we need not address Unum's contentions that the district court erred in instructing the jury on scienter and in refusing to give several additional instructions that Unum requested.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

UNITED STATES EX REL. LOUGHREN v. UNUM GROUP
(Jul 29, 2010)