Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Attorney(S)
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

Vincent Simeone, a heavy furniture delivery man for United Parcel Service (UPS), suffered a work-related back injury on January 26, 1981. He received workers' compensation benefits until he returned to work. Approximately three weeks after returning, Simeone signed a final receipt releasing further claims. Due to a layoff, he continued working for only three additional weeks. Two years later, Simeone filed a petition to set aside the final receipt, alleging that his disability resulting from the injury had not ceased at the time he signed it.

Initially, a referee found Simeone and his treating physician, Dr. Albert Smith, credible and set aside the final receipt as of the date Simeone filed his petition, concluding that Simeone's disability had not terminated when he signed the receipt. UPS appealed, and the Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (the Board) remanded the case, directing the referee to restate the legal conclusion consistent with statutory requirements and allowing, at the referee's discretion, additional testimony.

On remand, a second referee heard additional testimony, found Dr. Smith's opinion not credible because he had not examined Simeone until two years after the receipt was signed, and credited a different physician who released Simeone to work without restrictions in February 1981. The second referee concluded Simeone failed to establish that his disability had not terminated at the time of the final receipt or that there was a recurrence of disability thereafter. The Board affirmed this decision.

Simeone appealed, contending the Board erred by allowing new credibility findings on remand when the order only called for a restatement of the legal conclusion.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the Board properly remanded the case for a restatement of the referee's legal conclusion regarding the termination of disability at the time the final receipt was signed.
  2. Whether the Board exceeded its authority by permitting new testimony and credibility determinations on remand when the order was limited to restating a legal conclusion.
  3. Whether the referee's new credibility findings on remand were permissible under the applicable statutory and case law standards governing set-aside petitions under Section 413 of the Pennsylvania Workmen's Compensation Act.

Arguments of the Parties

Petitioner (Vincent Simeone)

  • The Board erred in allowing the second referee to make new credibility determinations and hear additional testimony when the remand order was limited to restating the legal conclusion.
  • Simeone argued he had met his burden of proof under Section 413 by credible evidence that his disability had not ceased when he signed the final receipt.

Respondent (Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board / UPS)

  • The Board relied on the second referee's findings that Dr. Smith's opinion was not credible because it was based on an examination two years after the receipt was signed.
  • The Board justified the remand to allow additional testimony and reconsideration of evidence to properly apply the statutory standard.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Altemose Co. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 60 Pa. Commw. 511, 432 A.2d 267 (1981) Requirement that claimant prove disability had not terminated at time of final receipt; remand for restatement of legal conclusion when referee's conclusion is legally insufficient. The Court held the Board's remand order was proper only to the extent it requested a restatement of the legal conclusion, but improper in allowing new testimony and credibility findings.
Sheibley v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (ARA Food Services Co.), 86 Pa. Commw. 28, 483 A.2d 593 (1984) Legal burden on claimant to show by credible, competent evidence that disability had not ceased when final receipt was signed. The Court affirmed that the first referee's acceptance of Dr. Smith's credible testimony met this burden.
Bechtel Power Corp. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 63 Pa. Commw. 581, 439 A.2d 1265 (1981) Board's power to remand where referee's findings lack competent evidence or necessary legal findings. The Court recognized the Board's authority to remand for legal insufficiency but emphasized limits on remand scope.
Cambria County Commissioners v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 57 Pa. Commw. 409, 426 A.2d 249 (1981) Distinction between burden of proof for setting aside a final receipt and for reinstatement petitions. Used to clarify the proper standard applicable to Simeone's set-aside petition under Section 413.
Jerry Green Sons v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 63 Pa. Commw. 263, 437 A.2d 1279 (1981) Standard for proving recurrence of disability requires precise and credible evidence. Referenced to distinguish set-aside claims from recurrence claims.
Schuster v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (Lee Tire Rubber Co.), 74 Pa. Commw. 56, 459 A.2d 846 (1983) Board's dissatisfaction with referee's credibility findings alone does not justify remand. The Court held that new credibility determinations on remand are improper absent a clear directive.
A P Tea Co. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (Giglio), 114 Pa. Commw. 507, 539 A.2d 51 (1988) A second referee may reverse credibility findings on remand when the remand order explicitly requires resolution of factual issues. The Court distinguished this case from A P Tea, noting the remand here did not authorize new fact-finding.
Zurn Industries v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 45 Pa. Commw. 494, 406 A.2d 241 (1979) Remand orders by the Board are interlocutory and normally unappealable. Explained why Simeone did not appeal the initial Board remand order.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court analyzed the procedural history and statutory standards governing petitions to set aside final receipts under Section 413 of the Pennsylvania Workmen's Compensation Act. It emphasized that a claimant must prove by credible, competent evidence that all disability had not ceased when the final receipt was signed.

The first referee made credibility findings in favor of Simeone, concluding the legal burden was met. The Board's remand order, citing Altemose, was proper only to the extent it required a restatement of the legal conclusion because the original conclusion referenced "reactivation" rather than the statutory standard.

However, the Board exceeded its authority by permitting new testimony and allowing a second referee to make new credibility determinations, which was not authorized under Section 419 of the Act. The Court distinguished this from cases like A P Tea where the remand explicitly required factual findings. Here, the remand was limited to a legal conclusion, and credibility and fact-finding were not at issue.

The Court held that the Board erred in upholding the second referee's decision based on new credibility findings and that the initial referee's findings and legal conclusion should stand.

Holding and Implications

The order of the Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board dated July 28, 1989, is reversed.

The Court reversed the Board's decision because the Board improperly expanded its remand order to permit new evidence and credibility determinations beyond the limited scope of restating the legal conclusion. As a result, the initial referee's decision setting aside the final receipt based on credible evidence stands. This decision directly reinstates Simeone's ability to set aside the final receipt without establishing a new precedent or broader legal principle beyond the proper scope of Board remands under Section 419 of the Act.

Vincent SIMEONE, Petitioner, v. WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION APPEAL BOARD (UNITED PARCEL SERVICE), Respondent.

CRUMLISH, Jr., President Judge.

Vincent Simeone appeals a Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (Board) order upholding a referee's decision dismissing Simeone's petition to set aside a final receipt. Section 413 of The Pennsylvania Workmen's Compensation Act (Act). We reverse.

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P. S. § 771.

Simeone, a United Parcel Service (UPS) heavy furniture delivery man, suffered a work-related back injury and received benefits until he returned to work. Approximately three weeks later, he signed a final receipt. Due to a lay-off he continued working for only another three weeks. Two years later, Simeone petitioned to set aside the final receipt, claiming that all disability resulting from his work-related injury had not ceased when he signed the final receipt.

After a hearing where both parties presented medical testimony, the referee found credible Simeone's testimony as well as that of his treating physician, Dr. Albert Smith, and set aside the final receipt as of the date Simeone filed his petition. The referee concluded:

The claimant has proven by credible, competent and substantial evidence that all disability as a result of a work-related injury of January 26, 1981 in fact did not cease and terminate when he executed the final receipt of March 10, 1981. The claimant was under a residual disability when he returned to work and suffered a reactivation of his work-related injury.

(Emphasis added.)

UPS appealed this decision to the Board, which remanded, on concluding that:

The referee's stated legal reason for setting aside the final receipt that the claimant suffered a reactivation of his work-related injury did not comport with statutory requirement that claimant prove that his disability had not terminated at the time the final receipt was executed, and thus a remand was required for the referee to restate his legal conclusion. Altemose Co. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, [ 60 Pa. Commw. 511] 432 A.2d 267 (1981).

Beside this instruction, the remand order also directed that, at the referee's discretion, either party could present testimony germane to the case.

A second referee who was assigned to the case heard additional testimony from Simeone and reviewed the entire previous record. He found that Dr. Smith "did not and could not find or give a credible opinion . . . as he had not examined the claimant" (emphasis added) until two years after the final receipt was signed. He further found "more credible" the medical deposition of Dr. Samuel Granowitz, who had examined Simeone at the time of his injury and released him to work without restrictions as of February 16, 1981. The second referee concluded

Finding of Fact No. 35, Referee's Decision, 5/10/88.

Finding of Fact No. 35, Referee's Decision, 5/10/88.

(2) [t]hat the claimant has failed to establish any disability resulting from the work related injury of January 26, 1981 had, in fact, not terminated when he executed the Final Receipt on March 10, 1981.
(3) [t]hat the claimant has failed to establish a recurrence of disability resulting from the work related injury of January 26, 1981, on or after February 16, 1981, the date that he returned to work for the defendant.

Referee's Conclusion of Law, Nos. 2 and 3, Decision 5/10/88.

The Board affirmed the referee concluding that, because Dr. Smith examined Simeone two years after he executed the final receipt Dr. Smith's testimony "could not be offered to apply to this standard of proof."

Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, Decision, 7/28/89 p. 4.

Simeone contends it was legal error for the referee to make new credibility findings when the remand order was for the limited and specific purpose of restating a legal conclusion — not to review findings of facts or make new credibility determinations. We agree.

A claimant seeking to set aside a final receipt must show by credible, competent evidence that all disability due to the injury had not terminated when he signed the final receipt. Sheibley v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (ARA Food Services Co.), 86 Pa. Commw. 28, 483 A.2d 593 (1984). Here, the first referee found credible Dr. Smith's medical report and Simeone's testimony and concluded from that Simeone had met his legal burden.

The Board however ordered a remand pursuant to Section 419 of the Act, 77 P. S. § 852. This Court has interpreted Section 419 as empowering the Board to remand where the referee's findings are not supported by competent evidence or where the referee has not made a finding that is necessary for the proper application of the law. Bechtel Power Corp. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 63 Pa. Commw. 581, 439 A.2d 1265 (1981). The Board may remand where the referee's stated legal conclusion is not in accordance with the Act's statutory requirement. Altemose Co. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 60 Pa. Commw. 511, 432 A.2d 267 (1981).

In Altemose, the referee granted claimant's set-aside petition. However, the referee's legal conclusion only stated that claimant's disability had "reoccurred." Because the legal burden entitling one to benefits under a petition to set aside is different from that for a reinstatement petition, see Cambria County Commissioners v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 57 Pa. Commw. 409, 426 A.2d 249 (1981), this Court, sua sponte, remanded for a "restatement" of the referee's legal conclusion. Although the Board relied on Altemose to justify its remand order, the Board's order here was proper only to the extent that it requested a "restatement" of the referee's legal conclusion. The Board's order, however, also directed the referee to allow either party to present testimony germane to the case. The referee used this opportunity to hold new hearings and then make new credibility determinations.

A claimant seeking a reinstatement of benefits because of the recurrence of a prior work-related injury must prove "by precise and credible evidence of a more definite and specific nature than that upon which initial compensation was based" that his disability has recurred. Jerry Green Sons v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 63 Pa. Commw. 263, 265, 437 A.2d 1279, 1280 (1981). Thus, on any date for which testimony establishes recurrence benefits can be reinstated.

This Court has held that the Board's dissatisfaction with the referee's assessment of the witnesses credibility and the weight of the evidence will not justify a remand. Schuster v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (Lee Tire Rubber Co.), 74 Pa. Commw. 56, 459 A.2d 846 (1983).

In A P Tea Co. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board (Giglio), 114 Pa. Commw. 507, 539 A.2d 51 (1988), however, we held that, on remand, a second referee may reverse the initial referee's credibility determinations even where the second referee does not take additional evidence. We believe A P Tea, is distinguishable because, there, it was explicit in the Board's remand order that factual issues needed to be resolved and that resolution of these issues necessarily involved reviewing the entire prior record. This consequently empowered the referee to make new credibility determinations, if warranted.

Because the Board's opinion does not indicate that further fact-finding is necessary or that substantial competent evidence is lacking, we hold that neither the Act nor authority interpreting it allowed the Board, on remand, to order the taking of additional testimony when it requested only a "restatement" of the referee's legal conclusion. See Section 419 of the Act, 77 P. S. § 852.

Our review of the first referee's findings and legal conclusion discloses that he clearly indicated Simeone had satisfied the legal burden necessary to set aside the final receipt. The record also plainly discloses that Simeone's petition was filed as a Section 413 set-aside claim. Throughout his entire opinion, the first referee made only one reference to the "reactivation" of Simeone's work-related injury. Thus, the second referee needed only to review the record and arrive at a legal conclusion using the appropriate standard of proof. Credibility and the weighing of evidence were never at issue and should not have been collaterally reviewed. Schuster.

Accordingly, we reverse.

Because a remand order by the Board is interlocutory and, therefore, normally unappealable, Simeone did not appeal the initial Board order. Zurn Industries v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 45 Pa. Commw. 494, 406 A.2d 241 (1979). Thus, although we hold that the Board erred in stating its initial remand order too broadly, it also erred in upholding the referee's subsequent decision wherein new credibility findings were made.

SILVESTRI, Senior Judge, dissents.

ORDER

The order of the Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, No. A-96318, dated July 28, 1989 is reversed.

Use AI to get other relevant cases.

Comments

SIMEONE v. W.C.A.B. (UPS)
(Oct 1, 1990)